Skip to main content
128KB Tech Podcast

128KB Tech Podcast

By 128KB
Gaming, Technology and Computer Hardware. All the latest news, rumours and product reviews from the tech world.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Playing Resident Evil 2 In 2021 // Retro Games Reviews

128KB Tech Podcast

1x
Retro Game Reviews // Super Castlevania IV in 2021
Retro Gameplay Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the SNES Metroidvania classic, Super Castlevania IV. Quite simply this game is a must play for any remotely interested in fantasy or metroidvania style games, for me Super Castlevania IV is the best instalment of the SNES or NES era's, but the game isn't without it's flaws. For those looking for a quick casual arcade style gameplay experience move on, this retro game is a challenge from the start both in its complexity and the general difficulty levels of the enemies. But in all Super Casltevania IV is an amazing Retro Game to play in 2021. Watch The Full Review:   https://youtu.be/r66T_XWeZMo Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
14:19
November 24, 2021
The Worst Metroidvania Game? // Retro Game Reviews
We played Escape From Tethys on the PS4 and we wanted to share our honest opinions after playing the game for a few hours. We've big fans of the Metroidvania genre and had heard good things but what do we think after playing it? Do we really think this is the worst Metroidvania game? Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/128kb    Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
15:08
November 11, 2021
Is Flashback Really Worth Playing in 2021? // Retro Game Reviews
Is Flashback Really Worth Playing in 2021? Andy & Aj venture back in time to play the classic 1992 game, Flashback. Ported over to the PS4 saw some extra modes and features to help make the game a little more forgiving but is it enough to save it?    At nearly 30 years old, has the game aged well? Is it worth playing in 2021? Let us know your thoughts and opinions down in the comments! Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/128kb    Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
19:31
November 9, 2021
Is This The Worst Shooter Ever? Army of Two Retro Games Review
Is This The Worst Shooter Ever? Aj & Andy enter the room of games to play what is potentially the worst shooter ever, Army Of Two. To see why this game really hasn't aged well, make sure to watch the full video!   Originally releasing back in 2008 Army Of Two really isn't the game we imagined it would still hold up to be and that's why we think this could be the worst shooter ever, if you've played this recently instead of just riding nostalgia, what do you think? Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/128kb    Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
17:01
November 3, 2021
Retro Game Reviews // Valfaris in 2021
Why Play Valfaris, the 2d side scrolling action shooter on the PS4? Andy & Aj take this ott heavy metal metroid inspired action shooter into the room of games to give it a full gameplay review. With elements of heavy metal, pixel art and more than a hint of a castlevania aesthetic, Valfaris really should the perfect game to play ahead of Metroid Dread, but does it hold up to that billing and is it even worth playing?  What are your thoughts on Valfaris? Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
15:32
October 21, 2021
Playing Resident Evil 2 In 2021 // Retro Games Reviews
Retro Game Review of Resident Evil 2 on PS 1 in 2021. Andy & Aj take the original Playstation 1 Resident Evil 2 into the room of games to give this survival horror retro game a full gameplay review. For me this was the first Resident Evil game I fell in love with on the PS 1. After completing the original Resident Evil before, Resi 2 felt like a more complete story and game, and a game way ahead of its time on the playstation 1. But does it hold up today and is this retro game worth playing in 2021? Watch The Full Review:   https://youtu.be/IsdXdjeVMUA Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
15:09
October 6, 2021
Retro Game Reviews // Resident Evil 1 in 2021
Retro Gameplay Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the Playstation 1 classic, Resident Evil (BioHazard) 1. This is the game that changed the face of gaming for an entire generation, and although arguably Resident Evil 1 isn't the best RE game of the PS1 generation it still grips and holds up all of its survival horror charm. A truly great retro game to play in 2021 and a must for any Resident Evil Fans. Watch The Full Review:   https://youtu.be/lvQtGb2oD3Q Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
22:04
September 30, 2021
Retro Game Reviews // Metroid Zero Mission in 2021
Retro Gameplay Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the GameBoy Advanced classic, Metroid Zero Mission. The much needed remake of the original NES Metroid title, Zero Mission brings all of the added graphics, gameplay & UI benefits that came with the GBA's 32Bit system but without losing any of the original charm of this absolute gameplay classic. Watch The Full Review:   https://youtu.be/8OKRoOwWi1s Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
15:08
September 28, 2021
Nintendo Direct Reaction - N64 & Sega Genesis Controllers are REAL!! // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep10
We're taking a deep dive review on this weeks Nintendo Direct in this week's Live Podcast. We pick out our favourite game announcements from Nintendo Direct as well as getting more than a little excited for the N64 & Sega Mega Drive controllers and Genesis & N64 games coming to Nintendo Switch Online. Watch The Full Review:   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SWCW6maHY0 Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
01:11:43
September 26, 2021
Retro Game Reviews // Super Metroid SNES in 2021
Retro Gameplay Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the SNES Metroidvania classic, Super Metroid. Right off the bat this is almost certainly the best 'first' metroid game to play for those new to the genre and looking for a metroid starting point. The improvements over the NES version are night and day. But that's not to say that Super Metroid has lost any of the charm, this game purely builds on the Metroidvania charm created in the first 2 Metroid titles. UI, quality of life, gameplay, sound, difficulty levels and everything in between are spot on perfect here and it truly is one of the best retro games to pick up and play in 2021. Watch The Full Review: https://youtu.be/whTq-DMGilo   Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
15:51
September 23, 2021
Retro Game Reviews // Grand Theft Auto 1 in 2021
Retro Gameplay Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the original GTA, Grand Theft Auto 1 on the Playstation 1. The game that started the entire megalithic franchise that is Grand Theft Auto, which seems unlikely when you play this 2D pixel art, top down cartoon open world game. The controls haven't aged well, the visual are choppy and headache inducing and the overall user experience is a tough one, but there is still a huge amount of charm and fun to be had in the first edition of Grand Theft Auto. Watch The Full Review:   https://youtu.be/8NGbC7M8n4w Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
10:15
September 18, 2021
Retro Game Reviews // Metroid NES in 2021
Retro Gameplay Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the 1986 Metroidvania classic, Metroid. The game that arguable spawned an entire genre, Metroid on the Nintendo Entertainment System is a game like no other and is truly years ahead of its time. By modern standards there is a few key frustrations with playing Metroid in 2021, but if they can be overlooked it is a gameplay experience well worth your time. Watch The Full Review:   https://youtu.be/uSb14goKasM Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
13:03
September 15, 2021
Retro Game Reviews // Quake Remastered on PS4
Retro Game Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the remastered Quake HD on the PS4. After an hour streaming the game in both couch co-op modes and the classic Quake death match (bots and all!) it's clear to see there's still a lot to love about the this and the remaster is a faithful and good one. But what are their final thoughts?  Also, what are your thoughts, do you agree with us and will you buying the Remastered Quake? Watch The Full Review: https://youtu.be/XHtJBzBDqSg Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
12:23
September 14, 2021
PS5 Playstation Summer Showcase Special // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep9
Ep9 of the 128KB Tech Podcast. This week we running a PlayStation special to cover all of the announcements and releases from the PS5 PlayStation summer showcase.    We're taking a deep dive review on Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic coming to PS5, Alan Wake Remastered, Wolverine & Spiderman 2 as well as looking at GTA 5 on the PS5... is it one re-release to many for the GTA 5 giant? Watch The Full Review:   https://youtu.be/ggyrsTkolng Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
01:25:30
September 13, 2021
Retro Game Reviews // Star Fox 2 In 2021
Retro Gameplay Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the unreleased Star Fox 2 on the SNES. Star Fox, originally developed for the Super Nintendo SNES but only released on the SNES Classic Mini and more recently on the Nintendo Switch Online virtual consoles. A game that was a huge amount of fun to play and that hasn't lost any of it's playability or charm in the years since it's development, in many ways this arcade style sci-fi shooter is even more playable than the original Star Fox... but I won't say that too loudly! Watch The Full Review:   https://youtu.be/_QsgLT52RBg Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA   Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
13:48
September 6, 2021
Retro Gameplay Reviews // Why Play Axiom Verge in 2021?
Retro Gameplay Reviews, in this episode Aj & Andy take a closer look at the 2015 Metroidvania classic, Axiom Verge. With more than little of a homage to Super Metroid, Axiom Verge doesn't fail to deliver on all the amazing things that the classic Metroid games offer, but with some real modern control, UI and audio upgrades. Axiom Verge is truly a modern retro game and a worthy edition to the Metroidvania family. Watch The Full Review: https://youtu.be/XDHm74RDhwg Follow Us on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCanRIbY9MBoJIWgC7YL2sMA Watch Our Live Gameplay: https://twitch.tv/128kblive Visit 128KB Website: https://128kb.co.uk
20:25
September 1, 2021
GTA 3 Remake, New COD, NVIDIA GPU Shortages Throughout 2022 & Stadia's Last Stand // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep8
Episode 8 of the 128kb Tech Podcast is here. This week Andy & Aj take a look at the world of Gaming, Hardware & Tech, with the Remake of the GTA III Trilogy leaked, Nvidia's GPU shortages lasting throughout 2022, Skyrim's 10th Anniversary update and Stadia's last Stand! All that and more in this week's 128KB Tech Podcast Visit The Website: https://www.128kb.co.uk Watch The Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChJjXF9SuONQ9SmJcV3xNDg Watch The Clips Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4H3E0C-gQcmgDWNsT67Gqw
01:10:13
August 25, 2021
iPhone 13 Specs, ASUS TUF H3, The Playdate & Zelda's Back // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep7
Episode 7 of the 128kb Tech Podcast is here. This week Andy & Aj take a look at the iPhone 13 leaks, review the ASUS TUF H3 Headset, Skyward Sword HD, the Playdate & PS5's new Tournament Mode. All that and more in this weeks Tech Podcast from 128KB. Visit The Website: https://www.128kb.co.uk Watch The Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChJjXF9SuONQ9SmJcV3xNDg Watch The Clips Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4H3E0C-gQcmgDWNsT67Gqw
01:14:10
August 2, 2021
$1.5 Million Mario, Zelda Skyward Sword HD & Nintendo Switch OLED // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep6
Episode 6 of the 128kb Tech Podcast is here. This week Andy & Aj take a look at the Nintendo Switch OLED, the $1.5 Million Auction of an N64 game, the M1X iMac Pro & the re-release of Zelda Skyward Sword HD. Watch The Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChJjXF9SuONQ9SmJcV3xNDg Watch The Clips Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4H3E0C-gQcmgDWNsT67Gqw
01:23:28
July 16, 2021
200MP Smartphone Cameras, SteelSeries Rival 5 & the $500,000 NES Game // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep5
Episode 5 of the 128kb Tech Podcast is here. This week Andy & Aj take a look at Nintendo's news about EMMI & Metroid 5, Playing Gameboy Cartridges on PC, The 200MP Smartphone Camera from Xiaomi, The Steel Series Rival 5 & we get hands on with the Evercade Handheld Retro Games Console. Watch The Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChJjXF9SuONQ9SmJcV3xNDg Watch The Clips Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4H3E0C-gQcmgDWNsT67Gqw
01:28:08
July 5, 2021
Apple Forced To Sideload Apps, Cyberpunk 2077 is Back & Samsung Z Fold 3 // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep4
Episode 4 of the 128kb Tech Podcast is here. This week Andy & Aj take a look at Apple being forced to sideload apps, Cyberpunk 2077 is back, the amazing retro console the Evercade, Ghost of Tsushima on PC, Pokemon's Lawsuit, the Wii U in 2021 and the Samsung Z Fold/Flip 3. Watch The Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChJjXF9SuONQ9SmJcV3xNDg Watch The Clips Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4H3E0C-gQcmgDWNsT67Gqw
01:36:55
June 28, 2021
The E3 Special - Nintendo Direct & Xbox Exclusives // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep3
Episode 3 of the 128kb Tech Podcast is here. This week is an E3 Special as we dig into all the best new releases to come from Microsoft, Xbox and the Nintendo Direct event. Watch The Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChJjXF9SuONQ9SmJcV3xNDg Watch The Clips Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4H3E0C-gQcmgDWNsT67Gqw
01:31:11
June 16, 2021
iPhone 13 120hz Display, The Death of Intel & Worst Smartphone of 2021 // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep2
Episode 2 of the 128kb Tech Podcast is here. This week we look at the rumours of the 120hz display on the iPhone 13, a 360hz display gaming laptop, the death of intel and probably the worst looking smartphone of the year. Watch The Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChJjXF9SuONQ9SmJcV3xNDg Watch The Clips Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4H3E0C-gQcmgDWNsT67Gqw
01:26:08
June 8, 2021
Nintendo Switch Pro, ROG Claymore ii & Best Value Macs Ever!! // 128KB Tech Podcast Ep1
We take a closer look at the world of tech, computing and gaming in this weeks 128KB Podcast, including the Nintendo Switch Pro, a $6k Apple Watch, the ROG Claymore ii, The Best Value iMacs ever, The PC that no one wants and why Cyberpunk 2077 is still broken!! Watch The Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChJjXF9SuONQ9SmJcV3xNDg Watch The Clips Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4H3E0C-gQcmgDWNsT67Gqw
01:31:19
June 1, 2021