901 Soccer Podcast

901 Soccer Podcast

By 901 Soccer Podcast
A soccer pod covering the Mid-South, USL, USA, 901FC, and the beautiful people of the beautiful game.
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo
Breaker Logo
Google Podcasts Logo
Overcast Logo
RadioPublic Logo
Spotify Logo
Currently playing episode

901SP Ep. 63 - Year One Review

901 Soccer Podcast

901SP Ep. 63 - Year One Review

901 Soccer Podcast

Go to next audioGo to next audio
Go to prev audioGo to prev audio
1x
901SP Ep. 63 - Year One Review
We explore (almost) every element of the Memphis 901FC inaugural season in this lengthy but info-packed podcast. Lawrence Dockery, Alan Davis, and Scotty Smith discuss the season month-by-month, with all the ups, downs, and in-betweens. Sit back, relax, enjoy. (photo: 901FC)
1:35:16
October 31, 2019
901SP Ep. 62 - Defending Champs Too Much For 901FC
The Kings of Neon fell to back-to-back champs Louisville City FC Saturday night by the score of 2-1. The match but the wraps on the club's inaugural season. However, the city of Memphis is the real winner, as it now has a team to support full-time. 
16:22
October 22, 2019
901SP Ep. 61 - Double Debacle! (Part Two) - USMNT
Lawrence Dockery breaks down the USMNT loss to Canada. (Warning: He's not happy.)
20:42
October 16, 2019
901SP Ep. 60 - Double Debacle! Part One - 901FC
Lawrence Dockery breaks down 901FC's loss to Charlotte and the post-match unpleasantness. 
24:47
October 16, 2019
901SP Ep. 59 - US Roster Breakdown
Lawrence Dockery breaks down the recently released USMNT roster. 
24:38
October 4, 2019
901SP Ep. 58 - Memphis DOMINATES some MLS 2 team!
Memphis absolutely dominated some random MLS2 side with a historical name by playing a historical game Saturday night. 901FC set new club records for most goals and largest margin of victory. It was an inspiring performance, and one that should carry the club into the offseason on a high note, no matter what happens in the remaining matches. 
11:31
October 1, 2019
901 SP Ep. 57 - Pittsburgh Returns to Score Early Goal...Again.
The Pittsburgh Riverhounds came to Memphis on May 18 and scored an early goal. That game was eventually washed out. Pittsburgh repeated the process Tuesday night. They scored an early goal and won the way Bob Lilly wants to win - score a goal early and shut out the other team. 
12:38
September 25, 2019
901SP Ep. 56 - We Win Again! Four in a Row!
Memphis 901FC won their fourth straight match with a 1-0 win over St. Louis FC. 
09:07
September 23, 2019
901SP Ep. 55 - Memphis Defeats Swope Park 4-2
Memphis 901FC got back into the win column and secured the full three points at home vs. Swope Park Rangers. 
22:10
September 13, 2019
901SP Ep. 54 - North Carolina Home Recap
The Kings of Neon scored first, but they could not hold the lead as North Carolina FC took home all three points.  (photo: Memphis 901 FC)
18:12
August 12, 2019
901SP Ep. 53 - BPI with Seamus Loftus of the Citizen Footballer Project
Seamus Loftus is one of the truly beautiful people in the game. Not only is he the owner of The Brass Door Irish Pub (home pub of the Bluff City Mafia), but he is working tirelessly to bring soccer to inner-city Memphis. Through his project, the Citizen Footballer Project, Seamus is looking to give kids from low socio-economic neighborhoods an opportunity to play the game he loves. Sit back, relax, enjoy.  (photo: The Memphis Grizzlies Foundation)
1:09:39
August 1, 2019
901SP Ep. 52 - Memphis 2, Ottawa 0
Brandon Allen and Adam Najem scored and Jeff Caldwell earned a clean sheet as 901FC earned the full three points. 
19:07
July 30, 2019
901SP Ep. 51 - Memphis Fights Back to Pull Draw v. New York
It looked bleak for Memphis, but Lagos Kunga came off the bench and provided the spark for 901FC.
18:22
July 22, 2019
901SP Ep. 50 - Memphis Falls to Nashville, Magan’s Fight Club
Memphis fell to Nashville on the field, but off the field it was all about Magan.
16:57
July 18, 2019
901SP Ep. 49 - USA Fails to Win Winnable Gold Cup
The United States of America did not score a goal against Mexico Sunday night. Mexico did score a goal. Wasted chances and failed tactics led to another Gold Cup title for El Tri, but the United States could have easily lifted the trophy with a few simple changes. Lawrence breaks it down. 
19:37
July 9, 2019
901SP Ep. 48 - Memphis Dominates Hartford (again)
Memphis 901FC dominated Hartford Athletic on the weekend behind a hat trick from Elliot Collier. You can vote for Collier's third goal of the match as the USL Goal of the Week by visiting uslchampionship.com. 
17:49
July 9, 2019
901SP Ep. 47 - Mid-Year Inventory for Club and Country
It is the halfway mark of the 2019 calendar year, and we are taking stock of how things look for club and country.
45:55
June 25, 2019
Pachuca Recap
Pachuca (yes, THAT Pachuca) came to Memphis to play 901FC. After a very competitive first half, Leonardo Ulloa and company turned it on for a 6-1 win.
13:55
June 23, 2019
Orlando City Recap
Memphis 901FC lost 3-1 to Orlando City in the US Open Cup.
20:05
June 14, 2019
901SP Ep. 46 - Indy Dominates Memphis
This was not pretty.
15:19
June 9, 2019
US Open Cup - Hartford Recap
Lawrence Dockery outlines the impressive 4-0 win over Hartford.
12:38
May 30, 2019
USL Quick Strike Wk. 10/11
(and, to tell the truth, part of 12)
09:53
May 23, 2019
901SP Ep. 45 - Memphis Wins at Home!
Cam Lindley had a goal and an assist, Lagos Kunga had an assist in his first Memphis match, and Josh Morton scored the first brace in team history. (photo: Memphis 901FC) 
11:37
May 16, 2019
901SP Ep. 44 - Memphis Wins, Kunga Joins
Memphis defeats Hartford and Lagos Kunga is now a King.
19:31
May 15, 2019
901SP Ep. 43 - Memphis 2, B’ham 2
Adam Najem gets the world’s attention, and the ref robs Memphis of a win.
16:33
May 8, 2019
USL Quick Strike Week 9
Scores and standings
06:06
May 6, 2019
USL Quick Strike Wk. 8 2019
News, notes, standings
05:42
May 1, 2019
901SP Ep. 42 - Charleston 1, Memphis 0
Memphis 901 FC had plenty of chances, but they simply could not capitalize. In soccer's equivilent of a buzzer beater, Charleston Battery scored with 92:55 on the clock to give the Kings of Neon another loss at home.  (photo credit: John Varlas, The Daily Memphian)
12:45
April 29, 2019
USL Quick Strike - Wk. 7 2019
Our weekly dose of USL action and snippets of news.
09:54
April 24, 2019
901SP Ep. 41 - Kick Cancer With Anna!
Saturday was one of the greatest days in Memphis soccer history. Tons of folks showed up to Houston High to support Anna Della Rosa and St. Jude. We had the chance to talk to Anna's dad Roberto, former Houston star Cara Young, Adam Najem and Dan Metzger of 901FC, actual Anna, and Ole Miss star Gabby Little about this phenomenal event. Thank you to everyone who participated in any way. Sit back, relax, and enjoy. 
24:49
April 23, 2019
901SP Ep. 40 - Mafia Hits! for 4/17/19
Clayton France joins us to talk about the Nashville match and this weekend’s St. Jude fundraiser for Anna Della Rosa.
36:59
April 18, 2019
USL Quick Strike Wk. 6
All the USL Championship action in bite size pieces
07:01
April 15, 2019
901SP Ep. 39 - We Lost to Atlanta and Recorded in an Alley
Lawrence Dockery breaks down Memphis 901FC's 1-0 loss to Atlanta Reserves. Sit back, relax, enjoy. 
11:58
April 11, 2019
901SP Ep. 38 - A Partial Review of the North Carolina FC match
We had some audio troubles, but we did manage to save some of our breakdown of NCFC away. Sit back, relax, enjoy.
12:42
April 10, 2019
USL Quick Strike Wk. 5 2019
Your weekly dose of USL action in 10ish minutes.
11:38
April 9, 2019
901SP Ep. 37 - BPI with Gabby Little
The Beautiful People Interview w/ Gabby Little  Ole Miss soccer star Gabby Little joins us to discuss the upcoming fundraiser for St. Jude and Anna Della Rosa. The event is scheduled for April 20th at Houston High School, and will feature several of Anna's closest friends and teammates. Sit back, relax, enjoy. 
20:38
April 6, 2019
USL Quick Strike Wk. 4 2019
Our weekly look at all the USL action in 10 minutes or less (well, 11 minutes this week).
10:28
April 2, 2019
901SP Ep. 36 - Derrick Etienne, Jr.! That's not fair! (RedBull2 Review)
We look at 901FC's hard-fought loss to the baby Bulls, and Smitty complains about MLS players dropping to play in USL. 
28:47
April 1, 2019
Mafia Hits! w/ Clayton France, 3/29
We talk the week that was and predict the score of tonight’s match v. RedBull2.
14:55
March 29, 2019
901SP Ep. 35 - Guest Analyst Tim Mulqueen
Coach takes off his coaching hat and puts on his analyst hat as he breaks down the first win in 901FC history.
19:40
March 27, 2019
USL Quick Strike Wk. 3 2019
Santi Moar is the best USL player, but MLS players keep popping up. STL and Tampa split points to stay top table, and OKC suffers its first loss.
09:59
March 26, 2019
USL Quick Strike Wk. 2 - 2019
North Carolina, Tampa, OKC, and St. Louis have all earned maximum points from two matches thus far. Which teams are poised to move up the table this weekend? Who earned the USL Player of the Week honors? Which player took an emotional roller coaster, and which one gets our vote for goal of the week? Find out all this and more on USL Quick Strike.  (photo: our good friends at Orange and Black Soccercast)
07:30
March 19, 2019
901SP Ep. 34 - Hey! We got a point!
Jason Heitman breaks down the first goal and first point in Memphis 901FC history.
33:40
March 18, 2019
901SP Ep. 33 - The Hit List w/ Clayton France
We discuss all the things related to Bluff City Mafia with capo Clayton France. Sit back, relax, enjoy.
27:37
March 15, 2019
901SP Ep. 32 - BPI w/ For The Culture
In our Beautiful People Interview today, we talk to For The Culture. In addition to joining us on the pod, the hung out at the Brass Door, got folks fired up before the March to the Match, led the whole stadium in the first ever 9-0-1 Clap, and brought "We Ready" to Bluff City Mafia. It was a phenomenal day, and For The Culture was a big part of it. Find out what they are doing in the ATL and beyond. Listen carefully to their message and hear how they are trying to bring soccer culture to the black community and bridge cultural gaps. Sit back, relax, enjoy. 
16:28
March 13, 2019
USL Quick Strike Wk. 1 - 2019
A very fast recap of all the USL action and three games to watch on the weekend. 
07:39
March 12, 2019
901SP Ep. 31 - Thank You, Memphis
This is our little love letter to all who made Saturday night possible. Somewhere near the middle, we actually broke down the match on the field. Before and after that, it was time to rattle off a series of thank-yous. We have pro soccer in Memphis, and that is amazing. Sit back, relax, enjoy. 
40:47
March 11, 2019
A Word From Our Sponsor
...
00:02
March 11, 2019
901SP Ep. 30 - Jake Edwards and Peter Freund
We caught up with USL Commish Jake Edwards in a fairly long sit-down, and grabbed a moment with Memphis 901FC owner Peter Freund on the eve of his team's inaugural match. Sit back, relax, enjoy. 
39:32
March 9, 2019
901SP Ep. 29 - Mike Pendleton talks Tampa Bay Rowdies
#SoccerTwitter master Mike Pendleton talks Rowdies, the Miami situation, and how he came to love the Beautiful Game.
29:02
March 5, 2019
901SP Ep. 28 - Mike Sparks of BGN
Mike Sparks of Beautiful Game Network joins us talk USL East, the BGN, and how passionate soccer fans can become a community (even though they have never met face-to-face).
23:43
February 26, 2019
901SP Ep. 27 - Busy Week for 901FC
There were two scrimmages for the Kings of Neon this week, and the club announced Fan Fest will be March 2nd. Listen up. 
17:23
February 22, 2019
901SP Ep. 26 - Anna and St. Jude
We want everybody to come out to CBU tomorrow at noon. 901FC will play CBU on the field, but the off-the-field aspect of the game is even more important. Let’s all show Anna and St. Jude our love and support at tomorrow’s match.
09:16
February 15, 2019
901SP Ep. 25. - Who Played Where?
Here’s a look at the numerical roster and the positions those players played on Saturday. (Note: Triston Hodge played as a left back moving forward in the attack, not left midfielder as I said on the show.)
12:29
February 12, 2019
2/11/19 - Saturday Wrap
Clayton France puts a wrap on the first scrimmage in club history and the first meeting of Bluff City Mafia.
10:32
February 12, 2019