The HarpinOnRugby Podcast

The HarpinOnRugby Podcast

By JL Pagano
The Leinster & Ireland Rugby fansite in podcast form.
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo
Breaker Logo
Google Podcasts Logo
Pocket Casts Logo
RadioPublic Logo
Spotify Logo
Currently playing episode

Ep 7 : Reviews, Ringfencing & Rankings featuring Kristian Ross

The HarpinOnRugby Podcast

Ep 7 : Reviews, Ringfencing & Rankings featuring Kristian Ross

The HarpinOnRugby Podcast

Go to next audioGo to next audio
Go to prev audioGo to prev audio
1x
Ep 28 : "Permutation Overload" featuring Cian "@RugbyKino" O'Muilleoir
In today’s pod I’m joined by @RugbyKino and we walk our way through Round 6 of the Heineken Champions Cup to pick out the key matches and work out how we think the final eight will shape up.  During the course of our chat I’ll mention a chart he sent to me outlining all the different permutations possible at the weekend (and I mean ALL) so if you’d like me to send you a copy give me a shout at paganoblog@gmail.com and I’ll be more than happy to send it on.
32:38
January 16, 2020
Ep 27 : "Leinster v Lyon speakup"
Our match writeup of Leinster's 42-14 win over Lyon in audio form. The original article can be found here > http://www.harpinonrugby.net/2020/01/leinster-42-lyon-14.html
10:16
January 14, 2020
Ep 26 : "The RDS Walk of Shame" featuring Neil "Keego" Keegan of CouchPunditIreland.com
On this week's pod I chat to Keego (@nkeegan) from CouchPunditIreland.com about the recurring phenomenon of fans leaving the RDS ten minutes or more before the fulltime whistle.  Also we have our Leinster v Connacht match writeup in audio form.
24:09
January 8, 2020
Ep 25 : "Two Leinster fans chat about the season so far", featuring Conor Cronin.
"Nothing is won until May." "There's always room for improvement."  Clichés like that are undoubtedly true, but what's the harm in enjoying 11 wins out of 11?   I was joined on this week's pod by a new contributor, Leinster season ticket holder and long time Harpin commenter Conor Cronin to go over the season so far. 
37:41
December 18, 2019
Ep 24 : "A review of the Nucifora review" featuring Neil 'Keego' Keegan of CouchPunditIreland.com
Keego and myself chat about the report into Ireland's RWC2019 campaign, including David Nucifora's presentation, and the substance of the report itself.
47:39
December 11, 2019
Ep 23 : Northampton v Leinster speakup
After a brief hiatus, our podcast returns with an audio version of our latest writeup, which we call a "speakup".   Original post here > http://www.harpinonrugby.net/2019/12/northampton-16-leinster-43.html
08:30
December 10, 2019
ep 22 : "Pro 14 Round 2 review" featuring Cian O'Mulleoir of @RugbyKino
In this week’s pod...I enjoyed focusing on Round 1 of the Pro14 last week so much that I’ll do similar for Round 2 this time around.   But instead of 80-word reviews or Harpin Points, I’ve done an audio version of my Leinster v Ospreys writeup and then our Back & Forward chat is with Cian “@RugbyKino” O’Mulleoir and we’ll go through all of last week’s Pro 14 matches as well as looking ahead to Round 3.
31:10
October 9, 2019
Ep 21 : "IRELAND v RUSSIA speakup" (an audio version of our writeup from Ireland's latest RWC2019 fixture, titled 'Conditional Support'))
The original post can be found here > http://www.harpinonrugby.net/2019/10/ireland-35-russia-0.html
09:04
October 8, 2019
Ep 20 : "Pro 14 kickoff special" (featuring Kristian Ross of @IrishRugbySupp)
In this week's pod we have an audio version of our Benetton v Leinster writeup, some 80-word reviews of the Irish provinces, plus a chat with Ulster fan Kristian Ross of @IrishRugbySupp who will look over Round 1 of the Pro 14.
52:19
October 2, 2019
Ep 19 : "JAPAN v IRELAND speakup" (an audio version of our Monday match writeup)
The article originally appeared on the website Monday, September 30 and can be found here > http://www.harpinonrugby.net/2019/09/japan-19-ireland-12.html
14:13
October 1, 2019
Ep 18 : "Will RWC2019 win over new fans?" featuring Keego from CouchPunditIreland.com
On this week's pod I look at the haka, then I offer a brief look at the Rugby World Cup so far, and finally I chat to Neil Keegan from CouchPunditIreland.com about whether or not the tournament in Japan is likely to win over new fans to the sport.
25:17
September 25, 2019
Ep 17 : "ALL SYSTEMS GO" : an audio version of our match writeup featuring Ireland's 27-3 RWC victory over Scotland
The original article can be found here > http://www.harpinonrugby.net/2019/09/ireland-27-scotland-3.html
12:48
September 24, 2019
Ep 16 : Some final thoughts ahead of #RWC2019 featuring Keego & Big Joe Shep
There was a bit of a SNAFU in episode 12 (all explained in intro) so hopefully this pod sorts it. Plus there's an audio version of my long piece from last Monday.
18:20
September 19, 2019
Ep 15 : "Do we know weather or not this will be a good World Cup?"
In this week’s pod I’ll start with a Harpin Point about some poorly timed negative press ahead of the World Cup, then instead of a full Back & Forward chat interview the contributors you have heard from so far all give brief thoughts on Ireland’s World Cup chances. Then I’ll give my own quick previews of Pools B, C and D before I round things off by turning my attention to Leinster A’s Celtic Cup campaign.
19:23
September 18, 2019
Ep 11 : "The Legend of the Laighin Pit" (featuring Cian O'Mulleoir aka @Rugby Kino)
On this week's pod I have a moan about turnaround times, there are reviews of the final warmup of all of Ireland's Pool A opponents, plus a chat with my fellow panellist from the DTwo Bar last Friday, Cian O'Mulleoir.
28:14
September 11, 2019
Ep 10a : "Ireland v Wales speakup" (an audio version of our weekly match writeup)
The article is titled "WARMED UP" and can be found here > http://www.harpinonrugby.net/2019/09/ireland-19-wales-10.html
11:57
September 10, 2019
Ep 10 : "See you at The Dugout Live at DTwo Bar, Fri Sep 6" (featuring Big Joe Shep of Three Blokes, A Ball & BOD)
On this week's pod we welcome frequent Harpin contributor Big Joe Shep who tells us all about his weekly online video rugby chat show called Three Blokes, A Ball & BOD, as well as the upcoming live event called The Dugout which will be at DTwo Bar & Nightclub on Harcourt St Dublin on Friday, September 6.  We also chat about the general reactions to the Irish squad.  Then I do a couple of 80-word reviews, a Harpin Point about a niggly bugbear of mine, and finally there's a quote from World Rugby number 2 Agustin Pichot...or is it more of a paraphrase?  You decide. 😜
26:39
September 4, 2019
Ep 9a : "Wales v Ireland speakup" (an audio version of our weekly match writeup)
The article is titled "In Plane Sight" and can be found here > http://www.harpinonrugby.net/2019/09/wales-17-ireland-22.html
14:09
September 3, 2019
Ep 9 : "Tweets & Tweaks after Twickers" featuring Keego from CouchPunditIreland.com
On this week's pod we welcome regular Harpin contributor Neil 'Keego' Keegan from CouchPunditIreland.com and we discuss what went wrong for Ireland at Twickenham as well as how wrong some people were with their reactions.  I also review Leinster's win in Canada plus there's a Harpin Point about whether or not Joe Schmidt should look beyond Irish shores to fill his squad.
35:39
August 28, 2019
Ep 8a : "England v Ireland speakup" (an audio version of our weekly match writeup)
Full article can be found here > http://www.harpinonrugby.net/2019/08/england-57-ireland-15.html
13:13
August 27, 2019
Ep 8 : "Harpy 11th birthday" (featuring Ciarán Duffy of @PostToPostSport)
On this week's pod we talk to our most prolific Harpin contributor about both Leinster and Ireland’s chances over the coming months plus the possibility of expanding the amount of teams at the Rugby World Cup.  Then I do some 80-word reviews on last weekend’s test matches and a controversial try from one of them provides me with my topic for this week’s Harpin Point.   Gwan, subscribe and have a listen, you know you wanna!  JLP
32:04
August 21, 2019
Ep 7 : Reviews, Ringfencing & Rankings featuring Kristian Ross
Some new features this week including "Back & Forward" where I chat to fellow egg-chasing nuts; our first guest is Ulster fan and long time Harpin contributor Kristain Ross.
28:20
August 14, 2019
Ep 6 : Pacific threats, squad changes & law tweaking
On this week's pod I look at Irish RWC2019 opponents Japan and Samoa, the latest news from Carton House and suggested law changes among other things.
14:13
August 7, 2019
Ep 5 : Negativity, mucky pitches & stolen inches
This week we look at Round 2 of the Rugby Championship, Round 1 of the Pacific Nations Cup and how they reflect Ireland's RWC2019 hopes.
13:36
July 31, 2019
Ep 4 : "Box kicks, Bonus points & Super 7s"
Still feeling our way around the whole podcast producing task but bear with us, we'll get there. This week's show includes more Harpin Points on various rugby topics, news of an upcoming event or two, and even a little snippet of music. Enjoy. JLP
17:18
July 24, 2019
Ep 3 : "Fixtures, mucky jerseys & a decade of tweets"
More Harpin Points with the following headings 1. RESTORING ORDER 2. FIXTURES & FITTINGS 3. THE STATE OF NEW JERSEYS 4. THE STICKY WICKET OF NATIONALITY 5. #twitterversary.
15:47
July 17, 2019
Ep 2 : "HP 35 : from Yankee twangs to Axial loading"
The 35th instalment of our Harpin Points feature has become the 2nd instalment of our podcast...
08:21
July 10, 2019
Pilot episode : "Here's to newer, dizzier heights"
For our first pod we're taking you back to November 2018 and our excellent win over the All Blacks. [apologies if this pod only runs a few seconds for you - accidentally deleted the core files for this...lesson learned!!!!  Full version available on Spotify > http://bit.ly/HORpodpilot ]
00:03
July 5, 2019