Skip to main content
Mike and John At The Movies

Mike and John At The Movies

By Michael Thomas & John Mathews
Film is something that connects. It transcends languages, race, and genders. Whether it's a classic like It's a Wonderful Life, an unbelievable disaster like The Room, or a modern Masterpiece like Logan. We're here to share our thoughts on it all, and hopefully have a few laughs along the way.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

LET THEM FIGHT - Godzilla vs. Kong Review

Mike and John At The Movies

1x
CUT THE CHECK - Sam Wilson is Captain America
The Falcon and the Winter Soldier has reached its conclusion this weekend. It was a fantastic journey with so much emotional depth. Today, Mike and John breakdown everything from the series character by character. Let's hear it for Captain America! Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:17:18
April 25, 2021
A Flawless Victory? - Mortal Kombat (2021) Review
Get over here! Mike and John review the new Mortal Kombat film. Is it a flawless victory, or is it yet another fatality for video game movies? We discuss everything! Spoiler-free discussion ends at 7:00. This podcast is brought to you by WOBAM Entertainment. Check out their other podcasts at wobamentertainment.com. Mike's spoiler-free video review: https://youtu.be/U1Pn_u5oKm8 Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
24:57
April 23, 2021
LET THEM FIGHT - Godzilla vs. Kong Review
Mike and John review the newly released Godzilla vs. Kong! The monster mash is a crazy action-packed battle between two titans. Spoiler discussion starts at the 20:05 mark. This podcast is brought to you by WOBAM Entertainment. Check out their other podcasts at wobamentertainment.com Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJoh:n_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
49:18
March 31, 2021
What is the Snyder Cut, if not the Justice League Persevering?
Mike and John nerd out over Zack Snyder's Justice League! This episode also doubles as a Joss Whedon roast. The spoiler section starts at 20:53. Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJoh:n_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:38:24
March 23, 2021
The Strange Masterpiece Known as WandaVision
In this episode, Mike is joined by returning guests Landon and Jack, and Will, who is new to the show! We discuss all things WandaVision as the series has reached its finale. Landon: twitter.com/thebeallman Jack: twitter.com/Captainjjb84 Will: twitter.com/wafcstudios Landon's website: wobamentertainment.com Will's podcast: https://soundcloud.com/bondzilla007 Jack's YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCa0_oh-pyqCAeEvT3zYqXig Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:39:12
March 15, 2021
Best Films of 2020
Mike and John share their top 10 films of the bad year! While 2020 was brutal for everyone, we still had some incredible films. This list is more unique than it would've been under normal circumstances, but that's the beauty of film, isn't it? Art never dies, even during a pandemic. I sincerely hope you enjoy this one. Take care, everyone! Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
51:57
February 2, 2021
What the heck is WandaVision? (Marvel is back)
Oscar Isaac and Ethan Hawke lead the Moon Knight series. Chris Evans is returning as Steve Rogers but he doesn't seem to know that. Charlie Cox wandered onto the set of Spider-Man 3, and WandaVision premiered on Disney+! This episode is going to be marvelous. Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
33:59
January 16, 2021
Soul + Wonder Woman 1984 Review
In our final episode of 2020, Mike and John review Pixar's latest film, Soul, as well as Warner Bros, Wonder Woman 1984. In case you haven't seen Soul, this is a spoiler-free review. However, Wonder Woman 1984 has a spoiler section towards the middle of the episode. We'll give you a warning when the time comes. Lastly, John's audio dips sometimes, so if he sounds like Ares, don't worry. That's on our end. Happy holidays and thanks for listening! Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:18:03
December 29, 2020
Mini Hot Takes - Star Wars Edition
So, we had a few extra Hot Takes to give during our episode a few weeks back. Here's our thoughts of Star Wars,
07:50
May 4, 2020
Knives Out Discussion
Mike and John have a spoiler discussion of Rian Johnson's 2019 film - Knives Out.  Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
41:11
April 29, 2020
BONUS: The WOBAM! Entertainment Special
Hey guys, our friends over at WOBAM! Entertainment recorded a special episode for us! Isak Wolff, Landon Beall, and Brandon Alvarado review the terrible short-lived Fire Emblem animated series. Trust me, the show is bad, but their discussion makes it all worth it. If you're into these bonus episodes let us know! We'll do them more often. For more Fire Emblem content, check out wobamentertainment.com
37:50
April 19, 2020
The Immortal Augustus Gladstone
Mike, John, and Landon Beall discuss a little indie film - The Immortal Augustus Gladstone. It's a vampire mockumentary and the entire thing is on YouTube! Here's the link so you can give it a watch yourself: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-6abbfAUPM   Enjoy the episode! Landon Beall: twitter.com/thebeallman Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
37:22
April 14, 2020
My Hero Academia Season 4 Review - Part 2
Aaaand, we're back with more MHA! This is the continued conversation from our previous episode. Mike, Brandon, Isak, and Leo discuss the UA Fall Festival and that fight between Endevear and High-End! It's Plus Ultra! Brandon Alvarado: twitter.com/TheScarletFan52 Isak Wolff: twitter.com/Emblemmaniac Leo Rydel: twitter.com/LeoRydel Geekly Goods: https://t.co/1JfOwAUJFs?amp=1 The Amateur Otaku: twitter.com/AmateurOtakuPod Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 More, My Hero Academia content can be found at wobamentertainment.com Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
46:32
April 9, 2020
My Hero Academia Season 4 Review - Part 1
Mike is joined by Isak Wolff, Brandon Alvarado, and Leo Rydel (new to the show!) as they discuss the long-awaited Overhaul arc! The guys' breakdown everything they loved about the first half of My Hero Academia season 4, So much so, that we had to break it into two parts! The Festival arc will be released in the coming days! Brandon Alvarado: twitter.com/TheScarletFan52  Isak Wolff: twitter.com/Emblemmaniac Leo Rydel: twitter.com/LeoRydel Geekly Goods: https://t.co/1JfOwAUJFs?amp=1  The Amateur Otaku: twitter.com/AmateurOtakuPod  Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies  Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies  Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile  John: twitter.com/johnmath95  More, My Hero Academia content can be found at wobamentertainment.com  Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
49:46
April 7, 2020
Hot Takes and Self-Isolation feat. Jack Critchley
As we continue to practice social-distancing and the theaters are still closed, Mike, John, and Jack discuss some of their more controversial film opinions. We had so much fun recording this one, and seeing everyone's hot takes made for a great discussion. Jack Critchley: https://twitter.com/Captainjjb84 Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Written features are available at wobamentertainment.com. Music courtesy of www.bensound.com Star Wars discussion: https://anchor.fm/theamateurotaku/episodes/Bonus-Episode-Star-Wars-Episode-IX---The-Rise-Of-SkyWalker-w-Special-Guests-Mike-Thomas-and-Landon-Beall-e9v4q4
01:12:58
March 31, 2020
My Hero Academia: Two Heroes feat. Two Otakus
Brandon Alvarado and Isak Wolf join Mike as they review My Hero Academia: Two Heroes! This spoiler-filled episode is worth a listen even if you've never seen the series. Some might say it's Plus Ultra! Brandon: https://twitter.com/TheScarletFan52 Isak: https://twitter.com/Emblemmaniac  The Amateur Otaku: https://twitter.com/AmateurOtakuPod Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 More My Hero Academia content can be found at wobamentertainment.com Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
47:07
March 24, 2020
Contagion and the scary parallels to COVID 19
John and Mike discuss the 2011 film, Contagion, as we battle a real-world pandemic. No new movies for a while so buckle up as we start working on our backlog. Non-spoiler discussion is 0:00-12:15. Spoilers 12:16-end.  Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Written reviews can be found at wobamentertainment.com Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
55:42
March 17, 2020
Onward is Something
Mike and John are back finally back together. They team up to discuss all of Pixar's animated short films. From the year 1984 to 2018. They also cover Pixar's latest feature film, Onward. It's a fun time all-around. Pixar shorts conversation is 0:00-50:00, Onward non-spoiler review is 50:00-103:44, spoiler discussion is 103:45-End. Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Written reviews can be found at wobamentertainment.com Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:28:13
March 10, 2020
The Invisible Man feat. Nate Richard
John and friend of the show, Nate Richard, discuss The Invisible Man (2020). Mike is not in this episode but he is writing the description. I will take this time to say that this film is fantastic and everyone should see it. Anyways, John and Nate's spoiler-free review is 0:00-11:51. Peace out. Nate: twitter.com/NateKnowsMovies Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Written reviews can be found at wobamentertainment.com Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
36:14
March 3, 2020
The One Where We Talk About Sonic w/ Landon Beall
Mike goes upstate with Eliza while John and Landon Beall talk about Sonic the Hedgehog. It's a spoiler review so you've been warned. Stay for a special post-credits scene. Landon: twitter.com/thebeallman Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 More video game content can be found at wobamentertainment.com Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
44:58
February 25, 2020
Go See Birds of Prey You Cowards
Harley Quinn and the Birds of Prey hit theaters this past weekend. Is it worth checking out? Mike, John and special guest, David Weiser discuss. Non-spoiler review is 0:00-9:04. Spoiler discussion is 9:07-end. David: twitter.com/weiser_david Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies  Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies  Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies  Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile  John: twitter.com/johnmath95  More comic book movie coverage at wobamentertainment.com  Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:15:41
February 12, 2020
Mike, John, Jack, and Knuckles
Mike and John are joined by Jack Critchley as they discuss everything regarding video games movies. Jack: twitter.com/Captainjjb84 Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 More video game related content can be found at wobamentertainment.com Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
54:51
February 10, 2020
The Emerald Archer - A look back at ARROW
Mike is joined by Trea Mendenhall and Paul Romano to discuss The CW series, Arrow. The show recently ended, and the guys reminisce on what made the series great. John is also present. Suit up. Trea: https://twitter.com/TreaMendenhall Paul: https://twitter.com/PaulRom95 More Arrowverse: wobamentertainment.com Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of  WB Entertainment, Blake Neely, and www.bensound.com
39:15
February 4, 2020
So that's it? What? We some kinda... Suicide Squad?
Birds of Prey hits theaters this weekend so Mike and special guest Landon Beall discuss Harley Quinn's big-screen debut, Suicide Squad.  Landon: twitter.com/thebeallman Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 More comic book related content can be found at wobamentertainment.com Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
58:53
February 3, 2020
A Cinematic CATastrophe feat. Isak Wolff
Uh, meow? Isak: twitter.com/Emblemmaniac Amateur Otaku Podcast: twitter.com/AmateurOtakuRTF Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies  Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies  Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies  Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile  John: twitter.com/johnmath95  Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
50:58
January 28, 2020
Massive Movie Preview feat. David Weiser and Will Martinez
Mike and John are joined by special guests, David Weiser and Will Martinez. The guys break down almost every wide release of the year. Covering almost 100 films in total. Can we save Michael Keaton from the clutches of Sony? Will Tenet be the biggest film of the year? Can Mulan be one of the few good Disney remakes? All these questions are answered in our biggest episode yet! David: twitter.com/weiser_david Will: twitter.com/willmovies Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies  Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies  Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies  Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile  John: twitter.com/johnmath95  Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:58:39
January 21, 2020
20 Best Films of the 2010's
The boys are back! Mike and John discuss the Golden Globes, as well as their favorite films of the past decade. There's a few good surprises you don't want to miss.  Strap in because it's a long one.  Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:51:51
January 14, 2020
2020 Oscar Nominations
John and Mike recorded a special bonus episode! The two breakdown the 2020 Academy Award nominees.  Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John: twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
34:00
January 13, 2020
Best Films of 2019 (Pilot)
The first episode of our little podcast is huge! Mike and John rank their favorite ten films on the year (2019). Does Avengers: Endgame get any love? Will Joker prove that we do live in society? What about Cats? Tune in to find out! Twitter: twitter.com/MikeJohn_Movies Facebook: facebook.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Instagram: instagram.com/mikeandjohnatthemovies Mike: twitter.com/novicecinephile John:  twitter.com/johnmath95 Music courtesy of www.bensound.com
01:04:51
December 31, 2019