Anime Summit

Summer 2017 Review

An episode of Anime Summit

By Anime Summit
The Anime Summit Podcast spawned from the /r/Anime Reddit Community as a project to help spread our love of anime and get more connected to the content we enjoy!

Join our discord at discord.animesummit.net to join the conversation!
Available on 11 platforms
Anime Summit Newscast #15 - 3/22/19
This weeks newscast we talk about some new PVs, upcoming anime such as Fire Force and No Gun Life! Also the video game hall of fame, Kill La Kill IF, the decrease in DVD and bluray sales in Japan, and upcoming Netflix anime!
31:18
March 23, 2019
What Makes A Good First Episode?
Episode 191: This week we try and answer the question: What makes a good first episode?  We have talked about the "3 Episode Rule" where you watch the first 3 episodes of an anime and try and judge from there if you want to keep watching; but of course that won't matter if the first episode isn't even worth watching right? Let us know what you homies think makes a good first episode!
1:12:53
March 21, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #14 - 3/15/19
Springs almost here! Today we talk about some upcoming anime, all of Metalder going on Youtube, Jump Force and Dragon Ball Fighterz DLC, Japans Bill on illegal downloads, Netflix's new partnerships, and an opinion on your expensive anime collectibles around children.
28:50
March 16, 2019
We Rate Your Anime 3x3's!
Episode 190: We asked all of our listeners on our Discord to make a 3x3 of Anime that represent their tastes! Then we tried to recommend them a show based on their 3x3s! Let us know how well we recommended a show to you and thanks for participating!
1:37:34
March 14, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #13 - 3/8/19
The new Masaaki Yuasa film looks so good! Today I also talk about upcoming anime, Masahiro Sakurai working himself to death, Gundam Live action news, new Nintendo Labo kit, and why Sonic The Hedgehog looks worse then Will Smith's Genie.
24:48
March 9, 2019
Alita: Battle Angel (2019) Review w/ Kwoka
Episode 189: The time has come for us to sit down and review yet another live action adaptation of a manga.  Today we review Alita: Battle Angel directed by Robert Rodriguez with James Cameron as a Producer.  We go over what we thought of the film and if we thought it served as a good or bad adaptation to its manga counterpart Gunnm (A.K.A. Battle Angel Alita).  What did you guys think? 
1:01:48
March 7, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #12 - 2/28/19
Today all three hosts are on the newscast to give a special report on the Crunchy Roll Awards! Are these awards being handled well? Were people happy or mad about the results?
41:23
March 2, 2019
Anime Spotlight: Katanagatari (2010)
 Episode 188: On this month and this evening, the crew reviews White Fox's anime adaptation of Nisio Isin's ‘Katanagatari.’ Join us as we explore the wit, adventure, and legacy of this tale. Cheerio! 
1:18:59
February 28, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #11 - 2/22/19
This newscast I have another opinion piece at the end about the ending of the era of physical media.  I also get hype for Carole & Tuesday, Jessica Jones and Punisher being cancelled, Nintendo COO stepping down, and some other things. Kind of a slow news week!
27:53
February 23, 2019
Interview with Cup and Luu of Acadubia
Episode 187: Som and Nick sit down with Cup and Luu from a voice acting/dubbing company called Acadubia.  They tell us how they started, what their goals are as a company, and even give us some marketing 101. Details on how to find them are in this episode and also our Discord!
1:04:16
February 21, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #10 - 2/15/19
Whole lot of news this week! We touch on Nintendo Direct Hype, Mazinger Z Vs Transformers, a couple of Netflix animated originals, live action Your Name details, Dragon Quest Your Story, Fruits Basket 2019 anime in theaters, Alita: Battle Angel opening weekend numbers, and much more!
28:45
February 16, 2019
Winter 2019 1st Impressions Part 2
Episode 186: Round two of our 1st impressions for the Winter Season of 2019! Today we talk about The Rising of the Shield Hero, The Promised Neverland, Kakegurui XX, Domestic Girlfriend, and some others.  Let us know what shows you think you will be sticking with for the rest of the season!
1:31:19
February 14, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #9 - 2/8/19
Light news this week with another opinion piece at the end! This week we talk about Capcom Store Opening, Mecha Bars in Japan, My Hero Academia's creator getting an award in South Korea, Base set Pokemon card game box on auction for $35,000! And at the end I talk about being an entitled douche when it comes to Anime Merch. This Episode is dedicated to Kinryuu Arimoto, Nujabes, J Dilla, and Oreo the Raccoon! Rest in Paradise!
36:19
February 9, 2019
Winter 2019 1st Impressions Part 1
Episode 185: Winter 2019 is finally here and we are getting hype! In this part we give our first impressions on about Mob Psycho 100 2, Dororo, My Roommate Is A Cat, Endro!~, Kaguya Sama, and some others. 
1:22:30
February 7, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #8 - 2/1/2019
Welcome to February! Here is the news from the last week of January! Today we discuss upcoming anime, video game hype, Season 2 of Dragon Ball FighterZ, J-World closing down, upcoming anime screenings in the US, Cowboy Bepop Live Action, and Gen Fukunaga stepping down from as GM of Funimation.
38:22
February 1, 2019
Anime Spotlight: The Tatami Galaxy (2010)
Episode 184:  This week, Som and Nick review Masaaki Yuasa's blistering adaptation of the novel by Tomihiko Morimi. Join us as we break down the themes and explore that rose-colored campus life! 
52:52
January 31, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #7 - 1/25/19
This newscast we talk about some gaming hype, France's adaptation of a City Hunter TV show, SAO Arcade game, the Kingdom Hearts 3 leak, and at the end an opinion piece on Jordan Peele turning down directing a live action adaptation of Akira.
30:31
January 26, 2019
The 3rd Annual Summies: Anime Summit's Top 10 Anime of 2018
Episode 183: THE THIRD ANNUAL SUMMIES. Ok to be fair we didn't start calling it the Summies until Nick came up with the term recently BUT YES! It is the 3rd Review of the whole year we have done as Anime Summit. Have fun with this longer episode and let us know what your tops were for 2018!
2:24:28
January 25, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #6 - 1/18/19
Today on the news there is a lot of video game hype and movie hype. Tricia also gives us a weather report before I delve into Dragon Ball Super movies numbers in the U.S., Kemonomichi getting an anime, and Jump Force open beta weekend. This episode is dedicated to the bassist of the Ravecore J-Rock band: Fear, and Loathing in Las Vegas...who passed away a few days ago. RIP Kei!
22:12
January 19, 2019
Anime Monkey Paw and #PlanningOnThePodcast
Episode 182: YOUR FAVORITE PODCAST DUO IS BACK #TeamNom. Nick and Som are minus a Dannie so we fool around with the Monkey Paw...A great anime? But at what cost? We then play some games in the second half on this light episode.
53:33
January 17, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #5 - 1/11/19
This week on the news we got a lot of movies to get hype for! New City Hunter movie, Made In Abyss, and new Gundam film Trilogy: Hathaway's Flash. Also talk about Resident Evil 1 shot demo, KH3 epilogue, Soldier 76 from Overwatch in the new Bastet story, and the Crunchy Roll Awards.
35:00
January 12, 2019
Fall Season 2018 Review
Episode 181: Finally after messing up the 1st Impressions and doing it 3 times and after having a few fun episodes we are back on that Anime grind and binge.  We review the shows of Fall Season of 2018 and go over our favorites, Award show style! Welcome to the Anime Summies for Fall!
1:54:32
January 10, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #4 - 1/4/19
Happy New Year! This newscast Dannie joins Som to bring you news about upcoming goodies like Kingdom Hearts 3 Deluxe Edition and Cardcaptor Sakura Clear Card goodies! We also talk about Pokemon and a potential Mewtwo movie remake, Nexon being sold, and details about the American live action adaptation of "Your Name".  This newscast is also dedicated to the late "Mean" Gene Okerlund. RIP Brother!
33:16
January 5, 2019
So Long My Kouga, Professional White Guy
Episode 180: Kwoka... The host who brought us all together is stepping down from the main podcast we produce. Although he will still be making Extra content and AO content, we will miss him on the main show with his Professional White Guy opinions. This episode is us just messing around with him as he takes his leave. Happy New Year!
59:51
January 4, 2019
Anime Summit Newscast #3 - 12/28/18
Happy Holidays! Bit of a slow news week because of the holidays but thats ok. Today we mention some upcoming anime, DB Super movies box office slam, Cosplay for your pets, and the passing of Toshiko Fujita; the voice actress of the iconic character Taichi Yagami from the Digimon series.
20:32
December 29, 2018
AO Christmas: MoonUnit and Forest Whit-Taker and Farts
I dont EVEN know what to write for this description. This is just to tie you guys over while we take the week off. Kwoka farted and Nick ruins everything and Som hypotheticals people in their clavicles and Dannie doesnt like Who Framed Roger Rabbit.
1:08:19
December 25, 2018
Anime Summit Newscast #2 - 12/16/18
Welcome to the 2nd newscast! I got a lot of cool feedback on the last one so here we go! Som gives her take on One Punch Man PV for season 2, some cool new merch coming out, Masako Nozawa wanting Goku to light the Olympic torch, SFV ads in the game, and Hentai Haven shutting down.
23:42
December 22, 2018
Liz And The Blue Bird Review
Episode 179: Kyoto Animation and Naoko Yamada does it again with Liz And The Blue Bird, a spin off to Hibike! Euphonium season 2. We watch the film and give our review on BASED KYOANI'S latest film and talk about how Nick is basically Squidward kind of a little bit.
51:42
December 20, 2018
Anime Summit Newscast #1 - 12/9/18
NEEEWWEEOOOOOWWWOOWWOWSSSS. Here is the first episode of our Newscast! Since we took out the news from our regular podcast this is how we are going to bring you the news from now! This way we can give better takes on current anime news and optimize our time on our regular eps for the main topics. Let us know what you guys think!
20:43
December 16, 2018
Anime List Destruction Ft. Manime Matt
Episode 178: You gave Darling in the Franxx a 9? You have horrible taste! Is what they say to Som because she gave Darling in the Franxx a high score on MAL. Using the MAL Graph app we dissect and roast each others graph results...AND MANIME MATT JOINS THE FRAY. Show us your results! https://graph.anime.plus
1:20:44
December 13, 2018
How Far to Paradise? Top Anime Hidden Gems
Episode 177: Have you gone through your MyAnimeList lately? We did and we found some under appreciated hidden gems that we want to recommend to YALL. Going by some guidelines, we try to find anime that we consider hidden gems in a overflowing sea of anime. Did we forget mention one that you consider to be a hidden gem? Let us know!
1:32:08
December 6, 2018
Progressively and Alternatively Fooly Coolying Everywhere (FLCL 2 & 3 Review)
Episode 176: Of course to follow up our review of the original FLCL, we had to of course review the two new short seasons, FLCL: Progressive and FLCL: Alternative. Its weird because this seemed like something we all wanted but then when we got it, we weren't as excited about it; and then when we saw it we figured out why we weren't. Haruko still best grill though.
1:10:24
November 29, 2018
Crack Dat Whip! Castlevania Season 2 Review w/ Kai (Clearandsweet)
Episode 175: Remember that one time when Dannie guested on our podcast and reviewed Netflix's Castlevania with us? Well now we GOTTA do a review for the second season obviously. Som reveals her power level of fandom of Castlevania which we find out isn't as high as we thought but still 10x higher then Nick's power level because he thinks Castlevania is Metroid and only heard the song "Bloody Tears" like JUST now. Thanks again to Kai for joining us!
1:19:10
November 23, 2018
Fall Season 2018 1st Impressions Pt. 2 or 3 Maybe
Episode 174: I am so sorry that we have to do this to yall with the current season going strong already BUT WE HAVE TO GET OUR FIRST IMPRESSIONS IN. So with Dannie back we re-record the rest of our 1st Impressions. Thanks to everyone for being so patient with us. you guys are seriously awesome. This episode we cover Run With The Wind, SAO, Zombie Land Saga and others.
1:01:39
November 15, 2018
Fall Season 2018 1st Impressions Pt. OOPS
Episode 173: Ok so if you follow us on social media or Discord you know that YA GURL FUCKED UP. So this is the first part of Fall Season 2018 1st Impressions part 2...or rather what I could salvage of it. Go ahead and skip the first 4 or 5 minutes or so to get right to the podcast and skip my explanation of why I am bad at everything. Please dont leave a bad Yelp review or else we're screwed. Its Nick's fault. I love you. In this part we cover Juliet Boarding School, Conception, and Double Decker..We will be recording the rest of our thought in a free for all ep next week. I promise that I will personally make it up to you whether the other hosts are part of it or not.
32:37
November 10, 2018
Fall Season 2018 1st Impressions Pt. 1
Episode 172: Fall season! The leaves are on the ground and its cold as a witches titty outside (For some of us anyway). In the beginning of this episode we explain how we are doing our seasonal reviews so you should let us know how you like it. We go over Goblin Slayer, SSSS.Gridman, Reincarnated as a Slime, and some others! What are you guys liking so far this season?
1:21:00
November 1, 2018
Spooky Anime Review: Shiki
Episode 171: We in the spoopy season now! Pumpkins, Monsters, and VAMPIRES! In this episode we talk about the highly rated show Shiki. The small town of Sotoba appears to be going through a mysterious epidemic after some sus AF looking people move into the mansion in the small town. It turns out that everyone is Count Chocula and they finna turn your ass.
56:20
October 25, 2018
80's Ultraviolence Classic: Urotsukidouji Review
Episode 170: We are in the middle of Spooptober which means were gonna pull out (LOL) the erotic horror anime Legend of the Overfiend and review it. I am not sure whats more scary though...the demons raping literally everyone or the fact that this exists. Honestly there is something to be said about the unsettling nature of these Adult stories though. Think of it as a Violentsploitation B movie or something...You know what I don't know it was just REALLY weird and gross.
52:18
October 18, 2018
Anime Shark Tank
Episode 169: In the style of the show Shark Tank, each of us comes up with an idea for an anime show and we pitch it to the other hosts to see if the other hosts will give their billion dollars per episode to that show for a stake in the company...I mean show. Look just give us a billion dollars and we will at least come up with a better show then like...Neo Yokio ok?
1:18:11
October 11, 2018
Summer Season 2018 Review
Episode 168: Summer is officially over and with that we come to the end of the Summer Season of Anime for 2018. A lot of this season some shows REALLY stood out from the rest. So much so that we thought "suugggooooiiiiiiiiiiyoyoyoyoyoyoyoyiyiiioyiiii" What were your favorites this season?
1:37:37
October 4, 2018
Anime Fantasy Football
Episode 167: ITS FOOTBALL SEASON! Nick wants us to do this because WERE GOING TO PLAY SOME GOOD OLD FASHIONED FOOTBALL...Even though Nick's teams is complete BS and RUINS A PERFECTLY GOOD GAME OF FOOTBALL. FOOTBALL!! AHHHH!!
1:02:47
September 27, 2018
Watching Anime in Live Action: The Movie
Episode 166: Live action anime movies? Gotta ask...why are these a thing? Especially recently in Japan they are popping up like daisies every couple of month. AND DONT GET ME STARTED ON GHOST IN THE SELL AGAIN. (See: Anime Summit Podcast with BlackCriticGuy) Do we are about these as anime fans though? Are they even good? Find out on the Live Action Edition of Anime Summit Podcast: The Movie Now on Anchor FM
56:14
September 21, 2018
Mary and the Witch's Flower Review
From the remnants of Studio Ghibli comes Studio Ponoc and their first feature film, "Mary and the Witch's Flower".  We all watched the film and give our reviews on the film and delve just a bit if it was a good launch for the new studio that was born from previous Ghibli employees.
56:46
September 13, 2018
Terrace House
We gather around to talk about the Japanese reality show sweeping the world!!!  
52:01
September 8, 2018
Animu Life Lessons Revisited
**EMOTIONAL**  Just kidding just kidding.  But on this ep we revisit Anime Summit Podcast episode 42.  We talk about things we've learned from anime and talk about some shit that we believe are take aways from characters we've come to love.
1:01:21
September 6, 2018
Host Swap: Cromartie High School and Paradise Kiss Review
HOST SWAP! We gotta make sure Dannie gets to swap a show with everyone. Last time she swapped Princess Jellyfish with Nick's Baccano! This time around she traded Paradise Kiss for Kwoka's Cromartie High School! Honestly both of these shows were pretty cool and we recommend that you give them a watch!
1:02:57
August 30, 2018
Summer Season 2018 Mid Impressions
Halfway through Summer and so far all we have learned is how allergies work. We go through the Summer season for our mid impressions and tell you what we have dropped, have put on hold, and what we are enjoying the most! What's everyone else watching?
1:32:04
August 23, 2018
Top Anime To Watch Before You Die
Of course us hosts are only human and can only consume so much anime in our free time.  But what are some anime that you think people should see before they die?  We talk about what anime we all think should be on that catalog. What do you think us hosts should see that we haven't yet that are anime we NEED to see before we leave this world?
1:19:50
August 16, 2018
Som Appreciation Episode
This week we show appreciation to Som the Bomb, the turkey tom, the mom.  Shes been with us since the beginning and why the fuck not.  Please enjoy this for fun episode appreciating Som with us as we grill her about anime, cats, and how she was born in 1990. #LetsFart
1:15:53
August 9, 2018
Judging an Anime by its Cover
We take a look at Key Visuals and the cover arts on MyAnimeList and talk about how we often judge them by their covers to pick what we want to watch. How do you pick what you want to watch besides the PV?  Then we also use MAL to play a game at the end!
1:08:22
August 2, 2018
Summer Season 2018 1st Impressions
SUMMER SEASON 2018! Its way too fucking hot outside so we are staying inside to watch Summer Season Anime...ALL FOR YOU.  We go through most of the shows and let you know what we like, dont like, and what we just plain didn't understand.
1:24:11
July 26, 2018
Anime Expo 2018 and 3 Years Atop the Summit
IT'S SEASON FOUR BITCHES!! For our premiere we talk about Anime Expo 2018 and talk about where we were 3 years ago at the birth of Anime Summit...Of course the only way to do that properly is having our guest be... But in all seriousness; THANK YOU from the bottom of our hearts. We are going to keep going until we no longer can.  Your support has been amazing. HERES TO ANOTHER YEAR AND ANOTHER SEASON OF ANIME SUMMIT! #SexySummitSquad
1:42:35
July 19, 2018
Kwoka In Korea! Q/A and FFA
Here is a fun episode while Nick recovers from AX 2018 and Kwoka gets back in the swing of things. We ask Kwoka about Korea and answer listener questions too.  We are happy he's back but at the same time praying that we don't get any more Kimi No Na Wa Updates.  Welcome back ya ass
1:15:49
July 13, 2018
Spring Season 2018 Review
WHAT A SEASON! Megaloboxing, Klaxosaurs, and psycho kinetic power wielding girls.  This season was TRULY fun and had a nice handful of decent shows in it; of course along with a handful of "meh" shows but nothing truly that terrible! Unless you hated Darling in the FranXX which you probably did. What were your favorite shows this season?
1:31:30
July 5, 2018
Carving Goku's Face Into Mt. Rushmore
If you were given a HUGE mountain and you were told to carve FOUR things that represent FOUR shows that are monumental to Anime Entertainment, what would you carve?  At first Som said Nadesico then everyone took a shot so we were like "Nah." Join the Summit crew and try to figure out what would be the Mount Rushmore of Anime.  What Anime shows/franchises do you think were monumental to the industry and Anime as we know it?
1:04:30
June 28, 2018
Why the MAL Top 100 Anime Series are WRONG
We know its just by popularity...but yall still WRONG! In all seriousness we check out the Top 100 TV anime series on MyAnimeList and try and see if we feel the same way.  We break it down and tell you why your favorite shows suck. If you disagree? Well thats just like.. your opinion, man.
1:30:41
June 21, 2018
Fooly Coolying EVERYWHERE! (FLCL Review)
Its time to talk about what is known to be a cult classic and even a timeless anime: FLCL aka Fooly Cooly/Furi Kuri...What does Fooly Cooly mean to anime, what does it mean to us, and actually what does the term itself FOOLY COOLY mean?  Listen and find out with Nick, Som, and Dannie!
1:13:23
June 14, 2018
Our Own Toonami Blocks
Nick, Som, and Dannie go back in time on the Nostalgia Hype train and reminisce about the time when the afternoon Toonami Block played on Cartoon Network.  We then try to tackle the idea of coming up with our own Toonami block to pitch it to the Execs upstairs!  What would you put on Toonami if they brought the afternoon block back today?
1:20:53
June 7, 2018
Unpopular Opinions w/ BlackCriticGuy
Here we go again with one of our favorite guests! Tony AKA Black Critic Guy! Hes back to join us and talk about anime and unpopular opinions we have in the anime world!  And at the end a bonus where the 4 of us play a game.  Have fun!
1:51:01
May 31, 2018
Spring Season 2018 Mid-Impressions
How is your Spring going? Ours is a bit overwhelming! So many shows...But for our mid impressions we fuck around and talk shit once again and let you guys know what we dropped and picked up so far this season.
1:18:46
May 24, 2018
Host Swap: Baccano! and Princess Jellyfish Review
HOST SWAP! Havent done one of these in awhile!  This time Nick and Dannie trade shows: Nick hands Dannie Baccano! and Dannie gives him Princess Jellyfish.  Give MANLY MAN Nick some girly gender bending shit every once in awhile nomsayin?
1:02:14
May 17, 2018
Hosts Favorites: OSTs
CUE THE MUSIC! A good soundtrack will power the visual entertainment we are enjoying.  In this case its Anime! Here are some of our favs because we thought it powered the anime perfectly..or it was just because we liked the music!
1:09:28
May 10, 2018
Cosplay! w/ Heather
Today we have a cosplay spotlight! In are first ep covering Cosplay we talk with Discord member Heather!  She loves cosplay and loves making costumes..She tells us why she loves anime and loves to go to conventions in costume!  Let us know if you like these! Should we have more cosplayers on?
1:09:44
May 3, 2018
Spring Season 2018 1st Impressions
Spring is here! We are a couple of weeks late on this one but here we have our first Impressions of what we believe to be so far a pretty awesome Season for Anime.  This ones a long one as we go over all of the awesome sequels, the reboots, and cat face johnsons.
1:42:48
April 26, 2018
My Cousin Mario
How was anime consumed back in the day? Som's cousin Mario tells us tales from Suncoast Video Store and how bootlegs got him through the times before we had the Internet tools and sites that gave us all access to anime today; and also finally the myth of how "My Cousin" Mario turned Som into the Otaku that she is today.
1:08:52
April 19, 2018
Winter Season 2018 Review
Sorry this is late! But here is our review of the Winter 2018 Review...With a few SOLID gems of shows, the Summit crew try and discuss if the rest of the season was not good or not bad but just ok.
1:25:02
April 13, 2018
Free For All / Sick Day
Hi everyone! So due to Nick being sick...we had to move some topics around and do this ep last minute...we rather bring you content then none at all..So Som and Dannie decide to hang out and just talk about whats going on in their lives with Anime...and a Q/A session at the last 20 minutes.  We will back with normal schedule next week!
1:30:55
April 5, 2018
Steins;Gate Review
Steins;Gate!  Time to get hype for the sequel coming out in Spring 2018: Steins;Gate 0!!!  By of course making Som and Dannie watch Steins;Gate since they havent seen it before those bitches...
1:08:53
March 29, 2018
Does The Fandom Ruin The Anime?
Sometimes we blame the fandom for ruining a show and we end up not watching it...Does that seem unreasonable?  Maybe ..but We talk about our own experiences to try and answer the question.
1:04:41
March 23, 2018
Studio Ghibli, Part 7
Here it is yall.. The last of our Ghibli Review series...its been fun! And we of course will still revisit other associated works.. For now...please enjoy our final part in our Studio Ghibli Review...Shout out to our host Nick for suggesting this idea and taking us on this crazy journey of awesome Anime films.  This review includes "The Tale of Princess Kaguya" .. "When Marnie Was There" .. and a short bonus review of the documentary "The Kingdom of Dreams and Madness"
1:36:50
March 15, 2018
Heroes And Villains
What makes a good Hero? What makes a good Villain? Why does Dannie hate cheetos? You thought you were listening to the Anime Summit Podcast...But its actually ME! DIO! Nah but forreal though.
1:17:34
March 8, 2018
Animu That Deserves Sequels/Reboots
This is on EVERY Otaku's minds.  Theres that list in all of our minds of anime that couldve been done better, ended better, or it just DIDNT end and it needs an end!  Or we just want to see it again!   Whats on your Sequels/Reboots/Remake Wishlist?  Dannie and Som go through their wish lists!
1:36:12
March 1, 2018
Winter Season 2018 Mid Season Review
What up dope fresh Summit Squad!  Are you guys still watching this season?  Som thinks this season is weird so far; but her opinion doesnt matter cuz shes a filthy casual and Nick has superior taste, and Dannie has a fanny.  Darling in the FranXX sucks ok?
1:25:11
February 22, 2018
In This Corner of the World Review
We talk about Anime Cinema again! This time with "In This Corner of the World"... A fictional account set in the actual account of Hiroshima Japan before and after the drop of Atomic Bomb during World War II.  Exploring themes and the style and the execution of this realistic adaptation of the popular manga!
1:13:10
February 15, 2018
Romance in Anime <3
How is romance displayed in Anime? Do we like it? Is it plot device? Is their kissy kissy face?  Check it out in this free range discussion episode on talking about the romance in Anime as Valentines Day draws near
1:23:23
February 8, 2018
Anime of 2017 Review
Finally the BIG kahuna...The Yearly Review for all of the Anime in 2017....Ok maybe not ALL but like a lot of them....I have one set of eyes and so much time before I get tired ok. Dannie, Som, and Nick decide to each make a top 10 and make a cumulative top 10 using all of three of our lists!  We tell you what we thought was the best of the year!
2:12:24
February 2, 2018
Winter Season 2018 First Impressions
New season! Winter 2018! The first anime season of the year.  You know the drill....Weve watch a bunch of first eps of shows to get a feel of what Anime has to offer us for Winter 2018!
1:39:35
January 25, 2018
Devilman Crybaby Review
Netflix is steppin up the anime game! This time we review Netflix & Masaaki Yuasa's take on DEVILMAN! Created by the famous Go Nagai. In this remake things get raunchy, bloody, and devil....eeee...Devil-ey? Devilish....Yeah! Devilish.
1:01:14
January 18, 2018
Anime New Years Resolutions
We can always improve how we consume Anime! We can always watch more shows, read more manga, or even choose new waifus and husbandos!  The Anime Summit hosts try and discuss their resolutions for 2018.
1:00:56
January 11, 2018
Welcome Dannie!!!
Happy New Year! New challenges await the Anime Summit crew...so weve called the help of a recent guest to take up the mantle of Anime Summit Host! ThatDannie! Danielle has been an Otaku since a young age like the rest of us and we are excited to have her as a new host and help us further the life of our podcast! So for the first episode of the year its all about DANNIE!
56:22
January 5, 2018
White Album 2 Review
Nick LITERALLY googled #1 Christmas Anime and this is what came up. So we watched it and it was legit.  White Album 2 Review comin at you from Nick and Som!
51:01
December 24, 2017
5 Tokyos Per Second
The Holidays are everywhere! So we tried our best to watch and review some cool Holiday-ish stuff.  Today we talk about "5 Centimeters Per Second" and "Tokyo Godfathers"
1:01:45
December 24, 2017
Fall 2017 Season Mid Impressions
DISCLAIMER: This was recorded before the Thanksgiving Episode. But since we were behind it was done kind of out of order...Please look forward to it all going back to normal and back on track after this episode. Today we discuss Mid Fall Impressions! What do we think so far? Do we relate to MMO Junkie a bit too much?
1:10:42
December 23, 2017
Studio Ghibli, Part 6
Welcome to Ghibli Review PART 6. Today we talk about "Arriety" "From Up On A Poppy Hill" and "The Wind Rises"
1:02:21
December 23, 2017
Thanksgiving Special
Happy Thanksgiving! Sorry for the late upload.  This ep we talk about being grateful for Holo...Because Som has never seen Wolf Children because shes hipster..so Mac and Nick yell at her for like an hour. Have fun!
1:04:25
December 22, 2017
Anime Summit Halloween Special
Today we talk about two halloweenish sorta animus. The First off being "Le portrait de Petit Cosette" followed by "Electromagnetic Girlfriend" aka the Never ending Hitachi! Tune in as we make tacky jokes and entertain our 2 special guests! ;)
1:08:56
November 21, 2017
Vamp Hunter D
Nick, Som, and Dannie get together to talk about Vampires, Hunters, and Ds.
1:04:28
November 6, 2017
Fall 2017 First Impressions
Nick and Som cuddle up and prepare for the winds of change to bring new colors to our trees and waifus to our lives.
1:17:27
October 30, 2017
Kino's Journey Review
Som and Nick sit down to discuss Kino's Journey due to a sequel being released this season!
1:07:22
October 23, 2017
Netflix Reviews - Castlevania, Death Note
This was recorded before Neo Yokio...so just wait....
1:03:47
October 9, 2017
Summer 2017 Review
In this extra long episode, Nick and Som talk at each other about things. Mostly Japanimated things.
1:34:52
October 5, 2017
Rewatches Revisited Revision 3.14
Sorry for the Delay! Pls don't hurt the Mac. Pretty straightforward for this episode ladies and germs. We talk about rewatch value and the such, maybe make some orgasm noises, and we discuss horse orgasms for some reason...
1:07:49
September 23, 2017
Summer Opinions Part 2
So uh, we did a thing where we recorded our opinions halfway through the summer season. Too bad they're not totally complete, but it will get you by! Plus, a very steamy news section!
1:02:11
August 26, 2017
Nagi No Asukara Review
This episode We discuss the fantastic anime that is Nagi no Asukara! What are your thoughts on this? You should totally let us know on discord, or leave us a review on itunes or youtube!
57:55
August 16, 2017
The Ending Theme Smackdown!
On this episode of Anime Summit: -Mac says "Fantastic" more than once -Nick has good taste - and Som proves that Martian Successor Nadesico is his favorite anime of all time! Be sure to pay attention to the ending theme guys! ;)
1:13:46
August 10, 2017
MANime Matt Guest special!
So this week, the MAN of the hour happens to be none other than MANime Matt! He struts in, brings his MANly opinions, shits on some shows, and walks out a total MAN. We shall sing songs of the day we recorded this... No but seriously, we chat with Matt, ask him some shit, then talk about how weekly releases vs bulk release effects our perceptions of anime viewing... By a fireplace, adorned with pictures of Terry Crews... with wood floors and maybe a hunting trophy or two.
1:03:17
August 2, 2017
Studio Ghibli, Part Four (Parkour)
The movies up for chat today Are "My Neighbors the Yamadas", "Spirited Away", and "The Cat Returns". And lets be real, you're only here for spirited away probably ;)
1:03:29
July 26, 2017
Summer 2017 First Impressions
3 guys walk into a talent agent's office and put on a show! The title? Summer 2017 first impressions!
1:12:00
July 19, 2017
Spring 2017 Final Impressions
Som and Nick (No mac) talk about their feelings concerning the spring 2017 season!
43:30
July 19, 2017
Feels on Wheels!
(Nick was the genius that came up with the title for this episode) What are feels? Does it matter that Length time Diameter plus Weight over Girth divided by Angle of the tip squared isn't always the result you wanted? How about lewd hand holding? Well, we gather around the slightly wobbly table of anime summit discussion to answer these questions! Also, be advised; Minor spoilerinos may be present but were not harmed in the making of this podchast episode.
1:02:54
June 21, 2017
A 'Driver's High' on OPs!
What do we think are great OPs? What do we feel makes a solid OP theme for an anime? Tune in to find out! On this Episode; -Som becomes a Crustacean -Nick reminds us about a special yellow sponge and Mac changes his list 42 thousand times in the course of the episode.
1:11:36
June 13, 2017
How should Scoring be done?
Here we gather to talk about what we think of the commonly seen scoring systems of Anime fans! We chat about the different scales, our opinions of them, and what we think is the best! Mac may or may not have been way too drunk to record this.
1:03:47
June 12, 2017
Koe No Katachi review episode
In one of our fastest turn arounds ever, we come together to talk about Koe no Katachi. And boy oh boy, is it a movie worth remembering. Tune in to hear our thoughts on the movie and the themes of it! Mac may or may not have been sick at the time of recording.
1:00:21
May 27, 2017
Spring 2017 Midseason Checkup
On this Installment of the Anime Summit Chomcast... Som Gets hit By La Chancla Nick Watches Anime while recording And Mac makes strange noises Oh, and something something Spring 2017 season. That Happens too.
1:05:19
May 22, 2017
Kwoka Aprreciation Episode
Gather round as we talk about very important things, and say what we (Som and Nick) love about kwoka so much! Mac may or may not have passed out and missed recording the episode. Oops.
59:58
May 17, 2017
We turn 100 Episodes old!
Who would have thought? It's been a long time since episode 1... almost 2 years to be exact, and yet here we are. Still here, talking anime, making fun of each other, and enjoying every second of what we do. This episode is very down to earth and we felt it was a very fitting way to mark 100 episodes complete. So here's to all of you that really make this possible! Are you ready? In true Anime Summit fashion, we bring you Episode 100
1:21:44
May 8, 2017
Ghibli Part 3
The third installment of our series on Ghibli! Up for discussion this go around we have Pon Poko, Whispers of the Heart, and Princess Mononoke!
1:03:21
May 2, 2017
Spring 2017 First Impressions
The gang all comer together to tell you what we think about the spring 2017 season! Just put your faith in us, we won't lead you astray! Also, details about a very short competition for an awesome prize!
1:18:24
April 24, 2017
Ghost in the Shell
BlackCriticGuy joins the cast to talk about Ghost in the Shell, new and old.
1:14:04
April 17, 2017
Inspirational Characters
The gang gathers around and talks about the characters that motivate us!
52:56
April 10, 2017
Winter 2017 Finale
49:31
April 3, 2017
Paranoia Agent and Rage of Bahamut
We talk about two awesome shows today! WOOOOOOOO
51:21
March 27, 2017
90's Anime Were Better
We talk about 90's anime and why it's so much better than current anime. Also, we argue about Crunchyroll  
54:25
March 20, 2017
Mac Appreciation Week
We gather round to celebrate Mac and see him off on his journey to Europe to visit the land of Kraut and Nazis!
57:37
March 13, 2017
Studio Ghibli Batch 2
We are all back together to talk about Kiki's Delivery Service, Only Yesterday, and Porco Rosso!
1:00:25
March 6, 2017
Winter 2017 Catch Up
The gang is back to talk about this current Winter Season of 2017! Kwoka was missing last time so we focus on the things he's been watching and his views on many of the shows we talked about last time!  
53:54
February 27, 2017
The Hentai Episode
After fan demand, we're back to talk about hentai on this romantic Valentine's Episode! We answer fan questions and tell some stories and talk about how much we feel 2d waifus deserve sweet loving too!  
1:02:09
February 20, 2017
Free for all with Mothers Basement
We are pleased to bring you a very special episode featuring Geoff aka Mothers Basement! We reminisce about our respective time in Japan, Touch base on shows that are actually good, and are subjected to numerous sponsorship plugs! "And if you go to lootcrate.com/basement then you can get 10 per-- " Yeah, You get it.
1:00:14
February 13, 2017
Free for All w/ Black Critic Guy
We're joined by Black Critic Guy (https://www.youtube.com/user/BlackCriticGuy) to talk about anime, and movies, and lots of other stuff.   Don't forget to follow us on Twitter to be kept up to date on every new episode and other anime news! If you liked the show, please leave a review on iTunes! Or subscribe via RSS or Youtube! Oh, and join us on Discord!
56:45
February 6, 2017
Hyperdimension Neptunia Free for All
Kwoka is back, and we also have a guest! ShadowSeraph joins us to talk about one of his favorite shows, Hyperdimension Neptunia! Neptunia is a show based on the console wars, or something. Kwoka's XbOne Gamertag: Ultimate Meduka Som's B.net: FantasmaXIII#1195   Join us to play Overwatch or something
56:24
January 30, 2017
Winter 2017 First Impressions
On this episode, Mac Nick, and Som chat a bit about the shows that are currently airing this season! Find out which shows are worth watching, and which are just cringe worthy.
1:04:03
January 23, 2017
Ghibli Special, 'In The Beginning'
At Nick's Suggestion, we take a walk down memory lane and talk about some classic Studio Ghibli Works. We kick off the series by covering the first 3 movies to come out, "Castle in the Sky", "Grave of the Fireflies", and "My Neighbor Totoro". Please be warned that since these are older movies, there are spoilers in this episode! But hey, Ghibli movies can't really 'Be spoiled', can they? Join our walk down memory lane and reminisce about these timeless classics!
1:04:36
January 16, 2017
Anime Summit 2016 Awards Show
To watch the vide that shows our pretty faces, check out https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_DVKXfkZyc   Otherwise tune is to hear us discuss our favorite anime from this past year!
2:07:01
January 10, 2017
Kimi no na wa, all the way to Redline!
On our First episode of 2017, we talk about 2 excellent movies! First we touch base on Redline; an over the top movie about racing, then we bring things down some on the hype factor (Or should I say, up?) as we delve into kimi no na wa and why YOU should watch it!
52:50
January 9, 2017
The Live Episode!
We all gather together in Minnesota to livestream and meet each other! Kwoka talks about his exploits, Mac and Nick drink water, and Som poops! Check out the video at our Youtube Channel!
1:04:20
January 2, 2017
Shinsekai Nadesico Trade (Gekigan Flare Edition)
It's Time for yet another Trade! Mac brings Shinsekai Yori to the table for Som to watch, and Som brings Martian Successor Nadesico for Mac to watch! Tune in for this very special episode of Dystopias and Scifi goodness!
1:02:14
December 24, 2016
Animator Expo Shorts
This time around, Mac, Nick, and Som gather around the great round table that is the intertubes to talk about all of the Animator expo shorts that have come out since it began! We tell you which ones are worth checking out, and which ones are maybe worth skipping over. We may also make fun of kwoka a little bit... Speaking of Kwoka, last we heard is that he has found a suitably tight stomach in Korea! What could this all mean? Details to come!
1:11:12
December 19, 2016
Midseason Followup
Gather around as we touch base on a couple of the currently airing shows! Kwoka magically shows up to record, Nick interrupts, Som was born in 1990, and Mac edits!
54:31
December 13, 2016
Comedy Anime
51:02
December 5, 2016
Underrated, Overrated, or whatever...
With Kwoka out vacationing, Mac takes the helm and guides us into a topic of Underrated and Overrated shows! Listen to us argue about overrated and underrated things. There may also be some Spongebob talk in there... Don't forget to follow us on Twitter to be kept up to date on every new episode and other anime news! If you liked the show, please leave a review on iTunes! Or subscribe via RSS or Youtube! Oh, and join us on Discord!
58:49
November 30, 2016
Anime Questions Answered
The gang comes together to answer YOUR questions LIVE on the air! Log in to http://discord.animesummit.net to ask your questions NOW!   Don't forget to follow us on Twitter to be kept up to date on every new episode and other anime news! If you liked the show, please leave a review on iTunes! Or subscribe via RSS or Youtube! Oh, and join us on Discord!
50:37
November 28, 2016
Boogiepop Phantom & Haibane Renmei
Som and Nick traded shows, and now they talk about them.   Both shows from early 2000.
55:59
November 21, 2016
Fall 2016 Update
The Presidential race is over, and the week has stressed everyone out. But let's ignore that and instead talk about Chinese porn cartoons! The Fall season is well underway, and the diamonds are floating to the top, but some poop is floating too. That stuff should really start sinking. We don't need another Summer season.  
57:04
November 14, 2016
Sailor Moon: Her Eternal Moonlight Book Interview
http://hereternalmoonlight.com
52:29
November 7, 2016
Horror & Cosplay
53:47
October 30, 2016
The Re:Zero Episode
It's time for us to finally talk about how we feel about the most popular show of the last two season! Yaaaaay! It's time to talk about Re:Zero!   The gang has a whole bunch of strong feelings about this show, and hilarity ensues as they try to get them out!
1:01:40
October 24, 2016
Fall 2016 First Impressions
Fall is HERE!!! A whole new slew of anime for us to talk about and be eventually disappointed by!    
54:34
October 17, 2016
Bearface Actress
Hasoda and Kon. Two great directors. Two great movies. Tune in as we discuss the artistic merits of Bakemono no Ko and Millennium Actress!   Don't forget to follow us on Twitter to be kept up to date on every new episode a
54:53
October 13, 2016
Summer 2016 Review
Summer is over! As the trees turn orange and red, we reflect on the anime that graced out screens when the sun was out to get us the most!   What are our most memorable shows? The ones that defied our expectations? and our top picks for the season as a whole? Come hither and find out within!
1:03:22
October 3, 2016
Holding Hands is Romantic?!
It's time to talk about playing Barry Manilow for your favourite 2d waifu! It's time to talk about Romance in Anime! Anime likes to take vastly different paths through romantic plots when compared across genres. From Shoujo anime's constant misunderstandings, to Shonen anime's Jesus-kun panty droppers. So I guess we'll talk about that.   Oh, and we have a new youtube channel at Http://extra.animesummit.net Check it out!
50:18
September 26, 2016
Anime as We Know it
55:06
September 19, 2016
Our Taste Sucks
46:32
September 12, 2016
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!
Anchor logo

Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!