Skip to main content
Beat It Movie Reviews

Beat It Movie Reviews

By Joe cabello
Beat It Movie Reviews! The movie review podcast that wants to love every movie but sometimes fails!

Joe Cabello (writer/robot in disguise) and Chris Hosoda (gamer/Foxhound) review a new movie every week, as well as talk about what they’ve been watching.

Including their patented segment where they compare the feature movie to a food dish and give a double feature pairing!
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

PodBean Logo

PodBean

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Stitcher Logo

Stitcher

Currently playing episode

Halloween Kills Review

Beat It Movie Reviews

1x
Ghostbusters: Afterlife
This week we review Ghostbusters: Afterlife! We also talk about: The Witch Part 1 Jennifer’s Body The Blob Phantasm Police Academy Cowboy Bebop Hellbound
01:38:24
November 23, 2021
Red Notice Review
Chris and Joe review Netflix's new film Red Notice! We also talk about Curb Your Enthusiasm, Miss Granny, Dead Ringers, and More!
01:00:55
November 16, 2021
Eternals Review
We review Eternals as our feature review, and we also talk about: Curb Your Enthusiasm Finch and more
01:47:30
November 8, 2021
Last Night in SOHO Review
We also talk about: Cure Nightbreed Videodrome Blithe Spirit
59:28
November 2, 2021
Dune Review
We review Dune! We also talk about Night Teeth, You, and More!
01:07:29
October 25, 2021
Halloween Kills Review
Today on Beat It Movie review, Michael Myers returns and we talk about Iron Man, and I’m not talking about Robert Downy Jr. We also talk: Marvel’s What If You season 3 Tetsuo Divergent / Insurgent / Allegiant There’s Someone Inside Your House Angel
01:20:33
October 18, 2021
Venom: Let There Be Carnage Review
This week on Beat It Movie Reviews, Joe Gets Snyder Cut (ouch), and we’re sponsored by Just the Two of Us: The Symbiote Dating App What We’ve Been Watching: Creature from the Black Lagoon Titane Dawn of the Dead La Brea Marvel’s What if Squid Game Joe Cabello’s Twitter Joe Cabello’s Patreon Joe Cabello’s Facebook Page Joe Cabello’s Instagram
01:45:52
October 4, 2021
Star Wars: Visions Review
In this episode of Beat It Movie Reviews, we apologize to the movie gods for not reviewing a movie, a 25-year-old movie gets the IMAX treatment, and we rank the episodes of Star Wars Visions. Check out this TV recap-packed episode! What We've Been Watching: The Premise Ghost in the Shell (1995) IMAX What If Creep Show Season 3 Major League Apocalypto Desperado Space Truckers Kate Ted Lesso Reservation Dogs Nine Perfect Strangers VISIONS EPISODE RANKINGS: Joe 9. Akakiri (Science Saru) 8. Lap and Ocho (Geno Studio) 7. The Elder (Studio Trigger - Promare) 6. The Village Bride (Kinema Citrus) 5. The Twins (Studio Trigger) 4. The Dual (Kamikaze Douga) 3. Tatooine Rhapsody (Studio Colorido) 2. T0-B1 (Science Saru) 1. The Ninth Jedi (Production IG - Ghost in the Shell) Chris 9. Akakiri 8. The Village Bride 7. Tatooine Rhapsody 6. Lop & Ocho 5. The Elder 4. The Duel 3. The Twins 2. T0-B1 1. The Ninth Jedi
01:38:56
September 27, 2021
Prisoners of the Ghostland Review
We review the new Nic Cage starring film, Prisoners of the Ghostland! We also talk about: What If Y: The Last Man Squid Game The Premise The Canyons The Pirates Miracle Mile The Voyeurs
01:14:21
September 20, 2021
Shang-Chi + Malignant Review
We review both Malignant AND Shang-Chi! We also talk about What If and Shaft (2019)!
01:10:55
September 13, 2021
Candyman (2021) Review
We review the new Candyman sequel! We also discuss:  Vacation Friends Nothing but Trouble Candyman What If Joe Versus the Volcano Memories of Murder
01:05:49
August 30, 2021
Reminiscence Review
Joe and Chris review Reminiscence (WB/HBO MAX) and, for the first time ever, only talk about one thing each that they've been watching! DEMONIC (NEIL BLOMMKAMP) NINE PERFECT STRANGERS
48:15
August 25, 2021
Free Guy Review
We review Free Guy as well as talk about  Coda Shmigadoon Monster Hunter Legends of the Guild Dave Attack the Block Body Heat Night Moves Blow Out Fantasy Island (TV) The Chase Chaos Walking Moonstruck White Lotus
01:50:18
August 17, 2021
The Suicide Squad Review
Joe and Chris review The Suicide Squad available in theaters and on HBO Max! We also talk about Dave, The White Lotus, Time to Hunt, and more!
01:17:59
August 9, 2021
Jungle Cruise + The Green Knight Review
Two Feature Reviews for you this week! The Green Knight and Jungle Cruise! We also talk about Dave, Assassination, The Words Bubble Up Like Soda Pop and more.
01:26:25
August 2, 2021
Snake Eyes Origin: GI JOE Review
We talk about Dave, Amazon's Jolt, Dark Water, and much more, as well as our feature review of Snake Eyes Origin: GI JOE
01:19:16
July 27, 2021
Gunpowder Milkshake Review
We review the new Karen Gillan action movie on Netflix, Gunpowder Milkshake! We also discuss Loki's season finale, the Korean blockbuster Ashfall, the Fear Street series, and much more!
01:35:28
July 20, 2021
Black Widow Review
We review the new Marvel movie, Black Widow! We also discuss Loki, Dave, and much more.
01:39:08
July 13, 2021
Werewolves Within Review
We review the new Josh Ruben film, Werewolves Within, as well as: Loki Dave Dynasty Warriors Pipeline The Tomorrow War Fear Street Part One Vicious Fun Gundam Hathaway and more!
01:36:06
July 6, 2021
F9: The Fast Saga Review
We review the year's biggest film release! F9: The Fast Saga! We also talk about: Loki Dave Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead Too Hot to Handle Bachelorette
01:53:34
June 28, 2021
Luca Review
We review Luca!
01:33:41
June 22, 2021
Conjuring 3: The Devil Made Me Do It Review
We review the Conjuring, as well as: Sweet Tooth Conjuring 1 Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds Cruella +more
01:24:46
June 8, 2021
A Quiet Place 2 Review
We reviewed the newest film the the Quiet Universe!
01:01:48
June 1, 2021
Army of the Dead Review
We review the new Snyder movie, Army of the Dead! We also discuss: Black Roses Spiral Space Truckers The Wailing Modok Dating #NoFilter +more
01:14:28
May 24, 2021
Those Who Wish Me Dead Review
We review the new WB / HBO release, Those Who Wish Us Dead. We also talk about: Paradox Lost Beer Mission Possible Body Waves Rock n roll Nightmare Bad Batch SD Gundam Soketsu Sokuden The Djinn
01:49:08
May 17, 2021
Mitchells Versus the Machines Review
We also talk about these and more! The Veteran Yasuke Drop Dead Gorgeous Invincible Shadow and Bone Creepshow Justin Long SD Gundam
01:25:53
May 3, 2021
Mortal Kombat Review
We review Mortal Kombat! Godzilla vs Destroyah Rooftops Falcon Winter Soldier Invincible Prank encounters
01:28:37
April 26, 2021
Nobody Review
We review the new movie, Nobody: As well as Creepshow Songbird The Circle and more
01:24:18
April 19, 2021
Thunder Force Review
We review Thunder Force on Netflix, starring Melissa McCarthy and Octavia Spencer Invincible Falcon Winter Soldier The Mighty Ducks House Husband Blood Moon The Howling Wedding Coach Godzilla Drone
01:31:31
April 12, 2021
Godzilla Vs Kong Review w/ Guest Noah Kinsey
Noah Kinsey joins us to talk about Godzilla vs Kong review! We also talk about: Invincible Falcon v Winter Soldier Comrade detective Prank Encounters Miss and Mrs Cop
01:50:51
April 5, 2021
Bad Trip Review
We review Bad Trip on Netflix! Plus we talk about: Falcon and Winter Soldier Soldier-Long Invincible Unhinged Outlaws and more
01:26:38
March 29, 2021
The Snyder Cut Justice League Review w/ Olympia Sweetman
We review the SNYDER CU! (LEGENDARY STATUS) Slaxx Marriage or Mortgage Robot Jox Secret Zoo Buddy Games Falcon and Winter Soldier The Last Blockbuster
02:19:60
March 22, 2021
Yes Day Review w/ Guest Peter Murphy
We review Netflix's Yes Day!
01:47:43
March 15, 2021
Raya and the Last Dragon Review
Wandavision Wandalong goes until 24:00 Plus we talk about Fake Famous and others
01:27:58
March 9, 2021
Minari Review
We review Minari as well as discuss Wandavision until about 15 minutes into the episode. Highrise Invasion The Croods: The New Age The Map of Tiny Perfect Things Canine Intervention +more
01:14:50
March 1, 2021
Monster Hunter Review w/ Guest Olympia Sweetman
Artist Olympia Sweetman joins us to talk Monster Hunter!
02:16:58
February 22, 2021
Willy's Wonderland Review
The new Nicolas Cage movie Willy's Wonderland.
01:05:41
February 15, 2021
Bliss Review
We review the new Owen Wilson and Salma Hayek movie on Amazon Prime, Bliss.
01:16:30
February 8, 2021
The Little Things Review
We review the new WB/HBO MAX movie, The Little Things
01:19:26
February 1, 2021
Psycho Goreman Review + Joe and Chris Wandavision Wand-along
The Joe and Chris Wandavision Wanda-along Crimes of Grindelwald Triggered Kobra Kai The Nightingale Sisters Brothers You Were Never Really Here Thoroughbreds I was Never Really Here
01:30:14
January 25, 2021
Promising Young Woman Review
We review Promising Young Woman plus we talk about: Wandavision Cobra Kai The Expanse Outside the Wire The Raid The Raid 2 Twilight
01:25:48
January 18, 2021
Possessor Review
We also talk about: Cobra Kai High Note Ma Appleseed Metal Skin Panic Madox 01 Willow The Expanse
01:06:35
January 11, 2021
Shadow in the Cloud Review + Top 5 Movies/TV Shows of 2020
We review the new movie Shadow in the Cloud, as well as discuss our top 5 movies and top 5 tv shows of the year!
01:45:12
January 4, 2021
Soul / Wonder Woman 1984 Review
Chris and Joe review both Soul and Woman Woman 1984 We also talk about: Schitt's Creek Gremlins 1 / 2 Noelle Becky Monster Hunter
01:45:12
December 28, 2020
Tenet Review!
Chris and Joe talk TENET!
01:16:50
December 19, 2020
Archenemy Review
Chris and Joe Review Archenemy! The new super hero flick! We also talk about  My Octopus Teacher How Do You Know? Godmother Eli Roth’s History of Horror Oceans 12
01:22:00
December 14, 2020
Freaky Movie Review
This week we review the body swap horror, Freaky starring Kathryn Newton and Vince Vaughn!
01:27:18
December 7, 2020
Fatman Review
We review the new Mel Gibson starring movie, Fatman! We also talk about: How to with John Wilson Mandalorian Happiest Holiday and more
01:21:01
November 30, 2020
Come Play Review!
This week we review the new movie from Amblin Entertainment, Come Play, about an app-designing monster who haunts a kid! We also chat about Mandalorian, Eric Andre Show, Empty Pockets, Bloody Noses, and more!
01:22:38
November 23, 2020
Chick Fight Review starring Malin Akerman, Bella Thorne, and Alec Baldwin
Is the powerhouse trio of Malin Akerman, Bella Thorne, and Alec Baldwin a winning combo? Find out as we review this new VOD movie! We also talk about How to with John Wilson, Mandalorian, Gundam F91, and more
01:01:01
November 16, 2020
Mortal Review
Joe and Chris review the new Norwegian powers movie, Mortal! We also talk about Mandalorian, How to with John Wilson, and Haunting of Grady Farms
01:08:09
November 9, 2020
Train to Busan Presents Peninsula Review
We review the next film in the Train to Busan universe, Train to Busan presents Peninsula! Plus we debut the Joe and Chris Mandalorian Watch Along!
01:16:53
November 2, 2020
Borat Subsequent Movie Film review
Joe and Chris review the new Borat movie!  We also talk the end of Lovecraft Country, the Tim Heidecker comedy special, Tremors 7, and more!
01:11:03
October 26, 2020
Love and Monster Review
Chris and Joe talk about the new Dylan O'brien starring film, Love and Monsters. We also talk Lovecraft Country, Demons, and more!
01:24:22
October 19, 2020
Hubie Halloween Review featuring guest Shane Hartline
We review the new Adam Sandler movie, Hubie Halloween
01:04:53
October 12, 2020
Vampires Vs the Bronx Review!
This week we review Netflix's Vampires vs The Bronx!
01:29:17
October 6, 2020
Enola Holmes Review!
Joe and Chris review Enola Holmes!
57:57
September 28, 2020
The Devil All the Time Movie Review
This week Joe and Chris review The Devil All the Time, now available on Netflix
01:16:21
September 23, 2020
The Babysitter: Killer Queen review w/ guest Joan Ford
Chris and Joe are joined by writer Joan Ford (Thundercats GO!) to talk about the sequel to The Babysitter, The Babysitter: Killer Queen. We also discuss: Nightmare on Elm Street series Ponyo New Mutants and more
01:34:49
September 15, 2020
Mulan Review!
We review the new Disney live action Mulan, as well as talk about: Lovecraft Country Game of Death (2020) Howl's Moving Castle +More
01:26:37
September 7, 2020
Bill and Ted Face the Music Review!
We review the new Bill and Ted movie and talk Lovecraft Country, Spirited Away, + More!
01:24:33
August 31, 2020
Random Acts of Violent Review! W/ guest Calder Holbrook
Jay Baruchel directed a horror movie? Check out our thoughts on this tight, 86 minute horror movie!
01:38:42
August 24, 2020
Project Power Review w/ Matt Mazany - Joseph Gordon Levitt and Jamie Foxx in a superhero movie?!?!?
We are joined by Matt Mazany to review the new Netflix movie Project Power starring Jamie Foxx and Joseph Gordon Levitt.
01:35:18
August 17, 2020
An American Pickle Review!
Joe and Chris review the new Seth Rogan movie, An American Pickle. PICKLE ME TIMBERS!
53:59
August 10, 2020
Yes, God, Yes Movie Review!
Chris and Joe review the new Natalia Dyer led movie, Yes, God, Yes!
01:25:25
August 3, 2020
The Rental Review
The Rental
01:20:23
July 27, 2020
The Old Guard & Palm Springs Movie Reviews!
We review the Netflix movie The Old Guard and the Hulu movie Palm Springs! Sponsor: Dog Shit Watering Cans
01:21:33
July 13, 2020
Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga Movie Review
Chris and Joe review Netflix's Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga. Sponsor: The Classic Camel Toe
01:02:59
June 29, 2020
Da 5 Bloods Review
Joe and Chris review Spike Lee's Da 5 Bloods, give our double feature ideas, and say what we think would make a "great" sequel. Sponsors:  Anything but War Link to the virtual screening room: https://discord.gg/f2cJtXm
01:20:37
June 22, 2020
The King of Staten Island Review
Chris Hosoda and Joe Cabello are joined by filmmaker Chris Duce! Sponsor: Joker
01:20:24
June 16, 2020
Killing Gunther Review - Arnold Schwarzenegger's Finest Performance Ever???
We review Taran Killam's directorial debut, Killing Gunther, along with our special guest Alexandra Kirsch. She's an awesome director and first AD. Sponsor: Predator Movie Quotes
01:17:41
June 8, 2020
Vast of Night Movie Review
Chris and Joe review the new Amazon Prime movie, Vast of Night!
57:06
June 1, 2020
The Lovebirds review + Quibi talk
This week Lorraine Degraffenreidt joins Chris and Joe again to review the new Netflix comedy, The Lovebirds. Sponsor: Pharmacy and Dollar Store Clothing
01:51:16
May 25, 2020
The Wrong Missy Review w guest Lorraine Degraffenreidt
This week we review Happy Madison's newest movie starring David Spade and Lauren Lapkus, The Wrong Missy. TV writer Lorraine Degraffenreidt joins u. Twitter @lorrrrraine instagram Lorrankydank
01:25:23
May 18, 2020
Valley Girl (2020) Review
Chris and Joe review the new Valley Girl musical remake.  @joecabello and @rebirthprojecton twitter This week's sponsor:  Singing
01:15:36
May 12, 2020
1BR Review
Joe (@joecabello) and Chris (@rebirthproject) review 1BR, the new horror film by David Marmor. Sponsors this week: House Cats ApartmentFinder
01:27:37
May 4, 2020
Extraction Review (Chris Hemsworth Netflix Movie)
This week Joe and Chris have a beefy review of Extraction (starts around 30m). We also talk about Dave and Joe Bob's Last Drive In. Sponsors:  -Life Defining Tragedies -Dhaka City Body Armor
01:47:32
April 27, 2020
Extra Ordinary Review
Joe and Chris review the new Will Forte movie, Extra Ordinary! Sponsors: VirginMates Dick Rod's Dick Rods
01:27:11
April 21, 2020
We Summon the Darkness Movie Review
Chris and Joe review We Summon the Darkness! Sponsors: Pentagram photo sharing app Pentadoor
01:01:35
April 13, 2020
Onward Review
Joe and Chris review Disney PIxar's Onward! Sponsors: Audible Spellbooks, Bottom Finder
01:16:04
April 6, 2020
Bloodshot Review
Chris and Joe review Vin Diesel's Bloodshot.
53:26
March 25, 2020
The Hunt Movie Review + Morbius Stanning
This week we review The Hunt! We also talk about Sliding Doors, VFW, and more! Sponsors this week: Alt Right Trolls Liberal Guns
01:19:43
March 16, 2020
Emma. Movie Review + Talking about Heavy Metal, Outsider, You + more
Joe and Chris review Emma.! That's Emma with a period. We give our suggested double feature(s) for the movie, plus talk about what we've been watching. Thank you for our sponsors, Jane Austen Love Triangles and Horse Drawn Carriages
01:21:31
March 10, 2020
Invisible Man Movie Review
We review the new Leigh Whannell movie, Invisible Man!
01:03:36
March 2, 2020
Snatchers Movie Review + Watching Movies Before Seeing the Trailer
This week we review Snatchers directed by Stephen Cedars and Benji Kleiman.  We also talk about Stumptown, The Love Witch, and the idea of going into movies blind without having seen the trailer. Reach out to us on social media @rebirthproject and @joecabello on twitter to tell us what you think about the show!
01:27:53
February 24, 2020
Enter the Dragon Movie Review + New Trailers Breakdown
Starting a new show on this channel focused on talking about new movies, old movies, cool movies, and weird movies with my friend Chris Hosoda.  In this episode we talk about the new Donnie Yen movie, Enter the Fat Dragon.
01:10:58
February 17, 2020
Movie Review: Bombshell
Thoughts on Bombshell and why it might fail to connect with audiences.
04:47
December 29, 2019
Dodgeball
In the season finale, we talk about Dodgeball and Save-the-rec-center style movies. Patreon Patreon.com/beatitpodcast Facebook facebook.com/beatitscreenwriting Instagram Instagram.com/beaititscreenwriting
23:57
May 27, 2019
Bumblebee
Starring Hailee Steinfeld, Bumblebee is a great buddy movie with a solid structure, and emotional arcs with a ton of heart, and while it may not be as robot-packed as the 80s Transformers movie, there’s a surprising amount of rich characters who all feel really important to the story. There’s so much I want to talk about with this movie, so let’s just get into it. Patreon Patreon.com/beatitpodcast Facebook facebook.com/beatitscreenwriting Instagram Instagram.com/beaititscreenwriting
29:50
May 6, 2019
Big Trouble in Little China
Obviously, I have a lot of love for this movie, which is enough reason for me to break it down, but one of the screenwriting reasons I wanted to choose this movie is because of its midpoint. The midpoint beat is often talked about in terms of the main character fully entering their new world. It’s when they become believers. I think that aspect of the midpoint can be a little hard to pinpoint in many movies, or just plain hard to understand, but this movie has a very clear example of this element of the midpoint that I’m excited to talk about. Let’s get into it. Patreon Patreon.com/beatitpodcast Facebook facebook.com/beatitscreenwriting Instagram Instagram.com/beaititscreenwriting
25:26
April 22, 2019
Transformers (1986) + Bonus Segment
BONUS SEGMENT: At the end of the episode, we will be using Transformers' beats to make our very own movie. This is a great way for beginner screenwriters to learn structure, or just as a creative writing exercise. Let's see if it works! I wanted to choose this movie because it’s a classic for any Transformers fan or kid of the 80s, but I’ll be honest. I never had much respect for it. When I rewatched this movie a couple of years ago, I thought it was a total mess, and it pretty much is in a lot of ways, but when I really paid attention and got past the death of my childhood hero, I could finally appreciate the glorious structure that holds it all together.  Patreon Patreon.com/beatitpodcast Facebook facebook.com/beatitscreenwriting Instagram Instagram.com/beaititscreenwriting
24:01
April 8, 2019
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990)
Yes, this is a movie you loved as a kid. Yes, it has some really dated,  bad jokes in it. But hell yes, it is SUCH a good movie. It has a  fantastic structure, and even those bad jokes I'm talking about are fun  because you're seeing them through masterfully built Jim Henson puppets.  Patreon Patreon.com/beatitpodcast Facebook facebook.com/beatitscreenwriting Instagram Instagram.com/beaititscreenwriting
16:49
March 26, 2019
Breaking Down the Beats
This is not the actual podcast. This is just a short episode to help serve as a glossary for the main screenwriting terms the show is going to cover. I imagine that screenwriters listening to this already have a good sense of these terms, but I don’t want to alienate someone who has just a little bit, or even no knowledge about screenwriting. Patreon Patreon.com/beatitpodcast Facebook facebook.com/beatitscreenwriting Instagram Instagram.com/beaititscreenwriting
07:38
March 21, 2019
Street Fighter (1994)
 I know people have a lot of feelings about Street Fighter: The Movie. Most of those feelings are that it sucks. And you know what? It does as far as Street Fighter movies go. Much like all of the video game movies from the 90s era into now, it isn’t exactly faithful.  But that being said, it’s a very fun and effective 90s action movie, and it’s as a movie that is widely known by being plagued with too many characters, it’s fun to see how writer Steven E. De Souza manages all the storyline and character arcs.  Article about the making of the movie: https://www.polygon.com/features/2014/3/10/5451014/street-fighter-the-movie-what-went-wrong Patreon Patreon.com/beatitpodcast Facebook facebook.com/beatitscreenwriting Instagram Instagram.com/beaititscreenwriting
19:34
March 18, 2019