Skip to main content
Broken Trophy podcast

Broken Trophy podcast

By The Broken Trophy Podcast
The most diverse sports podcast around. Tom and Stef chat to people from all sports, from Olympic rowers to pistol shooters, World Cup winning rugby players and cricketers to endurance athletes and footballers. We used to be contenders, now we just talk a good game. Sublime, ridiculous, but never boring!
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Women's county cricket season preview - with Raf Nicholson and Syd Egan

Broken Trophy podcast

1x
Women's 6 Nations - Finals Day Review
The boys are joined by Rocky Clark, Georgina Gulliver and Kim Oliver to run through the Finals Day weekend in the 6 Nations. We go all 'match of the day' with each of our guests covering a specific game: England 10 v 6 France - Rocky  Ireland 25 v 5 Italy - Georgie Scotland 25 v 5 Wales - Kim As well as discussing all the key moments from all three games, we chat England's scrum issues v France, how good is Poppy Cleall, how media coverage of the 6Nations has been good but could be better, and what Rugby boards of the 6 Nations countries need to do to help their teams improve. If you're interested in women's rugby, this is a must-listen.
54:46
April 24, 2021
Women's county cricket season preview - with Raf Nicholson and Syd Egan
With the Women's County t20 competition starting on Sunday 25 April, Tom and Stef meet Raf Nicholson and Syd Egan of women's cricket website, CricketHer, to find out about this year's tournament, the format and the teams to watch. We then get into the overall format of women's domestic cricket in the UK, discussing regional cricket, the Hundred, whether multi-day cricket should come back into the domestic calendar and how do young girls pick a team to support? We also get a history lesson on the women's game from Raf, a PHD-holding historian!  It's a fascinating discussion with two people who are clearly extremely passionate and knowledgable about the women's game. 
39:36
April 22, 2021
Broken Trophy - with Emma Coolen
This week we talk to former footballer and current sports multi-media journalist, Emma Coolen. We talk about how she went from the eight tier in Dutch football to the top within five years, thanks to a chance meeting with American footballer, Christen Press.  We talk about the Netherlands winning Euro 2017 and how it changed the coverage of women's football in that country as a result, and how it's still growing now. Emma tells us why she left football, and how she intends to work in sports journalism after her multi-media degree is completed.  Finally we discuss women's sport in general, drawing parallels between England women's rugby and cricket, what can still be done to put men's and women's sport on an equal playing field, including potentially having separate twitter channels for country's men's and women's team.  This is really good chat about women's sport in general, with someone who has been involved both as a participant, and as a media representative. 
44:19
April 14, 2021
Women's 6 Nations - Week 2 review with Kim Oliver
The boys discuss this week's Women's Six Nations action with former England rugby player, Kim Oliver.  This week's results were:  Italy 3 - 67 England Wales 0 - 45 Ireland.  #WomensSixNations 
24:00
April 10, 2021
County Cricket Season Preview - Part 2 with Stuart Meaker and James Vince
The second part of our county cricket season 2021 preview is here, as we talk to Sussex quick bowler Stuart Meaker, and Hampshire captain James Vince, about their side's chances of success this year. 
46:06
April 6, 2021
County Cricket Season Preview - Part 1 with Jack Leach and Mark Robinson
The mens county cricket season starts on Thursday 8th April, so we decided to speak to some of those featuring about how excited they are about it all!  In the first of two preview episodes we speak to Somerset spinner Jack Leach and new Warwickshire head coach Mark Robinson. Some absolutely brilliant chat and fascinating insights ahead of the new season. 
44:49
April 5, 2021
Women's 6 Nations - Week 1 review with Rocky Clark
The boys are joined by England GOAT Rocky Clark to chat through the first week of the Women's Six Nations, where England beat Scotland 52-10, and France beat Wales 53-0. Up for honourable mentions:  Poppy Cleall, and how she's one of the best players in the world.  Bryony Cleall, and how hard she's worked to get back to full fitness Emma Wassell's dancing feet, and how Scotland were 'much improved' on last year  Donna Rose on an impressive debut for Wales And how two of our 6N preview show guests, Gabrielle Vernier and Poppy, both won POTMs this week! Proud moment!! 
24:34
April 3, 2021
Women's 6 Nations - Pool B Preview
Today we're previewing Pool B of the Women's 6 Nations, ahead of the start on Saturday 3 April. We're joined by:   Anna Caplice - Ireland  Gabrielle Vernier - France   Donna Rose - Wales  As well as the excitement around the rugby starting on Saturday we chat Irish greetings, haunted houses on the M4 and Stef shows off by speaking to Gabrielle in French. A lot... #BT6Nations
58:54
March 30, 2021
Women's 6 Nations - Pool A Preview
We look forward to the start of the Women's 6 Nations competition with two preview pods this week, this first one previewing Pool A, with England's Poppy Cleall, Scotland's Emma Wassell, and Italy's Valeria Fedrighi joining Tom and Stef.  We discuss rugby, training camps and hopes for the tournament, as well as work-play-life balance, auditing, buying a present for Valeria's Mother, and was there a twin sister hiding behind Poppy's curtain? Brilliant insight from our three guests, and really good sports too.  #BT6Nations
53:44
March 28, 2021
Broken Trophy - with Zainab 'Zee' Alema
This week we're delighted to welcome Zee Alema to the pod. Zee is a Mum of three, a neonatal nurse, and an amateur rugby player with Barnes RFC - but she dreams of becoming England's first ever Black Muslim player.  Zee tells us about her career in rugby, beginning at Ealing Trailfinders where her teammates were unsure how to react when her hijab came off as she ran through for a try. We discuss the cultural differences and difficulties she's had to overcome on her journey, and how she now has her eyes on playing in the Premier 15s - the pinnacle of women's domestic rugby in England.  She explains how she draws confidence from her role-models, Serena Williams and Maggie Alphonsi, and how her friend Celia Quansah, designed a picture of Zee in an England kit - an image she now hopes to bring to reality in the future. Zee also tells us about Studs in the Mud, her charity which supports women's rugby at grassroots.  Zee is an inspiring woman, we're so pleased she gave us the chance to share her story, and wish her well on her journey. We feel like we'll be hearing from Zee again in the future...! 
51:40
March 24, 2021
Broken Trophy - with James Tomlinson
After a short rain break, the boys are back with an episode looking forward to the nation's favourite summer sport, cricket, with former Hampshire bowler, James Tomlinson.  James is now Player Development Officer at Hampshire, responsible for working with the talented young cricketers through the age group pathway, the academy and the under 18s.  He tells us how he's been keeping the youngsters occupied through lockdown, the plans for the new season including a pre-season tournament they've been playing with the Hampshire first team. We discuss how hard it is to break through the academy programme these days, and the importance of cultural architects like James Vince to look up to. We also recall James' playing career including how he used to bowl to Robin Smith in the nets at Northlands Road, how he played for South Wilts because of the Sails-vegas nightlife, and how he was once bundled over by Shane Warne after completing a match-winning caught and bowled.  It's a fascinating chat, one to really get the juices flowing ahead of the cricket season! 
57:07
March 17, 2021
Bearing all: with Keira Bevan and Rownita Marston
The boys are joined by Bristol Bears Women, Keira Bevan and Rownita Marston, two friends we made when we went to see the Bears v Saracens before Christmas.  We discuss Keira's injury (how she did it is truly eye-watering) and recovery, playing in the Premier 15s this season, Row playing for England, but not as a hooker contrary to Stefan's notes, how Keira would love to be a flanker, how Row used to be a shot-putter, and a goalkeeper, and is starting a new job as a prison guard - her dream job.  We also have serious moments talking about the World Cup postponement, Keira's Olympics hopes, Row's decision not to play for England and how she lives for going on holiday. We discuss drinking Strawberry Daquiris on tap, how Keira is a good cook, and how Gordon Ramsay isn't quite as good as Masterchef. Finally there's some thoughts on social media, trolls, and we accidentally may inadvertently troll golf. 
51:08
March 4, 2021
Cricket: A global game for all
This week we embark on an ambitious assignment, to discuss cricket on the global stage with guests joining us from opposite sides of the world: Brazil Women’s captain Roberta Moretti-Avery, and Emerging Cricket founder Tim Cutler, in Brisbane.  Across timezones, continents and calendar days, we chat cricket in Brazil and how Roberta came to the game late, scoring a hundred for her country without even realising it. Tim tells us about his time as CEO of Hong Kong cricket, a job that whet his appetite to associate cricket and led to the formation of emergingcricket.com. We also discuss how Brazil cricket - and associate cricket more generally - has been impacted by COVID, what the immediate future holds, both for Tim, Roberta and their respective teams. If you have a thirst for knowing how the world of cricket works below the Test Playing nations, or you’re just a cricket tragic like Tim, Roberta and Tom (and Stef a bit but we’re working on him) this is the episode for you. Great fun, real insight into the game of cricket, and important work being done by Roberta and Tim on both women's and emerging cricket. 
49:44
February 26, 2021
Handstands and new challenges, with Kat Merchant
The boys are delighted to welcome England Rugby World Cup Winner, Kat Merchant. We spoke to Kat on Monday, the day she was announced as the joint head-coach of Ealing Trailfinders women’s academies at Brunel University and Henley College. So we asked her all about the new role, in which she will work alongside friend of the show Kim Oliver, and delved into her coaching ethos.  We also talk equality in sport, referencing the Sophie Devine story from New Zealand cricket, talk about her stint coaching Sri Lanka Women's rugby team, that World Cup win in 2014, and meet Honey Bear, the cockapoo. If that's not enough we discuss Kat's propensity for handstands, and how she inspired Ben Stokes to take up the art form, and discuss what is sure to be a massive year for women's rugby.   There's so much more besides, but somethings have got to be left to the imagination, haven't they? Now, get listening - it's a cracker, we promise!  #rugby #worldcup #england #2014 #katmerchant #ealingtrailfinders #kimoliver #paulageorge #handstands #benstokes #6nations #willgreenwood #srilanka #bbc #emilyscarratt #sophiedevine #davidflatman #rockyclark #jazjoyce 
54:15
February 18, 2021
The Race to Summer with Jasmine Joyce: It's go time now!
The Race to Summer is a brand new series by the Broken Trophy podcast, where we’ll be talking to three elite athletes as they embark on their journey towards global sporting events in 2021 including World Cups and the Olympics. Our first guest is Bristol Bears, Wales and Team GB rugby player, Jasmine Joyce. As one of the Allianz Premier 15’s top points and try scorers this season, Jas has already had an incredible season. And with the Six Nations and World Cup coming up for Wales, as well as the rugby sevens for Team GB at the Olympic Games in Tokyo, 2021 promises to be a massive year, both for Jas personally and for women’s rugby more generally. We’ll be speaking to Jas and our other athletes throughout the year, checking in of their preparation for the massive sporting events they’re hoping to appear in, see how the training is going, and find out the key info such as what’s the food’s like at training camps, how much stash is there, and any other interesting gossip from behind the scenes. Race to Summer will give our listeners exclusive access into the lives of elite athletes, as we go behind the scenes and hear all about their race to summer, whatever that may look like for their particular sport. Everyone has a race to run. This one will be exclusively told on the Broken Trophy Podcast. #roadtosummer #brokentrophy #rugby #bristolbears #womensrugby #rugbyworldcup #olympics #6nations #sixnations 
40:22
February 12, 2021
Alex Gray: NFL, rugby, and being the best I can be
They say everyone's journey through life is a unique one. Well that's true, but some are more than unique than others... This week we speak to Alex Gray, a man who grew up playing rugby alongside Owen Farrell, Mako Vunipola, George Ford, Elliot Daly and Jonathan Joseph in the England age groups. Well, he didn't just play alongside those current England internationals, he captained them. Breaking into seniors he favoured rugby sevens, and should have gone to the 2016 Olympics in Rio but for injury. Needing a new challenge, Alex headed Stateside, spending the next four years working through the Combines to earn himself a place in the Atlanta Falcons squad. Having recently left Atlanta in late 2020, we caught up with Alex just days before the 2021 Super Bowl, and discussed his journey through professional rugby and the NFL, his predictions for this year's Super Bowl and the Six Nations, how he never wore a jacket in Atlanta, how he went to Barnard Castle College ('thanks Dominic Cummings'), and he lifts the lid on the incredible physical and mental attributes required to make it to the top of the NFL. It's a fascinating story, and as a non-NFL man myself (Tom) I can tell you I learnt so much from listening to Alex and hearing his story. #superbowl #nfl #6nations #englandrugby #bathrugby #atlantafalcons #barnardcastle 
46:10
February 5, 2021
Max Rushden: What is it? It's the Broken Trophy Podcast!
On today’s episode we're delighted to welcome TalkSPORT host, former Soccer AM presenter and life-long Cambridge United fan, Max Rushden. Having first explained to Max what exactly the Broken Trophy Podcast is all about - can you believe he didn’t already know - we discuss a range of topics including; which is better a 147 or a 9 darter, the London Golf Show, Cambridge United Legends, social media and how to deal with trolls (and why it’s called trolling in the first place). We also discuss Soccer AM, how Max got the job and how an anvil nearly sealed the deal in a Blue Peter audition. An incredible chat ends when Stefan mocks Tom for being a wannabe Max, Tom goes red before revealing how he (Tom) once nestled in the chest of New Zealand bowler, Daniel Vettori. 
58:45
January 28, 2021
Broken Trophy - with Charlotte Edwards
With over 300 games and 10,000 runs to her name, Charlotte Edwards led England to a World Cup double and Ashes win, all in 2009. She truly is a legend of the game - what she’s doing talking to us we don’t know, but we absolutely loved talking to her! We chatted to current Southern Vipers Head Coach Charlotte just after training at the Ageas Bowl one night in early January. We’d tapped up #friendsoftheshow Charlotte Taylor and Emily Windsor for gossip, and we did get one cheeky nugget to ask, but the truth is there was precious little dirt - Charlotte is a keeper! We chat about training through COVID, starting her England career wearing culottes, playing in boys and mens teams growing up - and getting more abuse from their parents than the players themselves. We also discuss the future of women’s cricket and how it looks bright given the introduction of professional contracts for domestic players in 2020. We even talk about the gut-wrenching moment Charlotte was axed from the England squad, 12 months before a home world cup in 2017, a competition her ex-team mates would go on to win. We’ve chatted to so many amazing sports people throughout the last year or so, but Charlotte truly is a giant of her profession and an inspiration to talk to. Enjoy this podcast, we know you will! #charlotteedwards #lottie #vipers #southernvipers #englandcricket #womenscricket #worldcupwinner #asheswinner #hampshire #culottes #countycricket #ageasbowl #brokentrophy
42:02
January 25, 2021
Richard Shaw: Silky shirts and Hi-Tech boots
A brilliantly random and wide-ranging chat this week with ex-Crystal Palace and Coventry defender, Richard Shaw. We talk about the FA Cup Final in 1990 between Richard’s Crystal Palace v Manchester United, and how the kit the team wore in the replay was abandoned on a post-Wembley tour of the Caribbean. We also chat modern football, drinking 12% label-less larger on the team bus with Paul Stewart, THAT match against Eric Cantona, and what he learnt from his idol, Gordon Strachan. Notable mentions for maverick footballers including Glenn Hoddle, Le Tiss, Scholes and Grealish, in short no one and nothing is off the table. A brilliant chat with a great player, and a man in love with the beautiful game. #football #crystalpalace #coventry #markhughes #manutd #FACup #magicofthecup #BPL #Hitech #CPFC #Millwall #cantona #paulstewart #alansmith 
01:08:48
January 21, 2021
Cycling, France and Eddie Jordan - with Marc Molloy
The boys are joined by cyclist, triathlete, adventurer and coach Marc Molloy, on moving to France - during lockdown - meeting Eddie Jordan in a Flamingo Centre, his passion for teaching people to cycle, and the importance of having an understanding wife. #cycling #solecycling #triathlon #brokentrophy #friendoftheshow #provence #tourdefrance 
54:51
January 15, 2021
You can't be what you can't see, with Liam Cook
A great chat with Brasil Cricket women's coach, Liam Cook, on what took him from Devon to South America, working on the inspiring Brasil Cricket project and trying his luck at 5-a-side football in Pocos de Caldas. #robertamorettiavery #lauracardoso #liamcook #brasilcricket 
47:09
January 7, 2021
Graham Thorpe: You need a sense of humour in Test cricket
Tom and Stef launch into the new year with a chat with former England batsman, Graham Thorpe. On his role as batting coach to the current England team, working with Jos Buttler and others, living in a bio-secure bubble during these COVID times, and of course his own playing career. 
42:46
January 1, 2021
The Christmas Quiz of Sport
The pod ends 2020 with a drunkard quiz with three of our favourite guests; England rugby royalty Tamara Taylor, Jersey's finest sporting export Nikki Holmes, and the best number 9 in Southampton Simon Matthews. 
44:53
December 10, 2020
Lucky, with Ed Jackson
This week the boys chat to former rugby player Ed Jackson, about his career in rugby, a swimming pool accident which left him quadriplegic, and his incredible recovery and subsequent mountain climbs for charity. 
45:33
December 3, 2020
Bristol Bears v Saracens Women - LIVE!
The boys are let out for the first time since March to watch some live sport! Bristol invite Tom and Stef to watch their home game with Saracens! The boys meet lots of our old guests, get free sweets from Tom Lindsay, and interview Rocky Clark next to a bin. It's all glamour, this media lark! 
27:05
November 28, 2020
Guitars and paddle boards, with Amber Reed
Ahead of the Broken Trophy derby on Saturday (Bristol Bears Women v Saracens Women), the boys chat to injured Bears captain, Amber Reed. On injuries, England games being shown on BBC Two, and singing Wurzels covers with Bears coach, Kim Oliver...
47:52
November 26, 2020
Kicking in the Dark, with Rob Andrew
The boys are joined by former England rugby fly-half, and current Sussex Cricket CEO, Rob Andrew.  A wide-ranging chat ensued, from how Rob learned to kick in a cow field, to how his drop-kick v Australia in 1995 was better than Jonny Wilkinson's in 2003 - kind of, to how he once bowled an ex-England cricket captain out for a duck. What a career, what a man, what a podcast...
54:17
November 19, 2020
Perfect timing, with Donna Rose and Lisa Jacobs
This week the boys are joined by Saracens women's Donna Rose, and Hockey Ireland's new manager, Lisa Jacob. Donna tells us how she balances playing and training for Saracens with working as a carpenter, competing with Rocky Clark for the number 1 Jersey, and her work with charity Rugby Against Cancer. Lisa tells us about her brand new appointment as manager of Hockey Ireland, how she embarked on a career in rugby 7s due to burnout from a decade in hockey, and how partner Nikki managed to talk her into Cycling Around Ireland. 
01:02:40
November 12, 2020
Staying In The Present, With Nikki Dorey
This week the boys are joined by endurance athlete Nikki Dorey, who teaches us - among other things - to stay in the present. She also: - Tells us about her race around Ireland, and being 'a tool' to her support team - Flying to San Fransisco each week (she's a pilot) and training whilst there - Begins planning her impending wedding to coincide with a big race in America. The boys also discuss why grassroots sport should stay ON through lockdown.
59:33
November 5, 2020
The kiss of life, with Kadeen Corbin and Jamie Jackson
This week the boys speak to Kadeen Corbin just hours before England Netball's second match against New Zealand. Hear about the team's life in lockdown in NZ, and how they plan to step it up against the White Ferns on Friday. And Jamie Jackson joins us to discuss his brand new book, the Red Apprentice, about Manchester United manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.
01:00:40
October 30, 2020
Winter well, with Kadeen Corbin & Charlotte Taylor
This week the boys are joined by two amazing guests: England Netball attacker and Saracens Mavericks' Kadeen Corbin, ahead of England's 3-match series in New Zealand starting on 28 October. AND Hampshire and Southern Vipers cricketer Charlotte Taylor, on her player of the match-winning performance in the Vipers' recent Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy final victory.
01:16:20
October 22, 2020
Missing the changing room, with Alan Smith
We're joined this week by ex-Crystal Palace Manager, Alan Smith, who told us about: - Life at Palace coaching Ian Wright, Nigel Martyn and Gareth Southgate - A boozy lunch at Arundel with Alec Stewart, and - His meeting with Kevin Keegan and Mohammed Al-Fayed at Harrods
01:00:46
October 15, 2020
Raging, with Tamara Taylor
We meet England rugby World Cup Winner and new Saracens player coach, Tamara Taylor. Talking: - Her sudden departure from Durham sharks, which left her 'raging' - Climbing Everest, and nearly dying - Winning a World Cup, and - Her desire to appear on Strictly
59:02
October 8, 2020
Tally Ho, with Tom Lindsay
Great to chat to Bristol Bears Women Assistant Coach Tom Lindsay about: - Pubs in Finchley - Struggling with weight and mental health issues - Coaching ethos, and - His fantasy pack
01:01:27
October 1, 2020
Torn hamstrings, with Emily Windsor
The boys are joined by Southern Vipers batter Emily Windsor ahead of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy final on Sunday, to talk about: - Getting back to cricket after lockdown, and the RHFT final against Northern Diamonds - Driving back from London with a torn hamstring - Co-commentating with Liam Dawson, who turns out to be quite good, and - the art of commentary, and how Bumble is her hero!
51:32
September 24, 2020
Enjoying the journey, with Luke Chadwick
This week the boys are joined by ex-Man Utd, West Ham, Norwich and Stoke winger - and Cambridge United legend, Luke Chadwick. Talking: - Digs 'like Corrie' in Manchester - How training for United was harder than playing in the league - Coaching kids, and building a fun environment - Social media, the good and the bad - And how he loves Dion Dublin!
01:02:12
September 17, 2020
Burning bats, with Neil McKenzie
Series 3 kicks off with a brilliant chat with South Africa and Hampshire batsman, Neil McKenzie! We learn that: - Neil coached SA legend Graeme Smith...at rugby. - He names his bats, and burns the bad ones (sorry Gunn & Moore!) - Neil also recalls his successful spell at Hampshire, and - Describes batting with Smith, Kallis, Amla and AB de Villiers for South Africa.
46:18
September 10, 2020
Spice Girls Summer Special, with Rocky Clark, Georgina Gulliver, Kim Oliver and Ceri Large.
The boys celebrate summer by Zooming their old pals and rugby legends, the so-called spice girls, Rocky Clark, Ceri Large, Georgie Gulliver and Kim Oliver. The chat, as you'd expect, is wide-ranging covering: - how many pants do you take on holiday - paddle board incidents, and: - We discover Daisy May Cooper's doppelgänger
51:53
August 11, 2020
From Birmingham to Buenos Aries, with Sian Kelly
🎧NEW POD🎙  With Argentina women's head coach, Sian Kelly. On:   🏆How she moved from Birmingham to Buenos Aries to coach Las Flamingos   🏆Life in Argentina, including 'Asados' - an Argentinian cricket tea!   🏆Discrimination playing mixed cricket   🏆Growing cricket among associate nations
58:06
July 22, 2020
County Cricket Summer Special, with Marie Kelly and Chris Wood
🎧COUNTY CRICKET SPECIAL🎙 Ahead of the re-structured 2020 domestic cricket season, we discuss what's ahead with Hampshire men's all-rounder Chris Wood, and Warwickshire women's captain Marie Kelly. On: 🏆Training in a bubble 🏆Overseas stars will be missed 🏆How important it is we play some cricket this summer!
26:17
July 21, 2020
Never leave a sister behind, with Mark Robinson
🎙NEW POD🎧  With ex-England Women's cricket coach Mark Robinson. On:  🏆Leading England Cricket women to World Cup triumph in 2017  🏆His experiences coaching a women's team, including his mantra 'never leave a sister behind'  🏆Don't deny them their negativity 🏆Working with Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes and Chris Wakes in their formative years.
01:03:45
July 14, 2020
The best since Best, with Ben Thornley
🎙NEW POD🎧  The one with ex-Man Utd footballer, Ben Thornley. On:  🏆MANCHESTER UNITED  🏆The time Sir Alex visited his family home, when Ben told him he wouldn't sign youth papers  🏆His horrific knee injury, and rebuilding his life afterwards  🏆Youth football, being two footed and calling for fishing to be banned!
01:03:40
July 8, 2020
Winning the World Cup a life's work, by Rocky Clark
🎙NEW POD🎧 With Rocky Clark. On:  🏆Winning the World Cup with England 🏆Growing the women's game  🏆Sweat patches at Wimbledon  🏆Meeting Jason 'Fun Bus' Leonard  🏆What was in the water that Kim Oliver fell into
01:02:54
July 5, 2020
Targeting Tokyo, with Kelly Simm
🎙NEW POD🎧  With British Champion gymnast, Kelly Simm. On:  🏆Winning Commonwealth Gold in 2014, and her hopes for Tokyo Olympics  🏆Getting into gymnastics aged six  🏆Dealing with injuries (her foot🤢), and rejection  🏆Getting back in the gym post-lockdown  🏆Coping with social media.
01:00:01
July 1, 2020
Be bigger, react better, show them they're wrong, with Katie George
🎧NEW POD🎙  With Hampshire Cricket and England Cricket star, Katie George. On:  🏆Playing mixed cricket with her twin brother, and dealing with offensive boys  🏆Choosing cricket over football after a commentary stint by then England coach, Mark Robinson  🏆Having to start the team song...on only her second England start  🏆Following in Katherine Brunt's footsteps, and  🏆Getting more girls into the game.
01:00:01
June 28, 2020
Woman overboard, with Georgina Gulliver & Kim Oliver
🎙NEW 🎧  With former England rugby stars, Georgina Gulliver and Kim Oliver. On:  🏆Best roommates, rugby weddings and bizarre boat injuries  🏆Playing for England, but missing the 2014 World Cup  🏆Kim on rupturing her ACL...3 times  🏆George on getting a free flight to Paris  🏆Best players to coach, and  🏆Girls playing rugby from a young age
01:10:12
June 26, 2020
Best two weeks of my life, with Phil Defreitas
🎙NEW EPISODE🎧  The boys are joined by former England, Leicestershire, Lancashire and Derbyshire all-rounder, Phil Defreitas. On:  🏆Winning the Ashes in 1986/87  🏆Rooming with Sir Ian Botham, David Gower and Allan Lamb  🏆Dressing up as Diana Ross at a Christmas Day fancy dress party  🏆Getting the suits ready for Lancashire's cup finals - in April, and  🏆His amazing work as a coach of London Schools Cricket Association, among others, since retiring.
01:03:45
June 21, 2020
#2.23 - Adam ‘Tango’ Holland
In the middle of the Phoenix 24 hour run, an out of breath Stefan joins Tom and, more importantly, extreme endurance athlete Adam 'Tango' Holland, to discuss Adam's incredible achievements in his endurance running career.
32:38
June 21, 2020
#2.22 - Liam Plunkett
#2.22 - Liam Plunkett by Tom Huelin & Stefan Hargrave
01:09:39
June 19, 2020
#2.21 - James Foad
🎙NEW POD🎧 In which we speak to Olympic Bronze medal winning rower, James Foad, on: 🏆 What is the point of a cox? 🏆Pinsent, Redgrave, and what made them so good 🏆 An unfortunate incident in 2012 Olympics involving Tom Ransley 🏆 Injury, missing Rio 2016, and losing his funding 🏆His struggles with mental health issues
01:09:35
June 15, 2020
#2.20 - Michael Carberry
In which the lads are joined by former Hampshire and England opening batsman, Michael Carberry. On how: - Quick bowling can make you shotless or reckless - 'The way the ECB treated me was abysmal' - The art of opening the batting, including his marathon 523 partnership with Neil McKenzie, and - How he scooped Brett Lee for four in the Big Bash final, winning the game for Perth Scorchers.
01:05:57
June 12, 2020
#2.19 - Simon Jones
🚨🎙NEW POD🚨🎙 When, unbelievably, the boys are joined by Ashes '05 legend, Simon Jones. On how: - He didn't get into the Wales squad before England fame - In 05 he was the most confident he'd ever felt as a bowler - Brett Lee was the quickest he ever faced - He's never had a birthday party, and how - He saved Freddie Flintoff...from a bumble bee.
01:01:08
June 7, 2020
#2.18 - Ryan Sidebottom
This week the boys chat to England, Yorkshire and Notts bowler, Ryan Sidebottom, on: - Being part of England's World T20-winning team - How important the Barmy Army are to England - The 'Royal Toast', and other drinking games - Cleaning a whole ice rink with his backside during his Dancing on Ice stint. - And his brilliant charity work.
56:54
June 1, 2020
#2.17 - Chris Jordan
The boys are joined by England bowler Chris Jordan, and tells us how: - playing loads of sports as a kid helped him become a gun fielder - he doesn't quietly seeth when someone drops a catch off his bowling - Jofra Archer could be one of the best all-rounders in the world in time - Cricket should be in the Olympics, and - How he used to do stone skimming as a kid.
01:06:06
May 28, 2020
#2.16 - Chris Tremlett
The boys are joined by former England, Hampshire and Surrey quick bowler, Chris Tremlett. On: - Winning the Ashes in Australia - Bowling against Lara, Lehmann, Tendulkar and Ponting - Dealing with injury hell, and - Lord's Lunches, and how Steve Harmison was an eating machine.
52:26
May 25, 2020
#2.15 - Gail Emms
🚨NEW POD🚨 Covered some ground this week, with the brilliant @gailemms: 🥈Winning that silver medal 'by luck' 🏸Wearing said medal on the school run 🥈Being banned from the school's Mum's run 🏸Princess Anne in the Olympic village... 🥈(Not) eating tiger in China 🏸Booze pilfering with James Cracknell 🥈And selling her blond hair cuttings in Thailand. And that's just the tip of the iceberg...
59:20
May 21, 2020
#2.14 - Chris Wood
Hampshire bowler Chris Wood joins us this week, talking; - how he's dealing with his gambling issues, and the support he's received from Sporting Chance and the PCA - Bowling at the death - Hampshire's Christmas parties...at the Rose Bowl - Injuries, and how he talked to Freddie Flintoff and Simon Jones - And how KP didn't know who he was, even when they were on the same team.
01:05:40
May 17, 2020
#2.13 - Karl McDermott
This week the boys are joined by Lord's head groundsman, Karl McDermott. They chat: - World Cup final pitches - How cricket pitches are the hardest to prepare in sport, and - Having his Christmas lunch is in the Lords' Long Room - and definitely not walking back home across the pitch...
47:23
May 14, 2020
#2.12 - Poppy Cleall
The boys welcome Saracens and England rugby player, Poppy Cleall to the pod, and the ensuing chat included: - How Poppy purchased an oil painting of herself and her teammates, before placing it in her mum and dad's house - Why she started playing rugby in the first place, and; - Being there for her sisters' international debut.
49:48
May 11, 2020
#2.11 - Nikki Holmes
The boys are joined by Jersey Commonwealth Games Pistol Shooter - and 4 times Island Games Gold Medallist - Nikki Holmes. Featuring: - A definition of the term 'Jersey Crapaud' - A condom story from the Commonwealth Games (seriously) - And the rivalry between riffle and pistol shooters laid bare once and for all.
51:34
May 8, 2020
#2.10 - Sam Northeast
The boys are joined by Hampshire batsman Sam Northeast. The trio chat Chumley Warner, bowlers living on ibuprofen, keepers having a screw loose, and not getting a proper feed at Lord's because he batted too well.
48:10
May 4, 2020
#2.9 - Michael Lumb
In which the boys are joined by former Yorkshire, Hampshire, Notts and England batting superstar, Michael Lumb. 'England's best fielder' (TM) talks in his first ever podcast about that World T20 win with England in 2010, running out Darren Lehmann, being taunted by his wife for poor shot selection and - on a serious note - adjusting to life after cricket.
50:00
April 30, 2020
Unbroken #2 - Marathon
In which the boys welcome Lauren to the pod. They chat about Lauren's application to the rearranged London Marathon in October, home-schooling their kids, and the three re-write Jenna and Jo's dating bios after some complaints in our last episode...
34:06
April 26, 2020
#2.8 - Dimi Mascarenhas
In which the boys are joined by Hampshire and England legend, Dimi Mascarenhas. Dimi talks about the time he got a stump signed by Tendulkar, Dravid and Gangulay, playing with Shane Warne, his 5x6 v Yuvraj, being the first English player to appear at the IPL, and of course his beloved Hampshire. The food at Lord's gets another, more in-depth critique, meanwhile Rob Key is nominated by Dimi to be a future Trophy guest!
48:26
April 24, 2020
Unbroken #1 - Weird, Stupid And Annoying
Unbroken #1 - Weird, Stupid And Annoying by Tom Huelin & Stefan Hargrave
33:08
April 20, 2020
#2.7 - Jamie Jackson
This week the boys are joined by the Guardian's football correspondent in Manchester, Jamie Jackson. As well as some obligatory footy chat; what the future holds for Paul Pogba, Sergio Aguero, and football itself after lockdown, Jamie also reveals the clubs who offer the best food on the circuit, how he's been playing a 20-Test match series with his son at home, and throws his weight of support behind Tom's book. sort of. Jamie also spoke about his new book, The Red Apprentice, which he's writing on Manchester United manager, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer - details here: https://t.co/IvlXV19xPc?amp=1
50:48
April 17, 2020
#2.6 - Mason Crane
In which the boys are joined by England and Hampshire cricketer, and Arsenal fan, Mason Crane. They discuss getting blood stains out of cricket whites, kids in sport and the brutality of being released from elite teams, and how fielding without a cap on is basically illegal. Oh, and some serious stuff on Test cricket, the Hundred and who does the best tea in cricket.
49:18
April 9, 2020
#2.5 - Liam Dawson
In which Tom and Stefan are joined by England and Hampshire cricketer, Liam Dawson. The boys discuss how they're coping with lockdown, relive the 2019 World Cup Final, bad sledging, sleepwalking, best cricket teas on the circuit, freaks and snoring. This is one NOT TO BE MISSED!
40:36
April 3, 2020
#2.4 - Nicknames
In which the boys discuss sporting nicknames, including how Man United legend, Mark Hughes' nickname, Sparky, was the centre of a niche advertising campaign back in the 90s. the boys also discuss their latest lockdown stories, and decide to reenact a famous cricketing moment from last year with the help of our friends (of the show).
36:30
March 30, 2020
#2.3 - Working From Home
In which Tom and Stef talk virtually - or is it virtually talk - from their homes alone. Stefan pays an impassioned tribute to the NHS heroes and other legendary folk keeping the country going now, before promptly returning to the silliness that is the Broken Trophy Podcast. The boys talk about the practicalities of working from home, including what online exercise routines they and the kids are following, what working from home really means, and we reveal what happened to Ella after she sabotaged the pod recording last week!
31:13
March 24, 2020
#2.2 - Tiktok
The lads come to terms with social distancing and schools closing, in fact they're joined briefly by Tom's daughter, Ella, before she manages to cause a catastrophic technical issue during the recording. She was then dismissed from the recording studio... We also discuss kids' app phenomenon TikTok, how coronavirus would be cricket if it were a sport(?), and Cameroon legend Roger Milla's hip-wiggle also gets an airing in recording...
24:22
March 19, 2020
#2.1 - Friends Of The Show
In which the boys discuss what the hell we're going to do without live sport to watch for the next few weeks or months, before committing to keep the pod going for as long as possible during this difficult time as a public service act to our listeners. Tom makes a public apology, and the boys discuss whether you should get medals at the end of races.
32:17
March 13, 2020
#11 - Willy Wanging
In which the lads discuss the Newcastle fan banned for life for waving his willy about during the game this week. The boys also talk six nations, including why does the head coach sit in the stands, and Tom remonstrates with a pushy parent.
30:26
February 7, 2020
#10 - Neanderthal
In which transfer deadline day is declared boring, Stefan reveals a fascinating insight on neanderthal man, and we contemplate what the hell we would do with our lives if we had less sport. Scary...
29:52
January 31, 2020
#9 - Guide Dogs For The Blind
In which the boys are live and loud from the Southampton Arms, talking sport-not-a-sport, worst-friend-sarah, cycling clubs and swimming in the Hamble.
27:17
January 25, 2020
#8 - Drubbings
This week the boys talk about drubbings - heavy losses they've experienced on the playing field, or watching on the telly. We apologise for contravening the Broken Trophy code of conduct, and we talk about Tom's non-existent famous friends.
32:34
January 17, 2020
#7 - New Year
In which the boys talk as though they're under water; festive sport, Liverpool being too good, Stokes being a man mountain, Jos Buttler and the sledging row, and find out which 'sport' is discussed in sport/not sport. And Sarah's wedding.
29:02
January 10, 2020
#6 - Christmas Special
In which Stefan and Tom are joined by Simon Matthews to talk about the big sporting events of 2019 including, England winning the cricket World Cup, South Africa winning the rugby World Cup, Dina Asher-Smith and KJT winning at the World Championships, and Doddie Weir being an utter inspiration. Also, is darts or F1 really a sport? Apparently not...
40:33
December 20, 2019
#5 - What Makes A Real Sports Fan?
Tom and Stefan are joined by Mike to discuss this week's theme - what makes a real sports fan. Should you support your local team, or is it ok to support another team if a seminal moment occurs in your life which leads to it? Oh, and Mike brings mince pies, which are delightful.
27:48
December 8, 2019
#4 - Sleepover
In which Tom and Stefan talk topic suggestions sent in by our lovely followers over on Twitter - we'll be discussing these in greater depth in future episodes. The boys also chat football managerial merry-go-rounds, Joe Root going big in New Zealand, and the horrors of driving to Hamble in Southampton.
23:02
December 2, 2019
#3 - Live From Marathon Beaujolais
In which Stefan runs - and drinks 28 wines during - le Marathon Beaujolais. The boys also chat about Poch, Jose, England cricket, and the importance of their girls gaining confidence while playing football.
24:37
November 25, 2019
#2 - Broken
In which Tom is hungover, Stefan is buoyed after a big win for Trojans in the rugby on Saturday and JoJo, the dog, barks and begs for his ball to be thrown mid-pod. Oh, and some chat about Pizza Express.
24:52
November 17, 2019
#1 - Off the mark
Debut episode of The Broken Trophy, in which Tom and Stefan discuss their daughters playing football in sub-zero temperatures, Stefan wins a game of geriatric rugby, and Tom recalls the time he was dropped for the Muller CIWG/JFA Under 16 Inter Island Comp 1996.
30:07
November 11, 2019