Skip to main content
Cherry Jam - A Gloucester Rugby Supporter Podcast

Cherry Jam - A Gloucester Rugby Supporter Podcast

By Ed Price
The totally unofficial Gloucester Rugby supporter podcast, or a few mates sharing their mutual suffering with the wider world.
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Episode 19 - Gloucester re-sign a number of young and promising players (and Matt Garvey); Premiership Final Review; Six Nations finale preview and Gloucester's post lockdown season

Cherry Jam - A Gloucester Rugby Supporter Podcast

Episode 19 - Gloucester re-sign a number of young and promising players (and Matt Garvey); Premiership Final Review; Six Nations finale preview and Gloucester's post lockdown season

Cherry Jam - A Gloucester Rugby Supporter Podcast

1x
Series 2 - Episode 3: CHRIS CATLING SPECIAL! Ed Interviews Chris Catling; The lads discuss the Nations Cup results and forget that Gloucester are playing this weekend.
A bumper (ie - very long) episode this week as Ed interviews one of his Gloucester heroes, Chris Catling. Before that, the lads discuss England v Georgia; the very funny poor form of Wales, the worrying and disappointing injury to Jake Polledri...and totally forget that Gloucester are playing Leicester this weekend! Ed Price Russ Brookes James Eastwood (Snowy) Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley Chris Catling
1:25:44
November 18, 2020
Series 2 - Episode 2: An email from Lance, new signings and an update on the training ground; Plus Bledisloe Cup action and Jake Polledri's new acting career
After spending 25 minutes last week complaining about the lack of communication from the club, Lance Bradley sent out a detailed email which covered off new signings, the training ground and other off-field issues. We discuss the contents of the email while also spending a bit of time reviewing the Bledisloe Cup win for Australia, Jake Polledri's budding new acting career and a brief preview of this weekends International Rugby. Ed Price Jim Harley Lawrence Landray (Loz
29:59
November 12, 2020
Series 2 - Episode 1: England win the Six Nations; Gloucester Rugby and communication and how bad are the BBC at Rugby coverage!?
England win the Six Nations, as Wales and Scotland play out a dreadfully poor game. France have become an exciting and dangerous side and beat Ireland quite comfortably. We discuss all the games, plus our opinions on the BBC coverage. Also we have a chat about Gloucester's communication or lack-of with supporters - do we expect too much?  Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley James Eastwood (Snowy) Russ Brookes
58:50
November 6, 2020
Episode 19 - Gloucester re-sign a number of young and promising players (and Matt Garvey); Premiership Final Review; Six Nations finale preview and Gloucester's post lockdown season
Our last episode of the season (don't worry we are back next week). We discuss the exciting re-signings Gloucester announced last week including the long awaited confirmation that Matt Garvey will be staying at Kingsholm. We also chat about the slightly disappointing Premiership final, the upcoming finale of the Six Nations and the Baabaa's debacle. Finally we finish off our chat with a quick review of post-lockdown Gloucester and what we can expect next season. Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley James Eastwood (Snowy)
1:01:51
October 28, 2020
Episode 18 - Ed speaks to BBC Radio Gloucestershire Presenter, Mark Cummings; We review the two European finals and also preview the Premiership Final this weekend
Ed chats to Mark Cummings, BBC Radio Gloucestershire Presenter about his interactions with the club as a fan and from the point of view of local media; while the lads discuss the two European finals and victories for Bristol and Exeter. We also preview the Premiership final (which thankfully will now be taking place) and look forward to a potentially exciting game! Ed Price James Eastwood (Snowy) Jim Harley Lawrence Landray (Loz) Mark Cummings 
59:38
October 21, 2020
Episode 17 - The Gloucester Hartpury women start with a win; ELV's and their impact; Interview with John Price; Jake Polledri (Office Openside) and Semi Final Review
Gloucester Hartpury Women win their first game of the season, Jim Harley talks about the game and some of the ELV's that were introduced. We also review the two Premiership Semi Finals. Ed talks to his Dad (John Price) about watching Gloucester from the mid 70's until today before we all discuss some silly and some serious ways Gloucester can raise some much needed cash. Ed Price James Eastwood (Snowy) Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley Russ Brookes John Price
1:17:53
October 14, 2020
Episode 16 - Gloucester win by default; Bath bottle it while Sale have a COVID outbreak to contend with. We also speak to another Gloucester supporter who goes above and beyond...
Gloucester win their final game of the season with a bonus point, although only because Northampton were forced to forfeit. Elsewhere Bath bottle it and throw away a big lead away to Saracens (see it's not just Glaws who do that!); while Sale manage to have 19 positive COVID tests*. We also talk to Ross Hancock, a Gloucester supporter based in Cornwall who also goes well above the call of duty to watch the Cherry and Whites. *At the time of recording! Ed Price Russ Brookes (well done on the Marathon) Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley James Eastwood (Snowy) Ross Hancock
1:03:07
October 7, 2020
Episode 15 - European qualification 99.99% secured; A review of the weekends game; A discussion about the perilous financial state rugby (and Gloucester) is in, plus a chat with a very committed fan!
No Gloucester game this week, but we discuss and review the European semi-finals, what it means for Gloucester and Champions Cup qualification, plus who we think we likely win the finals. Ed speaks to Walker Marshall, who travels to every home game from Leith in Edinburgh! Finally we all chat about the financial implications of the recent decision to ban all crowds until next year and the need for Government support for all of rugby. WARNING - Our final chat does get a bit sweary in places. Ed Price Russ Brookes Jim Harley Lawrence Landray (Loz) Special thanks to Walker Marshall
1:09:57
September 30, 2020
Episode 14 - Gloucester Gloucester'd the hell out of that! A painful late defeat to Bath away; plus a discussion about those players who failed to live up to expectations
Not the result we wanted, despite a positive performance for 60 minutes - the final 20 was dreadful. We review the defeat to Bath, plus also speak about a number of players who, for whatever reason, didn't quite make the impression expected at Gloucester.  Ed Price James Eastwood (Snowy) Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley
56:00
September 24, 2020
Episode 13 - PEAK GLOUCESTER RUGBY - a spirited away performance against Exeter, followed by a shocker at home vs Quins. Plus an interview with BT Sports Rugby Commentator Sam Roberts.
After a spirited away performance against Exeter Chiefs had given all Gloucester supporters some reasons for cheer, the Cherry and Whites managed to sum up their entire season (and most seasons if we are perfectly honest) with a dreadful display against Harlequins. Despite the majority of the territory, possession and over 50 phases in the opposition 22 - Gloucester managed to gift Quins nearly all their points. Ed also spoke to BT Sports commentator and Gloucester Rugby Podding Shed Host, Sam Roberts about the difficulties of broadcasting in the COVID pandemic, how he got involved with the Official club podcast and his love for Bedford Blues. Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley James Eastwood (Snowy) Russ Brookes and a very big thank you to Sam Roberts!
1:09:04
September 16, 2020
Episode 12 - Gloucester win again and pretty much secure Champions Cup Rugby; Fans return (then leave again) plus we discuss Owen Farrell and his swinging arms
Gloucester defeat London Irish with a bonus point victory, basically securing Champions Cup Rugby for a third season in a row. Fans were let back in to watch Quins v Bath (although a good number then decided to leave early!). We also chat about the new format for the Champions Cup next season - we think we covered it!? - while also discussing Owen Farrell, the likely top four and a brief preview of the Exeter and Quins games next week. Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) James Eastwood (Snowy) Jim Harley
1:00:17
September 8, 2020
Episode 11 - International Men of Mystery (or Jim and Loz call in from various parts of Europe); Reviews of the Tigers and Sarries games plus a discussion about our worst Gloucester game
Commitment to the Cherry Jam cause this week as both Jim and Loz call in from their European holidays following Gloucester's win over Leicester. We also review the Sarries debacle and have a discussion about the worst/most disappointing games we can think of. From mounting Sharks, Miracle Matches and Play off heartbreak, think of it as a free therapy session. (If you are wondering where Snowy is this week - he fell asleep!) Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) Russ Brookes  Jim Harley
56:59
September 1, 2020
Episode 10 - Gloucester lose to Bristol, but we see positives in the defeat. Sartorial discussion and predictions for the week ahead
We knew it wouldn't last. Gloucester lose to Bristol in the first game back at an empty Kingsholm, but we all find positives in the defeat. We give our opinions on the new Gloucester shirt, the redundancy of JP Doyle as well as a chat and predictions for the week ahead - Saracens (Away) and Leicester (Home). A big welcome to any new listeners. Please do subscribe keep sending in your observations and comments via twitter - @jam_rugby. Ed Price Russ Brookes James Eastwood (Snowy) Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley 
1:02:25
August 25, 2020
Episode 9 - Gloucester win a game of rugby! A review of all the weekend fixtures plus why Bristol are making us laugh.
After a very long time, Premiership Rugby Union has returned and Gloucester won. All is right again in the Universe (well, obviously not - but it's a good start). We discuss the victory over 14 man Worcester, while also reviewing the other weekend results and some of the other stories that emerged from rugby's return.  Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley Russ Brookes James Eastwood (Snowy)
1:03:56
August 18, 2020
Episode 8.5 - A special chat with a long term Gloucester supporter, Legend of Shedweb and exile Peter Western (Westy)
Ahead of our first game of the restart, I speak to a Gloucester supporter who has spent 20 years watching from afar. Westy is well known to those on Shedweb and to those who have been on many of the European away days.  Ed Price Peter Western (Westy)
47:05
August 13, 2020
Episode 8 - Only one week to go! Fixtures, dates and times have been released; Options for our 2019/20 Season ticket holders; Salary cap misdemeanours (allegedly) and our favourite Gloucester try
A jam packed episode this week as we discuss the confirmed fixtures, dates and times - including some creative ways to avoid work for the early kick offs; Gloucester Rugby confirmed the three options for season ticket holders should they wish to claim a refund (or not as the case maybe). Plus the return of Charlie Beckett, Neil Fissler investigates alleged Salary cap misdemeanours and we do our best not to get sued. Plus a discussion about our favourite Gloucester Rugby try.  Ed Price Jim Harley James Eastwood (Snowy) Lawrence Landray (Loz)
58:19
August 10, 2020
Episode 7 - Exeter grapple with their identity, new and improved plans for ring-fencing and we all waffle on about televised games.
Due to a distinct lack of actual news from Gloucester Rugby this week (save from the surprise announcement mid recording of Franco Marais accepting a short term contract to remain with the club until the end of the season), we discuss the decision by Exeter Chiefs to retain the name and branding but to wave goodbye to Big Chief (their mascot). We also chat about the revised plans for ringfencing the Premiership and Championship plus a generic waffle about how easy it should be to watch the remainder of the season on the TV. Ed Price Russ Brookes Jim Harley James Eastwood (Snowy) Lawrence Landray (Loz)
44:51
August 3, 2020
Episode 6 - Dom Waldouck joins, Josh Hohneck leaves; The return of the 6 Nations and Kingsholm stadium naming rights
We are back once again with another pod. This week we discuss the completion of the all new Gloucester coaching set-up following the announcement that Dom Waldouck has joined as defence coach, plus the sad news that Josh Hohneck is leaving. In addition we discuss the pros and cons of the return of the Six Nations (this bit is a little sweary and ranty, so be warned!) before finally chatting about how renaming Kingsholm would be a decent way of getting some cash in the door. Remember to click subscribe on your favoured podcast channel and don't forget to send any feedback or suggestions to @jam_rugby on twitter. Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley Russ Brookes
59:30
July 27, 2020
Episode 5 - Good news for once - new players and coaching announcements. Lions tour confirmed and our favourite moment in rugby.
We're back once again with another episode of Cherry Jam. This week we discuss the new signings of Matt Garvey, Lugovi'i Mulipola and Matias Alemanno, plus the announcement of new deals for Trevor Woodman and Tim Taylor. Probably the best news, Alex King has joined as backs coach too. We also have a brief discussion around the Lions and who we think are nailed on for the squad and our hopes for the future of the touring side, before a chat (as suggested by listener Sarah Hayes via our twitter) about our favourite moments in rugby. Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) James Eastwood (Snowy) Russ Brookes
1:00:37
July 20, 2020
Episode 4 - More departures from Gloucester; Mike Teague wants his ball back and a revised fixture list
Another week, another couple of high profile departures from Gloucester Rugby. We discuss Gerbrandt Grobler leaving for Stade Francais and Rory Teague leaving too. But of course the most important news (according to The Rugby Paper) was Mike Teague his memorabilia back from the club. We also have a chat about the revised fixture list and the prospect of four games of rugby in 15 days.  We would love to hear some ideas about what we should discuss at the end of next weeks pod too. Please send your suggestions to our twitter handle - @jam_rugby.  Ed Price James Eastwood (Snowy) Russ Brookes Jim Harley
50:09
July 13, 2020
Episode 3 - Meet the new boss, Tigers in trouble and our favourite non-Gloucester rugby player of all time!
In this weeks episode we discuss the announcement of George Skivington as Gloucester Rugby's new Head coach and the London Irish response. We also try to figure out what is going wrong at Leicester and if they are the number one candidates for relegation next season. Finally we pick our favourite non-Gloucester rugby players of all time.  We are back to our full quota of contributors this week: Ed Price James Eastwood (Snowy) Lawrence Landray (Loz) Jim Harley Russ Brookes
1:12:42
July 6, 2020
Player announcements, the Salary Cap and our Cult Heroes
Welcome to another Cherry Jam podcast. This week we will discuss the recent player announcements from the club; who is leaving and who is re-signing long term deals? We also discuss the salary cap and the changes that are being made. Finally we have a brief chat about our cult heroes at Gloucester. Only four of us this week as Jim was otherwise engaged. The pod was recorded before the official announcement of George Skivington as Head Coach. Ed Price Lawrence Landray (Loz) Russ Brookes James Eastwood (Snowy)
1:01:27
June 30, 2020
Pilot: Same old Gloucester, always in a state of chaos
Pilot: A group of Gloucester Rugby supporters chat about the latest developments at the club, plus wider issues in the game.  This week, the departure of Johan Ackermann, David Humphries and potential a few others. Who should replace them as 'Head Coach'? Will we see changes to the structure of the season and how the Professional game in played? Plus our favourite away games (and the worst) watching Gloucester. Ed Price Jim Harley Lawrence Landray (Loz) James Eastwood (Snowy) Russ Brookes
58:57
June 22, 2020
June 21, 2020
00:21
June 21, 2020