Cosmic Potato: The Super Fantalk Podcast

Episode 132: Game of Thrones Season 8 Review

An episode of Cosmic Potato: The Super Fantalk Podcast

By Cosmic Potato Podcast Network
We've got you covered from Marvel to Star Wars, comics, video games, classic films, trivia, and beyond.

More places to listen

Episode 133: Teasers, Stingers, and...Darkman?
On this week's show we dissect the teaser for Star Trek: Picard--review Good Omens--chat about a possible animated adaptation of Magic: The Gathering--learn some stuff about each other with a round of frequently unasked questions--and round out the show determining whether we'd like to teach children holding us at knifepoint or ride to work on a sexually frustrated mini-donkey.
1:27:29
June 9, 2019
Episode 132: Game of Thrones Season 8 Review
This week we're joined by Jessica, a big GoT fan, to talk about the good and the bad of the final season of Game of Thrones. We also review some TV shows and movies we've been watching.
1:29:53
June 2, 2019
Episode 131: Best And Worst of Series Finales
This week Shawn went to the Hoover Public Library and sat down with David C. Roberson from the DC On Screen Podcast along with his wife, Bethany. They talked about some series finales that they thought brought a good close to their shows as well as some that just didn't give us a satisfying end. #startrek #quantumleap #marriedwithchildren #breakingbad #cheers #newhart #andygriffith #boymeetsworld #lost #enterprise #sopranos #bigbangtheory #mash
1:00:55
May 26, 2019
Episode 130: You Had Me At Heisenburg
This week we mourn the deaths of Tim Conway and Doris Day--Discuss Disney taking over our lives--Chat about shows that we didn't watch at first but fell in love with later--Tell the most mind-blowing movies we ever saw--and disclose the piece of canon fodder we'd like to extract from fandom. #timconway, #dorisday, #highlander, #breakingbad, #beetlejuice, #farscape, #firefly, #beingjohnmalkovich, #scifi, #action, #film, #TV
1:38:53
May 19, 2019
Episode 129: Endgame
Eleven years and twenty-two films have led to a packed theater for one reason...Avengers: Endgame. One year ago we were left in disarray when Infinity War tore our hearts out and left us to wait. Now, the wait is over. But is this new film worth all the hype. This week Shawn, John, and Rick break it down and talk about the good and the bad of the latest installment of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.
1:30:11
May 13, 2019
Episode 128: All Hail the House of Mouse
This week Shawn and Rick are joined by Christopher DeFilippis to talk about our Disney overlords. They talked a little about Star Wars including the episode IX teaser trailer. They chatted about Marvel but there are not Endgame spoilers. And the went over a few of the things that we've been promised with the Disney + streaming service.
1:23:47
May 5, 2019
Episode 127: Cops and Robbers
This week we run down our picks for the best films and TV shows that have to do with the cops chasing the bad guys.
1:22:13
April 20, 2019
Episode 126: Little...Yellow...Different--Best In Show
This week we're bringing you another Best In Show episode. This time we're running down the best maniacal laugh, the best product placement, and the best frienemy relationship.
1:02:10
April 13, 2019
Episode 125: More Bad Movies
Shawn sits down in person with Michael Nipp from the Deucecast Movie Show and Joe Crowe from DragonCon's American Sci-Fi Classics Track to talk about some of the movies coming this summer and some of our favorite bad movies. Recorded live at the Hoover Public Library in Hoover, AL.
1:23:46
April 6, 2019
Episode 124: Our Guilty Pleasures
Shawn, Scott, and Troy discuss some of the things that they love...and they're just a little bit guilty about it.
1:10:08
March 30, 2019
Bonus: Umm Actually 2--Electric Boogaloo
It's another round of "Umm...Actually"! This game was hosted by Shawn Wray and recorded live at the Sci Fi and Fantasy Festival in Hoover, Alabama
53:15
March 23, 2019
Episode 123: Marvelous Reviews
This week we're joined by Miss Mindy and we give our review of Captain Marvel, dive back into the Spider-verse, and chat about some other things that we've been watching.
1:38:46
March 17, 2019
Episode 122: Best And Worst Video Game Movies
Shawn and John are joined by frequent guest Joe Crowe and welcome first time guest Michael Nipp from The Deucecast Movie Show to discuss some of the best and worst video game film adaptations ever made.
48:38
March 10, 2019
Episode 121: Top Five
This week we discuss our top five TV shows and films that we'd recommend.
1:10:08
March 3, 2019
Bonus: To Infinity War And Beyond *LIVE*
Shawn Wray and Joe Crowe host a discussion about Infinity War and speculate what we may see in Endgame. Recorded live at the Sci Fi and Fantasy Festival in Hoover, Alabama
56:37
February 17, 2019
Episode 120: Frequently Unasked Questions--Part II
We've scoured the internet looking for more questions to ask ourselves to let you know who we are just a little more...and we play "Would You Rather".
1:05:00
February 10, 2019
Bonus Episode: Virginia Hey Returns
Virgina Hey, the actress most well known for playing Pa'u Zotoh Zhaan appeared last summer at Magic City Con. It was my honor to host her Q&A panel and this week I'm happy to bring it to you in this bonus episode.
1:04:01
February 2, 2019
Episode 119: Choose Your Own Legal Action
The Dynamic Quad is back! This week we discuss Aquaman, Spider-Man: Into The Spider-verse, Bandersnatch, and Bird Box.
1:14:38
January 27, 2019
Episode 118: The Admiral's Table--The 13th Doctor
Rick gathers a round table of ladies to discuss the ups and downs of the latest season of Doctor Who that featured Jodie Whittaker as the first female version of The Doctor.
1:48:29
January 20, 2019
Episode 117: Elseworlds Review
The regulars turn over the hosting duties to Scott, Chris, and Rich so that they could talk about this year's big DC crossover event on the CW.
1:41:38
December 20, 2018
Episode 116: Head Canon
This week we discuss head canon. These are the stories that we have to sometimes tell ourselves to make our favorite shows and movies make sense. Chris joins us and we discuss everything from Star Trek to Smallville.
1:15:04
December 2, 2018
Episode 115: Sci-Fighters--Magic Vs Sci-Fi
Another round of your favorite game. This time we pit characters like Maleficent, Venom, Iron Man, Harry Potter, and Constantine in a battle to the end.
1:09:53
November 18, 2018
Episode 114: News And Reviews
We talk about some stuff we've been watching and things that have been happening in the news.
1:24:30
November 3, 2018
Episode 113: Best In Show--Halloween Edition
This week we continue our Halloween celebration with a special edition of Best In Show--Special Guest: Hoai Tran Bui.
1:01:22
October 28, 2018
Episode 112: The Monster Mash
This week we begin our Halloween celebration with a special edition of the classics show. Shawn, John, Rick, and Troy discuss The Invisible Man (1933), The Wolf Man (1941), and Creature From The Black Lagoon (1954).
1:37:56
October 21, 2018
Episode 111: Reunions We'd Like To See
Episode 111: This week we pitch a few ways that old shows could return to TV and we talk a little about the new Doctor Who.
1:13:57
October 14, 2018
Episode 110: Hijinks Ensue
Episode 110: Rick takes control of the ship--We play some games--Cosby went to jail but we don't want to talk about it--We review some stuff we've been watching.
1:10:20
October 7, 2018
Episode 109: Classic Movie Series VI
Episode 109: We continue with the IMDB 100 greatest films of all time with The African Queen (1951), Good Will Hunting (1997), and Terms of Endearment (1983).
1:34:07
September 29, 2018
Episode 108: Armin Shimerman!
This week we welcome Armin Shimerman to the show for an exclusive interview! Special thanks to Scott Matteson for making it possible.
1:51:53
September 24, 2018
Episode 107: Tidbits and Obscenities
A new game--Scott's going to interview Armin Shimerman--Best in show--Best series finale--Best theme music or song--Best character entrance--John causes editing overload--Post show antics.
1:49:35
September 16, 2018
Episode 106: Doppelgangers Number Two
We're playing Sci-Fighters once again and it's another edition of Doppelgangers! Who would win in a fight between Maleficent and Lara Croft? What about Bruce Nolan (Bruce Almighty) and Stanley Ipkiss (The Mask)? What about Furiosa (Mad Max: Fury Road) and Lorraine Broughton (Atomic Blonde)? Well, we don't know either. But we talk about it this week anyway.
1:11:35
September 9, 2018
Episode 105: Fall TV Preview
5 random facts--Alec Baldwin as Thomas Wayne...Maybe not--Star Trek IV may be Chris-less--Paul Flart...Fart Cop--Fall TV shows--The Enemy Within--Jack Ryan--Manifest--Roseanne-less Conner Show--Last Man Standing--Murphy Brown--Magnum P.I.--Lethal Weapon--God Friended Me--911--LA Confidential.
1:19:17
September 2, 2018
Episode 104: Hubris -or- The Cursed Episode
A myriad of difficulties tried to keep us from bringing you an episode this week. They did not succeed. New Game--Star Wars: Resistance will have General Organa--Bye Bye Big Bang Theory--Kelly Marie Tran fights back--True confessions--Jim Carrey sucks now--Andy Kaufman...he was weird--John as no interest in Christopher Robin--Guilty pleasures--Shawn cuts out early--Canon Schmanon
1:16:41
August 26, 2018
Episode 103: Classic Movie Series Part V
This week Troy is back to continue talking about the top 100 movies of all time according to IMDB. To help us we're joined by Rick and Chris. The movies we discussed are The Great Dictator (1940), Mutiny on the Bounty (1935), and Stagecoach (1939).
1:38:42
August 19, 2018
Episode 102: The Return of Picard -or- MoviePass Can Suck It!
Christopher DeFilippis joins us and proves he is a movie trivia king--Mark Hamill is coming back to Star Wars--So is Carrie Fisher...kind of--We're not too sure about Billy Dee Williams--Patrick Stewart is returning to Star Trek--What will the Picard show be about?--ALF is coming back to TV--What is he doing to that seal?--Yippee Kai Ay there's more Die Hard coming--MoviePass can suck it!
1:12:39
August 12, 2018
Episode 101: SDCC Trailer Review -or- Good Job DC...Maybe
Six degrees from MCU--SDCC News--Rick's not sure about SHAZAM--Shawn's not sure about Aquaman--Godzilla looks awesome!--None of us are sure about Titans--What happened to Nightwing--Internet comments about race are still happening--There's going to be a new Buffy show--We can't talk about Star Trek Discovery--Virginia's never seen Die Hard
1:18:20
August 5, 2018
Episode 100: Show of the "Century"!
In our 100th episode we take a break from the garbage in the news and just kick back with a couple of games. It's Shawn, John, Rick, and Virginia along with our special guest--Joe Crowe. We begin the show by playing Sci-Fighters: The Fast vs The Furious. Then, John brings us his special flavor of hosting as he shows us what it's like on an episode of Captain GameShow.
1:49:50
July 28, 2018
Episode 99: Frequently Unasked Questions
This week we're joined by Troy Wood from the World War G Podcast and Christopher DeFilippis from The Quantum Leap Podcast and we answer a bunch of questions that no one asked us.
1:26:15
July 21, 2018
Episode 98: Sci-Fi Jeopardy--Live From Magic City Con 2018
The game of champions returns! This week we welcome you to listen to this recording of Sci-Fi Jeopardy that I recently hosted at Magic City Con in Birmingham, AL.
51:22
July 15, 2018
Episode 97: Classic Movie Series--Fill My Arms With Heather
Back to the classic movies with more films from the IMDB list of the greatest of all time--Wuthering Heights (1939)--The Maltese Falcon (1941)--Double Indemnity (1944)
1:44:31
July 8, 2018
Episode 96: Solo Movie Review -or- Gatekeeping Fanholes
Some Star Trek folks lost their jobs--George Lucas had some ideas for the next trilogy--Midichlorians are stupid!--We all saw Solo and we liked it--What are these gatekeeping fanholes up to?
1:25:30
July 1, 2018
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!