Skip to main content
Cyn's Workshop

Cyn's Workshop

By Cyn's Workshop
The official podcast for Cyn's Workshop, a place for book lovers to listen to us discuss our latest read.
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

All Your Twisted Secrets Review

Cyn's Workshop

All Your Twisted Secrets Review

Cyn's Workshop

1x
All the Stars and Teeth Review
Today we're discussing All the Stars and Teeth, a brilliant new start to a new series filled with a unique take on magic and adventure.
12:04
September 19, 2020
Unravel the Dusk Review
Today we're discussing Unravel the Dusk by Elizabeth Lim, the final novel in the Blood of the Stars duology.
11:20
September 17, 2020
Kingdom of Ice and Bone Review
Today we're discussing Kingdom of Ice and Bone by Jill Criswell, the second thrilling novel in her Frozen Sun Saga.
13:39
September 15, 2020
Ignite the Sun Review
Today we're discussing Ignite the Sun by Hanna Howard, a brilliant debut that brings to life the battle between light and darkness.
11:12
September 12, 2020
Only Ashes Remain Review
Today we're discussing Only Ashes Remain by Rebecca Schaeffer, the second thrilling novel in the Market of Monsters series.
12:46
September 10, 2020
The Knucklehead of Silicon Valley Review
Today we're discussing The Knucklehead of Silicon Valley by G. Craig Vachon, a comedic espionage tale that unfortunately loses the reader.
08:30
September 8, 2020
On Wings and Ash Review
Today we're discussing On Wings and Ash by Jo Holloway, a novel with an interesting premise that fails to give the reader a satisfying ending.
11:33
September 3, 2020
Not Even Bones Review
Today we're discussing Not Even Bones by Rebecca Schaeffer, a highly addicting read and incredibly written dark fantasy.
12:23
September 1, 2020
A Dance with Fate Review
Today we're discussing A Dance with Fate by Juliet Marillier, the second novel in her Warrior Bards series that does not fail to impress.
11:23
August 29, 2020
Greythorne Review
Today we're discussing Greythorne by Crystal Smith, a great sequel that offers readers a more involved plot filled with plot twists, character growth, and amazing tension.
15:03
August 27, 2020
Wicked Fox Review
Today we're discussing Wicked Fox by Kat Cho, an amazing story, delving into Korean folklore to give readers a novel filled with compelling characters and an intriguing plot.
12:55
August 25, 2020
Sisters of Sword and Song Review
Today we're discussing Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross, a novel perfect for fans of mythology, held together by strong characters and an intricately woven plot.
10:06
August 20, 2020
Sword of Light Review
Today we're discussing Sword of Light by J. C. Lucas, A fun lighthearted read with riveting characters and compelling fantasy, grounding the reader in the details.
11:17
August 18, 2020
These Feathered Flames Review
Today we're discussing These Feathered Flames by Alexandra Overy, the first in a spell on series retelling the classic Russian folktale "The Firebird".
11:34
August 15, 2020
Bloodleaf Review
Today we're discussing Bloodleaf by Crystal Smith, an intriguing story filled with magic and ghosts giving readers a unique spin on The Goose Girl.
11:47
August 13, 2020
Rain Review
Today we're discussing Rain by India R. Adams, a novel that had the potential to be something spectacular, but the cliche character dynamics and forced romance made this novel seem like bad Twilight fan-fiction.
16:01
August 11, 2020
Seasons of the Storm Review
Today we're discussing Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano, an amazing take on the tale of Jack Frost and Greek Mythology filled with compelling characters and interesting dynamics.
09:08
August 6, 2020
The Obsidian Tower Review
Today we're discussing The Obsidian Tower by Melissa Caruso, an engaging high fantasy novels filled with charismatic characters and a high tension plot.
11:32
August 4, 2020
Mayhem Review
Today we're discussing Mayhem by Estelle Laure, a novel that will excite readers with allusions to the cult classic The Craft and references to The Lost Boys.
12:49
August 1, 2020
The Beholder Review
Today we're discussing The Beholder by Anna Bright, a spin on Snow White filled with Greek and Norse mythology.
18:12
July 30, 2020
The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass Review
Today we're discussing The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass by Adan Jerreat-Poole, a novel that should have easily been enjoyable and yet the insubstantial writing will leave the reader feeling hollow.
16:49
July 28, 2020
A Touch of Gold Review
Today we're discussing A Touch of Gold by Annie Sullivan, a rich new retelling on the tale of King Midas and his golden touch.
11:49
July 23, 2020
Nemesis and the Swan Review
Today we're discussing Nemesis and the Swan by Lindsay K. Brandy, a character-driven novel that follows Hélène d’Aubign in revolutionary Paris as she reconciles who she was with who she wants to be in a country on the verge of change.
11:58
July 21, 2020
A Heart So Fierce and Broken Review
Today we're discussing A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer, the second novel in her bestselling Cursebreakers series.
14:04
July 16, 2020
The Last Wish Review
Today we're discussing The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski, introducing audiences around the globe to The Witcher Geralt and his fantastical world of monsters, both human and inhuman.
10:32
July 14, 2020
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin Review
Today we're discussing A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown, an amazing novel honoring West African folklore, highlighting the magic of storytelling.
11:50
July 9, 2020
Prelude for Lost Souls Review
Today we're discussing Prelude for Lost Souls by Helen Dunbar, an enjoyable read that haunts the reader as much as the music haunts the characters.
13:46
July 7, 2020
The Burning Review
Today we're discussing The Burning by Laura Bates, an evocative read dealing with shaming and bullying in a powerful way, giving a voice to young women everywhere.
23:06
July 2, 2020
Storm and Fury Review
Today we're discussing Storm and Fury by Jennifer Armentrout, a unique young adult fantasy perfect for Gargoyle fans.
11:53
June 30, 2020
The Court of Miracles Review
Today we're discussing The Court of Miracles by Kester Grant, a compelling narrative of 19th century Paris, that entices the reader with high stakes tension and incredible storytelling.
13:59
June 25, 2020
The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea Review
Today we're discussing The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall, a unique and emotional story with compelling characters.
16:10
June 23, 2020
Admission Review
Today we're discussing Admission by Julie Buxbaum, a ripped from the headlines story about bribery and buying your way into college.
15:31
June 18, 2020
The Fascinators Review
Today we're discussing The Fascinators by Andrew Eliopolus, a thoughtful contemporary fantasy that brings magic to life with thoughtful storytelling and complex characterization.
14:35
June 16, 2020
Don't Call The Wolf Review
Today we're discussing Don't Call the Wolf by Aleksandra Ross, a wonderful debut perfect for fans of fantasy and fairy tales.
12:49
June 11, 2020
Clique Bait Review
Today we're discussing Clique Bait by Ann Valett, a novel perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars as it follows Chloe as she uses her money and privilege for one thing: revenge.
11:27
June 9, 2020
We Were Restless Things Review
Today we're discussing We Were Restless Things by Cole Nagamatsu, a novel that can capture the attention of the reader but lacks in characterization.
10:10
June 4, 2020
Of Silver and Shadow Review
Today we're discussing of Silver and Shadow by Jennifer Gruenke, a thrilling action-packed tale of rebellion with compelling and complex characters and interesting magic.
09:14
June 2, 2020
The Scapegracers Review
Today we're discussing The Scapegracers by Hannah Abigail Clarke, a story filled with two-dimensional characters and an unclear plot this novel fails to entrance.
10:42
May 28, 2020
Winterwood Review
Today we're discussing Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw, a spellbinding and eerie fantasy that will undoubtedly lure readers into its dark and haunted pages.
12:59
May 26, 2020
A Werewolf in Riverdale Review
Today we're discussing A Werewolf in Riverdale, a great novel that is chilling, action-packed, and will make the reader bloodthirsty for more.
07:46
May 21, 2020
Deeplight Review
Today we're discussing Deeplight by Frances Hardinge, a fantasy that blends 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea and Frankenstein.
13:58
May 19, 2020
The Crow Rider Review
Today we're discussing The Crow Rider by Kalyn Josephson, a great sequel that closes the duology with a strong female protagonist and compelling fantasy.
12:06
May 14, 2020
A Curse So Dark and Lonely Review
Today we discuss A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer, a great retelling that breathes new life into the tale as old as time.
10:59
May 12, 2020
Little Creeping Things Review
Today we're discussing Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso, a YA thriller that keeps the reader on their toes until the final revelation.
11:04
May 7, 2020
Queen of Air and Darkness Review
Today we're discussing Queen of Air and Darkness by Cassandra Clare the final explosive novel in the The Dark Artifices trilogy.
14:42
May 5, 2020
Thorn Review
Today we're discussing Thorn by Intisar Khanani, a YA retelling of The Goose Girl.
10:56
April 30, 2020
Wayward Witch Review
Today we're discussing Wayward Witch by Zoraida Cordova, The final novel in the Brooklyn Brujas series that brings it to a proper and near-perfect close.
10:26
April 28, 2020
The Seventh Sun Review
Today we're discussing The Seventh Sun by Lani Forbes, a YA fantasy steeped in Aztec and Mayan mythology.
11:40
April 23, 2020
All Your Twisted Secrets Review
Today we're discussing All Your Twisted Secrets by Diana Urban, a tension driven plot perfect for fans of The Breakfast Club and Agatha Christie.
10:55
April 21, 2020
Twin Daggers Review
Today we're discussing Twin Daggers by MarcyKate Connolly, a wonderful blend of steampunk and fantasy that respins the tale of Romeo and Juliet.
11:50
April 16, 2020
Foul is Fair Review
Today we're discussing Foul is Fair by Hannah Capin, a bloody, thrilling revenge fantasy for the girls who have had enough.
10:56
April 14, 2020
Bone Crier's Moon Review
Today we're discussing Bone Crier's Moon by Kathryn Purdie, a new start to what looks like a great YA fantasy.
10:49
April 9, 2020
Bruja Born Review
Today we're discussing Bruja Born by Zoraida Córdova, a YA fantasy with a cool splash of horror and magic.
13:01
April 7, 2020
Labyrinth Lost Review
Today we're discussing Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova, an enchanting Latinx story about magic, family, and being one’s true self.
12:41
April 2, 2020
If These Wings Could Fly Review
Today we're discussing If These Wings Could Fly by Kyrie McCauley, a YA contemporary story infused with magical realism to tell a story about a girl surviving domestic violence. 
16:06
March 31, 2020
We Unleash the Merciless Storm Review
Today we're discussing We Unleash the Merciless Storm by Tehlor Kay Mejia.
13:36
March 26, 2020
Red Hood Review
Today we're talking about Red Hood by Elana K. Arnold, a modern day retelling of Little Red Riding Hood.
12:11
March 24, 2020
Oasis Review
Today we're discussing Oasis by Kayta de Becerra, a supernatural thriller hiding a mystery in plain sight.
10:08
March 5, 2020
Seven Deadly Shadows Review
Today we're discussing Seven Deadly Shadows by Courtney Alameda and Valynne E. Maetani, a contemporary YA retelling of Akira Kurosawa’s Seven Samurai.
14:17
March 3, 2020
Spellhacker Review
Cyn's Workshop discusses Spellhacker by M. K. England.
15:22
February 27, 2020
Infinity Son Review
Cyn's Workshop review and discussion of Infinity Son by Adam Silvera.
12:54
February 25, 2020
February 24, 2020
00:37
February 24, 2020