Skip to main content
Cyn's Workshop

Cyn's Workshop

By Cyn's Workshop
The official podcast for Cyn's Workshop, a place for book lovers to listen to us discuss our latest read.
Listen on Spotify
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

No Filter and Other Lies Review

Cyn's Workshop

1x
Comfort Me With Apples Review
Today we're discussing Comfort Me With Apples, a jaw-dropping fantasy with thriller and horror elements. Follow the Author: https://twitter.com/catvalente But on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/comfort-me-with-apples-catherynne-m-valente/1138427421?ean=9781250816214 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250816214 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
08:35
August 08, 2022
A Mirror Mended Review
Today we're discussing A Mirror Mended, the second Fractured Fairytale that takes readers from Sleeping Beauty to Snow White in one magical snap. Follow the Author: https://alixeharrow.wixsite.com/author But on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-mirror-mended-alix-e-harrow/1139985264?ean=9781250766649 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250766649 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
12:36
August 03, 2022
A Spindle Splintered Review
Today we're discussing A Spindle Splintered, a quick read that subverts all expectations by dragging the reader into the multiverse of fairytales. Follow the Author: https://alixeharrow.wixsite.com/author But on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-spindle-splintered-alix-e-harrow/1138427391?ean=9781250765352 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250765352 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
11:37
August 02, 2022
Into the Crooked Place Review
Today we're discussing Into the Crooked Place, a YA fantasy that has a slow start but picks up quickly like an explosive train ride. Follow the Author: https://alexandrachristo.com/ But on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/into-the-crooked-place-alexandra-christo/1129819254?ean=9781250620866 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250620866 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
12:16
July 21, 2022
Queen of Dragons Review
Today we're discussing Queen of Dragons, a historical fantasy romance with intriguing history, world-building, and characterization. Follow the Author: https://www.shanaabe.com/ But on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/queen-of-dragons-shana-ab/1130721911?ean=9780553588064 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780553588064 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
11:56
July 15, 2022
When Women Were Dragons Review
Today we're discussing When Women Were Dragons, a compelling contemporary fantasy taking place in 1950s America after thousand of women turned into dragons. Follow the Author: https://kellybarnhill.wordpress.com/ But on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/when-women-were-dragons-kelly-barnhill/1139966299?ean=9780385548229 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780385548229 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
12:30
July 13, 2022
Hope: A History of the Future Review
Today we're discussing Hope: A History of the Future, a novel that tells the story of three characters at three different points in the future, shining a light on a hopeful future. Follow the Author: https://hopeahistoryofthefuture.com/ But on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hope-a-history-of-the-future-gg-kellner/1139997104?ean=9781684631230 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781684631230 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
13:58
July 11, 2022
Misrule Review
Today we're discussing Misrule, the conclusion to the Malice duology that continues to tell the love story of Aurora and her dark fairy. Follow the Author: https://heatherrwalter.com/ But on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/misrule-heather-walter/1139852736?ean=9781984818683 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781984818683 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
12:53
July 05, 2022
All of Us Villains Review
Today we're discussing All of Us Villains, a masterful story that blends the Hunger Games with the Tri-Wizard Tournament. Follow the Author: https://www.amandafoody.com/ | https://www.christinelynnherman.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/all-of-us-villains-amanda-foody/1138427387?ean=9781250789259 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250789259 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:46
June 29, 2022
The Dragon's Promise Review
Today we're discussing The Dragon's Promise, the conclusion to Lim's Six Crimson Cranes duology that has some great storytelling but falters with the characterization. Follow the Author: https://www.elizabethlim.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-dragons-promise-elizabeth-lim/1140956623?ean=9780593300954 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780593300954 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles   https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
12:41
June 23, 2022
Life As We Knew It Review
Today we're discussing Life As We Knew It, a dystopic novel following the survival of one family after a meteor knocks the moon closer to Earth. Follow the Author: http://susanbethpfeffer.blogspot.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/life-as-we-knew-it-susan-beth-pfeffer/1100302339?ean=9780152061548 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780152061548 Become a Supporter:   https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:39
June 17, 2022
We Are The Fire Review
Today we're discussing We Are the Fire, a novel that may offer interesting discussions on humanity but lacks memorability. Follow the Author: https://www.samtaylorwrites.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/we-are-the-fire-sam-taylor/1136522293?ean=9781250241429 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250241429 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:59
June 13, 2022
Defy the Night Review
Today we're discussing Defy the Night, an engaging and fast-paced Robin Hood-esque story. Follow the Author: https://brigidkemmerer.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/defy-the-night-brigid-kemmerer/1138266604?ean=9781547604661 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781547604661 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
12:31
June 02, 2022
My Dearest Darkest Review
Today we're discussing My Dearest Darkest, a YA horror that has a bit of a bumpy start but nonetheless delivers excellent tension and scares. Follow the Author: https://www.kaylacottingham.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/my-dearest-darkest-kayla-cottingham/1139625137?ean=9781728236414 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781728236414 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
11:57
May 25, 2022
The Iron Flower Review
Today we're discussing The Iron Flower, the second novel in the Black Witch Chronicles that continues to weave a masterful story of equality and magic. Follow the Author: https://laurieannforest.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-iron-flower-laurie-forest/1126683172?ean=9781335995827 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781335995827 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
13:49
May 19, 2022
How To Survive Your Murder Review
Today we're discussing How to Survive Your Murder, a slasher novel perfect for Scream fans that captures that nostalgia with perfect storytelling and excellent plot development. Follow the Author: https://www.daniellerollins.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/how-to-survive-your-murder-danielle-valentine/1140572924?ean=9780593352014 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780593352014 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
10:33
May 12, 2022
A Forgery of Roses Review
Today we're discussing A Forgery of Roses, a mystery that blends the fantasy and Gothic that unfortunately falls a little short. Follow the Author: https://www.jessicasolson.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-forgery-of-roses-jessica-s-olson/1139262918?ean=9781335418661 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781335418661 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
15:11
May 02, 2022
Wind Daughter Review
Today we're discussing Wind Daughter, a wonderful tale that reads like a fairy tale, wrapping itself around the reader like a warm blanket on a winter's night. Follow the Author: https://joannaruthmeyer.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/wind-daughter-joanna-ruth-meyer/1139211853?ean=9781645674368 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781645674368 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:48
April 26, 2022
The Library of the Dead Review
Today we're discussing The Library of the Dead, a paranormal fantasy that features very little of the titular library as it focuses on the mystery of lost children. Follow the Author: https://twitter.com/tendaihuchu Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-library-of-the-dead-t-l-huchu/1136889568?ean=9781250767783 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250767769 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
13:46
April 15, 2022
The Last Laugh Review
Today we're discussing The Last Laugh, the amazing sequel to The Initial Insult that raises the stakes and tension while continuing to capture a perfect gothic atmosphere. Follow the Author: https://www.mindymcginnis.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-last-laugh-mindy-mcginnis/1139682008?ean=9780062982452 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780062982452 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
13:36
April 13, 2022
No Filter and Other Lies Review
Today we're discussing No Filter and Other Lies, an engaging and relatable novel that reminds readers that there is more life than the number of online likes and followers. Follow the Author: https://www.crystalwrote.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/no-filter-and-other-lies-crystal-maldonado/1139395187?ean=9780823447183 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780823447183  Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
15:02
April 06, 2022
A Thousand Steps Into Night Review
Today we're discussing A Thousand Steps Into Night, an amazing adventure following one girl eager to stop a curse while finding empowerment on the way. Follow the Author: http://www.tracichee.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-thousand-steps-into-night-traci-chee/1138332204?ean=9780358469988 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780358469988 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
11:26
March 12, 2022
Into the Hourglass Review
Today we're discussing Into the Hourglass, a fast-paced sequel that captivated the reader. Follow the Author: http://emilyrking.com/books/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/into-the-hourglass-emily-r-king/1130392703?ean=9781542043946 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781542092258 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
15:34
March 08, 2022
Afterlove Review
Today we're discussing Afterlove, a novel that claims to be "the lesbian love story you've been waiting for" but does it live up to the hype? Follow the Author: https://www.tanyabyrne.com/tanyabyrne Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/afterlove-tanya-byrne/1134858298?ean=9781250865618 Become a Supporter:   ? https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
15:23
March 04, 2022
Contest of Queens Review
Today we're discussing Contest of Queens, a fantasy that begins one way and evolves with strong characterization, feminity, and Orwellian themes. Follow the Author: https://jordanhbartlett.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/contest-of-queens-jordan-h-bartlett/1139896807?ean=9780744304985 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780744304985  Become a Supporter:   https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:32
February 10, 2022
Kindred Spirits Review
Today we're discussing Kindred Spirits, a wonderful prequel to the bestselling Dragonlance Chronicles that's captures the heart of two of the Heroes of the Lance. Follow the Author: https://www.goodreads.com/author/list/160870.Mark_Anthony Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dragonlance-kindred-spirits-mark-anthony/1108826612?ean=9780786963218 Buy on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Kindred-Spirits-Meetings-Sextet-I/dp/1560760699/ref=tmm_mmp_swatch_0 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
16:11
February 07, 2022
Wingbearer Review
Today we're discussing Wingbearer, a moving adventurous graphic novel sure to capture everyone's attention. Follow the Author: http://marjoriemliu.com/ Follow the Illustrator: http://tenyai.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/wingbearer-marjorie-m-liu/1136894980?ean=9780062741158 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780062741165 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
12:00
February 05, 2022
The Witch Haven Review
Today we're discussing The Witch Haven, a fantasy about one young girl's discovery of magic and goal to solve her brother's murder. Follow the Author: https://www.sashapsmith.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-witch-haven-sasha-peyton-smith/1138779215?ean=9781534454385 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781534454385 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
15:04
February 01, 2022
Blood Like Magic Review
Today we're discussing Blood Like Magic, a diverse and powerful urban fantasy debut that focuses on ancestry, community, and diversity. Follow the Author: https://www.instagram.com/jessicagoodman/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/blood-like-magic-liselle-sambury/1137937558?ean=9781534465282 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781534465282 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:51
January 28, 2022
The Counselors Review
Today we're discussing The Counselors, a YA mystery/thriller from bestselling author Jessica Goodman that uses pacing and non-linear memories to push the tension and create a gripping read. Follow the Author: https://www.instagram.com/jessicagoodman/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-counselors-jessica-goodman/1140285396?ean=9780593524220 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780593524220 Become a Supporter:     https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:40
January 26, 2022
Magic Lessons Review
Today we're discussing Magic Lessons, the prequel to Practical Magic that lures in readers with its steady pace and magical prose. Follow the Author: https://alicehoffman.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/magic-lessons-alice-hoffman/1140118784?ean=9781982108854 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781982108847 Become a Supporter:     https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
13:37
January 21, 2022
Fate of the Fallen Review
Today we're discussing Fate of the Fallen, an unexpectedly delightful fantasy that turns fantasy tropes on their head and gives readers an action-packed story full of unpredictable twists and turns. Follow the Author: https://kelkade.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fate-of-the-fallen-kel-kade/1130016100?ean=9781250293794 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250293794 Become a Supporter:     https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
13:40
January 19, 2022
A Comb of Wishes Review
Today we're discussing A Comb of Wishes, a compelling story for young readers that handles topics such as grief and sustainability through the lens of Caribbean folktales and mermaid magic. Follow the Author: https://www.lisastringfellow.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-comb-of-wishes-lisa-stringfellow/1139439981?ean=9780063043435 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780063043435 Become a Supporter:     https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles  https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
13:19
January 15, 2022
Ashfall Legacy Review
Today we're discussing Ashfall Legacy, the newest novel by Pittacus Lore that takes readers into space, through black holes, and encounters space dragons. Follow the Author: https://www.harpercollins.com/blogs/authors/pittacus-lore Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ashfall-legacy-pittacus-lore/1137427958?ean=9780062845368 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780062845368 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
11:22
January 10, 2022
The Ivory Key Review
Today we're discussing The Ivory Key, a YA fantasy filled with puzzles and excellent plot and character development. Follow the Author: https://akshayaraman.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-ivory-key-akshaya-raman/1138332203?ean=9780358468332 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780358468332 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:46
January 06, 2022
The Empress Review
Today we're discussing The Empress an unpredictable novel driven by excellent rising tension and strong characterization. Follow the Author: https://sjkincaid.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-empress-s-j-kincaid/1126051619?ean=9781534409934 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781534409927 Become a Supporter:    https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
16:10
January 03, 2022
The Eye of the World Review
Today we're discussing The Eye of the World, the first novel in the epic fantasy Wheel of Time that feels nostalgic and wonderful.  Follow the Author: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Jordan  Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/eye-of-the-world-robert-jordan/1100356869?ean=9781250768681  Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250251466  Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
15:08
December 30, 2021
Fable Review
Today we're discussing Fable, a character-driven tale that submerges the reader with its atmospheric and lyrical writing. Follow the Author: https://www.adrienneyoungbooks.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fable-adrienne-young/1135426597?ean=9781250254368 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250254368 Become a Supporter:   https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:43
December 25, 2021
Rogue Princess Review
Today we're discussing Rogue Princess, a fun and well-written gender-bent retelling of Cinderella. Follow the Author: https://brmyers.ca/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/rogue-princess-bethany-myers/1130769054?ean=9781250762955 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250762955 Become a Supporter:   https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop   https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
11:15
December 18, 2021
Beasts of Prey Review
Today we're discussing Beasts of Prey, an amazing fantasy inspired by various African folklore that moves effortlessly and captivates the reader. Follow the Author: https://www.ayanagray.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/beasts-of-prey-ayana-gray/1138537105 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780593405680 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
08:60
December 18, 2021
Daughters of Darkness Review
Today we're discussing Daughters of Darkness, the second novel in the Night World series that is not only clearly written for young readers but also shows its age. Follow the Author: http://www.ljanesmith.net/  Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/daughters-of-darkness-l-j-smith/1100996945?ean=9781481479646  Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781481479646 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=ZLYMTKFEM5HR8
14:20
December 12, 2021
Cupid's Match Review
Today we're discussing Cupid's Match, an entertaining YA paranormal romance that brings Greek mythology to the modern age with the Cupid Matchmaking Service. Follow the Author: https://www.laurenpalphreyman.com/  Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cupids-match-lauren-palphreyman/1131079921?ean=9780993689932  Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780993689932 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles
13:42
December 11, 2021
These Hollow Vows Review
Today we're discussing These Hollow Vows, a young adult fantasy that follows one clever Brie into the Seelie court in hopes of saving her sister, and her heart, from the Unseelie King. Follow the Author: https://lexiryan.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/these-hollow-vows-lexi-ryan/1137169233?ean=9780358386575 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780358386575 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles
12:39
December 07, 2021
Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy Review
Today we're discussing Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, a collection of short stories that brings more history to the world of Clare and gives Simon a chance to shine. Follow the Author: https://cassandraclare.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/tales-from-the-shadowhunter-academy-cassandra-clare/1123385475?ean=9781481443265 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781481443265 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles
13:51
December 01, 2021
Return of the Evening Star Review
Today we're discussing Return of the Evening Star, a story for young readers that lacks some emotional depth for older readers. Follow the Author: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16937790.Diane_Rios Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/return-of-the-evening-star-diane-rios/1129478839?ean=9781631525452 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781631525452 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles
13:10
November 29, 2021
Gold Spun Review
Today we're discussing Gold Spun, a magical retelling of Rumplestilskin that follows a strong female lead and stays away from tropes and cliches. Follow the Author: https://www.brandiejune.com/  Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gold-spun-brandie-june/1138831625?ean=9780744301748  Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780744301663 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles
11:52
November 26, 2021
The Oracle Year Review
Today we're discussing The Oracle Year, a slow-burn novel that unfortunately fails to capture the readers' attention with poor pacing and one-dimensional characters.  Follow the Author: https://www.charlessoule.com/  Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-oracle-year-charles-soule/1126314462?ean=9780062686640  Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780062686640  Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles
15:30
November 22, 2021
Lore Olympus Volume One Review
Today we're discussing Lore Olympus: Volume One, the full-color collection of the first 25 chapters of the hit WEBToon comic that tackles heavy themes while reinventing Greek Mythology. Follow the Author: https://mobile.twitter.com/used_bandaid  Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lore-olympus-rachel-smythe/1138940397  Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780593160299 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles
12:40
November 17, 2021
Six Crimson Cranes Review
Today we're discussing Six Crimson Cranes, a fairy tale that brings to life East Asian folklore with masterful storytelling. Follow the Author: https://www.elizabethlim.com/  Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/six-crimson-cranes-elizabeth-lim/1137955028?ean=9780593300916  Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780593300916 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles
09:16
November 13, 2021
The Black Witch Review
Today we're discussing The Black Witch, a wonderful fantasy that deals with the injustice that comes with prejudices and racism.  Follow the Author: https://laurieannforest.com/  Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-black-witch-laurie-forest/1124690518?ean=9781335468864  Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780373212316
13:17
November 11, 2021
A Curse of Roses Review
Today we're discussing A Curse of Roses, an #OwnVoices novel based on Portuguese mythology and folklore that teaches readers that loving and accepting every part of oneself is the greatest thing above all. Follow the Author: https://pinguicha.wordpress.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-curse-of-roses-diana-pinguicha/1136668400?ean=9781682815090 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781682815090
15:09
November 04, 2021
The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy Review
Today we're discussing The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy, a rich and imaginative tale that will empower young readers to stand up for themselves and find their voices. Follow the Author: https://anneursu.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-troubled-girls-of-dragomir-academy-anne-ursu/1138598394?ean=9780062275127 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780062275127
09:01
November 03, 2021
Grace and Glory Review
Today we're discussing Grace and Glory, the conclusion to the Harbinger series that brings the reader non-stop entertainment, action, and great storytelling. Follow the Author: https://jenniferlarmentrout.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/grace-and-glory-jennifer-l-armentrout/1137425922?ean=9781335212788 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781335212788
10:39
October 30, 2021
We Can Be Heroes Review
Today we're discussing We Can Be Heroes, a compelling novel that reinvents Greek Mythology while also bringing awareness to domestic abuse, violence, and gun control. Follow the Author: https://www.kyriemccauley.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/we-can-be-heroes-kyrie-mccauley/1138436045?ean=9780062885050 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9780062885050 Resources: THE NATIONAL DOMESTIC VIOLENCE HOTLINE: 1-800-799-7233 www.thehotline.org LOVE IS RESPECT: 1-800-331-9474 www.loveisrespect.org Text: “loveis” to 22522 NATIONAL COALITION AGAINST DOMESTIC VIOLENCE: www.ncadv.org EVERYTOWN FOR GUN SAFETY: www.everytown.org SANDY HOOK PROMISE: www.sandyhookpromise.org
20:20
October 27, 2021
Indestructible Object Review
Today we're discussing Indestructible Object, a compelling story following Lee's journey to discover if love is real and reconcile it with her identity. Follow the Author: https://anneursu.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/indestructible-object-mary-mccoy/1137941915?ean=9781534485051 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781534485051
11:35
October 21, 2021
House of Salt and Sorrows Review
Today we're discussing House of Salt and Sorrows, a gothic tale that retells a classic fairy tale in true Poe fashion. Follow the Author: http://www.erinacraig.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/house-of-salt-and-sorrows-erin-a-craig/1129853108?ean=9781984831958 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781984831927
09:15
October 19, 2021
14 Ways to Die Review
Today we're discussing 14 Ways to Die, a thriller for the modern age that follows one young girls' quest to bring one serial killer to justice. Follow the Author: https://twitter.com/vincentralph1?lang=en Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/14-ways-to-die-vincent-ralph/1137410987?ean=9781728231860 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781728231860 Become a Supporter: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles Follow Cyn's Workshop: https://cynsworkshop.com/ https://www.facebook.com/Reader.Writer.Critic/ https://twitter.com/Cyn_Novelist https://www.instagram.com/cynsworkshop/
11:01
October 14, 2021
Lost in the Never Woods Review
Today we're discussing Lost in the Never Woods, a modern retelling of Peter Pan with an unexpected twist. Follow the Author: https://www.aiden-thomas.com/ Buy on B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lost-in-the-never-woods-aiden-thomas/1130769088?ean=9781250313973 Buy on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781250313973 Become a Supporter:  https://www.buymeacoffee.com/cynsworkshop  https://www.etsy.com/shop/CynsWorkshopCandles  Follow Cyn's Workshop:  https://cynsworkshop.com/  https://www.facebook.com/Reader.Writer.Critic/  https://twitter.com/Cyn_Novelist  https://www.instagram.com/cynsworkshop/
10:35
October 13, 2021
Of Princes and Promises Review
Today we're discussing Of Princes and Promises, a contemporary modern retelling of The Frog Prince that recognizes toxic behavior and highlights the path to loving oneself.
09:26
October 10, 2021
All These Bodies Review
Today we're discussing All These Bodies, a true-crime-inspired YA novel that has enough mystique to keep the reader guessing until the very end.
13:33
October 05, 2021
A Deadly Education Review
Today we're discussing A Deadly Education, a dark fantasy with a witty protagonist that takes readers to a school of magic where the only way out is to graduate or die.
09:45
October 02, 2021
Iron Widow Review
Today we're discussing Iron Widow, a futuristic novel that brings to life one of China's most empowering figures, Wu Zetian.
15:13
September 30, 2021
The Once and Future Witches Review
Today we're discussing The Once and Future Witches, an empowering and inspirational magical read that gives a voice to women.
12:43
September 22, 2021
Dark and Shallow Lies Review
Today we're discussing Dark and Shallow Lies, a gripping mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end.
09:06
September 21, 2021
The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina Review
Today we're discussing The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina, an entrancing, captivating, amazing novel blending Latina culture, magic, and mystery wonderfully.
04:42
September 18, 2021
A Neon Darkness Review
Today we're discussing A Neon Darkness, an interesting novel that was so frustrating to read.
15:39
September 15, 2021
The Second Rebel Review
Today we're discussing The Second Rebel, a novel sure to astound and captivate readers with its amazing character growth and powerful stance on fighting for rights of all and equality.
12:58
September 09, 2021
The Nature of Witches Review
Today we're discussing The Nature of Witches, a wonderful witchy story about climate change and learning to love yourself while it delves into the magic of nature.
00:13
September 09, 2021
The Petrified Flesh Review
Today we're discussing The Petrified Flesh, a captivating tale by acclaimed author Cornelia Funke that captures the essence of the Brothers Grimm.
11:15
September 02, 2021
Ghost Girl Review
Today we're discussing Ghost Girl, an entertainment ghost story for children and adults.
14:21
August 28, 2021
Spells Trouble Review
Today we're discussing Spells Trouble, a new tale by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast that focuses on twin witches who must rise to battle the darkness creeping into their town.
13:09
August 23, 2021
A Dragonbird in the Fern Review
Today we're discussing A Dragonbird in the Fern, winner of the book of the month title on Cyn's Workshop that gives readers a strong relatable protagonist who grows through adversity with resilience.
11:52
August 19, 2021
Sword of Destiny Review
Today we're discussing Sword of Destiny, tales from the Witcher that are a must-read for any Witcher fan.
12:06
August 19, 2021
Aetherbound Review
Today we're discussing Aetherbound, a compelling narrative that gives agency to women over their bodies while offering a strong character-driven read.
12:23
August 16, 2021
Hello, Cruel Heart Review
Today we're discussing Hello Cruel Heart, an interesting origin of Disney's Cruella de Vil that gives a deeper look into what makes her click.
08:24
August 11, 2021
Fresh Review
Today we're discussing Fresh, a hilarious and relatable coming-of-age story about embarking on college and making mistakes.
13:42
August 11, 2021
Go The Distance Review
Today we're discussing Go The Distance, a Disney Twisted Tale that recaptures the heart of Disney's Hercules while adding more depth and giving Meg her time to shine.
09:60
August 10, 2021
Rone Isa Review
Today we're discussing Rone Isa, a futuristic dystopia that offers readers a thoughtful and existential read.
10:00
August 03, 2021
Witches Steeped in Gold Review
Today we're discussing Witches Steeped in Gold, a Jamaican inspired fantasy following two compelling female characters in their quest for revenge.
11:29
July 29, 2021
Malice Review
Today we're discussing Malice, a thoughtful retelling of Sleeping Beauty filled with amazing characterization and compelling storytelling.
12:39
July 28, 2021
The Jade Bones Review
Today we're discussing The Jade Bones, the sequel to The Seventh Sun that offers readers better characterization and better tension.
14:07
July 27, 2021
Sing Me Forgotten Review
Today we're discussing Sing Me Forgotten, a young adult fantasy similar to Phantom of the Opera that will tear your heart out by the end...in a good way.
10:02
July 23, 2021
Shadow in the Empire of Light Review
Today we're discussing Shadow in the Empire of Light, a fantasy with potential that unfortunately fails at every turn.
12:35
July 19, 2021
Angel of the Overpass Review
Today we're discussing Angel of the Overpass, the fantastic ending to the Ghost Road series following the ever brilliant and charismatic Phantom Prom Date.
10:11
July 15, 2021
The Archer at Dawn Review
Today we're discussing The Archer at Dawn, a compelling novel that continues to build up the plot and characterization.
12:38
July 15, 2021
What Big Teeth Review
Today we're discussing What Big Teeth, an interesting gothic debut that lacks likable characters.
10:11
July 09, 2021
The Tiger at Midnight Review
Today we're discussing The Tiger at Midnight, an incredible novel that blends together Indian and Hindu Mythology while focusing on strong characterization.
10:02
July 07, 2021
Mexican Gothic Review
Today we're discussing Mexican Gothic, an eerie haunting tale that will deliver the reader a chilling unpredictable narrative.
09:31
July 02, 2021
The Bright and the Pale Review
Today we're discussing The Bright and the Pale, an interesting YA fantasy that is excellent at building tension but falters with the characterization.
10:30
June 30, 2021
The Lucky List Review
Today we're discussing The Lucky List, a story of grief and learning to live, love, and be yourself even when it seems impossible.
09:11
June 28, 2021
The Shadow in the Glass Review
Today we're discussing The Shadow in the Glass, a gothic dark fantasy that respins the tale of Cinderella in a unique way.
10:31
June 25, 2021
The Diabolic Review
Today we're discussing The Diabolic, a brilliant sci-fi novel, reminiscent of a space opera that highlights compelling themes through powerful characterization.
10:50
June 22, 2021
My Contrary Mary Review
Today we're discussing My Contrary Mary, a brilliant new novel that is filled to the brim with humor, imagination, and creativity.
10:50
June 16, 2021
House of Hollow Review
Today we're discussing House of Hollow, a chilling fantasy that will hook the reader from the beginning and haunt the reader in the end.
11:36
June 12, 2021
Midnight Sun Review
Today we're discussing Midnight Sun, the long-awaited companion to Twilight following Edward Cullen.
14:46
June 09, 2021
Eat Your Heart Out Review
Today we're discussing Eat Your Heart Out, a novel all about fighting fat-phobia and encouraging body positivity all while keeping zombies at bay.
15:12
June 05, 2021
The Theft of Sunlight Review
Today we're discussing The Theft of Sunlight, the sequel to Thorn that gives representation o individuals with disabilities and offers readers a compelling story from beginning to end.
12:60
June 03, 2021
Ravage the Dark Review
Today we're discussing Ravage the Dark, the compelling sequel that continues the plot of The Count of Monte Cristo with good story development and character growth.
08:42
May 29, 2021
Flamefall Review
Today we're discussing Flamefall, the sequel to Fireborne where the fires of revolution are sparking, giving rise to an excellent plot and strong characterization.
15:42
May 25, 2021
The First Sister Review
Today we're discussing The First Sister, a compelling space opera with compelling characters and a thoughtful narrative.
16:53
May 21, 2021
From Fire and Shadows Review
Today we're discussing From Fire and Shadows which lacks cohesion, world-building, and characterization, giving a story with potential a failing grade.
09:55
May 18, 2021
The Bane Chronicles Review
Today we're discussing The Bane Chronicles, a compilation of short stories that gives The Mortal Instruments world more history by following the ever charismatic Magnus Bane.
11:50
May 14, 2021
Lies Like Poison Review
Today we're discussing Lies Like Poison, a compelling and diverse YA mystery that brings four estranged friends back together when one of their mothers is murdered and one of them is the suspect.
10:54
May 14, 2021
Misfit in Love Review
Today we're discussing Misfit in Love, a thoughtful YA contemporary romance that deals with tough topics such as racism and religious prejudices.
14:29
May 06, 2021
Night World Review
Today we're discussing Night World, a young adult novel perfect for teens and preteens getting into fantasy.
08:10
May 04, 2021
Bitterblue Review
Today we're discussing Bitterblue, the third novel in the Graceling series that delves into the idea of truth and righting the wrongs of the past.
13:25
April 30, 2021
The Infinity Courts Review
Today we're discussing The Infinity Courts, an exceptional novel about humanity, right versus wrong, and fighting for an afterlife against a sentient AI.
13:33
April 28, 2021
The Iron Raven Review
Today we're discussing The Iron Raven, the first in a new series that takes place in the Iron Fey realm that gives Puck time to shine and grow.
08:13
April 22, 2021
Pride and Premeditation Review
Today we're discussing Pride and Premeditation, a compelling retelling that is unique, clever, and tons of fun.
14:60
April 18, 2021
Black Sun Review
Today we're discussing Black Sun, a creative and thoughtful narrative with compelling characters and excellent world-building.
16:50
April 16, 2021
The Queen's Secret Review
Today we're discussing The Queen's Secret, the sequel to de la Cruz's The Queen's Assassin which suffers from much of the same problems coming off as a generic young adult fantasy.
13:57
April 15, 2021
The Wide Starlight Review
Today we're discussing The Wide Starlight, a young adult fantasy that blends realism with Norwegian fairy tales.
09:38
April 10, 2021
Those Who Prey Review
Today we're discussing Those Who Prey, a compelling narrative that highlighting the dangerous allure of a cult and the dangers of risk of escape when trapped.
12:50
April 08, 2021
After the Fire Review
Today we're discussing After the Fire, a compelling story of survival and escape from a cult that will keep the reader hooked page after page.
11:51
April 06, 2021
The Queen's Assassin Review
Today we're discussing The Queen's Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz, a fantasy that is a tad too predictable leaving it underwhelming and forgettable.
12:58
April 03, 2021
City of the Uncommon Thief Review
Today we're discussing City of the Uncommon Thief, a young adult high fantasy that sadly made its way onto my DNF pile.
12:05
April 01, 2021
The Initial Insult Review
Today we're discussing The Initial Insult, an incredible story inspired by the works of Poe that keeps the tension going, keeping the reader hooked forevermore.
12:32
March 30, 2021
Magic Dark and Strange Review
Today we're discussing Magic Dark and Strange, a short novel with potential that unfortunately falls flat with stiff writing.
13:12
March 27, 2021
Curse of the Divine Review
Today we're discussing Curse of the Divine, the sequel to Ink in the Blood that surpasses its predecessor.
10:27
March 25, 2021
This Golden Flame Review
Today we're discussing This Golden Flame, a YA fantasy with great LGBTQ representation that more than makes up for its boring villain.
11:10
March 23, 2021
Incendiary Review
Today we're discussing Incendiary, Zoraida Córdova's latest young adult fantasy that is gripping from beginning to end.
11:07
March 20, 2021
The Companion Review
Today we're discussing The Companion, a YA gothic novel that makes the reader question the narrator with an eerie atmosphere.
11:47
March 18, 2021
The City Below the Cloud Review
Today we're discussing, The City Below the Cloud, a novella with many goods ideas. However, it lacks direction, failing to pull together in a cohesive way.
10:31
March 16, 2021
Muse Review
Today we're reviewing Muse, a novel that rewrites history and the Worlds Fair of 1893 with a compelling narrative.
10:58
March 13, 2021
Phoenix Flame Review
Today we're discussing Phoenix Flame, the sequel to Havenfall that delves deeper into the fantasy and character dynamics.
08:01
March 11, 2021
Unchosen Review
Today we're discussing Unchosen, a novel that reinvents the "zombie" trope and gives the reader adventure with a compelling narrative.
10:14
March 09, 2021
Fire Review
Today we're reviewing Fire, a companion novel to Graceling that offers too many distractions to be properly enjoyed.
11:60
March 06, 2021
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls) Review
Today we're reviewing The Castle School (for Troubled Girls), an emotional young adult contemporary that handles mental illness and grief in an appropriate and thoughtful manner.
08:58
March 04, 2021
City of Villains Review
Today we're reviewing City of Villains, a novel that brings to life fairy tale villains with a contemporary yet fantastical twist.
08:26
March 02, 2021
God Storm Review
Today we're reviewing God Storm, the fast-paced sequel to Shadow Frost fans should love.
11:04
February 26, 2021
All These Monsters Review
Today we're reviewing All These Monsters, a novel that highlights that monsters do not always look like monsters and are often a wolf a sheep's clothing.
13:08
February 23, 2021
Graceling Review
Today we're reviewing Graceling, the first in a series with a fierce female protagonist and an unpredictable plot that keeps the reader guessing.
12:10
February 20, 2021
Into the Heartless Wood Review
Today we're reviewing Into the Heartless Wood, winner of Cyn's Workshop's January Book of the Month title, this novel captures what it means to have a soul, finding love, and challenging the toxic dynamic between mother and daughter.
11:46
February 18, 2021
Crown of Coral and Pearl Review
Today we're reviewing Crown of Coral and Pearl, a YA fantasy that focuses on the bond between sisters while tearing down the idea that beauty is everything.
11:20
February 16, 2021
The PAN Review
Today we're reviewing The PAN by Jenny Hickman, a compelling retelling of Peter Pan that despite having a few problems, is still enjoyable.
13:10
February 13, 2021
We Are The Ashes, We Are The Fire Review
Today we're discussing We Are The Ashes We Are The Fire, a contemporary YA novel written in prose and verse about rape culture.
13:50
February 11, 2021
Wings of Ebony Review
Today we're reviewing Wings of Ebony, an empowering YA fantasy dealing with social injustice and racial inequality.
09:11
February 09, 2021
Renegade Review
Today we're discussing Renegade, now titled Heir of Lies, a novel with a promising premise and prologue that unfortunately falls flat in chapter one and beyond.
11:35
February 06, 2021
A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes Review
Today we're reviewing A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, the compelling prequel to the critically acclaimed Hunger Games series that does not disappoint.
09:47
February 04, 2021
Fat Chance, Charlie Vega Review
Today we're reviewing Fat Chance, Charlie Vega, a novel that fights against fatphobia and encourages the reader to be empowered and love themselves.
10:43
February 02, 2021
Roman and Jewel Review
Today we're discussing Roman and Jewel, a diverse and compelling new spin on Romeo and Juliet.
11:26
January 29, 2021
The Left Handed Booksellers of London Review
Today we're reviewing The Left-Handed Bookseller of London, a novel I was sure I was going to love, but one that ultimately fell flat with lackluster characterization and overuse of ellipses.
11:35
January 25, 2021
Night Shine Review
Today we're reviewing Night Shine, a novel that threw me through a loop and took me on a rollercoaster ride with its pacing.
11:33
January 22, 2021
The Broken Raven Review
Today we're reviewing The Broken Raven, the sequel to the Good Hawk that continues to explore the mystical land of Scotland.
15:17
January 19, 2021
Miss Meteor Review
Today we're reviewing Miss Meteor, a powerful story about finding your home and your identity among friends and loved ones. 
10:53
January 16, 2021
The Ninth Life Review
Today we're reviewing The Ninth Life. a novel that deals with the complexities of being human rather poorly.
13:33
January 14, 2021
Given Review
Today we're discussing Given, a high fantasy novel with a strong YA protagonist with a poor male lead.
12:42
January 12, 2021
Auxiliary: London 2039
Today we're reviewing Auxiliary: London 2039, an interesting premise with an unlikable protagonist.
10:50
January 07, 2021
Unbirthday Review
Today we're reviewing Unbirthday, a Twisted Tale novel that takes Alice back to Wonderland while also giving readers a thoughtful social commentary.
11:19
January 05, 2021
Rage and Ruin Review
Today we're reviewing Rage and Ruin, the second novel in the Harbinger series that delivers great characterization and develops the story in an amazing way.
09:51
January 02, 2021
Ink in the Blood Review
Today we're reviewing Ink in the Blood, a tense and somber story with a slow pace and powerful message of faith.
13:56
December 29, 2020
Scavenge the Stars Review
Today we're reviewing Scavenge the Stars, a compelling gender-bent retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo.
09:24
December 26, 2020
Nobody Knows But You Review
Today we're reviewing Nobody Knows But You, a promising YA thriller with excellent pacing and misdirection.
09:12
December 24, 2020
The Good Hawk Review
Today we're reviewing The Good Hawk, a compelling YA fantasy set in mythical Scotland with strong representation for the disabled community.
12:25
December 22, 2020
The Revolution of Jack Frost Review
Today we're reviewing The Revolution of Jack Frost, a strange science fiction novel that was a bitter disappointment.
07:28
December 19, 2020
The Shadows Between Us Review
Today we're reviewing The Shadows Between Us, an intoxicating YA fantasy with masterful layering and a strong female protagonist.
09:32
December 17, 2020
Windswept Review
Today we're reviewing Windswept, a YA science fiction novel that is too similar to Jumper making it feel unoriginal.
11:27
December 15, 2020
Rebel Rose Review
Today we're discussing Rebel Rose, a historical fiction story that follows Belle and her Beast after their happily ever after and into revolutionary France.
13:49
December 12, 2020
Outrun the Wind Review
Today we're discussing Outrun the Wind, a Greek retelling of Atalanta and Artemis that fails to impress.
13:04
December 10, 2020
The Cats Came Back Review
Today we're discussing The Cats Came Back, a fun mystery that will leave the reader thrilled and feeling perfectly cozy.
11:41
December 08, 2020
Daughter of the Serpentine Review
Today we're reviewing Daughter of the Serpentine, the second novel in the Dragoneer Academy series.
10:43
December 05, 2020
The Circus Rose Review
Today we're discussing The Circus Rose, a very interesting and unique retelling of Snow White and Rose Red with strong LGBTQ representation
11:12
December 04, 2020
The Good Girls Review
Today we're reviewing The Good Girls, a YA contemporary mystery highlighting the importance of the #MeToo movement.
14:02
December 02, 2020
Dreamwalkers Review
Today we're reviewing Dreamwalkers, a novel that takes too long to develop and requires much effort on the reader to be engaged.
11:39
December 01, 2020
How To Break An Evil Curse Review
Today we're reviewing How To Break An Evil Curse, a campy and hilarious fairy tale that is engaging for readers of any age.
13:25
November 28, 2020
These Violent Delights Review
Today we're discussing These Violent Delights a 1920s retelling of Romeo and Juliet with a mysterious fantastical twist.
13:17
November 26, 2020
This Is Not a Ghost Story Review
Today we're discussing This Is Not a Ghost Story, a haunted house story balanced perfectly with excellent characterization and humor.
10:29
November 24, 2020
Soulswift Review
Today we're discussing Soulswift, a thoughtful read dealing with important topics with fun characterization.
15:03
November 21, 2020
Master of One Review
Today we're discussing Master of One, a compelling young adult fantasy with incredible pacing, great plot development, and even greater LGBTQ representation.
14:00
November 19, 2020
A Curse of Ash and Embers Review
Today we're discussing A Curse of Ash and Embers, a YA fantasy with too much going on and not enough characterization.
13:07
November 17, 2020
Novice Dragoneer Review
Today we're discussing Novice Dragoneer, an incredible story following a girl with a stutter as she embarks on a journey to be a dragon rider.
12:49
November 14, 2020
Star Daughter Review
Today we're discussing Star Daughter, a brilliant fantasy reminiscent of Neil Gaiman's Stardust, bringing the wonder of stars and art to the reader.
11:31
November 12, 2020
Divided Fire Review
Today we're discussing Divided Fire, an interesting fantasy about two sisters trying to find their way back to each other.
13:56
November 10, 2020
Send Me Their Souls Review
Today we're discussing Send Me Their Souls, the final explosive and action-packed novel in the Bring Me Their Hearts series leaving readers utterly satisfied.
11:59
November 07, 2020
White Fox Review
Today we're discussing White Fox, a compelling and innovative mystery thriller for young adult audiences.
10:54
November 05, 2020
The Ravens Review
Today we're discussing The Ravens, a riveting fantasy thriller about sisterhood and the cost of power.
11:41
November 03, 2020
Hell's Library Review
Today we're discussing Hell's Library series by A. J. Hackwith, a series that takes readers to Hell, Valhalla, and Elysium, bringing books to life.
17:56
October 31, 2020
Kingdom of the Wicked Review
Today we're discussing Kingdom of the Wicked, the first in a new dark fantasy series filled with magic, demons, and princes of Hell.
10:38
October 29, 2020
Among the Beasts and Briars Review
Today we're discussing Among the Beasts and Briars, an absolutely enchanting fantasy readers won't be able to put down.
11:53
October 27, 2020
Beyond the Ruby Veil Review
Today we're discussing Beyond the Ruby Veil, an interesting enough story that lacks compelling characterization and depth.
11:60
October 24, 2020
Winter, White and Wicked Review
Today we're discussing Winter, White and Wicked, a retelling of the Snow Queen that may blend together elements from Frozen and Mad Max but, ultimately, comes up short.
12:15
October 22, 2020
Storm the Earth Review
Today we're discussing Storm the Earth, the riveting conclusion to the Shatter the Sky series filled with dragons, adventure, and action.
14:06
October 20, 2020
A Golden Fury Review
Today we're discussing A Golden Fury, historical fiction tale dabbling with magic, fantasy, and the philosopher's stone.
11:28
October 17, 2020
Lightbringer Review
Today we're discussing Lightbringer, the final novel in the Empirium Trilogy by Claire Legrand.  Purchase on Bookshop: https://bookshop.org/a/8108/9781492656685
13:50
October 16, 2020
Vicious Spirits Review
Today we're discussing Vicious Spirits, the thrilling sequel to Wicked Fox that continues the journey into Korean folklore.
12:16
October 14, 2020
A Curse of Gold Review
Today we're discussing A Curse of Gold, the riveting conclusion to Sullivan's A Touch of Gold series, filled with magic, fantasy, and compelling characters.
14:46
October 13, 2020
In the Study with the Wrench Review
Today we're discussing In the Study with the Wrench, the next thrilling novel in the CLUE Mystery series.
11:02
October 10, 2020
Broken Wish Review
Today we're discussing Broken Wish, the first in a new series of fairy tales reminiscent of the Grimm Brothers.
10:13
October 08, 2020
Set Fire to the Gods Review
Today on Spotify we're discussing Set Fire to the Gods, a brilliant blend of Gladiator and Avatar: The Last Airbender that will keep the reader entertained.
13:36
October 06, 2020
Havenfall Review
Today we're discussing Havenfall, a YA fantasy with a bit of a slow start, but otherwise offers readers an exciting read.
14:17
October 03, 2020
Ghost Wood Song Review
Today we're discussing Ghost Wood Song a haunting melody of fantasy, contemporary fiction, and mystery.
13:45
October 01, 2020
Entwined Review
Today we're discussing Entwined, a new take on Greek Mythology following the mortal descendants of the Greek Gods.
13:32
September 29, 2020
One True King Review
Today we're discussing One True King, the final novel in the magical and imagine School for Good and Evil series.
10:25
September 26, 2020
Anna K Review
Today we're discussing Anna K, a contemporary young adult retelling of the classic "Anna Karenina".
12:59
September 24, 2020
The Year of the Witching Review
Today we're discussing The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson, a strong & magical feminist read dealing with racism, sexism, and change.
13:12
September 22, 2020
All the Stars and Teeth Review
Today we're discussing All the Stars and Teeth, a brilliant new start to a new series filled with a unique take on magic and adventure.
12:04
September 19, 2020
Unravel the Dusk Review
Today we're discussing Unravel the Dusk by Elizabeth Lim, the final novel in the Blood of the Stars duology.
11:20
September 17, 2020
Kingdom of Ice and Bone Review
Today we're discussing Kingdom of Ice and Bone by Jill Criswell, the second thrilling novel in her Frozen Sun Saga.
13:39
September 15, 2020
Ignite the Sun Review
Today we're discussing Ignite the Sun by Hanna Howard, a brilliant debut that brings to life the battle between light and darkness.
11:13
September 12, 2020
Only Ashes Remain Review
Today we're discussing Only Ashes Remain by Rebecca Schaeffer, the second thrilling novel in the Market of Monsters series.
12:46
September 10, 2020
The Knucklehead of Silicon Valley Review
Today we're discussing The Knucklehead of Silicon Valley by G. Craig Vachon, a comedic espionage tale that unfortunately loses the reader.
08:31
September 08, 2020
On Wings and Ash Review
Today we're discussing On Wings and Ash by Jo Holloway, a novel with an interesting premise that fails to give the reader a satisfying ending.
11:33
September 03, 2020
Not Even Bones Review
Today we're discussing Not Even Bones by Rebecca Schaeffer, a highly addicting read and incredibly written dark fantasy.
12:23
September 01, 2020
A Dance with Fate Review
Today we're discussing A Dance with Fate by Juliet Marillier, the second novel in her Warrior Bards series that does not fail to impress.
11:24
August 29, 2020
Greythorne Review
Today we're discussing Greythorne by Crystal Smith, a great sequel that offers readers a more involved plot filled with plot twists, character growth, and amazing tension.
15:04
August 27, 2020
Wicked Fox Review
Today we're discussing Wicked Fox by Kat Cho, an amazing story, delving into Korean folklore to give readers a novel filled with compelling characters and an intriguing plot.
12:55
August 25, 2020
Sisters of Sword and Song Review
Today we're discussing Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross, a novel perfect for fans of mythology, held together by strong characters and an intricately woven plot.
10:07
August 20, 2020
Sword of Light Review
Today we're discussing Sword of Light by J. C. Lucas, A fun lighthearted read with riveting characters and compelling fantasy, grounding the reader in the details.
11:18
August 18, 2020
These Feathered Flames Review
Today we're discussing These Feathered Flames by Alexandra Overy, the first in a spell on series retelling the classic Russian folktale "The Firebird".
11:34
August 15, 2020
Bloodleaf Review
Today we're discussing Bloodleaf by Crystal Smith, an intriguing story filled with magic and ghosts giving readers a unique spin on The Goose Girl.
11:47
August 13, 2020
Rain Review
Today we're discussing Rain by India R. Adams, a novel that had the potential to be something spectacular, but the cliche character dynamics and forced romance made this novel seem like bad Twilight fan-fiction.
16:02
August 11, 2020
Seasons of the Storm Review
Today we're discussing Seasons of the Storm by Elle Cosimano, an amazing take on the tale of Jack Frost and Greek Mythology filled with compelling characters and interesting dynamics.
09:09
August 06, 2020
The Obsidian Tower Review
Today we're discussing The Obsidian Tower by Melissa Caruso, an engaging high fantasy novels filled with charismatic characters and a high tension plot.
11:32
August 04, 2020
Mayhem Review
Today we're discussing Mayhem by Estelle Laure, a novel that will excite readers with allusions to the cult classic The Craft and references to The Lost Boys.
12:49
August 01, 2020
The Beholder Review
Today we're discussing The Beholder by Anna Bright, a spin on Snow White filled with Greek and Norse mythology.
18:13
July 30, 2020
The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass Review
Today we're discussing The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass by Adan Jerreat-Poole, a novel that should have easily been enjoyable and yet the insubstantial writing will leave the reader feeling hollow.
16:50
July 28, 2020
A Touch of Gold Review
Today we're discussing A Touch of Gold by Annie Sullivan, a rich new retelling on the tale of King Midas and his golden touch.
11:49
July 23, 2020
Nemesis and the Swan Review
Today we're discussing Nemesis and the Swan by Lindsay K. Brandy, a character-driven novel that follows Hélène d’Aubign in revolutionary Paris as she reconciles who she was with who she wants to be in a country on the verge of change.
11:59
July 21, 2020
A Heart So Fierce and Broken Review
Today we're discussing A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer, the second novel in her bestselling Cursebreakers series.
14:05
July 16, 2020
The Last Wish Review
Today we're discussing The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski, introducing audiences around the globe to The Witcher Geralt and his fantastical world of monsters, both human and inhuman.
10:33
July 14, 2020
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin Review
Today we're discussing A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown, an amazing novel honoring West African folklore, highlighting the magic of storytelling.
11:51
July 09, 2020
Prelude for Lost Souls Review
Today we're discussing Prelude for Lost Souls by Helen Dunbar, an enjoyable read that haunts the reader as much as the music haunts the characters.
13:47
July 07, 2020
The Burning Review
Today we're discussing The Burning by Laura Bates, an evocative read dealing with shaming and bullying in a powerful way, giving a voice to young women everywhere.
23:07
July 02, 2020
Storm and Fury Review
Today we're discussing Storm and Fury by Jennifer Armentrout, a unique young adult fantasy perfect for Gargoyle fans.
11:53
June 30, 2020
The Court of Miracles Review
Today we're discussing The Court of Miracles by Kester Grant, a compelling narrative of 19th century Paris, that entices the reader with high stakes tension and incredible storytelling.
13:60
June 25, 2020
The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea Review
Today we're discussing The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea by Maggie Tokuda-Hall, a unique and emotional story with compelling characters.
16:10
June 23, 2020
Admission Review
Today we're discussing Admission by Julie Buxbaum, a ripped from the headlines story about bribery and buying your way into college.
15:32
June 18, 2020
The Fascinators Review
Today we're discussing The Fascinators by Andrew Eliopolus, a thoughtful contemporary fantasy that brings magic to life with thoughtful storytelling and complex characterization.
14:36
June 16, 2020
Don't Call The Wolf Review
Today we're discussing Don't Call the Wolf by Aleksandra Ross, a wonderful debut perfect for fans of fantasy and fairy tales.
12:49
June 11, 2020
Clique Bait Review
Today we're discussing Clique Bait by Ann Valett, a novel perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars as it follows Chloe as she uses her money and privilege for one thing: revenge.
11:28
June 09, 2020
We Were Restless Things Review
Today we're discussing We Were Restless Things by Cole Nagamatsu, a novel that can capture the attention of the reader but lacks in characterization.
10:11
June 04, 2020
Of Silver and Shadow Review
Today we're discussing of Silver and Shadow by Jennifer Gruenke, a thrilling action-packed tale of rebellion with compelling and complex characters and interesting magic.
09:15
June 02, 2020
The Scapegracers Review
Today we're discussing The Scapegracers by Hannah Abigail Clarke, a story filled with two-dimensional characters and an unclear plot this novel fails to entrance.
10:43
May 28, 2020
Winterwood Review
Today we're discussing Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw, a spellbinding and eerie fantasy that will undoubtedly lure readers into its dark and haunted pages.
12:59
May 26, 2020
A Werewolf in Riverdale Review
Today we're discussing A Werewolf in Riverdale, a great novel that is chilling, action-packed, and will make the reader bloodthirsty for more.
07:46
May 21, 2020
Deeplight Review
Today we're discussing Deeplight by Frances Hardinge, a fantasy that blends 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea and Frankenstein.
13:58
May 19, 2020
The Crow Rider Review
Today we're discussing The Crow Rider by Kalyn Josephson, a great sequel that closes the duology with a strong female protagonist and compelling fantasy.
12:07
May 14, 2020
A Curse So Dark and Lonely Review
Today we discuss A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer, a great retelling that breathes new life into the tale as old as time.
10:60
May 12, 2020
Little Creeping Things Review
Today we're discussing Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso, a YA thriller that keeps the reader on their toes until the final revelation.
11:05
May 07, 2020
Queen of Air and Darkness Review
Today we're discussing Queen of Air and Darkness by Cassandra Clare the final explosive novel in the The Dark Artifices trilogy.
14:43
May 05, 2020
Thorn Review
Today we're discussing Thorn by Intisar Khanani, a YA retelling of The Goose Girl.
10:57
April 30, 2020
Wayward Witch Review
Today we're discussing Wayward Witch by Zoraida Cordova, The final novel in the Brooklyn Brujas series that brings it to a proper and near-perfect close.
10:27
April 28, 2020
The Seventh Sun Review
Today we're discussing The Seventh Sun by Lani Forbes, a YA fantasy steeped in Aztec and Mayan mythology.
11:40
April 23, 2020
All Your Twisted Secrets Review
Today we're discussing All Your Twisted Secrets by Diana Urban, a tension driven plot perfect for fans of The Breakfast Club and Agatha Christie.
10:56
April 21, 2020
Twin Daggers Review
Today we're discussing Twin Daggers by MarcyKate Connolly, a wonderful blend of steampunk and fantasy that respins the tale of Romeo and Juliet.
11:50
April 16, 2020
Foul is Fair Review
Today we're discussing Foul is Fair by Hannah Capin, a bloody, thrilling revenge fantasy for the girls who have had enough.
10:56
April 14, 2020
Bone Crier's Moon Review
Today we're discussing Bone Crier's Moon by Kathryn Purdie, a new start to what looks like a great YA fantasy.
10:50
April 09, 2020
Bruja Born Review
Today we're discussing Bruja Born by Zoraida Córdova, a YA fantasy with a cool splash of horror and magic.
13:01
April 07, 2020
Labyrinth Lost Review
Today we're discussing Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova, an enchanting Latinx story about magic, family, and being one’s true self.
12:42
April 02, 2020
If These Wings Could Fly Review
Today we're discussing If These Wings Could Fly by Kyrie McCauley, a YA contemporary story infused with magical realism to tell a story about a girl surviving domestic violence. 
16:06
March 31, 2020
We Unleash the Merciless Storm Review
Today we're discussing We Unleash the Merciless Storm by Tehlor Kay Mejia.
13:36
March 26, 2020
Red Hood Review
Today we're talking about Red Hood by Elana K. Arnold, a modern day retelling of Little Red Riding Hood.
12:11
March 24, 2020
Oasis Review
Today we're discussing Oasis by Kayta de Becerra, a supernatural thriller hiding a mystery in plain sight.
10:09
March 05, 2020
Seven Deadly Shadows Review
Today we're discussing Seven Deadly Shadows by Courtney Alameda and Valynne E. Maetani, a contemporary YA retelling of Akira Kurosawa’s Seven Samurai.
14:18
March 03, 2020
Spellhacker Review
Cyn's Workshop discusses Spellhacker by M. K. England.
15:22
February 27, 2020
Infinity Son Review
Cyn's Workshop review and discussion of Infinity Son by Adam Silvera.
12:54
February 25, 2020
February 24, 2020
00:37
February 24, 2020