Skip to main content
Eight Frugal Minutes

Eight Frugal Minutes

By Jodi Jill
Eight Frugal Minutes covers the thrifty side of the life. Our podcast offers practical ways to save money with shopping deals, frugal ideas and penny pinching DIY projects. Plus we offer real opportunities to explore on how to make more money too. In just eight minutes we explore topics on how to save money and how to make money applicable to everyday lives. From free offers to side hustles, we recognize that your journey to financial freedom might be tough, so check out our ideas to budget, our guests and still live the lifestyle you deserve.

Our motto is: Save that Cash!
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Castbox Logo

Castbox

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

How to Make Money Taste Testing: Get Paid for Your Opinion While Eating Free Food

Eight Frugal Minutes

How to Make Money Taste Testing: Get Paid for Your Opinion While Eating Free Food

Eight Frugal Minutes

1x
Backward Budgeting: How to Save Money by Putting You first
Have you heard of backward budgeting? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal why people use backward budgeting over traditional budgets. You might be surprised how this financial idea puts you first and emphasizes how to live your best life.
08:04
January 27, 2022
Short Term Financial Goals: How to Start to Set Yourself up With Successful Financial Focus
Have you thought about setting your simple short-term financial goals? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we discuss simple and realistic ideas to set yourself up to start having successful financial focus one small step at a time.
07:45
January 26, 2022
How to Save Money at Aldi Grocery Stores: Tips to Find the Deals
Do you shop at Aldi grocery stores? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal tips on how to find inexpensive, delicious food products on your next shopping trip. As we are customers too, our advice offers details on how we shop at our local store to save cash.
11:07
January 25, 2022
Sell Sneakers? Trending Side Hustle Brings in Cash One Pair at a Time
Sell sneakers as a side hustle? Every 4 seconds a pair of sneakers is sold on eBay. Are you part of this side hustle success? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal how selling sneakers has become a H-O-T side hustle that offers amazing opportunities.
10:16
January 24, 2022
How to Start Planning Your Best Summer Ever: Fun and Easy Budget-Friendly Ideas
Are you looking for a way to enjoy summer without killing your budget? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we discuss how to find fun and easy budget-friendly summer ideas. It's never too early to start planning your best summer ever!
12:55
January 20, 2022
Side Hustle Nightmares: How to Avoid Misery and Agony When Trying to Make Extra Money
Side hustle nightmare signs are not something to ignore! On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal what you need to watch for to avoid the misery and agony of awful opportunities. Not all side hustles are the same!
16:55
January 19, 2022
Rent What? Side Hustles that Make Money Renting Out Weird Items
Would you rent out your stuff as a side hustle? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal a business opportunity based on renting certain items that you might own. People pay cash to rent homes and cars so why not make money renting products, equipment and other items?
12:36
January 18, 2022
How to Save Money on Milk; Tips to Keep Your Milk Costs Down
Do you buy a lot of milk? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we share how to save money on milk with budget-friendly tips you can use on your next trip to the store!
08:57
January 17, 2022
How to Make Money Taste Testing: Get Paid for Your Opinion While Eating Free Food
Have you thought about a taste testing side hustle? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal how to make money taste testing! Get free food and be paid for your honest opinion to help grocers, small businesses, restaurants, fast food chains, and manufacturers. Plus you will have a great time as you are introduced to new ideas and flavors.
11:28
January 13, 2022
How to find Discounted Bakery Goods: Budgeting Ideas for Parties and More
Looking for inexpensive cookies, muffins, rolls or other baked goods? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we discuss how to find discount baked goods locally. You might be surprised what is available at the nearby bakery, grocery store and a few other stores in your neighborhood.
09:46
January 12, 2022
Pet Insurance? How to Save Money While Keeping You Dog and Cat Healthy
Have you considered pet insurance for your dog or cat? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we discuss how pet insurance could help your budget, offer you peace of mind and keep the fur babies healthy.
10:05
January 11, 2022
Save Money on Food: How to Find Recipes based on Leftover Ingredients in Your Kitchen
Do you have leftover food ingredients but you don't have a recipe? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we share how to easily find 1000s of recipes catering to ingredients already in your kitchen. These recipe builders will help stretch your budget while making your tastebuds very happy.
10:29
January 10, 2022
Life too Crazy? How to Stay Sharp and Stop Being Overwhelmed
Are you feeling busy all the time? Never getting enough done? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal how to avoid becoming overwhelmed with 4 easy ideas to instantly implement. Live your best life while connecting to your full potential.
10:57
January 06, 2022
Is Your Food Bill too High? Tips on How to Cut Food Price Inflation
Has buying food become more expensive? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we offer real tips to immediately implement on your next trip to the grocery store. These ideas cut food price inflation while still catering to your lifestyle. Whether you are feeding a family or buying food for one, you might be surprised what tools you ready have to immediately cut your food bill.
10:08
January 06, 2022
Toothbrush Hacks: Give Your Old Toothbrush a Second Life
Toothbrush Hacks? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we talk toothbrushes! Before you toss it in the trash, consider giving your old toothbrush a new life. This simple instrument can make your life easier around the house and reusing a toothbrush is good for the environment too!
10:18
January 04, 2022
5 Tips to Save Money Booking Your Vacation
Looking to get away? Is vacationing on your budget a possibility in 2022? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal how to save money when booking a vacation. Get started planning a great family vacation using these 5 budget-friendly tips!
10:59
January 04, 2022
New Year's resolutions: May 2022 by Your Best Year Yet
Thinking about the New Year? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal a positive approach for the New Year. Even if that means only a few New Year's resolutions in 2022.
13:14
December 30, 2021
Festival Season on a Budget: How to Save Money When Attending Festivals
Festival season is coming! Going to an outdoor festival? Attending a music festival? Checking out a local art festival? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we share tips on how to save money while still enjoying any festival you attend. A little planning can save you a lot of green!
10:15
December 29, 2021
Home Recycling: 5 Weird Items You Should Recycle
Are you recycling everything? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal weird items to recycle. Why not save the planet and maybe even make a few extra bucks recycling these weird items found at home?
10:13
December 28, 2021
Be a Frugal Family: Tips to Save Money on Family Expenses
Want to be a Frugal family? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal tips to save money on family expenses. Make your family's budget bulletproof!
09:58
December 27, 2021
Positive Pandemic Habits: 5 Habits We All Should Keep Long After the Pandemic is Gone
Do you have any positive pandemic habits? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal the importance of new habits acquired during this difficult time. Also, we explore 5 ongoing positive pandemic habits we started and really hope to continue along after the virus is kicked to the curb.
12:24
December 23, 2021
Recycling Ink Cartridges: Make Money With an Environmentally Friendly Side Hustle
Ever considered recycling cartridges in bulk? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we share how easy it is to be environmentally friendly and make money recycling extra ink cartridges. Not only will Mother Nature thank you, the extra green in your pocket will be yours to keep.
10:14
December 22, 2021
3 Bad Money Habits that are Making You go Broke
Do you have bad money habits? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal 3 bad money habits that could make you go broke. The worst part? You might not even realize you are failing on your financial journey. What can you do? Identify and change your money habits for the better.
11:39
December 21, 2021
Christmas Movies: A Budget Friendly Holiday Activity for the Family
Watch Christmas movies? Holiday films is the perfect choice for a family activity while keeping an eye on the budget! On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes our host shares some of the best holiday movies to watch and detail on where to look for low-cost or no-cost opportunities to enjoy your favorite flick
09:16
December 20, 2021
Walmart Shopping: Save More Money by Using this Insane Tip on Clearance Items
Do you shop at Walmart? If you do, then check out this insane Walmart Clearance shopping tip. On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we share how Walmart shoppers are paying even less on clearance items. Plus, we reveal the step-by-step approach on how you can save cash at Walmart too!
12:39
December 17, 2021
Christmas Holiday Freebies: See Santa's reindeer, Have Santa Claus Call the Kids and more
Desire free Christmas holiday freebies for the family? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes, it's all no cost ideas to enjoy the holidays! Want to dance like an elf, see Santa's reindeer in the North Pole or have Santa call the kids? We've got the details! All activities highlighted on today's show are free, family fun!
09:23
December 16, 2021
Money Saving Fast Food Tips: How to Save Cash at Your Favorite Restaurants
Fast food restaurants can damage your wallet, especially if you're feeding a family. But you don't have to pay full price! On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we offer tips on how to save cash at almost every fast food chain. And the best part? It's easy to do!
12:41
December 15, 2021
Talk to Santa for Free! Call Santa's Hotline with What You Want for Christmas
Talk to Santa Claus? Santa's hotline is a free way for kids to chat with the jolly old man. On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we reveal how kids can call Santa anywhere in the world. All your family needs is a cell phone and the list of what the kids want for Christmas!
08:42
December 14, 2021
New Year's budgeting tips for 2022
Looking ahead to 2022 with your budget in mind? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we discuss New Year's budgeting tips you can start using today. Check out the practical ideas for a strong start on your success in the New Year. Happy 2022!
10:17
December 13, 2021
Winter Hacks: Inexpensive Tips and Tricks to Beat the Ice, Snow and Cold
OMG! It's Winter! On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes our host explores winter hacks. Sharing inexpensive ideas, it's time to make the snowy, cold season more enjoyable. The winter tricks and tips make it possible to live to your fullest potential without breaking the bank, even if it's freezing outside!
09:15
December 10, 2021
5 Tips to Overcoming Procrastination
Looking to overcome procrastination? Even if it's only one or two tasks you are procrastinating about, there are ways to stop putting off the inevitable. On this episode of 8 Frugal minutes we share five tips to overcoming procrastination. Don't put it off! Live your best life and take control of procrastination!
11:48
December 09, 2021
How to Find Free Baby Stuff: Tips for New and Expecting Parents Looking for Freebies
Are you interested in finding free baby stuff? On this episode of 8 Frugal Minutes we offer tips for new and expecting parents looking for freebies to help offset expenses once the bundle of joy arrives. Families looking for budget-conscious ideas will appreciate the idea of these possible resources and tips to stretch their wallet even further.
09:15
December 08, 2021
Inexpensive Christmas Decoration Ideas: Holiday Decorations Your Wallet Will Love
Need Budget friendly holiday decorations? Looking for inexpensive Christmas decoration ideas? This episode of 8 Frugal minutes is all about inexpensive Christmas decoration ideas that are delightfully festive. Yes, you can decorate like a boss without breaking the bank. Make your holiday season cheerful with these DIY Christmas decorations ideas and tips!
08:16
December 07, 2021
Balcony Gardening: Tips for a Tiny Garden in a Small Space
Balcony Garden? If you love plants and have a tiny place, a balcony garden might be the answer. On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we discuss why the inexpensive idea is perfect for anyone who is searching to create a relaxing environment in a small area.
08:58
December 06, 2021
How to Inexpensively Enhance your Curb Appeal: 5 DIY Front Yard Ideas for Your Home
Are you looking at your front yard and wondering if it's possible to enhance it? On this episode of 8 Frugal Minutes we explore 5 ideas to inexpensively increase a home's curb appeal. Whether it is your home or you are renting a house, opportunities to make the front yard look amazing on a budget is possible.
08:27
December 03, 2021
Christmas Hacks: Tips to Save Time and Money During the Holiday Season
It's the season to be jolly. Make your wallet happy with these useful Christmas hacks on this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes. Offering easy to accomplish tips to save time and money during the holiday season, you can stretch your joy even farther. Our host offers ideas on how to save that cash (and time too) while making the holidays the best they can be. Happy Holidays!
10:41
December 02, 2021
6 Ways to Refocus: 6 Tips to Focus and Make Every Day Count
Find yourself wondering how to refocus? On this episode of 8 Frugal minutes we offer 6 tips to focus, realign and make Every Day Count. It doesn't matter if you're unfocused due to a surprise situation, want to be more focused or need positive ideas to keep on task fir your lifestyle, our tips will help you keep moving forward and focused.
10:08
December 01, 2021
Easy Gift Ideas for Holiday Shopping: Presents for Friends, Families and Colleagues Who Have It All
OMG! Do you have an impossible friend family member or colleague that needs a holiday gift? We all have an individual who needs extra thought for the perfect budget friendly gift. This episode highlights easy gift ideas that are more thoughtful then a typical gift card and won't break the bank. The 8 Frugal Minutes host offers ideas you can use this upcoming holiday season.
08:51
November 30, 2021
Best Bulletproof Budget Hack for 2022: How to Stretch Your Cash in the New Year
This bulletproof budget hack for 2022 will stretch your cash in the new year. If you are wondering how to stop extra spending and make your budget oh, this one particular hack will help you substantially. The 8 Frugal minutes podcast host offers a single hack on how to easily manage your New Year within a budget.
09:56
November 29, 2021
How to Save Money Buying Gas: 3 Ways to Pay Less at the Gas Pump
Pain at the pump! On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we talk straight up, real opportunities to keep cash in your pocket with 3 ways to save money buying gas. Obviously maintenance is important, but our tips are how to avoid expensive gas before purchase. ⛽ Every smart consumer needs to keep an eye for deals around town. Keeping to our motto, Save that cash, tune in to find out more.
09:16
November 15, 2021
Christmas Savings: 5 Strategies to Save Money During the Holidays
Wondering how to save money around the holidays? This podcast episode is all about Christmas Saving during the season.. Eight Frugal Minutes offers up 5 strategies you can use during the holidays to find discounts, pick up the perfect presents and save your cash.
09:12
November 10, 2021
Grants 101: Libby Hikind of GrantWatch.com Shares How You Can Find Money with Grants
Grants. We hear about them awarded to big institutions and we know a few students who have gotten them. But did you know you could apply for grants too? If you're an individual, student, small business, activist or even a community minded person, you need to hear this episode. Libby Hikind shares her knowledge on grants and what to consider. Don't get overwhelmed at this process! The founder of GrantWatch.com breaks it down and offers a real look at how people like you and me should pay attention to this source of funding. As host Jodi Jill reminds us, Eight Frugal minutes is the how to about making money, saving money and living the lifestyle you desire. So where do grants fit into this? Our world is a big place and we can make amazing impact when we choose to step up and make a difference. Sometimes, funding is needed to make that happen. Grants are a great place to look to find that funding. If you have been thinking about community projects, environmental issues, student activities or any other way to make the world a better place, tune in to see if grants are where you need to look for your funding.
19:37
May 20, 2021
Weird Ways to Save Money: Ever Considered a Whacky No Spend Day?
Saving money 💰 is a good thing. Doesn't matter if you're a party of one or a family of six, finding ways to save cash is important. On today's episode of Eight Frugal Minutes, host Jodi Jill reveals some weird ways to save that moolah and you might be surprised 😮 as these are easy to implement for everyone. Hands up if you've implemented a No Spend Day! Or what about the use of 1those Starbucks cups? It might be weird, but we've never considered these whack ways to save money!
10:16
May 10, 2021
3 Ways to Save Cash Moving (and we are talking real ideas, not coupon codes)
Moving across country? Moving to a new town? Is your child moving for college? If you have moved before you know is expensive. In this episode of 8 Frugal minutes we talked about three ways most people never even consider when moving. All three are budget-friendly and definitely commit to having a safe, stress-free move without breaking the bank. Well discount codes are nice, you need to have the flexibility to move while still saving money. Check out this podcast
12:18
April 01, 2021
T-Mobile & Sprint Give Tuesday Freebies, Discounts and Exclusive Deals to Customers
Looking to be thanked on Tuesday just because you are a customer? Well, T-Mobile Tuesday might be your new best friend. Eight Frugal Minues shares our review of this ongoing offer for T-Mobile and Sprint customers. If you sign up, users of the service are thanked weekly for being part of the network on this program. What can you get? Fun freebies, deals and discounts!
07:10
January 21, 2021
Save Cash Using Discount Store Apps Like the 99 Cents Only Stores
Looking for ways to save money buying items you need at discount stores? There is an app for that! Host Jodi Jill shares how she saved serious cash with a 99 Cents Only Stores App, but she only learned about the opportunity in the check out lane. In this episode she shares how to research discount stores (before reaching the check out) to find apps for freebies, discounts and more on items you actually purchase on a regular basis. Be in the know and start saving cash at your community discount stores with these useful tips!
08:38
January 18, 2021
Stocking Stuffer Ideas Perfect for a Tight Budget
Need budget friendly stocking stuffer ideas? The holidays are upon us with the push to make a big impact with a small budget. Well, this is your podcast to hear. Eight Frugal Minutes has some great ideas to offer up so you can stretch that budget, give useful gifts and have bulky stockings too.
09:19
December 04, 2020
Free Coffee Anyone? Starbucks isn't the only Java joint pouring freebies in December!
Free coffee? Your daily dose of caffeine could be free until the end of December, if you know where to go. Starbucks isn't the only restaurant offers cups of coffee as freebies. Check out Eight Frugal Minutes as we explore where you might find this black gold goodness.
07:55
December 02, 2020
Cyber Monday 2020 Tips: Compound Your Discounts Deals and Bargains for Amazing Results
Cyber Monday 2020 is a great opportunity to save money on items you want for the holidays. Make your pocketbook delighted using these Cyber Monday 2020 tips to really stretch your cash. It's one of the biggest shopping days of the year (sorry Black Friday) and you can be ready to score massive savings.
07:51
October 27, 2020
2 Amazing Tips to Secure Your Deals Before Black Friday 2020 Starts
Wondering how to save cash during Black Friday 2020? You aren't alone! This year the deals, savings and discounts might need a strategy to save cash as we watch our communities adapt to the new normal! Tune in to hear our two amazing tips for an early start on finding great bargains.
09:37
October 21, 2020
How to Save Money Online with the Abandoned Shopping Cart Trick
Want to save money buying exactly what you want online? You can! Just abandon your shopping cart on a website and wait a day to buy. The online shopping cart trick will help you save cash and trigger coupons for your purchase. Tune in to the podcast to hear how you can use this great idea to save money! Perfect for holiday shopping too!
08:07
October 20, 2020
Save Cash at Home: 4 Bill Slashing Tips to Curb Energy Use
Want to save cash at home? On this episode of Frugal Minutes, the podcast is all about energy efficient tips to slash your bills at home. Now more than ever a house is where we work, live and even our child's school. With heavy use comes bigger bills. Here's some tips on how to keep your energy costs in check.
07:49
October 20, 2020
5 Virtual Assistant Jobs in Demand that Pay More than 20 bucks an Hour
Looking for a side hustle, gig or virtual employment? On this episode of Eight Frugal Minutes we dive right into five virtual assistant jobs that are in demand. Want to know the most sought after virtual gig in the current job market? Virtual contact tracing! Let us tell you more about contact tracers plus we share on other gigs typically offering 20 bucks or more an hour. All while you work in the comfort of your own home.
09:13
October 16, 2020
Halloween Budget deals: Trick or treat booklets for a buck offer free food for kids.
Boo! Eight Frugal Minutes offers a look at the budgeting bliss of Halloween food coupons for trick or treaters. Book of free items coupons from national food chains, local restaurants and grocers cost you a buck. Perfect to give to friends, family and neighborhood kids, you can stretch your dollar ten time by grabbing these spooky, fun deals.
08:49
October 15, 2020
Free Ice Cream: 3 National Chains offer free cold sweet treats on mobile apps.
Looking for free ice cream? Do you have a cell phone? Well, you're in luck! Baskin Robbins, Cold Stone Creamery and Dairy Queen all have free offers for yummy goodness that anyone can enjoy, no matter where you live! This budget friendly freebie is perfect for any day of the year (plus your tastebuds will thank you).
08:17
October 14, 2020
How to Sell Your Car for the Most Cash; Virtual look at Vroom, Carvana, and other car buying apps
Looking to get the most cash out of your car? On the podcast, Eight Frugal Minutes, we explore the virtual realm of car selling with your phone or computer. Companies like Carvana and Vroom make offers and then other places like Carmax (who starts the process online and then you take it in) might offer you WAYYYY more money for your vehicle.
10:01
October 13, 2020
How to Save More and Find Deals during Amazon Prime Days
Amazon Prime Days October 13 and 14th 2020 is upon us. Two days of glorious sales! Consider our tips to be first in line as well as save more cash! On 8 Frugal Minutes we offer some helpful tips on making the most of this Amazon event!
07:24
October 12, 2020
Entertainment Negotiation: How to Get Deals, Discounts and Offers to fit YOUR Budget
Saving that cash, but still desiring your entertainment? Looking to cut Entertainment costs, but don't know how without completely shutting off your fun stuff? In today's 8 Frugal Minutes host Jilly shares how to leverage your customer status to save cash. Don't know what to say or where to start? In 8 minutes you are offered tools to find out how to ask and why you should try to negotiate. It's only your call away! Deals, offers and discounts are yours, if, you ask!
08:18
September 02, 2020
Poshmark Deals: How to save money on Poshmark? Our secret 2-step formula to max discounts is shared
Poshmark deals are possible. However wouldn't you love to save more money then just a typical Poshmark deal? Yes! On this episode of 8 Frugal minutes, a 2-step formula reveals how to get the ultimate deal on fabulous fashions. This formula offers how to save more money than you thought imaginable. Let's be honest, being thrifty is important in today's economy, plus there is no reason you should pay top dollar when you can buy it for far less.
09:49
May 29, 2020
Gift Card Blues: Why Smart Shoppers Need to Avoid Getting Stuck With Worthless Gift Cards
Gift Card Blues. Have you carefully considered what your future holds in gift cards? With today's economy so unstable those gift cards you saved for a rainy day might not work in the near future. Thinking about buying gift cards as gifts? Maybe you should hold off. On today's episode of 8 Frugal Minutes we discuss the future of gift cards and shares why it might be a nightmare if you hang on to the wrong gift cards.
08:23
May 26, 2020
Bing Rewards: Search online and get rewarded with gift cards! Today's 8 Frugal Minutes tip is easy!
8 Frugal minutes reviews Bing Rewards as a way to make money while using the web. The best part is you search online anyway. So why not be rewarded for your time and effort with gift cards? This program is free for everyone and pays out in a positive way! Get the deets here!
07:52
December 24, 2019
Eight Frugal Minutes Introduction
Looking to find a way to save money, make money for your life? Our eight minutes offer you a chance to hear some great how to ideas that are practical for real people. Whether you look to save that money or make more, here's our scoop with a new podcast.
06:50
November 29, 2019
November 28, 2019
00:24
November 28, 2019