Skip to main content
Fight Sport Focus

Fight Sport Focus

By Jeffery Hoffmann
New Orleans-based MMA & combat sport news, interviews, video and photography from the Gulf Coast & beyond!
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 3 - Joe "The Party" Penafiel joins the show, UFC Fight Night: Smith vs. Rakic Recap, Overeem vs. Sakai Preview, Picks and Predictions

Fight Sport Focus

Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 3 - Joe "The Party" Penafiel joins the show, UFC Fight Night: Smith vs. Rakic Recap, Overeem vs. Sakai Preview, Picks and Predictions

Fight Sport Focus

1x
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 11 - Courage Combatives' Myron Gaudet join the show, UFC 254: Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Justin Gaethje Recap, UFC Fight Night: Hall vs. Silva Picks
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's eleventh episode. Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC 254: Khabib vs. Gaethje and review our picks from last week's episode.  Then, Courage Combatives' Myron Gaudet joins the show.  Myron has spent nearly 4 decades in martial arts and combat sports, and he is an MMA referee in the state of Louisiana who has officiated both UFC and Bellator cards.  Myron discusses the importance of martial arts and self-defense, his worldly experience in combat sports and law enforcement, and what it was like to officiate some of Dustin Poirier's earliest fights.  Lastly, we give the betting odds and our picks for the main event of UFC Fight Night: Hall vs. Silva. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes, Google, or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
1:49:38
October 28, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 10 - Macy "Mako" Breaux & Justice "The Gavel" Lamperez join the show, UFC Fight Night: Ortega vs. The Korean Zombie Recap, UFC 254 Khabib vs. Gaethje Picks
WE DID IT!!  The Fight Sport Focus Podcast has WON ALT 92.3 BEST LOCAL PODCAST IN NEW ORLEANS!! 🎉🎉 THIS WOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN POSSIBLE WITHOUT YOU, the fans, the fighters, the trainers and coaches, the promoters - this was because of you, and this award is FOR YOU!! The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's tenth episode. Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC Fight Night: Ortega vs. The Korean Zombie and review our picks from last week's episode.  Mid City MMA and Kenner Boxing's Macy "Mako" Breaux joins the show to talk about meal prep, mixed martial arts, and her journey in combat sports.  Then we're joined by Gladiators Academy's Justice "The Gavel" Lamperez.  Lastly, we give the betting odds and our picks for the main event of UFC 254: Khabib vs. Gaethje. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes, Google, or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
1:27:32
October 20, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 9 - AJ "The Ghost" Fletcher & Kristian Guirola join the show, UFC Fight Night: Moraes vs. Sandhagen Recap, Ortega vs. The Korean Zombie Picks
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's ninth episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC Fight Night: Moraes vs. Sandhagen.  Empire Fighting Championship owner and matchmaker Kristian Guirola joins the show to talk about Empire FC 6 this Saturday, October 17th, Jason Knight's return to MMA, and Empire's upcoming partnership with Bare Knuckle Fighting Championship.  Then, Gladiator's AJ Fletcher comes on to talk about his sensational rise in combat sports, the origin of "The Ghost," and what he feels he needs to do to get his shot at the big show.  Lastly, we give our picks for the main event of UFC Fight Night: Ortega vs. The Korean Zombie. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes, Google, or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
1:23:14
October 14, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 8 - Dr. Jon Marino joins the show, UFC on ESPN: Holm vs. Aldana Recap, UFC Fight Night: Moraes vs. Sandhagen Picks
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's eighth episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC on ESPN: Holm vs Aldana.  Then, Dr. Jon Marino joins the show to talk about his journey from medicine to mixed martial arts, his world travels, and the fight he's currently engaged in for his life.  Lastly, we give our picks for the main event of UFC Fight Night: Moraes vs. Sandhagen. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes, Google, or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
1:23:18
October 8, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 7 - "Dynamite" David Hardy joins the show, UFC 253 Adesanya vs. Costa Recap
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's seventh episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC 253 Adesanya vs. Costa.  Then, "The most exciting MC on the planet," DYNAMITE David Hardy joins the show to talk about his experience in nearly a decade-and-a-half of announcing fights.  Lastly, we give some unconventional matchup suggestions for the current UFC women's Bantamweight and Featherweight champion Amanda Nunes. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes, Google or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
1:38:41
October 3, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 6 - "Kid Diamond" Jewel Scott joins the show before fight at iKON1, UFC Fight Night: Covington vs. Woodley Recap, UFC 253 Adesanya vs. Costa Picks and Predictions
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's sixth episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC Fight Night: Covington vs. Woodley.  Then, Mid City MMA's "Kid Diamond" Jewel Scott joins the show to talk about his fight camp at Mid City, his career and commitment to health and fitness, and his upcoming fight.  Jewel fights AJ Cunningham at iKON1 on Thursday, September 24th, from Biloxi, Mississippi and live on UFC Fight Pass.  Lastly, we preview UFC 253 Adesanya vs. Costa and give our picks and predictions for each of the main card matchups. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes, Google or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
1:20:23
September 23, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 5 - "Thug Passion" Brandon Hebert joins the show, Atlas Fights 56 Recap, UFC Fight Night: Waterson vs. Hill Recap, Covington vs. Woodley Picks and Predictions
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's fifth episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC Fight Night: Waterson vs. Hill.  Then, Gladiators Academy's "Thug Passion" Brandon Hebert joins the show to talk about training at Gladiators, his career and fitness journey, and what we can expect from him in his next fight.  Brandon fights Cam Graham at Atlas Fights 57 on Saturday, October 3rd, from the Mississippi Coast Coliseum in Biloxi.  We recap all of the action from Atlas 56, then lastly, we preview UFC Fight Night: Covington vs. Woodley and give our picks and predictions for each of the main card matchups. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
1:24:39
September 15, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 4 - Nunzio "The Nunzilla" Camarata joins the show, Atlas Fights 56 Preview, UFC Fight Night: Overeem vs. Sakai Recap, Waterson vs. Hill Preview, Picks and Predictions
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's fourth episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC Fight Night: Overeem vs Sakai.  Then, Gracie United's Nunzio "The Nunzilla" Camarata joins the show to talk Brazilian jiu jitsu, fighting, professional wrestling, and what we can expect from him this weekend.  Nunzio fights John Clay at Atlas Fights 56, this Saturday, September 12th, from the Mississippi Coast Coliseum in Biloxi.  We break down the main card of Atlas 56, then lastly, we preview UFC Fight Night: Waterson vs. Hill and give our picks and predictions for each of the main card matchups. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
1:10:13
September 11, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 3 - Joe "The Party" Penafiel joins the show, UFC Fight Night: Smith vs. Rakic Recap, Overeem vs. Sakai Preview, Picks and Predictions
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's third episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC Fight Night: Smith vs. Rakic and talk about a few upcoming Gulf Coast events.  Fusion X-Cel's Joe "The Party" Penafiel joins the show!  Joe is fighting for the Flyweight title at Atlas Fights Biloxi MMA Beach Bash on Saturday, September 12th.  Lastly, we preview UFC Fight Night: Overeem vs. Sakai and give our picks and predictions for each of the main card matchups. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
52:23
September 4, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 2 - Atlas Fights 55 Recap, UFC Fight Night: Frankie Edgar vs. Pedro Munhoz Recap, Smith vs. Rakic Preview, Picks and Predictions
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's second episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap Atlas Fights 55 and UFC Fight Night: Frankie Edgar vs. Pedro Munhoz, and preview UFC Fight Night: Smith vs. Rakic and give betting odds, picks and predictions for each of the main card matchups. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast on Anchor.fm, Spotify, iTunes or wherever you get your podcasts, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com. Theme music by audionautix.com
39:14
August 29, 2020
Fight Sport Focus Podcast Episode 1 - UFC 252 Recap, Atlas Fights 55, Frankie Edgar vs. Pedro Munhoz Previews
The Fight Sport Focus Podcast's first episode.  Hosts Jeffery Hoffmann and Nicholas Sherlock recap UFC 252, and preview UFC Fight Night Frankie Edgar vs. Pedro Munhoz and Atlas Fights 55. Don't forget to subscribe to and share this podcast, and follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter @fightsportfocus and visit us at FightSportFocus.com  Theme music by audionautix.com
47:48
August 21, 2020