Flick or Flop - Featured Film Reviews

Flick or Flop - Featured Film Reviews

By Jeremy Kibler & Alex Maynard
Join Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online) as they give you the low-down on what movies to see and what to skip ... "Flick or Flop."

TheArtfulCritic.com
AlexMaynard.online
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo
Breaker Logo
Google Podcasts Logo
Overcast Logo
Pocket Casts Logo
RadioPublic Logo
Spotify Logo
Currently playing episode

Episode 15: Theaters Are Still Closed, But We Are Open!

Flick or Flop - Featured Film Reviews

Episode 15: Theaters Are Still Closed, But We Are Open!

Flick or Flop - Featured Film Reviews

Go to next audioGo to next audio
Go to prev audioGo to prev audio
1x
Episode 20: We Apologize for Feeding the Gremlin After Midnight
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? The Vast of Night Dangerous Lies The High Note Episode Timestamps: 1:13 - 11:53 - The Vast of Night 11:54 - 18:50 - Dangerous Lies 18:51 - 23:58 - The High Note What are we looking forward to next? Becky Release Date 6/5 On Demand Shirley Release Date 6/5 We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
28:44
June 2, 2020
Episode 19: Maybe Just Finish Your Netflix Queue This Week
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? The Lovebirds Inheritance Body Cam Episode Timestamps: 1:56 - 10:00 - The Lovebirds  10:01 - 15:48 - Inheritance 15:49 - 23:29 - Body Cam What are we looking forward to next? The High Note Release Date 5/29 On Demand The Vast of Night Release Date 5/29 Amazon We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
27:06
May 24, 2020
Episode 18: Scooby-Doo and the Mystery of Adam Sandler's Netflix-Movie Deal
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? Scoob! The Wrong Missy Clementine Episode Timestamps: 1:02 - 9:23 - Scoob! 9:24 - 21:28  - The Wrong Missy 21:29 - 25:50 - Clementine What are we looking forward to next? The Lovebirds Release Date 5/22 Netflix Inheritance Release Date On Demand Body Cam Release Date 5/19 Digital We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
30:18
May 18, 2020
Episode 17: Girls Just Want to Have Fun
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? Valley Girl How to Build a Girl Arkansas A Good Woman Is Hard to Find Episode Timestamps: :54 - 12:23 - Valley Girl 12:24 - 16:44 - How to Build a Girl 16:45 - 20:56 - Arkansas 20:57 - 24:30 - A Good Woman Is Hard to Find What are we looking forward to next? Scoob! Release date 5/15 On Demand Clementine Available now On Demand The Wrong Missy Available now Netflix We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
28:39
May 12, 2020
Episode 16: Getting Witchy in May
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? The Wretched Porno The Half of It Bad Education Episode Timestamps: 1:15 - 12:19 - The Wretched 12:20 - 19:38 - Porno 19:39 - 24:09 - The Half of It 24:10 - 29:26 - Bad Education What are we looking forward to next? Valley Girl release date 5/8 Digital How to Build a Girl release date 5/8 On Demand A Good Woman is Hard to Find release date 5/8 On Demand Arkansas 5/5 Digital & On Demand We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
32:05
May 4, 2020
Episode 15: Theaters Are Still Closed, But We Are Open!
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop."  What are this week's Featured Film Reviews?  Bad Therapy 1BR  True History of the Kelly Gang  Episode Timestamps:  1:13 - 5:22 - Bad Therapy  5:23 - 14:11 - 1BR  14:12 - 17:44 - True History of the Kelly Gang  What are we looking forward to next?  The Wretched 5/1 release date, Digital & On Demand  Porno Available, Vimeo On Demand  The Half of It Available, Netflix Streaming  Bad Education Available, HBO On Demand We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
21:24
April 27, 2020
Episode 14: Black Holes, Love Triangles, Haunted Mirrors, and Russian Brawls
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? Butt Boy Endings, Beginnings Behind You Why Don't You Just Die! (Papa, Sdokhni) Episode Timestamps: 1:50 - 8:15 - Butt Boy 8:16 - 16:14 - Endings, Beginnings 16:15 - 21:52 - Behind You 21:53 - 26:30 - Why Don't You Just Die! (Papa, Sdokhni) 26:31 - 35:27 - Thoughts on TV shows, new movie release dates, and Quibi What are we looking forward to next? The True History of the Kelly Gang 4/24 release date, Digital & On Demand Bad Therapy Available, On Demand 1BR 4/24 release date, Digital We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
35:50
April 20, 2020
Episode 13: Back to Movies, You Cool Cats and Kittens
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? We Summon the Darkness Sea Fever Never Rarely Sometimes Always Episode Timestamps: 2:22 - 7:49 - We Summon the Darkness 7:50 - 12:14 - Sea Fever 12:15 - 18:23 - Never Rarely Sometimes Always What are we looking forward to next? Butt Boy 4/14 release date, Digital & On Demand Behind You 4/17 release date, On Demand Endings, Beginnings 4/17 release date, Digital 5/1 release date, On Demand  Why Don't You Just Die! 4/20 release date, Digital We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
21:05
April 12, 2020
Episode 12: Be a Couch Potato with Remote Options
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), usually discuss the latest and upcoming films, but in this special episode, they will discuss Netflix series, like "Tiger King" and "Schitt's Creek," as well as a plethora of other TV shows that can be enjoyed at home through all different streaming services. Episode Timestamps: 2:00 - 10:20 - Tiger King 10:21 - 20:39 - Schitt's Creek 20:40 - 31:18 - You, Atypical, The Circle, Dirty John 31:19 - 56:34 - Throwbacks (Bates Motel, American Horror Story, Glee, UnREAL, Will & Grace, The OC, etc.) We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
57:01
April 9, 2020
Episode 11: Feeling Like a Lazy Susan
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? Lazy Susan Almost Love The Other Lamb Coffee & Kareem Bonus Quarantine Episode 12 Coming Soon!   Tiger King Dirty John The Circle You Throwbacks / oldies-but-goodies Episode Timestamps: 2:38 - 14:38 - Lazy Susan 14:39 - 23:02 - Almost Love 23:03 - 30:05 - The Other Lamb 30:06 - 38:44 - Coffee & Kareem What are we looking forward to next? We Summon the Darkness 4/10 release date, Digital & On Demand  Sea Fever 4/10 release date, Digital & On Demand  Never Rarely Sometimes Always Available, On Demand  We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
39:21
April 6, 2020
Episode 10: From Our Couch to Yours
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? Banana Split Vivarium Blow the Man Down Big Time Adolescence Episode Timestamps: 1:24 - 9:05 Banana Split  9:06 - 21:50 Vivarium  21:51 - 26:54 Blow the Man Down  26:55 - 33:09 Big Time Adolescence  33:10 - 42:39 [Delayed Quarantine Releases] What are some Delayed Quarantine Releases? Saint Maud No Time To Die Spiral Antebellum Run Antlers What are we looking forward to next? Lazy Susan 4/3 release date, Video on Demand  Almost Love 4/3 release date, Video on Demand  The Other Lamb 4/3 release date, Video on Demand We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
42:39
March 28, 2020
Episode 9: We're All in This Together
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? All the Bright Places The Platform Hooking Up (Jeremy's quick take) Human Capital (Jeremy's quick take) Episode Timestamps: 3:20 - 5:31 All the Bright Places 5:32 - 10:51 The Platform 10:52 - 14:01 Hooking Up 14:02 - 15:54 Human Capital 15:55 - 21:27 [Other Current Quarantine Recommendations] What are some Quarantine Recommendations?   Onward, Film & Disney+ on 4/3 featured on Episode 7 The Invisible Man, Blumhouse Film featured on Episode 6 Schitt's Creek, Pop TV & Netflix Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist, NBC & Hulu Gilmore Girls, Netflix What are we looking forward to next? Banana Split 3/27 release date Vivarium 3/27 release date Blow the Man Down 3/20 release date We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
21:27
March 21, 2020
Episode 8: Nobody Can Cancel Us
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? The Hunt Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street (Jeremy's quick take) Episode 8 Timestamps: :58 - 9:53 The Hunt 9:54 - 12:07 Cancellations & Upcoming Movies 12:08 - 15:26 Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street What are we looking forward to next? The Platform 3/20 release date Human Capital 3/20 release date Hooking Up 3/20 release date All the Bright Places 2/28 release date We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
17:40
March 15, 2020
Episode 7: Ben Affleck, Pixar, and Pica
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? The Way Back Onward Swallow Episode 7 Timestamps: :57 - 5:57 The Way Back 5:58 - 13:56 Onward 13:57 - 21:08 Swallow What are we looking forward to next? The Hunt 3/13 release date We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
22:29
March 10, 2020
Episode 6: Just trust us and see "The Invisible Man"
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop." What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? The Invisible Man Blood on Her Name (Jeremy's quick take) Disappearance at Clifton Hill (Jeremy's quick take) Episode 6 Timestamps: :36-8:28, The Invisible Man 8:29-10:00, Blood on Her Name 10:01-12:07, Disappearance at Clifton Hill What are we looking forward to next? Onward 3/6 release date The Way Back 3/6 release date Swallow 3/6 release date We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
13:53
February 27, 2020
Episode 5: The Sequels to Boys
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films -- ultimately deciding whether you should "see it" or "skip it" . . . a "Flick" or a "Flop."  What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? Brahms: The Boy II To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You Episode 5 Timestamps: :41 - 6:13, Brahms: The Boy II 6:14 - 12:30, To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You  What are we looking forward to next? The Invisible Man 2/28 release date (wide) Blood on Her Name 2/28 release date (limited & VOD) Disappearance at Clifton Hill 2/28 release date (limited & VOD) We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
13:57
February 27, 2020
Episode 4: More Flicks Than Flops
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films — ultimately deciding whether you should “see it” or “skip it” ... a “Flick” or a “Flop.” What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? February 10, 2020 - February 16, 2020 Downhill Sonic the Hedgehog Fantasy Island (2020) Come to Daddy Episode 4 Timestamps: 1:14-13:42, Downhill 13:43-19:45, Sonic the Hedgehog 19:46-33:54, Fantasy Island (2020) 33:55-40:56, Come to Daddy What are we looking forward to next? Brahms: The Boy II 2/24 release date To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You Streaming on Netflix We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media! instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
48:05
February 17, 2020
Episode 3: Flick or Flop (and the Fantabulous Movie Reviews of One Jeremy and One Alex)
Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films — ultimately deciding whether you should “see it” or “skip it” ... a “Flick” or a “Flop.” What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? February 3, 2020 - February 9, 2020 The Lodge Horse Girl Birds of Prey (and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn) Episode 3 Timestamps: :37-11:02, The Lodge 11:03-19:18, Horse Girl 19:19-33:46, Birds of Prey (and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn) What are we looking forward to next? Sonic the Hedgehog 2/14 release date Downhill 2/14 release date Fantasy Island 2020 2/14 release date We'd love to hear your thoughts -- feel free to join the conversation and find us on social media!   instagram @alexmaynardonline instagram @jkibler816 https://alexmaynard.online http://theartfulcritic.com
37:04
February 9, 2020
Episode 2: Best and Worst Films of 2019
This week, Jeremy Kibler and Alex Maynard talk about two Featured Films and a quick glance back at 2019 for Jeremy's (The Artful Critic) Best and Worst Films of 2019.  What is Flick or Flop?  Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films — ultimately deciding whether you should “see it” or “skip it” ... a “Flick” or a “Flop.” What are this week's Featured Film Reviews? January 27, 2020 - February 2, 2020 The Rhythm Section 1/31 release date Gretel & Hansel 1/31 release date Episode 2 Timestamps: 1:09-10:46, The Rhythm Section 11:10-23:44, Gretel & Hansel 24:09-28:13 Worst Films of 2019 28:14-42:01 Best Films of 2019 What are Jeremy's Top 5 Films of 2019?   [Link to Best Films of 2019] Waves Parasite Joker 1917 Uncut Gems What are Jeremy's Bottom 5 Films of 2019?   [Link to Worst Films of 2019] The Haunting of Sharon Tate The Fanatic Thriller Berserk Serenity What are we looking forward to next? Birds of Prey (and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn) 2/7 release date Come to Daddy 2/7 release date Horse Girl 2/7 release date The Lodge 2/14 & 2/21 release dates ... and we'll probably (maybe) talk about the Oscars 2020 on Sunday, 2/9.  How did Jeremy's Top 5 shake out at the awards?  
44:13
February 2, 2020
Episode 1: Introduction to "Flick or Flop"
What is Flick or Flop? Your hosts, Jeremy Kibler (The Artful Critic) and Alex Maynard (AlexMaynard.online), discuss the latest and upcoming films — ultimately deciding whether you should “see it” or “skip it” ... a “Flick” or a “Flop.”  What are this week's Featured Film Reviews?  January 20, 2020 - January 26, 2020  The Gentlemen 1/24 release date The Turning 1/24 release date Color Out of Space 1/24 release date Episode 1 Timestamps:   1:30-8:07, The Gentlemen 8:08-17:32, The Turning  17:33-22:42, Color Out of Space 22:43-32:56, 4 Quick Hits What are this week's Quick Hits?    The Grudge  Underwater  Dolittle  Bad Boys for Life  What are we looking forward to next?    Gretel and Hansel 1/31 release date The Rhythm Section 1/31 release date Bonus Mini Reviews:     In Fabric  I See You  Paradise Hills
33:53
January 26, 2020