Skip to main content
Fraternal Review

Fraternal Review

By The Research Lodge
The Southern California Research Lodge is dedicated to Masonic education and information. The Southern California Research Lodge has published the Fraternal Review for over six decades. Each issue is dedicated to a specific topic such as Masonic symbols, Masonic lore, and history.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

The Balance of Religion & Science

Fraternal Review

1x
The Virtue of Justice
In this episode, we turn our attention to the fourth, and final in our series of the four Cardinal Virtues: Justice. To pick up all four in-depth Fraternal Review issues on the four cardinal virtues of Freemasonry and to put these tools to better work in your life, please visit theresearchlodge.com. Freemasons are charged to cultivate Justice as a spiritual quality. As we listen to the wise words of Brother C. Douglas Russell, Editor in Chief and former Master of the Southern California Research Lodge, we hear how Justice has the ability to lift us further upward by integrating Justice as a crucial responsibility to our communities and the whole of humanity. Justice is truly a duty that extends to the four corners of the world. A duty that we owe to all regardless of race, color, sex, religion, age, or political affiliation. This virtue is not only consistent with divine and human laws but is the very cement and support of civil society.
05:47
August 18, 2020
The Virtue of Prudence
In this episode, we turn our attention to the third of the four Cardinal Virtues: Prudence. In the July 2020 issue of Fraternal Review, Brother C. Douglas Russell, Editor in Chief and former Master of the Southern California Research Lodge guides an in-depth study of this virtue and enlightens the readers on how Prudence goes beyond simply being careful or cautious, and as having good judgement. Bro. Russell explains that for the brethren who built Freemasonry, and for those continuing to hone this virtue today, Prudence can be seen as all-knowing, eternal, and divine wisdom. To become a subscriber or to purchase this issue, visit TheResearchLodge.com.
05:11
July 10, 2020
Freemasonry and the Tarot
In this episode, we turn our attention to Freemasonry and the Tarot. In September 2019 we dedicated an entire issue on this topic and studied how each is a comprehensive system of esoteric knowledge containing the gnosis that emerged from The Ancient Wisdom, stretching back to the dim recesses of human history. You can become a digital, print, or digital & print subscriber of Fraternal Review publication at theresearchlodge.com.
06:01
June 25, 2020
The Ruffians: Short Talks on Masonry
In this episode, we are highlighting an article from our June 2020 issue entitled, Fortitude, the second of the four cardinal virtues. This issue is a part of a four-issue series focused on the Four Cardinal Virtues and today, we encourage you to reflect further upon Fortitude while looking into a story that every Mason knows. You can find this issue and all previous digital issues at TheResearchLodge.com.
06:42
June 11, 2020
Further Study of the All Seeing Eye
In this episode, we are revisiting one of the most ancient and ubiquitous symbols of freemasonry, “The All Seeing Eye.” This topic was particularly popular and well-listened to in our previous episode, so we decided to share further study. Again, if this episode piques your interest or inspires you to learn more, we encourage you to download a copy of the December 2018 Fraternal Review which is dedicated to “The All Seeing Eye” and takes a further look into its history and symbolism. You can find this issue and all previous digital issues at TheResearchLodge.com.
05:38
May 19, 2020
Many Observations of the All Seeing Eye
In this episode, we are covering one of the most ancient and ubiquitous symbols of freemasonry, “The All Seeing Eye.” If this episode piques your interest or inspires you to learn more, we encourage you to download a copy of the December 2018 Fraternal Review which is dedicated to “The All Seeing Eye” and takes a further look into its history and symbolism. Learn more at: www.theresearchlodge.com
05:03
May 1, 2020
The Virtue of Immortality
With the world around more than ever collectively aware of the crisis, suffering, strife, and even death, I want to call back to our October 2019 issue titled, “Death, Immortality & Freemasonry.” In this issue, the Southern California Research Lodge seeks to discuss and, in some cases, provide answers to the question, “what Do we find when facing death?” Our episode today is the cover article from this issue and was privately printed in 1923 as The Master’s Lecture on Immortality from Evans Lodge No. 524.
03:09
April 17, 2020
Born In Blood: The Lost Secrets of Freemasonry
In this episode, we are sharing our top choice for a Masonic book. In 2016, Southern California Research Lodge took a reader’s book poll to discover which books our subscribers felt Masons should read and own. The poll was extended to Grand Lodge Officers and notable Masonic Scholars. The final results were published in the September 2016 Fraternal Review issue and can be viewed on our website.  The hope is to take a similar poll five years later, which will be in 2021 and to see how much the list has changed. Until then, enjoy Southern California Research Lodge’s list of Top 25 Masonic Books and listen further to hear our top choice.
05:36
April 8, 2020
Fight Club and Freemasonry
In this episode, we share an article from our inventive April 2020 issue which is proudly produced from the vision of the Managing Editor, Worshipful Dago Rodriguez, PM, 32º, and the 2020 Southern California Research Lodge Master. The April issue focuses on Fight Club & Freemasonry and studies aspects of the cult classic film and the symbolic parallels it shares with Freemasonry. “It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything.” — Tyler Durden, Fight Club
06:32
April 1, 2020
The #1 Masonic Esoteric Author is the Scottish Rite Visionary, Albert Pike
In this episode, we are revealing our top choice and recommendation for Masonic Esoteric Author. This top choice is given to the Masonic Esoteric Author who received the most votes from Fraternal Review subscribers and if you want to see our full list of Top 10 Esoteric Masonic Authors, along with supporting descriptions of each, please visit TheResearchLodge.com.
05:28
March 26, 2020
Hamlet: A Soliloquy from the Play by William Shakespeare
In this episode of Fraternal Review, we read the cover feature article from our February 2020 issue which is guest-edited by Michael Jarzabek, Past Junior Grand Warden, Grand Lodge of Massachusetts. The issue focuses on Dissonance & Freemasonry, and poses the big question, does chaos lead to harmony in our craft? The cover story is directly from Shakespeare, the “world’s greatest dramatist.” You can become a digital, print, or digital & print subscriber of Fraternal Review publication at www.theresearchlodge.com.
03:56
March 18, 2020
The Balance of Religion & Science
In this first episode of Fraternal Review, we read the cover article from our March 2020 issue. The issue focuses on Freemasonry, Science and Technology, and this article looks at how natural philosophy inspires Masons' use of science and reason for understanding matter and the Divine Creation. You can become a digital, print, or digital & print subscriber of Fraternal Review publication at www.theresearchlodge.com.
04:19
March 12, 2020