Skip to main content
The Fringe in Review Podcast

The Fringe in Review Podcast

By FringeReview
Reviews, Interviews and Views in the field of theatre, writing and the performing arts.
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 5

The Fringe in Review Podcast

The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 5

The Fringe in Review Podcast

1x
The Fringe in Review Podcast Season 2 Episode 9
A special edition focusing on Edinburgh Fringe venue Army at the Fringe. With reflections from Paul Levy on the nature of pop-up Fringe venues.
44:48
August 24, 2021
The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 8
A chat with writer and performer Tim Marriot takes us live to a quiet pub at Edfringe 2021. The Greyfriars Bobby Pub quiet? In August ??? John Feffer, in the U.S, talks about Clowntime and life as a theatre performer and a foreign policy advisor. Joanne Harstone lifts the lid on online theatre platform, Black Box Live. To round things off. FringeReview's Paul Levy considers how distraction can impact on how to watch online theatre.
57:40
August 12, 2021
The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 7
FringeReview's Jo Tomalin, from San Francisco, chats to Julián González & Janet Moran about Looking for America, "a story of two journeys". Jo also interviewsElliot Montgomery, Artistic Director of Tie It Up Theatre about true story "I Love You, Mum – I Promise I Won't Die ". FringeReview's editor Paul Levy, reflects on the UN report on Climate CHange and considers its implications for the growth models inherent in most fringe festivals. Is it time to put on the breaks and radically re-imagine fringe?
38:12
August 9, 2021
The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 6
The Edinburgh Fringe 2021 is back in the physical world but continuing and enhancing it's online presence as well. We will be there both bodily and virtually and we begin our coverage with a chat with storyteller David Spillman who brings the Anterbury Tales to the Counting House. Writer Tim Fraser and actor Mike Waller from Reboot Theatre Company talk about acclaimed play Candy and both its face to face and its online versions which you can see on Zoo TV.
52:00
August 6, 2021
The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 5
In this special edition we talk to theatre maker and actor Rebecca Vaughan and guest reviewer Andrew Margerison about Theatre Tours International's timely revival of theatre cult classic Scaramouche Jones. Brian Mitchell then pays tribute to the late and rather great comedy writer and actor David Mounfield.
43:47
July 19, 2021
The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 4
Talking to JD Henshaw about Sweet Venues and Sweet Productions with its solo show production that makes way for actor Heather-Rose Andrews to step into the roles of Jekyll and Hyde. Roger Kay lifts the lid on a determined story of piloting Rialto Theatre through Covid 19, that allows award-winning The Sensemaker to come to Brighton Fringe. Elsa Couvreur shares her artistic approach to the show's creation and performance. And the unique AI-infused cult show I am Echoborg outlined by performer Marie-Helene Boyd completes this diverse and packed Episode, but not before we've chatted to Penny Cole about The Road Ahead, a recorded show full of New Mexico folk music.
01:11:35
June 12, 2021
The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 3
In this episode, we chat to Emma Dears about the biography musical Judy and Liza which follows the lives in music of Judy Garland and her daughter Liza Minelli, and to Gary Jones about Something about Simon: The Paul Simon Story. Anton Binder and film animator Sally Andersen talk about magic-themed show, the Secrets of Jack Roulette. Podcast host Paul Levy visits the Warren, a venue hub at Brighton Fringe and reflects on venues that share risk with theatre makers
53:58
June 6, 2021
The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 2
These are the voices of the Fringe, the artists themselves in conversation with Paul Levy at Brighton Fringe 2021. Mark Stratford, Steve Goodie, Arathi Suresh, Dave Cawner, Richard Filby and Charmian Hughes do not disappoint.
01:02:60
May 31, 2021
The Fringe in Review Season 2 Episode 1
In this first episode of a new season we we are out and about at Brighton Fringe 2021. We're at the Fringe launch, the Brighton Spiegeltent, reflecting on this careful emergence from a year and a bit from hell. We talk to Adrian Bristow, Matt Rudkin and magician The Great Baldini.
25:50
May 29, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 12
Looking back with Ross Drury to Living Record Festival is a full bodied and bloodied reflection on the evolution of digital arts. Brighton Fringe's Julian Caddy remembers the shock and unwelcome birth of lockdown. And now the Fringe returns in June 2021, different, yet still grounded in both its heritage and a nervy, exciting future.
56:28
April 7, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 11
In this Episode we dare to imagine the emergence from lockdown and see evidence of it at the Adelaide Fringe 2021. Producer and reviewer Amie Kendall gives us a flavour of a socially distanced Fringe in full swing in the physical world. Award-wining writer, producer, director and performer Joanne Hartstone (also Artistic Director of Hartstone-Kitney Productions) brings a raft of shows to her Black Box Theatre, reflects on Fringe in lockdown, the Edinburgh Fringe and the making of The Reichstag is Burning.
53:46
March 13, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 10
In this bumper edition Paul Levy is joined by Ross Drury for a past midway reflection on the Living Record Festival. Eden Harbud talks about his audio piece at the festival called Breaking Up With Reality, and arts maker Paula Varjack introduces us to the new Digital Performance Network. The underlying theme for this episode is is a question: What's next for theatre and the performing arts, in the digital and physical world?
01:25:12
February 13, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 9
Two contrasting interviews make up this episode. We dive deep into the craft of writing in a fascinating conversation with Simon Jenner, reviewer, playwright, writing commissioner and poet. And we hear from T D Van der Beek who talks about a piece of film brimming with a spirit of experimentation, Ram of God, which plays Living Record Festival.
01:08:52
February 1, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 8
This is a bumper episode covering two flagship digital theatre and performance arts festivals - Living Record Festival and theSpaceUK Season 2. With conversations from theatre makers, comedians, film artists, writers, and multimedia art makers, this episode is a rich and deep dive into art during lockdown.
01:51:01
January 24, 2021
The Fringe in Review Podcast Episode 7
We continue our coverage of theSpaceUK which which brings a second season of shows from all genres via its digital platform. Written and spoken word, theatre and music, there is plenty to appreciate and enjoy during lockdown.
58:55
January 19, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 6
In this Episode we continue our coverage of the Living Record Festival, focusing on writers and their contrasting creative journeys. Skye Hallam, Ella Dorman Gaic and Matthew Windham chat to FringeReview's Paul Levy and Living Record's Ross Drury.
55:04
January 12, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 5
We are live at theSpaceUK Online Season 2. Paul Levy continues his reflections on online fringe during lockdown. He chats to theatre and arts makers who form part of this unique virtual event in January and February 2021. It seems that being forced online has been both a challenge but also an opportunity to develop their physical world work, not only in an online context, but also going forward, back into physical world performance when lockdown is over.
47:56
January 10, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 4
We continue our coverage of exciting work at the Living Record Festival as we chat to Dan Horrigan abd Eloise Poulton who both, in contrasting ways, work in both film and theatre.
36:40
January 7, 2021
The Fringe in Review Episode 3: Living Record Festival
We begin our coverage of the Living Record Festival with an interview with festival founder and director Ross Drury. The Festival runs virtually from 17th January to 22nd February 2021. The festival provides a unique platform for digital arts makers.
29:28
December 29, 2020
The Fringe in Review Christmas Episode 2020
In this special episode Paul Levy talks to award-winning director and actor Guy Masterson about his live-streamed and on-demand solo performance of A Christmas Carol.
14:48
December 21, 2020
The Fringe in Review Podcast: Exploring Narcissism
In this  Fringe in Review Podcast we are at the Edinburgh Fringe 2019.  Co-hosted by Writer Paul Levy and theatre maker and standup poet Gavin Robertson, we attempt to explore what narcissism is all about in our modern world, in fringe theatre, performance and the realm of creativity in society. Guests included Brett Johnsonm, Diana Dinerman, Jo Tomalin, Gavin Lind and Lewis Schaffer.
29:28
September 7, 2019