Skip to main content
Inspirational Journeys: Stories that Matter

Inspirational Journeys: Stories that Matter

By Ann Harrison
Welcome to Inspirational Journeys, stories that matter ! Listen as authors, creative artists, and entrepreneurs share the story behind their creative process and their work. Come along as I share writing tips and encouragement, give reviews of books I absolutely love, occasionally read one of my original poems, and share inspirational nuggets from my own writing journey, led by the Holy Spirit. Grab a cup of whatever beverage suits your fancy, sit back, relax and enjoy the show.
email me at annwrites75@gmail.com with any questions or suggestions.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Castbox Logo

Castbox

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Stitcher Logo

Stitcher

Currently playing episode

Book review of the haunting an electric eclectic book by Karen J Mossman

Inspirational Journeys: Stories that Matter

Book review of the haunting an electric eclectic book by Karen J Mossman

Inspirational Journeys: Stories that Matter

1x
First round revisions versus finite editing
In this weeks episode, I talk to you about revising your first draft versus the more finite editing process of cutting unnecessary words, spelling and grammar check, and more. To register for the WWJ writing conference visit: Linktr.ee/wwjs To subscribe to my newsletter and receive a free short story, and for a chance to win an audiobook code for The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at Heart, please visit: http://www.freelists.org/list/inspiredbyann  My poetry book entitled The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at heart can be purchased in a variety of eBook formats wherever books are sold. Click the link below to purchase your copy today. https://books2read.com/TheSpiritOfCreativity   Now available on Audible at: https://www.audible.com/pd/B08N5GM948?qid=1605076574&sr=1-22&ref=a_search_c3_lProduct_2_2&pf_rd_p=83218cca-c308-412f-bfcf-90198b687a2f&pf_rd_r=VRNQE1XMPR4PM4WDD59V Hey authors, are you looking for an editing tool to help you polish  your book manuscripts, essays, short stories and more? Look no further than ProWritingAid. ProWritingAid is an editing tool that checks your grammar, style, dialogue, sticky sentences and much more. Visit the link below to save 20% on your ProWritingAid subscription. https://prowritingaid.com?afid=8740 Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/support Leave me feedback: Email: annwrites75@gmail.com Contact me via my website: https://annwritesinspiration.com/contact Leave voice messages from anywhere: https://anchor.FM/inspirational-journeys/message Follow me on social media: https://www.facebook.com/annwritesinspiration https://twitter.com/annwrites75 https://www.pinterest.com/annwritesinspiration https://www.youtube.com/user/annsmusic1
07:13
June 15, 2021
Book review of tidal wave by Trish Hubschman
Today’s episode is a book review of a book that I most recently read called tidal wave was written by Trish Hubschman. To register for the WWJ writing conference visit: Linktr.ee/wwjs To subscribe to my newsletter and receive a free short story, and for a chance to win an audiobook code for The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at Heart, please visit: http://www.freelists.org/list/inspiredbyann  My poetry book entitled The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at heart can be purchased in a variety of eBook formats wherever books are sold. Click the link below to purchase your copy today. https://books2read.com/TheSpiritOfCreativity   Now available on Audible at: https://www.audible.com/pd/B08N5GM948?qid=1605076574&sr=1-22&ref=a_search_c3_lProduct_2_2&pf_rd_p=83218cca-c308-412f-bfcf-90198b687a2f&pf_rd_r=VRNQE1XMPR4PM4WDD59V Hey authors, are you looking for an editing tool to help you polish  your book manuscripts, essays, short stories and more? Look no further than ProWritingAid. ProWritingAid is an editing tool that checks your grammar, style, dialogue, sticky sentences and much more. Visit the link below to save 20% on your ProWritingAid subscription. https://prowritingaid.com?afid=8740 Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/support Leave me feedback: Email: annwrites75@gmail.com Contact me via my website: https://annwritesinspiration.com/contact Leave voice messages from anywhere: https://anchor.FM/inspirational-journeys/message Follow me on social media: https://www.facebook.com/annwritesinspiration https://twitter.com/annwrites75 https://www.pinterest.com/annwritesinspiration https://www.youtube.com/user/annsmusic1
08:55
June 1, 2021
My reflections on the writing warriors for Jesus first annual youth summit
In today’s episode, I’ll give you my reflections on the writing warriors for Jesus first annual youth summit. To subscribe to my newsletter and receive a free short story, and for a chance to win an audiobook code for The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at Heart, please visit: http://www.freelists.org/list/inspiredbyann  My poetry book entitled The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at heart can be purchased in a variety of eBook formats wherever books are sold. Click the link below to purchase your copy today. https://books2read.com/TheSpiritOfCreativity   Now available on Audible at: https://www.audible.com/pd/B08N5GM948?qid=1605076574&sr=1-22&ref=a_search_c3_lProduct_2_2&pf_rd_p=83218cca-c308-412f-bfcf-90198b687a2f&pf_rd_r=VRNQE1XMPR4PM4WDD59V Hey authors, are you looking for an editing tool to help you polish  your book manuscripts, essays, short stories and more? Look no further than ProWritingAid. ProWritingAid is an editing tool that checks your grammar, style, dialogue, sticky sentences and much more. Visit the link below to save 20% on your ProWritingAid subscription. https://prowritingaid.com?afid=8740 Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/support Leave me feedback: Email: annwrites75@gmail.com Contact me via my website: https://annwritesinspiration.com/contact Leave voice messages from anywhere: https://anchor.FM/inspirational-journeys/message Follow me on social media: https://www.facebook.com/annwritesinspiration https://twitter.com/annwrites75 https://www.pinterest.com/annwritesinspiration https://www.youtube.com/user/annsmusic1 In today’s episode, I talk about my reflections on the writing warriors for Jesus youth summit and give you a couple of writing prompts for the week.
08:58
May 25, 2021
Paul Attaway talks about his debut novel, Blood in the Low Country
Paul Attaway was born and raised in the Atlanta, Georgia area. Paul and his wife, Lyn, met in college at Georgetown University and were married after Paul graduated from the University of Georgia School of Law. They moved to Phoenix, Arizona in 1988 where Paul embarked on a short legal career before starting a thirty-year business career before retiring so he could write fiction. Paul and Lyn raised three children together in Phoenix and now split their time between Phoenix, Arizona, Charleston, South Carolina, and most recently, McCall, Idaho. Blood in the Low Country is Paul Attaway's debut novel. Writing this book, along with the move to Charleston, is a coming home of sorts, a return to the South. Paul is busy writing his second book, immersing himself in Charleston and defining what it means to be a writer. Connect with Paul at the following links: Website: paulattaway.com LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/paulattaway Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorPaulAttaway Twitter: https://twitter.com/paulattaway11 Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.com/Paul-Attaway/e/B08H5X3VQW?ref_=dbs_p_pbk_r00_abau_000000 To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
31:02
May 18, 2021
Jeff Leisawitz Interview
Jeff Leisawitz burns with a mission — to inspire songwriters, authors and screenwriters to amp up their creativity and shine in the world. Jeff has devoted his life to creativity— as an award winning musician/ producer, college songwriting prof, critically acclaimed author, distributed filmmaker and internationally in-demand coach for creatives. "At its best, creativity is a way for us to be seen, expressed and connected." With this philosophy as a guiding principle, he has helped empower countless people to tap deeply into their creative hearts to live richer, more fulfilling lives. By combining decades of street cred with personalized exercises, guided meditations and NLP (Neuro-Linguistic Re-Patterning) techniques, Jeff's clients have overcome creative blocks including: fear of failure, the inner critic, imposter syndrome, etc. Not F*ing Around —the No Bullsh*t Guide for Getting Your Creative Dreams Off the Ground is Jeff's first critically acclaimed book. Connect with Jeff at the following links: Website: https://jeffleisawitz.com LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jeffleisawitz/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/nfajeff Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJeffLeisawitz To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
21:38
May 11, 2021
Special Guest Interview with Christian Romantic Suspense author Katie Vorreiter
In today’s episode, my special guest and I talk about her writing process and she shares the story behind her novel which takes place in San Quentin prison. Katie Vorreiter makes her home in the diverse and beautiful San Francisco Bay Area. She works in high tech as a proofreader as well as a freelance fiction copy editor for a small press. While she admits to being a grammarian, she considers herself a fun one. After studying and later interning in Madrid, Spain, Katie continues to use and improve her Spanish as much possible—especially when a travel opportunity arises. Aside from that, she DIYs at home with her husband in their almost empty nest, travels to Colorado where their two young-adult children study, and snuggles with her pup who promises not to grow up and go away to college. Please check out Katie’s webpage at katievorreiter.com and sign up for her newsletter for giveaways, sneak peaks, and insider info. Check out her debut novel, No Turning Back, “a propulsive action tale.” No Turning back can be purchased at: https://www.amazon.com/dp/0998525308/ Connect with Katie at the following links: katievorreiter.com https://www.facebook.com/VorreiterFiction https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16251272.Katie_Vorreiter https://www.amazon.com/Katie-Vorreiter/e/B01N6NYW55/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0 To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
22:01
May 4, 2021
A conversation about writing in different genres and ilustrating The Big Old Bike with Rachael Clarke
In today’s episode, Rachael and I talk about creating illustrations for her books, writing in multiple genres and her latest book, The Big Ole Bike. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the conversation. Rachael Clarke is a former police officer turned stay-at-home mom living in Portage la Prairie, MB, with her sport-aholic husband, two adorably mischievous children, and dog. Besides sipping coffee, Rachael enjoys writing and illustrating children’s literature, plotting fantastical novels, and publishing multi-genre short fiction under her pen name R.A. Clarke. Her short stories have won The Writer’s Games and the Writer’s Weekly international competitions. She was also nominated as a finalist for the 2021 Futurescapes Award. Rachael’s children’s chapter book The Big Ol’ Bike, is available wherever books are sold. Follow her writing adventures at: www.rachaelclarkewrites.com. Details for The Big Ole Bike are as follows: Description: Big things are happening in Little Springs… Everything about Oliver is small, from his footprint to his glasses—and a trio of bullies never let him forget it. When Oliver receives his grandfather’s old bike for his birthday, he rides tall for the first time. But the meanest bully in school doesn’t like that at all. Oliver quickly finds himself challenged to a race. Now, he’ll have to be bigger than he ever imagined in order to prove heroes come in small packages too. The Big Ol' Bike is a contemporary slice of life for ages 7-10. Come hang out with Oliver, Austin, and Sue, as they experience excitement, setbacks, and adventure together. Themes of bullying, family, friendship, confidence, and community are all explored. WARNING: Reading this book may cause an urgent need to ride your bike. Don’t be alarmed. The feeling will pass... But don't let it. ;) Purchase link: AMAZON.COM: https://www.amazon.com/Big-Ol-Bike-Rachael-Clarke/dp/1647190134/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8 BARNES & NOBLE: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-big-ol-bike-rachael-clarke/1138375334?ean=9781647190132 BOOK LOCKER: https://booklocker.com/books/11389.html Connect with Rachael at the following links: https://www.rachaelclarkewrites.com https://www.twitter.com/raclarkewrites https://www.instagram.com/rachaelclarkewrites https://www.facebook.com/rachaelclarkewrites/ To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
26:38
April 27, 2021
A Conversation about Children's Books and an Impromptu Author Reading with Tracy Murdock
In Today’s episode, my special guest and I talk about her writing process, how she illustrates her children’s books and she gives us an author reading of her latest book. Sit back, relax, and join me on my front porch as Tracy and I have a fun and engaging conversation about Jesus and writing. Tracy Murdock is a Christian author inspired by her twins plus two to share God's glory and family love in her children's books, from her #1 Best-Selling, Award-Winning Children’s picture book “Zoe in Double Trouble” to her next delightful picture book coming soon! God blessed her with a Master's Degree in Education and she has fun homeschooling, illustrating, and writing to uplift moms and families. Check out more faith and family fun at yourtwinmom.com! Here are the details for Zoe in Double Trouble: Description: Zoe is the princess pup, until everything changes when she discovers twin babies arrive at her house! Join the fun as she discovers the best gifts of all in being blessed with twin sisters! Purchase link: www.zoeindoubletrouble.com Connect with Tracy at the following links: Website: https://yourtwinmom.com/ Instagram:  @yourtwinmom on IG Facebook: Your Twin Mom Author Page at https://www.facebook.com/yourtwinmom Mom Prayer Group at  your twin mom group on FB Twitter: your twin mom on Twittergroup Pinterest: Your Twin Mom on Pinterest To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
33:05
April 20, 2021
Someone wanted, but, and, so, or: Developing your story arch
In today’s episode I give you a few author updates and explain the following formula for developing your story arch: Someone, your protagonist Wanted, what does your MC want? What is the character’s goal in your story? But, the fear or flaw keeping your character from achieving his or her goal And, in walks the villain to turn your MC’s world upside down in each paradigm shift So, Your MC must conquer the fear or flaw holding her back and confront the villain to achieve her goal Or, lose everything, including her life, depending on your genre. Teresa Guffanti from the Struggling Blessed but not Alone podcast and I were invited to be special guests on the What De Hek podcast, hosted by Danny De Hek. To hear our interview, visit: https://www.dehek.com/general/podcast/what-de-hek-podcast-12-questions-with-teresa-guffanti-ann-harrison-blind-sighted-ladies/ To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
15:21
April 13, 2021
A conversation about Christian Romance, Children's books, Jesus and Writing with Special Guest M. Michelle Derosier
In today’s audio/video episode, My special guest and I talk about books, writing and more. Sit back, relax and eavesdrop on my conversation with M. Michelle Derosier as wee talk about two of our favorite topics,  Jesus and Writing. Michelle loves Jesus and is fueled by black coffee, espresso, and freshly baked goods. Sadly, she’s not skilled at making any of the three. She writes culturally diverse stories from picture books to novels and shares an assortment of Haitian-American tales that are overlooked in the mainstream. Michelle’s featured book is entitled Accepting Elijah’s Heart. The information is as follows: Description: He’s a former bad boy learning to forgive his past mistakes. She’s a grieving widow struggling with motherhood. A life-altering event offers them hope for a better future together. Elijah Cooper grew up in church but without a relationship with God. Something he didn’t think he needed until he did. When Eli offers Reina support in a crisis, a friendship develops that could blossom to more. But with his troubled past, he is not interested in a love match or a ready-made family. After her husband’s untimely death, Reina Blackwell can’t trust the ground she walks on not to crumble beneath her. She’s certainly no longer trusting the God who created it. Not after he shatters her world leaving her alone to mourn and raise her son. With scars too deep to heal on their own, can Eli and Reina find the faith they need to give and receive love? Purchase link: https://books2read.com/acceptingelijahsheart Connect with Michelle at the following links: Website: https://www.writerderosier.com/ Linktree: https://linktr.ee/writerderosier Buy Me a Coffee: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/writerderosier Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/writerderosier Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WriterDerosier/ Bookbub: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18184600.M_Michelle_Derosier Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18184600.M_Michelle_Derosier Twitter: https://twitter.com/writerderosier To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
38:21
April 6, 2021
Camp NaNoWriMo and National Poetry Month Kickoff with a Special Poetic Treat
Today is the kickoff for Camp NaNoWriMo and April is National Poetry Month. In today’s episode, I talk about both events taking place this month and I have a special treat for you, so stay tuned to the end, because I have a poem to share. To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
11:21
April 1, 2021
Love Over Pizza and author updates with returning guest Jen Lowry
Jen Lowry, who has been a guest on inspirational Journeys a number of times, is back to talk about her new Christian romance entitled Love over pizza, and to give us a few author updates. Feel free to eavesdrop on our conversation about  Jesus and writing! The information for Love Over Pizza is as follows: Pepper Pines is back in Jackson, North Carolina, and settling in after graduating college. Her classroom is just the way she envisioned it, but her social life isn't. Pepper's best friend, Jessie, convinces her that Cupid's Connection, a popular online dating site, might have her Mr. Right. Luca Giovanni is trying his best to run the pizza shop his parents left him and be his sister, Angel's, keeper. Angel signs Luca up to Cupid's Connection without him knowing because she feels he's ready for love but just doesn't take the time away from his business to date. Both find out what really matters, how to let go and lean in, and discover that pizza is better shared with those you love. Purchase link: https://www.amazon.com/Love-Over-Pizza-Jen-Lowry-ebook/dp/B08TW5L73F/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=love+over+pizza&qid=1615049283&sr=8-1 Connect with Jen at the following links: Website: https://jenlowrywrites.com Twitter: https://twitter.com/jenlowrywrites Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jenlowrywrites/ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jenlowrywrites/​ Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/jenlowrywrites/ YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTsRAMAfWpfL6J6uevztbmw Subscribe to Jen’s podcast: https://anchor.fm/jenlowrywrites To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast with a monthly donation: https://anchorlfm/inspirational-journeys/support or you can give a one-time donation via PayPal at: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US
50:46
March 30, 2021
How to Write a Novel Using the Snowflake Method with Special Guest Randy Ingermanson
Randy Ingermanson wants to teach you how to write excellent fiction. He’s been teaching for more than twenty years, and he’s known around the world as "the Snowflake Guy" in honor of his wildly popular Snowflake Method of writing a novel. Randy is an award-winning novelist and publishes the free monthly Advanced Fiction Writing E-zine. He says that "Fiction Writing = Organization + Craft + Marketing," so he focuses on those three topics in his e-zine. He also blogs when the spirit moves him. He is trying to get the spirit to move him weekly, but the spirit gets touchy about schedules. Randy lives in the Pacific Northwest and works as a manservant to two surly and demanding cats. Visit Randy at AdvancedFictionWriting.com. Today’s featured book is entitled: How to Write a Novel Using the Snowflake Method Description Are you writing a novel, but having trouble getting your first draft written? Take a look at the wildly popular Snowflake Method—ten battle-tested steps that jump-start your creativity and help you quickly map out your story. All around the world, novelists are using the Snowflake Method right now to ignite their imaginations and get their first drafts down. The Snowflake Method is a magical key to unlock your creative wizard. This book is written as a “business parable,” which means it’s a book about a nonfiction topic, but it’s written in story form. The story features a young woman named Goldilocks who desperately wants to write a novel. She goes to a writers conference, and there she takes classes from three bears. Papa Bear teaches outlining, but Goldilocks finds that too rigid. Mama Bear teaches “organic writing,” but Goldilocks finds that too squishy. Baby Bear teaches the Snowflake Method. Will Goldilocks find it to be just right? Yes, this is a very zany story. That’s the point. The zaniness of the story will help lock the principles deep inside your head. Because story does that. You remember stories longer. Especially zany stories. Have fun! Purchase link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LWBZ696/ To learn more about the Snowflake Method, visit: https://www.advancedfictionwriting.com To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/support To make a one-time donation via PayPal, visit: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US:
43:19
March 23, 2021
Special Guest Interview with DeAnna Quietwater Noriega
DeAnna Quietwater Noriega  is half Apache, and a quarter Chippewa. She is the mother of three, two daughters and an adopted blind son.  She was the eldest of five children in a close-knit American Indian family.  As a result of congenital glaucoma, She became totally blind at the age of eight.  DeAnna Noriega and her husband, Curtis, currently live in Columbia, Missouri. DeAnna’s latest book entitled Fifty Years of Walking with Friends is In e-book and print from Amazon, Smashwords, and other online sellers. 271 pages in print. Full details, including cover image, synopsis, author bio, direct buying links, and free text preview: https://www.dldbooks.com/dqnoriega/ To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/support To make a one-time donation, visit: https://paypal.me/annHarrisonBarnes?locale.x=en_US Subscribe to my YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/annsmusic1
48:28
March 16, 2021
Claire O'Sullivan Returns to talk about her debut novel, Romance Under Wraps
Claire O’Sullivan has been on the show before, to talk about her writing process. Here is her bio in her own words: I’m a mom and grandmother. When my husband and I married, he already had 2 kids and 2 grandkids, and I already had my son, so I became an instant grandmother as well with the largest family on the face of the earth. ((What was funny at my wedding, I didn’t wear my glasses, well, because, who wants to, right? So we’re walking down the aisle and I see all of these folks crowding one side. I’d met my husband’s family at a Thanksgiving dinner, and there were at least fifty family members and their spouses, so going down the aisle I thought, wow, I knew his family was big but… Well, I’d lost my mom and dad years back, and so my son was with me, but no one else. And when I finally put my glasses on, my entire church had turned out and filled up the pews. It was pretty phenomenal. And funny.)) So I retired officially in 2018 though I’d closed my office quite a bit earlier, got our youngest son and his wife to move into the house while we remodeled and put in a mother-in-law studio, which is quite cozy for us. And we get to see our kids. Besides writing, reading, and drinking coffee, I love to garden. My husband says I am low maintenance because I am always reading or writing… never grabbing the remote. We live in rural Southern Oregon weathering the changes. I started writing in 8th grade with the encouragement of a teacher, and she suggested I get into journalism and creative writing in high school, which I did. My folks were old fashioned and they were firm: no writing, no archeology, no wildlife biology. So I became a nurse, and got married, had a son, and life sort of happened. I wrote a novel in 1989 but never got serious about sending it off, and that was a thriller. Then I went off to grad school and became a nurse practitioner, opened my own office, and didn’t start writing until 2012, and that’s when I started Romance Under Wraps. Claire’s debut novel is entitled, Romance Under Wraps and can be purchased on her website at: https://www.claireosullivan1.com/ or on Amazon at: https://www.amazon.com/Romance-Under-Wraps-Claire-OSullivan-ebook/dp/B08MB43BSL/ref=sr_1_2?crid=2IMRWCOCRINH6&dchild=1&keywords=romance+under+wraps+claire+o%27sullivan&qid=1613957359&sprefix=romance+under+wraps%2Caps%2C244&sr=8-2 To Watch the book trailer, visit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S3mS-lsXv1s Listen to Claire’s previous interview: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/episodes/Special-Guest-interview-with-Claire-OSullivan-e44urm Connect with Claire at the following links: Website: https://www.claireosullivan1.com/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorclaire1 Twitter: https://twitter.com/ authorclaire1 Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorclaire1   USA.life at https://usa.life/claireosullivan Gab: https://gab.com/authorclaire1 To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/support
22:29
March 9, 2021
Writing Encouragement: How to get out of your Writing Slump
Today’s episode has four podcast segments and four separate videos to go along with them, if you prefer to watch on YouTube. In the first segment, I encourage listeners and viewers to get out in the sunshine, weather permitting, and find inspiration to help them get out of their writing slump. In the second segment, I give listeners and viewers an update on my writing life and continue to encourage them to share their progress with people in their circles. The third segment is called my March lineup. Before I share the lineup of guests I have coming onto the show in the weeks ahead, I give a special shoutout to Teresa Guffanti for being last week’s special guest. If you’d like to watch her interview, visit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yaASkcfLkU8&t=617s And to listen to the podcast episode on the go, visit: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/episodes/Special-Guest-Interview-with-Teresa-Guffanti-equ3t1 After listening to her interview on my show, visit her website: https://teresa-blessings.blog and listen to her Struggling Blessed BUT not Alone Podcast: https://anchor.fm/teresa-guffanti The March lineup is as follows: Claire O’Sullivan on March 9th, Deanna Noriega on March 16, Randy Ingermanson on March 23, and Jen Lowry on March 30. In my Final segment, I challenge you to join the WWJs in planting Story Seeds. To learn more about this challenge, watched this YouTube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RwSYzDnlmI&t=54s To register for the WWJ conferences, visit: https://linktr.ee/wwjs To subscribe to my newsletter and receive a free short story, and for a chance to win an audiobook code for The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at Heart, please visit the following link: http://www.freelists.org/list/inspiredbyann My poetry book entitled The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at heart can be purchased in a variety of eBook formats wherever books are sold. Click the link below to purchase your copy today. https://books2read.com/TheSpiritOfCreativity Hey authors, are you looking for an editing tool to help you polish your book manuscripts, essays, short stories and more? Look no further than ProWritingAid. ProWritingAid is an editing tool that checks your grammar, style, dialogue, sticky sentences and much more. Visit the link below to save 20% on your ProWritingAid subscription. https://prowritingaid.com?afid=8740 Subscribe to my YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/annsmusic1
23:38
March 2, 2021
Special Guest Interview with Teresa Guffanti
Teresa Guffanti is a child of the Most High God. Teresa was born and raised in South Florida; however, she now resides in Dallas Texas, where she currently is the Host and Author of Struggling Blessed but Not Alone Podcast and blog. Theresa’s life has been a struggle in every way and in every decade. No matter the struggles of life. Teresa has a Can-Do Attitude living on the bible verse that states You can do all things with Christ who strengthens you. Philippians 4:13. At the age of 11 she was diagnosed with a child’s form of Macular degeneration called Stargardt’s. People in her life may not have believed in her but that did not stop her. For she knew God created her for a greater purpose. Therefore, she had determined at a young age She would do great things and make a difference in this world. Teresa may be almost totally blind, but her vision loss does not define her. It has taught her how to reinvent herself as her life changes. At the age of 14, while attending school, she embarked upon a career path, filling her life with a variety of jobs, from a general worker to having various leadership roles such as Team leader, supervisor, office manager-Store Manager, customer service rep and manager, business owner and partner. She has also found time to engage her life with many community services, holding leadership roles such as president, director, general adviser and committee adviser in these activities. Teresa has always found time to help change the lives of others and support causes she holds dear to her heart. Teresa graduated high school and received her childcare certificate in 1989. She earned her personal training certification in 1998. This path of education was not a straight shot like most people have. Years later, God gave her an Opportunity to go back to school and show the world she is able to do All Things with God on her side. In 2008 she earned her AA degree at Broward Community college with honors, and received her bachelor’s degree in accounting at Florida Atlantic University in 2012.  Throughout her life, she had to find places to help her learn how to navigate her life changing eye disease. She received training in the areas of Cane travel, braille, assistive technology and independent living. Her thirst for knowledge has inspired her to pursue her master’s degree in seminary and motivational speaking, Teresa Has started a Focus Group called Sharing Insights To better help her low vision and blind peers. She is working on writing her life story, showing The WORLD that GOD LIVES IN AND THROUGH HER Romans 8:28. Quote by Teresa “Having faith in the lord is more powerful than wishing on a star!” Connect with Teresa at the following links: Website for her blog www.Teresa-blessings.blog focus Group called Sharing Insights. Email: Sharing_Insights@outlook.com All Things Struggling Blessed but Not Alone! email Teresa-Blessings@outlook.com Podcast: https://anchor.fm/teresa-guffanti Twitter https://twitter.com/teresa_guffanti Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Struggling-blessed-but-not-alone-100679255392680
48:21
February 23, 2021
Special Launch Day Interview with Robin Patchen
Robin Patchen is a USA Today bestselling and award-winning author of Christian romantic suspense. Connect with Robin at the following links: Website: http://robinpatchen.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RobinPatchen/ BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/robin-patchen Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5187882.Robin_Patchen Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Robin-Patchen/e/B00A289790/ To subscribe to my newsletter and receive a free short story, and for a chance to win an audiobook code for The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at Heart Please visit the following link: http://www.freelists.org/list/inspiredbyann My poetry book entitled The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at heart can be purchased in a variety of eBook formats wherever books are sold. Click the link below to purchase your copy today. https://books2read.com/TheSpiritOfCreativity Now available on Audible at: https://www.audible.com/pd/B08N5GM948?qid=1605076574&sr=1-22&ref=a_search_c3_lProduct_2_2&pf_rd_p=83218cca-c308-412f-bfcf-90198b687a2f&pf_rd_r=VRNQE1XMPR4PM4WDD59V Hey authors, are you looking for an editing tool to help you polish your book manuscripts, essays, short stories and more? Look no further than ProWritingAid. ProWritingAid is an editing tool that checks your grammar, style, dialogue, sticky sentences and much more. Visit the link below to save 20% on your ProWritingAid subscription. https://prowritingaid.com?afid=8740 Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/support Leave feedback and connect with me at the following links: Email: annwrites75@gmail.com Website: https://annwritesinspiration.com Voice messages from anywhere: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/message Social media: https://www.facebook.com/annwritesinspiration https://twitter.com/annwrites75 https://www.pinterest.com/annwritesinspiration https://www.instagram.com/annwritesinspiration Subscribe to my YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/annsmusic1
26:22
February 16, 2021
How to get unstuck in your Writing Part 2: Removing the Brick Walls in your Story
In today’s episode, I give you a recap of last weeks episode and give you tips for removing brick walls in your story. Thanks to Teresa Guffanti for telling us about her new podcast called Struggling blessed but not alone. To listen to her podcast and subscribe on your favorite podcast player, visit: https://anchor.fm/teresa-guffanti Be sure to visit her blog at: https://teresa-blessings.blog Thanks also goes to Jen Lowry for telling us about the Writing Warriors for Jesus WWJ writing conference. Follow us @JesusWriting on Facebook and Twitter for more details. Visit the blog at the following link: https://www.writingwarriorsforjesus.wordpress.com To subscribe to my newsletter and receive a free short story, and for a chance to win an audiobook code for The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at Heart, please fill out my google form at: https://forms.gle/x8gtvDgqH56Zc3bt9 My poetry book entitled The Spirit of Creativity: Inspirational Poems for the Creative at heart can be purchased in a variety of eBook formats wherever books are sold. Click the link below to purchase your copy today. https://books2read.com/TheSpiritOfCreativity Now available on Audible at: https://www.audible.com/pd/B08N5GM948?qid=1605076574&sr=1-22&ref=a_search_c3_lProduct_2_2&pf_rd_p=83218cca-c308-412f-bfcf-90198b687a2f&pf_rd_r=VRNQE1XMPR4PM4WDD59V Hey authors, are you looking for an editing tool to help you polish your book manuscripts, essays, short stories and more? Look no further than ProWritingAid. ProWritingAid is an editing tool that checks your grammar, style, dialogue, sticky sentences and much more. Visit the link below to save 20% on your ProWritingAid subscription. https://prowritingaid.com?afid=8740 Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/support Leave feedback and connect with me at the following links: Email: annwrites75@gmail.com Website: https://annwritesinspiration.com Voice messages from anywhere: https://anchor.fm/inspirational-journeys/message Social media: https://www.facebook.com/annwritesinspiration https://twitter.com/annwrites75 https://www.pinterest.com/annwritesinspiration https://www.instagram.com/annwritesinspiration Subscribe to my YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/annsmusic1
27:09
February 9, 2021