Instant Relevance Podcast

Instant Relevance Podcast

By Denis Sheeran & Ray Steinmetz
Instant Relevance Podcast is an education podcast featuring the latest news and resources to make learning relevant for all students. Hosted by Denis Sheeran (denissheeran.com) and Raymond Steinmetz (blendedlearningmath.com). Follow us on twitter: @instantrel
Available on 9 platforms
Episode 5 - Teach Better with Tiffany Ott
**Follow us on Twitter - @InstantRel** On the fifth episode of the Instant Relevance Podcast, Denis (@MathDenisNJ) and Raymond (@blended_math) discuss navigating current and former trends in the classroom and how to make relevant learning experiences. The hosts then interview Tiffany Ott (@TechieTeachOtt) Teacher and member of the #TeachBetter Team and expert in The Grid Method. Teach Better Team - Tiffany Ott -- https://teachbetter.com/ Baby Shark Teaching Ideas - Denis Sheeran -- http://denissheeran.com/babyshark/ The Instant Relevance Podcast is a proud member of the Education Podcast Network - www.edupodcastnetwork.com/
40:38
October 6, 2018
Episode 4 - Professional Development with Rich Czyz
**Follow us on Twitter - @InstantRel** On the fourth episode of the Instant Relevance Podcast, Denis (@MathDenisNJ) and Raymond (@blended_math) discuss motivating teachers to take on new initiatives through the Jobs to Be Done Theory from the Christensen Institute. Later in the show, the hosts discuss creating a #MakeItReal moment by asking students to "Show Me Three." The hosts then interview Rich Czyz (@RACzyz) Principal and Author of The Four O'Clock Faculty about creating fun an engaging professional development opportunities for his staff. Rich Czyz - Four O'Clock Faculty -- fouroclockfaculty.com/ Christensen Institute - Jobs to Be Done Theory -- www.christenseninstitute.org/publications/teachers-jobs-to-be-done/ Chopped PD -- fouroclockfaculty.com/2018/08/chopped-pd/ The Instant Relevance Podcast is a proud member of the Education Podcast Network - www.edupodcastnetwork.com/
44:38
September 22, 2018
Episode 3 - LeBron James with Kareem Farah
**Follow us on Twitter - @InstantRel** On the third episode of the Instant Relevance Podcast, Denis (@MathDenisNJ) and Raymond (@blended_math) discuss how LeBron James opening a school can be used as a #MakeItReal moment. Later in the podcast, the hosts interview Kareem Farah (@Kareemfarah23) Math Teacher and Director of The Modern Classrooms Project about expanding the self-paced learning model he created in his own classroom through revolutionary Professional Development practices. Kareem Farah - The Modern Classrooms Project -- modernclassrooms.org/ LeBron James Opens a School -- www.cnn.com/2018/08/04/us/lebron-james-opens-school-trnd/index.html 5 Reasons LeBron James's School Really Is Unique - The Atlantic -- www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2018/08/lebron-james-school-unique/568243/ Lego Coding Express -- education.lego.com/en-us/products/coding-express/45025 The Instant Relevance Podcast is a proud member of the Education Podcast Network - www.edupodcastnetwork.com/
43:07
September 8, 2018
Episode 2 - Back to School with Quinn Rollins
**Follow us on Twitter - @InstantRel** On the second episode of the Instant Relevance Podcast, Denis (@MathDenisNJ) and Raymond (@blended_math) discuss how to start the year with a growth mindset for ourselves and our students. Later in the podcast, the hosts interview Quinn Rollins (@jedikermit) teacher and author of Play Like a Pirate about using game and play based activities to engage all students. **Resources Mentioned** Quinn Rollins' Website -- http://www.quinnrollins.com/ Jo Boaler and YouCubed.org -- https://www.youcubed.org/ Week of Inspirational Math -- https://www.youcubed.org/week-inspirational-math/ Boosting Math Video -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZoYDHUGIwuE Growth Mindset Coach and Playbook -- https://amzn.to/2xqR3d5 GoFormative -- https://goformative.com/ The Instant Relevance Podcast is a proud member of the Education Podcast Network - http://www.edupodcastnetwork.com/
40:34
August 27, 2018
Episode 1 - Welcome to the Instant Relevance Podcast
Follow us on Twitter - @instantrel. In this first episode, Denis (@MathDenisNJ) and Ray (@blended_math) talk about the ways that teaching has changed in the past few years and how teaching in a more relevant manner can reach more students. Denis shares a relevant teaching moment from the wildfires in California and the hosts discuss different ways to incorporate this topic into the classroom. Finally, both hosts share a resource for instant relevance in your own classroom. Todd Rose Keynote Speech: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxZC5e-CP8k Educators for Excellence Teacher Survey: https://e4e.org/blog-news/press-release/educators-excellence-releases-nationwide-survey-teachers-education-issues-4 California Wildfires: https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2018/08/08/california-fires-mendocino-complex-fire/943899002/ Performance Assessment Resource Bank: https://www.performanceassessmentresourcebank.org/ #MakeItReal Chat Archive: http://denissheeran.com/makeitreal/
34:30
August 9, 2018
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!