Skip to main content
Japanimation Station - An Anime Podcast

Japanimation Station - An Anime Podcast

By Jonathan Lack & Sean Chapman
Japanimation Station is an anime podcast where hosts Jonathan Lack and Sean Chapman, creators of Weekly Suit Gundam, create deep dive conversations not just on individual shows, but on complete bodies of work, approaching these shows not just as fans, but with a fresh pair of critical eyes. We get deep into the stories, characters, and aesthetics, but also place the series and their creators into the proper contexts of history, backstory, and behind the scenes details that make these works so special. And, hopefully, we’ll have some fun along the way. Welcome to Japanimation Station.
Where to listen
Amazon Music Logo

Amazon Music

Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Stitcher Logo

Stitcher

Currently playing episode

Weekly Suit Gundam #15 – The End of Evangelion Review & Discussion

Japanimation Station - An Anime Podcast

1x
Japanimation Station #08 – FULLMETAL ALCHEMIST: BROTHERHOOD – Part 1 (Episodes 01-32) Review & Discussion
Our Fullmetal Alchemist series enters its ultimate phase as we review Brotherhood, the 2009 anime that starts fresh to adapt Hiromu Arakawa’s original manga in full. With a new crew, a new animation style, many new cast members, and a largely new story, Brotherhood is extremely different than the 2003 anime – and in many ways, it’s also a different beast than the manga, especially in this first half. While the show has come to be canonized as one of the very best anime ever made by Western fans, initial reception was more mixed, and this first half certainly shows some growing pains, with some poor structural and adaptational decisions and inconsistent animations. But it also has one of the best voice casts ever assembled, with A-list Seiyuu from top to bottom, and while it fumbles in some moments, it soars quite high indeed in others, and even in this first half delivers several iconic episodes that have already proven to stand the test of time. It’s a lot to talk about, and with a whole half of the series left to go, we’re only just scratching the surface. Enjoy, and come back next time for Part 2 of our Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood review, where we’ll finish the 2009 anime with episodes 33 – 64! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  JapanimationStation.Com WeeklySuitGundam.Com WeeklyStuffPodcast.Com
02:55:36
September 13, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #59 – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Witch From Mercury Prologue Review & Discussion
The Witch From Mercury, the first mainline Gundam show since Iron-Blooded Orphans ended in 2017 is premiering this October, but Sunrise has given us all quite the treat with a full episode-length Prologue special, now available worldwide on YouTube. Sean & Jonathan dust off the Weekly Suit Gundam mobile to discuss this outstanding first look at the new series, which introduces some fascinating and unique world-building combining certain elements from prior Gundamclassics and introducing many new ones, while simultaneously telling a tragic character-driven story culminating in an instant-classic Gundam death. With gorgeous animation and impressive voice acting, this Prologue has us more excited for The Witch From Mercury than ever – it looks like Gundam is in very good hands, and we look forward to reviewing the full show when the time comes! Enjoy! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
39:41
September 06, 2022
Japanimation Station #07 – Dragon Ball Super: Super Hero Movie Review
Nearly 4 years after Broly, Dragon Ball Super: Super Hero – the 21st Dragon Ball film overall, and 4th of the modern era – opened this weekend in North American theaters, playing in both English and Japanese for the first time in franchise history, and with the widest opening for an anime film ever in the United States, playing on nearly 4,000 screens! It’s also the first Dragon Ball film to be produced completely in 3D CGI, with a new team led by director Tetsuro Kodama bringing Akira Toriyama’s script to life in a very different style than we’ve seen before. And the movie turned out to be well worth the wait and the hype, telling a compelling character-driven story centered on Piccolo, Gohan, and Pan, with several wonderful new characters, a lot of incredible action, plenty of big laughs, and even a few surprisingly touching pay-offs at the end! It’s a great Dragon Ball movie, and a big step forward for CGI anime, and it makes for an incredible fun discussion between Sean and Jonathan. Enjoy, and come back next time for Part 1 of our Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood review, where we’ll be covering Episodes 1-32 of the 2009 anime! Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  JapanimationStation.Com WeeklySuitGundam.Com WeeklyStuffPodcast.Com
02:24:28
August 23, 2022
Japanimation Station #06 – Dragon Ball Super: Broly Movie Review
Ahead of the release of Dragon Ball Super: Super Hero in North American theaters this Friday, we’re bringing you three special bonus episodes all about Dragon Ball, originally recorded in 2019 for The Weekly Stuff Podcast. In today’s episode, we review the spectacular 2018 film Dragon Ball Super: Broly, which saw Akira Toriyama taking all the most popular ‘non-canonical’ pieces from various Dragon Ball movies and TV specials – Broly, Bardock, and Gogeta – and reinvent each into a shockingly compelling new package. Brilliantly directed by Tatsuya Nagamine and with a gorgeous new animation style from Naohiro Shintani, Broly is an aesthetic tour-de-force, with the best production values the franchise has ever seen – all of which gave Sean and Jonathan a lot to gush about on this episode. And we’re glad to resurrect this review of the last Dragon Ball Super movie just as the new one opens today in theaters across North America! Enjoy, and come back Monday for our next all-new episode where we’ll be reviewing the latest Dragon Ball film, Dragon Ball Super: Super Hero! Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  JapanimationStation.Com WeeklySuitGundam.Com WeeklyStuffPodcast.Com
02:21:09
August 19, 2022
Japanimation Station #05 – Dragon Ball Z Broly Trilogy Retrospective (Movies 8, 10, 11)
Ahead of the release of Dragon Ball Super: Super Hero in North American theaters this Friday, we’re bringing you three special bonus episodes all about Dragon Ball, originally recorded in 2019 for The Weekly Stuff Podcast. In today’s episode, we look back on the three Dragon Ball Z movies from the 90s that introduced the iconic – if not always entertaining – character Broly, the legendary Super Saiyan. Before he was successfully reinvented by Akira Toriyama himself for the 2018 Dragon Ball Super film, Broly was a monosyllabic buff dude who mostly shouted “KAKAROTTO!!” and punched things before being beaten in an 11th-hour deus ex machina, and his films – DBZ Movies 8, 10, and 11 – are mostly duds, albeit ones that are very entertaining to talk about. It’s a conversation we very much enjoyed having back in the day, before we knew how much we’d love Broly coming out of the Dragon Ball Super film, and we’re happy to share it with Japanimation Station listeners today. Enjoy, and come back tomorrow for our final Dragon Ball bonus as we review the Dragon Ball Super: Broly film and see how Broly got his groove back! Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  JapanimationStation.Com WeeklySuitGundam.Com WeeklyStuffPodcast.Com
02:20:36
August 18, 2022
Japanimation Station #04 – Dragon Ball Super TV Series Review
Ahead of the release of Dragon Ball Super: Super Hero in North American theaters this Friday, we’re bringing you three special bonus episodes all about Dragon Ball, originally recorded in 2019 for The Weekly Stuff Podcast. In today’s episode, we’re talking all about Dragon Ball Super, the TV series that aired between 2015 and 2018, building off the Battle of Gods and Resurrection ‘F’ films to expand the world of Dragon Ball into whole new Universes! In this podcast, Sean and Jonathan break down all the major Super arcs, from the rough early episodes retelling the prior films, to the big three anime-original arcs: the Universe 6 vs Universe 7 tournament, the Future Trunks arc, and the giant ‘Universe Survival’ arc that pitted all 12 universe’s best fighters against one another in a crazy battle royale. It’s an imperfect series, but one we really enjoyed, especially in its outstanding second half, and it’s such a blast to talk about. Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  JapanimationStation.Com WeeklySuitGundam.Com WeeklyStuffPodcast.Com
02:27:24
August 17, 2022
Japanimation Station #03 – Fullmetal Alchemist the Movie: Conqueror of Shamballa (2005) Review & Discussion
This is the last episode of JAPANIMATION STATION we'll be sharing in the Weekly Suit Gundam feed for now, so be sure to SUBSCRIBE to the new podcast feed on your platform of choice. All links can be found at JapanimationStation.Com or by searching in your favorite podcast app. Thanks for listening! The first Fullmetal Alchemist anime comes to its ultimate conclusion in the 2005 feature film Conqueror of Shamballa, a narratively messy but beautifully made movie that showcases the best and the worst that this ‘alternate’ version of Fullmetal Alchemist has to offer. With Edward Elric lost in ‘our’ world on the other side of the gate, Conqueror of Shamballa is set primarily in 1923 Germany on the eve of the Nazi Party’s ‘Beer Hall Putsch,’ with Ed navigating a society on the brink of collapse into genocidal fascism. It’s a fascinating and often quite effective setting, while the action back in Amestris – where Alphonse Elric, back in his human body, is searching for a way to get back to his brother – feels pretty threadbare. The worlds eventually collide, and we see how Seiji Mizushima and company bring this version of the story to a close, with Sean and Jonathan giving their final thoughts on how the 2003 version of Fullmetal Alchemist stands the test of time nearly 20 years later. Enjoy, and come back throughout the week for a series of Dragon Ball bonus episodes leading up to the American release – and our review of – the new film Dragon Ball Super: Super Hero! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  JapanimationStation.Com WeeklySuitGundam.Com WeeklyStuffPodcast.Com
01:40:51
August 16, 2022
Japanimation Station #02 – FULLMETAL ALCHEMIST (2003) Review & Discussion
We're sharing the first few episodes of JAPANIMATION STATION here in the Weekly Suit Gundam feed, but be sure to subscribe to the new podcast feed on your platform of choice. All links can be found at JapanimationStation.Com or by searching in your favorite podcast app. Thanks for listening!  For our first anime subject, we’re diving into the world of Hiromu Arakawa’s Fullmetal Alchemist, starting with the 2003 anime that partially adapted the then-young manga before branching off into an increasingly divergent anime-original story. While it was a huge and acclaimed hit, in Japan and abroad, at the time of release, the show has a more controversial reputation now, years after Arakawa’s manga was completed and faithfully re-adapted as Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood. Sean and Jonathan are coming at the 2003 series from wildly different directions – Jonathan a lifelong fan who started with this anime as a kid, and Sean only recently having read the manga without ever seeing either anime – so our perspectives inherently diverge. But if there’s one thing we clearly agree on, it’s that this is a fascinating show very much worth talking about. Whether one loves it or hates it, it’s clearly more than an outdated curio, and we think you, like us, will come away from this conversation with a greater appreciation for all versions of Fullmetal Alchemist. Enjoy, and come back next week as our journey through Amestris continues with our review of the Fullmetal Alchemist movie sequel, Conqueror of Shamballa! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  JapanimationStation.Com WeeklySuitGundam.Com WeeklyStuffPodcast.Com
03:19:40
August 09, 2022
Japanimation Station #01 – A New Anime Podcast from the creators of Weekly Suit Gundam!
For the debut episode of Japanimation Station, Sean Chapman and Jonathan Lack introduce themselves and host a spirited discussion about how they got into anime, how their fandoms and interests have evolved over the years, what makes animation special in the first place, and why anime in particular is the thing we find so interesting we had to make a whole podcast about it. You’ll learn about our backgrounds, our philosophies, our anime likes and dislikes, and much more as we introduce you to the foundational ideas of our show! And at the end, we share which 5 anime we would each take to a desert island if such a strange fate were to befall us. Enjoy, and come back next week for our first anime review with Fullmetal Alchemist, the original 2003 anime based on Hiromu Arakawa’s classic manga! Subscribe at JapanimationStation.Com to make sure you don’t miss a single episode! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  JapanimationStation.Com WeeklySuitGundam.Com WeeklyStuffPodcast.Com
02:54:51
August 02, 2022
Japanimation Station THEME SONG REVEAL!
Jonathan Lack and Sean Chapman, hosts of the upcoming anime podcast Japanimation Station, speak with musician Thomas Lack, composer of the original theme song to Japanimation Station! Subscribe on all podcast platforms at http://JapanimationStation.Com Follow Japanimation Station on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JapanimationPod Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JonathanLack Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SeanTheChapman Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/theweeklystuffpodcast Visit our website and subscribe to Japanimation Station on all podcast platforms: http://japanimationstation.com Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on all podcast platforms: http://www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Original Music composed and produced by Thomas Lack
19:43
July 22, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #58 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Cucuruz Doan’s Island Movie Review & Discussion
Both Gundam as a franchise and Weekly Suit Gundam as a podcast come full circle this week by returning to the world of First Gundam, with the brand-new movie set in the timeline of the original show, Mobile Suit Gundam: Cucuruz Doan’s Island! A remake of the infamous 15th episode of Mobile Suit Gundam – an episode with such a troubled production that creator Yoshiyuki Tomino has never allowed it to be distributed outside Japan – original Gundam character designer and animation supervisor Yoshikazu Yasuhiko returns as director to redeem this story of a Zeon deserter protecting war orphans on a deserted island. It’s an absolutely wonderful movie, as beautifully animated as one would expect from the great Yasuhiko, but also incredibly smart and soulful in its themes and storytelling, finding a particularly compelling story for original Gundam protagonist Amuro Ray, played again here – possibly for the last time – by a never-better Tōru Furuya. This is a great movie, and an absolute pleasure to discuss for our final Weekly Suit Gundam before the launch of Japanimation Station. Enjoy, and we’ll see you on the other side with the premiere of Japanimation Station on August 1st. Be sure to subscribe at http://japanimationstation.com Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:11:16
July 19, 2022
Japanimation Station Trailer - Launching August 1st
Hosts Jonathan Lack and Sean Chapman introduce you to the world of JAPANIMATION STATION, a new anime podcast from the creators of Weekly Suit Gundam and The Weekly Stuff Podcast.    Subscribe on all podcast platforms at JapanimationStation.Com Follow us on Twitter @JapanimationStation Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:29
July 15, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #57 – Reviewing the Original SD Gundam Shorts!
When our other, ‘mothership’ podcast, The Weekly Stuff, turned 10 years old last month, we celebrated with a whopping 10-hour podcast celebration, each hour devoted to a different topic we’ve covered over the years. One of those, of course, was Gundam, and we wanted to share that segment with Weekly Suit Gundam listeners as a standalone episode, because it’s a very fun conversation about a corner of the Gundam world we’ve never discussed before: SD Gundam! That’s right – on today’s show, we’re talking all about the super-deformed world of chibi Gundam comedy by looking at the original theatrical shorts from the late 80s and early 90s, including SD Gundam Mk. 1, Mk. 2, Mk. 4, and SD Gundam Counterattack! Do they hold up 30 years later? Are they funny? Are they weirdly offensive? Are they kind of boring and annoying? It depends! We talk all about it before finishing up the episode with a look at the insanely surreal FMV cutscenes from Gundam 0079: The War for Earth, an obscure but also kind of iconic ‘video game’ from 1996. Enjoy, and come back next week for our review of the new Gundam movie, Cucuruz Doan’s Island! Time Chart: Intro: 0:00:00 – 0:02:31 SD Gundam Mk. 1: 0:02:31 – 0:18:41 SD Gundam Mk. 2: 0:18:41 – 0:28:51 SD Gundam Counterattack: 0:28:51 – 0:33:07 SD Gundam Mk. 4: 0:33:07 – 0:45:39 Gundam 0079 – The War for Earth: 0:45:39 – 1:03:11 Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:03:11
July 12, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #56 – 3-Year Anniversary Celebration & Rankings Part 3: Top 10 Mobile Suits, Characters & Everything Else!
In the 3rd and final part of our 3rd Anniversary ranking celebration, we’re ranking…well, almost everything! We start by listing our Top 10 favorite Mobile Suits from the last year’s worth of shows, our Top 10 Mobile Suits overall, our Top 10 favorite characters from across the franchise – and then it’s party time, as we deliver all the rankings requested by YOU, the listeners, including the best Gundam Boys, the best Captains, the best Char clones, the best Haros, the best deaths, and so much more! It’s a veritable cornucopia of Gundam rankings, and a great way to celebrate and close out 3 fantastic years of Weekly Suit Gundam. Enjoy, and listen to the end to hear exciting details about the future of Weekly Suit Gundam and our big plans for covering even more anime in the years to come! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
03:57:11
July 05, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #55 – 3-Year Anniversary Celebration & Rankings Part 2: Top 10 Gundam Soundtracks & Top 40 Gundam Songs!
In Part 2 of our 3rd Anniversary ranking celebration, we’re diving deep into the amazingly rich waters of Gundam music! The songs and soundtracks for Gundam have always been one of our favorite parts of this franchise, and a ubiquitous topic of conversation with every show we cover, and having reviewed all the Gundam, it’s time to rank all the music! First we count down our Top 10 favorite Gundam Soundtracks – the scores, or background music, composed for the various shows and movies – and then it’s time to talk about songs. We rank our Top 10 favorite songs from the shows we reviewed over the last year, and then update our list of all-time favorite Gundam songs with our own individual Top 40 Songs lists! (Which we have made playlists of on YouTube, so you can listen to our lists like we’ve DJ’d our own Gundam radio stations!) Enjoy, and come back soon for Part 3, where we’ll be ranking the best Mobile Suits, characters, and MUCH more, including fun and silly lists suggested by YOU the listeners! Jonathan’s Top 40 Gundam Songs – https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLk08eaY2eGd991aJ6BmqzsYIDEnUba-ZM Sean’s Top 40 Gundam Songs – https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLk08eaY2eGd9UwNYWBVQOMh4pS2HpDFL1 Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
03:09:56
June 21, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #54 – 3-Year Anniversary Celebration & Rankings Part 1: Ranking All the Gundam Series!
It’s been three whole years since we started this podcast, watching just two episodes of the original Mobile Suit Gundam for our first show – and three years later, we’ve watched over 800 episodes of Gundam and reviewed every series in the pantheon. So for this year’s celebration, we’re not just ranking the shows we reviewed in the past year – though we do that as well – but ranking every Gundam show, with Sean and Jonathan sharing their individual lists before debating and coming to a consensus on an official Weekly Suit Gundam ranking of all 33 Gundam shows/OVAs/movies we’ve covered on this show. It’s the moment you’ve been waiting three whole years for. What’s the best Gundam show? What’s the worst? By the end of today’s podcast, you’ll have the definitive answers on these questions and more! Enjoy, and come back soon for Parts 2 and 3 of our 3rd anniversary festivities, where we’ll be ranking the best Gundam songs, soundtracks, Mobile Suits, characters, and MUCH more, including fun and silly lists suggested by YOU the listeners! And be sure to check out the very special 10th anniversary special of our other long-running podcast, The Weekly Stuff, which is premiering Monday, June 13th at 10:00 am and has a special Gundam component! https://youtu.be/21eM2T-63Vs Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:15:46
June 10, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #53 – Mobile Suit Gundam Thunderbolt & Twilight Axis Reviews & Discussions
Today we settle all Gundam business by reviewing two ONA (original net animation) series that are the last mainline Gundam titles we’ve yet left un-reviewed. Mobile Suit Gundam Thunderbolt, based on the manga by Yasuo Ohtagaki, aired from 2015 to 2017 and was collected into 2 films, December Sky and Bandit Flower, and it’s a fascinating, frequently rousing production, if also one that’s messy and incomplete. With detailed over-the-top action scored to incredible jazz music by Naruyoshi Kikuchi and a series of faux-pop oldies representing rival protagonists Io Fleming and Daryl Lorenz, Thunderbolt is a synesthetic marvel – but it’s also barreling through 7 volumes of manga in a scant 2.5 hours, and with no new episodes in 5 years, it’s an entirely unfinished project. Twilight Axis, on the other hand, is finished – but it’s very slight, a series of short ONA episodes collected into a 26-minute movie, loosely adapting a series of light novels into an impressionistic-at-best, confusing-and-vestigial-at-worst short film. Enjoy, and come back on June 10th for our Weekly Suit Gundam 3rd Anniversary celebration, where we’ll be ranking ALL the shows in the Gundam franchise. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:44:15
May 24, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #52 – Gundam Build Divers Re:RISE Review & Discussion
In the most pleasantly surprising qualitative whiplash we’ve ever seen, Gundam Build Divers Re:RISE follows the franchise low-point of Gundam Build Divers with a smart, soulful, exciting, and all-around excellent anime that is nearly as great as the original show is bad. Following a new group of characters – the BUILD DiVERS, distinguished by one lowercase ‘i’ – Re:RISE immediately distinguishes itself with a deeply human and compelling protagonist, Hiroto Kuga, and a fantastic group of supporting characters, all on a wild adventure that combines the video game isekai tropes the first show tried but failed at, a more traditional fantasy isekai journey to another world, and even dashes of other non-Build Gundam shows with heroes, villains, and major life-and-death stakes. Along the way, it tackles issues of grief, trauma, identity, and how we mediate relationships and experiences between the virtual and ‘real’ worlds, all in a handsome package that is equal parts entertaining and moving. Re:RISE is the last full Gundam show made to date, and we couldn’t ask for much more of the series that catches this podcast up to the franchise’s present day. Enjoy, and come back next week for our review of the Mobile Suit Gundam Thunderbolt anime with the movies December Sky and Bandit Flower! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:33:40
May 17, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #51 – Gundam Build Divers Review & Discussion
After the highs of Gundam: The Origin, we’re going very far in the opposite direction to scrape the bottom of the Gundam barrel with 2018’s Gundam Build Divers, in contention with G-Saviour as the worst thing we’ve yet discussed on Weekly Suit Gundam. Capitalizing on the Sword Art Online-inspired Isekai craze of the 2010s, Gundam Build Divers takes the Gunpla action out of the real world and into a very boring virtual reality, without really understanding what makes Isekai shows or the prior Build Fighters series fun in the first place. With amazingly low stakes, wildly inconsistent world building, nary an interesting character in sight, and a final arc that goes from zero to bananas in record time (and not in a good way), Gundam Build Divers is the nadir of animated Gundam. It’s a show you absolutely shouldn’t watch, but it makes for a fun podcast you should listen to even if you haven’t. Enjoy, and come back in two weeks for our review of the follow-up series – which you’ve all promised us is better – Gundam Build Divers Re:Rise. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:06:00
May 03, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #50 – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin – The Manga by Yoshikazu Yasuhiko Review & Discussion
After breaking down all six episodes of the Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin OVA series, we’re back for one more Origin discussion to talk all about the manga by the legendary Yoshikazu Yasuhiko. Serialized over a full decade, Yasuhiko’s manga is a virtuoso ‘comicalization’ of the original Gundam anime, realized in loving detail with some of the most incredible art one will ever lay eyes on. The ‘flashback arc’ from the middle of the manga was adapted for the OVA, but there’s much more material here, and for this episode, we talk about how Yasuhiko’s telling compares to the original TV series, what changes we like or dislike, and why Yasuhiko’s heavily ‘decompressed’ style is so immersive and involving. This manga is one of the best and most singular corners of the entire Gundam universe, and is more than deserving than the episode we devote to it here. Enjoy, and come back in April as we journey forth to the next Gundam TV series, Gundam Build Divers! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:11:24
March 15, 2022
BONUS Episode - Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Season 2 Review & Discussion
With the hotly anticipated Season 2 of Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba having drawn to a close in Japan two weeks ago, we finally caught up with the astonishing run of episodes comprising the series’ “Entertainment District” Arc, which may just be the most impressively produced set of TV animation episodes we’ve ever seen. We spend a good long time gushing over the animation, the direction, the music, the voice acting, the characters, and everything else we can think to discuss about one of the best Shōnen anime ever made. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:30:22
March 01, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #49 – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin VI – Rise of the Red Comet Review & Discussion
Gundam: The Origin comes to a spectacular end with its sixth and final installment, “Rise of the Red Comet,” in which Zeon decimates the Earth Federation at the Battle of Loum, Char Aznable becomes a legend, and General Johann Ibrahim Revil delivers a speech that will change the course of human history. It’s a great episode, one part space naval epic, another part political espionage thriller, with a rousing closing act that brings us right to the doorstep of the original Mobile Suit Gundam with unforgettable aplomb. And along the way, there’s plenty to discuss, debate, and gush over as we bring our journey through this outstanding OVA series to a close. Enjoy, and come back next week for one more Gundam The Origin chat, as we discuss our thoughts on the rest of the Yoshikazu Yasuhiko manga! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:59:54
February 22, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #48 – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin V – Clash at Loum Review & Discussion
With Part V of Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin – Clash at Loum – this outstanding OVA delivers not only its finest episode, but one of the single most memorable and powerful installments in the 40-year history of Gundam. Dramatizing Zeon’s disastrous colony drop operation, Sayla Mass making a stand at Side 5, Ramba Ral and Crowley Hamon bemoaning the loss of a world that’s passed them by, and Char Aznable taking the final, ultimate step towards becoming the legendary Red Comet, this episode is absolutely overflowing with pantheon-level sequences that are among the greatest Gundam has ever given us, all combining to paint a deeply affecting portrait of a world spun entirely out of control. This is as good as it gets. Enjoy, and come back next week for the dramatic conclusion to Mobile Suit Gundam The Origin – Rise of the Red Comet! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:57:45
February 15, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #47 – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin IV – Eve of Destiny Review & Discussion
Eve of Destiny, Part IV of Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin, is a messier installment than others in this series, failing to find as clear or compelling a through-line as prior or upcoming episodes, and taking a weird jump in the middle that feels like a key piece of story is missing. That said, it’s still a highly entertaining part of this terrific series, featuring the first meeting between Char and Lalah, a powerful ending scene with Amuro and Fraw Bow, and an absolutely dynamite centerpiece action sequence on the moon, where mobile suits go into combat for the first time in the history of the Universal Century. There’s more than enough here to discuss and enjoy, even if it’s all something of a stepping stone to some of The Origin’s best material yet to come. Enjoy, and come back next week for Part V of The Origin, Clash at Loum! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:30:40
February 08, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #46 – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin III – Dawn of Rebellion Review & Discussion
A legend is born in Part III of Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin – Dawn of Rebellion, which sees Casval Rem Deikun adopt – er, violently steal – the identity of Char Aznable, and gradually develop the colorful, calculating persona made so iconic in Gundam ’79. It’s one of the most entertaining episodes in the history of Gundam, an archetypal military academy story built on the foundation of Char’s twisted friendship with Garma Zabi, and all leading inexorably towards the horrors of the One-Year War. This is an hour full of moments we’ve been waiting literal years to talk about, and it couldn’t be more satisfying to finally discuss the installment in which Gundam’s greatest character fully steps into his own destined role in history. Enjoy, and come back next week for Part IV of The Origin, Eve of Destiny! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:31:23
February 01, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #45 – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin II – Artesia’s Sorrow Review & Discussion
Our journey through the past of the Universal Century continues with Part II of Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin – Artesia’s Sorrow. Picking up three years after Casval and Artesia fled their homeland of Munzo, the action picks up on Earth in 0071, where a young Edouard and Sayla Mass live peacefully with Don Teabolo Mass and Jimba Ral…for a time. Events conspire to rip peace away from the siblings time and again, and Sayla watches her brother harden into a cold man with the demeanor of a drawn knife. One of the most heart-wrenching installments in the Origin OVA series, Artesia’s Sorrow is a fantastic hour with more than enough to make it worth the full podcast treatment, and we once again find countless things to talk about breaking it down. Enjoy, and come back next week for Part III of The Origin, Dawn of Rebellion! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:40:26
January 25, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #44 – Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin I – Blue-Eyed Casval Review & Discussion
To kick off 2022, we’re starting our journey through Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin, the 6-part theatrical OVA created between 2015 and 2018, based on Yoshikazu Yasuhiko’s manga of the same name. And to give this great series the royal treatment it deserves, we’re covering it one episode at a time! For this week, we’re discussing Part I: Blue-Eyed Casval, where we return to Universal Century 0068 in the Republic of Munzo, where a young Casval Rem Deikun and his sister Artesia see the world thrown into chaos after the death of their father, the revolutionary leader Zeon Zum Deikun. With the scheming Zabi family angling for power, the Deikun children are taken in by Jimba Ral and his son Ramba, and Casval’s journey to become the Red Comet, Char Aznable, begins. It’s a great debut episode for one of the best prequel stories ever told, and a really fun way to kick off another year of Gundam podcasts. Enjoy, and come back next week for Part II of The Origin, Artesia’s Sorrow! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:49:25
January 18, 2022
Weekly Suit Gundam #43 – A Very Weekly Suit Gundam Christmas Special
Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to one and all! At The Weekly Stuff Podcast, we have an ongoing tradition of extremely silly Christmas special episodes – from reviewing the hilariously terrible Pokemon Christmas Bash album in 2018 to performing an entire Western-themed Evangelical Christian rendering of A Christmas Carol in 2019 – and this year, we’re bringing that tradition to Weekly Suit Gundam! To celebrate the season, Jonathan has found several pieces (out of a surprisingly large sea of options) of Christmas-themed Mobile Suit Gundam fanfiction, set in the worlds of Gundam Wing, Gundam SEED, and Mobile Fighter G Gundam, and he surprises Sean on air by inviting him to read them out loud. A festive, flabbergasted, and altogether confusing time is had by all. Enjoy, have a very happy holiday, and come back in the new year as we begin our next voyage through the fantastic OVA Mobile Suit Gundam The Origin, one episode at a time! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:34:01
December 25, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #42 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans Season 2 (Episodes 26 – 50) Review & Discussion
It’s safe to say we were big fans of the first season of Iron-Blooded Orphans here at Weekly Suit Gundam, and as the length of this podcast can attest, we are even more invested in the big thematic, narrative, and emotional swings the show takes in its second and final season. As it traces the fall of Tekkadan, Iron-Blooded Orphans challenges its characters and audience with a story that’s richer, more complicated, and intentionally structured very differently than the first season, with an absolutely knockout set of final episodes that cross many lines Gundam has never ventured past before, and somehow comes out on the other side seeing more hope in the world than the franchise has seen in its darkest hours. It’s an all-time great finish to a truly tremendous show, and even with an extra-long 4-hour podcast, there’s still so much that could be said about this modern masterpiece. Enjoy, and come back in the new year as we begin our next voyage through the fantastic OVA Mobile Suit Gundam The Origin, one episode at a time! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
04:00:23
December 14, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #41 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans Season 1 Review & Discussion
We finally arrive at the most recent mainline Gundam TV series – 2015’s global smash hit Iron-Blooded Orphans, created by the “Super Peace Busters” team of director Tatsuyuki Nagai and writer Mari Okada. Tackling the theme of child soldiers more directly than Gundam ever had before, Iron-Blooded Orphans is one of Gundam’s darkest and most violent hours, but also one of its richest and most rewarding, a unique blend of daily life coming-of-age storytelling with hard-edged military fiction that leaves a huge impact. Season 1, which we’re discussing today, follows the formation of the child-mercenary group Tekkadan – the eponymous Orphans with Iron in their Blood – and their journey to bring Martian independence activist Kudelia Aina Bernstein to Earth. It’s a stupendous season of television with tons to talk about, and a pleasure to finally reach and discuss on Weekly Suit Gundam. Enjoy, and come back in two weeks for our review of Iron-Blooded Orphans Season 2! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:59:23
November 22, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #40 – Reconguista in G Review & Discussion
For the 35th anniversary of Mobile Suit Gundam, franchise creator Yoshiyuki Tomino returned for what is, as of now, his latest installment in the series: Reconguista in G, perhaps the strangest and unquestionably the most formally daring of all Gundam series. Dense, complicated, wildly fast-paced, and persistently challenging, Reconguista is a divisive entry among the global Gundam fandom, but here at Weekly Suit Gundam, we are in awe of it. There is simply nothing quite like Reconguista in G, which sees Tomino turning up all his thematic and stylistic interests to 11, resulting in one of the purest auteur statements in modern mainstream media. With the best action sequences in the history of Gundam, arguably franchise-best TV animation, amazing and vibrant characters, and a structure that practically re-invents the language of anime before your eyes, Reconguista in G is an endlessly rewarding artistic gauntlet, and one of the very finest shows we’ve had the pleasure of discussing in 40 episodes of Weekly Suit Gundam. Enjoy, and come back next time for Season 1 of the global hit Iron-Blooded Orphans! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
03:41:20
October 18, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #39 – Gundam Build Fighters OVA Round-Up! Gunpla Builders Beginning G, GM’s Counterattack, Try Island Wars & Battlogue
After reviewing the original Gundam Build Fighters and its sequel series Gundam Build Fighters Try on our last two episodes, it’s time to round out the original Build Fighters run by rounding-up the many OVAs related to this corner of the franchise. We begin with Model Suit Gunpla Builders Beginning G, the 2010 OVA that first introduced the concept of a Gunpla Battle-based anime, and holds up surprisingly well on its own, with great animation and mecha designs and a whole lot of heart. Then there’s the 5 Battlogue episodes, providing quick bite stories set in the Build Fighters world, and apart from one memorable episode involving Bearguys getting crucified, there’s not much to talk about. Finally, Build Fighters Try gets a 30-minute sequel in Island Wars, and the original Build Fighters gets its own half-hour follow-up in GM’s Counterattack, which is an absolute delight. Discussing all of these and more makes for a very fun capper to our Build Fighters journey. Enjoy, and come back next time for the return of original Gundam creator Yoshiyuki Tomino to the franchise with Reconguista in G! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:19:05
September 27, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #38 – Gundam Build Fighters Try Review & Discussion
After the huge success of the original Gundam Build Fighters, Sunrise turned around and produced a sequel in just six months – Gundam Build Fighters Try, set 7 years after the original with a new cast of Gunpla battlers. It’s a divisive show in the Gundam fandom, and on this podcast! Jonathan loves it, though not without some reservations, and Sean is mostly unmoved by it, despite liking certain things quite a bit. It makes for an interesting and dynamic discussion, as we break down the ways the show doesn’t live up to its predecessor and fails to follow through on its own interesting ideas, while also celebrating what’s genuinely good here. We also give our thoughts on the recent announcement of both the first new mainline Gundam series since Iron-Blooded Orphans, The Witch from Mercury, and a new film by original Gundam character designer Yoshikazu Yasuhiko, Cucuruz Doan’s Island, both of which ensure the Weekly Suit Gundam train won’t be stopping anytime soon. Enjoy, and come back next week when we review all the Gundam Build Fighters OVAs: Model Suit Gunpla Builders Beginning G, Try Island Wars, GM’s Counterattack, and Battlogue! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:22:25
September 20, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #37 – Gundam Build Fighters Review & Discussion
With 2013’s Gundam Build Fighters, Gundam leaves the world of life-and-death warfare and science-fiction (mostly) behind, and instead settles in for a slice-of-life sports anime centered around the Gunpla plastic models that have long been one of the most beloved and popular parts of the franchise’s legacy. And in a wonderful surprise, it winds up being one of the franchise’s finest hours, a practically perfect 25-episode series chock full of great, vibrant characters, big laughs, awesome Gunpla designs, and truly rousing, get-on-your-feet-and-cheer caliber mobile suit duels. Whether you’re a Gundam novice or a grizzled veteran, Gundam Build Fighters has something for everyone. It’s as entertaining an anime as you’re likely to find, and maybe the most crowd-pleasing installment in the franchise’s stories history – and because of that, it’s a real treat to get to talk about here. Enjoy, and come back in two weeks for Gundam Build Fighters Try! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:49:15
August 30, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #36 – Rebuild of Evangelion Film Tetralogy Review & Discussion
Almost two years ago, we took a little detour from Gundam to review Neon Genesis Evangelion upon its Netflix streaming debut, and promised that we’d come back to discuss Eva again if and when the 4-film Rebuild of Evangelion project was ever finished. And with the final film in Hideaki Anno’s lifelong passion project, Evangelion 3.0 + 1.0: Thrice Upon a Time, now streaming worldwide (alongside the first three films) on Amazon Prime, we’re keeping our word and then some, with our longest Weekly Suit Gundam episode to date! We discuss all four films in the Rebuild project, diving deep into how these masterpieces fully realize the magic that was always there in Evangelion, but for us at least was held beneath the surface by frustrating and limiting creative choices in the original series. These are great, beautifully told, stunningly animated productions that give Shinji, Asuka, Rei, Misato, and everyone else the fully realized character arcs they’ve always deserved, and ends in a place that feels like Evangelion has finally found the conclusion it was always searching for. And that’s more than enough to fill a super-sized podcast. Enjoy, and come back in two weeks for GUNDAM BUILD FIGHTERS! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
04:43:54
August 16, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #35 – Mobile Suit Gundam AGE Arcs 3 and 4 (Episodes 29-49) Review & Discussion
It’s the end of an Age on today’s show as we finish reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam AGE, covering the 3rdand 4th arcs and episodes 29 through 49 of this severely underrated gem. This half of the show sees another jump to a new generation, as we join young Kio Asuno on his journey to learn the true nature of the Vegan and their world, reunite with his pirate father, and to bring his grandfather Flit back from the brink of his vengeful vendetta. It all builds to an outstanding conclusion, with a truly terrific set of final episodes that brings the series full circle in powerful fashion, and along the way we have all sorts of fun and interesting things to talk about, making for a great discussion about a Gundam series that deserves a much better reputation than it’s previously enjoyed. Enjoy, and come back in two weeks for a detour back to the world of Neon Genesis Evangelion as we review all 4 Rebuild of Evangelion movies! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:51:20
August 02, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #34 – Mobile Suit Gundam AGE Arcs 1 & 2 (Episodes 1-28) Review & Discussion
Continuing on to the next full-length Gundam series, we reach Mobile Suit Gundam AGE, Sunrise’s 2011 collaboration with video game giant Level-5, whose lead creative Akihiro Hino conceived of and wrote this child-friendly Gundam series that spans 3 protagonists over 3 successive generations in a century-long space conflict. AGE did poorly upon its initial airing in Japan, and has suffered a quiet and often negative reputation in years since. But we don’t think that reputation is deserved – through its first two arcs, at least, AGE is an imperfect but extremely compelling show, with a really cool central narrative conceit, great characters, and some really interesting ideas that take Gundam to places it had never been before. At the very least, it’s a show worth giving a serious shot, and in this first part, covering Arcs 1 & 2 and episodes 1 through 28, we aim to do just that. Enjoy, and come back in two weeks for Part 2 of Mobile Suit Gundam AGE, with episodes 29 – 49! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
03:00:05
July 19, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #33 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Hathaway’s Flash Movie Review & Discussion
Premiering worldwide on Netflix this week after its debut in Japanese theaters last month, Mobile Suit Gundam: Hathaway’s Flash is the first film in a planned trilogy adapting original Gundam creator Yoshiyuki Tomino’s trio of novels from 1989-1990, following the exploits of Hathaway Noa 12 years after the events of Char’s Counterattack. And it’s a terrific start to this new film series, offering some of the best animation, music, set pieces, and writing in the history of the franchise. From Tomino’s characteristically rich writing to the complex and nuanced vocal performances to how this story fits into the larger cycle of Tomino’s original Gundam saga, Hathaway’s Flash offers so many rich avenues for discussion, making for a podcast that’s an hour longer than the film itself, and could have gone on much longer still. Enjoy, and come back in two weeks for Part 1 of our Mobile Suit Gundam AGE review, where we’ll cover Episodes 1 – 28! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:31:11
July 05, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #32 – Two-Year Anniversary Celebration & Rankings
Two years ago today, Weekly Suit Gundam was born, and what a wild ride it’s been! Just as we did on its first anniversary, we’re using the show’s birthday to take stock of everything we’ve reviewed up to now. With a particular focus on the “Year Two” shows – namely G Saviour, 0080: War in the Pocket, 0083: Stardust Memory, The 08thMS Team, Gundam SEED, Gundam SEED Destiny, Gundam 00, and MS IGLOO – we rank the best mobile suits and best songs from the series we reviewed this year, and adjust our master rankings for those topics from last year’s anniversary show. For the main event, we each rank all 21 Gundam shows and movies we’ve reviewed these past two years, and then come together to create our complete, unified, official Weekly Suit Gundam series rankings thus far. With listener feedback, lots of reflections on the show’s second year, and a roadmap for year 3, today’s episode is a really fun trip down memory lane and a great start to the next, climactic phase of the series, as we inch closer to Gundam’s present day. Enjoy, and come back Monday, July 5thfor our review of Mobile Suit Gundam: Hathaway after it’s July 1st debut on Netflix! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
03:05:52
June 24, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #31.5 - Gundam SEED Movie & Hathaway on Netflix News
This week, we have a quick little bonus episode for you, with an excerpt from this week’s Weekly Stuff Podcast, where we talked about two major pieces of Gundam news from the past few weeks: The announcement that Mobile Suit Gundam: Hathaway will be debuting worldwide on Netflix very soon, on July 1st, and the reveal of a brand new Gundam SEED movie coming from the original creative team. We knew both of these items would be of interest to listeners, so we thought we’d throw this excerpt in the podcast feed for those who don’t listen to the mothership show.  And just to clarify the schedule for the immediate future, our next episode of Weekly Suit Gundam will be on Thursday, June 24th, and it’ll be our 2nd Anniversary Spectacular episode, where we’ll be adding all the shows we reviewed this part year to our official ongoing rankings, and list some of our favorite songs and mobile suits and more. It’ll be a lot of fun. And then the next episode after that will be our review of the Hathaway movie, which will come out on Monday, July 5th. And after that, we’re moving on to Gundam AGE. So lots of good stuff to come – and we hope to see you there for all of it. Enjoy! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
17:24
June 14, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #31 – MS Igloo and MS Igloo 2 Review & Discussion
This time, we’re taking a detour into one of the most obscure corners of Gundam animation, with the 6-episode CGI OVA MS IGLOO and its 3-episode sequel series MS IGLOO 2: Gravity Well. Originally produced for the Bandai museum in Japan, the first series suffers from repetitive storytelling, thin plotting, and some of the worst 3D CGI animation the early 2000s had to offer, and on its own, there’s not a ton worth saying about it. But the sequel series, produced in 2008, isn’t just a huge step forward in the quality of the CGI production – it’s also a wonderfully unique, compellingly told set of ground-level war stories that make for essential viewing for anyone interested in the One-Year War period of Universal Century Gundam, and is a lot of fun to talk about. Enjoy, and come back in June for our 2-year anniversary podcast celebration! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Subscribe for free to 'The Weekly Stuff' in Apple Podcasts! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter! Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter!
01:29:27
May 24, 2021
BONUS Episode – Demon Slayer ~Kimetsu no Yaiba~ The Movie: Mugen Train Review & Discussion
Continuing from last week’s special bonus episode, we’ve got another extra podcast for you this week! After reviewing the first season of the anime in last week’s bonus episode, we’re back with another extra installment to review Demon Slayer ~Kimetsu no Yaiba~ The Movie: Mugen Train, the highest-grossing film in the history of Japan, and one that’s already making waves after its debut in North American theaters this weekend. It was both of our first trips back to a movie theater in over a year, since the start of the pandemic, and we couldn’t have picked a better film, because Mugen Train is an outstanding movie, not just as an ongoing part of the Kimetsu no Yaiba story, but on its own merits, and breaking it all down makes for one of the richest movie discussions we’ve ever had. Enjoy, and we’ll be back with regular episodes of Weekly Suit Gundam soon, starting with MS Igloo up next! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:17:45
April 26, 2021
BONUS Episode – Kimetsu no Yaiba Season 1 Review & Discussion
In this special BONUS episode, we’re bringing you an installment of the mothership show, The Weekly Stuff Podcast, where we’re talking all about Kimetsu no Yaiba, aka Demon Slayer, the most popular anime/manga franchise in Japan right now, and increasingly one of the most discussed around the world. With the record-breaking movie, Mugen Train, making its way to North American theaters next week, we go in-depth with the first season of the anime from Ufotable, based on the first 6 volumes of Koyoharu Gotouge’s best-selling manga. It’s a spectacular 26 episodes, one of the most perfect seasons of Shonen anime imaginable, featuring not just terrific storytelling, characters, and acting, but significant technical breakthroughs and breathtaking filmmaking that feel like they’re pushing the entire medium of anime forward. We thought this topic would be of interest to Gundam listeners, especially since we also touch on the news that Gundam is getting a live-action film from Legendary Pictures and Netflix! Jonathan also tells you all about the exciting things happening on The Weekly Stuff Podcast’s brand new YouTube channel, which you should definitely check out! Enjoy, and come back next week for another bonus episode with our review of Mugen Train! TIME CHART: Intro: 0:00:00 – 0:04:15 Weekly Stuff Intro: 0:04:15 – 0:19:56 Stuff: 0:19:56 – 0:35:08 News: 0:35:08 – 0:47:57 Kimetsu no Yaiba: 0:47:57 – 3:49:16 Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  WeeklySuitGundam.Com http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
03:49:17
April 19, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #30 – Gundam 00 the Movie: A Wakening of the Trailblazer Review & Discussion
With both seasons of Mobile Suit Gundam 00 reviewed, it’s time for the third and final piece of the 00 tapestry: Mobile Suit Gundam 00 the Movie: A Wakening of the Trailblazer, the 2010 feature-film follow-up/finale that brings a close to the world of Gundam 00 and introduces the world of Gundam to extraterrestrial life for the first time. It’s a wild, strange, defiantly singular movie, and one of the stranger corners of the Gundam universe – but also one of the most rewarding, especially when you break it down in a long-form conversation as we do here. Operating on the levels of symbolism, metaphor, and myth-making, A Wakening of the Trailblazer isn’t quite like any other piece of Gundam, and it isn’t quite like anything we’ve discussed before; but it’s got a lot of fascinating, rich ideas on its mind, some of the most startling imagery in the entire franchise, and brings the Gundam 00 saga to an unexpected but wholly satisfying close. Gundam 00 has been one of our favorite series to discuss so far, and the film is no exception. Enjoy, and come back next time for the CGI OVA series, MS Igloo! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JonathanLack Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SeanTheChapman Subscribe to Weekly Suit Gundam: https://anchor.fm/weeklysuitgundam Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast: http://www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Visit our website at http://weeklysuitgundam.com
02:20:10
April 12, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #29 – Mobile Suit Gundam 00 Season 2 Review & Discussion
After its stupendous first season, Gundam 00 has a lot to live up to in its back half, and we find it more than rises to the challenge with an incredibly smart, exciting, affecting, and entertaining second season, bringing the TV portion of this Gundam experience to a rousing close. Set 4 years after the first season, in a world that increasingly resembles some of Gundam’s most recognizable archetypes, Gundam 00 Season 2 reconfigures and interrogates some of the franchise’s longest-running ideas for the 21st century, not just applying issues of 21st-century geopolitics to its own fiction, but asking where Gundam belongs, and how it must evolve, as the franchise goes forward. With amazing animation, outstanding mobile suit designs and action, tremendous characters, and one of the best voice casts the franchise has ever assembled – including the very surprising return of one of Gundam’s most iconic voice actors – Gundam 00 truly is one of the franchise’s finest hours, and we had even more fun talking about it the second time. Enjoy, and come back next time for Gundam 00 The Movie: A Wakening of the Trailblazer! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:48:25
March 29, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #28 – Mobile Suit Gundam 00 - Season 1 Review & Discussion
Gundam moves boldly into the era of HD, widescreen, and 21st century geopolitics with Mobile Suit Gundam 00, an absolutely terrific installment that’s wickedly smart, wildly exciting, and features some of the best characters and world-building of the entire franchise. It’s also the first Gundam series to split itself into seasons, so on today’s episode we’re covering Season 1 – Episodes 1-25 – which work pretty splendidly on their own, as the story of the rise and fall of Celestial Being, a stateless military organization aiming to eradicate war through armed intervention. We discuss the story, world, themes, characters, and so much more, including the incredible production values and remarkable batch of theme songs, for a Gundam show that’s definitely worth the deep dive treatment. Enjoy, and come back next time for Season 2 of Gundam 00! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JonathanLack Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SeanTheChapman Subscribe to Weekly Suit Gundam: https://anchor.fm/weeklysuitgundam Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast: http://www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Visit our website at http://weeklystuffpodcast.com
02:13:59
March 15, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #27 - Zeta Gundam: A New Translation Trilogy Review & Discussion
This time, we’re taking a look at a curious oddity in the history of Gundam – Yoshiyuki Tomino’s Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam: A New Translation film trilogy from 2005 and 2006, which saw the Gundam creator returning to the classic sequel series and compiling it into three feature films, just as he had done for the original series in 1981, but now 20 years later, with much shorter run times, and, due to the inevitable passing of time, a much starker difference in new and recycled animation. There’s probably no Gundam series more difficult to condense in to three 90-minute movies than Zeta Gundam, with its enormous cast of characters, heady and challenging themes, and dense, complicated storytelling, but A New Translation is nothing if not a valiant effort, worth examining even if it never quite overcomes the sheer weight of factors working against it. We discuss the pace, the animation, the music, which characters make a strongest impression in this format, and are consistently reminded, at every turn, of just what a masterpiece Zeta Gundam itself truly is. Enjoy, and come back next time as we move into the HD era of Gundam with Mobile Suit Gundam 00 – Season 1! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:21:52
February 22, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #26 – Mobile Suit Gundam SEED Destiny Review & Discussion
The day of reckoning has arrived – at last, it is time to review perhaps the most controversial show in the Gundam pantheon: Mobile Suit Gundam SEED Destiny, the baffling, confounding, infuriating, utterly fascinating sequel to Mobile Suit Gundam SEED. Set two years later with both new and returning characters, Destiny tries to be two different, contradictory shows at once: a challenging sequel questioning the assumptions and characters from the original, a la Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam, and a straight-up sequel to SEED – Gundam SEED: Here We Go Again – and in the shuffle, somehow makes us hate the entire returning cast even while it buries and repeatedly does dirty its interesting new characters. The result is one of the most inept sequel stories ever told – but undeniably one of the most compelling to talk about. Enjoy, and come back next time as Gundam revisits its canonical sequel series with Yoshiyuki Tomino’s Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam: A New Translation film trilogy! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
03:29:36
January 11, 2021
Weekly Suit Gundam #25 – Mobile Suit Gundam SEED Review & Discussion
Weekly Suit Gundam continues into the bold new world of the 21st century with Mobile Suit Gundam SEED, the first Gundam of the 2000s and one of the most broadly popular entries in the history of the franchise. It’s also a hell of a series – even if it took one of us a while to start enjoying it! – and builds to one of the best runs of episodes we’ve had the pleasure of discussing so far. It makes for one of our longest and most in-depth episodes, as we break down the characters, music, digital animation, and so much more, including how the series starts by reconstituting the structure of the original Mobile Suit Gundam before exploding into something new, vibrant, and incredibly compelling, both for the time in which it was made and the world in which we’re watching it now. This has long been one of our most requested episodes, and it was a real pleasure to try doing it justice. Enjoy, and come back next time for our last episode of 2020 with Mobile Suit Gundam SEED Destiny! Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! Subscribe for free to 'The Weekly Stuff' in iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter! Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter!
03:52:22
November 09, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #24 – The 08th MS Team Review & Discussion
This week kicks off with Sean and Jonathan talking about some PS5 news, as the console got a full teardown and backwards compatibility detailed, before discussing Genshin Impact and Hades in greater detail. Then we take a quick trip to Sean’s Beta Corner to talk Call of Duty: Black Ops – Cold War, before diving into our main topic: Another Weekly Suit Gundam discussion, this time about the 1996 OVA Mobile Suit Gundam: The 08th MS Team, one of the most universally beloved and undeniably entertaining series in the Gundam pantheon. We gush over the lush production values and incredible set pieces, discuss the vibrant cast of characters, puzzle over how best to categorize the bewildering 12thepisode (and why this should really be considered an 11-episode series), and also touch on the compilation movie Miller’s Report.  Enjoy, and come back next time as we move forward into the 2000s with Mobile Suit Gundam SEED! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:31:15
October 12, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #23 – Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory Review & Discussion
After an unplanned two-month hiatus, we’re finally back to continue exploring the wide and wonderful world of Gundam, continuing our OVA-a-thon with Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory, the 1991 OVA chronicling the adventures of Ensign Kou Uraki and his encounter with Zeon loyalist Anavel Gato. It’s a series that provides some of the highest highs but also many of the lowest lows in the entire Gundam franchise, with stupendous animation, great music, a few really strong episodes, and outstanding voice acting, but also some really shaky storytelling and character work and a final episode that may the single worst Gundam half-hour we’ve talked about so far. It makes for one of the best critical discussions about Gundam we’ve had on the podcast, and it’s an episode you won’t want to miss! Enjoy, and come back next time for our next OVA review with The 08th MS Team! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:19:21
September 28, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #22 – Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket Review & Discussion
Before continuing on to 21st-century Gundam, we’re doubling back for deep dives with the OVA series we’ve mentioned in passing but never reviewed in depth, starting with Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket. Released in six installments in 1989, War in the Pocket marked the first time creator Yoshiyuki Tomino wasn’t involved in a Gundam production, and is widely regarded as one of the franchise’s finest hours, expanding and deepening the series’ themes and perspective by focusing in on the small-scale story of a boy growing up amidst the backdrop of the One-Year War. It is one of the greatest and most powerful anti-war stories ever told, on similar footing as Isao Takahata’s 1988 Grave of the Fireflies, and began a rich tradition of Gundam taking some of its best artistic leaps on home video. Enjoy, and come back next time for our next OVA review with Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
01:55:34
July 13, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #21 - G-Saviour The Movie Review & Discussion
To close out our anniversary month celebrations, we’ve got a surprise review of a (rightfully) forgotten piece of the Gundam universe: G-Saviour, the live-action Canadian TV movie from 2000 that brought Gundam to live-action for its 20th anniversary, in spectacularly awful fashion. Boasting awful production values, bargain bin acting, a script straight of the Hallmark channel recycling bin, and almost nothing to distinguish itself as part of the larger Gundam franchise, G-Saviour is a morbid curiosity that is, at least, worth some laughs, as we pick apart the mostly nonsensical story, watching and reporting so you don’t have to! Enjoy, and come back next time for the start of our series of OVA reviews with Mobile Suit Gundam 0080: War in the Pocket. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
01:24:39
June 30, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #20 – One-Year Anniversary Celebration and Rankings
With one year of Gundam podcasts under our belt, we thought now would be a good time to take a look back at everything we’ve discussed so far. We’ve reviewed 11 Gundam shows or movies to date – Gundam 79, Zeta, ZZ, Char’s Counterattack, Unicorn, F91, Victory, G Gundam, Gundam Wing, After War, and Turn A – and on today’s anniversary celebration episode, we rank the best Songs, Musical Scores, Mobile Suits, and Characters from that pool of 11 works, before making our official Weekly Suit Gundam ranking of everything we reviewed in our first year. It’s a very fun episode, getting into the minutiae with music, mechs, and characters in ways we don’t always have time for in our various reviews, and these are lists we intend to revisit and update as Weekly Suit Gundam continues and we watch, review, and discuss more of this incredible franchise. Enjoy, and be prepared for a special surprise episode of Weekly Suit Gundam next week on June 30th to finish our anniversary month! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
04:06:20
June 24, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #19 - Turn A Gundam Review & Discussion
It’s been one year to the day since we started our podcast journey through the wide, wonderful world of Gundam, and to celebrate our one-year anniversary milestone, we’re diving deep into one of the single greatest works the franchise has ever produced: Turn A Gundam, Yoshiyuki Tomino’s return to, and revolution of, the series he created. Set on a pre-industrial Earth in the very distant future, Turn A looks, sounds, and feels like nothing that’s come before, a punch drunk act of endlessly creative world-building that is so impossibly rich with ideas and dense with fascinating themes and characters that even though this is our longest episode yet, it feels like we only scratch the surface. Turn A is essential viewing for anyone even vaguely interested in Gundam, and talking about it makes for one of our richest conversations yet. Enjoy, and come back later this month for our 1-year anniversary special, where we’ll be ranking the best songs, characters, mobile suits, and series from our first year of Gundam reviews. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
04:22:24
June 10, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #18 – After War Gundam X Review & Discussion
After War Gundam X is one of the least known and most underrated corners of the Gundam universe, running for only 39 episodes, with its shortened run marking the end of four continuous years of the franchise holding the same time slot on Japanese television. But it’s also a special, woefully underappreciated show, a smart and soulful return to and commentary on the major tropes and archetypes of Yoshiyuki Tomino’s original Gundam cycle, serving as something of an alternate sequel to the original Mobile Suit Gundam wherein Amuro becomes a dejected, sunglass-wearing Captain mentoring a new Gundam Boy. Full of great characters, excellent storytelling, and thoughtful, bold ideas about Gundam’s past and future, After War Gundam X deserves a greater reputation, and we hope this in-depth podcast conversation is a step in the right direction. Enjoy, and come back throughout the month of June as we celebrate one full year of the Weekly Suit Gundam with a review of Turn A Gundam, an anniversary celebration special, and more! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
03:09:23
June 01, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #17 – Gundam Wing Review & Discussion
It’s a big moment for our journey through the world of Gundam, as we finally reach New Mobile Report Gundam Wing – aka Mobile Suit Gundam Wing, or just Gundam Wing – the 1995 anime that finally brought Gundam to the mainstream in the West when it premiered on Cartoon Network’s Toonami block in 2000. At once a throwback to many iconic pieces of Yoshiyuki Tomino’s original Gundam formula and a bold break with the structure of every Gundam series up to this point, Gundam Wing is a very different experience than anything we’ve talked about before. Initially exhilarating before growing increasingly frustrating, the show is one of the messier entries in the Gundam canon, but nevertheless fascinating to talk about. And the OVA/movie sequel, Endless Waltz, is a real treat for those who stick with it all the way to the end. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
03:15:32
April 27, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #16 – Mobile Fighter G Gundam Review & Discussion
The time has finally come for us to dive into the wacky and wonderful world of Alternate Universe Gundam, and to start this new phase in the life of the podcast, we’re going back to where AU Gundam began with 1994’s bizarre Shonen soap-opera classic Mobile Fighter G Gundam, one of the strangest, coolest, and most endearingly heartfelt entries in the entire Gundam franchise. With an awesome cast of characters, great storytelling, an astounding command of its own silly, soapy tone, and one of the best soundtracks in anime history, G Gundam isn’t much like any other Gundam show before or after – but it’s absolutely worth taking the time to fall in love with. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
03:06:50
April 06, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #15 – The End of Evangelion Review & Discussion
On the second part of our special Neon Genesis Evangelion detour, we dive deep with The End of Evangelion, the influential 1997 film that redoes…well, the end of Evangelion. Replacing the famously under-budgeted episodes 25 and 26 of the original TV series, The End of Evangelion is an epic production with incredible direction and animation, and it may be the purest expression of what Evangelion is – for good and for bad. There’s a lot to discuss with this film, from its mind-bending avant-garde stylings, to how it expands upon and wraps up the story that went unresolved in the television series, to the extreme Freudian psychoanalytic themes on display and the film’s frequently problematic treatment of women. Enjoy, and join us next time when we return to the wonderful world of Gundam with Mobile Fighter G Gundam! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
01:36:14
March 23, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #14 – Neon Genesis Evangelion Review & Discussion
On this special episode, we’re taking a brief detour from Mobile Suit Gundam to talk about another of the most infamous, influential mecha anime of all time: Hideaki Anno’s Neon Genesis Evangelion, the mid-90s sensation that helped to revitalize the anime industry and became a major worldwide sensation. It’s a significant work in the history of anime, and a really interesting point of comparison to the world of Gundam, which Anno was intimately familiar with and drew a lot of inspiration from. On this episode, we are specifically discussing the original 26 episodes of the TV series (we’ll be doing End of Evangelion in a few weeks), and find that, while it has frequently magnificent direction, animation, and voice acting, the story, structure, and themes are a lot more undercooked and problematic. It’s certainly a fascinating show to talk about, and hopefully worth the wait, since we’ve been promising this for a while (though big Eva fans might hate us by the end). Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Wordcast Newsletter! Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:42:51
March 02, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #13 – Japan Quest! Jonathan’s Great Adventure!
In this very special episode, we take a break from talking about Mobile Suit Gundam itself to talk all about the place where Gundam is made: Japan! Jonathan just spent three weeks travelling in the land of the rising sun, and has tons of great stories to share – more than a few of them Gundam related, including visiting the life-size Unicorn Gundam in Odaiba, getting a drink at the Gundam Café, and discovering some very cool Gundam snacks in a convenience store. Beyond that, you’ll also hear about the Studio Ghibli Museum in Mitaka, the Hello One Piece exhibit in Yokohama, cool details about all sorts of famous temples like Zenkoji, Kinkakuji, and Matsumoto Castle, and the infamous Snow Monkeys of Nagano. There were so many incredible experiences on the trip, and this podcast is bursting at the seams with great memories. You’ll also hear all about a wide assortment of Japanese books, magazines, candies, food dishes, and so much more – and even hear a few clips from Karaoke, various shop songs, and the incredible Japanese dub of The Lord of the Rings. And if you want the best experience possible, make sure to watch this episode of the podcast on our YouTube channel, where we have a special video version with thousands of pictures, dozens of videos, and so much more to accompany all the stories told throughout the episode. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
03:25:53
January 27, 2020
Weekly Suit Gundam #12 – Victory Gundam Review & Discussion
Our first year of Weekly Suit Gundam comes to a close as we reach the end of the Universal Century with 1993’s Mobile Suit Victory Gundam, the final full series set in the Universal Century and the last before creator Yoshiyuki Tomino took a break from the franchise and Sunrise branched out into Alternate Universe stories. Victory Gundam is famously one of the darkest installments in the series, with a large cast, a shockingly high mortality rate, and the youngest protagonist so far in 13-year-old Uso Ewin. It’s also one of Gundam’s most commonly underrated achievements, an imperfect but frequently brilliant series that contains some of the best moments, characters, action sequences, and episodes, and which lingers long after one finishes watching. We dive deep with the series, but also reflect on our first year of the Weekly Suit Gundam podcast, look towards the future, and discuss Fathom Events’ recent theatrical screening of Char’s Counterattack to celebrate Gundam’s 40th anniversary. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
03:27:21
December 19, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #11 - Gundam F91 Review & Discussion
Our journey through Universal Century Gundam continues with one of the strangest and most rewarding corners of the franchise, the 1991 theatrical feature Mobile Suit Gundam F91. Written and Directed by Yoshiyuki Tomino and reuniting him with Gundam’s original character designer, Yoshikazu Yasuhiko, and original mecha designer, Kunio Okawara, Gundam F91 was the first attempt to move beyond the original Universal Century saga that had reached its culmination in Char’s Counterattack. Set 30 years later, with an all-new cast of heroes and antagonists, F91 was originally intended to be a full 50-episode TV series, before plans fell through and Tomino and company were left scrambling to fit their story into a 2-hour feature. The result is, indeed, a mess, albeit a fascinating one, filled with some of the richest and most affecting material the franchise has ever conjured, brought to life with some of the best animation ever committed to film. There’s no doubt it’s an oddity and outlier in the history of Gundam, but it’s also essential viewing for fans of the series – and it leads to one of our most enjoyable conversations so far. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:23:02
October 31, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #10 – Unicorn Gundam & Narrative Gundam Review & Discussion
Released in seven parts from 2010 to 2014, Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn is an extravagant OVA sequel to the original saga of Universal Century Gundam, set three years after Char’s Counterattack and engaging in a direct, deeply thoughtful dialogue with the major themes and ideas of the franchise’s 70s and 80s output. It’s also a spectacular production, with movie-caliber animation, an all-time great score by Hiroyuki Sawano, and some of the greatest mobile suit action the franchise has ever seen. We dive deep with the series on this week’s show, while also touching upon Unicorn’s own movie sequel, Mobile Suit Gundam Narrative, the 2018 film that stands as the most recent entry in the Universal Century canon. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
03:19:33
September 23, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #09 – Char’s Counterattack Review & Discussion
The original saga of Mobile Suit Gundam reaches its spectacular climax with Char’s Counterattack, the 1988 theatrical film that reunites Char Aznable and Amuro Ray for one final conflict, and sees Yoshiyuki Tomino and company bringing these characters, their story, and the major themes of the series up to now home with astonishing aplomb. As the first original movie in the franchise’s history, Char’s Counterattack boasts incredible production values and some of the greatest animation we’ve ever seen, but it’s also a deeply intelligent, incredibly thoughtful capper to all the big ideas, character arcs, and interpersonal conflicts broached in the original three TV series. And after spending so much time talking about the ingenious character creation that is Char, this movie gives us ample opportunity to put the character and his complex evolution in context, leading to one of the best conversations we’ve had about Gundam so far. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:13:24
September 10, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #08 - Gundam ZZ Review & Discussion
After the abject darkness that was the ending of Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam, we come out on the other side to review and discuss its immediate successor, Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ, a show that appears lighter at first glance…but is it? ZZ has a bad reputation among Western fans, but we’d argue it’s a deeply misunderstood and underappreciated gem, an essential follow-up to Zeta Gundam that masterfully shifts the franchise’s POV, boasts stunning visuals from start to finish, and is chock full of great characters, both heroes and villains alike. As the final TV entry in the initial Gundam trilogy, it wraps up the first saga of the Universal Century with aplomb, challenging much of what we thought we know and taking the series to bold, compelling new places along the way. It’s not one to miss, and this jam-packed discussion is a lot of fun. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:24:26
September 02, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #07 - Zeta Gundam Review & Discussion
In this episode, Weekly Suit Gundam goes beyond its original missive of reviewing the original 1979 Mobile Suit Gundam by jumping ahead for a deep dive with the second series in the Gundam franchise, and one of the most beloved: Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam, the sequel set in 0087 that sees new protagonist Kamille Bidan joining forces with the AEUG – and several familiar faces, including the mysterious, sunglass-wearing Quattro Bajeena – to fight against the fascistic takeover of the Earth Federation by the evil Titans. Now that Jonathan’s binged the entire 50-episode series in just over a week, we have a lot to talk about, from how beautifully this series functions as a bold, thoughtful sequel to the original, to its blend of new and returning characters, to how impactfully its political content resonates with our current moment. It’s one of the greatest anime series of all time – with as dark an ending as you’re ever likely to see – and that’s more than enough for a packed episode’s worth of discussion.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:30:51
August 19, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #06 – Gundam Film Trilogy & One-Year War Wrap-up
Our first ‘season’ of Weekly Suit Gundam comes to a close with a big, fun, celebratory ‘wrap-up’ episode. For our main topic, we discuss the series of theatrical films, released between 1981 and 1982, that compiled and reworked the original Mobile Suit Gundam into a surprisingly effective film trilogy that saved the series from its initial lack of popularity and helped launch the franchise into the stratosphere. That’s a great discussion in and of itself, but it’s not all! We also briefly review all the other One-Year War series – Gundam: The Origin, War in the Pocket, The 08thMS Team, and Thunderbolt – talk about some Gundam manga and books, and count down the Top 10 Best Mobile Suits, Best Character Names, and Greatest Episodes of the original series. It’s a fun, jam-packed episode saluting one of the best anime series of all time, and a fitting celebration for Gundam’s 40thanniversary.  Enjoy, and stick around to the end, because while this may be the end of what we planned to do with Weekly Suit Gundam, it’s certainly not the last you’ve heard of our Gundam talks.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
04:00:53
August 06, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #05 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 39-43
It’s the final stretch of Mobile Suit Gundam – episodes 39 through 43 – and if you thought a mere five episodes wouldn’t be enough to fill a full installment of this podcast, you clearly haven’t seen the absurdly jam-packed final push of this incredible show. With the strange, metaphysical concept of ‘Newtypes’ taking center stage, Gundam’s closing episodes are both its most action-packed and its most boldly experimental, as Amuro comes fully into his new abilities and Char tries to harness the powers of the mysterious Lalah Sune. It wasn’t exactly the ending creator Yoshiyuki Tomino and company had in mind – the series was cut from 52 to 43 episodes, with these final five installments having to tell a much-condensed version of a longer original game plan – but as we argue here, it’s nonetheless a stirring, pitch-perfect ending to this all-time great anime, and one worth the deep dive we give it here.  Enjoy, and come back next time for our final episode (for now!) of Weekly Suit Gundam, where we’ll be talking the compilation movie trilogy from 1981-1982 that sent Gundam’s popularity into the stratosphere. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:20:25
August 06, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #04 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 26-38
The end is near for Mobile Suit Gundam, as this set of episodes – #26-38 – find the crew of the White Base becoming fully integrated into the Federation’s forces, visiting the military’s biggest base of operations, and returning to space for an assault on the Zeon stronghold of Solomon and, finally, a duel…in Texas! It’s another sterling set of episodes, this bunch more action-packed than ever, but also dense with revelations and major plot developments, culminating in a series of major reveals that reshape the stakes of the conflict and where our major characters stand, with just five episodes left to go. We’ll get to those next time, but for now, this is an incredibly juicy, wildly entertaining, and as always shockingly sobering set of episodes worth diving deep with.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:34:43
August 06, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #03 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 14-25
As we hit the middle stretch of Mobile Suit Gundam and discuss episodes 14 through 25, the show gets increasingly dark, with the challenges faced by the crew of the White Base growing ever more perilous. We’re introduced to new foes like M’quve and Kycilia Zabi, alongside the inimitable Ramba Ral and his companion Hamon, enemies who present Amuro and Bright their fiercest opponents yet, but are also perhaps the most honorable and upstanding characters on the series to date. As the lines between ‘good’ and ‘evil’ grow ever blurrier, the body count starts piling up, and series creator Yoshiyuki Tomino more than earns his nickname, “Kill ‘Em All Tomino.” It’s another terrific, if frequently depressing, set of episodes, as we round the halfway point of the series and head into the back half full steam ahead.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
01:51:59
August 06, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #02 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 03-13
After giving an overview of the Mecha genre and talking about the first two episodes last time, we dive deep into the meat of Mobile Suit Gundam on this week’s episode, discussing Episodes three through thirteen, a stretch which sees Amuro struggling with the surmounting stress of piloting the Gundam, Bright navigating his unexpected leadership, and Char deliciously manipulating supposed friend Garma Zabi to mysterious ends. It’s a terrific set of episodes that establishes the show’s episode structure and major themes, culminating in a brutally dark episode that makes it clear this is no lighthearted space opera – and why this show deserves the thorough look-back we’re giving it on this podcast.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
02:09:57
August 06, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #01 - Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 01-02 & Intro to Mecha Anime
In the 40 years since its 1979 debut in Japan, Mobile Suit Gundam has grown into one of the most pervasive and beloved franchises in anime history – and this summer, we’re taking a look back at the series that started it all, by watching, reviewing, and discussing in depth all 43 episodes of the original Mobile Suit Gundam (aka Gundam 0079). Sean has been a big Gundam fan for years, but Jonathan’s never seen a single episode before, giving us two unique perspectives on the series as we set out on this journey. This week, we go into the history of bothGundam itself and the Mecha genre at large, before diving into the first 2 episodes of the anime, one of the most confident and compelling introductions we’ve ever seen to a TV series. And over the next four parts of this podcast miniseries, we’ll continue through to the end of the series.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! www.weeklystuffpodcast.com
01:36:26
August 06, 2019