Skip to main content
Team Franco Podcast

Team Franco Podcast

By Joe Franco

A look at the world of fitness and bodybuilding with an unbiased opinion.
Joe Franco - Owner of Team Franco, OCB Pro, Judge, Promoter and Hall of Fame.
Reaching physique goals with a healthier and practical approach!
Coaching Services found here: linktr.ee/teamfrancobbing
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

SUPPLEMENTS! - My experience and personal opinions. TFB Podcast #27

Team Franco Podcast

1x
Top 5 Factors for a Great workout! TFB Quick-Cast #7
Top 5 Factors for a Great workout! TFB Quick-Cast #7
Breaking down the 5 factors that are needed to make your training great and for gainz!
09:47
December 08, 2022
Bulking is a waste of time! TFB Quick-Cast #6
Bulking is a waste of time! TFB Quick-Cast #6
Today I cover on why I think "bulking" doesn't play a role for natural athletes. 
05:14
December 02, 2022
How Often Should You Compete? TFB Quick-Cast #5
How Often Should You Compete? TFB Quick-Cast #5
Covering what I believe is most optimal for success and the frequency of competing.
12:25
November 27, 2022
Holiday Eating and Approach! TFB Quick-Cast #4
Holiday Eating and Approach! TFB Quick-Cast #4
How you handle your meals during the Holidays depends on what your current goals are.  I discuss what I think is appropriate.
05:25
November 22, 2022
Preferred Timing of Macros for Progress: TFB Quick-Cast #3
Preferred Timing of Macros for Progress: TFB Quick-Cast #3
Confused on when to eat your carbs, fats, and protein?  Take listen on how I suggest to break it down.
05:09
November 16, 2022
My Favorite Non-Traditional Exercises: TFB Quick-Cast #2
My Favorite Non-Traditional Exercises: TFB Quick-Cast #2
I go over some of my favorite exercises for each body part that.  Either they are new to you or forgotten about.  Give them a try!!!
04:52
November 11, 2022
Easy way to get stronger! TFB Quick-Cast #1
Easy way to get stronger! TFB Quick-Cast #1
New segment called Quick-Cast.  Confused on rep ranges, sets and how hard to train?  I quickly go over a proven method you can use.
03:02
November 08, 2022
Competing? Play the long game for success. TFB Podcast: #70
Competing? Play the long game for success. TFB Podcast: #70
A quick and to the point topic on why the "all or nothing" attitude is not ideal for reaching your fitness goals.
15:28
September 20, 2022
The "Hard" Truths about Contest Prep! TFB Podcast #69
The "Hard" Truths about Contest Prep! TFB Podcast #69
Today I discuss what it really takes to make it a great experience and to have no regrets when you enter a physique competition. 
25:42
August 06, 2022
Advancement in Technology = More Gainzzz? TFB Podcast: #68
Advancement in Technology = More Gainzzz? TFB Podcast: #68
We have come along way since the Golden Age of Bodybuilding. I discuss my opinions on a few topics.
20:38
July 08, 2022
Taking a Contest Prep Too Far? TFB Podcast #67
Taking a Contest Prep Too Far? TFB Podcast #67
Yes, you need to grind and be consistent, but going to far has its cautions.  Take a listen to learn.
23:46
June 22, 2022
Contest Prep Coaches, Babysitters vs. Teachers. TFB Podcast: #66
Contest Prep Coaches, Babysitters vs. Teachers. TFB Podcast: #66
What type is best for you?  Discussing the pro's and con's of each.
22:05
June 16, 2022
Accepting and Respect Yourself for Gainz! TFB Podcast: #65
Accepting and Respect Yourself for Gainz! TFB Podcast: #65
Once you respect how you are, you will be in a better place mentally and physically to grow in and out of the gym.
13:50
June 14, 2022
A Short Contest Prep? Why and who can benefit from it. TFB Podcast: #64
A Short Contest Prep? Why and who can benefit from it. TFB Podcast: #64
Yes!  It can work for you if you are willing to put the work in year round.
12:40
May 04, 2022
Comparing yourself to others is the devil! TFB Podcast #63
Comparing yourself to others is the devil! TFB Podcast #63
We are compared to each other on stage, but not during the journey.  I talk about why it's not going to benefit you in the long run during a contest prep.
18:10
March 25, 2022
In good shape but can't loss those last few pounds? TFB Podcast: #62
In good shape but can't loss those last few pounds? TFB Podcast: #62
Finally break the plateau and learn how to overcome!
17:24
March 05, 2022
Intelligence + Intensity = Results!: TFB Podcast #61
Intelligence + Intensity = Results!: TFB Podcast #61
Today I cover what I feel are the most important weight training principles for progress and when to apply them.
21:29
February 20, 2022
All About Abs! - TFB Podcast #60
All About Abs! - TFB Podcast #60
Today I discuss what I feel is the best route to train your abs and insight about levels of fitness and desires when it comes to the mid section. 
18:51
January 27, 2022
My Contest Prep (ep. #2) - Made it through the Holidays and Mindset! TFB Podcast: #59
My Contest Prep (ep. #2) - Made it through the Holidays and Mindset! TFB Podcast: #59
A quick little update on my contest prep, staying the course and excited to push through.
10:45
January 13, 2022
Cardio! How much is needed and my overview. TFB Podcast: #58
Cardio! How much is needed and my overview. TFB Podcast: #58
Lets talk about cardio.  I cover my personal and coaching experience on what is best to help you lose body fat.
22:46
January 05, 2022
Competition Guide 101: A comprehensive insight of what to expect when competing in a physique event.  TFB Podcast: #57
Competition Guide 101: A comprehensive insight of what to expect when competing in a physique event. TFB Podcast: #57
From the moment to signing up for a contest all the way to the when leaving the venue, everything you need to know about the process of competing.
30:54
December 17, 2021
Longevity/Success for a Bodybuilding Lifestyle! TFB Podcast #56
Longevity/Success for a Bodybuilding Lifestyle! TFB Podcast #56
Today I outline and cover the keys from what I have learned over the 30 years to have successful bodybuilding lifestyle. Learn more about Team Franco:  https://linktr.ee/teamfrancobbing
25:01
December 12, 2021
2021 OCB Hall of Fame - Joe Franco's acceptance.
2021 OCB Hall of Fame - Joe Franco's acceptance.
A wonderful acknowledgment I received this year being inducted into the OCB Hall of Fame.
08:20
December 09, 2021
My Contest Prep (ep. #1) - Unfinished Business! TFB Podcast: #55
My Contest Prep (ep. #1) - Unfinished Business! TFB Podcast: #55
A review of the last couple of years and why I am competing again.  Being totally transparent with the focus on helping others who are first competing and/or want to return to the stage.  Learn more about Team Franco:  https://linktr.ee/teamfrancobbing
24:52
December 04, 2021
Post Competition Blues! What is it and how to evade it. TFB Podcast: #54
Post Competition Blues! What is it and how to evade it. TFB Podcast: #54
Covering the topic of Post Competition Blues.  Quite often your prep style and mental fortitude will dictate how you respond after you compete. I cover tactics for you to take to evade this.
17:24
November 17, 2021
What is needed for a great training routine! TFB Podcast: #53
What is needed for a great training routine! TFB Podcast: #53
Today I cover the factors for progress and what is needed to improve your training.
19:55
November 10, 2021
My glute/ham dominant lower body workout! TFB Podcast: #52
My glute/ham dominant lower body workout! TFB Podcast: #52
Here is the second lower body workout for the  3 day split and here I go over the details of exercises, sets and reps for glute/ham dominant workout.
12:46
November 04, 2021
My quad dominant lower body workout! TFB Podcast: #51
My quad dominant lower body workout! TFB Podcast: #51
Loving my 3 day split and here I go over the details of exercises, sets and reps for the quad dominant workout. 
12:57
October 28, 2021
The Evolution of Competing - Why people compete? TFB Podcast: #50
The Evolution of Competing - Why people compete? TFB Podcast: #50
Today I discuss the different stages and why people compete.  Covering my beginnings and the evolution and you vs you mentality. 
19:29
October 19, 2021
Hiring a Coach, the good, the bad and ugly! TFB Podcast: #49
Hiring a Coach, the good, the bad and ugly! TFB Podcast: #49
Today I discuss what to look for in hiring a contest prep coach and to be a good fit for your needs. 
21:34
October 13, 2021
How long should my contest prep be? TFB Podcast: #48
How long should my contest prep be? TFB Podcast: #48
Today I tackle one of the most asked questions for competing.  Listen to my thoughts as I cover a wide range of time frames that might be best for you.
24:54
October 03, 2021
Life stuff and how it changed my current workout split: TFB Podcast #47
Life stuff and how it changed my current workout split: TFB Podcast #47
When we are faced with life stuff, we often have a choice to push through or lie down.  I choose to push through and learned to embrace a new training split. 
17:30
September 21, 2021
Peak Week... don't believe the hype! A guide for first time competitors. TFB Podcast #46
Peak Week... don't believe the hype! A guide for first time competitors. TFB Podcast #46
Today we talk about the basics of what a peak week does and cover how a competitors rely too much on it.
18:56
August 15, 2021
Contest Placements and Judging: TFB Podcast #45
Contest Placements and Judging: TFB Podcast #45
Today I cover some of the in and outs of how to mentally handle a placement when competing and judging.
18:49
August 13, 2021
Overtraining and Rest Days with Weight Training? TFB Podcast #44
Overtraining and Rest Days with Weight Training? TFB Podcast #44
In this episode I talk about how I feel about taking days off from the gym and listening to your body.  My opinion and experiences so take it with a grain of salt.
14:24
July 29, 2021
Steroids and competing. TFB Podcast #43
Steroids and competing. TFB Podcast #43
Today I discuss my experiences and thoughts about the use of steroids in the world of competing.
20:42
July 22, 2021
Competing? Don't make it bigger than what it really is! TFB Podcast #42
Competing? Don't make it bigger than what it really is! TFB Podcast #42
Today I go over how those who succeed typically have a more relaxed approach and take things as they come.
14:49
July 15, 2021
How to start a "diet" and to be successful. TFB Podcast #41
How to start a "diet" and to be successful. TFB Podcast #41
Going over the basics and keys to be successful in when starting a diet plan.
15:51
June 25, 2021
What Does it Take to Become a Pro! TFB Podcast #40
What Does it Take to Become a Pro! TFB Podcast #40
Today I dive into some of the factors that I feel that is needed to reach the pro level.
23:14
June 22, 2021
How Team Franco Got Started and Philosophy. TFB Podcast #39
How Team Franco Got Started and Philosophy. TFB Podcast #39
Today I discuss how TFB started over 20 years ago and touch upon the make up of a Team Franco client.
21:49
June 16, 2021
Team Franco Contest are Back! Recap of the OCB Jersey Natural Open. TFB Podcast #38
Team Franco Contest are Back! Recap of the OCB Jersey Natural Open. TFB Podcast #38
A quick episode on how great is to be back in the game and to thank all those who came out.
13:15
May 25, 2021
My Diet!!! What I eat daily and changes I make to get lean.  TFB Podcast: #37
My Diet!!! What I eat daily and changes I make to get lean. TFB Podcast: #37
In this episode I go over how simple my diet is and what works for me during offseason and contest prep.
15:01
April 07, 2021
Reps, Sets, and when to Increase Weight - Oh my! TFB Podcast: #36
Reps, Sets, and when to Increase Weight - Oh my! TFB Podcast: #36
Not sure how many sets to do or when to increase the weight?  Today I cover a couple of ways to make sure you are getting the most out of your training. 
22:29
April 02, 2021
What does it take to compete? Its depends on your mindset! TFB Podcast #35
What does it take to compete? Its depends on your mindset! TFB Podcast #35
Today I discuss on the different type of mindsets about competing for the first time and what do you as a competitor want out of it.
20:23
March 25, 2021
Competition/Competitor Ramblings! TFB Podcast #34
Competition/Competitor Ramblings! TFB Podcast #34
Bunch of thoughts since the competitions season is starting to heat up!!  Things to do and not to do.
19:02
March 18, 2021
Intuitive Eating, What is it and how you can benefit from it TFB PC: #33
Intuitive Eating, What is it and how you can benefit from it TFB PC: #33
In this podcast I discuss how intuitive eating can be a great tool for keeping your diet on track for the time you can't track!
12:29
March 09, 2021
My favorite body parts to train, and least favorite along with exercises. TFB Podcast: #32
My favorite body parts to train, and least favorite along with exercises. TFB Podcast: #32
 In this episode I give you the insights on why I like training certain body parts over other and some of my favorites exercises.
21:41
March 03, 2021
My favorite training split and why I think its best! TFB Podcast: #31
My favorite training split and why I think its best! TFB Podcast: #31
My favorite training split and why I think its best! I cover the details of exercises that I am currently doing and some of my favorite techniques. 
26:15
February 24, 2021
Women's Physique Divisions! (what are they and how they evolved) TFB PC#30
Women's Physique Divisions! (what are they and how they evolved) TFB PC#30
Women's Physique Divisions! (what are they and how they evolved)  TFB PC#30. An overview through my eyes and experience over the years.
19:01
February 17, 2021
 Posing: How to bring it together and what I cover in class. TFB Podcast #29:
Posing: How to bring it together and what I cover in class. TFB Podcast #29:
TFB Podcast #29:  Posing (some of the details I cover in my classes)  In this podcast I go over not only the importance of posing but the finer aspects to posing and the proper approach.
28:59
February 10, 2021
What variables are best for keeping track of your progress? TFB Podcast #28
What variables are best for keeping track of your progress? TFB Podcast #28
Today I go over a  few variables for tracking progress and their benefits along with negatives.  There are many too choose from so you need to decide which are best for you.
26:02
January 30, 2021
SUPPLEMENTS! - My experience and personal opinions. TFB Podcast #27
SUPPLEMENTS! - My experience and personal opinions. TFB Podcast #27
TFB Podcast #27:  SUPPLEMENTS!  - My experience and personal opinions.  Today I cover to the first products I used, to getting sponsored and owning my own company.   Just my opinions so take it for what its worth.
20:21
January 23, 2021
Why first time competitors may not get as lean as they want to? TFB Podcast #26
Why first time competitors may not get as lean as they want to? TFB Podcast #26
Why first time competitors may not get as lean as they want to?   Through my years of coaching, I have learned  that the body  will only go so far and its OK, because competing is about evolving.  
16:33
January 16, 2021
Slow and steady wins the race? TFB Podcast #25
Slow and steady wins the race? TFB Podcast #25
Slow and steady does win the race and so does riding a low wave to success. 
11:13
January 09, 2021
I am back, and thoughts about entitlement/legacy in the world of bodybuilding. TFB Podcast #24
I am back, and thoughts about entitlement/legacy in the world of bodybuilding. TFB Podcast #24
I am back, and thoughts about entitlement/legacy in the world of bodybuilding..  Time have change this year and hoping  to see things for the better come 2021.  
18:33
October 25, 2020
Men's Physique Divisions - What are they and how they changed over the years! TFB Podcast #23
Men's Physique Divisions - What are they and how they changed over the years! TFB Podcast #23
Men's Physique Divisions - What are they and how they changed over the years!  My view and breakdown of three men's competition divisions, bodybuilding, men's physique and classic physique.. 
21:41
May 27, 2020
What weight training split is best for you? TFB Podcast #22
What weight training split is best for you? TFB Podcast #22
What weight training split is best for you? In today's podcast I go over the variety of weight training splits that can be utilized according to your level of fitness and goals.
23:26
May 17, 2020
Years of Balance = PROGRESS! TFB Podcast #21
Years of Balance = PROGRESS! TFB Podcast #21
TFB Podcast #21 – Years of Balance = PROGRESS!     Want to learn how to evolve and grow, balance is the key to making gains in and out of the gym.
16:39
May 05, 2020
How do you handle Challenges, and why people succeed! TFB Podcast #20
How do you handle Challenges, and why people succeed! TFB Podcast #20
Are you going to step up to the plate or sit on the bench when times get tough?  Train the mind and body to handle what is thrown at you.
16:57
April 26, 2020
4 Characteristics for Success in and out of the gym. TFB Podcast #19
4 Characteristics for Success in and out of the gym. TFB Podcast #19
Recognizing and putting them into place will greatly benefit you when it comes to reaching your fitness goals.
15:50
April 18, 2020
What is winning? And the daily grind! TFB Podcast #18
What is winning? And the daily grind! TFB Podcast #18
What you do everyday will add up, take advantage of your time to make the day count.  
13:30
April 13, 2020
Free Weight Pull Day (Back, Biceps) Workout, my favorites, and details. TFB Podcast #17
Free Weight Pull Day (Back, Biceps) Workout, my favorites, and details. TFB Podcast #17
 Free Weight Pull Day (Back, Biceps) Workout, my favorites, and details.  I also cover rest between sets and condensing this to a 2 day split.
15:12
April 03, 2020
Free Weight Push Day (Chest, Shoulders, Triceps) Workout, my favorites and ideal split TFB Podcast #16
Free Weight Push Day (Chest, Shoulders, Triceps) Workout, my favorites and ideal split TFB Podcast #16
 Free Weight Push Day Workout, my favorites and ideal split  Training the chest, shoulders and triceps.
15:10
April 03, 2020
Free Weight Lower Body Workout, my favorites and ideal split. TFB Podcast #15
Free Weight Lower Body Workout, my favorites and ideal split. TFB Podcast #15
 Free Weight Lower Body Workout, my favorites and ideal split that I would suggest if you were my client. First of 3 podcasts that will cover a 3 - day split that you can do with barbells and dumbells.
16:08
March 31, 2020
When a goal is postponed, you can still make the best of it. TFB Podcast #14
When a goal is postponed, you can still make the best of it. TFB Podcast #14
When a goal is postponed, you can still make the best of it. Its sucks when things get cancelled, but you still have the opportunity to make the best of it with the right frame of mind, and to build character. 
10:47
March 22, 2020
How to train at home with minimal equipment and what to buy. TFB Podcast #13-
How to train at home with minimal equipment and what to buy. TFB Podcast #13-
For the times you can't make it to the gym, you still can be training the body and have control!
11:05
March 17, 2020
Sportsmanship and What Type of Competitor are You? (how to handle winning and losing) TFB Podcast #12
Sportsmanship and What Type of Competitor are You? (how to handle winning and losing) TFB Podcast #12
Competing and Sportsmanship...  how will you handle if you lose or win a contest or does it even matter.  Today we talk about having the right mindset to handle both along with what type of competitor you might be.
18:25
March 10, 2020
Diet Exit Plan Part 2 (What should your ideal weight gain be after you reach a goal/compete?) TFB Podcast #11
Diet Exit Plan Part 2 (What should your ideal weight gain be after you reach a goal/compete?) TFB Podcast #11
What should your ideal weight gain be after you reach a goal.   My thoughts on Bulking and Staying lean between competitions and what I feel the ideal situation is somewhere in the middle.
10:38
March 06, 2020
Diet Exit Plan? (Strategies on how handle your diet after reaching your goals) TFB Podcast #10
Diet Exit Plan? (Strategies on how handle your diet after reaching your goals) TFB Podcast #10
One of the least talked about topics is how to handle your diet after you compete and reach a goal. In this podcast I go over how to apply a few strategies on how to listen the blow and reduce the rebound many have. 
17:00
March 02, 2020
Top 5 Coolest Reasons to Compete in Bodybuilding! TFB Podcast #9
Top 5 Coolest Reasons to Compete in Bodybuilding! TFB Podcast #9
TFB Podcast #9 – Top 5 Coolest Reason to Compete! Today is a shorter podcast but very informative when it come to talking about what is cool about competing!
10:59
February 28, 2020
Top 5 Mistakes people make when deciding to compete in a bodybuilding contest. TFB Podcast #8
Top 5 Mistakes people make when deciding to compete in a bodybuilding contest. TFB Podcast #8
Top 5 Mistakes people make when deciding to compete - Today we go over the common mistakes people will make when they  decide to compete.   Listen to learn on what not to do!
17:02
February 19, 2020
Top 5 benefits of using a physique coach and what to look for! TFB Podcast #7
Top 5 benefits of using a physique coach and what to look for! TFB Podcast #7
Today we go over what I feel are 5 good reason/benefits for hiring a coach and what to look for when you  are researching. 
15:54
February 14, 2020
How to pick a physique competition? (4 key factors) TFB Podcast #6
How to pick a physique competition? (4 key factors) TFB Podcast #6
Today we go over some factors that will help you decide on the right competition for you!
15:44
February 07, 2020
What to do before you are 3 months out from a contest! TFB Podcast #5
What to do before you are 3 months out from a contest! TFB Podcast #5
What do to before you are 3 months out from a contest? Today I cover the importance of how to use the time before you decide to compete.
18:20
January 31, 2020
Consistency is king and "Hardcore diet/coaching" TFB Pocdast #4
Consistency is king and "Hardcore diet/coaching" TFB Pocdast #4
Today we dive it what really is needed to achieve when dieting and what I think is most optimal.   And also lay down my feelings about hardcore diets.
13:01
January 24, 2020
TFB Podcast #1 (Building habits, not goals)
TFB Podcast #1 (Building habits, not goals)
(Building habits, not goals)
07:05
January 18, 2020
TFB Podcast #2 (Training to get better)
TFB Podcast #2 (Training to get better)
(Training to get better)
09:43
January 18, 2020
TFB Podcast #3 – (Top 10 Habits of Successful Bodybuilders) My review of an article!
TFB Podcast #3 – (Top 10 Habits of Successful Bodybuilders) My review of an article!
Today we review an article that popped up on my Google news feed.  Is it trusted?
15:48
January 18, 2020