Skip to main content
Level With Us

Level With Us

By Jared & Marcus Richardson

Welcome to Level With Us - a cozy video game discussion podcast where brothers Jared & Marcus play a game separately, then meet together to discuss it (kind of like a book club!). This show is for all ages, so curl up with your loved ones and enjoy as these guys gush about their favorite games, gripe about the annoying parts of games, and try to stump each other with nerdy trivia questions! If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, or for business inquiries, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com!
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

C.A.R.L. | Review Discussion

Level With Us

1x
50th Episode Special!
50th Episode Special!
Today we celebrate making it to 50 episodes! We’re so grateful to have come this far, and look forward to even more episodes in the future! Join us for a little chat about our lives, our visions for the future of Level With Us, and even some Fake Fan questions! Also, the winner of our free game giveaway will be announced today! Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 2:07 - What’s Happening...in our lives? 6:14 - Favorite LWU Episodes 9:55 - Least Favorite LWU Episodes 13:41 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 12:54 - Quick Jabs 15:40 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 20:03 - The Future of Level With Us 25:09 - Game Giveaway Winner Announced! 26:06 - Outro 27:13 - Bonus Scene (Sorry Marcus)
27:52
November 28, 2022
Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope | Review Discussion
Mario + Rabbids Sparks of Hope | Review Discussion
Bwaaah! Mario & Rabbids are together again in Ubisoft’s new AAA release, Sparks of Hope! Join us today as we discuss how refreshing it is to have a tactical strategy game with all the simplicity and fun that Mario games usually have to offer. Stick around for a special “Name That Tune” and even an indie game giveaway! Special thanks to Ubisoft for the review code! Instructions on how to enter the game giveaway: 1. Tell us what you like about our show, your favorite segment, or feedback on what you wish we did more often! 2. Do so by leaving a review on Apple podcasts, tweeting us @lvlwithus, or sending us an e-mail: LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com 3. Winner will be randomly selected and announced next episode! You can purchase Mario+Rabbids HERE: https://www.nintendo.com/store/products/mario-plus-rabbids-sparks-of-hope-switch/ Documentary about the game’s composers: https://youtu.be/GfJKKDxuL-s Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:53 - General Impressions 3:22 - Favorite Characters 7:11 - How it’s a “Mario” RPG 9:03 - ⭒Star Pieces 12:54 - Quick Jabs 15:40 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 17:48 - The “Cheat Sheet” 18:49 - Song #1 20:04 - Song #2 20:59 - Song #3 22:42 - Song #4 24:08 - Song #5 28:08 - Rabbid Holes - GAME GIVEAWAY! 30:29 - Outro
31:38
October 30, 2022
Trifox, Slime Rancher 2, and The Last Hero of Nostalgaia | 3 Indie Mini-Reviews!
Trifox, Slime Rancher 2, and The Last Hero of Nostalgaia | 3 Indie Mini-Reviews!
A top down action-platformer, a first-person farm sim, and a satiricle soulslike? What a variety! This week we’re covering three wildly different games: Trifox, Slime Rancher 2, and the Last Hero of Nostalgaia! We got to play a good chunk of each, so here are our thoughts, along with a Star Piece and Quick Jab for each one! Special thanks to the developers for the review codes: -Glowfish Interactive -Monomi Park -Over the Moon You can find all 3 games HERE: Trifox: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1211240/Trifox/ Slime Rancher 2: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1657630/Slime_Rancher_2/ The Last Hero of Nostalgaia: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1766100/The_Last_Hero_of_Nostalgaia/ Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:46 - Special Guest! 1:55 - Trifox 3:58 - ⭒Star Pieces 5:41 - Quick Jabs 7:13 - Slime Rancher 2 11:47 - ⭒Star Pieces 14:29 - Quick Jabs 16:06 - The Last Hero of Nostalgaia 19:59 - ⭒Star Pieces 22:18 - Quick Jabs 25:36 - Outro 27:24 - Bonus Scene
28:03
October 20, 2022
Hokko Life | Indie Game Spotlight
Hokko Life | Indie Game Spotlight
This week we’re pleased to have Denise from SeeingStarsGaming on board to chat about recent title “Hokko Life” by Team17! Does it meet the “cozy” qualifications Denise’s channel is known for? Or did the creepy body proportions of its characters mentally disturb us? Listen to find out! Denise’s Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/SeeingStarsGaming Denise’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/seeingstargamer You can find Hokko Life here: Steam: https://store.steampowered.com/app/824000/Hokko_Life/ Switch: https://www.nintendo.com/store/products/hokko-life-switch/ PlayStation: https://store.playstation.com/en-us/concept/10003839/ Xbox: https://www.xbox.com/en-US/games/store/hokko-life/9nlrlnwd9x67 Thanks to RawX for the Hokko Life OST: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1cvfkX6Krw&ab_channel=RawX Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:46 - Special Guest! 3:08 - Main Discussion 8:37 - ⭒Star Pieces 10:43 - Quick Jabs 13:36 - Who's the Fake Fan? 16:35 - Final Thoughts 17:50 - How about this instead? 19:38 - Outro
21:20
October 07, 2022
C.A.R.L. | Review Discussion
C.A.R.L. | Review Discussion
As fans of Andrew Kenady (Nintendrew), we’re ecstatic that he’s released his own indie title called C.A.R.L.! And after playing through this action-platformer, we can indeed confirm that the game is G.R.E.A.T. (a Good, Really Exceptional, Amazing Time!). Listen to hear our full thoughts, and some more acronyms! Special thanks to Andrew for the pre-release review code! C.A.R.L. is available on all major platforms! Steam http://bit.ly/carlsteam Nintendo Switch http://bit.ly/carlswitch Xbox http://bit.ly/carlxbox PS4/5 http://bit.ly/carlplaystation Marcus’s Wild West Musical “Silk & Swenson”: https://www.byuradio.org/41953610-3fb2-4b2f-8dec-162768f677f5 Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:34 - Main Discussion 5:20 - ⭒Star Pieces 7:13 - Quick Jabs 10:45 - Who's the Fake Fan? 17:51 - Final Thoughts 19:17 - Rabbit Holes 21:17 - Outro
22:13
October 03, 2022
REDSHOT | Indie Game Spotlight
REDSHOT | Indie Game Spotlight
Fast-paced gameplay! Bullet-time action! Metroidvania! These words describe recent indie release REDSHOT! For this week’s episode, we give our impressions of the game (and listen to some rad NES tunes as we do!). Check out REDSHOT on Steam! Steam: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1745520/REDSHOT/ Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Jared’s GG Profile: https://ggapp.io/jkrgamer Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:56 - Main Discussion 6:30 - ⭒Star Pieces 8:41 - Quick Jabs 11:56 - Who's the Fake Fan? 14:09 - Final Thoughts 16:09 - Outro
17:12
September 23, 2022
Lost in Play | Review Discussion
Lost in Play | Review Discussion
This week we are reviewing “Lost in Play” by Happy Juice Games! This is a point-and-click adventure without any pointing or clicking, and its art style reminds us of our favorite children’s cartoons we grew up with, like Gravity Falls, Hilda, and Over the Garden Wall! Join us as we discuss the game, debate whether fart jokes are tasteful, and make weird celery noises with our mouths! Check out Lost In Play on Steam and the Nintendo shop! Steam: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1328840/Lost_in_Play/ eShop: https://www.nintendo.com/store/products/lost-in-play-switch/ Jared’s GG Profile: https://ggapp.io/jkrgamer Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:45 - Main Discussion 7:00 - ⭒Star Pieces 10:09 - Quick Jabs 12:26 - Who's the Fake Fan? 21:36 - Final Thoughts 22:46 - Rabbit Holes 27:29 - Outro 28:25 - Bonus Scene
29:43
September 17, 2022
The Signal State | Indie Game Spotlight
The Signal State | Indie Game Spotlight
This week we turn to the more niche and eclectic indie games as we discuss “The Signal State” on Steam! This game is all about solving interesting programming-esque puzzles themed around modular synthesis! What is that, you ask? Listen to find out! And even if you’re not into modular synth, skip towards the end to hear some of Marcus’s synthesizer compositions, created on a Nintendo DS! Check out The Signal State on Steam: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1577620/The_Signal_State/ More of Marcus’s DS Music:  https://soundcloud.com/pseudosemantics-1 Zachtronics Website: https://www.zachtronics.com/ Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:39 - What is even happening? 3:32 - Main Discussion 11:13 - Who is this game for? 12:30 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 18:13 - Bonus Song
20:32
September 10, 2022
Cursed to Golf | Review Discussion
Cursed to Golf | Review Discussion
Fore! This week we talk about Cursed to Golf, a recent indie release about putting and driving your way out of Golf Purgatory! Did we find the core roguelike gameplay compelling, or was the sheer difficulty enough to make us quit and go do mini putt-putt instead? Listen to find out! Check out Cursed to Golf on the Nintendo shop: https://www.nintendo.com/store/products/cursed-to-golf-switch/ Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:56 - Main Discussion 6:51 - ⭒Star Pieces 9:19 - Quick Jabs 12:38 - Who's the Fake Fan? 18:22 - Final Thoughts 19:16 - Get Recs 32:48 - Final Thoughts 23:18 - Outro 24:15 - Bonus Scene
24:35
September 02, 2022
The Room Two | First Impressions
The Room Two | First Impressions
Check out the video HERE: https://youtu.be/RWGzuw0WcUA This week Marcus and I got together in-person to take a look at The Room Two on Switch! Marcus here is a resident escape room expert, so let's see what he thinks as he tries out the first couple levels blind! Special thanks to Fireproof Games for the review code! Purchase The Room Two HERE: https://www.nintendo.com/store/products/the-room-two-switch/ Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs
02:13
August 27, 2022
Sonic Origins | Discussion (feat. Ray Hargreaves!)
Sonic Origins | Discussion (feat. Ray Hargreaves!)
In this episode, we'll be chatting about Sonic Origins with Ray Hargreaves from 2P START! As a long-time Sonic the Hedgehog fan, Ray has some interesting opinions and trivia about this most recent re-release of the original games. And as long-time 2P START fans, we were thrilled to get the chance to record with Ray as well. We hope you enjoy listening to this episode as much as we enjoyed recording it! Check out Ray's webcomic and podcast on 2Pstart.com ! Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:34 - Introducing our Special Guest! 3:03 - Main Discussion 11:09 - ⭒Star Pieces 17:57 - Black Doom Award 26:48 - Who's the Fake Fan? 32:48 - Final Thoughts 34:34 - Outro 35:40 - Bonus Scenes
36:16
August 22, 2022
Blossom Tales II: The Minotaur Prince | Review Discussion
Blossom Tales II: The Minotaur Prince | Review Discussion
*Special thanks to Playtonic Friends for the review code!* This week we are review-discussing Blossom Tales II: The Minotaur Prince on Nintendo Switch! This action-adventure indie title brings back nostalgic memories for us of classic 2D Zelda titles, but does it do enough on its own to stand out? Take a listen, and stick around to the end to hear about Marcus’s adventures in Seoul! Purchase Blossom Tales II here: https://www.nintendo.com/store/products/blossom-tales-ii-the-minotaur-prince-switch/ Most of the music in this episode is from Blossom Tales and Blossom Tales II and was composed by Visager AKA Josie Brechner. You can check out their other work here! https://visager.bandcamp.com/ If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:12 - Main Discussion 7:39 - ⭒Star Pieces 8:51 - Quick Jabs 12:23 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 18:23 - Final Thoughts 18:46 - Marcus’s Trip 23:53 - Outro
23:13
August 16, 2022
Horizon: Forbidden West | General Thoughts
Horizon: Forbidden West | General Thoughts
After finally finishing Horizon: Forbidden West, I find myself feeling just a bit torn on it. Join me, Jared, this week for my general thoughts on the game, as well as the existential crisis I now find myself in. MUSIC: Horizon Forbidden West - Official Soundtrack Purchase or listen to it here: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/1tFZ7JRXgQpyT1Rgl1JGrD If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs
10:05
August 08, 2022
Stray | Indie Game Spotlight
Stray | Indie Game Spotlight
Today we’re delighted to have Joseph (AKA GamerWhoShoe) filling in as a co-host to discuss “Stray! This is the new sort-of-indie sort-of-AAA game where you play as a cute little cat. Together we’ll discuss how it plays, its approach to storytelling, and whether or not it turned us into cat people. You can follow Joseph on twitter: https://mobile.twitter.com/gamerwhoshoe MUSIC: Softy x Lucid Green “Overnight” Provided by Lofi Girl - Watch: https://youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_kkrPM1K3-sU78G8595nT1RX7diqzeNw3Q - Listen: https://open.spotify.com/album/2njAhVBsPSS3vsPFPJSW71 If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:01 - Main Discussion 7:39 - ⭒Star Pieces 10:03 - Quick Jabs 12:31 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 16:10 - Rabbit Holes 23:53 - Outro
26:39
August 01, 2022
Guest Podcast! - The First Player Token
Guest Podcast! - The First Player Token
We're taking a break this week, but Jared was recently on another really excellent podcast - the First Player Token! It's a great short-form podcast about board games to play with family and friends, hosted by Derek Bruff. Jared was on the most recent episode all about Takenoko, which we share a sample today, but you can check out the full episode HERE: https://derekbruff.org/blogs/firstplayertoken/episode-27-takenoko/ The First Player Token podcast is also on all major podcasting platforms. You can follow Derek Bruff on twitter as well: https://twitter.com/firstplayrtoken
03:58
July 23, 2022
Neon White | Indie Game Spotlight
Neon White | Indie Game Spotlight
Neon White is a new indie game with a focus on speedrunning and a story that exudes teen edginess… and it works! This is Jared's review of this blast of a title on Steam and Nintendo Switch. If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:47 - The Gameplay 4:20 - The Graphics 5:12 - The Story 8:27 - Final Thoughts 9:12 - Outro
10:19
July 18, 2022
The Outbound Ghost | Gameplay PREVIEW
The Outbound Ghost | Gameplay PREVIEW
While Marcus is out and abroad, Jared is here to share his thoughts on an early press demo for "The Outbound Ghost," an indie RPG coming out later this year! With some Paper Mario inspirations here and there, this game looks to be a more classic RPG than one might first expect. Special thanks to Conradical Games for sending us the demo code. You can wishlist the Outbound Ghost HERE: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1276810/The_Outbound_Ghost/ And if you want to follow its development, be sure to subscribe to Conradical Games: https://www.youtube.com/c/ConradicalGames If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:09 - General Thoughts 5:04 - The Battle System 8:28 - The Presentation 10:20 - Outro
12:01
July 11, 2022
TMNT: Shredder's Revenge | Indie Game Spotlight
TMNT: Shredder's Revenge | Indie Game Spotlight
COWABUNGA! Jared’s been a lifelong TMNT fan, so after hearing the heaps of praise “Shredder’s Revenge” has been getting, we decided to cover it on the show! Does this old-school beat-em-up freshen the formula enough to win our hearts? Or is it just a bit too archaic to appeal to us? Also included this episode: Marcus writes turtle-themed rap lyrics! Send us questions and comments that you want read on the show at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs The music you heard in this episode was composed by Tee Lopes and Lena Raine! Check out their other amazing music: https://www.teelopesmusic.com/ http://lena.fyi/ Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:28 - Main Discussion Begins 4:14 - Favorite Characters / Moves 7:15 - Visuals / Sound 9:27 - ⭒Star Pieces 12:29 - Quick Jabs 16:01 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 22:19 - Rabbit Holes 26:55 - Outro 28:36 - Bonus Scene
28:53
July 01, 2022
The Steam Deck | Review Discussion
The Steam Deck | Review Discussion
After years of avoiding PC gaming, we've finally compromised and invested in a Steam Deck! Join us for a casual review discussion all about what we think of the system, including our favorite games on it, and of course some quick jabs as well! Send us questions and comments that you want read on the show at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs
18:42
June 20, 2022
Video Game Summer Vacation Challenge!
Video Game Summer Vacation Challenge!
Grab some shades and a fruity drink because it's summertime! This week It's Jared's turn to be stumped as Marcus quizzes him on various tropical video game locations! How many can you guess correctly? Send us questions and comments that you want read on the show at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro / The Rules 1:44 - Vacation Review #1 2:44 - Vacation Review #2 4:19 - Vacation Review #3 5:48 - Vacation Review #4 7:07 - Vacation Review #5 8:37 - New Rules! 9:07 - Navigation Challenge #1 9:35 - Navigation Challenge #2 10:43 - Navigation Challenge #3 12:19 - Navigation Challenge #4 13:40 - Navigation Challenge #5 15:30 - Outro 17:16 - Bonus Scene
17:37
June 13, 2022
Tunic | Indie Game Spotlight
Tunic | Indie Game Spotlight
Part Zelda-like, part Souls-like, Tunic is a game where you play as an adorable Fox on an adventure full of secrets and difficult combat scenarios! Perhaps the most unique thing about this game is the in-game guide you unlock over time, which we talk about at length in today’s episode! Join us for a cozy discussion about this cozy little game, and listen to Jared’s voice slowly deteriorate throughout it! A very special thank you to OctopusDeathPunch.com for sponsoring today’s episode! Tunic is available on Xbox, Xbox GamePass, and Steam. Purchase here: https://tunicgame.com/ The music you heard in this episode comes from Tunic’s soundtrack, by Lifeformed x Janice Kwan. Purchase here: https://lifeformed.bandcamp.com/album/tunic-original-game-soundtrack YouTube version of the show: https://youtu.be/gfnE8CvvJpk Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:43 - Main Discussion 7:55 - ⭒Star Pieces 12:32 - Sponsorship! 13:42 - Quick Jabs 16:59 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 20:54 - Outro 22:17 - Bonus Scenes
22:57
June 06, 2022
Shovelware - Real vs. Fake!
Shovelware - Real vs. Fake!
Jared's at it again, trying to make Marcus question his sanity with some difficult quiz questions! This week, in honor of the Steam Deck's release, we read some of the descriptions from "shovelware" titles on the Steam store, just to see how ridiculous lesser-known titles on the platform can get. But! Some of the descriptions are deliberately fake ones made up by Jared. Can you tell which ones are real and which ones are fake? And can you do it better than Marcus did? Let us know! Send us questions and comments that you want read on the show at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro / The Rules 2:46 - "Fun Hospital" 3:37 - "Chicken Duty" 4:11 - "Ultra Tank" 5:20 - "My Strong Horse" 6:08 - "Baby's Birthday!!" 7:28 - "Claire's Cruisin' Cafe" 8:44 - "The Employee" 9:36 - "Showgoat" 10:10 - "Catch them!" 10:47 - "Rock, Paper, PASTA!" 12:21 - LIGHTNING ROUND 13:37 - Outro 15:06 - Bonus Scene
15:56
May 30, 2022
The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe | Review Discussion
The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe | Review Discussion
Review code provided by Crows Crows Crows! The Stanley Parable has been re-released as an “Ultra Deluxe” edition, but does it still have the same impact today as it did back in 2013? We’re hear to discuss it and let you know if it’s worth your time! "The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe" is available on all platforms. Purchase here: https://www.stanleyparable.com/ The music you heard in this episode comes from “The Stanley Parable” and also Lofi Girl: Listen: bit.ly/lofigirI-playlists Album used: -“Solemn” by Towerz Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:50 - What is even happening? 1:49 - Main Discussion 8:01 - ⭒Star Pieces 10:19 - Quick Jabs 13:00 - Who’s the Fake Fan? 15:08 - Final Thoughts 16:23 - Outro
17:15
May 23, 2022
Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door | RETROSPECTIVE
Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door | RETROSPECTIVE
Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door is an incredibly beloved game to so many people. We’ve reached out to some of its biggest fans to talk about the game and share their favorite chapters with us!   Check out the YouTube version of our retrospective HERE: https://youtu.be/5vZrLdaxXSE ...and if you've already seen it, you can skip ahead to our post-show commentary at 13:17! Thanks to all our Participants! Nintendrew: https://www.youtube.com/c/Nintendrew RogersBase: https://www.youtube.com/c/RogersBase/ Genow (Bug Fables Dev): https://bugfables.dangenentertainment.com/ André (GameXplain): https://www.youtube.com/user/GameXplain Krysta (Kit and Krysta): https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl0XiEgng4LZFpYVDd8oR8A/featured Adam Robinson-Yu (A Short Hike Dev): https://adamgryu.com/   Send us trivia questions or comments that you want read on the show at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:41 - Start of Retrospective 2:33 - Nintendrew 4:50 - RogersBase 6:00 - Genow (Bug Fables Dev) 7:04 - Jared (Level With Us) 8:15 - André (GameXplain) 10:01 - Krysta (Kit and Krysta Podcast) 11:18 - Adam Robinson-Yu (A Short Hike Dev) 12:18 - Marcus (Level With Us) 13:17 - Post-Show Commentary 16:44 - Bonus Content: Adam's Quick Jabs 20:24 - Who's the Fake Fan? 21:50 - Outro 23:36 - Bonus Scene
23:45
May 14, 2022
Elden Ring | Name that Character!
Elden Ring | Name that Character!
YouTube Version HERE: https://youtu.be/O3e5xAqcYQs Jared pulls a fast one on Marcus this episode and tries to get him to name certain characters in Elden Ring - AND guess their backstories! Despite having never played or looked up the game, how well do you think Marcus will do? Will you fare any better? Play along and let us know!   Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:33 - Challenge Revealed 1:14 - The Rules 2:41 - Character #1 4:05 - Backstory #1 6:35 - Character #2 7:26 - Backstory #2 9:35 - Character #3 11:30 - Backstory #3 13:00 - Character #4 1 4:37 - Backstory #4 16:37 - Character #5 17:55 - Backstory #5 20:10 - Recap 22:00 - Outro
22:57
May 03, 2022
Death's Door | Indie Game Spotlight
Death's Door | Indie Game Spotlight
This week we talk about Acid Nerve's new indie release Death's Door! In this game you play as an adorable crow, and we appreciate that. Join us for another classic episode with all the usual segments, as well as some crow facts and book recommendations! Send us questions and comments that you want read on the show at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Most of the music featured in this episode comes from composer David Fenn. You can purchase the soundtrack to "Death's Door" HERE: https://davidfennmusic.bandcamp.com/album/deaths-door Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:00 - Main Discussion 5:01 - ☆ Star Pieces 6:40 - Quick Jabs 12:22 - Who's the Fake Fan? 15:17 - Rabbit Holes 20:16 - Outro 21:16 - Bonus Scenes
21:51
April 28, 2022
The Legend of Zelda | Name That Tune!
The Legend of Zelda | Name That Tune!
We're back for another round, this time to see who's the fakest fan of the Zelda series! This time we're playing "Name That Tune," and you can play along! Both of us will play 10 music tracks from 10 different mainline Zelda games; you score 1 point for guessing the game correctly, and an additional point if you can also name where in the game that track plays. Will you score higher than either of us? Let us know! Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:08 - The Rules 2:22 - Marcus Track #1 3:22 - Marcus Track #2 4:13 - Marcus Track #3 5:02 - Marcus Track #4 5:45 - Marcus Track #5 6:57 - Marcus Track #6 7:51 - Marcus Track #7 8:43 - Marcus Track #8 9:44 - Marcus Track #9 10:24 - Marcus Track #10 11:27 - Jared's Results 11:51 - Jared Track #1 12:55 - Jared Track #2 13:40 - Jared Track #3 14:36 - Jared Track #4 14:55 - Jared Track #5 15:39 - Jared Track #6 17:07 - Jared Track #7 17:44 - Jared Track #8 19:45 - Jared Track #9 21:54 - Jared Track #10 22:18 - Marcus's Results 22:41 - Tie Breaker Round 1 24:19 - Tie Breaker Round 2 25:31 - Tie Breaker Round 3 26:49 - Final Results! 27:26 - Outro 28:22 - Marcus Track #???
28:57
April 11, 2022
Kirby and the Forgotten Land | Discussion (feat. Matthew Taranto!)
Kirby and the Forgotten Land | Discussion (feat. Matthew Taranto!)
This week we are very honored to have Matthew Taranto (Brawl in the Family & Tadpole Treble) on the show to discuss Kirby's newest game! We're bringing back all our classic segments like Star Pieces and Quick Jabs, and even compete with Matthew to see who's the fakest Kirby fan. Stick around to the end of the episode to hear about Matthew's newest book, "Gamemaster Classified!" To learn more about Gamemaster Classified, take a look at its Kickstarter page!: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/437762268/gamemaster-classified ...and pre-order it here!: https://gamemasterclassified.backerkit.com/hosted_preorders ...and while you're at it, also check out Tadpole Treble on Nintendo Switch!: https://www.nintendo.com/store/products/tadpole-treble-encore-switch/ Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:23 - Introducing our Special Guest! 1:18 - Main Discussion 6:23 - Listener Comment / Favorite Powers 9:21 - Star Pieces 13:10 - Quick Jabs 16:45 - Who's the Fake Fan? 23:57 - "Gamemaster Classified" 29:01 - Outro
30:44
April 05, 2022
GDC 2022 - Interview w/ Marcus
GDC 2022 - Interview w/ Marcus
In this mini-sode, Marcus regales us with tales from his time in San Francisco at GDC 2022! Join us as we listen discuss what it was like to network with people in the games industry, nab free swag at the expo, play video games using ketchup and mustard bottles, and even meet someone we've discussed in a previous episode! Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs
13:25
March 30, 2022
Who's the Fake Fan? - Special Episode!
Who's the Fake Fan? - Special Episode!
It's our show, but this time we only included the best segment! This episode Jared and Marcus are going toe-to-toe to see who's the fake fan this week. Expect all sorts of trivia questions, bad puns, and even a "Name That Sound Effect" challenge! The stakes are high - will their friendship survive? It's time to find out... Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs ---- "Um, Actually..." YouTube channel (language warning): https://www.youtube.com/c/umactually Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:54 - Jared Challenge 1 (Um, Actually...) 4:27 - Marcus Challenge 1 (Paper Mario: TYD) 7:14 - Jared Challenge 2 (Name That Quote) 9:45 - Marcus Challenge 2 (Animal Crossing Puns) 12:57 - Jared Challenge 3 (Controller Buttons) 14:24 - Marcus Challenge 3 (BotW Geography) 16:16 - Jared Challenge 4 (Spelling Bee) 18:23 - Marcus Challenge 4 (A Short Hike's Fantasy Books) 21:59 - Jared Challenge 5 (Name That SFX) 27:42 - Marcus Challenge 5 (Name That Tune) 32:53 - FINAL Challenge! (Name That SFX) 38:16 - Winner Decided! 39:40 - Outro 41:05 - Bonus Scenes
42:03
March 21, 2022
Risk of Rain 2, Games for Ukraine, & More!
Risk of Rain 2, Games for Ukraine, & More!
We've got a slew of things to discuss this week, beginning with Jared taking first place in the Mina the Hollower art competition! It was such a honor to participate! After that we're spotlighting a charity games bundle, the sales of which will assist the victims of the conflict in Ukraine. Then, we've got some stray thoughts on Risk of Rain 2. As always, thanks for Leveling With Us! Mina the Hollower Art Contest Results: https://www.yachtclubgames.com/blog/mina-the-hollower-art-contest-results itch.io's Bundle for Ukraine: https://itch.io/b/1316/bundle-for-ukraine Contact us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs ---- Music Credits: "Mina the Hollower" music by Jake Kaufman. You can find more of his music here: https://virt.bandcamp.com/ "Risk of Rain 2" music by Chris Christodoulou. You can find more of his music here: https://www.chrischristodoulou.com/ "Hades" music by Darren Korb. Full soundtrack here: https://supergiantgames.bandcamp.com/album/hades-original-soundtrack Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:30 - Mina the Hollower Art Contest WIN! 4:46 - itch.io's Bundle for Ukraine 9:12 - Risk of Rain 2 - What is even happening? 10:55 - Main Discussion Begins 13:58 - Quick Jabs 16:24 - How About This Instead? 17:29 - Outro 18:19 - Bonus Scene (Art Contest Results Reaction)
20:03
March 14, 2022
PLAYSTATION EXCLUSIVES - Horizon, Ratchet & Clank, and more!
PLAYSTATION EXCLUSIVES - Horizon, Ratchet & Clank, and more!
Nintendo-WHO? It’s all about SONY now, baby! This week we’ve finally ventured outside our comfort-zone to play and chat about some Playstation games! We'll go over some of the biggest exclusives on the PS4 and PS5, including Horizon Zero Dawn, Ghost of Tsushima, and Returnal. Fair warning: this is a loosely edited episode compared to what we usually produce, but while we don't do our regular segments this time, we do manage to slip in some Quick Jabs. Also, weirdly juicy sound effects! Special thanks to Dan for his generous lending of his Playstation consoles to us for this episode! You can find some of his stuff here: http://octopusdeathpunch.com/ Music provided by Lofi Girl Listen: bit.ly/lofigirI-playlists Albums used: -“Solemn” by Towerz -“Zero” by Sebastian Kamae x Aylior Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 4:03 - What are Sony games like for Nintendo fans? 5:44 - God of War 8:17 - It Takes Two 9:30 - Shadow of the Colossus 11:51 - Ratchet & Clank 13:16 - Ghost of Tsushima 17:27 - Horizon Zero Dawn 24:44 - Astro's Playroom 27:36 - Returnal 29:47 - Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart 34:23 - Kena: Bridge of Spirits 36:24 - Spider-Man: Miles Morales 40:30 - Nier: Automata 41:47 - Journey 43:55 - Demon's Souls 44:40 - Wrap-Up Discussion 47:58 - Outro 49:24 - Bonus Scene
49:50
March 07, 2022
Mina The Hollower | Audio Play PREVIEW
Mina The Hollower | Audio Play PREVIEW
We don't have a regular episode today, mainly because Jared... did a thing! And he wants your feedback on it! This week we're sharing a short preview of an audio play he produced for the "Mina The Hollower" Art Contest (with music by Marcus!). If you want to hear the full version of Jared's art contest submission, you can find it here: https://youtu.be/Na7mnjfhb4o We'll be back next week with an extra-long episode, so until then, we'll Level With You next time!
03:32
February 28, 2022
Shovel Knight Pocket Dungeon | Indie Game Spotlight
Shovel Knight Pocket Dungeon | Indie Game Spotlight
Steel Thy Shovel! We've been on a Yacht Club Games kick lately, so we thought it'd be worth checking out their recent release! This game seems to put the action in action/puzzle game, and it hooked us way more than we expected! Join us for a cozy discussion on our favorite characters, a math-y trivia question, and even some thoughts on the new Cuphead Show! Send us questions and comments that you want read on the show at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Most of the music featured in this episode comes from legendary composer Jake Kaufman. You can find more of it here: https://virt.bandcamp.com/ Super Auto Pets: https://teamwoodgames.com/ Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:45 - What is even happening with this game? 1:41 - Main Discussion Begins 3:51 - Favorite Characters 6:12 - The Difficulty 7:03 - ☆ Star Pieces 9:36 - Quick Jabs 12:55 - Who's the Fake Fan? 16:38 - Rabbit Holes 22:40 - Outro 24:31 - Bonus Scenes
25:26
February 21, 2022
It Takes Two | Discussion (w/ a special guest!)
It Takes Two | Discussion (w/ a special guest!)
Happy Valentine's Day! In a day all about celebrating our relationships with people close to us, what better game to check out than the award-winning It Takes Two? And, once again, this week we've got another special guest host! Join Jared and his wife Mariah as they discuss how brutally tearing apart stuffed animals can actually maybe make you grow closer as a couple? Send us questions and comments that you want read on the show at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Stardew Valley the Board Game: https://shop.stardewvalley.net/products/stardew-valley-the-board-game CatManJon YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfreE_NAbcEYPoHq-xV-bFg Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:01 - What's Happening? 2:18 - Main Discussion Begins 4:46 - Is this game good for couples? 6:51 - Our Favorite Levels 8:51 - Star Pieces 10:40 - Quick Jabs 12:48 - Who's the Fake Fan? 15:42 - Rabbit Holes 19:18 - Outro 20:39 - Bonus Scene
20:50
February 14, 2022
Pokémon Legends: Arceus | Q&A w/ a Pokémon Veteran
Pokémon Legends: Arceus | Q&A w/ a Pokémon Veteran
We may be enjoying Pokémon Legends: Arceus, but what about a verified Pokémon veteran? Well, let's ask one!! This week Jared interviews special guest (and game developer!) Hyrum about his thoughts on Arceus's new battle system, what Nuzlockes could potentially look like, and a brand new kickstarter that was just revealed! If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Mina the Hollower Kickstarter: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/yachtclubgames/mina-the-hollower Wholesome Bidoof Short: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTidwW3iLHk&ab_channel=TheOfficialPok%C3%A9monYouTubechannel Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:00 - Main Discussion Begins 3:05 - The Battle System 4:27 - Competitive Play 5:40 - Nuzlockes...? 8:00 - Star Pieces 9:13 - Quick Jabs 11:10 - Who's the Fake Fan? 13:46 - Rabbit Holes 18:22 - Outro 19:29 - Bonus Scenes 19:44 - Open Letter to Game Freak
20:37
February 07, 2022
Pokémon Legends: Arceus | First Impressions
Pokémon Legends: Arceus | First Impressions
We're back! Everyone seems to be loving Pokémon Legends: Arceus, but does it resonate with us? Join us for a cozy chat about our first impressions of the game, the sound Kricketune makes, and maybe even a tangent about Jared's favorite fast food restaurant. If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Marcus's Radio Drama "Reverse Speak": https://anchor.fm/thefirelightproject/episodes/Reverse-Speak-Audio-Drama-by-Marcus-Richardson-e1dieiq Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:40 - Main Discussion Begins 2:02 - The Gameplay 4:49 - The Story 6:54 - The Visuals 7:41 - Star Pieces 10:26 - Quick Jabs 12:54 - Who's the Fake Fan? 16:53 - Rabbit Holes 21:30 - Outro 23:03 - Bonus Scene
23:19
January 31, 2022
Our Favorite Games of the Year - 2021
Our Favorite Games of the Year - 2021
Curl up by the fire and enjoy some holiday cheer as we reflect on the games that made 2021 so great! While not every game on our list may have come out this year, these are the ones that we experienced for the first time - and left a lasting impression on us. Let us know what your favorite games of the year were by writing us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! Stay safe and happy holidays! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:37 - This Year Overall 2:27 - Honorable Mentions 6:09 - Jared's #5 7:38 - Marcus's #5 9:43 - Jared's #4 / Marcus's #3 11:28 - Marcus's #4 14:04 - Jared's #3 15:39 - Marcus's #2 / Jared's #2 19:06 - Jared's #1 20:15 - Marcus's #1 22:26 - The Importance of Indies 23:38 - Most Anticipated Games of 2022 25:40 - Outro 26:09 - Special Marcus Musical Number! 28:16 - Bonus Scene
28:30
December 20, 2021
Professor Layton | RETROSPECTIVE (feat. DearestHershel)
Professor Layton | RETROSPECTIVE (feat. DearestHershel)
Professor, this reminds me of a puzzle! Welcome to our retrospective of the Professor Layton series - our biggest episode yet! Featuring special guest Bob from DearestHershel, a venerable Professor Layton expert, join us as we discuss the series' high points, low points, and every game and spin-off in-between! DearestHershel's YouTube channel: https://youtube.com/dearesthershel If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 2:13 - What is "Professor Layton?" / Our History with the Series 4:57 - Professor Layton and the Curious Village 9:41 - Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box / Pandora's Box 14:33 - Professor Layton and the Unwound Future / Lost Future 18:15 - Marcus's "Unwound Future Musical" (+Villain Song!) 20:25 - Professor Layton and the Last Specter / Spectre's Call 25:16 - Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask 28:38 - Professor Layton and the Azran Legacy 32:17 - Professor Layton vs. Phoenix Wright 35:41 - Layton's Mystery Journey: Katrielle and the Millionaires' Conspiracy 41:26 - Spin-off's! Eternal Diva, Layton Bros. Mystery Room, etc. 44:22 - Top 2, Bottom 2 46:03 - Reaper Review 53:38 - Outro 55:05 - Bonus Scenes
56:06
December 13, 2021
Pokemon Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl | First Impressions
Pokemon Brilliant Diamond & Shining Pearl | First Impressions
...Marcus? MARCUS?! Oh, that's right, he's on break! This week, Jared's flying solo to discuss the new Pokemon remakes. Are they a welcome blast of nostalgia? Or should they even exist? Let's talk about it, and while we're at it, let's also discuss a very similar game: 2018's God of War. If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:58 - TLDR 1:15 - General Discussion 2:26 - Visuals 5:19 - Mechanics 7:49 - Rabbit Hole 11:04 - Outro
12:19
December 06, 2021
Deponia | First Impressions
Deponia | First Impressions
Are point-and-clicks still a thing? Apparently! This week we're discussing our impressions of Deponia, as well as the strengths and weaknesses of the adventure game genre. You'll also be treated to Marcus trying to stump Jared with a bunch of gibberish words, and a short story about a voice actor Jared worked with recently. If you want your comments read on the show, you can message us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Chris Ramsey YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/ChrisRamsay52 Wolfwalkers: https://tv.apple.com/us/movie/wolfwalkers/umc.cmc.amuoq00hqelfi98j0gvg641x Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:40 - What's Happening? 1:07 - General Discussion 3:59 - Star Pieces 5:53 - Quick Jabs 10:09 - How about this instead? 12:22 - Reaper Review 15:16 - Rabbit Holes 18:43 - Outro 20:07 - Bonus Scene
22:25
November 29, 2021
The Future of Level With Us (w/ Lo-fi Beats)
The Future of Level With Us (w/ Lo-fi Beats)
Before our next episode releases next week, we thought it'd be helpful to know what games are on the horizon for Level With Us! So, here is a sneak preview, accompanied by some excellent lo-fi beats composed by Marcus himself. Happy listening! As always, if you have thoughts you'd like to have read on the show, reach out to us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com!
04:03
November 22, 2021
Demon Turf | Indie Game Spotlight
Demon Turf | Indie Game Spotlight
It's time to discuss Demon Turf - a new 3D platformer which uses 2D sprites for its characters. While we were left a little divided on it overall, we've got plenty to say about its great movement and rad music! Be sure to stick around till the end for a special musical number from Marcus to all our listeners (but especially the ones that reviewed our podcast!). ;) If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Marvel Dice Throne: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/dicethrone/marvel-dice-throne Music Credits: Demon Turf: https://demonturf.com/ Demon Turf OST: https://ffm.to/demonturfsoundtrack Demon Turf's Soundtrack was composed by Fat Bard & M.R. Miller All other original music in this episode was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:37 - What's Happening? 1:06 - General Discussion 6:47 - Star Pieces 9:25 - Quick Jabs 13:48 - How about this instead? 15:29 - Reaper Review 17:55 - Rabbit Holes 24:08 - Marcus's Thank-You Uke Song 25:32 - Outro 27:02 - Bonus Scene
27:38
November 15, 2021
A Short Hike | Indie Game Spotlight
A Short Hike | Indie Game Spotlight
We FINALLY get to talk about one of our favorite games of all time! A Short Hike is amazing, enough that we would recommend it to just about anyone. Still not convinced? Take a listen as we discuss the game design, struggle to come up with 'Quick Jabs,' and maybe even get a bit emotional about it. Oh! And as a special bonus, stick around for our 'Rabbit Holes' segment to hear a psuedo-Japanese-EDM track Marcus composed! If you want to have YOUR NAME sung by Marcus in a future episode, leave a review on Apple Podcasts or write it elsewhere and send a link to LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail [dot] com! You can also reach us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LvlWithUs -- Adam Robinson-Yu's fantastic GDC talk: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZW8gWgpptI8&t=1671s&ab_channel=GDC Music Credits: "A Short Hike Soundtrack" was composed by Mark Sparling https://marksparling.ca/ https://marksparling.bandcamp.com/music All original music in this episode (including the EDM track "Kandy Wedding") was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:45 - What's Happening? 1:36 - General Discussion 6:42 - Star Pieces 10:28 - Quick Jabs 13:05 - Reaper Review 16:13 - Rabbit Holes 22:10 - Outro 23:52 - Bonus Scene
24:18
November 08, 2021
Slay the Spire, Dicey Dungeons, & Griftlands | Triple-Decker Deck-Builder Deluxe Discussion!
Slay the Spire, Dicey Dungeons, & Griftlands | Triple-Decker Deck-Builder Deluxe Discussion!
3 games in one episode?! This time, we are covering three of the best indie games that have "deck-building," a board game mechanic Jared just can't get enough of: Slay the Spire, Dicey Dungeons, & Griftlands! You can expect less segments this time, but fear not, we've still got a couple quick jabs to get off our chests. Plus, stay tuned after the credits for a special educational lesson from Marcus! If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! Music Credits: All original music in this episode was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:50 - Slay the Spire - What's Happening? 1:20 - Slay the Spire - General Discussion 4:30 - Slay the Spire - Quick Jabs 5:48 - Dicey Dungeons - What's Happening? 6:29 - Dicey Dungeons - General Discussion 9:30 - Dicey Dungeons - Quick Jabs 12:53 - Griftlands - What's Happening? 13:38 - Griftlands - General Discussion 20:18 - Griftlands - Quick Jabs 22:25 - Final Thoughts 23:32 - Outro 24:51 - "Marcus's Grammar Corner"
26:55
November 01, 2021
Metroid Dread | SPOILER Discussion
Metroid Dread | SPOILER Discussion
Featuring our special guest/Metroid veteran Dallin, join us for a very spoiler-heavy discussion of Metroid Dread! Today we'll be talking about the ending, debating exactly how much foreign DNA Samus has, and trying very hard not to keep mentioning Hollow Knight. If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com!   Dallin's Music: https://soundcloud.com/dallinfrank Marcus's Music: https://open.spotify.com/artist/3WtF1SWhU6IzZaKWRI3yAL Celestial Horizons: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGNAMDqanKd_q9TOvVvWc1Q/featured --- Music Credits: The excellent remixes of Metroid music you heard in this episode can be found on OCREMIX.org, and links to each one of them are listed below: “The Unnamed Frontier” by Pyro Paper Planes & Viking Guitar https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR02892 “Kraidzy Dance” by Dirty Delay https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR02708 “Metro Trans Funk” by Franz Keller https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR00192 “The Last Metroid” by ymK https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR04252 “Samus Bubblebath” by Shnabubula https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR01770 “Depths of Maridia” by CrimzonWolf777 https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR02671 The Metroid-inspired music for the intro was provided by Marcus and our guest Dallin! All other original music, including a track from “Celestial Horizons,” was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 1:58 - [Spoilers] What's Happening? 2:43  - Story Discussion 8:07 - Gameplay Discussion 14:34 - Quick Jabs 20:56 - ☆ Star Pieces 25:23 - Reaper Review 30:02 - Rabbit Holes 35:03 - Outro 36:22 - Bonus Scenes
37:37
October 18, 2021
Metroid Dread | First Impressions
Metroid Dread | First Impressions
The Dreaded day has arrived…and we’re here to talk about it! This week we’ll be going over our first impressions of Metroid Dread (minor spoilers for the first two bosses/areas in the game), and next week we’ll do a full-on spoiler discussion as well! Listen to us gush about the animation in the game, share a quiz question for our listeners, and offer a sincere, heartfelt plea from Marcus. If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! "Twinetroid": https://www.metroid-database.com/wp-content/uploads/Metroid/Twinetroid/Twinetroid.html Did You Know Gaming?'s video covering it: https://youtu.be/iXwEgDjozQI Music Credits: The excellent remixes of Metroid music you heard in this episode can be found on OCREMIX.org, and links to each one of them are listed below: “The Unnamed Frontier” by Pyro Paper Planes & Viking Guitar https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR02892 “Kraidzy Dance” by Dirty Delay https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR02708 “Metro Trans Funk” by Franz Keller https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR00192 “The Last Metroid” by ymK https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR04252 “Samus Bubblebath” by Shnabubula https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR01770 “Shinesparks” by Nicholas Tam https://ocremix.org/remix/OCR02712 All other original music was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus!   Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:45 - What's Happening? 1:14  - General Discussion 10:27 - Quick Jabs 13:54 - ☆ Star Pieces 17:17 - Reaper Review 20:04 - Rabbit Holes 24:41 - A Heartfelt Plea... 25:44 - Outro 26:34 - Bonus Scenes
26:60
October 11, 2021
TOEM | Indie Game Spotlight
TOEM | Indie Game Spotlight
It's time to get cozy and take some pictures with the new indie game TOEM! Relax as Marcus serenades Jared with a live melodica performance, Jared talks about his love of squishy sock sound effects, and a special surprise at the 10 minute mark! If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! Music Credits: Some of the music you heard here is from the soundtrack of TOEM and was used with permission from developers 'Something We Made,' as well as composers Launchable Socks and Jamal Green. You can find more of their music on their websites: Launchable Socks: https://launchablesocks.com/ Jamal Green: https://www.jamalgreenmusic.com/music/ All other original music was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:31 - What's Happening? 0:53  - General Discussion 7:46 - ☆ Star Pieces 10:04 - Marcus's "Toem-Inspired" Music Track 11:46 - Quick Jabs 13:24 - Reaper Review 17:24 - Rabbit Holes 23:46 - Outro 24:58 - Bonus Scenes
25:51
September 27, 2021
WarioWare: Get It Together! | Review Discussion
WarioWare: Get It Together! | Review Discussion
Grab your friends, grab some garlic, and get it together with Jared & Marcus as we discuss Nintendo's newest party game! Join us as we discuss our favorite characters from the game, some gripes with the unlockable content, and most importantly: air-fryer-made pancakes. If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! Music Credits: Some of the music you heard here can also be heard in the game “WarioWare: Get It Together!” and qualifies as fair use: "Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use."  All other original music was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:33 - What's Happening? 1:07 - General Discussion 10:12 - ☆ Star Pieces 13:39 - Quick Jabs 17:19 - Reaper Review 19:25 - Rabbit Holes 24:34 - Outro 25:39 - Bonus Scenes
26:46
September 20, 2021
Overboard! | Indie Game Spotlight
Overboard! | Indie Game Spotlight
Join us for a short discussion on a little "reverse-detective" indie title called Overboard! In this episode you'll hear how Jared completely flubbed his first run, Marcus gets educated on gambling laws, and also a pretty decent motorcycle impersonation. If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! Music Credits: Some of the music you heard here can also be heard in the game “Overboard” and exists in the public domain. This includes 'Main Stem,' 'Kelli’s Number,' Stardust,' and 'Bayou Farewell,' by the US Army Blues. You also heard “The Banshee. Gravel Walks. The Old Copperplate” by ‘Sláinte’. Creative Commons License: CC-BY-SA All other original music was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:33 - What's Happening? 1:05 - General Discussion 10:06 - ☆ Star Pieces 12:01 - Quick Jabs 14:08 - Reaper Review 18:32 - Rabbit Holes 22:05 - Outro 23:16 - Bonus Scenes
23:58
September 13, 2021
NEO: The World Ends With You - Week 3 Discussion
NEO: The World Ends With You - Week 3 Discussion
We've reached the end of Neo! Join us for one last discussion about the game's ending, how we felt about the game overall, and because we couldn't fit ALL of Jared's complaints, stay tuned after the credits for some BONUS quick jabs! If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! Music Credits: “Calling” cover by LegendAV Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNmP0nnM-xM&ab_channel=Legendav ‘ZigZag’ by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ All other original music was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:37 - What's Happening? 2:14 - General Discussion 14:47 - ☆ Star Pieces 18:25 - Quick Jabs 22:22 - Reaper Review 25:56 - Rabbit Holes 30:32 - Outro 31:41 - Bonus Quick Jabs (+ bloopers)
33:10
September 09, 2021
NEO: The World Ends With You - Week 2 Discussion
NEO: The World Ends With You - Week 2 Discussion
We are now on Week 2! Join us as we discuss the arguably biggest reveal of the game, Motoi's terrible "words of wisdom," and... knitting? If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! Music Credits: “Calling” cover by LegendAV Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNmP0nnM-xM&ab_channel=Legendav ‘ZigZag’ by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ All other original music was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:37 - What's Happening? 2:10 - General Discussion 8:46 - Surprise Award...? 11:25 - ☆ Star Pieces 17:54 - Quick Jabs 21:57 - Reaper Review 25:51 - Rabbit Holes 31:59 - Outro 33:15 - Bonus Scenes
33:58
August 30, 2021
NEO: The World Ends With You - Week 1 Discussion
NEO: The World Ends With You - Week 1 Discussion
Welcome to the very first episode of Level With Us! This is a cozy video game discussion podcast where we play a game section-by-section with our listeners, then meet together to discuss it (think of it like a book club!). If you have thoughts you'd like featured in our regular discussions, just e-mail us at LevelWithUsPodcast [at] gmail.com! This week we are covering Week 1 of ‘NEO: The World Ends With You’. Spoilers ahead! Music Credits: “Calling” cover by LegendAV Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNmP0nnM-xM&ab_channel=Legendav ‘ZigZag’ by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ All other original music was composed by Marcus. Thanks Marcus! Timestamps: 0:00 - Intro 0:48 - What's Happening? 2:15 - General Discussion 14:03 - ☆ Star Pieces 17:13 - Quick Jabs 21:16 - Reaper Review 25:23 - Rabbit Holes 30:21 - Outro 31:29 - Bonus Scene
32:11
August 23, 2021