Skip to main content
Lit These Days

Lit These Days

By Lit These Days Podcast
Jessica and Adam give book recommendations to listeners and discuss the books they're reading.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Doorstopper Fantasy Novels - Episode Forty-One
We are not sponsored by http://budgetbytes.com/. Go to LitTheseDaysPodcast.com to request your free book recommendation. Books discussed: Verity by Colleen Hoover  Unguarded by Scottie Pippen  How to Blog for Profit Without Selling Your Soul by Ruth Soukup  Animostiy 2-4 by Marguerite Bennet, Rafael de Latorre (Artist), Rob Schwager (Artist), Marshall Dillon (Artist) Addison Duke (Artist)  A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas  Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke  The City We Became by N. K. Jemison  The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon
59:03
January 18, 2022
Books with Unlikeable Main Characters - Episode Forty
We discuss a lot of books with content warnings in this episode. Content warnings for drug use, animal abuse, and gore. If you would like a personalized reading recommendation, please visit litthesedayspodcast.com Everybody Writes by Ann Handley Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess Requiem for a Dream by Hubert Selby Jr. Queen of Angels by Riley Hennessey Verity by Colleen Hoover Misery by Stephen King Unguarded by Scotty Pippen Adele by Leila Slimani The Country of Others by Leila Slimani The Young Elites by Marie Lu Fletch by Gregory McDonald The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin
48:48
January 11, 2022
Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump - Episode Thirty-Nine
Please fill out our book recommendation request form at litthesedayspodcast.com Books Discussed: Where Angels Fear to Tread by E.M. Forster The Collected Tales of E.M. Forster Henry Miller’s Book of Friends by Henry Miller Post-Truth by Lee McIntyre Nihilism by Nolan Gertz Cynicism by Ansgar Allen The Book by Amaranth Borsuk Annotation by Remi H. Kalir Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut Oroonoko by Aphra Behn The Little Book of Lost Words by Joe Gallard Lou Reed: A Life by Anthony Decurtis Piranesi by Susanna Clark Dave Grohl The Storyteller The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin Far Sector by N.K. Jemisin The Personal MBA by Josh Kaufmann Mom 100 by Haro Also and Kotaro Takata On Tyranny by Timothy Snyder Literally any Robin Hobb book (check out PeruseProject on YouTube for reviews of her books) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Red Room by Ed Piskor Queen of Angels by Riley Hennesey Sabrina and Corina by Kali Fajardo-Anstine The Best of Me by David Sedaris The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon Little Feasts by Jules Archer. Full review of Little Feasts: https://www.themarkliteraryreview.com/post/book-review-little-feasts-by-jules-archer His Name is Cwiz by Jeremy Rhine The Inexplicable Grey Space We Call Love by Chuck Augello Dry by Augustin Burrows Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers
57:40
January 04, 2022
Books We're Excited to Read in 2022 - Episode Thirty-Eight
What are you excited to read in 2022? Are you looking for some recommendations? We give out free book recommendations every week! Would you like one? Fill out the form on our website: litthesedayspodcast.com. Books Discussed: Animosity Volume 1: The Wake by Marguerite Bennett, Mike Marts, Raael de Latorre The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas A Touch of Darkness by Scarlett St. Clair Ghost Jason Reynolds The Personal MBA by Josh Kaufmann A Room with a View by E.M. Forester Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston You Don’t Know Us Negros and Other Essays by Zora Neale Hurston Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick by Zora Neale Hurston All Marketers Tell Stories by Seth Godin Reclaim the Stars: 17 Tales Across Realms and Space by Zoraida Cordova Unapologetically Ambitious: Take Risks, Break Barriers, and Create Success on Your Own Terms by Shellye Archambeau Left on Tenth Brightsided: How the Relentless Promotion of Positive Thinking has Undermined America by Barbara Ehrenreich An Ember in the Ashes Sabaa Tahir All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir Nickled and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich Book Lovers by Emily Henry People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry Beach Read by Emily Henry
50:51
December 28, 2021
Our Top Ten Books of 2021 - Episode Thirty-Seven
Books discussed: Building a Story Brand by Donald Miller  Akira, Volumes 1-6 by Katsuhiro Otomo, Toko Umezawa and Linda M. York (Translator)  Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Philips  The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides  Zoo by James Patterson  Maximillian Ride Series by James Patterson  The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas  Pure Invention: How Japan's Pop Culture Conquered the World by Matt Alt  Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett  A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance by Hanif Abdurriqib  People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry  Kaiju Score by James Patrick, Rem Broo (Artist)  The Dating Plan by Sarah Desai  Parable of the Sower (Earthseed #1) by Octavia Butler  His Name is Cwiz: Lessons from a Lifelong Friendship by Jeremy Rhyne  A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood  Helium by Rudy Francisco  The Department of Truth, Vol. 1: The End of the World by James Tynion IV, Martin Simmonds (Artist)  Karmen by Guillem March  Miseducated by Brandon P. Fleming  Evil Genuises: The Unmaking of America by Kurt Anderson  Fantasyland: How America Went Haywire: A 500-Year History by Kurt Anderson  You Feel It Just Below the Ribs by Jeffrey Cranor and Janina Matthewson  Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
01:17:60
December 22, 2021
Audiobooks for People Who Don't Listen to Audiobooks - Episode Thirty-Six
Please remember to ask us for a book recommendation! Go to Litthesedayspodcast.com to ask for one. Books Discussed: The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas  Under the Moon by Lauren Myracle  Lore Olympus: Volume 1 by Rachel Smith  The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides  Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsay  Everybody Writes by Anne Handley  Exit West by Mohsin Hamid  Kaijumaxx Season 4: Scaly is the New Black by Zander Cannon  Lore by Alexandra Bracken The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken  Breakfast at Tiffany's by Truman Capote  The Disaster Artist by Greg Sestero, Tom Bissell  Miles: The Autobiography by Miles Davis, Quincy Troupe  So You've Been Publicly Shamed by Jon Ronson  Bossypants by Tina Fey
01:00:59
December 07, 2021
Ancient Plays, Anyone? Episode Thirty-Five
Jessica and Adam talk about the books they've finished, what they're currently reading, and give book recommendations to their listeners. Follow us on Instagram @LitTheseDaysPodcast Join our Discord: Discord.com/invite/xsrz5vAutd Books discussed: Night of the Living Dead by John Russo  The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas  The Complete Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey  The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides  Shake Loose My Skin by Sonia Sanchez  October Mourning: A Song for Matthew Shepard by Leslea Newman  Helium by Rudy Francisco  If My Body Could Speak by Blythe Baird  A Fortune for Your Disaster by Hanif Abdurriqib  Circe by Madeline Miller  The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller  Lysistrata by Aristophanes  Oedipus Rex by Sophocles  Antigone by Sophocles  The Iceman Cometh by Eugene O'Neill
42:27
November 30, 2021
Enemies to Lovers - Episode Thirty-Four
Adam and Jessica discuss the books they've finished, what they're reading, and give enemies to lovers recommendations.
40:51
November 24, 2021
Books to Read at Stoplights - Episode Thirty-Three
Books Discussed: - Far Sector by N. K. Jemisin and Jamal Campbell (Art)  - Deperate Measures by Katie Roberts  - Notes from Underground: Zines and the Politics of Alternative Culture by Stphen Duncombe  - The Actual Star by Veronica Byrne  - Songs in the Key of Z: The Curious World of Outsider Art by Irwin Chusid  - The Guest List by Lucy Foley  - The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson and Reg Keeeland (Translator)  - Verity by Colleen Hoover  - Devil in a Blue Dress by Walter Mosely  - Fearless Jones by Walter Mosely
52:19
November 16, 2021
Jess Offends Herself - Episode Thirty-Two
Our Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/litthesedayspodcast/ Our Discord: https://discord.gg/xsRz5vAutd Books Discussed: Notes from Underground: Zines and the Politics of Alternative Culture by Stephen Duncomb   Helium by Rudy Francisco   4,000 Weeks: Time Management for Mortals by Oliver Burkeman   Smashed by Junji Ito   Desperate Measures Katie Robert   The Living Dead by George Romero and Daniel Kraus   Songs in the Key of Z: The Curious Universe of Outsider Music by Irwin Chusid   The Life of Edgar Allan Poe by William Fearing Gill   A Great Unrecorded History: A New Life of E. M. Forster by Wendy Moffat  Howard's End by E. M. Forster   A Room with a View by E. M. Forster
01:01:04
November 10, 2021
A Table of Steamy Books - Episode Thirty-One
Books Discussed A Touch of Darkness by Scarlett St. Clair No Longer Human by Osamu Dazai (Adapted by Junji Ito) The Room by Herbert Selby Jr. Everybody Writes by Anne Handley Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas Out of Love by Hazel Hayes Desperate Measures by Katee Roberts Den of Vipers by K. A. Knight Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes to A Tribe Called Quest by Hanif Abdurraqib 4,000 Weeks: Time Management for Mortals by Oliver Burkeman The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold A Slaying in the Suburbs: The Tara Grant Murder by Steve Miller and Andrea Billups Lucky by Alice Sebold The Nanny by Gilly Macmillan
01:02:07
November 02, 2021
Spooky Season Recommendations - Episode Thirty
Spooky season recommendations to get you in the mood for Halloween!
01:02:20
October 26, 2021
Swoonworthy Supernatural Reads - Episode Twenty-Nine
One of our listeners asked for swoon worthy supernatural reading recommendations! Oh yeah, Jessica was made for this one.  Can you help us? We're looking for more people to ask us for book recommendations. You can ask us for a book that's similar to another you've read, for example. Maybe you're looking for something in a specific genre? Visit our website litthesedayspodcast.com to request a recommendation. And, if you're having trouble coming up with a question, you can visit our blog for inspiration. Books discussed in this episode: This Jade World by Ira Sukrungruang Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix Scythe by Neal Schusterman Skeleton Creek by Patrick Carman A Touch of Darkness by Scarlett St. Clair It Came from the Video Aisle: Inside Charles Band's Full Moon Entertainment Studio by David Jay, Torsten Dewi, and William Wilson Circe by Madeline Miller Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick A Court of Honey and Ash by Kelly St. Clare and Shannon Mayer You Feel it Just Below the Ribs by Janina Matthewson and Jeffrey Cranor Yeats is Dead! a Mystery by Fifteen Irish Writers
27:41
October 19, 2021
Our First Guest! Episode Twenty-Eight
We have our very first guest on the podcast! Olivia Dolphin, founder and editor-in-chief of Wizards in Space, talks about her upcoming release and the magic behind the literary magazine.  Wizards in Space link: https://www.wizardsinspacemag.com Our Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/litthesedayspodcast/ Our Discord: https://discord.gg/xsRz5vAutd
31:37
October 12, 2021
Big Brain Power - Episode Twenty-Seven
Thanks for listening to us ramble about the books we’re reading! This week, Tucker asked for a super personal book recommendation that was challenging to answer! (But we love a good challenge.) Follow us on Instagram @LitTheseDaysPodcast Join our Discord: https://discord.com/invite/xsRz5vAutd Books Discussed: The Midnight Library by Matt Haig How to Stop Time by Matt Haig A Boy Named Christmas by Matt Haig Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy Skeleton Creek #1 by Patrick Carmen Ghost by Jason Reynolds The Giver by Lois Lawry Among the Hidden Margaret Haddeaux-Peterson This Jade World by Ira Miles on Miles Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas Spaceman of Bohemia by Jaroslav Kalfar Breakfast with Buddha by Roland Marulo Glue by Irvin Welsh
38:47
October 05, 2021
The Next 1984? Episode Twenty-Six
Thanks for listening! Adam and Jessica talk about the books they finished, what they're currently reading, and they give recommendations to their listeners. This week, our listener is looking for a gothic novel that's set in modern day. Our Instagram - @LitTheseDaysPodcast Our Discord - https://discord.gg/byq5aTWc Books Discussed: You Feel It Just Below the Ribs A Clockwork Orange Ghost by Jason Reynolds Looking for Alaska It’s Kind of a Funny Story The Millionaire Real Estate Agent Miles on Miles: Interviews with Miles Davis This Jade World His Name is Cwiz Mexican Gothic Daughters of the Lake The Shining The Death of Mrs. Westaway One By One Horrorstor Ninth House
40:25
September 29, 2021
BOOOOOOOOOAT - Episode Twenty-Five
Adam and Jessica talk about the books they're reading and give book recommendations to someone who wants a read-alike for The Midnight Library! If you want a personalized reading recommendation, visit litthesedayspodcast.com and fill out the quick form. Our Instagram: @LitTheseDaysPodcast Our Discord: https://discord.gg/byq5aTWc Books Discussed: The Heart Principle by Helen Hoang The Midnight Library by Matt Haig The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo Mobile Suit Gundam by Yoshiyuki Tomino Akira by Katsuhiro Otomo You Feel It Just Below the Ribs by Janina Matthewson and Jeffrey Cranor The Trouble with Authority: A Psychological Memoir and Field Guide on How to Survive the Maddening Erratic Behavior of Mankind by Joseph D. Reich Three Philosophies and One Reality & NHK Radio Talks by Gudo Wafu Ghost by Jason Reynolds Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds How to Stop Time by Matt Haig Karmen by Guillem March The Immortalists Chloe Benjamin A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
56:44
September 22, 2021
Contemporary Romance is the Cure for Sadness - Episode Twenty Four
We're looking for more people to ask us for book recommendations! Visit litthesedayspodcast.com and fill out the quick form :) Join our Discord! https://discord.gg/aeJHvHDb Make sure to follow us on Instagram @litthesedayspodcast Books in this episode: The Midnight Library Neon Genesis Evangelion A Little Life Her Royal Spyness Outside Lies Magic Adam's Navel An Ember in the Ashes The Heart Principle The Kiss Quotient The Bride Test The Dating Plan Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger's The City We Became Lincoln and the Bardo The Dark Tower Series Weave World Foundryside
51:52
September 15, 2021
Zen Buddhism, Punk Rock, and Men in Rubber Monster Suits - Episode Twenty Three
Thanks for listening to us ramble about books! Recommendation question: "I'm really craving a good family saga story. Maybe along the lines of Ask Again, Yes or Saints for All Occasions or the Dearly Beloved." Books Discussed: Black Sun The Deep The Midnight Library Letters to a Dead Friend about Zen Everything is Figure-outable Cleaning Up Your Mental Mess Sit Down and Shut Up We Are the Brennans Middlesex The Virgin Suicides The Marriage Plot Of Women and Salt The Amazing Adventures of Cavalier and Clay
53:27
September 08, 2021
Superhero Punch Punch Pow Pow - Episode Twenty Two
Thanks for listening to us ramble about the books we're currently reading! Here's the recommendation question we answered in this episode: "I'm really craving a good family saga story. Maybe along the lines of Ask Again, Yes or Saints for All Occasions or the Dearly Beloved." If you would like a personalized reading recommendation, visit litthesedayspodcast.com to request one! Books Discussed: Den of Vipers by K.A. Knight X-O Manowar created by Jim Shooter, Steve Englehart, Bob Layton, and Barry Windsor-Smith The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys The Borrowers Afield by Mary Norton The Works of Edgar Allan Poe Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse The Nice House on the Lake by James Tynion IV Death by Discount by Mary Vermillion Her Royal Spyness by Rhys Bowen
56:20
September 01, 2021
Jessica is Extremely Embarrassed at Her Current Read
Want a personalized reading recommendation? Visit litthesedayspodcast.com.
59:59
August 25, 2021
Come for the Books, Stay for the Blooper Reel - Episode Twenty
Stay tuned for the blooper reel at the very end of the podcast! As always, Jessica and Adam discuss the books they're currently reading, the books they've finished, and they give recommendations to their listeners. This week's question comes from Anonymous who asks: "I’m looking for Latin American historical fiction (English or English translation is preferred, but I can read in Spanish too)! I liked The Murmur of Bees by Sofía Segovia, I Didn’t Talk by Beatriz Bracher, and Blood on the Dawn by Claudia Salazar Jiménez." If you want a personalized reading recommendation, visit litthesedayspodcast.com to fill out the form. Make sure you check out our Instagram! @LitTheseDaysPodcast Books discussed: War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett The Deep by Rivers Solomon Movies and Other Things by Shea Serrano Basketball and Other Things by Shea Serrano Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez How the Garcia Girls Lost their Accents by Julia Alvarez Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez Lord of the Flies by William Golding Life of Pi by Yann Martel
43:01
August 18, 2021
We Like Big Book Hauls and We Cannot Lie - Episode Nineteen
Wow, we have a huge book haul for you this week. Email us at litthesedays@gmail.com to let us know if you like our book hauls or not! Make sure you keep up with us on Instagram: @LitTheseDaysPodcast and click here to join our Discord. Visit our website litthesedayspodcast.com to request a personalized reading recommendation. Jessica talks about BookTuber Noelle Gallagher on the podcast today. Check her out! Books Discussed: The Pitchfork Review Volume 1 A Just Measure of Pain: the Penitentiary in the Industrial Revolution Michael Ignatieff Very Short Introductions from Oxford Press Beneath the Underdog by Charles Mingus Songs in the key of Z: the Curious Universe of Outsider Music by Irwin Chusid Critical Theory Today: a User Friendly Guide by Lois Tyson Pittsburgh Noir by Aubrey Hirsh The Shenley Experiment by Jake Oresick The Midnight Library by Matthew Haig Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt Johnathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse American Gods by Neil Gaiman Ask Again Yes by Mary Beth Keane It Ends with Us Colleen Hoover The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton Nihilism by Nolen Gertz MIT Press Essential Knowledge Series Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin Full Disclosure by Camryn Garrett The Easy Rawlins series by Walter Mosely The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros Girl by Jamaica Kincaid Front Desk by Kelly Yang First Comes Like by Alisha Rai Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes to a Tribe Called Quest by Hanif Abdurraqib
01:09:37
August 11, 2021
You Know I Like the Avant-Garde - Episode Eighteen
Adam and Jessica discuss their wild weekends, the books they've finished, and what they're currently reading. They also give recommendations for good coffee table books to pick up. Books discussed: Batman the Jiro Kuwata Batmanga Restart Gordon Korman War and Peace Leo Tolstoy 2084 Report James L. Powell The Invisible Husband of Frick Island Colleen Oakley The Ex Talk Rachel Lynn Solomon Radio Silence Alice Oseman Introducing Critical Theory a Graphic Guide Stuart Sim Miseducated by Brandon P. Fleming The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business Charles Duhigg The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People Stephen Covey Mythos Stephen Fry Ashley Kahn’s books on jazz (series) The Annotated Alice Lewis Carroll
01:07:08
August 04, 2021
Jessica Has Beef with Art and the American Education System - Episode Seventeen
Jessica and Adam discuss the books they're reading and give recommendations to Laura who asks: "I just read Shirley Jackson for the first time and while I can't say I enjoyed it (in fact often I felt queasy/icky/upset) I can't stop thinking about it and want to read more. Any thoughts on what to read next AND do you know of any good literary criticism of The Lottery and Other Stories?" Our website: litthesedayspodcast.com Our Instagram: @LitTheseDaysPodcast Our Discord: https://discord.gg/ARTydwMt Books discussed: The Deep by Rivers Solomon - check out the song that inspired it: https://discord.gg/ARTydwMt Farewell to Manzanar by James D. Houston and Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Volume 1 Maus by Art Spiegleman Yeats is dead edited by Joseph O'Connor Nihilism by Noel Gertz The Cold Equations by Tom Godwin The Veldt by Ray Bradbury Those Who Walk Away from Omelas by Ursula K. Le Guin Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth Franklin 
01:06:53
July 28, 2021
The *Steamiest* Episode We've Recorded - Episode Sixteen
No, not like that. This week, Jessica and Adam give romance recommendations and talk about their favorite essay collections. If you want a personalized reading recommendation, visit litthesedayspodcast.com and fill out the form. Books mentioned: The Parable of the Sower - Octavia Butler The Dating Plan - Sara Desai Psychopolitics, Neoliberalism and New Technologies of Power - Byung-Chul Han Tiny Beautiful Things - Cheryl Strayed X: A Highly Specific, Defiantly Incomplete History of the Early 21st Century - Chuck Klosterman His Name is Cwiz - Jeremy Rhyne Head Over Heels - Hannah Orenstein Beach Read - Emily Henry People We Meet on Vacation - Emily Henry
01:05:40
July 21, 2021
We Love Duels and Animal Crossing - Episode Fifteen
Jessica and Adam discuss their love of Animal Crossing along with the books they've been reading. Adam gives comic book recommendations.
01:13:12
July 14, 2021
Is War and Peace...Interesting? - Episode Fourteen
Adam and Jessica discuss the books they've finished reading, what they're currently reading, and they give fantasy book recommendations.
01:08:60
July 07, 2021
I Enjoy Books with Heavy Philosophy and Explicit Sex - Episode Thirteen
Jessica and Adam discuss their thoughts on People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry. They also talk about upcoming books they're excited about.  The podcast has a Discord now! Click the link to join: https://discord.com/invite/6tCRvrRR
51:40
June 30, 2021
Read Moby Dick When You Have an Existential Crisis - Episode Twelve
Jessica and Adam discuss the books they finished, what they're currently reading, and give small-press book recommendations.
01:00:16
June 23, 2021
Afrofuturism Recommendations - Episode Eleven
In this episode, Adam and Jessica discuss the books they've read recently, book to movie adaptations, and give Afrofuturism recommendations.
01:08:00
June 16, 2021
Power Rangers Meets Ghostbusters Meets The Shining - Episode Ten
In this episode, Adam talks about a book deemed "Power Rangers Meets Ghostbusters Meets The Shining," Jessica mentions her new favorite romance novel, and the two give small press book recommendations. If you want Jessica and Adam to give you a book recommendation, just send an email to themarkliteraryreview@gmail.com.
57:23
June 09, 2021
Books for People Who Hate Reading - Episode Nine
Jessica and Adam discuss what they've been reading and give recommendations for people who don't like reading. Jessica talks about The Mark Literary Review's June edition that just came out; you can access that here: themarkliteraryreview.com/june-2021
52:23
June 02, 2021
The Tea on John Green Books - Episode Eight
Adam and Jessica give their opinion on John Green books, talk about what they're excited to read in the future, and give a recommendation to someone who wants a summer read. If you want them to give you a recommendation on the podcast, email themarkliteraryreview@gmail.com or send a DM on Twitter to @LiteraryMark.
53:39
May 26, 2021
A Homeless Teenage Ninja Skateboarder? - Episode Seven
In this episode, Jessica and Adam talk about a comic that isn’t depressing, a book of short stories sure to make you laugh, and they give book recommendations for classics that won’t bore you to tears. If you want Jessica and Adam to recommend you a book, send in your question to themarkliteraryreview@gmail.com.
01:05:11
May 19, 2021
New Co-Host! - Episode Six
Jessica officially has a co-host! Everyone welcome Adam to the podcast. This week, Jessica and Adam talk about the books they've been reading and answer a book recommendation question from a listener. If you want Jessica and Adam to give you a book recommendation, send your question in to themarkliteraryreview@gmail.com and they might answer it on the podcast! Jessica also talks about her favorite spoken word poet in this episode and you can find the video she references here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3F0FfNiFss
50:26
May 12, 2021
How Do You Know When a Poem is Finished?
In this episode, Editor-in-Chief Jessica Purgett talks to Charles Carter, a poet with quite a few collections out now or forthcoming very soon. They talk about his collections, how you know when a poem is finished, and where to submit your work once it's done. The Mark Literary Review publishes a list of literary magazines that are open for submissions every Sunday. Check it out at themarkliteraryreview.com/blog
29:47
April 28, 2021
How Do You Start a Writing Group?
In this episode, Jessica interviews Alex Law, a law student who also runs a writing group. They talk about how to start your own writing group and how to keep people engaged once it's created. Alex also reads a piece Jessica published in The Mark Literary Review a few months ago called "Back When I was Charlie."
33:06
April 14, 2021
Two Editors Talking About Stuff and Things
In this episode, Jessica Purgett, editor of The Mark Literary Review, talks to Jeff Bogle, editor of a new literary magazine, Stanchion. They talk about why Jeff started a print magazine in 2020 (isn't print dead?), the editing process, and other editorial things.
55:04
March 31, 2021
The Coolest City Around
Jessica Purgett, Editor-in-Chief of The Mark Literary Review, interviews Chuck Augello about his short story collection The Inexplicable Grey Space We Call Love. They talk about his writing process, how he got published, and how being an editor of Cease, Cows helped his own writing. Chuck also reads Jessica's favorite story from the collection, "Cool City."
59:40
March 17, 2021
How do You Promote a Book?
Welcome to the first edition of "Lit These Days: Presented by The Mark Literary Review." In 2018, Jessica Purgett launched The Mark Literary Review, an online literary journal. She's published over 150 authors since its inception and now she's launching a podcast! In the first edition, she interviews Lori Hettler, a freelance book publicist. Lori discusses the books she's currently promoting as well as how to promote your own books should you choose to go it alone. 
19:49
March 03, 2021