Mint City Soccer Show

Mint City Soccer Show

By Mint City Collective
We love Charlotte. We love soccer. We love Charlotte soccer.

Listen every other week for Charlotte MLS news, the history of the beautiful game in Charlotte and interviews with folks who love Charlotte soccer as much as we do.

Brought to you by the Mint City Collective, Charlotte’s MLS supporters’ group.
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo
Breaker Logo
Google Podcasts Logo
Overcast Logo
Pocket Casts Logo
RadioPublic Logo
Spotify Logo
Currently playing episode

3: 2020 MLS Preview

Mint City Soccer Show

Go to next audioGo to next audio
Go to prev audioGo to prev audio
1x
9: Charlotte Football Club
"Soon" is now. Today we learned that the team we'll be cheering like maniacs for starting in 2022 will be called Charlotte Football Club. Say it again: Charlotte Football Club. In this episode, Johnny and Corey recorded their reactions while watching the reveal live (MINTED!), then they took a break before talking to one of the video's stars – MCC member Matt Chantry – about the making of the video and his thoughts on the branding.
45:55
July 22, 2020
8. Of Gliders and Townies
In what is probably the most ridiculous episode we've recorded, Johnny and Corey talk to Twitter stars Gary the Glider and Tommy the Townie about their ongoing feud and the upcoming Charlotte MLS branding announcement. In a (slightly) more series segment, we also discuss the news that the team's first season has been delayed to 2022 and predict what will happen on 7.22. Thanks to everyone who submitted questions for this show. Be sure to follow us on Twitter and Instagram @MintCityPod.
56:21
July 19, 2020
7: The League Awakens
Let's try this again: Our MLS experts Russell Varner and Chris Ashley return to preview the #MLSisBack tournament. We also talk about what Charlotte MLS is doing (and not doing) right now. Oh, and mayonnaise. We discuss mayonnaise.
1:08:35
June 21, 2020
6: PSLs? Branding? "Great value"?
Johnny and Corey hop on a Zoom call to talk about ... a Zoom call. Charlotte MLS leaders held a virtual meeting with Mint City Collective members and fans to talk about their approach to building a team, ticket sales and branding (kind of). We discussed our biggest takeaways from the meetings and dove into the news that the Tepper Dome might be closer to reality than we realized.
56:25
May 13, 2020
5: Between Two Pixels with Ryan Bailey
Ryan Bailey, writer, broadcaster, videographer and man of many talents for Charlotte MLS, joins us to talk about his soccer journey, his role with the team and how he expects Charlotte MLS to look when the team launches. Oh, and we did a LIGHTNING ROUND. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram @MintCityPod and learn more about the Mint City Collective at mintcitycollective.com.
47:23
April 11, 2020
4: Conjecture is a verb
Johnny and Corey get together from a safe social distance to talk about ... well ... everything that's happened since the last time we recorded (which feels like 100 years ago). They also discuss what all of this could mean for Charlotte MLS.
56:21
March 31, 2020
3: 2020 MLS Preview
With the MLS season starting Feb. 29, we invited our resident MLS experts Chris Ashley and Russell Varner into the studio to preview the season, introduce newcomers to the league and explain what Charlotte MLS fans can learn by watching this year's expansion teams.
1:00:29
February 26, 2020
2: History of Mint City
Mint City Collective President Jay Landskroener joins the show to explain how the supporters' group got started, Johnny talks about Charlotte MLS news and Corey shares a history lesson.
1:06:09
February 15, 2020
1: The first one
A little bit about us, a little bit about the podcast and a little bit of news about Charlotte MLS.
46:01
February 2, 2020
Episode 0: A teaser
A little ditty about what you can expect from the Mint City Soccer Show.
03:40
January 28, 2020