Skip to main content
Mint City Soccer Show

Mint City Soccer Show

By Mint City Collective
We love Charlotte. We love soccer. We love Charlotte soccer.

Listen every other week for Charlotte MLS news, the history of the beautiful game in Charlotte and interviews with folks who love Charlotte soccer as much as we do.

Brought to you by the Mint City Collective, Charlotte’s MLS supporters’ group.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

3: 2020 MLS Preview

Mint City Soccer Show

1x
18. Touchy Topics & July Madness
Matt & David discuss PSLs, Ticket Prices, Turf, Chief Fan Officer and David has a great marketing plan for the new Leagues Cup. Hosted by Matt Swift and David Gusler. Edited by Corey Inscoe mintcitycollective.com
01:36:29
September 22, 2021
17. MLS Mid-Season Review
It's MLS All-Star week, so Corey, Matt, David and special guest Russell Varner gathered at Matt's house, drank bourbon and assessed the MLS season so far. Hear who we think have been the biggest surprises and disappointments so far, and learn what storylines we think Charlotte FC fans should be watching in the second half of the season.
01:15:44
August 25, 2021
16. PIVOT
David, Matt and Scott discuss upcoming Mint City Collective events, the Supporters’ Group Council, “Friends” and pivoting, and the Matthews MCC chapter.
01:02:12
August 12, 2021
15: Fresh Prince of Belair
Matt and David share a beer with Charlotte FC Director of Player Personnel Bobby Belair.
51:19
July 30, 2021
14. Brandt & Rebecca Bronico
David and Matt sit down with Brandt and Rebecca Bronico to talk about life as a professional soccer player, their college playing days at UNC Charlotte and the Charlotte FC coaching news. Brandt was one of the first signings for Charlotte FC and is currently playing on loan with the Charlotte Independence.
01:12:28
July 7, 2021
13. Nick Kelly and a Chief Fan Officer
Charlotte FC President Nick Kelly sits down with Matt, David and Corey to break some exciting team news.
01:17:59
June 30, 2021
12. Players, coaches and beers, oh my
Johnny and Corey are back – with new cohosts! David Gusler and Matt Swift join the team to talk about upcoming Mint City Collective events, an exciting new player signing and coaching search news (or lack thereof).  Thanks to Salud Cerveceria for hosting us and serving us delicious beer!
01:00:20
June 23, 2021
11. 2021 MLS preview
New to following MLS? Need a team to root for this season while waiting for 2022? Or just want to know what storylines Charlotte FC fans should be following? We got you. Resident MLS experts Chris Ashley and Russell Varner join Johnny and Corey to break down the league and make some (surprising) playoff predictions. Oh, and Johnny does a ridiculous lightning round, of course.
01:13:17
April 14, 2021
10. We're back!
Johnny came over to Corey's backyard to talk about Charlotte FC tickets and relaunch this here internet radio program. They also name dropped Joe Bruno on accident. But it's fine because he's great and the Joe they meant to shout out is also great.
41:23
April 5, 2021
9: Charlotte Football Club
"Soon" is now. Today we learned that the team we'll be cheering like maniacs for starting in 2022 will be called Charlotte Football Club. Say it again: Charlotte Football Club. In this episode, Johnny and Corey recorded their reactions while watching the reveal live (MINTED!), then they took a break before talking to one of the video's stars – MCC member Matt Chantry – about the making of the video and his thoughts on the branding.
45:56
July 22, 2020
8. Of Gliders and Townies
In what is probably the most ridiculous episode we've recorded, Johnny and Corey talk to Twitter stars Gary the Glider and Tommy the Townie about their ongoing feud and the upcoming Charlotte MLS branding announcement. In a (slightly) more series segment, we also discuss the news that the team's first season has been delayed to 2022 and predict what will happen on 7.22. Thanks to everyone who submitted questions for this show. Be sure to follow us on Twitter and Instagram @MintCityPod.
56:22
July 19, 2020
7: The League Awakens
Let's try this again: Our MLS experts Russell Varner and Chris Ashley return to preview the #MLSisBack tournament. We also talk about what Charlotte MLS is doing (and not doing) right now. Oh, and mayonnaise. We discuss mayonnaise.
01:08:35
June 21, 2020
6: PSLs? Branding? "Great value"?
Johnny and Corey hop on a Zoom call to talk about ... a Zoom call. Charlotte MLS leaders held a virtual meeting with Mint City Collective members and fans to talk about their approach to building a team, ticket sales and branding (kind of). We discussed our biggest takeaways from the meetings and dove into the news that the Tepper Dome might be closer to reality than we realized.
56:26
May 13, 2020
5: Between Two Pixels with Ryan Bailey
Ryan Bailey, writer, broadcaster, videographer and man of many talents for Charlotte MLS, joins us to talk about his soccer journey, his role with the team and how he expects Charlotte MLS to look when the team launches. Oh, and we did a LIGHTNING ROUND. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram @MintCityPod and learn more about the Mint City Collective at mintcitycollective.com.
47:23
April 11, 2020
4: Conjecture is a verb
Johnny and Corey get together from a safe social distance to talk about ... well ... everything that's happened since the last time we recorded (which feels like 100 years ago). They also discuss what all of this could mean for Charlotte MLS.
56:22
March 31, 2020
3: 2020 MLS Preview
With the MLS season starting Feb. 29, we invited our resident MLS experts Chris Ashley and Russell Varner into the studio to preview the season, introduce newcomers to the league and explain what Charlotte MLS fans can learn by watching this year's expansion teams.
01:00:30
February 26, 2020
2: History of Mint City
Mint City Collective President Jay Landskroener joins the show to explain how the supporters' group got started, Johnny talks about Charlotte MLS news and Corey shares a history lesson.
01:06:09
February 15, 2020
1: The first one
A little bit about us, a little bit about the podcast and a little bit of news about Charlotte MLS.
46:01
February 2, 2020
Episode 0: A teaser
A little ditty about what you can expect from the Mint City Soccer Show.
03:40
January 28, 2020