Skip to main content
The Concession Stand

The Concession Stand

By Nick Howell
Every week, there is a flood of breaking news from the realms of pop culture and entertainment, and you’ve just arrived at the one destination that can break it all down for you: welcome to The Concession Stand. Nick and Andy cut through the clutter to give you a fast-paced and opinionated one-hour rundown of the news you need to know. Stay in step with the latest in pop culture – blockbuster movie releases, the hottest shows on television and streaming, and updates from the bleeding edge of entertainment technology. Find out what everyone else will be talking about tomorrow… today.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

#54 Justice League Review

The Concession Stand

1x
#66 Brooklyn Nine-Nine & TV Cancellations
Lots of big news happening in TV this week, seeing up's and down's, cancellations and renewals. While Brooklyn Nine-Nine got most of the spotlight, there was a myriad of other shows rustling about.  This week, we wanted to cover the lifecycle of a television show, and some of the inner-workings you might not be aware of when it comes to how TV gets made! Later in the show, we’ll talk about our thoughts on the new Predator trailer, an exciting new Star Wars live-action TV show is in the works, and one of our favorite movie franchises will become a most excellent trilogy! MERCH: orbitaljigsaw.com/store PATREON: Patreon.com/ConcessionStand Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
48:19
May 15, 2018
#65 Disney Domination
Avengers: Infinity War broke a BAJILLION dollars in record time, ELEVEN DAYS, and that got us thinking ... Disney is kinda running the world now when it comes to entertainment, but we don’t often hear their name associated with properties you’d expect, like Marvel or Lucasfilm. Of course, we know this, and a lot of movie fans “know” this, but is it fair to assume that the general movie-going populace does?  We don’t think so ... they’re just going to the movies on a Friday night to see the thing they’ve been seeing commercials for that looks cool. In this episode, we break down how Disney has become so dominant in the entertainment marketplace, and the side effects this has on consumers as well as the entire industry itself! Enjoy! SPECIAL FEATURE: Thank you to ArchyJ, aka "TheSnakeCharmer," for making this amazing theme arrangement! Be sure and check out her YouTube channel for other fantastic bagpipe arrangements of popular themes like Pirates of the Caribbean and Game of Thrones! MERCH: Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store PATREON: Patreon.com/ConcessionStand Facebook: fb.com/OfficialConcessionStand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
54:50
May 8, 2018
#64 [Review] Avengers Infinity War
Nick & Andy break down and review Avengers: Infinity War!  This is one of our special BONUS review episodes where we break down a big release and give a spoiler-filled take on it. ******MAJOR SPOILERS****** What worked? What didn't work? Where do we go from here? Be sure to check out the companion episode #63 going over all of the Infinity Stones and the Official Concession Stand order in which we think you should watch all 18 previous films in the MCU and why we believe that is the best order! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
01:05:39
May 1, 2018
#63 Avengers Infinity War & MCU Viewing Order
Avengers: Infinity War is coming out this weekend, and as we thought more about it, we never really paid attention to [or were given any reason to care] the Infinity Stones (Gems in the comics), where they were, or why they mattered in the grand scheme of things. So what we wanted to do in this episode was give you a run down of the Official Concession Stand order of the films, as we think you should see them, and along the way track the discovery and relevance of the stones as they apply to the upcoming film, and why you need to know about this to truly enjoy the “marvel” (tee hee) of what they have accomplished through three phases and 18 movies of the MCU in the last 10 years. As promised in the episode, here is our official Concession Stand order of all 18 films how we believe they should be viewed ... Capt America: First Avenger Iron Man Iron Man 2 Incredible Hulk Thor Avengers Thor Dark World Guardians Guardians 2 Iron Man 3 Capt America: Winter Soldier Avengers 2: Ultron Ant-Man Capt America: Civil War Black Panther Spider-Man Homecoming Doctor Strange Thor Ragnarok ...and there you have it! Let us know what you think!  Did we get it right? What did we miss? Share your opinions with us in the comments below, or come find us on Twitter @ConcessionStand! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
50:29
April 24, 2018
#62 Rampage & The Disaster Movie Revival
Rampage, the latest giant action movie with Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, is based on a video game but we feel it falls into a much more important genre: The Disaster Movie.   The disaster movie was a huge and surprising success in the 1970s, made a resurgence throughout the 90s and now we’re excited that they seem to be making a bit of a comeback.  In this episode, we’re going to give you a bit of a history lesson of the disaster movie, list some of our favorites, and and try and figure out what makes them so popular. Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
41:54
April 18, 2018
#61 [Review] READY PLAYER ONE
Nick & Andy give their spoilerific review of Steven Speilberg's latest pop culture masterpiece, READY PLAYER ONE! Enjoy! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
35:09
April 3, 2018
#60 Netflix & The Oscars
Surprise!  We told you we'd be back! This week, after much swirling controversy surrounding Netflix, the Oscars, and comments made by several A-List directors, we thought it apropos to weigh-in ourselves on what should and should-not qualify a film for the ability to be nominated for an Oscar. Be sure to also check out our special bonus review Episode #61 of READY PLAYER ONE! Come on over and hang out with us, let us know your thoughts on the show on iTunes, and if you like what we’re doing, head on over to Patreon.com/concessionstand and throw a couple bucks in the Tip Jar or sign up to do your very own Stone Cold Salute on an upcoming episode! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
44:20
April 3, 2018
#59 Mercy Christmas & Interview with Director Ryan Nelson
MERCY CHRISTMAS has made its official VOD debut, and we have the director of the film Ryan Nelson in the Concession Stand studio to talk about his journey as an independent filmmaker, and some intricacies of the making of the film that are sure to whet the appetites of horror/dark comedy fans and industry practitioners alike! Enjoy! As we close out 2017, and due to some hardcore work requirements here in Hollywood and new projects to launch, we have decided to take a break from the show for a few months, with an eye on returning full time around March.  But don't unsubscribe because we're going to pop-in from time to time to surprise you with some updates as we can!  A hearty THANK YOU and Happy Holidays to all of you for the last 18 months of loyal listenership, and we'll be back soon!
59:39
December 19, 2017
#58 Star Wars The Last Jedi Review [SPOILERS]
Star Wars: The Last Jedi has officially arrived!  Nick & Andy give their spoiler-filled full analysis of the latest installment of the Skywalker saga! What worked, what didn't, and our thoughts on where things go from here with Episode IX! Hopefully it goes without saying that you shouldn't listen to this without seeing the movie, as we basically spoil everything!  At your own risk, venture forth, you must! Enjoy! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
01:02:52
December 19, 2017
#57 Film Franchise Fatalities
Are we reaching the end of some of the biggest film franchises out there?  If so, are we upset about it? Nick & Andy roundtable about the current slate of Franchises, how long they've been going on for, and what the industry looks like next! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
49:46
December 5, 2017
#56 The State of the Superhero Movie
As we close out 2017 with yet another pair of Superhero comic book movies, Nick & Andy reflect on the State of the Superhero movie. Are we done with them, or are they sticking around for a while? Do we really need origin stories anymore? What's the future of the Marvel Cinematic Universe look like beyond Infinity War? What's the future of the DC Universe look like after Justice League? Are we completely oversaturated with comic book content across tv, film, and animation? This and much, much more on this episode of The Concession Stand!  Enjoy! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
49:23
November 28, 2017
#55 Happy Thanksgiving!
Nick & Andy set aside the usual show format and take a moment to share what they're thankful for in 2017.  Nick shares some stories of his transformation and journey over the course of the last couple of years from leaving the tech industry to living life behind a microphone, and Andy is excited to share much more about the shows he's worked on this year that are arriving to your TV tubes in January! HAPPY THANKSGIVING! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
16:08
November 23, 2017
#54 Justice League Review
Nick & Andy weigh-in with a spoilerific review of JUSTICE LEAGUE!  What they thought, what worked, what didn't work, and where things go from here! We also discuss the transition from Snyder to Whedon, how things are shaping up in the DCEU, and much much more! WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
44:39
November 21, 2017
#53 SPIELBERG
Nick & Andy watched the new documentary on HBO by Susan Lacy, aptly titled SPIELBERG, chronicling the life and career of one of our favorite directors, Steven Spielberg. It's hard to find someone that has influenced an industry the way that Spielberg has influenced Hollywood.  Steve Jobs?  Michael Jordan?  Possibly.  From sneaking onto the Universal lot, to his times with the "Brat Pack," to meeting Kate Capshaw on the set of Temple of Doom, to re-discovering his Orthodox heritage, we take a long journey with Steven, and discover what a true workaholic and loving father and mentor to the up-and-comer's in the industry that he truly is. Nick & Andy weigh-in on their favorite Spielberg movies and moments,  and how growing up with him in our lives made the journey relatable and personal, and how his films really touched our lives and taught us things we never would have known about otherwise. Whether you're a fan of his work or not, you absolutely must respect the body of work, as there is no question that Steven Spielberg has been the most influential director of the modern era. Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
01:04:32
November 14, 2017
#52 Box Office Busted & Disney + FOX
In episode #49, we discussed how the consumption of content at home was evolving ... in this episode, we're tackling the movie theater experience, and how cratering box offices are leading to massive changes in the movie theater industry! Also, Disney is in talks to purchase the Film Division and associated IP from 21st Century FOX, what sort of ramifications this has to the consumer, and how this could bring everything we love under one magical [castle] rooftop! This and much, much more! Enjoy! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
51:29
November 8, 2017
#51 Thor Ragnarok Review [SPOILERS]
Nick & Andy have both seen Thor Ragnarok and present to you their very spoiler-ific review, in addition to some of their own perspectives and commentary around the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Avengers, and what this has to do with various storylines, including The Infinity War! WARNING: Very heavy spoilers! DO NOT LISTEN if you have not seen the film and do not want things to be spoiled! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
37:32
November 8, 2017
#50 Interview with Sir Ian Dangerous on Halloween Horror History
It's the most wonderful time of the year! Happy Halloween, everyone! This week, Nick & Andy are joined by a fellow co-host from the Orbital Jigsaw Network to talk about the legacy and evolution of the horror genre! Sir Ian Dangerous from the Busted Wide Open podcast joins us to discuss all things from slashers, creature features, and other various subgenres from the 80's, how things have progressed since then, and where they're going from here! This is NOT one to miss, folks! If you enjoy horror films, or have always been curious about where some of the lore came from, we've got you covered!   Big thanks to Sir Ian for stepping in! You can stalk him on twitter @SirIanDangerous to see his #31for31 horror movies campaign in October, and be sure to check out his bands, House of Rabbits and The Milky Way! Enjoy the show!
01:06:33
October 31, 2017
#49 Disney & Movies Anywhere
As much as we've raved about the happenings at the Box Office this year, there has also been a ton of development and growth around digital media and content, especially in the area of vehicles and mediums consumers use to watch movies. Amazon Video coming to AppleTV, perhaps the end of Ultraviolet, and Disney made some pretty big announcements recently around a new service that could finally bring all of these disparate services together? DID CONSUMERS JUST BEAT THE GAME?! Enjoy! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
51:06
October 24, 2017
#48 The Last Jedi & Blade Runner 2049
!!! SPOILER ALERT !!! Nick & Andy review both the final Last Jedi trailer that debuted during Monday Night Football, and after seeing Blade Runner 2049 give their full review of the film and key takeaways! Is Deckard a Replicant? Can Replicants reproduce? How did the film perform during its opening weekend, and how will this affect potential future projects?! Keanu Reeves lets us in on future projects at NYCC, Justice League and Pacific Rim: Uprising launch new trailers, and Netflix is raising their prices! This and much more! Enjoy! Get your official swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! We would love to bring you additional content such as long-form reviews, special episodes, and much more!  To do so, we need your help, so head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, sign up to Skype Chat with us, or do your very own Stone Cold salute! Facebook: The Concession Stand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
50:34
October 10, 2017
#47 The Future of Film Scores
Nick & Andy wax poetic on the history of motion picture soundtracks and film scores, the composers we revere, and how there seems to be a changing of the guard taking place in modern movie music! Andy talks swapping soundtrack mix tapes, Nick tells the story of being the awkward kid with his trombone on the school bus.  Is "the Tarantino Effect" a real thing? Older films had recognizable and iconic themes associated with them... do current films also share this trait? Who are the up-and-comer's composers and musicians you need to be on the lookout for?  Is everything going digital? For our Quick Hits this week... Fox is spending a billion dollars, Geoff Johns continues to reshape DC, Jamie Lannister has some choice words for the President of HBO, and learn some historic Hollywood lore as we tell the tale of how Lord of the Rings first got put on the table at New Line Cinema! Grab your popcorn and enjoy the show! Get your official Concession Stand swag at the Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! If you like what we do, we would love to bring you MORE episodes, such as bonus long-form movie reviews, deeper dives into certain topics, and special interviews with people working in the business, but we need your help!  Head on over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a couple of bucks in the Tip Jar, or sign up to have a Skype Chat with me and Andy, or even do your very own STONE COLD SALUTE! Facebook: /OfficialConcessionStand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
44:38
October 3, 2017
#46 The IT Factor
IT has proven to be an anomaly in the movie business, setting records, shattering expectations, and wow'ing movie-goers the last few weeks. Nick gives his feedback and review of the film, mostly because Andy is too terrified of clowns to actually go and see it. Game of Thrones starts production on the final chapter next month, Apple & Amazon are in a bidding war for one of the biggest franchises, at a price you simply won't believe, Jamie Lee Curtis and Linda Hamilton are returning to their respective film franchises, and the Defenders was the least-watched of all the Marvel original series on Netflix. ....and OMG DID YOU SEE THAT PUNISHER TRAILER?!?! Thank you for all the kind words and well-wishes for our one-year anniversary!  It's been an incredible year, and it's only going to get bigger and better!  We're excited to expand the show and do more, but we need your support!   How?  Well, we're glad you asked! Head over to Patreon.com/ConcessionStand and throw a dollar in the Tip Jar or sign up for a Skype chat with us! Buy some sweet swag on the Official Orbital Jigsaw Merch Store! Connect with us! Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OfficialConcessionStand Twitter: https://twitter.com/ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
45:17
September 26, 2017
#45 One Year Anniversary & Star Wars Directors
HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, LISTENERS! After a couple of weeks off to celebrate, and to take a step back and evaluate the show, we're back with a better, more condensed, and focused format to take all of you into the second year! We start the show with some Quick Hits before heading to The Lobby, where we discuss what is going on over at Lucasfilm as we continue to see directors getting replaced on Star Wars properties, why we think that is happening, JJ Abrams taking over Episode IX, and what the future holds for the Star Wars universe! A special thank you from both of us to all of you listeners that have supported us and stuck by us through our first year.  Your loyalty, feedback, and interactions mean the world to us and we're humbled by all the love and growth we've experienced over the last year! We have big plans going forward, including bringing you special content, interviews, and full-length reviews of films, festivals, and special screenings ... but we need your help!  If you'd like to support the show, head over to the Patreon Page, leave a dollar in the tip jar, or sign up for one of the other awesome perks!  We'll be expanding on those as we reach our goals, and if there's anything else you'd like to see, shoot us an email to cs@orbitaljigsaw.com or contact us on Twitter at @ConcessionStand! Patreon - https://www.patreon.com/concessionstand Twitter - https://twitter.com/concessionstand Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/OfficialConcessionStand/ Email - cs@orbitaljigsaw.com Thanks again for making the last year a smash success, and for growing alongside us! -Nick & Andy
42:16
September 13, 2017
#44 Reshoots, Set Safety, & Summer Movie Recap
An update on Game of Thrones S7E5 is followed by Nick & Andy running through some Quick Hits such as Thor: Ragnarok, Apple committing to original content, Netflix is in talks with Disney, and Val Kilmer lets it out that Kurt Russell actually directed TOMBSTONE. Over in The Lobby, we discuss the phenomenon of reshoots, how they differ from normal pickups, and whether or not productions are now just using them as a crutch.  Andy gives his position on Set Safety and accidents on-set from his first-person perspective as a 1st Asst Director in charge of it, whether or not any negligence was involved, and we discuss why we're hearing about them more often lately. The first US-crossing total solar eclipse in 100 years is happening on Aug 21st, and you should NOT look at it! (Srsly, don't. It'll burn a ring into your retinas...). For the Lightning Round this week, we team up to do something special about the sun and the moon! This and much, much more!  Enjoy! Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/concessionstand Facebook: @OfficialConcessionStand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
59:21
August 18, 2017
#43 Disney Domino Effect
In a new commentary-driven format, and after a few Quick Hits, Nick & Andy weigh-in on the state of content distribution with James Cameron re-inventing 3D (again) on four more Avatar sequels, a dismal 2017 summer at the Box Office, and Disney kicking over the first major domino in what could be a chain reaction of studios launching their own streaming services for their own content! What does this mean for Netflix and other 3rd Parties? Will Cameron's "new 3D" incite chaos at the cinemas for NATO? What will consuming content look like in 2025? All this, and much, much more!  Enjoy! Website: www.orbitaljigsaw.com Facebook: @OfficialConcessionStand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
57:17
August 11, 2017
#42 Atomic Blonde Ambition
The boys weigh in on Atomic Blonde, Nick binges Ozark, and Andy poop emoji's himself playing Friday the 13th. HBO gets hacked, Niantic is getting Pika-sued over their debacle in Chicago, and Doomfist makes his debut in Overwatch. Clooney channels his inner-Soderbergh, Renner gets a leading role, Batffleck signs a new 3-picture deal for a Batman trilogy, and a certain WWE Superstar is rebooting an 80s classic. In this episode, we take a trip to The Lobby to discuss the history and current state of Action Movies, why we love the 80s & 90s, where they've been for the last 20 years, and how we might be seeing the resurgence of the genre. This and much, much more!
01:07:30
August 4, 2017
#41 Dunkirk & San Diego Comic-Con Recap
Dunkirk and Valerian are both released... one is amazing, the other not so much. Game of Thrones continues to ramp-up, BRIGHT drops its first trailer, and JRR Tolkein is getting his own biopic. Tons of news out of San Diego Comic-con, and some notable things that we discuss in The Lobby that were missing!  Along the way, Nick needs to speak to the manager (twice), we take a trip to Reboot City, and the 80s revival continues! While in The Lobby we also discuss the failing Comic Book industry as a whole, speculate why they are going under, and offer our own solutions to how they could save the industry from the perspective of a geek who has never read comics. Is the comic book industry the next brick-and-mortar domino to fall behind music and video rental? This and much, much more!  Enjoy! Facebook: @OfficialConcessionStand Twitter: @ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com
01:18:17
July 28, 2017
#40 D23 & San Diego Comic-Con 2017 Preview
Disney's D23 happened last weekend, and we recap all of the news, reveals, and general shock-and-awe that they left in their wake.  Game of Thrones Season 7 premiered on Sunday and we give our highlights and impressions. Spielberg gets a documentary treatment, has two films coming out next year, and John Williams will be writing his 28th score for Spielberg films! We also got new trailers for Blade Runner and yet another portrayal of Winston Churchill by Gary Oldman in Darkest Hour. In advance of this weekend's San Diego Comic-Con, we take a trip to The Lobby to discuss the event, and how the purity of what it originally was may have been lost in the hostile takeover by the movie studios of Hollywood. WE FINALLY GOT OUR TWITTER HANDLE! Come follow us @ConcessionStand! This and much, much more!  Enjoy and have a great Comic-Con everyone!!! Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OfficialConcessionStand Twitter: https://twitter.com/ConcessionStand Email: cs@orbitaljigsaw.com Website: https://www.orbitaljigsaw.com/podcasts/concession-stand
01:08:48
July 21, 2017
#39 Blockbuster Fatigue
ANDY IS BACK!  Back in studio in Los Angeles after a grueling 3 months in Europe, we are resuming our regularly scheduled program! We open the show with a discussion on Wonder Woman, introduce a new segment in TV/Movies called "Quick Hits," and talk about how everything is part of a Universe now. Game of Thrones starts on Sunday, Nick gushes over The Defiant Ones, and we get a poster for Stranger Things 2! SEGA drops some classics on your mobile, Super NES mini launches this fall, and Destiny 2 Beta starts next week! We take a trip to The Lobby to discuss the phenomenon of Blockbuster Fatigue, and how it is affecting studios, consumers, and even the theaters themselves. This and much, much more!  Enjoy!
01:28:42
July 14, 2017
#38 XBox One X Marks the Spot
Between Apple WWDC and the Mecca of video gaming E3 happening over the last two weeks, we have been in absolute GEEK HEAVEN!  We say goodbye to Adam West, Hugh Jackman to portray PT Barnum, Nick needs to speak to The Manager to discuss Wonder Woman pandering rhetoric, and Universal is opening Super Mario World theme park in Japan! Yu Suzuki announces a further delay to Shenmue 3, the first video game qualified to be nominated for an Oscar gets a release.  We break down ALL of the big game announcements at E3 from Microsoft, Sony, Ubisoft, and Bethesda, 4K UHD has become a household standard, and we take a trip to The Lobby to discuss the Xbox One X, what it is, and why you need to be wary of the $500 price tag! This and much, much more!  Enjoy!
01:13:03
June 25, 2017
#37 Delay of Game
Video Games are not like movies, and their release dates seem to move as often as new ones are announced. Nick & Andy take a trip to The Lobby to discuss why this is, and how the hype associated with early release date announcements might be a huge misstep by companies when it comes to video games. Also, Hollywood is running out of 80s movies to reboot, Disney's World of Avatar ride creates a 4-hour line, and WTF is Neil Blomkamp up to?! We're on the cusp of E3 and EA Play, Microsoft officially launches Xbox GamePass, and Overwatch celebrates a massive monumental anniversary! This and much, much more! Enjoy!
01:05:15
June 6, 2017
#36 International Intrigue
Andy is in Europe and has noticed that they don't believe the hype anywhere near as much as us Americans do. No billboards or heavy advertisement for entertainment. Is this due to the historic nature of architecture and landscapes, or is it simply a difference in societies between the two continents? Our thoughts on Guardians 2, Orbital Jigsaw launches a brand new wrestling podcast, Nick fell victim to reviews of Alien: Covenant, Amazon has a new cord-cutter TV, and we finally got a peek at the upcoming season of Game of Thrones! The final trailers for Wonder Woman and Dunkirk drop, we take a trip aboard the Star Wars Hype Train on our way to Reboot City, and Netflix has broken the Cannes Film Festival. Nintendo's stock is up 87%, Mass Effect is getting put on hold, Tom Brady caught the Madden Curse, and Destiny 2 had a major launch event! This and much, much more! Enjoy!
01:16:16
May 27, 2017
#35 Hurry Up and Wait
Time between theatrical and digital releases is shrinking, and prices for games are dropping within weeks of initial release. Are we as consumers being too hasty and feeding into hype, buying things as soon as they're available? Should we be waiting a few weeks to save a few bucks and read reviews? Happy International Star Wars Day, and May the 4th be with you. Have you heard of this "Wonder Woman" movie coming out? LOGAN Black & White replay in theaters. Ridley Scott dishes on Blomkamp "Aliens" project. Nintendo Switch trending to surpass WiiU and Xbox One in sales. NBA Playgrounds might be the next NBA Jam.
59:21
May 5, 2017
#34 Race to the Finish
Racing Games have been a mainstay of video gaming for decades, but as they have evolved, how have they changed? Andy watches The Expanse, Nick watches Bill Nye Saves the World, Jeff Goldblum returns to Jurassic Park, FOUR MORE AVATAR MOVIES, Netflix options a Scorcese gangster movie for $105M, Shudder is the Netflix of HORROR movies, Blizzard launches Heroes 2.0, COD:WW2 looks amazeballs, and you can play as Jason in the new Friday the 13th game!
01:15:14
April 28, 2017
#33 Believe the Hype
Hype has become a normal everyday part of life, but does it ever get to be too much? Are we just getting so numb that it requires even MORE hype to get us hyped about each week's hot new thing? We ponder this is an EPIC episode aboard the Star Wars Hype Train following Star Wars Celebration in Orlando last weekend! Bill Nye Saves the World, Hulu's new beta looks terribad, SyFy introducing "Krypton," Nintendo discontinues NES Class, then announces SNES Classic, and more news on Microsoft's Project Scorpio! This and much, much more!
01:08:12
April 20, 2017
#32 Modern Classics
In 20 years from now, what tv, movie, and video game content of today will be considered classics? Which do you envision your children going back and revisiting? Thor Ragnarok trailer looks amazing, Star Wars Celebration happening this weekend in Orlando, Anthony Hopkins calls Michael Bay a 'genius,' Nick misses Guitar Hero, Call of Duty mobile game, and a new content patch for Overwatch called UPRISING!
01:08:32
April 13, 2017
#31 Going Long
How long is too long for a movie? And should that be a sole make-or-break reason of why you should or should not see a film? Andy has a Wrestlemania moment, Nick gives some updates on the site and new upcoming podcasts, Project Scorpio, Gamers Give Back, GenZ prefers streaming, Channing Tatum is playing George Washington, Mummy trailer looks really dark, Daniel Craig may still be Bond, and Amazon lands $50M NFL deal! This and much, much more!
01:02:08
April 7, 2017
#30 Under Review
Tired of being misled by subjective reviews? We are too. Mass Effect launched and Destiny 2 is officially announced, Beauty & The Beast is crushing it, the Hulu Live beta is coming soon, new Spiderman and Justice League trailers dropped, Dave Chappelle is BACK, Gamestop begins shuttering stores worldwide, and Twitch could very sneakily take over video game delivery! This and much, much more!
01:19:05
March 30, 2017
#29 The Madness of March
This week, Nick and Andy discuss how March is a gateway to the year of geekdom, and not just a basketball tournament. Vudu coming to AppleTV, Google launches an expensive Smart Jacket, and Quake and Unreal Tournament are making an epic return to gaming and eSports!
01:05:51
March 17, 2017
#28 Data Dump
This week, Nick and Andy discuss how all carriers now offer unlimited data plans, and how this changes the way consumers consume content. Nick is fascinated with Horizon Zero Dawn, Andy gets the Nintendo Switch, Bitcoin is now worth as much as gold, and Spielberg is making another war movie!
01:07:57
March 10, 2017
#27 Game Changer
With both XBox GamePass and PS Now, are we headed to a digital subscription "Netflix for video games" world? We say farewell to Bill Paxton, Nick loses his mind over new Alien: Covenant trailer, Facebook Video launches on AppleTV, and Horizon Zero Dawn amazes as we prepare for the imminent Nintendo Switch and Zelda launch!
01:04:12
March 3, 2017
#26 Shadow of the Bat
Batman has been around for almost 80 years, and still is one of the most prolific pop-culture icons ever. Nick and Andy break down why this is, as well as launch a new contest to see who can get more Oscar picks right!
01:05:27
February 24, 2017
#25 Islands in the Stream
With so many streaming options and solutions, how do you know which is best for you? What does the future of streaming look like? With all of the big networks like Disney now getting on board, what does this mean for the future of digital entertainment?
01:16:40
February 16, 2017
#24 We’re Getting Board
Board games bring people and families together. But as the classics turn digital, a whole new crop of social card and tabletop games are appearing.
58:42
February 10, 2017
#23 Sportsball!
Millions of people watch the Super Bowl every year, including those of us geeks that don't partake in sports. Nick and Andy ponder what draws them to the event.
01:14:45
February 5, 2017
#22 Everybody Gets A Trophy
It's awards season, and Andy and Nick break down everything you need to know about all of the different awards shows surrounding entertainment.
01:16:12
January 27, 2017
#21 Flippin’ the [Nintendo] Switch
Nick and Andy reflect on holiday video game sales and the future of Gamestop, Apple's new original video content vision, Hulu going offline, and the legacy of Nintendo and how they have been a pivotal part of Geek lives for three decades!
01:10:57
January 21, 2017
#20 Home is Where the SMART is
Nick and Andy dive head first into 2017 with news from CES, lots of TV and movie updates, and we break down the rise of the Home Assistants, where they are today, and where we would like to see them go in the future!
01:07:46
January 14, 2017
#19 Twenty Seventeen
Nick and Andy look ahead at all-things coming in 2017!
01:06:46
January 6, 2017
#18 Going Rogue (BONUS!)
Andy and Nick spoil everything in ROGUE ONE, breaking it down as hardcore fans, in this very special bonus episode.
50:40
January 6, 2017
#17 2016 Year in Review
This week on The Concession Stand, Andy pays special tribute to Carrie Fisher, and do a review of all of the great things 2016 brought to the world!
01:11:24
December 29, 2016
#16 A Christmas Story
This week on The Concession Stand, Nick & Andy visit the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and Future in their own special way!
01:10:25
December 23, 2016
#15 It’s an Ad, Ad World
This week on The Concession Stand podcast, new movies and trailers, Super Mario Run launches, and we break down the world we live in being capitalized by Ads!
01:06:06
December 16, 2016
#14 A Whole New World
This week on The Concession Stand, we're playing a lot of new games, Amazon is starting a grocery store, and we discuss the never-ending torrent of news and releases and how it's impossible to keep up! Enjoy!
01:02:38
December 8, 2016
#13 Preparing to Download
We ponder the impending death of physical media in video games and how required downloads has become really annoying!
01:05:10
December 2, 2016
#12 Happy Thanksgiving!
Nick and Andy spend some quality time discussing everything they're thankful for and 'membering the good stuff.
17:59
November 24, 2016
#11 Closet Geek
This week on The Concession Stand, The Arrival, new trailers, WWE Survivor Series, Google Hardware, and being a Closet Geek true to who you really are.
01:05:33
November 17, 2016
#10 The Blizzard Effect
Nick and Andy geek out hardcore over the new Rogue One and Valryan trailers, discuss whether or not Apple is intentionally slowing down your iPhones, and Nick recaps his trip to BlizzCon 2016 and how Blizzard is taking the eSports world by storm.
01:09:23
November 11, 2016
#09 Cosplay & Dressing Up
The Cubs win the World Series, lots of video game launches, big news from Apple and Microsoft, and Halloween, dressing up, and what the whole "cosplay" industry is all about!
01:08:43
November 4, 2016
#08 Scare Tactics
We ponder the differences between what scared us as kids versus what scares us as adults!
01:06:38
October 28, 2016
#07 Streaming & Dreaming
01:06:11
October 20, 2016
#06 Playing Favorites
Are your lifetime favorite movies, music, and entertainment established during the formative years of youth?
59:04
October 13, 2016
#05 Spirit of Radio
Our main story is around Radio, and the evolution of how people consume content, and we add a new segment to the end of the show called "The Lightning Round!"
56:40
October 7, 2016
#04 Reboot Camp
01:07:52
September 29, 2016
#03 Birthday Bonanza
We cover a lot of birthdays, give you a quick WWE recap of the week, talk about first impressions of the new Destiny: Rise of Iron expansion, and Nick shares a story about attending an NFL football game... in Los Angeles?
01:12:05
September 23, 2016
#02 Connection Issues
Thanks to everyone for the great feedback and atta-boys and welcome-back's from Episode 1! This week, we condense back down to a 1-hour format, and go over many things, including... Star Trek turns 50 NFL & Fantasy Football Exploding Galaxy 7 ESPN Fantasy Football site DOWN during Week 1 WWE State of the Union CM Punk UFC debut loss, still gets $500k Colt Cabana podcast episode with Punk tell-all [link] Return of Shane McMahon Brand Split & The WWE Draft New exclusive titles & PPV events The rise of the new Superstars from NXT WWE Network has changed the game Are we leading into the next "Attitude Era"? Marvel universe on Netflix Cutting the Cord One-in-Five Households Cut Cord in 2015 [link] The psychological effects of change Destiny Challenge Mode Oryx Our very own Leeroy Jenkins moment The Legend of Kevin Tyler
01:03:10
September 14, 2016
#01 Great Expectations
We had to name this one Great Expectations because of all of the recent let-down's in and around the geek culture world, and we didn't even get into some of the things we're both excited (and pissed) about WWE and wrestling!
02:13:24
September 9, 2016
Re-launching the Concession Stand Podcast!
We're back, folks! New co-hosts, new format, and a brand new E.P.I.C. 2-hour premiere coming in Episode 1!
05:58
September 8, 2016