Skip to main content
Sniffing the pages

Sniffing the pages

By Nina Manning
We read the newest books and discuss them for your pleasure. A fun and energetic listen, hosted by two book mad women.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

PodBean Logo

PodBean

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Stitcher Logo

Stitcher

Currently playing episode

Three great book reviews and one fab author interview!

Sniffing the pages

Three great book reviews and one fab author interview!

Sniffing the pages

1x
September 4, 2020
00:27
September 4, 2020
Fab reads of the last few months, If I Could Say Goodbye by Emma, Cooper and A Girl Made Of Air.
2 great author chats, bookish chat and top reads of last few months.
1:20:42
September 4, 2020
Her Darkest Fear, Grown UPS, Tennis Lessons, The Glass House,
We discuss our favourite lockdown reads, Grown UPS by Marian Keyes, Tennis Lessons, His and Hers by Alice Feeney, The Glass House by Eve Chase.
42:10
May 16, 2020
Review of The Switch, The River Home and our top 5 lockdown books.
We discuss The Switch by Beth O’Leary, The River Home by Hannah Richell and give you 10 uplifting books to get you through lockdown.
36:58
April 3, 2020
Coming up for Air by Sarah Leipciger
I was gifted a copy of Coming up for Air and asked to participate in the blog tour. Here is my personal solo review.
04:54
March 15, 2020
Six wicked reasons, Five French Hens, The Telephone Box Library, Queenie, The Memory Wood.
After a short break we’re back. We discuss one thriller and two women’s fiction. We also chat about Queenie and what we’re reading next.
39:39
March 5, 2020
Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton, Little bandaged days, The First Time I Saw You.
Three fab book reviews, an author chat with Emma Cooper, what Katie read next, a brilliant competition to win Rosamund Luptons new book, Three Hours and we reveal 2 new reads.
54:47
January 8, 2020
Pine by Francine Toon and Unexpected Lessons In Love by Lucy Dillon
We discuss two very different but fantastic books. Nina chats to Francine Toon about her new book Pine and we reveal three new reads which we will review in the new year.
48:53
December 11, 2019
One Christmas night, One Winter Morning, A wedding In December
We discuss three fantastic Christmas reads, Katie tells us what she read next, and we reveal two new fantastic books.
42:22
November 27, 2019
We met in December, The Girl I left behind, The Vanished Bride.
3 great book reviews, one competition, a chat with authors Rosie Curtis and Cathy Bramley we reveal our Christmas reading stack.
54:07
November 14, 2019
The lost ones by Anita Frank, Rewrite The stars by Emma Heatherington, I wanted you to know chat.
We’re delighted to be on the blog tour for Rewrite The Stars by Emma Heatherington for Harper Collins publishers. We loved The Lost ones by Anita Frank a perfect Autumn creepy curl up in an armchair story. We were thrilled to chat to Laura Pearson about her work and latest novel I wanted you to know.
1:09:37
October 29, 2019
The Daughter In Law, After The Flood, The Day We Meet Again.
Back with a bang for season 2! We discuss Nina Manning’s debut thriller, The Daughter In Law, we discuss the epic dystopian novel After The Flood and we talk about The Day We Meet Again. 3 very different books and genres but all equally awesome! We also chat about what books we read over the summer and we round up by letting you know our next two reads! #psychologicalthriller #bookreview #bookpodcast #newbooks #autumnreads #podcast #books #amreading
47:55
September 29, 2019
In conversation with Heidi Perks, review ofThe Warehouse And Do not feed the bear.
In conversation with Heidi Perks about reading and writing. We discuss The Warehouse by Rob Hart and Do not feed the bear by Rachel Elliot. We discuss our favourite reads of this season and Katie talks about two extra books!
1:05:31
July 10, 2019
A nearly normal family, The Carer and in conversation with Trisha Sakhlecha
We discuss The Carer by Deborah Moggach, A Nearly Normal Family by M.T Edvardsson and in conversation with Trisha Sakhlecha. Katie discusses two new reads and we reveal 3 new books to discuss in the final episode of this season.
53:35
June 20, 2019
The dragon Lady by Louisa Treger, The Gift Of Friends by Emma Hannigan
We discuss the final novel by Emma Hannigan, the second novel by Louisa Treger and have an impromptu discussion on ebooks and audio books. We also reveal our next reads in a very immature manner struggling to hold it together after a few pina coladas! I give my review of Lucy Clark’s new psychological thriller, You Let Me In out in paperback now
48:57
May 23, 2019
Tiger by Polly Clark, We are not Okay by Natalia Gomes. I know who you are by Alice Feeney.
In this episode we delve into the stark wilderness in Polly Clark’s Tiger, an epic tale of survival. We discuss the realities and problem young adults face in a world drenched in technology and social media in Natalie Gomes, We are not Okay. I give my five star review of I know who you are by Alice Feeney. Katie gives two bonus book reviews in What Katie read next and finally we reveal 2 brand new reads.
50:26
May 9, 2019
The seven or eight deaths of Stella Fortuna, One Summer in Paris, Little Darlings.
In this episode we discuss The Seven Or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna By Juliet Grames, One Summer In Paris by Sarah Morgan, Nina gives her review of Little Darlings by Melanie Golding and Katie discusses Queen of The North by Anne O’Brien and Katie tells us all about her recent book spa Experience at Mr B’s and we reveal 2 more brand new fiction books. #littledarlingsbook #notmybaby #queenofthenorth #bookspa #bookreview#stellafortuna #bookpodcast #sniffingthepages #womensfiction #summerreads
42:25
April 23, 2019
Love and other things to live for, The Swap and in conversation with Fiona Mitchell
We didn’t love “Love and other things to live for” but we think Louise shows promise in her writing. We discuss The Swap and I’m in conversation with the author Fiona Mitchell. Katie tells us what she read next and we reveal two more books for the next podcast.
1:00:16
April 4, 2019
VOX by Christina Dalcher. In conversation with Emily Gunnis discussing The Girl In The Letter,
In this episode Katie and Nina discuss the dark and disturbing VOX by Christina Dalcher, one of the most talked about dystopian novels right now. Nina is in conversation with the author Emily Gunnis, discussing The Girl In The Letter her debut novel, her writing process and her next novel. Katie talks about The Strawberry Thief by Joanne Harris In “What Katie read next” and two new fantastic books are revealed that will be discussed in the next podcast. #100words #podcast #sniffingthepages #vox #thegirlintheletter
1:00:28
March 21, 2019
We won an island, by Charlotte Lo book review
I discuss the books my daughter grew up with, some of her middle grade favourites and we give a short review of We Won an Island by Chatlotte Lo published by Nosy Crow May 19th 2019
19:32
March 10, 2019
The Migration, The Dinner List, Daisy &The Six
In this bumper world book episode Katie and I discuss the chilling debut novel by Helen Marshall, The Migration. We cried and laughed over The Dinner List by Rebecca Serle and reveal our own fantasy dinner party lists, finally we fell in love with Daisy And The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid. Katie lets us know her thoughts on The last Words of Madeline Anderson by Helen Kitson and The Snakes by Sadie Jones.
55:51
March 6, 2019
Three great book reviews and one fab author interview!
Nina and Katie chat about The Glovemaker by Ann Weisgarber •If only I could I tell you by Hannah Beckerman• What Katie read next...The familiars •Interview wirh Phoebe Morgan author of The Girl Next Door •
1:05:32
February 21, 2019
Changeling, Louis and Louise and Day of The Accident
Nina and Katie discuss Changeling by Matt Welsoloski, Louis and Louise by Julie Cohen and Day of the accident by Nuala Ellwood.
43:39
February 8, 2019
The Binding and My Sister The Serial Killer
Nina and Katie talk books that gave them a love of reading and discuss two of this months hottest reads.
39:17
January 25, 2019
Book review of One a day in December and Seven days of us.
Introducing us. One day in December review • Seven days of us review.
41:34
December 23, 2018