Pause for Opinion

Ep 06: Pause for "the right major"

An episode of Pause for Opinion

By Fiona Clair
A platform for open dialogue within the SLU community
More places to listen

More places to listen

Ep 09: Pause for MentaliTEA
Mental health is an issue plaguing college campuses across the country. In this episode, I am highlighting a group of students from a Social Practice in the Arts course who are creating a socially engaged art project in the hopes of tackling the lack of mental health resources at SLU.  I myself am a part of this class, and it was incredible opportunity to watch 15 people work together on one project to try and make a difference in the SLU community. But it didn't come without it's hardships. Just hearing the words 15-person group project makes me cringe.  If you want to participate in MentaliTEA, join us outside of the West Pine entrance of Pius Library between the hours of 9-11 a.m. or 7-9 p.m. on Tuesday May 7, 2019 to grab a mug with some tea and chat about mental health.  Pause for Opinion is hosted and produced by Fiona Clair with music by Genna Hilbing. A special thanks to the Saint Louis University Communication Department, the University News Editorial Board, and all the members of the Social Practice in the Arts class.  This is the last episode of this iteration of Pause for Opinion, so I want to take a second to thank all of you who have stopped to listen. This project has brought so much understanding, knowledge, and light into my senior year, and I’m so happy I got to share that with you. If you’re new to the podcast, I encourage you to give the other episodes a listen. And if you’ve been with me since episode one, bless you.  Thanks for listening :)
20:59
May 1, 2019
Ep 08: Pause for student media
Hello again!  As an initial warning, I would like to say that this is a topic that I am very close to, and I therefore cannot talk about it without bias. I still however think that talking about student media is important. If anything, it could make you a better media consumer to understand where your campus news is coming from.  For more information about the controversial editorial, the UNews newsroom move, or the financial situation of the UNews do not hesitate to reach out at opinion@unewsonline.com. If you are interested in joining the UNews as a writer or an editor contact Emma Carmody at eic@unewsonline.com. Pause for Opinion is hosted and produced by Fiona Clair with music by Genna Hilbing. A special thanks to the University News Editorial Board and the Saint Louis University Communication Department. Follow us on Twitter @pauseforopinion for episode announcements and updates. Thanks for listening :)  
16:18
April 18, 2019
Ep 07: Pause for a quick update
This is just a quick update from our period discussion a few months ago. There was so much to cover in that episode, and I don't think we got to touch on the mental side of things as much as I would have liked to. Luckily, with Project Period up and running on SLU's campus, it was the perfect excuse to chat with Shanaya Shah again as well as some fellow SLU menstruators who had a thing or two to say about the mental affects of PMS. This episode of Pause for Opinion was produced by Fíona Clair, Grace Wilmot, and Avni Patel with music by Genna Hilbing. A special thanks to the Saint Louis University Communication Department, The University News Editorial Board, and all of our lovely contributors. You can follow us on Twitter @pauseforopinion for updates and announcements. Thanks for listening :)
05:32
March 19, 2019
Ep 06: Pause for "the right major"
Hello everyone! I'm very excited because this episode is quite different than all my previous ones! I was excited to try something new, and I'm pretty pleased with how it turned out, so make sure to let me know what you think. In this episode, I'm diving into the biases around certian majors at Saint Louis Univeristy (and probably most universities in the U.S.). To help me, I interviewed my brother, Liam Clair, who is a mechanical engineering major at SLU; Tiffany Rosenzweig, who is an academic advisor who works with deciding students; and Haley Lodrigan, a freshman at SLU who recently went through the major declaration process.  Throughout the interviews, we pretty much all agreed that the likelihood of a direct career path, high salary, and career stability all loom over the decision making process.  **Learning curve alert** Sadly Haley's interview was recorded on a mono setting by mistake (always check your settings friends!!!!), but hopefully you can still enjoy her contribution because I really think she puts to words what the process is like for freshman who are undecided. Pause for Opinion is hosted and produced by Fiona Clair with music by Genna Hilbing. A special thanks to the University news Editorial Board, the Saint Louis Univeristy Communication Depatment, the Saint Louis University College of Arts and Sciences Advisors, and this episodes amazing guests Liam and Haley.  You can follow us on Twitter for updates and announcements @pauseforopinion. Thanks for listening :)
18:17
March 4, 2019
Ep 05: Pause for Reproductive Health
Hi, it's been a while! Welcome back to Pause for Opinion! This episode I sat down with Amanda Buechele and Olive Elwell, co-presidents of Healthy is Hot. Reproductive health is an important topic on any college campus, but it is specifically important at Saint Louis University because St. Louis has one of the highest STI rates in the country. SLU is a Jesuit university, but that doesn't mean that reproductive health can be ignored. healthy is Hot is doing everything in their power to make sure that the conversation is started on campus. healthyishotstl.wordpress.com/ Facebook: @healthyishot.stl Instagram: @healthyishot.stl Mailer sign-up Email: healthyishotslu@gmail.com **Learning curve alert** I used a new editing software for this episode, and the results were less than stellar. I apologize for the volume and level issues, I'm still learning! But I hope you can still enjoy the conversation! Pause for Opinion is hosted and produced by Fíona Clair with music by Genna Hilbing. A special thanks to Healthy is Hot, The Saint Louis University Communication Department, and the University News Editorial Board.  For episode updates and announcements you can follow us on Twitter @pauseforopinion.  Thanks for listening :)
25:03
February 7, 2019
Ep 04: Pause for Gun Control
The day after we recorded this episode three mass shootings made the national news. Gun violence is a plague on the American spirit that has haunted this country for far too long. It's not just mass shootings; it's hit-and-runs on dark street corners, it's relatives shooting each other behind closed doors, it's police brutality. And if we do nothing, people will continue to stuffer, fear, and die. This episode I sat down with Haley Zink and Claire Cunningham from Ceasefire STL. I am always impressed by the efforts and achievements of my fellow SLU students, and these women have proven once again that young people are informed and powerful. Ceasefire STL was born in the wake of the March for Our Lives, and they fight for an end to gun violence and police brutality in St. Louis. The organization has already accomplished so much in its short history, and they were even featured on a recent cover of Time Magazine [check out the full cover here https://bit.ly/2ArFxfV]. For more information on what Ceasefire STL is doing or how to get involved visit https://ceasefirestl.wixsite.com/ceasefire Or find them on social media here: Twitter @CeasefireSTL Instagram @ceasefire.stl Facebook https://www.facebook.com/CeasefireSTL/ Pause for Opinion is hosted and produced by Fíona Clair with music by Genna Hilbing. A special thanks to the Saint Louis University Communication Department, KSLU, Ceasefire STL, and the University News Editorial Board. Thanks for listening :)
35:40
November 28, 2018
Ep 03: Pause for Periods
This episode I sat down with two lovely SLU students, Shanaya Shah and Molly Dippel, to talk about the injustices of menstruation. Give it a listen, and get yourself informed! **I apologize that I never directly asked the "What's one thing you wish people knew about periods?" question, but I think the entire episode does a good job of answering that! For more information about PMDD visit: https://bit.ly/2IueFP4 and contact your doctor if something about your period doesn't feel right For more information on Aunt Flow visit: https://www.goauntflow.com/ For more information on Dignity Period visit: https://www.dignityperiod.org/ To get involved with Dignity Period on SLU's campus, or for more information about the Aunt Flow initiative email shanaya.shah@slu.edu Special thanks to Genna Hilbing, KSLU, the Saint Louis University Communication Department, and the University News Editorial Board. Thanks for listening :)
43:46
November 6, 2018
Ep 02: Pause for midterm elections
MIDTERM ELECTIONS ARE NOVEMBER 6! There is a bias that young people are not informed or politically involved, but if you stroll down any college campus in an election season you'll see that is simply not the case. This episode I turn to some lovely guests from SLU College Democrats and SLU College Republicans to learn more about this election and the importance of voting in every election. They also highlight voting resources, ways to get politically involved on campus, and a break down of what midterm elections are. For more information on SLU College Republicans email Dylan McCloskey at dylan.mccloskey@slu.edu. For more information on SLU College Democrats message them on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/sludems/ Pause for Opinion is hosted and produced by Fíona Clair with music by Genna Hilbing. A special thanks to the SLU Communication Department, SLU College Republicans, SLU College Democrats, KSLU, and The University News Editorial Board. Thanks for listening :)
39:33
October 17, 2018
Ep 01: Pause for homelessness
Thank you for joining us for the first full episode of Pause for Opinion! This week I am talking about homelessness with a group of students from Labre at Saint Louis University. If you are looking to get involved with Labre you can email labre@slu.edu, and if you want to donate to the organization you can Venmo @slu_labre. Also, check out this video to see Labre in action! https://bit.ly/2Qfhqap This being the first episode, I ask that you be patient with the little bugs and faux pas I made as I continue to learn more about sound editing and podcasting! Also get pumped for the new Pause for Opinion theme song that is being composed by Genna Hilbing. The theme will be released/aired on the next episode! A special thanks to the University News Editorial Board, the SLU Communication Department, Labre, and KSLU. Thanks for listening :)
33:23
September 27, 2018
Teaser Trailer
Welcome to Pause for Opinion! I am so excited to get started on this project. Make sure to tune in next week to listen to the first episode which will feature a group of students from Labre, the on-campus organization dedicated to connecting with the homeless population in St. Louis. Pause for Opinion is hosted and produced by Fíona Clair. A special thanks to the University News Editorial Board, the Saint Louis University Communication Department, and KSLU.
01:04
September 21, 2018
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!