Skip to main content
Movement for a Peoples Party Podcast

Movement for a Peoples Party Podcast

By PeoplesParty
Join former Bernie campaign organizers who are throwing out the establishment parties and building a major new people’s party! Tune in to our podcasts that are recorded during our national organizing weekly calls, at the Peoples Convention and other events. We talk about how we’re bringing working people, students, political groups, unions and community groups together for a new progressive party. #JoinTheMovement at PeoplesParty.org
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Peoples Convention Part 3: Why We Need a New Party With Chris Hedges, People's Testimonials, Lauren Ashcraft, Isiah James, and Eleanor Goldfield

Movement for a Peoples Party Podcast

1x
The People's Party National Call | February 18, 2021
The People’s Party National Call. We’re building local hubs and registering the party across the country and we need you. This week we discuss our  commitment to mutual aid for the victims of the catastrophic Texas winter storm infrastructure outages, and announce our support for the February 20 Day of Action in support of organizing Amazon workers in Bessemer, Alabama. Texas Mutual Aid: Venmo @feedthepeopledallas @mutualaidhou (Houston) @austinmutualaid @austinmutualaidhotels (Austin) @pmgmutualaid @trinitymutualaid (San Antonio)  Feb 20 Day of Action: https://supportamazonworkers.org/feb20/ With more than 150,000 members across every state, we are building a major new progressive populist party in America. We take no corporate money and are powered entirely by small-dollar donations from working people. We have dozens of local hubs and an Advisory Council including Dr. Cornel West, Susan Sarandon, Jimmy Dore, Rose McGowan, Maine State Rep. Mike Sylvester, Justin Jackson, and many others. More than a million people watched our 2020 National Convention in August with speakers including Sen. Nina Turner, Marianne Williamson, Gov. Jesse Ventura, Danny Glover, and Chris Hedges. Our National Founding Convention will be in the second half of 2021. We’re running candidates for congress in 2022 and for the presidency and across the board in 2024. Join the movement. We are as strong as you make us! Sign up: https://peoplesparty.org Volunteer: https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer Donate: https://peoplesparty.org/donate Store: https://store.peoplesparty.org Find us on social media Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/peoplespartyusa Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeoplesParty_US Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/peoplespartyus TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@peoplespartyusa Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/peoplespartyusa Download the People's Party App Apple: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/peoples-party-app/id1464395220 Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.mppapp.mobile&hl=en_US #PeoplesParty
54:55
February 19, 2021
The People's Party National Call | February 4, 2021
The People’s Party National Call. We’re building local hubs and registering the party across the country and we need you. This week we recap on Joe Biden's Inauguration and announce our First 100 Days membership survey. With more than 150,000 members across every state, we are building a major new progressive populist party in America. We take no corporate money and are powered entirely by small-dollar donations from working people. We have dozens of local hubs and an Advisory Council including Dr. Cornel West, Susan Sarandon, Jimmy Dore, Rose McGowan, Maine State Rep. Mike Sylvester, Justin Jackson, and many others. More than a million people watched our 2020 National Convention in August with speakers including Sen. Nina Turner, Marianne Williamson, Gov. Jesse Ventura, Danny Glover, and Chris Hedges. Our National Founding Convention will be in the second half of 2021. We’re running candidates for congress in 2022 and for the presidency and across the board in 2024. Join the movement. We are as strong as you make us! Sign up: https://peoplesparty.org Volunteer: https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer Donate: https://peoplesparty.org/donate Store: https://store.peoplesparty.org Find us on social media Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/peoplespartyusa Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeoplesParty_US Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/peoplespartyus TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@peoplespartyusa Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/peoplespartyusa Download the People's Party App Apple: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/peoples-party-app/id1464395220 Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.mppapp.mobile&hl=en_US #PeoplesParty
01:01:56
February 12, 2021
The People's Party National Call | January 21, 2021 | Biden Inauguration
The People’s Party National Call. We’re building local hubs and registering the party across the country and we need you. This week we recap on Joe Biden's Inauguration and announce our First 100 Days membership survey. With more than 150,000 members across every state, we are building a major new progressive populist party in America. We take no corporate money and are powered entirely by small-dollar donations from working people. We have dozens of local hubs and an Advisory Council including Dr. Cornel West, Susan Sarandon, Jimmy Dore, Rose McGowan, Maine State Rep. Mike Sylvester, Justin Jackson, and many others. More than a million people watched our 2020 National Convention in August with speakers including Sen. Nina Turner, Marianne Williamson, Gov. Jesse Ventura, Danny Glover, and Chris Hedges. Our National Founding Convention will be in the second half of 2021. We’re running candidates for congress in 2022 and for the presidency and across the board in 2024.    Join the movement. We are as strong as you make us!   Sign up: https://peoplesparty.org ​Volunteer: https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer ​Donate: https://peoplesparty.org/donate Store: https://store.peoplesparty.org Find us on social media   Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/peoplespartyusa Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeoplesParty_US Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/peoplespartyus TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@peoplespartyusa Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/peoplespartyusa Download the People's Party App   Apple: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/peoples-party-app/id1464395220 Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.mppapp.mobile&hl=en_US  #PeoplesParty​
01:01:31
February 4, 2021
Eynelys Show Inauguration Special, Part 2
Join us for an Inauguration Day Special on the Eynelys Show with special guests Stef Zamorano, Graham Elwood, Chris Smalls and Nick Brana. Let's talk about the next four years and building a #PeoplesParty. Part 1 of 2. Subscribe to the Eynelys Show: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXBc3y6KNKNY5BShYvAiMAQ People's Party Links: Sign up: https://peoplesparty.org Volunteer: https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer Donate: https://peoplesparty.org/donate Store: https://store.peoplesparty.org Find us on social media Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/peoplespartyusa Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeoplesParty_US Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/peoplespartyus TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@peoplespartyusa Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/peoplespartyusa/ Download the People's Party App Apple: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/peoples-party-app/id1464395220 Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.mppapp.mobile&hl=en_US #PeoplesParty
37:19
February 3, 2021
Eynelys Show Inauguration Special, Part 1
Join us for an Inauguration Day Special on the Eynelys Show with special guests Stef Zamorano, Graham Elwood, Chris Smalls and Nick Brana.  Let's talk about the next four years and building a #PeoplesParty. Part 1 of 2. Subscribe to the Eynelys Show:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXBc3y6KNKNY5BShYvAiMAQ People's Party Links: Sign up: https://peoplesparty.org Volunteer: https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer Donate: https://peoplesparty.org/donate Store: https://store.peoplesparty.org Find us on social media Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/peoplespartyusa Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeoplesParty_US Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/peoplespartyus TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@peoplespartyusa Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/peoplespartyusa/ Download the People's Party App Apple: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/peoples-party-app/id1464395220 Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.mppapp.mobile&hl=en_US #PeoplesParty
59:13
February 2, 2021
The People's Party National Call | January 7, 2021
The People’s Party National Call. We’re building local hubs and registering the party across the country and we need you. This week we announce that the newly-registered People's Party of Colorado, our second state party, and hear from local organizers. We also discuss plans for the new year, including our founding convention. With more than 150,000 members across every state, we are building a major new progressive populist party in America. We take no corporate money and are powered entirely by small-dollar donations from working people. We have dozens of local hubs and an Advisory Council including Dr. Cornel West, Susan Sarandon, Jimmy Dore, Rose McGowan, Maine State Rep. Mike Sylvester, Justin Jackson, and many others. More than a million people watched our 2020 National Convention in August with speakers including Sen. Nina Turner, Marianne Williamson, Gov. Jesse Ventura, Danny Glover, and Chris Hedges. Our National Founding Convention will be in the second half of 2021. We’re running candidates for congress in 2022 and for the presidency and across the board in 2024. Join the movement. We are as strong as you make us. Sign up: https://peoplesparty.org ​Volunteer: https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer Donate: https://peoplesparty.org/donate Store: https://store.peoplesparty.org Find us on social media   Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/peoplespartyusa Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeoplesParty_US Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/peoplespartyus TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@peoplespartyusa Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/peoplespartyusa/  Download the People's Party App   Apple: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/peoples-party-app/id1464395220 Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.mppapp.mobile&hl=en_US  #PeoplesParty​    Live transcript: https://otter.ai/u/z7QMDbggTaoIZm9KjbV3510l-3E
01:08:16
February 1, 2021
#ForceTheVote Town Hall co-hosted by Briahna Joy Gray and Katie Halper, Part 3
featuring Dr. Cornel West and Nick Brana Sign the Petition Here https://forcethevote.org https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer https://peoplesparty.org/donate  https://peoplesparty.org/platform https://peoplesparty.org/sign-up
50:06
January 29, 2021
#ForceTheVote Town Hall co-hosted by Briahna Joy Gray and Katie Halper, Part 2
featuring Krystal Ball, Kyle Kulinski, Justin Jackson, and Jimmy Dore Sign the Petition Here https://forcethevote.org https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer https://peoplesparty.org/donate  https://peoplesparty.org/platform https://peoplesparty.org/sign-up
30:25
January 28, 2021
#ForceTheVote Town Hall co-hosted by Briahna Joy Gray and Katie Halper, Part 1
featuring Savage Joy Marie Mann and Scott Desnoyers Sign the Petition Here https://forcethevote.org https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer https://peoplesparty.org/donate  https://peoplesparty.org/platform https://peoplesparty.org/sign-up
38:45
January 27, 2021
The People's Party National Call | December 17, 2020
The People’s Party National Call. We’re building local hubs and registering the party across the country and we need you. This call features an appearance by historian Thomas Frank and coverage of the Steven Donziger Chevron case. https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer https://peoplesparty.org/donate  https://peoplesparty.org/platform https://peoplesparty.org/sign-up
01:08:19
January 26, 2021
People's Podcast - Climate Edition w/ Dr. Peter Kalmus
This is the first of Dr. Peter Kalmus' monthly climate podcasts for MPP, featuring a guest appearance by science professor Ann Marie Carlton of UC Irvine. Peter is a climate scientist and MPP's climate advisor. https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer https://peoplesparty.org/donate  https://peoplesparty.org/platform https://peoplesparty.org/sign-up
45:41
January 25, 2021
The Peoples Party Talks With Climate Scientist Peter Kalmus About the Eight Years Left to Turn Things Around
Climate Scientist and activist Dr. Peter Kalmus talks climate change cause & effect and announces the launch of "The People's Podcast" with Nick. Jessica and Todd provide updates on state & local organizing, and Carol commemorates a fallen ally in the political revolution.  Tune in to find out where we are at in the party registration.   https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer https://peoplesparty.org/donate  https://peoplesparty.org/platform https://peoplesparty.org/sign-up
01:07:48
December 13, 2020
The People's Party National Call - Maine People's Party Launches and Mike McCorkle Ditches the Dems and Joins the New Party!
In this exciting episode that comes on the heels of the People's Party's Maine ballot access filing, MPP also welcomes a special guest. Nick opens the meeting after having attended a Maine virtual celebration discussing the milestone of the party name filing in the first of 50 states - Maine. He reminds us of the events that led up to this moment in the last 3-4 years since Bernie Sanders run for President in 2016. We then hear from Todd who speaks about the local organizing toolkit that is now available but is a work in progress. If you want to see it just follow the volunteer process at https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer and complete the community agreements to join us in building the major new replacement party. We also hear from Lindsey, the Maine State Hub Coordinator who was celebrating the party name registration milestone with her team. She expressed enthusiasm about getting the 5000 signatures needed for party status within the next year. Next we heard from special guest, Colorado Lawyer, two time Sanders delegate, and Chair of the Progressive Wing of the Colorado Democrats. Mike McCorkle joined the Democrats in 2015 to vote for Bernie Sanders. He is a co-founder and executive board member of the Colorado Working Families Party, Our Revolution, and the Democratic Socialists of America (DSA). Mike provides legal and political counsel to progressive candidates, worker owned cooperatives, grassroots political campaigns, and others. Mike explained how he has had it with the Democratic Party and is joining the Peoples Party. Nick and Mike discussed how Biden's cabinet is an alphabet soup of corporations and lobbyists, as well as the selection of Neera Tanden to join his cabinet. They discussed how even Rahm Emanuel is being considered as Transportation Secretary. Despite the fact that Emanuel was accused of engaging in a coverup to bury police camera footage after an officer-involved shooting of a Black teenager, Laquan McDonald, in 2014. The scandal led him to withdraw his bid for a third  term as mayor. The bottom line is that if the People's Party doesn't fill the void the people are calling for, then a better Trump or Trump 2.0 could be voted back in the next election cycle by a rightfully angry population. We cannot stand for more years of Neoliberalism after a pandemic and the worst recession since the Great Depression. We also hear from Jessica of the Latinos/LatinX for a People's Party working group. She invites Latinos to join us since many of us speak Spanish and many documents and the website will be translated soon. We also hear from Victor the Miami, Fla Hub Coordinator who tells us about organizing events attended in Dade County in the last few weeks. Nick takes questions from the comments and then Carol closes the meeting with a poem.  Time For a Revolution Song by Ron Placone - https://RonPlacone.com Sign up for MPP Updates at https://peoplesparty.org/sign-up Donate to help keep the lights on - https://peoplesparty.org/donate 
01:00:00
December 4, 2020
People's Party Movement - Chats With Qween Jean, Jaimeson Davids, and Angel Charley About Incoming Biden Administration, How Trump Was Defeated, Where Do We Go From Here
Originally Published as a livestream on the Movement for a People’s Party YouTube channel on November 24, 2020. MPP’s founder and national coordinator Nick Braña speaks with guests Qween Jean - a black trans lives matter activist from New York, Jaimeson Davids from the Sunrise Movement (DC), and Angel Charley from the Coalition to Stop Violence Against Native Women (New Mexico). Nick asks guests to give their opinion on the incoming Biden administration and if they are satisfied with his cabinet picks. The guests also discuss how Trump was defeated with Angel Charley explaining how the counties in Arizona that flipped that state to blue had indigenous voters from reservations that really turned out to vote for Joe Biden this election. Their communities and all communities of color are the most marginalized in society. Angel belongs to one of nineteen tribal coalitions in New Mexico. She speaks on the 400+ years of systematic oppression that Native Americans have endured because the system exists to oppress people of color. Nick announces that the official party naming vote that took place using Ranked Choice Voting has selected the “People’s Party” as the name to register with in all 50 states. The party registration will begin in the state of Maine in December 2020. Nick explains that in 2022 the new major party will run candidates for Congress and in 2024 run a presidential candidate. Jaime Davis from Sunrise Movement (DC) talks about the recent action he was involved in at DNC Headquarters and how we must keep pressuring the incoming administration to help the suffering. He discusses with Nick how Biden’s cabinet appears to be a recycling of old Clinton and Obama appointees for more of the same Neoliberalism and Austerity. Nick talks about how more than 50 million people have applied for unemployment insurance benefits, and many people are suffering food insecurity and going hungry in America. Qween Jean tells us about how trans people suffer work discrimination for jobs, are murdered and sidelined in society. She shares with us that 38 trans black lives have already been killed in 2020, and one of them on the National Transgender Day of Remembrance. She says we can do better. We need to protect those trying to survive. Qween Jean also tells us how the Republican and Democrat label are meaningless because what we are really in need of is some humanity. Tune in for the entire episode which was very popular on YouTube so we decided to also convert it into a podcast. If you would like to receive MPP news go to https://PeoplesParty.org/sign-up | to volunteer go to https://PeoplesParty.org/volunteer | to donate go to https://PeoplesParty.org/donate | and finally to see the proposed party platform which is not complete go to https://PeoplesParty.org/platform
51:09
November 26, 2020
The Peoples Party Movement Discusses the Final Party Name RCV Vote, Party Registration in Maine & Strategic States, Biden's Corporate Cabinet Picks & More
2020-11-19 Nick opens with updates about Trump's failing attempts to overturn the election results, the growing list of corporate Democrats and Republicans going in to the Biden administration, and our process to select a party name via RCV (Ranked Choice Voting) among the top 10 of more than 3500 party name nominations from our members. We are choosing a name now so we can register our intent to establish a party in Maine, which requires filing for ballot access in December 2020 for us to run candidates in 2022. After filing, we must get 5000 registered party members in Maine in the next year for ballot access and are currently preparing that outreach. Regional Coordinators Todd and Michelle discuss how we are building hubs and coalitions on the ground in every state to grow our party, and how we need more people to volunteer everywhere. William from Milwaukee joins us to talk about what's happening in Wisconsin. He describes the rapid growth of the Milwaukee and Dane County (Madison) hubs and the need to spread the ideas and policies of our party far and wide, across all counties. Cate from New Jersey describes her recent experience speaking with another group of NJ progressives who were receptive to either forming a coalition with MPP or possibly joining us directly. Media and Messaging Working Group Coordinator Carol explains how the weekly call for her working group will alternate focus between Social Media and Media/Messaging from week to week. The next weekly Media and Messaging call will focus on local and national media outreach. Two new Circles are also being formed: the Email Circle will be responsible for responding to incoming email from the general public and our members, and the Research Circle will be responsible for internal research requests. We also have a new public Slack channel called #social-media-amplify. Political Outreach WG Co-coordinator Tiffany talks about the work of the Electoral Strategy Circle, which she also coordinates. Last week they completed their research on how to obtain ballot access in all 50 states and the District of Columbia, and are in the process of verifying that research and choosing their next research project now. Creative Arts WG Coordinator David describes how his group's work includes graphics and video for social media, livestreams, flyers for organizers, music and chants for our actions, merch designs, and more. This Working Group includes Video and Photo Production, Music, and Creative Writing Circles and will add more as we grow. Tech WG Coordinator Thomas details the ongoing work of the Coding and Development, Data and Analytics, and IT Circles, and our near-term goals of starting a Cybersecurity Circle and state and local hub liaisons. The Coding and Development circle is working on redoing the MPP app,  Data and Analytics is building out a custom member platform to rival ActBlue, and IT works on keeping our crucial internal infrastructure running smoothly. Nick returns to give many additional updates including on how we are building up local hubs in advance of our widespread ballot access efforts planned for 2021. We're also putting a Welcome Circle together in the Organizing WG which will call every new volunteer and help plug them in. We will be releasing our Organizing Guide for hubs on December 1st and posting our By-Laws by December 15th. Our Founding Convention and determination of our Party Platform are planned for summer or fall of 2021. We will then selectively run candidates to win in strategic elections in 2022. Q&A and a closing by Carol follow. PeoplesParty.org/volunteer 
01:01:52
November 23, 2020
The Movement for a Peoples Party Discusses their Current Vote for their 'Major New Party' Name Registration in Maine
Nick describes our immediate plan to select our official party name from the top 10 nominated names via RCV (Ranked Choice Voting).  The top 10 finalist names in order of popularity (which will be voted on again from Thursday November 19, 2020 through Saturday November 21, 2020) are: • People's Party • Populist Party • Workers' Party • American People’s Party • We the People • Four Freedoms Party • People First Party • Bull Moose Party • American Workers Party • New Deal Party Cast your vote for the final party name using our ranked-choice ballot below. The vote ends on Saturday at 6 pm Eastern / 3 pm Pacific. Vote 🗳 for the party name here https://peoplesparty.survey.fm/peoples-party-name-ballot ✔️ Nick also reviews the success in the 2020 election cycle of progressive candidates and policies across the United States. He contrasts that with moderate Democrats' down ballot failures and Biden's early corporate picks for his Administration. ✔️ Next, organizers in the MPP Election Day of Action share their experiences. Alon from Connecticut describes his team's action in Middletown, CT where they were exit polling and talking to college students who had voted, asking if they were satisfied with their voting choices...if they were happy...if they could smile after voting? One of those would get a "no" and then they would pitch the MPP. ✔️ Cate from NJ describes her team's consistently positive experiences talking about MPP with exiting voters in South Orange, Rutherford, Maplewood, and Montclair. ✔️ Todd speaks about how to get involved with MPP: sign up to volunteer at https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer, join our Slack, and join your local hub and/or working group! ✔️ Regional Coordinators Phil, Jessica, and Michelle give brief updates. ✔️ Tiffany and Nick talk about our donors and fundraising: we are an all volunteer, people-powered movement that will never take a dime from corporations or billionaires. This year, we have received thousands of small dollar donations with an average donation of $24. We are a registered 527 organization which publicly posts financial reports on a quarterly basis. You can help us fund the movement at https://peoplesparty.org/donate ✔️ The call concludes with a Q&A session. See our initial proposed platform at https://peoplesparty.org/platform ✔️ Vote 🗳 for the party name here https://peoplesparty.survey.fm/peoples-party-name-ballot
01:11:10
November 21, 2020
Movement for a People's Party National Organizing Call With Post 2020 Election Analysis and the Future of the New Party
Movement for a People's Party National Organizing Call Post 2020 Election Nick Brana discusses the Democratic Party's razor-thin wins in the 2020 presidential election, the significant Democratic losses in terms of state and federal legislatures, and our mission for the next four years: building a major new party that achieves midterm wins in 2022 and a presidential win in 2024.  Carol discusses how the Democratic Party will go on to fail us in 2024 if nothing fundamentally changes.  Phil talks to three MPP members who participated in the MPP Election Day Action.  The participants share their inspirational experiences, where people contacted at polling places largely agreed that a new political option would be welcome.   Nick returns to talk about how MPP will fill the vacuum of the "electoral chasm of non-representation" where neither party supports policies that a majority of Americans want, such as free public college, a Green New Deal, legalizing marijuana, Medicare for All, ending mandatory minimum sentencing, increasing financial regulations, raising taxes on the rich, universal pre-k, net neutrality, basic income, and getting money out of politics. Q&A follows. Volunteer at https://peoplesparty.org/volunteer Donate at https://peoplesparty.org/donate  Read the Proposed But Incomplete Platform at https://peoplesparty.org/platform
01:02:15
November 10, 2020
Movement for a People's Party Pre 2020 Election Discussion and Day of Action Plans Plus Special Guest Speaker Senator Mike Gravel
This national organizing call features guest Senator Mike Gravel who speaks on the remnants of slavery in our Constitution, judicial and legislative term limits, excessive Pentagon budgets, the Gravel Institute, and the National Citizens Initiative for Democracy. Also discussed is the forced confirmation of Amy Coney Barrett to the Supreme Court. We discuss the People's Party's Election Day 'Day of Action' plans so we can meet with voters and tell them that no matter who wins we are building a new party. To join us go to PeoplesParty.org 
01:10:32
November 2, 2020
The Peoples Party Discusses Ranked Choice Voting in Massachusetts and the Urgency of Climate Change
In this podcast episode converted from our Zoom National Organizing call meeting we hear from guest speakers, and learn more about #Yes on 2, a group working toward Ranked Choice Voting in Massachusetts. We then vote on whether MPP should endorse this group and support those efforts in Massachusetts. We'll also discuss our Election #DayOfAction, amd more organizing updates!  If you want to attend the National Organizing call live on Zoom and/or you haven't registered for the call previously, please register here:https://peoplesparty-org.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_ZSQWfjJwTde6DwpcFxkWWQ  Everyone who registered in the last 3 months will get an automatic email with the Zoom link. You can download the People’s Party app to cast your vote in future polls.  During this call we had guest speakers like Jesse from "Yes on 2", a group working toward #RankedChoiceVoting in Massachusetts, who shared info about the work they're doing to achieve RCV in Massachusetts by ballot initiative. We held a vote on whether MPP should endorse this group and support those efforts in Massachusetts. The vote was overwhelmingly in favor of endorsement.  We also discussed our Election Day of Action, and heard from MPP volunteers, Bill Hackett, on the environmental crisis, and Alex Rothfelder, on local organizing efforts by the hubs in Massachusetts.  Listen to catch up on some of the exciting things happening across the Movement for a People's Party!  For information on "Yes on 2": https://www.yeson2rcv.com/  The calls always take place at 8:30 pm eastern but are sometimes adjusted to other days in case of a political event that needs our undivided attention. Remember MPP is not endorsing any candidates in this 2020 presidential election and encourages everyone to vote their conscience. But after the election we are counting on your help to build the new party.  Sign up at https://PeoplesParty.org/volunteer and learn more at https://PeoplesParty.org   Help us to keep fighting for all of us at https://PeoplesParty.org/donate
57:21
October 29, 2020
Peoples Convention Part 8: How To Start a New Party With Dr. Cornel West, and Nina Turner
Part 8 - 51:03 - Dr. Cornel West on the inspirational nature of uplifting every voice in a prophetic fight against historic levels of catastrophe, trauma, and injustice - Nina Turner on bringing about a true peace by dedicating ourselves to a revolution of values, love, and hope - How to Start a New Party: a montage of practical advice on organizing for success
51:03
October 21, 2020
Peoples Convention Part 7: What MPP Stands For With Nick Brana and Marianne Williamson
Part 7 - 40:36 - What MPP Stands For: a montage of our platform so far - Nick Brana on the failure of our leadership in the face of multiple crises and what we can do about it - Marianne Williamson on the abolition of slavery, women's suffrage, the civil rights movement, and the calling of our current moment
40:36
October 19, 2020
Peoples Convention Part 6: Why We Need a New Party With Medea Benjamin, Jerry Perez, Eynelys Vinson, Tim Black, and Ryan Knight
Part 6 - 34:03 - Medea Benjamin on non-intervention, global nuclear disarmament, and cutting our military budget in half - Jerry Perez on how combat veterans are ready to fight tyranny and injustice at home - Eynelys Vinson on how now is the time to form a party that actually represents working and middle class Americans - Tim Black on how the only way to give people of all ethnicities a fair shot is a new party - Ryan Knight on how we need to unrig the corrupt system of two major parties that only serve the ruling class
34:03
October 16, 2020
Peoples Convention Part 5: Why We Need a New Party With Jesse Ventura, [Musical Interlude], Chase Iron Eyes, and Jimmy Dore
Part 5 - 37:39 - Jesse Ventura on battling the Corporate Party (a.k.a the two major parties) for political turf - Musical Interlude: "Time For A Revolution" by Ron Placone, and "Here We Are" by Skylar Franika & Trudy Hess - Chase Iron Eyes on protecting indigenous rights, resisting corporate-sponsored state violence, and rejecting conflict accelerationism - Jimmy Dore on how we need to save ourselves from the failed system of inequality, oligarchy, and war
37:39
October 14, 2020
Peoples Convention Part 4: Why We Need a New Party With Jamarl Thomas, Ron Placone, Maebe A Girl, Niko House, Massey Branscomb, and Scott Santens
Part 4 - 33:45 - Jamarl Thomas on leaving behind a Democratic Party establishment that rejects the demands of the majority - Ron Placone on our dismal two-party electoral options - Maebe A Girl on the importance of electing representatives from the 99% at all levels of government - Niko House on focusing on policies instead of cults of personality and how unrepresented we are by the duopoly - Massey Branscomb on how to do good no matter what your lot in life - Scott Santens on how we can end poverty and build a just society through an unconditional basic income
33:45
October 12, 2020
Peoples Convention Part 3: Why We Need a New Party With Chris Hedges, People's Testimonials, Lauren Ashcraft, Isiah James, and Eleanor Goldfield
On Sunday, August 30th, 2020, an assortment of luminaries from across the cultural spectrum joined forces to launch the movement to form a new major political party in the United States. The People's Convention 2020 Podcast brings this full event to you in eight episodes. The speakers at this event focused on discussing the issues, not abstract ideals, and made it clear that while we may not agree on everything, we have more in common than we have been led to believe by the existing major parties. The common thread amongst the speakers was a disavowal of both neofascism and neoliberalism, and an advocacy of people over corporations. This is the Movement for a People's Party. Part 3 - 33:07 - Chris Hedges on the high stakes of oligarchic concentration of power under both major parties - Peoples’ Testimonials on the need for a major new party to deal with the crises we face - Lauren Ashcraft on why we need to stop taking abuse from our good cop/bad cop duopoly - Isiah James on the civil rights movement that continues to this day - Eleanor Goldfield on how historic and unstoppable our movement is
33:07
October 9, 2020
Peoples Convention Part 2: Why We Need a New Party With Amaya Wangeshi, Chris Smalls, Omar Fernandez, Lee Camp, and Kaitlin Sopoci-Belknap
On Sunday, August 30th, 2020, an assortment of luminaries from across the cultural spectrum joined forces to launch the movement to form a new major political party in the United States. The People's Convention 2020 Podcast brings this full event to you in eight episodes. The speakers at this event focused on discussing the issues, not abstract ideals, and made it clear that while we may not agree on everything, we have more in common than we have been led to believe by the existing major parties. The common thread amongst the speakers was a disavowal of both neofascism and neoliberalism, and an advocacy of people over corporations. This is the Movement for a People's Party. Part 2 - 33:56 - Amaya Wangeshi on being proud of what we believe in and not letting others define us - Chris Smalls on income inequality and the national fight for essential worker rights - Omar Fernandez on labor solidary, unity, and empowerment at the USPS and beyond - Lee Camp on what passes for a resistance these days - Kaitlin Sopoci-Belknap on overturning Citizens United and elevating human rights over corporate rights
33:56
October 7, 2020
Peoples Convention Part 1: Why We Need a New Party With Cheng-Sim Lim, Hanieh Jodat, Graham Elwood, Danny Glover and Dr. Peter Kalmus
On Sunday, August 30th, 2020, an assortment of luminaries from across the cultural spectrum joined forces to launch the movement to form a new major political party in the United States. The People's Convention 2020 Podcast brings this full event to you in eight episodes. The speakers at this event focused on discussing the issues, not abstract ideals, and made it clear that while we may not agree on everything, we have more in common than we have been led to believe by the existing major parties. The common thread amongst the speakers was a disavowal of both neofascism and neoliberalism, and an advocacy of people over corporations. This is the Movement for a People's Party. Part 1 - 43:29 - Why We Need a New Party - Cheng-Sim Lim on the push for universal healthcare - Hanieh Jodat on ending institutionalized police and military violence at home and abroad - Graham Elwood on duopoly and choosing the right time for a revolution - Danny Glover on the need for transformative change now - Dr. Peter Kalmus on climate breakdown, the Green New Deal, and ending fossil fuel subsidies
43:29
October 5, 2020