Pharmacy Inspection Podcast

Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 15 - Bill Fixler Part 2

An episode of Pharmacy Inspection Podcast

Avatar
By Seth DePasquale
Promoting compliance and quality in compounding pharmacy.
More places to listen

More places to listen

Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 34 – Viable Air Sampling
This week we welcome Brenda Jensen and Jim Hack of Compounding Consultants to the podcast. They both began their pharmacy careers as technicians over 30 years at an Air Force Base and now consult pharmacies, large and small, in compounding compliance for seeking accreditation. We’ll be having a discussion on compliance with USP , specifically about viable air sampling.
31:04
December 12, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 32 – Kim Kieffer USP Chapters OTHER THAN 795, 797 & 800!
This week we welcome Kim Kieffer to the podcast. Kim is the Director of Corporate Relations at Empower Pharmacy in Houston Texas. She’s been a compounding consultant at Spectrum, Letco and Freedom Pharmaceuticals. Most recently she was the Academy Manager at Fagron educating pharmacists and technicians. She has a wealth of knowledge when it comes to formulations and quality control. This week we discuss various, lesser known USP chapters (other than USP 795, 797 and 800) and their application(s) to compounding. To learn more about the contamination control webinar go to: https://pharmacyinspection.com/product/a-compounders-guide-to-hazardous-drug-compounding-workflow/ Join us for the USP Hazardous Drug Workflow & Containment Webinar Next Friday, November 16th at 1 PM EST!
25:49
November 2, 2018
Episode 31 - Melissa Stefko Contamination Control
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 31 - Melissa Stefko This week we welcome Melissa Stefko, from Wells Pharmacy Network to the podcast. Melissa Stefko, Senior Director of Quality for 503B Wells Pharmacy Network, will be discussing contamination control as it relates to pharmaceutical compounding. Ms Stefko is an experienced Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology professional with a background in Quality Assurance and Quality Control in aseptic sterile processing. To learn more about the contamination control webinar go to: https://pharmacyinspection.com/product/a-compounders-guide-to-contamination-control-webinar
27:44
October 13, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast - Episode 30 - USP <800> Designated Person
This week Greg Stowell and Jon Pritchett from PCAB (ACHC) speak with us about a new course they've released that teaches you all about becoming compliant with the Designated Person requirement within USP 800. Found out more about the ACHC Designated Person Course HERE! (https://accreditationuniversity.com/hdhdp) Watch the Lean 6 Sigma Process improvement webinar on demand here: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_wy8QmkHHQ9qUClyDNq46Lw (copy and paste)
16:17
September 5, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 29 - Process Improvement
This week Bryan and I talk about Process Improvement! We give specific examples of how to start out improving a few processes within your own pharmacy.
23:43
August 28, 2018
Episode 28 - Compounding Design Theory
This week Bryan and I talk about Compounding Design Theory! This podcast stemmed from a conversation Bryan and I had about a hood that he helped design for Encore Scientific (pictured on left); a hood with a clear view from any angle. Which is extremely helpful from the the perspective of the PIC; who at any moment could be doing any number of things in the lab. With a hood like this they're able to maintain visibility of any of the technicians operating inside which is important just from quality standpoint but ALSO for the technician working inside as well...
19:42
August 8, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 27 - USP 797 Revision
Thanks SO so much for everyone that did tune in; I promise next live event I will DEFINITELY RAISE THE BAR!!! I’ve fixed most of the audio issues and I believe we’ll revisit this conversation again the very near future! LAST WEEK USP announced the proposed revisions of 797. Join Jon Pritchett, Bryan Prince and I for a SPECIAL EDITION of the Pharmacy Inspection Podcast where we’ll discuss some of the changes that may impact you if accepted. Of course, this also opens up a new comment period; after the show if there’s something you’d like to voice to the USP about their proposed revision PLEASE DO SO HERE (CLICK HERE):
39:40
July 31, 2018
Episode 26 - Vitae Industries 3D AutoCompounder (3D Printer)
This week we broadcast our interview that we recorded at CCH in June. Bryan was able to sit down with Jeanine Sinanan-Sing, co-founder and CEO of Vitae Industries, maker of the AutoCompounder 3D printer . They talk about their platform and the exciting possibilities available with its use. Thanks again to our sponsor for  CCH: Encore Scientific. If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening.
17:27
July 25, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 25 - Kim Kieffer
This week we welcome Kim Kieffer! Kim is the Director of Corporate Relations at Empower Pharmacy in Houston Texas. She’s been a compounding consultant at Spectrum, Letco and Freedom Pharmaceuticals. Most recently she was the Academy Manager at Fagron educating pharmacists and technicians. She has a wealth of knowledge when it comes to formulations and quality control. If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We’re just getting warmed up; there’s SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what’s to come! Thanks for listening. Thanks to our sponsor for this week and at CCH: Encore Scientific. Here’s the Vitae Industries AutoCompounder 3D printer in action at CCH Announcement: We’re finally on Spotify as a podcast! In fact, also of those icons below are various podcast hosts; and we’re on all of them. Hopefully you see the one where you usually get your podcasts. If not, let us know.
31:28
July 10, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 24 - Christine Roussel
This week we welcome Christine Roussel, assistant Director of Pharmacy at Doylestown Hospital in Pennsylvania and Program Facilitator for Medisca's LP3 Network. This was a great conversation about containment practices and we really hope to have her on again sometime soon! WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"]   If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
22:36
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 23 - Greg Stowell.
This week we welcome Greg Stowell, Education and Consulting Manager for Accreditation University. We discuss how ACHC is helping to bring continuous quality education to compounders. WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"]   If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
23:42
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 22 - 795 Revisions
On April 20th 2018, the USP had an online open forum where they discussed the proposed revision of 795. Today on the show Bryan and Seth discuss some of the proposed changes to 795. WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"]   If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
29:31
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 21 - Lauren Bernick
This week we welcome Lauren Bernick, Director of Advertising for the International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding. Lauren also runs a website called wellelephant.com, where she consults on nutrition using a whole foods, plant based diet. This week we talk about how compounders could expand their business and brand using nutrition/wellness and help people live a healthier lifestyle in the process. WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"]   If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
23:38
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Ep 20 - Endotoxin v Endospores
This week Bryan and I  discuss the differences between endotoxin and endospores; diving a little deeper into the post from last week. We talk about the basics of these two, why they're important and how to kill or deactivate them. WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"]     If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
22:11
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 19 - Donnie Calhoun
This week we welcome Donnie Calhoun, Pharmacist, Pharmacy owner and CEO & Executive Director for the American College of Apothecaries (ACA). Donnie brings a lot of experience and knowledge to the podcast this week as we discuss the topic of education within compounding including the future of pharmacy and the ACA's role in providing pharmacists with quality education. WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"]     If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
28:50
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 18 - Denise Frank
This week we welcome Denise Frank, Pharmacist, Consultant, Educator...within compounding Denise has done a LOT! We met Denise at the ACA meeting in Florida and had to have her on the podcast. Denise has also worked for the National Associations of Boards of Pharmacy and helped developed the program for how they inspect compounding pharmacies. Denise is available for consulting work through Frank Consulting (click HERE). WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"]   If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
22:43
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 17 - Erika Fallon
This week we welcome Erika Fallon, Supervising Pharmacist at Fallon Wellness Pharmacy to the podcast. Erika is heavily involved in the International Academy of Compounding Pharmacists as she is on their Board of Directors and also sits on the legislative committee as well. WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"]   If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
24:20
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Ep 16 - Bryan & Seth talk PPE
This week Bryan and I discuss proper donning and doffing of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) - there seems to be much discussion this topic and how to perform properly when it comes to hazardous drug handling. Honestly, I think this is still open for debate on how to do correctly and maybe there's more than 1 way to get it done. Let's discuss! WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
26:25
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 15 - Bill Fixler Part 2
In our 15th episode Pharmacist and rockstar entrepreneur, Bill Fixler talks about his experience in co-owning 3 pharmacies; all of which compound. Most recently, Bill has been working on opening a 503B pharmacy, Asteria Health in Birmingham, Alabama. We also discuss differences between owning a 503A and 503B and what he learned making this transition. This is the second part of possibly a three part series that we recorded last year. Stay tuned! Sign up to receive the entire episode: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
26:49
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 14 - Herschell Hitchcock
This week we welcome Herschell Hitchcock, President of EOC1 to the podcast. Herschell is an industrial hygienist by training and has a ton of experience in how exactly cleanrooms work and how to troubleshoot problems when something goes wrong. His company EOC1 also certifies and maintains cleanrooms for a number of clients all over the United States and beyond! WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
27:51
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 13 - Brenda J & Jim H
This week we welcome Brenda Jensen and Jim Hack of Compounding Consultants to the podcast. They both began their pharmacy careers as technicians over 30 years at an Air Force Base and now consult pharmacies, large and small, in compounding compliance for seeking accreditation. WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
26:46
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 12 - Loyd Allen
This week we welcome Dr. Loyd Allen Jr. to the podcast. He is the editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Pharmaceutical Compounding (click here) and has been an outspoken advocate for improving quality in compounding as well as advising on multiple committees for the United States Pharmacopeia and the FDA. WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
25:00
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 11 - Java Coleman
Java Coleman joins us this week. He is a consultant for the pharmaceutical industry through XLN Collaborative Consulting. Java has been working for many year now in the area of process improvement. He's also worked at large organizations like Fagron, Apex and Nestle in their operations and improvement divisions. Feel free to reach out to Java: jcoleman@xlnconsultants.com WE'RE NOW ON iHEART RADIO PODCASTS (click here)! Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
28:58
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 9 - Joe C. & Bill M.
In our 9th episode we speak with Joe Cabaliero and Bill Mixon. Both of these gentlemen have a history in compounding pharmacy that is interesting and impressive. Recently, they have submitted a proposal to include sterile compounding as one of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS). In this episode we discuss how the idea came about and some of the work that went into getting the specialty to be considered. Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
26:10
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 10 - Rad Dillon
This week we talk with Rad Dillon. He is a pharmacist and certified surveyor and consultant for the Accreditation Commission for Health Care with a lot of experience performing PCAB accreditation audits. Rad also has experience in writing Standard Operating Procedures and pharmacy management. He's also attained the American Society for Quality's Quality Auditing (CQA) and Quality Management/Operational Excellence (CMQ OE) certifications. Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
29:32
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 8 - Pharmetric Labs
HAPPY NEW YEAR! Welcome to 2018. In our 8th episode we speak with James Brown and Dr. Wayne Dehaven of Pharmetric Laboratory. We'll be talking about the importance of method suitability, why it's necessary and what Pharmetric specializes in: Rapid Microbiological Sterility Testing. Their method allows pharmacies to get sterility results within 5 days rather than 2 weeks.   Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
33:43
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 7 - Jon Pritchett
In our 7th episode we speak with Jon Pritchett, Associate Director of Pharmacy for Accreditation Commission for Health Care. Jon has not only worked in compounding pharmacy for many years but is now director of pharmacy of the accrediting body that audits many compounding pharmacies throughout the country. This is a great discussion about USP 800, Accreditation University and their offerings and we try to answer the question, "why are there so many awesome pharmacists in the state of North Carolina?" Sign up for updates from PharmacyInspection.com: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
28:32
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 6 - Bill Fixler
In our sixth episode Pharmacist and rockstar entrepreneur, Bill Fixler talks about his experience in co-owning 3 pharmacies; all of which compound. Most recently, Bill has been working on opening a 503B pharmacy, Asteria Health in Birmingham, Alabama. We also discuss differences between owning a 503A and 503B and what he learned making this transition. This podcast is a little longer than our previous; our whole conversation with Bill was well over 90 minutes; I'll make this entire conversation available to my subscribers shortly because there is a TON of valuable information! Sign up to receive the entire episode: [mc4wp_form id="14886"] If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!
31:19
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 5 - Cheri Kraemer
In our fifth episode we welcome Cheri Kraemer, owner and pharmacist in charge of Pharmacy Specialties, Inc. Cheri has been compounding for many years and was recently distinguished by ACHC for the pharmacy's compliance with USP 800. On this episode we'll be talking with Cheri about the challenges she faces with 800 and just generally with the changing landscape of compounding pharmacy. If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!       
22:49
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 4 - Shawn Valandra Part
In our fourth episode we welcome back Shawn Valandra, owner of SV Environmental Consulting and SVE Filtration. Shawn has experience in providing clean air solutions to GMP Environments for the last 20 years. Bryan Prince and Shawn have consulted on and built several USP compliant cleanrooms. We continue our discussion on various issues that pharmacies will typically see with building new cleanroom environments. We also talk about some of the obstacles they've encountered on projects they were called on to finish. If you like the podcast follow us on twitter @PharmacyInspect and share the podcast with those who might find it helpful. We're just getting warmed up; there's SO many more topics to cover! Stay tuned for what's to come! Thanks for listening. Do you have a question or comment for the show? Leave us a VOICEMAIL, right on our site!     
25:55
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 3 - Shawn Valandra
In our third episode we welcome Shawn Valandra, owner of SV Environmental Consulting and SVE Filtration. Shawn has experience in providing clean air solutions to GMP Environments for the last 20 years. Bryan Prince and Shawn have consulted on and built several USP compliant cleanrooms. We discuss various issues that pharmacies will typically see with building new cleanroom environments. We also talk about some of the obstacles they’ve encountered on projects they were called on to finish. When we recorded this it actually went a little long so we turned this conversation into a two part series, check out the conclusion of this discussion in episode 4.
25:55
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 2
In our second episode we dissect Seth’s experience with attempting to become compliant with USP . We talk about some of the issues he went through as well as what was done to mitigate the problems. If you’re in the planning stages or about to undertake this project this is an episode you do not want to miss!
27:21
July 7, 2018
Pharmacy Inspection Podcast Episode 1
In Episode 1 of the Pharmacy Inspection Podcast, Bryan Prince and Seth DePasquale introduce themselves and how they entered into the compounding arena. They also open up a discussion about they delay of USP , the most recent standard that attempts to protect personnel against the hazardous chemicals they handle and compound with.
27:19
July 7, 2018
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!