Skip to main content
RedStarReviews

RedStarReviews

By RedStarReviews
A book lover in Birmingham, Alabama who is here to talk books!
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Castbox Logo

Castbox

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

PodBean Logo

PodBean

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Stitcher Logo

Stitcher

Conversing With A Rubricist! Or A Talk About Hobbying.
Welcome to the seventh episode of season two! In this episode we get to have an international conversation with a hero of mine in the Warhammer40K hobby world: Edward AKA Death_Of_A_Rubricist on Instagram. We discuss what Warhammer40K is, talk about the War Of The False Primarch narrative event (which is open to all to join), and also discuss the nature and benefits of hobbying. This episode was a lot of fun and there is something for everyone, even if Warhammer40K isn’t your jam! Links to sites we discuss in the show: Edward’s Instagram: https://instagram.com/death_of_a_rubricist?utm_medium=copy_link The blog for the War Of The False Primarch: https://warofthefalseprimarch.blogspot.com/?m=1 A link to how to get involved: https://warofthefalseprimarch.blogspot.com/p/get-involved-outline-of-project.html?m=1 A link to Edward’s primary blog: https://apologentsia.blogspot.com/?m=1
45:42
July 23, 2021
WOW! So long between episodes! Let’s catch up and be encouraged!
First episode of 2021 only halfway through 2021! This one is a wide ranging episode in which we cover my RedStarReviews Favorite Book Of The Year Award for 2020, Vintage SciFi Month, Warhammer40K, painting, Indie SciFi gets a new awards competition, and an offering of personal encouragement to not be discouraged in difficult times. Hope you enjoy and hope you are well!
36:48
June 5, 2021
A Conversation On Vintage SciFi Month With LittleRedReviewer
For the fifth episode of season two we have something really special! The founder of Vintage SciFi Month joins for a conversation on one of the greatest months of reading ever! The end is a bit abrupt as my headset died on me so apologies for that, but this episode was so much fun to produce so we want to give it to you in its entirety! Also here are several resources for finding material to read for Vintage SciFi Month (which takes place every January). Here are the links to the resources talked about in the podcast: Project Gutenberg http://gutenberg.org/ Luminist Archives (everything) http://www.luminist.org/archives/periodicals_index.htm Luminist archives SF Magazines http://www.luminist.org/archives/SF/ Librivox Audiobooks - free public domain https://librivox.org/ Ann and Jeff Vandermeer "big books", these are avail in print and e-book. Big Book of Classic Fantasy https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780525435563 Big Book of Science Fiction https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781101910092 The Weird Compendium https://www.indiebound.org/book/9780765333629 This is the story LittleRedReviewer was talking about by the Bengali lady. It is Sultana's Dream by Rokheya Sakhawat Hossain, from The Big Book of Science Fiction.  the story was published in 1908, and it was also recently reprinted at Strange Horizons http://strangehorizons.com/fiction/sultanas-dream/ Open Road Media - lots of classic scifi avail in print and e-book https://openroadmedia.com/category/science%20fiction and we also hope people check out e-book options and curbside pick up their local library. even if you don't live near a library, or can't get to one, or it isn't open, there's a good chance no matter where someone lives, their county's library system has an ebook loan program.
37:56
November 21, 2020
A Conversation Between Readers!
This episode is a special one as it is the first time we have a cohost on the show! TheReadingRunner joins for a conversation about books, art, SciFi, and even running! Hope you enjoy listening in, and please note the artwork for this episode is provided by TheReadingRunner. He also has a podcast that you should check out, and expect him back here for more conversations in the future!
37:52
September 7, 2020
Book Nostalgia
Season Two Episode Three is a trip down memory lane where we meet old friends in the form of books and talk about their magical ability to transport you to the moment you first read them.
29:29
September 2, 2020
The One About Pre Unity Valiant
In this episode I dive deep into the Pre Unity Valiant comic books and explore each title and what it means to me as a reader.
51:02
August 23, 2020
Welcome To Season Two AND To Pre Unity Valiant Comics!
So happy to have you join for season two! If you missed season one have no fear you can listen anyways! The podcast is back with exciting new features! Mainly Pre Unity Valiant Comic Books! What are these comic books you ask? Listen in to find out!
43:42
July 19, 2020
Episode 20: Where Do We Go From Here?
This episode represents the closing out of season one, a look back, and a look forward to season two! As well as some ramblings on life and some nostalgia.
33:02
July 6, 2020
Episode 19: Speaking Out Against Oppression.
Y’all, my platform might not be large, but it will be used to speak out against oppression and to speak up for the oppressed. We live in a time when we need to no longer be silent and need to speak up. This episode is me starting to speak out. Please listen with an open mind. Please realize I won’t always get everything right, but I will strive to be teachable and to listen. Let me say this clearly: Black Lives Matter.
30:11
June 19, 2020
Episode 18: The One About Comic Books!
A nostalgic and rambling dive into one of my comic book boxes! I grabbed the one that is filled with random comic books that I’ve not seen in ages and emptied it out while discussing aspects of 90’s comic books and the industry. Join me for a fun exploration of a box of comic books!
35:45
May 25, 2020
Episode Seventeen: A Walk Through The Shelves Part Two!
Be sure to listen to parts 1 and 1&1/2 first but here is part 2! We take a silly and hopefully fun walk through my bookshelves as I describe one book per shelf and give my thoughts on it. Thank you for listening!
30:21
April 29, 2020
Episode Sixteen And A Half: The Missing Minutes!
For some reason when I published episode sixteen it published complete on Anchor but incomplete on Apple Podcasts and Spotify! To correct this I’ve added the missing (almost) ten minutes here to episode 16&1/2 so that you can hopefully continue to enjoy this fun walk through my shelves!
09:48
April 28, 2020
Episode Sixteen: A Walk Through The Shelves Part One!
Join me as I get a little silly and travel through my shelves reading book descriptions in a very serious and cheesy voice! This one was fun to make, hope you enjoy it! One important note the episode cut out a ten minute segment at the end but no worries I’m adding it as episode 16 & 1/2!
26:15
April 28, 2020
Episode 15 Fantastical Flights Of Fantasy
A dive into Fantasy, what the different sub genres are, a history of my Fantasy reading and maybe a few good reading suggestions for you!
33:34
March 29, 2020
Episode 14: Happy New Year?
A return to the podcast after a few months away! Hear the host ramble on about life for a few minutes before jumping into the world of books!
30:42
March 20, 2020
Episode 13: My Favorite Book Of The Year For 2019
In this episode we will cover not only my Favorite Book Of The Year for 2019 but also the five runners up for the award and the previous winners dating back to 2013!
30:05
December 29, 2019
Episode Twelve: The Books Of Winter
Covering my current reads, recent reads, and immediate TBR reads!
30:13
November 25, 2019
Episode Eleven: The One About Group Reads
In this episode of the podcast we go into detail about what a Group Read is, how to host one, tips for improving one, and then we talk about the Group Reads that have happened and will be happening soon!
41:13
September 19, 2019
Episode Ten: My Top 10 Fantasy Series
Episode Ten: My Top 10 Fantasy Series ever! Ok maybe not for ever type of ever but definitely right now and probably for a long time! Plus honorable mentions to several amazing series that I considered for the list.
33:39
June 12, 2019
Episode Nine: The Books Of Spring
Episode Nine: The Books Of Spring! A look into what I’m reading this Spring and my thoughts on these books.
30:56
May 1, 2019
Episode 8: Finish February!
Episode 8: Finish February! I’m also subtitling this episode as The Books Of Winter! Each February I have a reading goal, and this episode explains what that goal is and ways that Finish February might also fit into your reading goals. Hope you enjoy listening as much as I enjoyed recording!
31:57
February 5, 2019
Episode Seven: My Favorite Book Of The Year for 2018
Each year I select my favorite book of the year from all the books I have read during that year. Today I reveal my favorite book of the year for 2018!
22:40
January 12, 2019
Episode Six: Vintage SciFi Month
Episode Six: Vintage SciFi Month! Time to talk about one of my favorite reading months of the year! Listen in for details on #VintageSciFMonth
30:35
November 26, 2018
Episode 5: Happy Birthday, Frank Herbert!
Episode V: Happy Birthday, Frank Herbert! An episode in which the topic of favorite authors is examined and I explain what Frank Herbert’s work has meant to me.
44:17
October 22, 2018
Episode 4: Who Writes The Words? Girls!
Episode 4 shines a spotlight on several amazing women authors.
37:60
October 1, 2018
Episode 3: But What Does It Mean?
A look into the Bookish World! We examine bookish terms and break down SubGenres of SciFi and Fantasy.
42:59
September 16, 2018
Episode 2 The Books Of Summer
A snapshot of my current reads and a description of what it means to be a polyreader
39:55
August 24, 2018
Episode 1: Welcome To RedStarReviews
An intro to RedStarReviews The Podcast!
07:21
August 11, 2018