Skip to main content
Research In Review

Research In Review

By Research In Review
This is 'Research in Review', a podcast where we discuss Research Papers, with the Scientists who wrote them. We aim to give listeners a peak in to exciting research which is making waves in their respective fields.

It's our goal for listeners to get a good context of the paper to be able to go on read it themselves. As a university student, I find reading scientific literature sometimes daunting at first. However, being able to understand the important ideas and techniques gives me the confidence to read it myself.

This podcast is perfect for anyone with some background in Science.
Where to listen
Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Host Shifting with Dr. Longdon

Research In Review

1x
Sneaky Parasites with Dr. Glover
African Trypanosomiasis caused by the parasite Trypanosoma brucei affects thousands in endemic regions. T. brucei can linger in the bloodstream for lengthy periods of time due to its ability to change its glycoprotein coat regularly to hide from the immune system. This episode's guest studies the molecular mechanisms of how this sneaky parasite is able to hide in the immune system. Paper available here: DNA double-strand break position leads to distinct gene expression changes and regulates VSG switching pathway choice - PMC (nih.gov)
25:30
September 30, 2022
Chromatin Modifications with Dr. Hamon
In this episode how pathogenic bacteria are able to induce the hosts immune response through the modification of chromatin. We learn about the importance of chromatin in the cells as an epigenetic force and how this can create a unique immune response to invaders.
30:24
August 15, 2022
Peroxisomes with Dr. Covill-Cooke
You may have not heard of them yet, but Peroxisomes are a type of organelle in our cells which help up oxidise ultra long chain fatty acids. In this episode we discuss how a GTPase MIRO helps regulate the movement and division of these organelles. We also discuss the perils of being scooped in publishing. Paper Available here: Peroxisomal fission is modulated by the mitochondrial Rho‐GTPases, Miro1 and Miro2 | EMBO reports (embopress.org)
34:24
July 01, 2022
Autophagy with Dr. Agrotis
In this episode we discuss the process of 'cell self eating' known as 'autophagy'. We talk to Dr. Alex Agrotis about his research in to a ubiquitin like pathway. 
22:07
May 27, 2022
HIV uncoating with Dr. Bishop
In this Episode we talk to Dr. Kate Bishop, Group Leader of the Retroviral Replication Lab at the Francis Crick Institute. We chat about her paper looking out how the uncoating of HIV is dependant on a process called 'First Strand Transfer'. We discuss this process, along with the interdisciplinary approach of both this paper and the field of Virology as a whole.  Paper Available: https://www.crick.ac.uk/research/publications/hiv-1-capsid-uncoating-initiates-after-the-first-strand-transfer-of-reverse-transcription
37:28
April 29, 2022
Bacterial Jails with Prof. Mostowy
Welcome back to a new series of 'Research in Review'. In this episode we discuss how intracellular bacteria can get trapped in jail cells called 'septin cages'. We talk about the importance of microscopy in visualising results and the importance of different perspectives in the lab.  Link: Entrapment of intracytosolic bacteria by septin cage-like structures - PubMed (nih.gov)
25:05
March 25, 2022
Bacterial Rivalries with Prof. Palmer
In this episode we discuss the interaction of the nuclease EsaD with out guest today Professor Palmer. We talk about this protein synthesised by S.aurues and how the strain produces a chaperone protein to prevent self damage. We also discuss how our guest got fascinated by the area of microbiology.  Read the Paper here at: The Ess/Type VII secretion system of Staphylococcus aureus secretes a nuclease toxin that targets competitor bacteria (nih.gov)
22:49
December 31, 2021
Antibiotic Resistance with Dr. Edwards
Most of us will have had a course of antibiotics in our lives. However, these somewhat routine medicines are under threat from Anti Microbial Resistant (AMR) pathogens. Today we discuss why AMR is a global threat and how we can make the most of the antibiotics we have by understanding of how they work. Paper available here: 10.7554/eLife.65836 
24:49
November 26, 2021
Host Shifting with Dr. Longdon
Keywords: Viral Ecology, Evolution, Emerging Diseases In this Episode, we discuss what can cause viruses to switch hosts also known as host shifting. We Discuss this with Dr. Ben Longdon from the University of Exeter who's paper investigates how well a small group of related viruses can infect a group of closely related species. Paper Available: Between virus correlations in the outcome of infection across host species: Evidence of virus by host species interactions - Imrie - 2021 - Evolution Letters - Wiley Online Library
17:14
October 01, 2021
Cap Snatching Viruses w/ Dr. Hutchinson
Keywords: Virology, Influenza, Mass Spectrophotometry This Episode we discuss a mechanism of Viral replication where Viral proteins cleave methylated caps of host mRNA to reattach to their own RNA. This is known as 'Cap Snatching'' and we discuss how this leads to the formation of 'chimeric' proteins of both viral and host origin.  We speak to Dr. Edward Hutchinson from the MRC: Centre for Viral Research in Glasgow and talk about the exciting origins of this paper. The paper is available at: https://www.cell.com/cell/fulltext/S0092-8674(20)30630-9#%20
35:51
July 30, 2021
Drug Discovery with Prof. Read
Keywords: Drug Discovery, Malaria, Drug Trials, Resistance This Episode we discuss the development of a novel antimalarial DD1107498 at the Dundee Drug Discovery Unit (DDU). Professor Kevin Read and Myself discuss the paper which he co - lead that introduces the challenges of early drug discovery.  The open access link to the paper is available here: A novel multiple-stage antimalarial agent that inhibits protein synthesis | Nature If you have any feedback you wish to share, please use this Google Form: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSclhlzqaamFENmX2wcOm_jxmt1pw20eWdBxqfbU_3530kkb0w/viewform?usp=pp_url
30:01
June 25, 2021
Protein Kinases with Dr. Bustos
Keywords: Functional Diversification, Stem Cells,  Phosphorylation and Ubiquitylation Hey folks ! Welcome to the next episode of my podcast where we discuss the Serine - Arginine Rich Spicing Factor (SPRK) with Dr. Francisco Bustos from the MRC: PPU in Dundee. I hope this episode will help you feel confident to go and read the paper yourself as it is worth the read and the open access link to it is available here: https://www.cell.com/developmental-cell/fulltext/S1534-5807(20)30757-7?_returnURL=https%3A%2F%2Flinkinghub.elsevier.com%2Fretrieve%2Fpii%2FS1534580720307577%3Fshowall%3Dtrue I am still working on this podcast. So if you have any feedback on the podcast so far, please leave it on the google form: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSclhlzqaamFENmX2wcOm_jxmt1pw20eWdBxqfbU_3530kkb0w/viewform?usp=pp_url
25:08
May 28, 2021
T Cell Activation with Dr. Marchingo
Keywords: Immunology, Proteomics and Myc Welcome to the Second episode of 'Research and Review' where we have the opportunity to discuss research papers with the scientists who wrote them. Today's episode we discuss the activation of T cell by Myc ( a transcription factor) with Dr. Julia Marchingo, an immunologist working at the University of Dundee. The Full Access Link to this paper is: https://prod--journal.elifesciences.org/articles/53725v1 I has some recording issues this episode, however I am working on fixing these issues and looking forward to improving the quality of my podcasts for my audience. Enjoy. 
26:33
March 27, 2021
Nature Connections with Dr. Booth
Keywords: Nature, Sustainability, Statistics, Survey and Education Hey! This is the first episode of ‘Research in Review’ where we speak to a scientists about their research paper to better understand the theory and techniques behind it! This is the first episode and I did have some recording issues but I look forward to making it better each time. The paper for today is ‘Nature a connection in Early Childhood : A quantitative Cross - Sectional Study’ (Barrable and Booth)   Available (Full Text) at: https://www.mdpi.com/2071-1050/12/1/375/htm
28:16
February 25, 2021