Shootin' the Chit: A Board Gaming Podcast

Shootin' the Chit: A Board Gaming Podcast

By Shootin' the Chit
This is Shootin' the Chit. Every two weeks, hosts Zach Hoekstra and Danny Lott take you on an audio cavalcade of their corners of the board gaming universe.
Expect highfalutin concepts, adult language, childish digressions, and ridiculous sketches. Enjoy the ramblings of two adults as they discuss why games are art with the glee of children.
More places to listen

More places to listen

Episode 6-Lore
In this episode, Zach and Danny talk about worldbuilding and the mystical "Lore." Listen to two dudes discuss what they think makes interesting settings. They also recommend a pair of games and discuss some games they are hype about coming soon. All this while hosting a survivor a Boardgame Geek warzone. Shootin’ the Chit Social Media/contact shootin.the.chit@gmail.com Anchor anchor.fm/shootin-the-chit Zach Twitter https://twitter.com/zhoekstra Danny Board Game Geek https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgamedesigner/95997/danny-lott Recommendations: Zach- Aeons End BGG page:https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/191189/aeons-end Danny- Bora Bora BGG: https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/127060/bora-bora Hype Train: Zach: Rurik dawn of Kiev KS Page: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/83162467/rurik-dawn-of-kiev Danny: Cthulhu: Death May Die KS Page: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/cmon/cthulhu-death-may-die?ref=category_popular&ref=discovery
1:13:17
September 8, 2018
Episode 5- Designin' With Ken Shannon
In this episode, Zach and Danny talk with legitimate designer Ken Shannon about board game design. Listen to three dudes discuss the art of making games. They also recommend some games and shout out some games they are hype about coming soon. All this while after rambling through a Con Report. Shootin’ the Chit Social Media/contact shootin.the.chit@gmail.com Anchor anchor.fm/shootin-the-chit Zach Twitter https://twitter.com/zhoekstra Danny BGG https://tinyurl.com/yauvuq4g Ken BGG https://tinyurl.com/ydg7n4qq Recommendations: Zach - Fox And The Forest BGG: https://tinyurl.com/ybl23cek Danny- Maiden’s Quest BGG: https://tinyurl.com/ycksbf6n Ken - Eldritch Horror BGG: boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/146021/eldritch-horror Hype Train: Zach: ANTI HYPE Overturn Rising Sands KS: https://tinyurl.com/yaxj8oz4 Danny: Zombie Tsunami BGG Page: https://tinyurl.com/ydamm8nh Ken: Maiden’s Quest BGG: https://tinyurl.com/ycksbf6n
1:32:39
July 24, 2018
Episode 4- Abstraction
In this episode, Zach and Danny talk about games so good they become perfect abstractions of their theme. Listen to two dudes discuss what they think pushes a game to their maximum potential. They also recommend a pair of games and discuss some games they are hype about coming soon. All this while performing a stake-out. Shootin’ the Chit Social Media/contact eshootin.the.chit@gmail.com @ShootinTheChit Anchor anchor.fm/shootin-the-chit Zach Twitter https://twitter.com/zhoekstra Danny Board Game Geek https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgamedesigner/95997/danny-lott Official Sponsor: Indie Game Alliance Website: https://www.indiegamealliance.com/ Recommendations: Zach- Steam https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/27833/steam Danny- Card Hunter Steam Page: https://store.steampowered.com/app/293260/Card_Hunter/ Publisher Page:www.cardhunter.com Hype Train: Zach: AEG Digital Versions! https://www.alderac.com/ Danny: Arcknight Flat Plastic Miniatures Publisher Page: http://arcknight.squarespace.com
1:05:10
July 9, 2018
Episode 3- Legends
Shootin’ the Chit Social Media/contact shootin.the.chit@gmail.com Anchor https://anchor.fm/shootin-the-chit/ Zach Twitter https://twitter.com/zhoekstra Danny Board Game Geek https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgamedesigner/95997/danny-lott Recommendations: Zach- Ambition BGG Page: https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/16043/ambition Publisher Page: None! Danny- Stork Bingo BGG Page: https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/22372/stork-bingo Publisher Page: N/A Hype Train: Zach: Empyreal: Spells & Steam BGG Page: https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/220367/empyreal-spells-steam Kickstarter Page: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/level99games/empyreal-spells-and-steam-a-fantasy-railway-buildi?ref=category&ref=discovery Publisher Page: https://www.level99games.com/empyreal-spells-steam Danny: One Deck Dungeon BGG Page: https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/179275/one-deck-dungeon Publisher Page: http://www.onedeckdungeon.com/ Zach’s Legends: D. Brad. Talton (Designer, Owner of Leve
1:04:21
June 25, 2018
Episode 2- Motivations
In this episode, Zach and Danny talk about what brings gamers to the table. Why people play games. They also recommend a pair of games and discuss some games they are hype about coming soon. Show Notes Shootin’ the Chit Social Media/contact shootin.the.chit@gmail.com Zach Twitter twitter.com/zhoekstra Danny Board Game Geek boardgamegeek.com/boardgamedesigne…95997/danny-lott Recommendations: Zach-Steampunk Rally BGG Page: boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/162007/steampunk-rally Publisher Page:roxley.com/product/steampunk-rally/ Danny- Cthulhu Wars BGG Page: boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/139976/cthulhu-wars Publisher Page: petersengames.com/cthulhu-wars/ Hype Train: Zach: Pandemic Survival series 2018 www.zmangames.com/en/news/2018/1/3…season-underway/ Danny: Seal Team Flix boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/177515/seal-team-flix
50:03
June 19, 2018
Episode 1- Origins
Hosts Zach Hoekstra and Danny Lott take you on an aural liquor flight, talk about origins in Board Gaming, recommend some games, hype some things, and get WAY off topics. All that and more in this first episode of Shootin' the Chit. --Show Notes and Links-- Zendo BGG Page: boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/6830/zendo Publisher page: www.looneylabs.com/games/zendo Sentinels of the Multiverse BGG Page: boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/102652…inels-multiverse Publisher Page: sentinelsofthemultiverse.com/ Letters Page Podcast Home Page: theletterspage.libsyn.com/ Mad Love Kickstarter Page: www.kickstarter.com/projects/imphouse/mad-love-0 Rising Sun BGG Page: boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/205896/rising-sun Publisher Page: www.cmon.com/product/rising-sun/rising-sun Shootin’ the Chit Social Media/contact shootin.the.chit@gmail.com Zach Twitter twitter.com/zhoekstra Danny Board Game Geek boardgamegeek.com/boardgamedesigne…95997/danny-lott
53:55
June 19, 2018
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!