Skip to main content
Chilly

Chilly

By Steve Childers

History...and hopefully laughter and merriment
Where to listen
Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

A review of the Netflix docuseries “The Lost Pirate Kingdom” and a profile/tribute to Suffragettes

Chilly

1x
Hair Band Summit Roman Numeral Four
Hair Band Summit Roman Numeral Four
Who gave us the hair bands? We think we have an idea!
39:55
July 29, 2022
Hair Band Summit Roman Numeral Three
Hair Band Summit Roman Numeral Three
Time for love...it's all ballads!!!
41:31
July 22, 2022
Cherokee Creation Myth
Cherokee Creation Myth
This is a wonderful story of how the world was created according to the Cherokee Nation!
18:23
July 15, 2022
Robert Todd Lincoln
Robert Todd Lincoln
There is so much more to Robert Todd Lincoln than just being the oldest son of Abraham Lincoln.
23:46
July 08, 2022
The Execution of Isaac Hayne
The Execution of Isaac Hayne
A lost martyr who has an amazing story from the Revolutionary War! What a story and what a man! There's so much information in this episode you may have to listen twice!
39:01
July 01, 2022
The Death of Garfield
The Death of Garfield
President Garfield may have been one of our great leaders if his term hadn't been cut short.
24:04
June 24, 2022
Colonial American Courtships
Colonial American Courtships
Think about your love life. Could you handle it "back in the day" instead? Have a listen and see what you think about dating and courtships!
33:02
June 18, 2022
Bruce Orr and Ghosts of the USS Yorktown
Bruce Orr and Ghosts of the USS Yorktown
Wanna hear something cool? US History and ghosts on a World War II Aircraft carrier. That's right! Bruce Orr is back too! He's got a book on it and investigations!
48:38
June 10, 2022
Edgar and Annabelle
Edgar and Annabelle
America's first horror story teller spent a lot of time in Charleston, SC. His love Annabelle was forbidden and eventually gave us one of best known poems. But...what happened?
22:36
June 03, 2022
The History of Cornhole
The History of Cornhole
You have been to a tailgate, backyard party, or maybe just played at home but where did this game come from? And...what exactly are the rules?
19:11
May 27, 2022
The 1979 Daytona 500
The 1979 Daytona 500
Let's find out why this is the most important race in NASCAR history!
28:44
May 20, 2022
Hair Band Summit Roman Numeral Two
Hair Band Summit Roman Numeral Two
Name one band that exemplifies the hair band era and see how you measure up with ours! We do hair band current events, trivia and terrific banter as always.
01:06:35
May 13, 2022
Hair Band Summit Roman Numeral One
Hair Band Summit Roman Numeral One
Who would you put in your hair band Super Group? We did ours! You will hear hair band current events, trivia, and our super groups. Spray some Aqua Net and enjoy!
56:13
May 06, 2022
Sheriff Hunter S. Thompson
Sheriff Hunter S. Thompson
Aspen, Colorado was an interesting place in the 1960s and 70s. So interesting that author Hunter S. Thompson ran for sheriff!
22:11
April 22, 2022
Theodore Roosevelt saves college football?
Theodore Roosevelt saves college football?
When does government involvement go too far?
30:27
April 15, 2022
Paul Revere
Paul Revere
There's more to him than a fictional poem!
23:48
April 08, 2022
Death of Blackbeard
Death of Blackbeard
An interesting life and a crazy death, we explore the events of Blackbeard's life.
23:32
April 01, 2022
Charles Ponzi
Charles Ponzi
What is a Ponzi scheme and who have it to us? Listen on and find out.
23:32
March 25, 2022
Who's Your Huckleberry?
Who's Your Huckleberry?
Tombstone is a terrific movie and this episode sets out to prove just that. This film got it right and so much more!
35:21
March 18, 2022
Adams vs Jefferson
Adams vs Jefferson
...and you thought today's political mudslinging was bad? These guys were colleagues, enemies, then friends. Through it all they're two amazing founding fathers.
30:60
March 11, 2022
John Wilkes Booth
John Wilkes Booth
We know what John Wilkes Booth did, but who was he? This is an exploration of his acting career, family, and the much larger-than-kill-thePrez plan.
31:14
March 04, 2022
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz!
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz!
People of all ages love this story but is there more to it than meets the eye? Dive in with me on this one. This is a dish of hot political commentary!
30:28
February 25, 2022
Bruce Orr and "Six Miles to Charleston"
Bruce Orr and "Six Miles to Charleston"
Author Bruce Orr joins us on the anniversary of the hanging of John and Lavinia Fisher! He talks about his book, "Six Miles to Charleston." Is Lavinia Fisher really a serial killer?
01:03:24
February 18, 2022
Our favorite holidays
Our favorite holidays
Big Jack and I breakdown our favorite American holidays. What are yours?
30:10
September 11, 2021
"The Highwaymen"
"The Highwaymen"
Let's talk about the guys who took down Bonnie and Clyde!
20:59
September 02, 2021
"Who Dis?!?!?"
"Who Dis?!?!?"
Tonight is a classic game from my classroom days! Play along with Big Jack!
27:25
August 26, 2021
Meet Pope' A real American hero!!!
Meet Pope' A real American hero!!!
We meet Pope' and listen to our closing credits! It's time to give credit to the ones who help bring the show to you!
20:36
August 20, 2021
"The Bandit Who Wouldn't Give Up"
"The Bandit Who Wouldn't Give Up"
The legend of Elmer McCurdy...and I do mean LEGEND! His corpse is more famous than him.
18:18
August 13, 2021
Old west insults and gunfights!
Old west insults and gunfights!
Listen to me insult Big Jack old west style YEEEE HAWWW!!! Also, some facts and numbers behind Old West gunfights!
19:31
August 05, 2021
Big Jack takes the Citizenship Test!!!
Big Jack takes the Citizenship Test!!!
Big Jack takes the Citizenship Test this week! How did he do?
30:01
July 30, 2021
"Gangs of New York", Ice Cream, and States trivia with Big Jack
"Gangs of New York", Ice Cream, and States trivia with Big Jack
We break down "Gangs of New York", a brief history of Ice Cream in America, and does Big Jack know where things are? Play the game "Which State"
45:35
July 22, 2021
The Resume Game, "Glory" and hot dogs for everyone
The Resume Game, "Glory" and hot dogs for everyone
Big Jack is our first contestant on our first history game. We dig into the history stuff of 1989's "Glory" and the hot dog in America.
38:40
July 15, 2021
Season two kickoff!
Season two kickoff!
We break down how we're going to examine the history in history movies!
38:53
July 08, 2021
Wrap it up and then unwrap it!
Wrap it up and then unwrap it!
We break down season one and preview season two! Check the show for the premier of season two!
30:57
April 29, 2021
The President tournament final!
The President tournament final!
Washington vs T. Roosevelt!!!! Who ya got????
53:49
April 16, 2021
Presidential Final Four
Presidential Final Four
Let's get to it, the final four. We're here. All feedback is welcomed! We love it!
19:03
April 02, 2021
The Elite Eight!
The Elite Eight!
We have it down to the elite eight of Presidents. Let your voice be heard! History belongs to all of us.
44:21
March 25, 2021
A review of the Netflix docuseries “The Lost Pirate Kingdom” and a profile/tribute to Suffragettes
A review of the Netflix docuseries “The Lost Pirate Kingdom” and a profile/tribute to Suffragettes
The Netflix series “The Lost Pirate Kingdom” is a must watch. I’m going to tell you why in my review. Also, we keep talking about Women’s history and salute the suffragettes!
31:46
March 19, 2021
This is all about the Presidents!
This is all about the Presidents!
We have four MONSTER matchups in this episode!
26:29
March 16, 2021
Sojourner Truth, Lincoln assassination, and one historic association
Sojourner Truth, Lincoln assassination, and one historic association
We profile Sojourner Truth, do a brief on the Lincoln assassination and talk about two early US history figures
01:02:29
March 10, 2021
Admiral Grace Hopper
Admiral Grace Hopper
Our second portrait for Women's History Month is Grace Hopper. Check her story out!
03:22
March 07, 2021
Presidential Bracketology, Quakers, and Caesar Rodney
Presidential Bracketology, Quakers, and Caesar Rodney
We are into round two of the tournament, one of my favorite groups, the Quakers, and a great patriot, Caesar Rodney
30:47
March 07, 2021
Sacajawea
Sacajawea
Our first honoree for Women's History Month is Sacajawea. She's one of my personal favorites!
06:12
March 03, 2021
Big Jack’s Fun Facts, The Election of 1828, and more matchups in Presidential Bracketology!
Big Jack’s Fun Facts, The Election of 1828, and more matchups in Presidential Bracketology!
We continue our quest to get the best Prez and we talk about the (perhaps) nastiest election in US History. Also, what would you do if you were a chicken about to be hit by a nuclear bomb?
41:09
March 01, 2021
Mr. McCall
Mr. McCall
Wrapping up Black History Month with my tribute to Mr. James McCall, Principal of Loris Middle School
11:39
February 28, 2021
The “Hoosier Comet”
The “Hoosier Comet”
Who is the best Negro League player of all time?
09:39
February 21, 2021
Most important July 4th + Success or Failure for Reconstruction
Most important July 4th + Success or Failure for Reconstruction
We explore what may be the most important July 4th ever and try to answer the question of Reconstruction’s success or failure...guitar stuff too
25:30
February 18, 2021
Women’s Mount Rushmore member #1 and More Presidential Bracketology
Women’s Mount Rushmore member #1 and More Presidential Bracketology
Who would you put on a Women’s US History Mount Rushmore? My first entrant is here along with Presidents competing for your approval...other stuff too.
01:09:16
February 16, 2021
Vernon Dahmer
Vernon Dahmer
Our 4th episode honoring Black History Month
05:49
February 14, 2021
The Valentine’s Show!
The Valentine’s Show!
We can’t trust Disney history, Gerda Weissman Klein, and Big Jack’s Fun Facts
26:34
February 14, 2021
Booker T. Vs W.E.B.
Booker T. Vs W.E.B.
A famous debate on how freed blacks should assimilate into American society.
07:47
February 10, 2021
Gabriel’s Conspiracy
Gabriel’s Conspiracy
One of the lesser known but certainly important slave uprisings! Great story!
11:30
February 07, 2021
1st round, day 2 of the President tourney, possibly the harshest buccaneer of all time and Big Jack
1st round, day 2 of the President tourney, possibly the harshest buccaneer of all time and Big Jack
2nd richest President, the “Flail of the Spanish” and more Presidential Bracketology
43:27
February 05, 2021
Henry "Box" Brown
Henry "Box" Brown
Henry “Box” Brown is our first honoree. What a great story and I’m excited to bring it to you!
12:20
February 03, 2021
Fun facts, original music, Presidents, and Mountain Dew...oh my
Fun facts, original music, Presidents, and Mountain Dew...oh my
We check out the production team, delve into the first matchups of Presidential Bracketology, and explore the history of Mountain Dew
57:42
January 30, 2021
Season 3 February 18th
Season 3 February 18th
Check us out! An expanded format, more guests, more topics and more Chilly!
00:41
January 23, 2021
Let's get to know me and the show. Some tidbits about me but not too much. I want you back!
Let's get to know me and the show. Some tidbits about me but not too much. I want you back!
We dive into the first segment that will last us for awhile. What is "Presidential Bracketology" and how does it work? Will we be the best President of all time? Also, a quick history on MLK Day and why it's important...because it' is!!! Speak up!!! Let your voice be heard!
22:05
January 18, 2021