Diecast Movie Review Podcast

Diecast Movie Review Podcast

By Steven Turek
Join Ben, Mikaela, and Steven as they review movies. The person who picks the movie and the genre that they have to choose from is decided by the roll of a die. The genres are action, drama, horror, musicals, animation, comedy, and fantasy/science fiction.

In addition to reviews, we also interview people involved with the making of movies. We hope that you enjoy the variety that we are bringing to you, the listener.
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo
Breaker Logo
Google Podcasts Logo
Overcast Logo
RadioPublic Logo
Spotify Logo
Currently playing episode

Episode 27- Black Samurai Review with Derek M. Koch

Diecast Movie Review Podcast

Go to next audioGo to next audio
Go to prev audioGo to prev audio
1x
Episode 27- Black Samurai Review with Derek M. Koch
In this episode, Ben, Mikaela, and Steven are joined by Derek M. Koch, from Monster Kid Radio to discuss their thoughts and feelings about the film, The Black Samurai. Tune in and see what film the roll of the dice will have us doing next. For more of Derek and Monster Kid Radio visit www.monsterkidradio.net/?m=1
1:00:19
July 28, 2020
Episode 26 - Ansel Faraj Interview
Episode 26 - Ansel Faraj Interview On this episode, Steven interviews a rising star among independent directors - Ansel Faraj!  He directed numerous movies, including the suspenseful Loon Lake, the charming Will and Liz, and Dr. Mabuse to name a few.  We reviewed Loon Lake on Episode 25.  Mr. Faraj is a master of getting a lot of production out of very little money.  I had a wonderful time interviewing Ansel, and I hope that you enjoy this in-depth discussion of most of his work.  A good portion of his movies are available on Oldies.com.  You can also subscribe to his YouTube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/HollinsworthProductions
2:31:29
July 17, 2020
Episode 25 - Loon Lake Review
Episode 25 - Loon Lake Review On this episode, Steven, Ben, and Mikaela review the 2019 movie, Loon Lake!  This independent movie is a psychological horror film.  It was directed by Ansel Faraj, on a micro budget.  The movie stars David Selby, Nathan Wilson, Kathryn Leigh Scott, Brittany Benjamin, and Kelly Erin Decker.  Please join us for a discussion of this movie.  Next week’s episode is an interview with Ansel Faraj! You can watch Loon Lake on Amazon Prime and TubiTV.  You can also purchase a physical copy with the links below. Amazon https://www.amazon.com/Loon-Lake-Kelly-Kitko/dp/B0898WJ7KJ Best Buy https://www.bestbuy.com/site/loon-lake-blu-ray/34985089.p?skuId=34985089&fbclid=IwAR3dT9Xj6mGkU7hVmhZNhZhpll9s3uzu2QnWg16M0w_fbPMCaoA94o--gC8 Barnes and Noble https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dvd-loon-lake/35068559 Walmart https://www.walmart.com/ip/Loon-Lake-Blu-ray/102171542 Oldies https://www.oldies.com/product-view/53650S.html
44:08
July 12, 2020
Episode 24 - The Sound of Horror Review with Tim Durbin
On the episode, we are joined by Tim Durbin, to review the movie The Sound of Horror. The Sound of Horror is a Spanish horror film from 1966. Tim picked it after rolling the horror genre. It was a first time viewing for everyone, but Tim. Mr. Durbin does a movie blog. It is called Viewing the Classics: Vintage Sci-fi, Horror, Mystery and More. There is link below to the blog. https://viewingtheclassics.blogspot.com/2020/07/the-lodger-1944.html?fbclid=IwAR0zP0j84E2H1OvZ0XrfkP74Oltxfo7zsRQztFqL10311TT9VMeOuySUvbY
44:13
July 6, 2020
Episode 23 - Strange Magic Review
Episode 23 - Strange Magic Review  On this episode, Mikaela, Ben and Steven review the 2015 movie, Strange Magic.  This animated movie was the brainchild of George Lucas.  Please join us for our discussion of the movie.  Again, we want to thank you for listening!  You can leave us feedback on our Facebook page, or email us at diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com.  
57:59
June 27, 2020
Episode 22 - Bill Diamond Interview
On this episode, Steven interviews Bill Diamond.  Mr. Diamond is a puppeteer, puppet fabricator, producer, and a frequent guest at Monster Bash! Bill talks about working with Jim Henson, his work in theater (Little Shop of Horrors, Phantom of the Opera), and we talk about his Emmy wins for his work with the YES Network.  You can follow some of Mr. Diamond’s work on YouTube and Facebook , at Bill Diamond Productions.  Also, if you go to Monster Bash and Bill is there, then I highly recommend that you talk with him.  He is extremely knowledgeable about his craft, and is willing to take about classic monster movies, too.  He usually his Audrey 2, and Gizmo with him.  I hope you enjoy the chat I had with him.  
52:07
June 22, 2020
Episode 21 - Jaws Review with Alistair Hughes
On this episode, we are joined by Alistair Hughes, to review the movie "Jaws"!  Alistair is an extremely talented artist, writer, and a keen ocean swimmer!  We highly recommend his book "Infogothic: An Unauthorized Graphic Guide to Hammer Horror."  To learn more about Alistair's work, please visit his website shorelinecreative.co.nz.   We want to thank you for listening!  You can leave us feedback on our Facebook page, or email us at diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com.  This episode was supposed to be "Strange Magic", but we had some problems trying to watch it.  "Strange Magic" will out on the next episode.
1:32:33
June 13, 2020
Episode 20 - Kelly's Heroes Review
On this episode. Steven, Mikaela, and Ben review the 1970 movie, Kelly's Heroes.  This movie stars Clint Eastwood, Telly Savalas, Donald Sutherland, Don Rickles, and many more.  Please you us for our discussion of this movie.  Again, we want to thank you for listening!  You can leave us feedback on our FaceBook page, or email us at diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com.  Our next episode, we will be reviewing Strange Magic.
47:22
June 6, 2020
Episode 19 - Victoria Riskin Interview
On this episode, Steven Interviews Victoria Riskin.  Riskin is a producer, screenwriter, and has a has Ph. D. in Counseling Psychology.  She is also the child of Fay Wray and Robert Riskin.  She is also the author of Fay Wray and Robert Riskin: A Hollywood Memoir, which was released in 2019.  I have read this book, and I highly recommend this book.  The book is available everywhere.  If you want to learn even more about Dr. Riskin, then please visit her website, victoriariskin.com.  This episode also includes her Q&A from Monster Bash, October 2019.   On our next episode, we will be reviewing Kelly's Heroes!
1:10:10
May 30, 2020
Episode 18 - The Emperor's New Groove Review
In this episode, Mikaela, Ben, and Steven review The Emperor's New Groove!  Mikaela picked this 2000 Disney movie.  Next week's episode will be our interview with Victoria Riskin!  She is the daughter of Fay Wray and Robert Riskin.  Ms. Riskin has also produced movies herself.  So, join us next week as talk to her about her parents, movies, and her book (Fay Wray and Robert Riskin: A Hollywood Memoir).  As always, we want to thank you for listening!  We would also like to here from you.  You can leave us feedback on our Facebook page, pr email us at diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com. 
45:23
May 22, 2020
Episode 17 - The Good The Bad The Weird Review with special guest Scott Morris
On this episode, Ben, Mikaela, and Steven are joined by Scott Morris, from the Disney, Indiana Podcast.  They are reviewing "The Good The Bad The Weird".  This movie is a South Korean western movie.  If you want to found out more about Scott's podcast, then please go to disneyindiana.com.  We want to thank you for listening!  We would also like to hear from you.  You Can leave us feedback on our Facebook page, or email us at diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com.   On our next episode, we will be reviewing "The Emperor's New Groove".
1:10:30
May 15, 2020
Episode 16 - Onward Review
In this episode, Mikaela, Ben, and Steven review Onward.  In the Disney tradition of having post credit scenes, we have one at the end of our episode, too.  As always we want to thank you for listening!  We would also like to hear from you.  You can leave us feedback on our Facebook page, or email us at diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com.  
32:00
May 8, 2020
Episode 15 - Reber Clark Interview
On this episode, Steven interviews Reber Clark.  Mr. Clark is a composer, and he did the score for House of the Gorgon!  During this episode, Mr. Clark also talks about some of his favorite scores!  You can find his work at http://reberclark.bandcamp.com.  Please listen and help support Reber.  Next week’s episode, Steven, Ben, and Mikaela will be reviewing Onward!  Thanks for listening! Reber Clark recently shared this below.  Again, I recommend that you listen to his work, and if you enjoy it, then please help support him! This Friday, May 1st, Bandcamp is waiving its revenue share of all sales which means the entire purchase price goes directly to the creators. Most of my recorded music resides at http://reberclark.bandcamp.com and if you would consider making a purchase on Friday it would be much appreciated.  I have three new releases out - a score for Lurker Films' "The Last Incantation" based on the Clark Ashton Smith story, and two volumes of "Ambient" music - possibly of interest to gamers. As always these are FREE to listen to in their entirety before purchase. Anything you can do will help. Thanks! https://reberclark.bandcamp.com/album/the-last-incantation-unused-score https://reberclark.bandcamp.com/album/ambient-volume-1 https://reberclark.bandcamp.com/album/ambient-volume-2
1:28:45
April 29, 2020
Episode 14 - Woochi: The Demon Slayer Review
Ben, Mikaela, and Steven finally got to review Ben’s pick Woochi: The Demon Slayer. This Korean movie is a fantasy and action film. If you have any feedback, then please send us an email or a recorded voice message to diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com. We also thank you for listening to our podcast!
36:41
April 20, 2020
Episode 13 - The Seventh Seal Review with Rich Chamberlain
On this episode, Steven and guest host, Rich Chamberlain, are reviewing The Seventh Seal! We recorded this in January as a fill-in episode. At the time of recording, Max Von Sydow was still alive. He sadly passed away on March 8, 2020. This movie is arguably his best role. Rich and Jeff Owens, both run The Classic Horrors Club podcast. If you like classic horror, then you should subscribe to their show. Next week’s episode should be our review of Woochi:The Demon Slayer. It did not come this week , due to technical difficulties.
1:10:32
April 15, 2020
Episode 12 - Donnie Dunagan Interview
On this episode, Steven interviews Donnie Dunagan.  Mr. Dunagan was a child actor in such films as: Son of Frankenstein, Tower of London, and Bambi.  He is also retired from the United States Marine Corps, after serving for 25 years.  When he retired he was at the rank of Major.  I really enjoyed meeting Major Dunagan.  He is entertaining, charming, and makes you feel like you are the most important person in the world!  Besides the interview, we have also included his Q & A from Monster Bash (October 2019).  We hope that you enjoy this episode! Our next episode is a review of the Korean movie Jeon Woo-chi: The Taoist Wizard (also known as Woochi: The Demon Slayer). 
1:20:13
April 6, 2020
Episode 11 - No Deposit, No Return Review with Tracey Morris
Join Ben, Mikaela, Steven, and Tracey Morris as they review Disney’s No Deposit, No Return from 1976. Tracey is the co-host of the Disney, Indiana podcast.
1:23:10
March 31, 2020
Episode 10 - Joshua Kennedy Interview
On this episode, Steven interviews Joshua Kennedy! Joshua was the creative force behind the House of the Gorgon movie that we reviewed last week. He has also done a lot of other movies, and is working on a many more. I really do not know if he ever sleeps. His movies are available on YouTube, or can be purchased at a Oldies.com.
1:09:55
March 22, 2020
Episode 9 - House of the Gorgon review
On this episode, Steven and Ben are joined by Charles Kokoski (Steven’s nephew) to review House of the Gorgon. This movie is a tribute to those gothic Hammer movies of the past, and stars many former Hammer actors. Charles has never seen a Hammer movie. So, what does a non-Hammer movie fan think of a movie that is a tribute to Hammer films. You will have to listen to find out!
55:14
March 16, 2020
Episode 8 - The Pirate Movie Review with Jeff Owens
This episode is a review of The Pirate Movie! Jeff Owens joins Steven in reviewing the movie. Jeff is the co-host of the Classic Horrors Club Podcast.
1:19:42
March 8, 2020
Episode 7 - Interview with John Walsh
This episode Steven interviews John Walsh! Mr. Walsh has recently published an awesome book - Harryhausen: The Lost Movies! He is also an award winning filmmaker. He is also the co-host of The Ray Harryhausen Podcast, and one of the trustees of the Ray & Diana Harryhausen Foundation. This episode was recorded prior to Christmas of 2019. You can contact John Walsh at JohnWalshfilmmaker.com.
1:38:05
January 20, 2020
Episode 6 - Knives Out
On this episode Ben, Mikaela, and Steven give a review of the new movie, Knives Out! Did they like it? Do they recommend it? Only one way to find out, you have to listen to the episode.
38:48
December 10, 2019
Episode 5 - Interview with Elizabeth Shepherd
This is a special interview episode.  Steven was able to interview Elizabeth Shepherd, at the Mid-Atlantic Nostalgia Convention.  Ms. Shepherd has starred in numerous movies, including The Tomb of Ligeia, Hell Boats, Damien: Omen 2, and Amelia.  She has also performs in the just released Edgar Allan Poe's Ligeia.  It is available on GooglePlay, Audible and other fine audio platforms.  We hope that you enjoy the interview!
34:07
December 1, 2019
Episode 4 - The Tomb of Ligeia
In this episode, we review The Tomb of Ligeia. Mikaela and Ben have a totally different opinion of the movie then Steve did. We hope that you enjoy this episode!
47:47
November 27, 2019
Episode 3 - Theatre of Blood Review
Mikaela picked one her favorite movies, for us to review this episode. Will Ben and Steve agree with Mikaela about Theatre of Blood? Do you want to leave feedback, then please go to our Facebook page or email us at diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com.
46:25
November 7, 2019
Episode 2 - Interview with Victoria Price
We were able to interview Ms. Price, at the Monster Bash Vincent Price film festival, on August 2019. She is a wonderful person and we hope that you enjoy this brief interview with her.
22:58
October 21, 2019
Episode 1 - Inherit The Wind(1960)
Joshua Kennedy joins us this episode to review Inherit The Wind.
1:36:04
October 10, 2019
Episode 0 - What this podcast is about.
This episode explains what the podcast is all about.  This is a weekly podcast.  Most of the time we will being doing movie reviews.  There will also be interviews with directors, special effects artists, composers, actors, etc...  Please join us on our journey through the movies!   You can follow us on FaceBook, and email us feedback at diecastmoviereviewpodcast@gmail.com. 
10:14
September 20, 2019