Skip to main content
Students Vs Pandemics COVID-19 Podcast

Students Vs Pandemics COVID-19 Podcast

By Students Vs Pandemics
Curious about COVID-19? We've got the facts! We break down a variety of complex policy issues and scientific topics into straightforward, interesting podcasts.
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

March 2021: A review of the known COVID variants, as well as the current state of the pandemic and vaccinations

Students Vs Pandemics COVID-19 Podcast

March 2021: A review of the known COVID variants, as well as the current state of the pandemic and vaccinations

Students Vs Pandemics COVID-19 Podcast

1x
September 2021: Booster Vaccinations - Current Recommendations
In this episode of our monthly podcast, we discuss the current recommendations for booster vaccinations for COVID-19. Check out transcripts for all of our podcast episodes in English at: www.studentsvspandemics.com/blog/categories/podcast-transcripts For Spanish transcripts, please visit: https://www.studentsvspandemics.com/blogs-en-espanol
03:38
September 30, 2021
August 2021: The Delta Variant - A Brief Overview of August 2021 Developments
In this episode of our monthly podcast, we detail a brief overview of the August 2021 developments in relation to the Delta variant of COVID-19. Check out transcripts for all of our podcast episodes in English at: www.studentsvspandemics.com/blog/categories/podcast-transcripts For Spanish transcripts, please visit: https://www.studentsvspandemics.com/blogs-en-espanol
04:14
August 30, 2021
June 2021: Vaccine Hesitancy - Is it here to stay?
This episode of the SvP podcast answers everything there is to ask about vaccine hesitancy. What is the history? What diseases have and haven't been eradicated by vaccines? What populations are most likely to exhibit hesitance? And why? Are unvaccinated Americans still wearing masks indoors? How about the current prospects of reaching herd immunity?  These issues and many more are addressed in this very topical SvP podcast episode.  Check out transcripts for all our podcast episodes in English at: www.studentsvspandemics.com/blog/categories/podcast-transcripts For Spanish transcripts (blogs en Espanol), go to: https://www.studentsvspandemics.com/blogs-en-espanol For Mandarin transcripts (普通话版的博客), go to: https://www.studentsvspandemics.com/blogsinmandarin
13:17
July 01, 2021
May 2021: Neuropsychiatric Effects of COVID-19 on Survivors
Long-COVID has become a widely reported phenomenon, as researchers find evidence of COVID-19 survivors suffering negative effects to multiple organ systems. However, mental and neurological health are often overlooked in favor of "more physical" conditions.  In this episode of our Harvard Chapter's monthly podcast, we explore the kinds of long term neuropsychiatric complications patients may be facing, how commonly these symptoms occur, as well as how SARS-CoV-2 may be causing these complications in the first place.  Check out transcripts for all our podcast episodes in English at: www.studentsvspandemics.com/blog/categories/podcast-transcripts For Spanish transcripts, go to: https://www.studentsvspandemics.com/blogs-en-espanol
06:41
May 30, 2021
April 2021: India’s Worsening COVID Crisis & the B.1.617 Variant
In this episode of the SvP podcast, we delve into the causes of India's current, devastating COVID outbreak. We discuss how current numbers may be under-reported, the WHO's statement on the crisis, as well as a review of other nations' aid to India. We conclude with a discussion of the mutations and possible immune evasion techniques of India's B.1.617 variant.   Check out transcripts for all our podcast episodes, in English and Spanish, at: www.studentsvspandemics.com/blog/categories/podcast-transcripts
07:18
April 29, 2021
Jawad Al Kassmy on the similarity between vaccine candidates for SARS, MERS & COVID-19
This episode of the SvP podcast is presented by our Canada chapter! Anjellica Chen is hosting and speaking with Jawad Al Kassmy, a Master's student in experimental surgery at McGill University.  Al Kassmy talks about his paper, "Vaccine Candidates against Coronavirus Infections. Where Does COVID-19 Stand? " which is published in the Viruses journal:  https://www.mdpi.com/1999-4915/12/8/861 This is a literature review of the SARS and MERS vaccine candidates, which Al Kassmy surveyed for the purpose of providing guidance to researchers when creating the SARS-CoV-2 vaccines. 
17:34
April 24, 2021
March 2021: A review of the known COVID variants, as well as the current state of the pandemic and vaccinations
In this episode of the SvP podcast, we provide a discussion of each of the CDC's "SARS-CoV-2 Variants of Concern", as well as the recent New York/New Jersey B.1.526 strain. After describing the mutations and attributes of these viral strains, we conclude with a summary of the pandemic and vaccination efforts through the month of March. Check out transcripts for all our podcast episodes, in English and Spanish, at: www.studentsvspandemics.com (under the BLOGS tab).
16:13
March 31, 2021
February 2021 Episode: COVAX & Fairness in International Vaccine Distribution
Transcript is available at: tinyurl.com/FebScript In this episode we give a review of the state of the pandemic in February and we also explore COVAX, which was established to ensure equality in vaccine distribution. Finally, we note the disparities that exist between developing nations and wealthier countries, in reference to the purchase of vaccine doses from pharmaceutical companies.  Check out transcripts for all our podcast episodes, in English and Spanish, at: www.studentsvspandemics.com (under the BLOGS tab).
11:11
February 27, 2021
January 2021: The Current state of the pandemic, mRNA vaccines, and vaccination bottlenecks
Welcome to the SvP podcast! In this first episode, we begin with a brief overview of the current data associated with the coronavirus pandemic, before explaining the challenges of vaccine delivery and the workarounds pharmaceutical companies have created. Finally, we address the future of mRNA vaccine therapies, beyond the current pandemic. Check out transcripts for all our podcast episodes, in English and Spanish, at: www.studentsvspandemics.com (under the BLOGS tab).
11:33
January 26, 2021