Skip to main content
The Catholic Deacon

The Catholic Deacon

By Deacon Stephen Valgos
The Catholic Deacon is directed primarily to sharing reflections on Sacred Scripture from the weekday or Sunday lectionary, as well as Catholic teachings from the Catechism of the Catholic Church. Listen, share, and support!
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

9.19.21 Sun. Homily: Self - LESS

The Catholic Deacon

1x
9.26.21 Sun. Homily: Speak Up!
Deacon Stephen said that we must be willing to Speak Up! Like the prophets of old, we too have the Spirit of God and are called to prophesy! Would that all would be so courageous to speak God's truth to a world filled with sin and violence. 
11:45
September 27, 2021
9.22.21 Wed. Homily: On A Journey
Deacon Stephen reminds us that this is not our home, and like the disciples, (and the Marines) we are called to "pack light and freeze at night." We cannot become anchored to this earth lest it become an impediment to heavenly glory!
06:40
September 23, 2021
9.19.21 Sun. Homily: Self - LESS
Deacon Stephen explains that the Christian life is marked by the  struggle to think more about others and less about ourselves; it can be  quite counter cultural, but it is the life of loving service that  compels us.
16:60
September 19, 2021
9.15.21 Wed. Homily: United In Her Sorrow
Deacon Stephen reflects on the Memorial of our Lady of Sorrows. Mary  embraced her many pains and suffering in her love for Jesus. We too are  invited to offer up our sufferings to the Lord.
10:46
September 15, 2021
9.12.21 Sun. Homily: Never Forget
Deacon Stephen reminds us that we should never forget the sacrifice and  love of men and women offering their lives for others on Sept. 11, but  also that we must never forget who we are and that we are called to  love.
14:46
September 12, 2021
9.8.19 Wed. Homily: The Perfect Age
Deacon Stephen explains that the genealogy of Jesus Christ isn't about  bloodlines, but rather about the plan of salvation unfolding from  Abraham to Jesus who inaugurates the perfect age...the Kingdom of God.
12:28
September 8, 2021
9.5.21 Sun. Homily: Make No Distiction
Deacon explains that during difficult times we need to work hard to make no distinction between one person and another. Our call is to love all of God's creatures and all of creation. By this work and this love, our faith is revealed.
15:24
September 6, 2021
9.1.21 Wed. Homily: Be That Church
Deacon Stephen Valgos
07:29
September 1, 2021
8.29.21 Sun. Homily: With You!
Deacon Stephen speaks on the importance of being there to support our church, it's leaders, and our country--and not just pay lip service!
15:16
August 29, 2021
8.25.21 Wed. Homily: What's Inside
Deacon Stephen explains that the world is hyper-concerned with what's on the outside, but our Lord teaches that it's what's on the inside that matters most!
06:44
August 26, 2021
8.22.21 Sun. Homily: To Whom Shall We Go?
Deacon Stephen explains that we are not called to understanding, but rather to fidelity to the Lord--to stand by his side, to walk with him as far as the journey takes us. It is he, after all, who has the words of eternal life. 
14:06
August 22, 2021
8.18.21 Wed. Homily: Just and Generous
Deacon Stephen explains that the disciple of Jesus is called to be like his Master, who treats us both with justice and generosity. 
13:21
August 18, 2021
8.15.21 The Assumption 2021: Say Yes!
Deacon Stephen explains that Mary's "yes" to God was not without difficulty or struggle, yet she still exclaimed the greatness of the Lord--even with suffering and pain. We too are called to give our yes and follow her example. 
13:26
August 15, 2021
8.4.21 Wed. Homily: St. John Vianney
Deacon Stephen Valgos gives a brief homily that recognizes this amazing priest, who worked tirelessly in response to Jesus' command to heal. 
07:23
August 5, 2021
8.1.21 Sun. Homily: Food that Endures
Deacon Stephen teaches that each of us must choose wisely between the things of this world and things of eternal value.
10:17
August 2, 2021
7.25.21 Sun. Homily: The Whole Person
Deacon Stephen Valgos 
12:13
July 25, 2021
7.14.21 Wed. Homily: Be Like Little Children
Deacon Stephen Valgos
06:06
July 14, 2021
7.12.21 ARMEE: Spare No Expense
Deacon Stephen explains the parable of the Buried Treasure and the Pearl  of Great Price. We must be willing to give up everything else of value  to experience the treasure of the kingdom of God.
41:14
July 12, 2021
7.11.21 Sun. Homily: Boxers and a Tire Iron
Deacon Stephen Valgos
14:04
July 11, 2021
7.4.21 Sun. Homily: Celebrating Freedom
Deacon Stephen Valgos speaks of true freedom, and what we ought to do with it.
11:35
July 4, 2021
6.30.21 Wed. Homily: What is the Cost?
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:52
June 30, 2021
6.24.21 VBS 2021 Scripture Talk Day 4
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:31
June 24, 2021
6.23.21 VBS 2021 Scripture Talk Day 3
Deacon Stephen
06:26
June 24, 2021
6.22.21 VBS 2021 Scripture Talk Day 2
Deacon Stephen Valgos
07:56
June 23, 2021
6.21.21 VBS 2021 Scripture Talk Day 1
Deacon Stephen Valgos
13:09
June 22, 2021
6.16.21 Wed. Homily: Sow Generously
Deacon Stephen Valgos.
07:30
June 16, 2021
6.8.21 Tue. Homily
This is a Homily for Tuesday of the 10th Week in Ordinary Time.
06:37
June 8, 2021
6.2.21 Wed. Homily
Wednesday homily for the 9th week in Ordinary Time. 
10:56
June 2, 2021
5.30.21 Sun. Trinitarian Love
Deacon Stephen explains that understanding the Trinity is less about language as it is about relationship. The disciples encountered God and want us also to encounter and worship.
12:18
May 30, 2021
5.19.21 Wed. Homily: Working Hands
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:18
May 19, 2021
5.9.21 Sun. Homily: God, Demons, and Saints
Deacon Stephen Valgos
13:34
May 9, 2021
5.5.21 Wed. Homily: In Communion with Jesus
Deacon Stephen Valgos
09:07
May 6, 2021
5.4.21 Tue. Homily: Do Not Be Afraid
Deacon Stephen Valgos
07:15
May 4, 2021
5.2.21 Sun. Homily: Stay Connected
Deacon Stephen Valgos
09:09
May 2, 2021
4.21.21 Wed. Homily: The Will of the Father
Deacon Stephen Valgos
11:01
April 21, 2021
4.18.21 Sun. Homily: The Greatest Gift
Deacon Stephen Valgos
11:39
April 18, 2021
4.11.21 Sun. Homily: Mercy Is Divine
Deacon Stephen Valgos
16:16
April 11, 2021
4.4.21 Easter Sunday 2021: An Example to Follow
Deacon Stephen Valgos
09:04
April 4, 2021
4.2.21 Good Friday Homily: What's So Good About Friday?
Deacon Stephen Valgos
30:13
April 2, 2021
3.28.21 Palm Sun. Homily: Three Points
Deacon Stephen Valgos
16:18
March 29, 2021
3.27.21 Confirmation Talk: Fishers of Men
Deacon Stephen Valgos
17:42
March 28, 2021
3.27.21 Confirmation Talk 3 Soldiers for Christ
Deacon Stephen Valgos
25:40
March 27, 2021
3.27.21 Confirmation Talk 1 Sealing the Deal
Deacon Stephen Valgos
14:48
March 27, 2021
3.17.21 Wed. Homily: Be Like St. Patrick
Deacon Stephen Valgos
07:33
March 17, 2021
3.14.21 Sun. Homily: Whaaat?!
Deacon Stephen Valgos
10:49
March 14, 2021
3.3.21 Wed. Homily: Be a Servant
Deacon Stephen Valgos
05:51
March 3, 2021
2.28.21 Sun. Homily: Remember
Deacon Stephen Valgos
10:30
February 28, 2021
2.24.21 Wed. Homily: Be Wise & Repent
Deacon Stephen Valgos
06:00
February 24, 2021
2.10.21 Wed. Homily: From the Inside
Deacon Stephen Valgos
09:06
February 10, 2021
1.27.21 Wed. Homily: The Hard Heart
Deacon Stephen Valgos
07:39
January 27, 2021
1.24.21 Sun. Homily: Repent and Believe
Deacon Stephen Valgos
11:20
January 25, 2021
1.23.21 Walk for Life Mass Homily; Known By Name
Deacon Stephen Valgos was invited to attend a Mass dedicated to the Walk For Life at OLA. The homily reflects his view of the dignity and value of life from the very moment of conception, because, “a person’s a person no matter how small.” -Dr. Seuss
09:09
January 23, 2021
1.20.21 Wed. Homily: Be Courageous
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:43
January 21, 2021
1.17.21 Sun. Homily: Be Their Eli
Deacon Stephen Valgos
09:25
January 18, 2021
1.6.21 Wed. Homily: Get In the Boat
Deacon Stephen Valgos
09:09
January 7, 2021
1.3.21 Epiphany Homily: Follow the Star
Deacon Stephen Valgos
12:17
January 3, 2021
1.1.21 Theotokos; All Things Are Possible
Deacon Stephen Valgos
13:00
January 1, 2021
12.27.20 Sun. The Holy Family
Deacon Stephen Valgos
12:54
December 27, 2020
12.25.20 Christmas Mass Homily: The Reason
Deacon Stephen Valgos
12:15
December 25, 2020
12.20.20 Sun. Homily: God Has a Plan
Deacon Stephen Valgos
07:57
December 21, 2020
12.16.20 Wed. Homily: What Do They See?
Deacon Stephen Valgos explains that just as Jesus' actions defined who he was  as the Christ, the awaited Messiah, so do our actions define who we are  as his followers.
09:03
December 16, 2020
12.2.20 Wed. Homily: What do You Have?
Deacon Stephen Valgos
07:32
December 3, 2020
11.29.20 Sun. Homily: Stand Guard
Deacon Stephen Valgos
10:21
November 30, 2020
11.26.20 Thanksgiving Homily: Thanks for the Toes!
Deacon Stephen Valgos talks about giving thanks even for the little things!
14:21
November 27, 2020
11.25.20 Wed. Homily: Persevere to the End
Deacon Stephen Valgos
09:03
November 26, 2020
11.22.20 Sun. Homily: Behind the Veil
Deacon Stephen Valgos
13:23
November 23, 2020
11.15.20 Sun. Homily: Principles of Stewardship
Deacon Stephen Valgos
18:51
November 16, 2020
11.8.20 Sun. Homily: Don't Wait
Deacon Stephen Valgos
15:27
November 9, 2020
11.4.20 Wed. Homily: The Cost
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:26
November 5, 2020
10.31.20 All Saints Day Homily: Happy Hallow E'en!
Deacon Stephen Valgos talks about the true meaning of Halloween.
13:11
October 31, 2020
10.28.20 Wed. Homily: On Their Shoulders
Deacon Stephen Valgos
10:40
October 28, 2020
10.25.20 Sun. Homily: Be Compassionate
Deacon Stephen Valgos
13:28
October 25, 2020
10.21.20 Wed. Homily: God Is Watching
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:13
October 21, 2020
10.18.20 Sun. Homily: To Caesar and To God
Deacon Stephen Valgos
12:16
October 18, 2020
10.14.20 Wed. Homily: Produce Good Fruit
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:15
October 14, 2020
10.11.20 Sun. Homily: Where's Your Garment?
Deacon Stephen Valgos
13:43
October 11, 2020
10.7.20 Wed. Homily: Obedience, Not Understanding
Deacon Stephen Valgos
06:55
October 7, 2020
10.4.21 Sun. Homily: Gratitude
Deacon Stephen Valgos
12:16
October 4, 2020
10.3.20 TOOL Regional Day Retreat #2 Endeavors to Aid Us
Deacon Stephen Valgos
54:42
October 3, 2020
10.3.20 TOOL Regional Day Retreat #1 Pursue God!
Deacon Stephen Valgos
52:56
October 3, 2020
9.30.20 Wed. Homily: Follow Him First
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:41
September 30, 2020
9.27.20 Sun. Homily: Respect and Obey
Deacon Stephen Valgos
12:16
September 27, 2020
9.23.20 Wed. Homily: Take Nothing!
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:25
September 23, 2020
9.20.20 Sun. Homily: Ordination Sunday
Deacon Stephen Valgos
08:03
September 20, 2020