Skip to main content
The Senior Podcast Show

The Senior Podcast Show

By The Senior Companies

Our Host and Director of Communications Kori Lehr, in conjunction with the expertise of many guests, will Present Our Educational Platform which will assist Seniors, their Families and Professionals in the industry, as we provide a full spectrum of Advice, Guidance, and Knowledge of best practices for all phases of aging.
Where to listen
Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

The Senior Podcast Preview Show

The Senior Podcast Show

1x
The Senior Podcast Show Episode 5: Real Estate in a New Reality
The Senior Podcast Show Episode 5: Real Estate in a New Reality
This Episode of The Senior Podcast Show focuses on Real Estate and the fast-changing market! We are joined by special guest Marian Grout, Licensed Real Estate Professional & Investor. Marian has been featured on HGTV's House Hunters and has been an Hour Media Real Estate All-Star 5 years in a row!  Buying or selling a home can be a stressful process at any age or stage of our lives, there are so many things to think about, and it can be difficult to know where to start. Working with a highly regarded Real Estate Expert can greatly combat some of those stresses as they will assist you throughout the entire process! In this episode we discuss changes in the current Market and how Buying and Selling homes varies throughout our lives from First time home buying to Downsizing and Selling your last home!
40:12
November 29, 2022
The Senior Podcast Show Episode 4: Navigating Medicare & Open Enrollment
The Senior Podcast Show Episode 4: Navigating Medicare & Open Enrollment
This Episode of The Senior Podcast Show focuses on Navigating Medicare. We will be joined by special guest Debbie Stroup, Licensed Insurance Professional and Michigan Medicare Specialist.  Choosing the correct Medicare plan is up the utmost importance! According to Debbie, it is critical to place yourself in the CORRECT Medicare plan that is designed to meet your specific budget, health care needs and that works with ALL your doctors and prescriptions. It is very important that you work directly with a local, independent Medicare Specialist. They are trained directly by Medicare and will help you find the best plan to fit your needs, budget and work with your doctors and pharmacy. In this episode we discuss when someone can sign up for Medicare and at which age, the difference between Part A, Part B, Part C and Part D, Medicare Advantage Plans and Medicare Supplemental/MediGap Plans, and questions you should ask to better understand which plan is best for you! Remember, you must pick your 2023 plan by December 7th, 2022.   
33:15
November 22, 2022
The Senior Podcast Show Episode 3: Family Dynamics in Senior Living
The Senior Podcast Show Episode 3: Family Dynamics in Senior Living
This Episode of The Senior Podcast Show focuses on Family Dynamic in Senior Living. We will be joined by special guest Justin Moussa, Sales & Marketing Director for Westwood Inn Senior Living. Family Dynamics are important determinants of health and wellness for Seniors. Healthy family dynamics help facilitate supportive interactions among family members and the Senior themselves. Having positive and regular social interactions can have significant implications for the health of individuals, both physically and mentally. In this episode we discuss Family Dynamics in Senior Living, how to remove doubts about entering Senior Living, and how to make the transition into Senior Living easier! ENTER OUR $500 GIVEAWAY! In Celebration of The Senior Podcast Show's Premier, we are GIVING AWAY $500.00! There are 8 ways to earn up to a total of 26 entries! The more Actions you Complete, the closer you are to WINNING $500! Click the link below to Enter! https://gleam.io/oqwle/the-senior-podcast-show-500-giveaway Contest runs until 11/16/22. No purchase necessary, see Terms and Conditions for eligibility and regulatory information.
28:17
November 15, 2022
The Senior Podcast Show Episode 2: Skilled Home Care, The Future of Health Care
The Senior Podcast Show Episode 2: Skilled Home Care, The Future of Health Care
This Episode of The Senior Podcast Show focuses on Skilled Home Health Care. We will be joined by special guest Jonathan Gasso, founder, of PARC Home Care. America is experiencing a dramatic shift in demographics, and in 2019, people older than 65 years will outnumber those younger than five. As Americans age and live longer, increasing numbers of them will live with multiple chronic conditions, such as diabetes or dementia, and functional impairments, such as difficulty with the basics of life like mobility and managing one’s household.* In this episode we discuss the benefits of Skilled Home Care, How to setup Skilled Home Care services, home modifications and adaptive equipment to make your home safer, and what to ask when choosing a Skilled Home Care Company! ENTER OUR $500 GIVEAWAY!  In Celebration of The Senior Podcast Show's Premier, we are GIVING AWAY $500.00!  There are 8 ways to earn up to a total of 26 entries! The more Actions you Complete, the closer you are to WINNING $500!  Click the link below to Enter!  https://gleam.io/oqwle/the-senior-podcast-show-500-giveaway  Contest runs until 11/16/22. No purchase necessary, see Terms and Conditions for eligibility and regulatory information.  *(Landers S, Madigan E, Leff B, Rosati RJ, McCann BA, Hornbake R, MacMillan R, Jones K, Bowles K, Dowding D, Lee T, Moorhead T, Rodriguez S, Breese E. The Future of Home Health Care: A Strategic Framework for Optimizing Value. Home Health Care Manag Pract. 2016 Nov;28(4):262-278. doi: 10.1177/1084822316666368. Epub 2016 Oct 5. PMID: 27746670; PMCID: PMC5052697).
35:27
November 08, 2022
The Senior Podcast Show Premier: The POWER of Socialization!
The Senior Podcast Show Premier: The POWER of Socialization!
In this Premier Episode of The Senior Podcast Show, you will meet our Host Kori Lehr and her Co-Host Audra Stoker! Kori is a Physical Therapist Assistant, Certified Brain Injury Specialist, and a Certified Dementia Care Specialist with 8+ years' experience in the Senior Industry. She has been on the American Physical Therapy Association of Michigan's Conference Committee for 5+ years and a member of Brain Injury Association of Michigan for 4 years. Audra has spent the last decade serving seniors in a variety of ways and to varying degrees of need. She has a bachelor’s degree in healthcare administration/management from Ferris State University, has been a Committee Chair for The Alzheimer’s Association, a Committee Member for The Michigan Senior Olympics, as well as a Steering Committee Member for Ascension Crittenton Hospital (Focused on Transition of Care). This Episode of The Senior Podcast Show focuses on the POWER of Socialization as we age. Socialization plays a large role in maintaining quality of life as one ages. Research has shown that when older adults have strong social networks, they seem to have a higher quality of life, live longer and are healthier compared to those with little social support (Glass, Mendes de Leon, Marottolie & Berkman, 1999) We will be joined by special guest Ericka Pauly, Recreation Coordinator, from the Clinton Twp Senior Adult Life Center. In this episode we discuss which activities are available for Seniors in local communities, how to get involved and the benefits of Socialization to a person's health. GIVEAWAY! In Celebration of The Senior Podcast Show's Premier, we are GIVING AWAY $500.00! There are 8 ways to earn up to a total of 26 entries! The more Actions you Complete, the closer you are to WINNING $500! Click the link below to Enter! The Senior Podcast Show $500 Giveaway! (gleam.io) Contest runs until 11/16/22. No purchase necessary, see Terms and Conditions for eligibility and regulatory information.  
34:25
November 01, 2022
The Senior Podcast Preview Show
The Senior Podcast Preview Show
Join Host, Kori Lehr, and her Co-Host, Audra, as they share some of what to expect in the coming weeks and months, update you on our Studio Reconstruction and more! This Preview Show was recorded LIVE on Facebook on September 16th, 2022.  Our First official Visual Podcast Show will drop November 1st, 2022! Watch to Win a chance at $500.00!!
12:18
October 05, 2022