Weekly Suit Gundam

Weekly Suit Gundam #05 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 39-43

An episode of Weekly Suit Gundam

By Jonathan Lack & Sean Chapman
A podcast dedicated to the wide, wonderful world of MOBILE SUIT GUNDAM, hosted by Jonathan Lack & Sean Chapman of The Weekly Stuff Podcast, as we review and discuss the shows, manga, Gunpla, movies, and more from the premiere Mecha anime franchise.
More places to listen

More places to listen

Weekly Suit Gundam #10 – Unicorn Gundam & Narrative Gundam Review & Discussion
Released in seven parts from 2010 to 2014, Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn is an extravagant OVA sequel to the original saga of Universal Century Gundam, set three years after Char’s Counterattack and engaging in a direct, deeply thoughtful dialogue with the major themes and ideas of the franchise’s 70s and 80s output. It’s also a spectacular production, with movie-caliber animation, an all-time great score by Hiroyuki Sawano, and some of the greatest mobile suit action the franchise has ever seen. We dive deep with the series on this week’s show, while also touching upon Unicorn’s own movie sequel, Mobile Suit Gundam Narrative, the 2018 film that stands as the most recent entry in the Universal Century canon. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
3:19:33
September 23, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #09 – Char’s Counterattack Review & Discussion
The original saga of Mobile Suit Gundam reaches its spectacular climax with Char’s Counterattack, the 1988 theatrical film that reunites Char Aznable and Amuro Ray for one final conflict, and sees Yoshiyuki Tomino and company bringing these characters, their story, and the major themes of the series up to now home with astonishing aplomb. As the first original movie in the franchise’s history, Char’s Counterattack boasts incredible production values and some of the greatest animation we’ve ever seen, but it’s also a deeply intelligent, incredibly thoughtful capper to all the big ideas, character arcs, and interpersonal conflicts broached in the original three TV series. And after spending so much time talking about the ingenious character creation that is Char, this movie gives us ample opportunity to put the character and his complex evolution in context, leading to one of the best conversations we’ve had about Gundam so far. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
2:13:23
September 10, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #08 - Gundam ZZ Review & Discussion
After the abject darkness that was the ending of Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam, we come out on the other side to review and discuss its immediate successor, Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ, a show that appears lighter at first glance…but is it? ZZ has a bad reputation among Western fans, but we’d argue it’s a deeply misunderstood and underappreciated gem, an essential follow-up to Zeta Gundam that masterfully shifts the franchise’s POV, boasts stunning visuals from start to finish, and is chock full of great characters, both heroes and villains alike. As the final TV entry in the initial Gundam trilogy, it wraps up the first saga of the Universal Century with aplomb, challenging much of what we thought we know and taking the series to bold, compelling new places along the way. It’s not one to miss, and this jam-packed discussion is a lot of fun. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
2:24:26
September 2, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #07 - Zeta Gundam Review & Discussion
In this episode, Weekly Suit Gundam goes beyond its original missive of reviewing the original 1979 Mobile Suit Gundam by jumping ahead for a deep dive with the second series in the Gundam franchise, and one of the most beloved: Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam, the sequel set in 0087 that sees new protagonist Kamille Bidan joining forces with the AEUG – and several familiar faces, including the mysterious, sunglass-wearing Quattro Bajeena – to fight against the fascistic takeover of the Earth Federation by the evil Titans. Now that Jonathan’s binged the entire 50-episode series in just over a week, we have a lot to talk about, from how beautifully this series functions as a bold, thoughtful sequel to the original, to its blend of new and returning characters, to how impactfully its political content resonates with our current moment. It’s one of the greatest anime series of all time – with as dark an ending as you’re ever likely to see – and that’s more than enough for a packed episode’s worth of discussion.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
2:30:51
August 19, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #06 – Gundam Film Trilogy & One-Year War Wrap-up
Our first ‘season’ of Weekly Suit Gundam comes to a close with a big, fun, celebratory ‘wrap-up’ episode. For our main topic, we discuss the series of theatrical films, released between 1981 and 1982, that compiled and reworked the original Mobile Suit Gundam into a surprisingly effective film trilogy that saved the series from its initial lack of popularity and helped launch the franchise into the stratosphere. That’s a great discussion in and of itself, but it’s not all! We also briefly review all the other One-Year War series – Gundam: The Origin, War in the Pocket, The 08thMS Team, and Thunderbolt – talk about some Gundam manga and books, and count down the Top 10 Best Mobile Suits, Best Character Names, and Greatest Episodes of the original series. It’s a fun, jam-packed episode saluting one of the best anime series of all time, and a fitting celebration for Gundam’s 40thanniversary.  Enjoy, and stick around to the end, because while this may be the end of what we planned to do with Weekly Suit Gundam, it’s certainly not the last you’ve heard of our Gundam talks.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
4:00:53
August 6, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #05 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 39-43
It’s the final stretch of Mobile Suit Gundam – episodes 39 through 43 – and if you thought a mere five episodes wouldn’t be enough to fill a full installment of this podcast, you clearly haven’t seen the absurdly jam-packed final push of this incredible show. With the strange, metaphysical concept of ‘Newtypes’ taking center stage, Gundam’s closing episodes are both its most action-packed and its most boldly experimental, as Amuro comes fully into his new abilities and Char tries to harness the powers of the mysterious Lalah Sune. It wasn’t exactly the ending creator Yoshiyuki Tomino and company had in mind – the series was cut from 52 to 43 episodes, with these final five installments having to tell a much-condensed version of a longer original game plan – but as we argue here, it’s nonetheless a stirring, pitch-perfect ending to this all-time great anime, and one worth the deep dive we give it here.  Enjoy, and come back next time for our final episode (for now!) of Weekly Suit Gundam, where we’ll be talking the compilation movie trilogy from 1981-1982 that sent Gundam’s popularity into the stratosphere. Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
2:20:25
August 6, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #04 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 26-38
The end is near for Mobile Suit Gundam, as this set of episodes – #26-38 – find the crew of the White Base becoming fully integrated into the Federation’s forces, visiting the military’s biggest base of operations, and returning to space for an assault on the Zeon stronghold of Solomon and, finally, a duel…in Texas! It’s another sterling set of episodes, this bunch more action-packed than ever, but also dense with revelations and major plot developments, culminating in a series of major reveals that reshape the stakes of the conflict and where our major characters stand, with just five episodes left to go. We’ll get to those next time, but for now, this is an incredibly juicy, wildly entertaining, and as always shockingly sobering set of episodes worth diving deep with.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
2:34:42
August 6, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #03 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 14-25
As we hit the middle stretch of Mobile Suit Gundam and discuss episodes 14 through 25, the show gets increasingly dark, with the challenges faced by the crew of the White Base growing ever more perilous. We’re introduced to new foes like M’quve and Kycilia Zabi, alongside the inimitable Ramba Ral and his companion Hamon, enemies who present Amuro and Bright their fiercest opponents yet, but are also perhaps the most honorable and upstanding characters on the series to date. As the lines between ‘good’ and ‘evil’ grow ever blurrier, the body count starts piling up, and series creator Yoshiyuki Tomino more than earns his nickname, “Kill ‘Em All Tomino.” It’s another terrific, if frequently depressing, set of episodes, as we round the halfway point of the series and head into the back half full steam ahead.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
1:51:59
August 6, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #02 - Reviewing Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 03-13
After giving an overview of the Mecha genre and talking about the first two episodes last time, we dive deep into the meat of Mobile Suit Gundam on this week’s episode, discussing Episodes three through thirteen, a stretch which sees Amuro struggling with the surmounting stress of piloting the Gundam, Bright navigating his unexpected leadership, and Char deliciously manipulating supposed friend Garma Zabi to mysterious ends. It’s a terrific set of episodes that establishes the show’s episode structure and major themes, culminating in a brutally dark episode that makes it clear this is no lighthearted space opera – and why this show deserves the thorough look-back we’re giving it on this podcast.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  www.weeklystuffpodcast.com Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!
2:09:56
August 6, 2019
Weekly Suit Gundam #01 - Mobile Suit Gundam 0079 Episodes 01-02 & Intro to Mecha Anime
In the 40 years since its 1979 debut in Japan, Mobile Suit Gundam has grown into one of the most pervasive and beloved franchises in anime history – and this summer, we’re taking a look back at the series that started it all, by watching, reviewing, and discussing in depth all 43 episodes of the original Mobile Suit Gundam (aka Gundam 0079). Sean has been a big Gundam fan for years, but Jonathan’s never seen a single episode before, giving us two unique perspectives on the series as we set out on this journey. This week, we go into the history of bothGundam itself and the Mecha genre at large, before diving into the first 2 episodes of the anime, one of the most confident and compelling introductions we’ve ever seen to a TV series. And over the next four parts of this podcast miniseries, we’ll continue through to the end of the series.  Subscribe to The Weekly Stuff Podcast on iTunes! Follow Jonathan Lack on Twitter @JonathanLack  Follow Sean Chapman on Twitter @SeantheChapman  Subscribe to our YouTube Channel! www.weeklystuffpodcast.com
1:36:25
August 6, 2019
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!