What 2 Discuss Now

The Art of Self Defense Fantasia 2019 review

An episode of What 2 Discuss Now

Avatar
By AJ Friar & Steven Wandling
About
What 2 discus now. AJ Friar and Steve Wandling’s podcast we talk movie subject and interview guest.

AJ is a writer for
Infamous Horrors
Infamous Movies
Pophorror

Steve Wandling is the owner and founder of
Creepylovely.com
More places to listen
What 2 discus now. AJ Friar and Steve Wandling’s podcast we talk movie subject and interview guest.

AJ is a writer for
Infamous Horrors
Infamous Movies
Pophorror

Steve Wandling is the owner and founder of
Creepylovely.com
www.infamoushorrors.com

More places to listen

Pickaxe review/ Reviews From The Vault "The Computer That Wore Tennis Shoes" and "The Cat From Outer Space"
We grade Pickaxe which we think could be the next Hatchet franchise even if the acting wasn't completely there we think that was intentional with this being a tribute to old slasher films and skinimax films of the past.  We also do a new segment called "Reviews From The Vault" where we focus on older movies to review. 
27:19
December 7, 2019
John Suits Interview for 3022
AJ interviews John Suits for his new film 3022 starring Omar Epps.
08:16
November 25, 2019
Adam Egypt Mortimer interview ‘Daniel Isn’t Real’(release date 12/6/2019
Interview with the director of Daniel Isn’t Real which is being released 12/6/2019. We talk the difficulty of adapting a novel and the difficulty of casting an imaginary friend iTunes preorder link: https://apple.co/2nw3H6w
07:07
November 13, 2019
Doctor Sleep review, Top 10, hot take on listing Jokers.
We discuss Doctor Sleep, addiction, also give our top 10 of the year so far and I may have to give a trigger warning for this episode for what I say about Heath Ledger. I never mean to come across as not sensitive to a subject but you’ll hear my explanation in the episode.
45:07
November 13, 2019
New What2DiscussNow
AJ returns with a new co host Steve Wandling
32:10
October 31, 2019
Tom Atkins interview
Today I interview Tom Atkins and talk his new film 'Trick' which hits theaters October 18th and also on demand platforms. The new movie 'Trick' is such a throwback treat for horror fans who appreciate atmosphere over jump scares that we have been invaded with the past few years. Tom and I also discuss our viewpoints on modern horror versus 70s and 80s horror films and not being a fan of torture porn such as Saw. When is gore in a film distracting and just being used to be used? We also reminiscence on Halloween 3: Season of The Witch and Night of The Creeps first reactions to now where many people love the films and have a better and greater appreciation for them from when they were first released.  Tom thank you for being such a genuine guy for this interview. Your one of the best good sir!  
11:38
October 18, 2019
Laura Wiggins interview for Along Came The Devil 2
Laura Wiggins interview
10:32
October 11, 2019
Henry Jacobson interview for Bloodline
Interview discussing the film Bloodline
09:03
October 7, 2019
Bill Mosley 3 From Hell interview
I sit down to talk 3 From Hell with star Bill Mosley! A milestone for What 2 Discuss Now to have a guest like this! Thank you Saban Films! Fathom Events for 3 From Hell here http://fathomevents.com/3FromHell
09:36
September 11, 2019
Scott Beck and Bryan Woods interview(Haunt and A Quiet Place writers)
I sit down with Scott Beck and Bryan Woods for their new movie they wrote that Eli Roth produced called "Haunt" which Is an amazing throwback thriller. Also we talk the success of A Quiet Place and how it led to their older scripts being sought after and they open up about their Stephen King adaptation "The Boogieman". 
10:45
September 10, 2019
What 2 Discuss now new episode.
A new episode of me and Brandon(He's finally back... again!!!) 
26:21
August 24, 2019
Fantasia 2019 interview with the director of "Freaks"
Thanks to Fantasia International Film Festival I got to interview the directors of "Freaks" starring Emile Hirsch and Bruce Dern an amazing dark science fiction thriller! 
13:08
August 24, 2019
Richard Bates interview (Tone-Deaf)
I interview the director of Saban Films new film "Tone-Deaf" which is ultra satisfying. Robert Patrick's best performance in years. 
09:32
August 24, 2019
Velicipastor interview
I interview the star and director of the hilarious film Velicipastor! Such a fun time. Now out on VOD!! 
16:50
August 24, 2019
David Palamaro interview for "Murder Made Easy"!
HI everyone and welcome back! I meant to post this episode up a month ago. Honestly thought I did until recently so here it is finally my interview with David Palamaro for his film Murder Made Easy. Hope you enjoy! 
18:31
August 5, 2019
Riot Girls Fantasia 2019 Review
My 5/5 Star review for Fantasia International Film Festival coverage of "Riot Girls" 
03:59
July 29, 2019
Shadow Fantasia 2019 Review
My 3.5/5 star review of Shadow from the Fantasia International Film Festival! Thank you so much to everyone that's been helping me cover the festival this year! 
03:01
July 21, 2019
The Wretched 2019 Fantasia Internation Film Festival Review
My 5/5 star review of The Wretched from Fantasia International Film Festival 
03:22
July 21, 2019
Interview with the directors of They're Inside
I Chat with the writer and director of the new film "They're Inside" Schuyler Brumley and John-Paul Panelli both really great guys to talk to. Sorry for the audio difficulties I recorded this with my voice recorder and low signal so I think that got in the way of better audio but here it is. Enjoy! They're Inside release date. Jul 16, 2019
10:31
July 16, 2019
The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil Fantasia 2019 Review.
Fantasia 2019  Continuing Fantasia International Film Festival reviews. This one is for: The Gangster, The Cop, The Devil. My favorite foreign film of the year! Also one of the years best films! So well crafted so well done!!  Synopsis: Remake of the South Korean film 'The Gangster, the Cop, the Devil' about a crime boss who teams up with a cop to track down a serial killer. After barely surviving a violent attack by an elusive serial killer, crime boss Jang Dong-su (Don Lee) finds himself forming an unlikely partnership with local detective Jung Tae-seok (Kim Moo Yul) to catch the sadistic killer simply known as "K".
05:31
July 14, 2019
Critters Attack! Fantasia 2019 Review
Critters Attack review for Fantasia International Film Festival 2019 3/5 star review.  Synopsis:  Follows 20-year-old Drea, who reluctantly takes a job babysitting for a professor of a college she hopes to attend. Struggling to entertain the professor's children Trissy and Jake, along with her own little brother Phillip , Drea takes them on a hike, unaware that mysterious alien critters have crash-landed and started devouring every living thing they encounter.
05:45
July 14, 2019
The Art of Self Defense Fantasia 2019 review
Hey Everyone AJ here reviewing "The Art of Self Defense" for Fantasia 2019 A man is attacked at random on the street. He enlists at a local dojo, led by a charismatic and mysterious sensei, in an effort to learn how to defend himself.  Starring:   Jesse Eisenberg, Imogen Poots, Phillip Andre.  Everywhere July 19th 2019.  5/5 
07:39
July 13, 2019
Phillip Andre Interview(The Art of Self Defense and Pledge)
Hey everyone and welcome back! Today  I talk with Phillip Andre whose breakout role was in IFC Midnight's Pledge and now currently starring in "The Art of Self Defense" which made a huge splash at SXSW and getting ready to play at Fantasia International Film Festival. We discuss favorite dark comedies and the critical response from both "Pledge" and "The Are of Self Defense" which opens in limited theaters July 12th and nationwide July 19th! Make sure to go see it in Cinemas. 
24:13
July 10, 2019
Jim Ojala interview
Hey everyone and welcome back! Today I talk with Jim Ojala whose FX team worked on the new Slipknot masks!! Also did the FX work for Glenn Danzig's now notorious movie Verotika! Which is being compared to "The Room" he says how important to see that film in a setting with a lot of people trying to comprehend what the hell is going on! Hope you enjoy the episode! You can follow his work at the following links. Instagram is @ojalafx and @slipknot his FX site is ojalafx.com also Strangenaturemovie.com and @strangenaturemovie  P.S. My decent into Troma memory lane continues!!!
18:24
July 6, 2019
Anotonio Pantoja/Josh Stifter returns! Double Feature
Hey everyone! Since the legendary Joe Bob Briggs was my previous guest I got in the spirit of doing a double feature interview for this episode.  With Antonio Pantoja we talk about how it all started with directing videos for Strange Music as well as early film inspirations for this years best independent horror comedy "One Must Fall".  When Josh Stifter returns we talk about how we felt about The Good Exorcist, and how Greywood's Plot came to be while he was on Kevin Smith's Tusk which he did incredible animation for! Josh is a really awesome guy and imagine "Frankenstein on cocaine" and that's what you get with his latest film "Greywood's Plot" and the ending of that will haunt you for weeks!
1:07:51
June 20, 2019
Interview with legendary Joe Bob Briggs!!
First off thank you to the lovely people at Chicago's CINEPOCALYPSE for making this possible! Thank you Kaila Hier and also Tracy(JBB's assistant)!! Be sure to check out CINEPOCALYPSE if you're anywhere close to Chicago next week! It's going to be a hell of a good time and you'll get to see Joe Bob Brigg's fascinating AN EVENING WITH JOE BOB BRIGGS: HOW REDNECKS SAVED HOLLYWOOD show on June 18th! So please be sure to check out that film festival I saw the lineup and it looks absolutely amazing! So here you have it my interview with JOE BOB BRIGGS we talk his first experiences with horror and what got him to fall in love with the genre his best drive in experience, how rednecks saved Hollywood came to be, Modern horror films that absolutely terrify him. Which horror films he finds controversial and infamous, Hope you all enjoy! Please share thanks!
16:35
June 11, 2019
Interview with John Brennan
AJ interviews John Brennan about his work at Troma entertainment and Joe Bob Brigg's The Last Drive-In
14:51
May 29, 2019
Interview with Mercy Black director Owen Black
AJ interviews Owen Egerton the director or Blumhouse's  newest Netflix feature film Mercy Black. We promise you won't want to watch Mac and Me after this episode... We promise...  You may however want to watch The Room! 
24:12
April 24, 2019
Samuel interviews Escape Room director
Samuel from infamous horrors interviews the director of the hugely successful Escape Room. 
20:50
April 24, 2019
Avenger's End Game prediction, Fox/Disney Merger talks. Never Grow Old review.
Brandon and AJ discuss possibilities  of Avenger's End Game. Captain Marvel's pivotal part in the equation, The finalization of the Fox/Disney merger. Fantastic Four possibilities. Also AJ reviews Never Grow Old. 
32:27
March 19, 2019
Captain Marvel/At Eternity's Gate
AJ and Brandon review Captain Marvel and At Eternity's Gate. AJ brings up his distaste of Leonardo DiCaprio and Daniel Day Lewis(At Brandon's disgust) Alita Battle Angel, Game of Thrones. People leaving Hollywood and discussing can we enjoy the art and dislike the artist. 
26:41
March 15, 2019
What 2 Discuss Now with Maria Olsen
I sit down with Maria Olsen to discuss Ed and The Living Dead. Along with her exciting upcoming projects. 
22:07
February 25, 2019
What 2 Discuss now
We talk "They Shall Not Grow Old" and other films that you would only see in theaters because of the sound or image quality. 
41:31
February 17, 2019
Diane Franklin interview for The Amityville Murders
I speak with Diane Franklin to promote her new movie the wonderful The Amityville Murders. 
09:31
February 8, 2019
Darren Lynn Bousman interview for St Agatha
I speak to Darren Lynn Bousman about his new fantastic movie "St Agatha". 
08:14
February 8, 2019
What 2 Discuss Now Glass review and more.
Brandon is BACK! In this new episode we discuss Glass, Anna and The Apocalypse, Bohemian Rhapsody, Shrek reboot(Why?), anticipation for The Lego Movie pt 2 and How To Train Your Dragon 3. 
33:47
January 30, 2019
"Monday" Review plus interview with Alex
This episode I talk with Alex from The El Rey Networks "Rebel Without a Crew" tv series. his film "Monday" has dynamic character development. Witty dialogue and adrenaline fueled action sequences.   Make sure to support his new film if you can!  https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.indiegogo.com%2Fprojects%2Fmillennium-bugs-film%3Ffbclid%3DIwAR2t3dJAf2cSnnmL_Zr2AOG6cS0Fs_yJ8WFMDgYVIgXmHNvnbunY5h83AIY%23%2F&h=AT0vVzOthyhKTPepwkXs1HZOQDPh-vsA1hQ2xSVfxneHNahQb4tFZJHWli8906hL0tGpS5D8PrmWUz4pOCeLdTs5UY-dPCrgBMxa2av--0pAO8ObENknOIYcQWsUG4lll67p_Q
15:31
January 22, 2019
Blaze/Pledge review
I review Blaze and Pledge then have a chat with the Pledge filmmakers.
14:32
January 17, 2019
Josh Stifter interview
Josh Stifter from El Rey Network's "Rebel Without A Crew" and director of indie horror comedy "The Good Exorcist" joins me for a chat about influences Robert Rodriguez and future projects.
55:42
January 16, 2019
Rust Creek(IFC Midnight) Review
I(AJ Friar) review Rust Creek and interview Jen the director of Rust Creek) Brandon Samuel(Co Host) has been busy with work lately so to keep this going every other two weeks I sat down for a solo episode. 
16:01
January 4, 2019
New Segment "What 2 Discuss Now"
51:37
December 13, 2018
RKSS
We interview the trio of RKSS known for "Turbo Kid" and the recently released "Summer of 84"
54:15
December 5, 2018
Jenn Wexler
Jenn Wexler comes on and talks with us about her exciting new project "The Ranger"
30:14
November 28, 2018
Marilyn Ghigliotti from Clerks
We talk all things Clerks and Kevin Smith with Marilyn Ghigliotti.
21:08
November 28, 2018
Dreaming of a White Doomsday
Interviewing Mike Lombardo director of Dreaming of A White Doomsday. Pre order your copy now from Amazon.
11:03
November 15, 2018
Interview with Leah Mac
Leah Mac interview writer of MFA staring Francesca Eastwood and Clifton Collins Jr..
18:29
November 12, 2018
Mini episode with DAVID SAKURAI
Star of "Housewife" David Sakuria joins me for a quick interview of his movie "Housewife" thanks to RJLE Films for the interview.
08:06
October 23, 2018
Episode 5 with James Oster(Jimmy O of Joblo)
We interview James Oster from Joblo.com about his favorite b movies and cult classics and midnight movies. We discuss about bringing fandom back to movies.
44:27
October 19, 2018
Episode 4 with Adam Marcus
Adam Marcus of Friday The 13th the final Friday and writer of Texas Chainsaw 3D joins us in this episode to talk all things horror.
47:09
October 16, 2018
Episode 3 with Doenut.
Episode 3 with Doenut as we talk his new movie "Scum Nut"
18:54
October 2, 2018
Episode 2 with Daniel Farrands
We talk The Amityville Murders with Daniel Farrands before it's premier. Also talk about A Nightmare on Elm Street and horror docs as well as Ed And Lorraine Warren.
41:44
October 2, 2018
Mini Episode 2 with Echoes of Fear directors.
We talk Echoes of Fear ahead of Women in Horror film festival.
14:45
October 2, 2018
Mini episode 1
15:53
September 23, 2018
Episode 1 W/Mick Strawn
The very first episode of the Infamous Horrors podcast with AJ Friar and Brandon Samuel as we interview Mick Strawn from A Nightmare on Elm Street 3 and 4, Leatherface the infamous Roger Corman Fantastic Four and Boogie Nights. Go to www.infamoushorrors.com for more things horror
38:16
September 21, 2018
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!