Skip to main content
WhatWoodyDo: Woody Allen's Decades in Film

WhatWoodyDo: Woody Allen's Decades in Film

By whatwoodydopodcast
Hong Kong-based artists William Elvin and Q discuss the life and art of one of the most prolific -- and most controversial -- filmmakers of our generation, through over five decades of his films.
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

1985 - The Purple Rose of Cairo (Discussion/Review)

WhatWoodyDo: Woody Allen's Decades in Film

1985 - The Purple Rose of Cairo (Discussion/Review)

WhatWoodyDo: Woody Allen's Decades in Film

1x
1986 - Hannah And Her Sisters (Discussion/Review)
This week's focus is Woody Allen's 1986 classic "Hannah And Her Sisters." Featuring intertwining stories centered around Hannah (Mia Farrow), the film delves deeper into the complexities of love, relationships and the meaning of live. What do we think of this piece of art by one of the most prolific filmmakers of our time? Listen now for our ruminations and insights.  Music Credits: Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses)
41:53
September 8, 2021
1985 - The Purple Rose of Cairo (Discussion/Review)
We return this week to discuss the much-loved Woody Allen film, 1985's "The Purple Rose of Cairo," starring Mia Farrow and Jeff Daniels. Can this film be considered one of Woody's best? Find out what we think!  Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses)
41:41
August 26, 2021
1984 - Broadway Danny Rose (Discussion/Review)
1984 sees Woody Allen and Mia Farrow back together on screen, this time feeling more adventurous with new dimensions to their screen personas so far. What's our verdict with one of Woody's easiest and accessible viewing experience? Find out in our episode about the charming and lovable Broadway Danny Rose!  Music Credits: Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses)
34:46
August 18, 2021
1983 - Zelig (Discussion/Review)
Mia Farrow is back with Woody Allen in this mockumentary about the "human chameleon" Leonard Zelig! Is this one of Woody Allen's best filmmaking efforts? Find out what we think of 1983's Zelig!  Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses)
34:51
August 4, 2021
1982 - A Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy (Review/Discussion)
We welcome Mia Farrow to Woody Allen's filmography in this review/discussion of 1982's "A Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy." What did we think of this relaxed and light (at least concept-wise) effort from Woody Allen? And what is a "Mexican cartwheel?" These and more in this episode!  Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses)
36:55
July 28, 2021
1980 - Stardust Memories (Discussion/Review)
Opening the second Woody Allen decade on film is 1980's Stardust Memories. In this episode, we discuss how this film relates to artists and creators, and how it may have been one of the earlier modern "celebrity culture critique" forms of media. Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses)
44:58
July 21, 2021
Special Episode 2 - The First Decade of Woody Allen as Writer and Director
After watching the first eight Woody Allen movies as a writer-director from 1969 to 1979, we take a short pause to process and talk about Woody's first decade from the perspective of Q, who just saw all of the films -- including Annie Hall and Manhattan -- for the first time in his life. What are his top picks for this decade? Listen to our special episode now! Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses)
32:04
July 14, 2021
1979 - Manhattan (Discussion/Review)
We've reached the last film of Woody Allen's first decade as an auteur writer/director, and he closes the 70s with one of his most influential films of all time. In this episode, we talk about how beautiful this film is in all of its aspects, the controversy it draws in relation to the allegations against Woody, and its influence on the romantic comedy and "mumblecore" genres. This is our discussion on 1979's "Manhattan," starring Woody Allen, Diane Keaton, Mariel Hemingway, Michael Murphy and Meryl Streep.  Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses)
52:30
July 7, 2021
1978 - Interiors (Discussion/Review)
After six episodes of varying degrees of comedy, we now discuss Woody Allen's first serious drama, "Interiors" from 1978. Join longtime Woody fan William Elvin and first-time viewer Q as they discuss this harrowing emotional ride starring Geraldine Page, Diane Keaton, MAry Beth Hurt, Kristin Griffith and Maureen Stapleton.  Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses) 
39:42
June 30, 2021
1977 - Annie Hall (Discussion/Review)
As Woody Allen fans would probably expect, we go way beyond reviewing the 1977 classic "Annie Hall" and talk about a lot of stuff -- its influence in cinema, its themes, its psychological elements and more! Is this film really the precursor to the "Awkward-Nice-Guy-Gets-The-Girl" type of romantic comedies, as a number of moviegoers think today? Is Annie Hall a "Manic Pixie Dream Girl" character? And do you mean my whole fallacy is wrong?  Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses) 
52:46
June 23, 2021
1975 - Love and Death (Discussion/Review) + "Early, Funny Ones" Ranked
Woody Allen and Diane Keaton finish off the "early, funny ones" era as Boris and Sonja in 1975's "Love and Death." What's so special about this raucous-yet-intellectually-stimulating period comedy? Join hosts William Elvin and Q in discussing about what is perhaps Woody Allen's greatest oddball comedy effort.  Music Credits:  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses) 
45:11
June 16, 2021
1973 - Sleeper (Discussion/Review)
Woody Allen goes full sci-fi and introduces his most influential and perhaps most lovable muse in his career: the lovely Diane Keaton! In 1973's Sleeper, Woody Allen plays Miles Monroe, a man who wakes up after 200 years of being cryogenically frozen only to be an awkward participant in a future revolutionary underground movement. Is this Allen's best in the "early, funny ones" era? Join William Elvin and "Woody virgin" Q's discussion of this futuristic comedy.  Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) Go Down Moses by Dee Yan-Key (https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Dee_Yan-Key/go-down-moses/go-down-moses) 
40:49
June 9, 2021
Special Episode - Commentary on 1970s Media Climate
After our discussion on 1972's "Everything You Always Wanted To Know About Sex* (But Were Afraid To Ask)," we received a very insightful feedback from our listener Mattias Bjorkland, who offered us a great description of how the media climate was in 1970s, when Woody Allen made the raunchy sex comedy anthology. We discuss the insights for a bit in this special episode.  Music Credit: Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) 
18:51
June 7, 2021
1972 - Everything You Always Wanted To Know About Sex* [But Were Afraid To Ask] (Discussion/Review)
Woody Allen's 1972 offering, "Everything You Always Wanted To Know About Sex* (But Were Afraid to Ask)" is arguably the legendary filmmaker's raunchiest, dirtiest and most shocking. What do we make of this unfiltered and unruly gem? Join Hong Kong-based artists William Elvin and Q as they discuss this unique and discussion-worthy sex-themed anthology.  Music credit: Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com)
50:46
June 2, 2021
1971 - Bananas (Discussion/Review)
Woody Allen tackles socio-political themes in his 2nd work as a writer-director, 1971's "Bananas". But is it any good? Hong Kong-based artists William Elvin and Q discuss and review this movie starring Woody alongside the charming Louise Lasser.  Music credit: Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com)
36:28
May 26, 2021
1969 - Take The Money And Run (Discussion/Review)
In the first episode of WhatWoodyDo's weekly podcast, "Woody Allen's Decades in Film," Hong Kong-based artists William Elvin and Q discuss and review Woody Allen's debut as a writer-director: the 1969 comedy "Take The Money And Run," starring the man himself as Virgil Starkwell -- a clumsy, bumbling criminal, alongside the lovely Janet Margolin.  Music credit: Gypsy Music by Crowander (www.crowander.com) 
35:30
May 19, 2021
Woody Allen: Decades in Film (Trailer)
Join Hong Kong-based artists William Elvin and Q Gonzales for a journey across over five decades of one of our generation’s most prolific – and most controversial filmmakers.  Coming soon. 
01:19
May 4, 2021