Skip to main content
The Motocross Vault Podcast by Tony Blazier

The Motocross Vault Podcast by Tony Blazier

By Anthony Blazier
The Motocross Vault is a podcast produced by Tony Blazier that celebrates the sports of motocross and Supercross. My podcasts will cover classic bikes, riders, races, and MX magazines from the past.
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

1988 Suzuki RM250 Classic Motocross Review

The Motocross Vault Podcast by Tony Blazier

1x
My thoughts on the first three rounds of the 2021 AMA Motocross Series
These are my thoughts on Pala, Thunder Valley and High Point 
19:28
June 21, 2021
1988/1989 ATK 406 Classic Motocross Review
This is a look back at ATK's innovative and unique 406 two-strokes of the late 1980s. A fascinating combination of old and new tech, the ATK 406 was a do-it-all machine designed for racing and off-road adventuring. The product of legendary engineer Horst Leitner, the ATKs of the eighties and early nineties were some of the most interesting machines of the era.
19:32
June 6, 2021
1988 Suzuki RM250 Classic Motocross Review
This is a look back at Suzuki's all-new RM250 for 1988. This was one of the best Suzuki machines of the eighties and won several 250 shootouts this season. While not as sexy as some of its competitors, this '88 RM was a very competitive machine.
18:41
May 6, 2021
1988 Kawasaki KX250 Classic Motocross Review
This is a look back at Kawasaki's all-new KX250 for 1988. The KX received an all-new motor, frame, and bodywork in this redesign.
20:42
April 22, 2021
1978 AMF Harley-Davidson MX-250 Classic Motocross Review
This is a classic motocross review of Harley-Davidson's 1978 MX-250 motocross racer. For a brief time in the 1970s, AMF/Harley-Davidson attempted to expand into the motocross market and produced two limited runs of motocross machines. The first in 1975 was more of a design exercise with the 1878 version being the more legitimate production offering. While the 1978 MX-250 was fairly competitive, it suffered from lackluster dealer support and a fair amount of internal political struggling within AMF/Harley. In the end, lackluster sales led Harley to shut down their motocross program after the end of the 1978 season.
17:42
March 28, 2021
1991 Honda CR125R - Classic Motocross Review
This is a look back at Honda's redesigned CR125R motocrosser for 1991. At the time, the CR125R was the fastest machine in the class with a long and strong pull on top that pulled it to the front. Its suspension was rather poor but the early 90s CR125s reminded the machine of choice for experts and pro riders due to its horsepower advantage.
20:36
March 11, 2021
Blaze's Buring Thoughts on Indy Supercross 1
My Review of round 4 of the 2021 AMA Supercross season from Indy
14:49
February 2, 2021
1979 Suzuki RM125 Classic Motocross Review
This is my look back at Suzuki's all-new RM125 for 1979. At the time, the RM125 was one of the most successful machines in motocross and this 1979 model upheld this tradition.
16:35
January 29, 2021
Blaze's Burning Thoughts On Rounds 2 and 3 Of The 2021 AMA Supercross Series From Houston
This is a quick rundown of my thoughts on rounds 2 and  3 of the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross season.
10:32
January 24, 2021
Blaze's Burning Thoughts on 2021 Supercross Round 1 from Houston
These are a few of my thoughts on the opening round of the 2021 AMA Supercross season
12:13
January 17, 2021
1997 250 Motocross Shootout
This is my look back at the 250 class of 1997 and how is stacked up in the magazines of the time.
12:36
January 8, 2021
The History of the 2001 Cannondale MX400
This is a look back at the history of the Cannondale motocross project and 2001 MX400 it produced. When it was proposed in 1998, the Cannondale motocross project garnered huge press and great anticipation that it was, unfortunately, unable to live up to. The machine ended up coming in way late and over budget and was plagued with numerous reliability issues from the start. While the brand eventually addressed many of its early problems, skyrocketing costs led to bankruptcy and the collapse of the brand that had given it birth in 2003.
28:20
January 1, 2021
1986 Honda CR125R - Classic Motocross Review
This is my look back at Honda's awesome new CR125R for 1986. This was a big year for the sport of motocross with the move to the Production Rule in the USA and Honda stepped up to the plate with an excellent lineup of class-leading machines. The CRs were at or near the top of the class in every division with the CR125R dominating its competitors with an excellent power package.
15:37
December 9, 2020
The History Of The JGR Yamaha And Suzuki Motocross Team 2008-2020
This is my look back at the history of the Joe Gibbs Racing Supercross and Motocross team from its inception in 2008 through its final season in  2020. In this video, I cover the team year-by-year and its many changes. During that time they raced for Yamaha and Suzuki and sponsored big-name riders like Josh Hansen, Chad Reed, James Stewart, Weston Peick, Josh Grant, Justin Brayton, and Davi Millsaps.
52:49
November 29, 2020
1991 125 Motocross Shootout
This is a look back at how the 125 class of 1991 stacked up in the magazines of the time. 
15:44
November 24, 2020
The History Of The Factory Connection Geico Honda Team 1998-2020
This is a look back at the Factory Connection/Geico Powersports Honda team from its inception in 1998 through its last season in 2020. Launched in 1998 as the Jack In The Box Factory Connection Honda team in support of Mike LaRocco, the team quickly grew into one of the most successful teams on the National Motocross and Supercross circuit. Promoted to Honda's official 125 support team in 2001, Factory Connection picked up high-profile sponsors like Amsoil, Doc Martens, No Fear, Samsung, Sobe, and eventually, Geico.   Over its 20-year run, Factory Connection was home to riders like Mike LaRocco, Kevin Windham, Travis Preston, Jeremy Martin, Justin Bogle, Trey, Canard, Justin Barcia, Eli Tomac, Chase Sexton, Josh Grant, and Jake Weimer.
01:01:24
November 14, 2020
1990 Kawasaki KX250 Classic Motocross review
This is my look back at Kawasaki's radical all-new perimeter-framed KX250 
18:48
November 5, 2020
The History of Suzuki's PE175 Enduro 1978-1984
Produced from 1978 through 1984, Suzuki's Pure Enduro 175 was the yellow entry into the hotly contested small-bore Enduro class of the late seventies and early eighties. Based off of their RM125, the PE was a solid contender pitted against Yamaha's IT175/200, Kawasaki's KDX175/200, and Honda XR185/200R.
30:45
October 25, 2020
1986 125 Motocross Shootout
This is my look back at how the 125 class of 1986 stacked up in the motocross shootouts of the time. This video covers the 1986 Honda CR125R, Yamaha YZ125, Suzuki RM125, Kawasaki KX125, Cagiva 125WMX, and KTM 125MX.
18:09
October 9, 2020
1998 KTM 250SX Classic Motocross Review
This is a look back at KTM's all-new 250 motocross machine for 1998. This is an important year for KTM as they revamped their entire lineup with radical new machines that incorporated a no-link PDS shock and sleek new bodywork throughout. While not the best 250 of 1998, the all-new 250SX signaled KTM's willingness to try and go toe-to-toe with the Japanese in the 250 division.
16:49
October 4, 2020
1989 Yamaha YZ125 - Classic Motocross Review
This is a look back at Yamaha's all-new YZ125 for 1989
20:22
September 19, 2020
Classic Motocross Review - 2001 SUZUKI RM125
This is a look back at Suzuki's all-new RM125 motocrosser for 2001. This is the first year for the design that would become the last for Suzuki's legendary 125 machine. This machine would take Travis Pastrana to the 2001 125 East Supercross title and almost power him to a second 125 national outdoor title before a series of concussions derailed his title defense.
16:04
September 11, 2020
Motocross Action January 1995
This is my look back at the January 1995 issue of Motocross Action Magazine. 
52:08
August 22, 2020
1987 Mini Class Motocross Shootout
This is my look back at how the Big Four Japanese minis stacked up in 1987. 
14:60
August 15, 2020
Classic Motocross Review: 1991 Suzuki RM125
This is my look back at the 1991 Suzuki RM125 
20:22
August 9, 2020
Classic Motocross Review: 2003 Kawasaki KX250
This is my look back at the all-new Kawasaki KX250 for 2003 
14:39
July 26, 2020
Classic Motocross Review: 2000 Honda CR125R
This is my look back at Honda's all-new CR125R motocrosser for 2000.
17:50
July 16, 2020
Classic Motocross Review: 1998 Yamaha YZ400F
In 1998 Yamaha brought the four-stroke back into the motocross mainstream with the introduction of the YZ400F. Using technology from their road-race team Yamaha brought an all-new level of performance to the Open class with the revolutionary YZ400F. While this first version was heavy and somewhat temperamental at times, it was a quantum leap forward from previous four-stroke race machines and the beginning of a movement that would transform the sport in the decade to come. 
26:47
June 25, 2020
Classic Off-Road Review: 1989 Suzuki RMX250
This is the story of Suzuki's 1989 RMX250. Based on the all-new 1989 RM250, the RMX was Suzuki's most serious off-road Enduro machine ever. While the stock machine was rather de-tuned to meet EPA guidelines, underneath all those restrictions beats the heart of a winner and multi-time AMA Off-Road champion.
21:14
June 13, 2020
Blaze's Burning Thoughts on the first 2 Salt Lake City Supercross Rounds
These are my thoughts on the first two Salt Lake City rounds of the 2020 AMA Supercross Series.
17:12
June 7, 2020
Honda CR250R History Part 2 1990-2007
This is the second installment of my history of Honda's iconic CR250 motocrosser. This video covers the 1990s and 2000s leading up to the retirement of the model in 2007.
56:35
June 5, 2020
The History of Honda's CR250 Part 1 1973-1989
This is part one of my two-part series covering the history of Honda's iconic two-stroke racer the CR250. Introduced in 1973 as the CR250M Elsinore, the CR remained the leader of the Honda motocross lineup for more than three decades. In 2007, Honda finally retired the CR when they converted to four-strokes fully for their entire motocross lineup. This first installment is going to cover the model's history through the 1970s and 1980s
01:16:52
June 3, 2020
My Five Questions For the first Salt Lake City Supercross Round
These are the questions I have for our return to Supercross.
11:27
May 28, 2020
Ask the Motocross Vault #1
Hannah had the idea to solicit some questions to the channel and these are the ones we got. If you have some questions you would like to include in out next edition hit me up on Twitter @tonyblazier
10:23
May 23, 2020
Classic Motocross Review: 1987 Kawasaki KX250
This is my look back a Kawasaki's all-new KX250 for 1987.
19:44
May 15, 2020
Classic Magazine Review: Dirt Wheels May 1986
This is my look back at the May 1986  issue of Dirt Wheels magazine.    If you would like to read the issue you can find the complete PDF posted here at my website. https://themotocrossvault.com/2020/05/07/classic-magazine-review-dirt-wheels-may-1986/
57:37
May 9, 2020
Classic Motocross Review: 1981 Suzuki RM125-X
This is my look back at Suzuki's iconic 1981 RM125-X. This is the first Suzuki 125 to feature liquid cooling and the first model to employ the ground-breaking Full Floater single-shock suspension system.    If you are in the market for some oil head on over to Blendzall.com and use the discount code VAUlT20 at checkout to same 20%
19:10
May 1, 2020
The History of Honda's Odyssey and Pilot ATVs 1977-1990
This my look back at the evolution of Honda's FL250 and FL350 Odyssey ATV/UTV models from 1977 through 1985. The video also covers the brief run of the FL400R Pilot which was in production from 1989 through 1990.     If you are in the market for some oil head on over to Blendzall.com and use the discount code VAUlT20 at checkout to same 20%
21:59
April 24, 2020
1992 250 Motocross Shootout
This is my look back at how the 250 class contenders of 1992 faired in the shootouts of the time. 
26:04
April 16, 2020
Classic Motocross Review: 1983 Honda CR80R
This is my look back at Honda's all-new CR80R for 1983.    If you are in the market for some oil head on over to Blendzall.com and use the discount code VAUlT20 at checkout to same 20%
12:12
April 11, 2020
Classic Motocross Review: 1986 Cagiva WMX 125
This is my look back at the 1986 World Motocross Champion Replica Cagiva WMX 125. In 1985, Cagiva captured its first World Motocross title with Pekka Vehkonen at the controls ending a nine-year run of titles by the Japanese. In 1986, Cagiva introduced a replica of Vehkonen's works bike that looked to finally break into the American Motocross mainstream. The bike was very advanced for the time and a solid contender in need of a little more polish. This is the story of the 1986 Cagiva WMX 125 World Championship Replica.
18:40
April 8, 2020
September 1986 Motocross Action
This is my look back at the complete September 1985 issue of Motocross Action magazine.   You can find the complete PDF of the issue right here at my web sire themotocrossvault.com.  If you are in the market for some oil head on over to Blendzall.com and use the discount code VAUlT20 at checkout to same 20%
50:05
April 6, 2020
Classic Review: 1985-1986 Honda ATC350X
This is my look back at Honda's iconic four-stroke performance three-wheeler the 350X. Introduced in 1985, the ATC350X was Honda's answer to the many riders clamoring for a more potent version of their hugely successful ATC200X. The 350X was substantially bigger, more powerful and more capable than the 200X while still maintaining the bulletproof reliability and go-anywhere performance of its smaller stablemate. At the time of its introduction, it was the largest displacement performance ATV available. Unfortunately, the ATC350X would only last 2 years before market pressures and the CPSC would force it into early retirement.
11:30
March 28, 2020
The Defining Events That Shaped American Motocross
This is my look back at the ten important events that shaped America's first 50 years in motocross. This is the audio version of an article I wrote for PulpMX.com way back in 2012.
01:00:20
March 24, 2020
My review of Round Ten of the 2020 AMA Monster Energy Supercross Series in Daytona
These are my thoughts on the tenth round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series from Daytona
12:41
March 8, 2020
My review of the 9th round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series from Atlanta
These are my thoughts on the ninth round of the 2020 AMA Monster Energy Supercross series from Atlanta, GA
10:35
March 1, 2020
Kawasaki KDX175 and KDX200 History 1980 thru 2006
This is my look back at the history of Kawasaki's iconic Enduro machine the KDX200. Launched in 1980, the original KDX175 introduced the Uni-Trak monoshock and paved the way for 26 years of excellent Kawasaki trail bikes.
47:02
February 28, 2020
Blaze's review of the 8th round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series from Arlington
These are my thoughts on the eighth round of the 2020 AMA Monster Energy Supercross series from Arlington, TX
13:24
February 23, 2020
My Five Questions for the eighth round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series in Arlington
These are my thoughts leading up to round 8 of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series. 
10:50
February 21, 2020
Blaze's Burning Thoughts on 2020 Supercross Round 7 from Tampa
These are my takeaways from the seventh round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Series from Tampa Florida.
12:15
February 16, 2020
Blaze Reviews: My off-road motorcycle models
This is a look back the off-road motorcycle I have owned. This video covers the Enduro, Dual-Sport, play bikes,  and Cross Country motorcycle models I have owned over the last 40 years
30:09
February 13, 2020
Blaze's Burning thoughts on Round 6 of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Series from San Diego
These are my thoughts on last night's race in San Diego 
07:53
February 9, 2020
Blaze Reviews: My Open Class MX Machines
This is my look back at the Open Class motocross machines I have owned.  This podcast covers my 1983 Honda CR480R, 1999 Yamaha YZ400F, 2002 Honda CRF450R, 2005 Honda CRF450R, 2005 KTM 525SX, and 2009 Yamaha YZ450F
32:07
February 8, 2020
My Five Questions For Round 6 of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross season from San Diego
These are the five things I am thinking about for the sixth round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series.
11:57
February 6, 2020
Blaze's Burning Thoughts: Round Five Oakland
These are my thoughts on the fifth round of the 2020 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series from Oakland California.
14:38
February 2, 2020
Blaze Reviews: My 250 Motocross Machines
This is a look back the many 250cc motocross machines I have owned over the last 40 years of riding and racing. This video covers both my two-stroke and four-stroke 250s and reflects only my personal feeling about each machine.
54:34
February 2, 2020
My Five Questions For Round 5 of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross season from Oakland
These are the things I am thinking about leading into the fifth round of the 2020 AMA Monster Energy Supercross series
15:36
January 30, 2020
My thoughts on the fourth round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Series from Glendale, Arizona
These are my thoughts on fourth round of the 2020 Monster Energy AMA Supercross series This is the first Triple Crown race from Glendale Arizona. Sorry for the "Gang Bang" talk. It is an inside joke at PulpMX due to the fact that Feld has not figured out a name for these things yet and calling them three "mains" makes utterly no sense. It was pointed out to me that some people are not in the loop and some might be offended by this bit of a non-sequitur so I will refrain from using the term in the future.
11:42
January 26, 2020
My Five Questions for Round Four of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series at Glendale, AZ
These are the things I am thinking about leading up to the fourth round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross series at Glendale in Arizona.
16:07
January 25, 2020
Blaze Reviews- My 125 Motocross Machines
I get a lot of questions all the time on what I think of certain bikes and I thought you guys and gals might enjoy hearing my personal experience with the many bikes I have owned. Because there are so many (upwards of 50 at this point) I decided to divide these up into separate episodes based on  the displacement of the machines. This first one covers all the 125s I have owned over the last 40 years. The next two episodes will cover my 250s and later, Open class MX bikes. 
30:47
January 24, 2020
1996 Honda CR250R Classic Bike Review
This is the audio version of my classic bike review of the iconic 1996 Honda CR250R.
19:09
January 23, 2020
My thoughts on the third round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Series from Anaheim California
This is a quick rundown of my takeaways from the third round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Series from Anaheim 2 in California.
11:41
January 19, 2020
2003 KTM 250 SX Classic Bike Review
This is my look back at the bike that infamously ended Jeremy McGrath's Supercross career, the 2003 KTM 250 SX. Back in 2003, KTM was far from the powerhouse they are today and this bike earned quite a reputation for being a hard-to-ride beast of a machine. 
17:43
January 19, 2020
My Five Questions For Anaheim 2 2020
These are the five questions I am thinking about going into round three of the Monster Energy Supercross series in Anaheim, CA.
10:25
January 17, 2020
My thoughts on the 2020 St. Louis Supercross
These are my thoughts on the second round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross series from St. Louis. 
08:44
January 13, 2020
Blaze's Burning Questions for Round 2 of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Series
These are the five questions I am looking to have answered in the second round of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Series from St. Louis.
11:47
January 10, 2020
My Thoughts On The 2020 AMA Monster Energy Supercross Season Opener From Anaheim One
This a brief rundown of my takeaways from the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross opener from Anaheim, CA
11:37
January 6, 2020
Blaze's Burning Questions For Anaheim One
These are my five most pressing questions I hope to have answered at the 2020 Anaheim One Supercross Season opener
13:46
January 3, 2020
Clear Channel vs. AMA Pro Racing the Fight For Supercross
This episode chronicles the feud that errupted in the early 2000s between AMA Pro Racing and the promotors of Supercross at the time, Clear Channel. It is an interesting story that led to a Mexican standoff between the sanctioning body and promotors that nearly took down the entire Supercross series. Today, the involvement of the FIM in our Supercross series is directly attributable to these events.  
15:32
January 2, 2020
My Top Ten Moments In Motocross From The Last Decade
This is my list of the ten most memorable positive moments in motocross and Supercross from the last decade. It is going to cover action from 2010 through 2019 and features my thoughts on these exciting races and events in moto. 
37:23
January 1, 2020