Skip to main content
Digital Health Review : Conversations with a Black Health Tech Nerd

Digital Health Review : Conversations with a Black Health Tech Nerd

By Digital Health Review
If you want to better understand what's going on with healthcare, Digital Health Review is the podcast that brings relevancy into the health technology conversation.

Digital Health Review presents stories around health technology, as well as actionable advice and news at the intersection of digital health, public health and health equity.

Hosted by Blair Hirst (@BlairSHirst), an entrepreneur, self-professed black health tech nerd and product builder at some of the world's most innovative hospitals, AI and health tech startups.
Listen on Spotify
Where to listen
Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Patient centricity translates into improved patient engagement: with Kavitha Gnanasambandan of Blooming Health

Digital Health Review : Conversations with a Black Health Tech Nerd

1x
The inner workings of building a digital pharmacy for birth control: with Dr. Sophia Yen of Pandia Health
Dr Sophia Yen is the founder of Pandia Health. Pandia Health makes women’s lives easier by providing a one-stop shop for recurring medications, starting with birth control. From affordable telehealth to prescription fulfillment and medicine delivery, Pandia Health is building the Online Health Brand Women Trust. In this episode, we talk about the inner workings of building a digital pharmacy around birth control, encouraging birth control tourism to improve access, navigating state by state laws and the burden on clinicians in providing standard of care post Roe v Wade.
21:30
August 12, 2022
Measuring digital health impact on the public's health: with Sara Chokshi, DrPH of HITLAB (Part 2)
In this episode, I continue the conversation with Dr. Sara Chokshi on how we can measure the impact of digital care tools on public health at large. We discuss opportunities to create frameworks as building blocks for startups and how we can improve the research infrastructure to allow for iterative and agile design.
17:08
August 06, 2022
Consumer trust is also a fight for providers: with Sara Chokshi, DrPH of HITLAB (Part 1)
Consumer trust is elusive and highly sought after but are we looking at it the wrong way? Clinical validation has been one approach to gain consumer trust but what other areas are we missing? In this episode we discuss facets of consumer trust and what we are truly building for. Our guest today Sara Chokshi, DrPH. Sara is a health services delivery researcher and digital health strategist  with expertise in health informatics, user-centered design and  implementation  science currently serving as the Director of Research at HITLAB. She is committed to improving the experience of patients and clinicians through the creation, evaluation and implementation of novel, evidence-based digital health solutions.
22:15
July 24, 2022
Women's health matters : with Mitzi Krockover of Golden Seeds and Beyond the Paper Gown Podcast
There has been a tremendous effort in digital health put towards women's health. With the overturning of Roe v Wade, what now? Where will women's health and healthcare in general go from here? Our guest today is Mitzi Krockover, M.D., a leader in the area of women’s health and women’s issues through her work in investment, consulting, media and entrepreneurship. As CEO and founder of Woman Centered, LLC, she launched the Beyond the Paper Gown podcast, which aims to inform, inspire and engage women to achieve optimal health. She is a Partner at SSB Solutions, a health care management consulting, development and investment firm, where she focuses on women’s health services. She is also a Managing Director of Golden Seeds, an angel investment  organization dedicated to funding early-stage women-led companies; she serves as co-chair of the Golden Seeds Health Care Sector Group and is a founding member and co-leader of the Arizona Chapter of Golden Seeds. Attend the upcoming Aftershock Aftershocks: Unexpected Consequences of the Roe v Wade Decision: https://www.beyondthepapergown.com/event-details/aftershocks-unexpected-consequences-of-the-roe-v-wade-decision
18:48
June 26, 2022
Patient centricity translates into improved patient engagement: with Kavitha Gnanasambandan of Blooming Health
80% of health outcomes are driven by non-medical events. Yet, there's still a question of whether building for digital health equity is not only the right thing to do but also profitable.  Our guest today is Kavitha Gnanasambandan, Co-founder and Chief Commercial Officer of Blooming Health. In this episode we discuss patient centricity in age tech - how it can empower our elders to age on their own terms and improve outcomes of value.
29:49
May 23, 2022
Data access is an act of health equity: with Estelle Giraud of Trellis Health
Health data has tremendous value for those who have access to it. In fact, it is estimated that a medical record with genetic information is worth $6500. Today, most of that value is captured by large industry leading companies and their investors. But where does that leave consumers who provide the data? And what benefits can consumers get from having equal access to their own information? In this episode we sit down with Estelle Giraud, Co-Founder of Trellis Health, to discuss consumer health data and how having access to your data is an act of health equity.
26:23
May 03, 2022
Understanding and solving for the caregiver's needs: with Melissa Miller
There is so much content and product out there for the healthcare patient, but what about the caregiver? In this episode, we speak with Melissa Miller who has worked as a certified nurse for 15+ years and is now a spousal caregiver and toddler mom trying to balance it all. The goal of this episode is to discover the story behind caregivers, their biggest needs and if technology could be used to help them in their journey.
20:44
May 03, 2022
Effects of healthcare consumerization and Web3 on Telehealth: with Sid Jawahar of Swiftarc Ventures
What do the growing effects of healthcare consumerization and Web3 have on the future of telehealth?  In this episode, we speak with Sid Jawahar who is the founder of Swiftarc Ventures. Sid has launched Swiftarc Ventures’ one-of-a-kind $75MM Telehealth-focused Fund dedicated to harnessing breakthrough innovation in the field of enterprise telemedicine & digital health.   *Forgive the audio quality. Due to a platform error, we had to recover a secondary recording to not lose this amazing episode. 
27:25
April 05, 2022
Biting Off One Piece at a Time: with Kim L. Hunt from Aids Foundation of Chicago
Social determinants of health are not all directly related to health, so how can we harness innovation across all sectors for the greater good?  In this episode, Digital Health Review speaks with Kim L. Hunt from Aids Foundation of Chicago about opportunities to serve the LGBTQ+ community with tech, innovation in public health and the beauty in trying to not build all of a solution but just a piece of it. 
23:24
March 25, 2022
February 27, 2022
00:31
February 27, 2022
Why We Must Start with Public Health: with Alessandro Ciari from CUNY School of Public Health
If an individual's health can have larger effects on their community, then isn't all health public health? And what does this mean when we think about rebuilding healthcare - with tech? In this episode, Digital Health Review speaks with Alessandro Ciari from CUNY School of Public Health about social impact, innovation and why public health needs digital health and digital health needs public health in order for each to succeed.  
22:03
February 27, 2022