Skip to main content
Doc101

Doc101

By Self, Rademaker, and Williams
A podcast for doctoral students, with special attention to some of the "soft skills" necessary to earn one's degree. New episodes publish every other Monday.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Episode 15: Valuing the Literature Review

Doc101

1x
Episode 16: The Art of Being Confused
We discuss the value of learning to live in a place of cognitive dissonance, and how doc students experience the development of this skill.  Links and Notes: "Not by Chance Alone with the Legendary Social Psychologist Elliot Aronson" by Scott Barry Kaufman "Explanations exist; they have existed for all time; there is always a well-known solution to every human problem — neat, plausible, and wrong." By M. L. Mencken in "The Divine Afflatus" in New York Evening Mail (16 November 1917)  Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories Festinger's cognitive dissonance theory. (2006). In J. E. Roeckelein (Ed.), Elsevier's dictionary of psychological theories. Elsevier Science & Technology. Credo Reference:  Posselt, J., 2018. "Normalizing struggle: Dimensions of faculty support for doctoral students and implications for persistence and well-being. The Journal of Higher Education, 89(6), 988–1013. https://doi.org/10.1080/00221546.2018.1449080  ABSTRACT Faculty mentoring is a durable structure of doctoral education that facilitates intellectual growth, professional socialization, and progressive independence. We must more deeply understand, however, professors’ role in supporting doctoral students’ persistence and well-being, especially for students from groups who have been historically excluded and marginalized in their fields. This study strived for such understanding by evaluating findings of a phenomenology of faculty support in 4 high-diversity science, technology, engineering, and mathematics PhD programs at 2 research universities. I found that holistic faculty support has academic, psychosocial, and sociocultural dimensions, which faculty enact through specific behaviors. Students reported meaningful experiences with faculty that normalized struggle and failure by promoting a growth mind-set, validating student competence and potential, and opening discussion about racialized and gendered dynamics in academia. Collectively, these activities may prevent students from misconstruing the difficulty of graduate school with their ability to succeed. The article discusses how the findings may advance future higher education research and faculty professional development. Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
36:27
August 24, 2020
Episode 15: Valuing the Literature Review
Larry Machi joins us to discuss the literature review, and recommends ways of approaching the literature review in terms of a practice of critical thinking. Literature reviews are often treated as evidence that the doc student read a lot of articles. In this discussion, we discuss the deeper purposes and value of the literature review. Links: The Literature Review: Six Steps to Success by Lawrence A. Machi and Brenda T. McEvoy Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
30:58
August 10, 2020
Episode 14: Crazy Walls and Literature Reviews
We discuss the mechanics of literature review; using a citation manager, annotating sources, and mapping/outlining literature. Neill, C. (2017). Writing & Research. Writing a Literature Review. Radiation Therapist, 26(1), 89–91. Bloomberg, L. D., & Volpe, M. (2016). Completing your qualitative dissertation :A road map from beginning to end (Third edition.). SAGE. Links: Scott's Annotated Bibliography Checklist Examples of "Crazy Walls" Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
39:42
July 27, 2020
Episode 13: Getting Paid
We are joined by Dr. Rose Opengart, who helps us discuss the skills employers want beyond the credentials. Link: "Find Your Where: Turn the Tables, Negotiate Your Success, and Do Work and Life on Your Own Terms" by Rose Opengart Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
33:54
July 13, 2020
Episode 12: Beyond the IRB
We discuss the ethics of research and the deeper challenges of thinking about the effects of data collection and dissemination.  Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
30:58
June 29, 2020
Episode 11: Project Management
We discuss the ways in which the life of doc students (and folks who have earned their doctorates) is really a kind of free-lance lifestyle. We discuss the processes, and some of the tools, we use to approach managing our projects. Scott recommended Linnea recommended Also, since Linnea mentioned checklists, check out Links: "Getting Things Done" by David Allen "Write Your Dissertation in Fifteen Minutes a Day" by Joan Bolker "The Checklist Manifesto" by Atul Gawande Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
34:17
June 15, 2020
Episode 10: Becoming Better Humans
We're joined by Dr. Ben Ries, Associate Dean for Vocational Formation at Abilene Christian University to talk about developing virtues while in a doctoral program. Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
37:21
June 1, 2020
Episode 9: On Being Mentored
We discuss "feasibility" in the dissertation, and address some of the challenges of scope, access, and perception that students face in developing a feasible project. Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
27:56
May 18, 2020
Episode 8: The Feedback Loop
We discuss some of the challenges of hearing feedback on one's work, and explore some of the deeper issues related to those challenges. Links: "I Promise" by J. Scott Self "Reading and Responding to Feedback" by Linnea Rademaker Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
28:55
May 4, 2020
Special Episode 1: Doc Students in COVID-19
Dr. Jenifer Williams and Dr. Kristin O'Byrne join us for a special episode on dealing with some of the stressors of COVID-19 as doctoral students. This episode was released as soon as we produced it since so many of our own students seem to be dealing with anxiety, stress, and even growth. Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
38:11
April 25, 2020
Episode 7: You Can't Do It ALL
We discuss "feasibility" in the dissertation, and address some of the challenges of scope, access, and perception that students face in developing a feasible project. Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
29:53
April 20, 2020
Episode 6: Stopping Out and Starting Back In
We discuss the taboo topic of stopping out of one's doctoral program, and the barriers (institutional and personal) to getting back to work on earning a degree. Contact Us: Email: Dr. J. Scott Self Email: Dr. Linnea Rademaker Email: Dr. Peter Williams
29:58
April 6, 2020
Episode 5: Prepare to Defend Yourself
We discuss how to prepare for proposal defense, dissertation defense, and the mythology of the defense experience. Link "The 'Snake Fight' Portion of Your Thesis Defense" by Luke Burns Contact Us Dr. J. Scott Self - scott.self@acu.edu Dr. Linnea Rademaker - lxr16c@acu.edu Dr. Peter Williams - Peter.Williams@tamuc.edu
34:05
March 23, 2020
Episode 4: Social Support Networks
We discuss the necessity of a strong social support network and the value of developing a network of cheerleaders. Contact Us Dr. J. Scott Self - scott.self@acu.edu  Dr. Linnea Rademaker - lxr16c@acu.edu  Dr. Peter Williams - Peter.Williams@tamuc.edu
34:54
March 9, 2020
Episode 3: Writing = Thinking
We discuss the interchange between writing and thinking, the power of journaling in doctoral work, and developing one's academic voice. The passive voice is also discussed (by vikings).  Links Sense of Style: The Thinking Person's Guide to Writing in the 21st Century, by Steven Pinker Oppenheimer, D. M. (2006). Consequences of erudite vernacular utilized irrespective of necessity: Problems with using long words needlessly. Applied Cognitive Psychology, 20, 139-156. DOI: 10.1002/acp.1178 Making Meaning Clear: The Logic of Revision, by Donald M. Murray Sanchez, B., & Lewis, K. D. (2014). Writing shapes thinking: Investigative study on preservice teachers reading, writing to learn, and critical thinking. Texas Journal of Literacy Education, 2(1), 55-68. Contact Us Dr. J. Scott Self - scott.self@acu.edu  Dr. Linnea Rademaker - lxr16c@acu.edu  Dr. Peter Williams - Peter.Williams@tamuc.edu
31:49
February 24, 2020
Episode 2: Striking the Work/Life/School Balance
Students in doctoral programs face unique challenges in adding another major role to all of the other responsibilities that normal adults occupy.  Dr. Williams and Dr. Self discuss some of the issues and offer recommendations for striking a balance.   Contact Us Dr. J. Scott Self - scott.self@acu.edu Dr. Linnea Rademaker - lxr16c@acu.edu Dr. Peter Williams - Peter.Williams@tamuc.edu
35:59
February 19, 2020
Episode 1: Communicating with Your Chair
A discussion of the importance of keeping open the communication lines with one's chair during the dissertation.   Contact Us Dr. J. Scott Self - scott.self@acu.edu Dr. Linnea Rademaker - lxr16c@acu.edu Dr. Peter Williams - Peter.Williams@tamuc.edu
28:05
February 18, 2020