Second Sunday Books

Debut Author Rachel Barenbaum, A BEND IN THE STARS, Visits Second Sunday Books

An episode of Second Sunday Books

By Libby Fischer Hellmann
Second Sunday Books is coming to you from the Windy City, but I'm expending the range of books and authors I'll be interviewing. Historical fiction, women's fiction, action-adventure, and non-fiction (especially history, biographies, and politics) will be served. Unfortunately, no romance, sci-fi, or horror. And of course, I'll still be talking to mystery and thriller authors.
More places to listen

More places to listen

Join host Libby Fischer Hellmann in conversation with Author Cara Black as they discuss her latest release Murder in Bel-Air.
Join host Libby Fischer Hellmann in conversation with Author Cara Black as they discuss her latest release Murder in Bel-Air. Cara Black’s riveting 19th installment in her New York Times bestselling Parisian detective series entangles private investigator Aimée Leduc in a dangerous web of international spycraft, post-colonial Franco-African politics, and neighborhood secrets in Paris’s 12th arrondissement. Parisian private investigator Aimée Leduc is about to go onstage to deliver the keynote address at a tech conference that is sure to secure Leduc Detective some much-needed business contracts when she gets an emergency phone call from her daughter’s playgroup: Aimée’s own mother, who was supposed to pick Chloe up, never showed. Abandoning her hard-won speaking gig, Aimée rushes to get Chloe, annoyed that her mother has let her down yet again. But as Aimée and Chloe are leaving the playground, Aimée witnesses the body of a homeless woman being wheeled away from the neighboring convent, where nuns run a soup kitchen. The last person anyone saw the dead woman talking to was Aimée’s mother, who has vanished. Trying to figure out what happened to Sydney Leduc, Aimée tracks down the dead woman’s possessions, which include a huge amount of cash. What did Sydney stumble into? Is she in trouble? About Cara: Cara Black is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of 19 books in the Private Investigator Aimée Leduc series, which is set in Paris. Cara has received multiple nominations for the Anthony and Macavity Awards, a Washington Post Book World Book of the Year citation, the Médaille de la Ville de Paris—the Paris City Medal, which is awarded in recognition of contribution to international culture—and invitations to be the Guest of Honor at conferences such as the Paris Polar Crime Festival and Left Coast Crime. With more than 400,000 books in print, the Aimée Leduc series has been translated into German, Norwegian, Japanese, French, Spanish, Italian, and Hebrew. This is a trademarked copyrighted podcast solely owned by the Authors on the Air Global Radio Network LLC.
34:13
June 5, 2019
Susanna Calkins, authorof MURDER KNOCKS TWICE, visits Libby Hellmann at Second Sunday Books
Join host Libby Fischer Hellmann in coversation with Author Susanna Calkins. The first mystery in Susanna Calkins’ captivating new series takes readers into the dark, dangerous, and glittering underworld of a 1920's Chicago speakeasy. MURDER KNOCKS TWICE: Gina Ricci takes on a job as a cigarette girl to earn money for her ailing father—and to prove to herself that she can hold her own at Chicago’s most notorious speakeasy, the Third Door. She’s enchanted by the harsh, glamorous world she discovers: the sleek socialites sipping bootlegged cocktails, the rowdy ex-soldiers playing poker in a curtained back room, the flirtatious jazz pianist and the brooding photographer—all overseen by the club’s imposing owner, Signora Castallazzo. But the staff buzzes with whispers about Gina’s predecessor, who died under mysterious circumstances, and the photographer, Marty, warns her to be careful. When Marty is brutally murdered, with Gina as the only witness, she’s determined to track down his killer. What secrets did Marty capture on his camera—and who would do anything to destroy it? As Gina searches for answers, she’s pulled deeper into the shadowy truths hiding behind the Third Door. About Susanna: I write historical mysteries. My first series, the award-winning Lucy Campion Mysteries, is set in 17th century London. My second series, the Speakeasy Mysteries, is set in a Prohibition-Era Chicago speakeasy. I hold a PhD in history and currently work at Northwestern University. Born and raised in Philadelphia, I live in the Chicago area with my husband and two sons.
33:45
May 24, 2019
Debut Author Rachel Barenbaum, A BEND IN THE STARS, Visits Second Sunday Books
Join host Libby Fischer Hellmann in conversation with Debut Author Rachel Barenbaum. A BEND IN THE STARS **A Summer 2019 B&N Discover Great New Writers selection** For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart-pounding journey across WWI-era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve relativity. Grounded in real history—and inspired by the solar eclipse of 1914—A Bend in the Stars offers a heart-pounding account of modern science’s greatest race amidst the chaos of World War I, and a love story as epic as the railways crossing Russia. About Rachel: Rachel is a graduate of GrubStreet’s Novel Incubator. In a former life she was a hedge fund manager and a spin instructor. She has degrees from Harvard in Business, and Literature and Philosophy. She lives in Hanover, NH with her husband, three children, and dog named Zishe—after the folk hero who inspires many tales around their dinner table. Rachel is represented by Eve Attermann at WME.
37:45
May 24, 2019
A.C. Frieden stops by to chat with Libby Fischer Hellmann
A.C. Frieden stops by to chat with Libby Fischer Hellmann about his latest release in the Jonathan Brooks Thriller Series - The Pyongyang Option. New Orleans attorney Jonathan Brooks is desperate to rebuild his law firm after Hurricane Katrina. Short on clients, he takes the only work he can find: a murky business deal in Ukraine. But after he lands in Kyiv, his client’s executive vanishes. Suspecting foul play, Jonathan enlists the help of a U.S. diplomat. But the next day they are brutally ambushed. Injured and racing against the clock, Jonathan embarks on a frantic search for clues through the back alleys of Kyiv to an abandoned town near Chernobyl. Meanwhile, Jonathan’s ex-wife Linda, a journalist, lands in North Korea to report on historic nuclear disarmament talks. She begins probing local officials, not realizing that she and Jonathan are both on a collision course with a deadly web of hackers, spies and assassins. To uncover the truth and save them both, Jonathan may have only one option: to go to Pyongyang with as much leverage as possible and try to make it out alive. A.C. Frieden is an international author of mysteries and thrillers, including the acclaimed Jonathan Brooks series (Down & Out Books / Avendia Publishing). Frieden is also an attorney, private pilot, PADI scuba instructor, martial artist, equestrian and former army sniper.
38:44
May 22, 2019
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!