Skip to main content
Live HAPPIER Longer Podcast

Live HAPPIER Longer Podcast

By Molly Watts, Aging with Optimism & Building Habits of a HAPPIER, longer life!
The Live HAPPIER longer podcast is equal parts information, inspiration, education and motivation all dedicated to building the habits of a HAPPIER, longer life. The daily plan focuses on five actions that are proven to increase longevity, and improve optimism about aging.
Host Molly Watts, along with her guests will teach you how to MOVE*LEARN*SHARE*GIVE* and *LET GO.
The quality of your habits, equals the quality of your life.
Our habits are sustainable into your 80's, 90's and beyond.
If you're going to live to be 85, wouldn't it be nice to be happy about it when you do?
Your HAPPIER longer life starts right now--Here's the plan!
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

The Science Behind Exercise, Sleep and Alzheimer's Prevention-Reviewing Lisa Genova's TED Talk: Episode #6

Live HAPPIER Longer Podcast

1x
Kids are Grown--NOW WHAT? With Alice Agnello
This week on the podcast I'm joined by lifestyle and success coach, Alice Agnello. Alice works with women who are facing the empty nest and trying to figure out what they want to do with the rest of our lives.  Alice and I talk about how women tend to stuff down our feelings and what we truly want and put our everyone else first. Alice says the fear factor stops so many women from taking risks and trying new things. Unpacking limiting beliefs is a critical step to figuring out midlife and beyond.
30:05
July 9, 2020
The Thank You Project: Cultivating Happiness on Letter at at Time with Nancy Davis Kho
In this week's episode, Molly interviews Nancy Davis Kho.  Nancy is a podcast host, speaker and author of the book "The Thank You Project". The conversation this week is about Nancy's decision to write thank you notes for a year and how that turned into a book. The book shares how you too can benefit from setting up your own Thank You project.  Nancy shares how the practice of writing these letters helped her become more optimistic and how to see more positive things in her life daily.
27:42
July 1, 2020
What Happened?
In this short episode, Molly brings you up to speed on what has happened in the last few weeks and where the podcast will be going in the next few months.
08:31
June 25, 2020
Thinking Courageously- A Conversation with Deb Cummins Stellato
This week's episode is an inspirational conversation with Deb Cummins Stellato, life coach and podcast host. Deb has been a longtime facilitator and speaker working with non-profit organizations to help leaders develop their leadership mindsets. During a major "pivot" in her life, she became a life coach during the past year.  "Thinking Courageously" is how she helps successful women show up and make pivots in their own life. Courage is being able to see something better is on the other side of failing.
40:05
May 27, 2020
PB & J: Help for Handling a Negative Habit URGE
What? PB &J?  Is this episode all about the beloved peanut butter and jelly sandwich? No, not really.  This week's episode is all about handling the URGES that come when you've built a habit that doesn't serve you. To undo that urge we need to remember PB& J.  P: Pause and Ponder B: Breathe on purpose J: Just for 10 minutes Listen in as I share my strategy for allowing an urge to be there and not resist it and not give into it. It's as easy as PB&J.
16:00
May 21, 2020
Reboot- Reversing Longevity, A Discussion of Blue Zones
In this week's episode we revisit one of our earliest and most popular episode's on Blue Zones. Come with us as we discuss the research and information discovered by Dan Buettner in five geographic areas in the world where people live the longest and where the are high numbers of older people who age without typical diseases like heart disease, cancer or diabetes. Email us at info@fiveforlife.co to ask questions, suggest topics or send guests you would like to have interviewed about living HAPPIER Longer.
31:00
May 13, 2020
Epigenetics- Understanding Your Parents and Your Past with Johanna Lynn
Are we preprogrammed with more than our physical attributes from our parents?  Are we programmed to behave in certain ways too?  This week on the podcast,  I'm speaking with Johanna Lynn, founder of the Family Imprint Institute.  Johanna helps people understand how their background, their parents' backgrounds and even their grandparents may be influencing their behavior now. Johanna says, "The good news about epigenetics is that you can release how you hold the past within."
29:30
May 6, 2020
Wellness While Walking- A Discussion with Carolyn Cohen
This week on the podcast I'm talking about walking, with health coach Carolyn Cohen.  We discuss the benefits of walking as a way of improving your health and increasing longevity in the best possible way. Carolyn is a health coach who believes that walking is the very best way to improve health for everyone.  She hosts a weekly podcast called "Wellness While Walking" where she shares wellness information and emphasizes a Blue Zones approach to movement.
29:13
April 29, 2020
Your Pandemic Reading List
In this week's episode I revisit some of the great books that I've read and reviewed on the podcast as well as some of the wonderful author's I've interviewed.  Any of these books would make a great addition to your pandemic reading list.    If you are struggling with depression and anxiety during COVID-19 please visit https://www.verywellmind.com/best-online-therapy-4691206 for professional resources available for video sessions, chats and appointments.
16:23
April 16, 2020
How to Feel Better NOW
If COVID-19 is getting you down, this episode will give you five practical actions to take this week that will make it easier to manage you mind and feel better. I discuss the why's and the basic benefits behind each and how I recognized their importance in helping me feel better.  1) Time Management 2) Limit your Information Intake 3) Get your Sleep 4) Move your Body 5) Journal
17:43
April 9, 2020
All About Buffering-How to Feel your Emotions
In this short episode I  talk all about buffering and the habits we build in an attempt to avoid feeling negative emotions. I discuss the value of being able to recognize our thoughts and how they are creating the feelings that lead to buffering.  Buffering is when we use external things to change how we feel internally.When you stop buffering, you start living the truth of your life. You start seeing exactly what is going on in your mind and in your emotions and your actions.
15:50
April 1, 2020
SPECIAL EPISODE: Thinking on Purpose
In this episode, I discuss the importance of managing your mind during times of high stress.  Given the uncertainty of the world surrounding COVID-19, this episode gives steps to recognize your thinking and which thoughts are increasing your anxiety. You can feel better by managing your thoughts and thinking on purpose. I share how to build a new or future belief (a belief is simply a thought that you keep practicing) by writing down thoughts that help you feel like the person you want to become.
13:51
March 29, 2020
The BEST of HABITS
This week I'm revisiting some of our best episodes on habits and grabbing some of the best little nuggets of each. One of the lessons I’ve learned over the last nearly three years of building Five for Life is the IMPACT of habits on our lives. Ultimately it’s what you do consistently over time that defines what your life story will be. And consistency and time--those two things are the major pieces of what defines a habit.
33:26
March 11, 2020
A Discussion of "Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End" by Atul Gawande
This week's episode discusses the important book "Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End". This book focuses on autonomy in aging and dignity in dying.  It is written by physician, surgeon and best-selling author Dr. Atul Gawande.  Host Molly Watts shares some of the most important insights from this book and how planning for death is actually part of living a happier, longer life. After listening to this podcast, you will NEED (not want) to read this book.
24:45
March 4, 2020
Live Long and Master Aging with Peter Bowes
In this week's episode, Molly is joined by broadcasting pro and podcast host, Peter Bowes for a conversation about their shared passion--longevity. Peter hosts, Live Long and Master Aging (or the LLAMA podcast) where he explores the stories and the science behind human longevity.  Peter is a veteran reporter for the BBC in Los Angeles and has had the opportunity to interview some amazing scientists as well as some very inspiring elders, including some wonderful centenarians.
56:09
February 26, 2020
"The Passionistas Project" with Amy & Nancy Harrington
This week on the podcast, Molly is joined by sisters Amy and Nancy Harrington. Amy and Nancy host the Passionistas Project podcast and share with Molly their passion for helping female entrepreneurs. Learn about their latest venture, the Passionistas Project Pack and how they are helping support women-owned businesses and female artisans with a subscription box featuring their products and a podcast detailing their stories.
36:33
February 19, 2020
When Things SUCK...
It happens. There are situations and circumstances in life that simply--suck. In this episode, you'll learn how to manage your mind through times of crises and how to prevent the negative thought spin cycle.  First step is to acknowledge something terrible has happened.  Second step is to ask questions of your brain to help guide your thoughts toward solutions and away from negative spin cycles that increase your suffering. Third step is to use your imagination to imagine the best case scenario happening.
24:37
February 12, 2020
"Signs of Aging- A Short Film on Living" with Tara Gadomski
This week's episode sparks conversation on the term "anti-aging" with filmmaker and director, Tara Gadomski.  Tara wrote and directed this short film, which employs dark humor to get across the point that aging is something that none of us have any control over. We discuss the beauty industry and how they use dangerous terms like "flaws" or "corrections" for aging skin. Tara gives a synopsis of this short, ten-minute film which is really a great conversation starter about how we view the aging process.
33:26
February 5, 2020
"SMILE-The Astonishing Power of a Simple Act"
In this episode, Molly reminds us that our thoughts are what determine our happiness, not our circumstances.  Even when circumstances seem challenging, we can add to our own suffering by focusing our thoughts on how difficult life feels. She recaps the popular TED talk (and book) by Ron Gutman called, SMILE-the astonishing power of a Simple Act".   Hear some of the powerful statistics on smiling as well as Gutman's suggestion of a "Dandelion List".
16:47
January 29, 2020
Live HAPPIER Longer 2.0
In this week's episode host Molly Watts, talks about the vision for the podcast moving forward and how the combination of information, inspiration, education and motivation will unfold to help you create the habits of a happier, longer life.  In honor of her Dad's 92nd birthday, she revisits some of the science behind the five daily habits that make up Five for Life. The goal is to create sustainable habits that are proven to both increase longevity and improve overall happiness along the way.
18:52
January 22, 2020
When Plans Change with Molly Watts & Angela McDade
This week in the 61st episode of the Live Happier Longer Podcast we say goodbye to wonderful co-host Angela McDade. We share our thoughts on doing the podcast together for the last year and a half, how much we've grown and how much we've learned about building the habits of a HAPPIER, longer life. We reflect on some of the great interviews, exceptional learning and lots of laughter and fun along the way.  Stay tuned next week as Molly unveils "Live HAPPIER Longer 2.0" or is it "1.0"?
17:06
January 8, 2020
The Best of Inspiration with Katherine Switzer, Pat Gallant-Charette and Cherie Gruenfeld
As we prepare for the holidays and a time of joy and inspiration we wanted to revisit some of our most inspirational interviews. In this short episode, we revisit our interview with Katherine Switzer, Pat Gallant-Charette and Cherie Gruenfeld. All of these women are inspirations athletically, but also in how they age with optimism and defy standards. We'll see you in 2020!
22:31
December 18, 2019
"Lives Well Lived"- A Conversation with Filmmaker, Sky Bergman
On the podcast this week, we talk with Sky Bergman all about the "Lives Well Lived" , the documentary she directed and filmed that was inspired by her own grandmother who lived to 103.  The film includes forty different elders with interviews conducted over four years and is a wonderful montage of their stories.  The result is a very inspiring film that proves that an optimistic attitude is always available to you and living a "life well-lived" includes several common themes.
39:20
December 11, 2019
"A Delightful Little Book on Aging" and Five Gratitude Practices with Stephanie Rafflelock
This week on the podcast we talk with storyteller, writer, and podcaster Stephanie Rafflelock about her upcoming book "A Delightful Little Book on Aging" as well as an article she recently published called "Five Gratitude Practices to See You Through Tough Times." Stephanie believes that that a good story can transform the way you see the world. She wants to help older women find their voices, "not go quietly into the night" by focusing on positive aging.  Every day start out with saying "Thank you!"
35:17
December 4, 2019
The BEST of GRATITUDE
This week we're reflecting on some of the best conversations we've had regarding gratitude. From our earliest episode on gratitude, episode #17 where we talked about the science of gratitude.From there we revisit our conversation on Brene Brown's "The Gift of Imperfection" and her guidepost for creating a "whole-hearted life" which is cultivating gratitude and joy. It's episode #39 and we loved exploring this book.We move then to episode #49 and building the habit of gratitude. Happy Thanksgiving!
32:38
November 27, 2019
30 Day ULTIMATE Habit Building System Part Two
We're talking about our 30 Day Ultimate Habit Building System. Pillar number one is Brain Training -Based on the self-coaching model by Brook Castillo. Thoughts create our feelings, which determine our actions and get the results that we have in our lives . Pillar number two is the PLAN. Building new habits in our 30-Day Ultimate Habit Building System is based on setting up "minimum achievable commitments" for yourself each week. We shared our January 2020 Habit Challenge and how you can join.
30:16
November 20, 2019
Ultimate 30-Day Habit Building System-Part One
This week on the podcast we are doing the first of a two-part series on the Ultimate 30-Day Habit Building System!  We talk all about the "whys" behind habit-building and how our system can help you with a repeatable framework to build new habits and replace habits that don't serve you.  In our system, we dive into who you want to become, focusing on internalizing the identity of someone who incorporates the habits that you want to build into their lives. Stay tuned for next week for Part 2!
25:59
November 13, 2019
Happiness is a Choice You Make-Talking with author John Leland
We talk with John Leland about his book, "Happiness is a Choice You Make-Lessons from a year among the Oldest Old".   Leland, shared some of his experiences with us in writing this book which started as an assignment for the newspaper.  In his own words, " In 2015, I followed six people over age 85 for a year. I expected a deep dive into the hardships of old age. Instead, they taught me lessons that changed my life: lessons in resilience, joy, purpose, gratitude and acceptance."
52:28
November 6, 2019
Building the Habit of Everyday Happiness-Living HAPPIER Longer
This week on the podcast we discuss how happiness is found in our day to day lives and not something that we look for in big, thrilling moments.  We talk about the fact that happiness is a decision of mindset in the day to day, average moments in life. We approach being happy in a deep and lasting way and not just looking for those “thrilling high” moments as proof that we’re happy."True joy lacks the wild ups and downs of an excitement-based life. It's a peaceful landscape."
31:21
October 30, 2019
The POWER of a Morning Routine and the Miracle Morning by Hal Elrod
Are you a morning person? This week we discuss the power of a morning routine and why it sets you up for success throughout your day. Having a morning routine has been proven to have health benefits including reduced stress and anxiety. A morning routine necessitates an evening routine and your sleep can't be compromised to build this habit. We discuss The Miracle Morning by Hal Elrod. We review the six steps for a "miracle morning" and how you can start with only six minutes per day as you build the habit
28:04
October 23, 2019
50 Things We Thought Worth Sharing
This week on the podcast we pause for a moment to look back on our first 50 episodes. We take just one thought, sentence, quote or statement from each and share them. They are a mix of powerful ideas, interesting statistics and a couple that will just make you smile.  We want to say thank you to all of our listeners, subscribers, reviewers and to our family and friends. A big thank you to our editor  Erin Bryant as well. For the complete list go to: http://bit.ly/50ThingsWorth
16:01
October 16, 2019
Daily Habit #5-LET GO How Stress Relief Leads to Longevity
On this week's podcast we discuss how daily habit #5, LET GO, may be the most important habit of all. Stress and worry are not just negative emotion words that we should be tossing around. They are true social trends with major health implications impacting us now and in the future. Stress is literally killing us. Beyond stress, when we talk about “LET GO” we really mean all of the negative emotions that can build up over time. We discuss strategies for building the habit of letting go daily.
32:52
October 9, 2019
Daily Habit #4 GIVE-Gratitude, Optimism and Longevity!
People who focus on practicing gratitude are healthier, experience less illness (including depression), have stronger relationships, behave in more generous ways, and are overall happier and more optimistic.  We discuss the ways of building the habit of gratitude on a daily basis and how the mindful decision to be grateful achieves the strongest results. Practical tips are provided on building the habit of gratitude through journaling, gratitude meditation and setting a timer throughout the day.
31:22
October 2, 2019
Daily Habit #3-SHARE, staying connected for a HAPPIER, longer life!
Science has proven that loneliness and isolation increase morbidity amongst seniors, while developing social connections is proven to increase longevity and improve overall quality of life. This is a habit that can be learned and even if you consider yourself an introvert, we have ideas for you to build new friendships. We share the negative impacts of loneliness and isolation, as well as discuss the positive health benefits of having strong relationships and practical tips to build better friendships.
39:60
September 25, 2019
Daily Habit Number Two-LEARN, it's all about Brain Health!
This week on the podcast it's all about your brain and building the habits that protect brain health as you age!  Learn all about exercise, diet and most importantly brain activities that encourage neural plasticity and can prevent dementia and Alzheimer's.  Hear practical tips and ideas for activities that you can start doing on a daily basis to challenge your brain And have you wanted to start the habit of reading?  Molly and Angela offer easy steps to build a reading habit and their favorite books lis
45:03
September 18, 2019
How Daily Habit #1 MOVE Creates her Best Life with Lorraine Ladish
This week on the podcast we talk with author, entrepreneur, and influencer--Lorraine C. Ladish.We wanted to chat with Lorraine about how important moving is to her as a habit, and what she believes about exercise as she ages. Her passion for exercise reflects all of the reasons daily habit #1 is MOVE. Over the course of her life, she has faced many challenges and moving her body has always been something she uses to help her mood, her energy levels and her stress.
38:03
September 11, 2019
Building Daily Habit Number One--MOVE
For the next weeks, we’re going to be talking about the FIVE habits that make up our lifestyle strategy and philosophy at Five for Life. MOVE*LEARN* SHARE*GIVE* LET GO. All backed by science and proven to increase longevity AND improve overall happiness. First up is daily habit #1 MOVE. We say all the time that it’s daily habit number one for a reason...and it’s really not “a reason” it’s MANY reasons. Learn how to build the MOVE habit with 10 practical tips and the science behind you want to
42:21
September 4, 2019
How to Break Habits that Don't Serve You
Are you trying to break a "bad" habit? Listen in as Molly & Angela discuss why they don't use the word "bad" to describe habits.Learn the Golden Rule of Habit Change. (Hint: you can't truly break habits) We talk about the inversion of the laws of habit building and provide five practical tips for breaking habits that don't serve you. We share our favorite affirmation for habits:  "I overcome habits that don't serve me. Build habits that inspire me and I AM my own success story."
32:48
August 28, 2019
How to Build New Habits
On the podcast this week Molly and Angela talk about the metaskill of "how to build  a new habit". By definition, a meta skill is a nugget of practical knowledge that applies to a wide variety of circumstances including ones you have never directly experienced before. Figuring out how to manage your brain so you can create the thoughts that lead to the feelings, that compel your actions is absolutely critical to building habits.
38:18
August 21, 2019
The Science of Habits-Understanding your Brain!
This week on the podcast we take a 10,000 foot view of brain science, and in particular the areas of the brain that are involved with habit formation. Want to build new habits? You're going to have to be aware of your primitive brain while you make plans with and listen to your executive brain. Why does the brain build habits? How much of your life is on autopilot and how do you feel about your habits. The good news is that building habits, and changing your brain can happen at any age.
39:03
August 14, 2019
Where We've Been and Where We're Going
In the first episode of season 2, co-hosts Molly Watts and Angela McDade revisit the five daily habits of a happier, longer life. As they continue to highlight these habits--MOVE, LEARN, SHARE, GIVE and LET GO--including the science behind increasing longevity and improving overall quality of life, the focus for season is on HOW to build habits that serve you.   This season the podcast will give very tactical and practical information on building the habits for longevity and happiness.
32:04
August 7, 2019
"You Can if You Try"-Open Water Marathon Swimming Champion, Pat Gallant-Charette
Pat Gallant-Charette is not your average grandma. The 68-year-old life-long Maine resident was recently inducted into the Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame. Until last year, Pat was the oldest swimmer to swim the English Channel and she still holds 9 world records for age group in marathon open-water swimming. We talk with her about overcoming fears, living a life without regret and learning new things (incuding snow-shoeing and maple tapping) as she approaches her 70th birthday!
32:06
May 29, 2019
Living a Whole-Hearted Life: A Discussion of "The Gifts of Imperfection" by Brene Brown
Brene Brown is a researcher. storyteller and a Texan. She believes that every time we choose courage, we make everyone around us a little better and the world a little braver. In this episode of the podcast we discuss her first New York Times bestseller, "The Gifts of Imperfection: Letting Go of Who You Think You're Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are". This book, her writing and storytelling, backed by the science was right up our alley.  We hope you enjoy our talk on "The Gifts of Imperfection".
42:56
May 22, 2019
"50 After 50-Reframing the Next Chapter of your Life" with Maria Olsen
In this episode Molly and Angela talk to Maria Leonard Olsen. At age 50, Maria had drank her way out of her 25-year marriage. She had will-fully derailed her own successful law career. She was stuck. When she turned 50, she had the distinct feeling that she was on the downward slope of her life. She ended up writing a book, "50 after 50"  follows the work she did to overcome addiction and trauma to accomplish 50 new things. Maria's honesty about becoming herself is inspiring to women of all ages.
30:37
May 15, 2019
"The Human Race"- Six Runners. Six Races. One Conclusion- You're Never too Old to Start!
In this episode, we talk with Liz Vassey, director and producer of the documentary, "The Human Race". Liz, an avid runner, started questioning her ability to continue running as she aged and her curiosity lead her to filming many marathon runners who were well over the age of 50 and running.  This is much more than a story about running or aging-- it's really about inspiration, friendships, fitness and how you can really do anything that you put your mind to.
41:41
May 8, 2019
"Super Agers" -Redefining Aging through research and science with Dr. Emily Rogalski
n this episode, we interview Dr. Emily Rogalski, PhD, from Northwestern University's Mesulam Center for Cognitive Neurology & Alzheimer's Disease.  We learn about Dr. Rogalski's work to research and define, "Super Agers" .Alzheimer’s and other dementias are on the rise, but you can take a proactive approach to help protect yourself as you age. Although it’s an exclusive group, research suggests Super Agers might hold the key to learning more about aging and age-related health issues like dementia.
35:08
May 1, 2019
Walking and Health Initiatives -The Scotland Example
Today on the podcast we are joined by Nanette Mutrie, professor at the University of Edinburgh and Chair of Physical Activity for Health.  Nanette has been active in encouraging walking as a way for increasing healthiness in Scotland since the 1990's. You'll hear how walking is really the very best exercise for most people and it's something we are naturally built to do. This episode brings together two Scots for a fun dialogue on the health benefits of walking!
32:09
April 24, 2019
"The Oldest State"- Portraits of a Maine Generation with Jason Paige Smith
This week we speak with Jason Paige Smith, a photographer from Maine all about his project called "The Oldest State".  Jason has spent the last year taking portraits of some of Maine's oldest residents who personify the Maine lifestyle.  We fell in love with Jason's photographs and hearing the stories behind this project. From Everard Hall, a 72-year-old grave digger to Andy Grove an 88-year-old lobsterman and many more...this is an episode full of delight and inspiration.
28:33
April 17, 2019
The Science of Happiness and Mastering Your Mindset with Dr. Catherine Sanderson
This episode features speaker, author and professor, Dr. Catherine Sanderson, PhD. Learn the science behind happiness and how we can truly impact our happiness. Dr. Sanderson wrote her book "The Positive Shift" which focuses on small changes we can all make regardless of whether or not we are genetically disposed to being happier.studies, Studies determined that things we can do to impact our happiness really fall into two areas: mindset  (how we think about things) and behaviors (what we do).  Hear how
40:42
April 10, 2019
Rewiring the Body and Brain to avoid Burnout with Dr. Nisha Jackson
Interested in functional medicine?   We talk with Dr. Nisha Jackson today about what she's learned in almost 30 years of treating patients. Nisha says, "we look at a number of factors, hormones, nutrient levels, exercise, sleep. What we really do is do an analysis, how they're doing, and what they have been doing and their past medical history and family history. We devise a program for them that's really aimed at trying to optimize where they need to be."
31:02
April 3, 2019
Eradicating Loneliness in Older Adults with Dr. Kerry Burnight
Dr. Kerry Burnight serves as the Chief Gerontologist at GrandPad®. From her background as a professor of geriatric medicine, to the founding National Center on Elder Abuse and the Ageless Alliance, a non-profit focused on elder abuse, Dr. Burnight is dedicated to improving the lives of senior citizens. She strongly believes that technology can be a great part of combatting isolation in seniors, but it must be "brilliantly designed and lovingly executed to be embraced by family, friends, and caregivers."
40:33
March 27, 2019
Going the Distance and Empowering Women with Kathrine Switzer, "Marathon Woman"
This week's episode Molly and Angela speak with Kathrine Switzer, who has long been one of running's most iconic figures.  She was the first woman to officially run the Boston Marathon in 1967. Her entry revolutionized the sporting world when a photo of her being physcially attacked by the race director trying to remove her bib was spread across the globe. That photo, has been immortalized by Time-Life  becoming one of their "100  Photos that Changed the World". She went on to campaign for women, ensuring their official status by 1972 in the Boston Marathon. After, she created and organized a global series of races, called the Avon International Running Circuit—400 races in 27 countries for over a million women. Through those races she was instrumental in demonstrating women’s running capability to the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and getting  women’s marathon included in the Olympics in 1984.   We talk with Kathrine about her passion for running, helping women and running the Boston Marathon again in 2017 at age 70, in honor of the 50th anniversary of her historic first run. At age 72, she is a great example of creating the habits of a happier, longer life!
38:04
March 20, 2019
Creating Happiness Sharing Your Authentic Self with Loretta Sayers
Loretta Sayers started her blog, Loretta's Countdown to 60 , in 2017 with the intention of stepping into vulnerability and letting go of the fears that were holding her back. In the process of sharing her authentic self, so many women have reached out to her and shared that because of her courage, they can do the same. From the very beginning, her tagline has been, “Let’s do this together.” The decision to start the blog, has transformed Loretta's life and we talked with her about it all.
38:19
March 13, 2019
The Five Secrets of a Longer Healthier Life with Phil Riley
Phil Riley's book, The Life of Riley, explores the statistics of longevity and how five lifestyle habits can add extra, enjoyable years to your life. Five lifestyle habits that are directly related to morbidity that you can change are: smoking, over-consuming alcohol, obesity, sedentary lifestyle and eating less through intermittent fasting. Phil shares his journey from being overweight, sedentary and over-drinking to a healthier, longer life and shares why it's never too late to start!
42:01
March 6, 2019
Aging Gracefully: Being in Sync with the Past and the Future
Suzy GAMMON , 75, is a blogger who describes herself as  super old and writing about it on her website, AgingTimeBomb.com." Her blog started without a real focus. Suzy says, "I was afraid to look back and pick at my life’s scabs because I feared I could bleed to death without the tough crusts protecting me." Hear about her journey and why she believes finding peace with who we are and how we arrived here is the greatest gift we can give ourselves.
28:49
February 27, 2019
Becoming Who You Were Always Meant to Be with Ironman Champion Cherie Gruenfeld
Cherie Gruenfeld is a 18-time winner of the Ironman Triathlon. She holds 13 world titles. Cherie will be 75 in July and she now runs the 70.3 Triathlons (that's half of the above) and will be doing FIVE of those this year! She is a vivid example of how to live HAPPIER, longer! Angela and I, perhaps because we've trained for a half-marathon together and because Angela's family includes some competitive cyclers, were just mesmerized by what Cherie has accomplished both in her sport and in her foundation.
40:43
February 20, 2019
How to create the HABITS of a HAPPIER, longer Life- A discussion of "Atomic Habits" by James Clear
The framework of habit formation is so important especially when you apply it to our five daily actions for a HAPPIER, longer life! According to author James Clear, a habit is simply an action that has happened often enough to become automatic. Of course, as Clear points out, that makes habits a "double-edged sword". They can work for you, or against you which is why understanding how they form is so important. Listen in to learn about James Clear's four laws of creating habits and the habit loop.
35:58
February 13, 2019
Super Agers: Keep Moving for Life
Do you know Jack LaLanne?  Known as the "Godfather of Fitness" he was a pioneer in the fitness industry. He was the first to have a nationally syndicated exercise show on television. On that show he introduced the idea of women working out with weights. His model? His wife...Elaine. (LaLa) Jack, was definitely a Super Ager and passed away in 2011 at the age of 96. His wife, LaLa, carries on his legacy and at the age of 92 (she will soon be 93) is still doing push-ups.  She shares her best tips for l
32:37
February 6, 2019
Healthy Diet Options for Longevity and The Compound Effect©
We're summarizing and distilling a lot of what we learned this month with our focus on "healthy" diets this week on the podcast. We talk about changes you can make and the overriding theme with all of our guests.  Our guests included Lisa King from The Fulfilled Pharmacist; Deb Gutierrez of Solful Life; Tina Tuszynski from Perennial Aging and Mr. Fitness Confidential himself, Vinne Tortorich and his NSNG®  diet. Plus we share just a few takeaways from the book The Compound Effect written by Darren Hard
28:50
January 30, 2019
Incorporating a Plant-based diet into your Healthy Lifestyle
This week on the podcast, we talk with our last guest in our series on "healthy eating". Tina Tuszynski, a wellness coach and anti-aging trainer, who practices a 90% plant-based diet. You'll hear how this Midwest-born-and- bred, hot-dog loving lady changed her health when she adopted a largely plant-based diet. Tina strives to make creative dishes and to have every meal be 90% vegetarian.
40:51
January 23, 2019
Benefits of Intermittent Fasting, Bioindividuality & foods that cause Inflammaton
This week we continue our January focus on "healthy eating". We aren't really talking about weight loss but intermittent fasting has been shown to help with weight loss as well as brain health and longevity. On today's episode we talk with holistic health coach and personal trainer, Deb Gutierrez, about the benefits of fasting for overall health, fat loss and brain health. www.solfullife.com
40:39
January 16, 2019
Staight Talk about Keto, Atkins, Paleo and NSNG with Vinnie Tortorich
This week on the podcast we are continuing our January focus on "healthy diet" and how that looks from different perspectives. We were absolutely thrilled to speak to Vinnie Tortorich about all things "ketogenic". Vinnie is the host of a wildly successful podcast called "Fitness Confidential". His diet lifestyle, NSNG®, is very similar to all the the diets you've heard about like Keto, Atkins and Paleo and it's really a simple, no-nonsense approach to both weight management and disease prevention.
49:57
January 9, 2019
Reducing Sugar, Eliminating Toxins with Fiber and Eating for Alkalinity with Lisa King, The Fulfilled Pharmacist
Lisa King is sharing her perspective on healthy diet. As a pharmacist and health consultant, Lisa sees first hand the impact dietary choices have on health. Diet can be used as a way to prevent and treat disease.  Lisa's  top three tips: *Reduce Sugar (listen to hear specifics) *Eliminate Toxins with fiber *Eat The Rainbow and avoid processed food You'll learn about specific recommendations for sugar intake as well as which diseases you can help prevent with Lisa's tips.
31:34
January 2, 2019
Co-Housing and Aging Outside the Lines--How to SHARE your life with intention with Ben Soto
This week on the podcast we're talking to an empty-nester who has made a unique life decision when it came to downsizing. Ben Soto, and his wife Julie made the decision to move into urban co-housing. What we learned from Ben is just how modern and intentional their co-housing environment is.Ben and Julie were involved from the ground up and benefited from having the architect, Grace Kim, also be one of the residents. Grace did a TED talk on co-housing and how it can make us happier and help us live longer.
28:47
December 19, 2018
The Science of Gratitude--changing your brain and improving your health.
On this episode we're talking about the science of gratitude. Not just the "woo woo" feel-good idea of gratitude, but how practicing gratitude activates parts of your brain and has been proven to have overall health benefits.We talk about lessons we've learned about practicing gratitude and recognizing joyful moments. We talk about going from the retroactive process of looking back at your day and appreciating moments to actively looking for "wonder" and joyful moments in real time.
26:07
December 12, 2018
Strategic Mindset-the power of your thoughts. You can choose the story you are telling yourself with Elizabeth Salazar
What do you believe about mindset?  Do you think your feelings guide your thoughts?  In this episode of the podcast we talk to Elizabeth Salazar about self-coaching and how to work on your thought patterns to guide your life.  Elizabeth teaches us about how circumstances are neutral, our thoughts are optional and that we have the power to choose our thoughts which will determine our feelings, actions and ultimately results.
34:56
December 5, 2018
Redefining Baby Boomer Bodies through Weight Lifting with Phyllis Lerner, from Follow Phyllis-Episode #15
So first things first--Phyllis is 67!Her website "followPhyllis" motivates, teaches, and encourages middle-aged women to be their very best through exercise, nutrition, fashion and beauty. We talk with Phyllis about some of the challenges she's faced (including two hip replacements in the last three years) as well as what inspired her to start her blog at the tender age of 64. Phyllis shows us all that you can be strong, no matter what age you are!
37:21
November 28, 2018
Roadblocks to Happiness and Goal Setting- A Discussion about "Girl Wash Your Face" by Rachel Hollis
Rachel Hollis is an author, motivational speaker, blogger and podcast host who has been at the forefront of women's empowerment this year with the release of her book, "Girl Wash Your Face". In this episode we take some lessons from this book and apply them to living a HAPPIER, longer life.    Diving into "Girl Wash Your Face" , we share some of the best lessons we learned for goal setting and roadblocks to happiness.  www.fiveforlife.co/girlwashyourface for free inspirational quotes!
31:59
November 21, 2018
What do you really know about Diabetes? Diabetes Awareness Month with Stacey Simms Episode #13
November is Diabetes Awareness Month and on this episode of the Live HAPPIER longer podcast we talk with podcast host and professional broadcaster, Stacey Simms, about some of the myths surrounding diabetes and some of the advances that are changing the way we treat it. Learn from a personal perspective on managing diabetes as a mother and wife that has turned into a passion for connecting people within the diabetes community to improve medical care.
38:38
November 14, 2018
Embrace Aging with The Little White Lie Network-Caren Glasser-Episode #12
Caren Glasser is the host of the Little White Lie Network. She has a lineup of guests who authentically share their Little White Lie and how they are maneuvering through a world that worships youth and shames the beautiful process of aging. Her guests share their stories on how we all can embrace our authentic self, talents, and gifts and say YES to embracing our Little White Lie! Molly and Angela discuss with Caren, shared beliefs on changing the culture about aging. Don't let a number define you.
38:33
November 7, 2018
Reverse Engineering Longevity --A Discussion of Blue Zones®- Episode #11
We discuss the research and information on Blue Zones. First written in an article for National Geographic titled "The Secrets of Long Life", Dan Buettner detailed five unique areas and found common traits among them, that he later dubbed the "Power 9". These nine commonalities lead to longer, healthier happier lives.
29:54
October 31, 2018
Helping You Sleep with Nothing Much Happens-Bedtime Stories for Grown-ups: Episode #10
Go behind the scenes of one of this year's hottest podcasts, Nothing Much Happens-Bedtime Stories for Grown-Ups. Molly and Angela talk with creator, writer and narrator Kathryn Nicolai about the inspiration behind Nothing Much Happens.
29:10
October 24, 2018
Bringing Sunshine to Seniors with Senior Delight Box and Beth Rosellini Episode #9
Beth Rosellini, DDS. has created something special and unique, her company Senior Delight Box. A curated experience intended to engage, inspire, and delight elderly parents, grandparents, or senior residents in a nursing home or assisted-living facility, we talk with Beth about her background and passion for helping the geriatric population. Her enthusiasm and mission to help the elderly and support caregivers is infectious and inspiring.
49:15
October 17, 2018
Movement, Momentum and Magic plus a little tribal bellydancing with Paulette Rees-Denis Episode #8
Paulette Rees­-Denis as a global nomad, tribal bellydancing innovator, but really, as an initiator of feminine empowerment, her passionate work is ultimately about guiding women on a Dance and Desire journey to enrich them through movement, words, and personal creative beauty.  In this episode Paulette shares with us how she started the global tribal bellydancing movement and how she uses dance to encourage women to transform their lives.
29:37
October 10, 2018
Zestful Aging- Simple and Sustainable Habits of Longevity with Nicole Christina: Episode #7
Nicole Christina is a psychotherapist, professional blogger, and host of the acclaimed Podcast Zestful Aging. Nicole interviews inspiring woman about their projects, as well as their own metamorphosis as they age. On our podcast she shares her clinical and academic perspective on zestful aging and creating habits that are both simple and sustainable.
34:59
October 3, 2018
The Science Behind Exercise, Sleep and Alzheimer's Prevention-Reviewing Lisa Genova's TED Talk: Episode #6
Molly Watts and Angela McDade distill the information presented by Lisa Genova, Ph.D, regarding how we might be able to prevent Alzheimer's disease.
24:24
September 26, 2018
Finding a way to Incorporate Movement into your Life with Heike Yates, Pursue you Spark: Episode #5
Molly and Angela talk with Heike Yates, self-described fitness warrior, on ways of incorporating movement into your life. As part of Five for Life's strategy for living a HAPPIER, longer life daily action #1 is MOVE.
36:20
September 19, 2018
Your Goals Accomplished with Tiny Life Changes© by Lisa King-Episode #4
Lisa King is a full-time pharmacist and recently co-authored her book, Tiny Life Changes with her sister Lauren Daniels. Both Lisa and Lauren encountered some challenging life events that resulted in learning about  and embracing self-care and positive mindset. Through positive affirmations and conquering negative thoughts, you can live your very best life. And all it takes is tiny changes each day.
27:38
September 12, 2018
Navigating Your Hormones Through Midlife with Lori Massicot, To 50 And Beyond Host, Episode #3
Molly and Angela talk with certified holistic wellness coach and sober coach, Lori Massicot about hormones during midlife.
37:50
August 31, 2018
How to Manage Stress with Dr. Janet Birkey -Episode #2
Molly and Angela talk with Dr. Janet Birkey, LLPC and LPC about managing everyday stress more effectively.
36:16
August 31, 2018
Five Daily Actions for Living your HAPPIER longer life-Longevity Habits
Molly and Angela discuss the five daily actions that make up Five for Life and how the company got started.
35:04
August 31, 2018