Skip to main content
Road To Muni Podcast

Road To Muni Podcast

By NAIA Hoops Report

Brought to you by the leader in NAIA Men's Basketball coverage, NAIA Hoops Report, The Road to Muni Podcast, formerly NHR - The Podcast, is a Podcast dedicated to NAIA Men's Basketball. Each week Junior and Pat Derksen will help to paint the men's basketball national championship picture as we discuss the action from the week prior, games to watch for the week ahead, interview coaches and much, much more!
Listen on Spotify
Where to listen
Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

NAIA Round of 16 Preview

Road To Muni Podcast

1x
S3,E4 Conference Chatter, Stock Risers and Holiday Classics
S3,E4 Conference Chatter, Stock Risers and Holiday Classics
Junior and Pat talk about some of the top stories around the NAIA. We talk briefly about some of the early conference standings, some of the top non-conf action this past week. We also are joined by Pat Crarey, Head Men's Basketball Coach at St. Thoams (FL), to talk about his squad, the Sun Conference and some of the big games coming up for them. We finish with our Stock Risers report, and some of our favorite games on this upcoming week slate! Hope everyone has a Great Thanksgiving!!
46:50
November 21, 2022
Season 3, Episode 3 - The Week of Top 5 Showdowns, big performances, and a new list of stock risers!
Season 3, Episode 3 - The Week of Top 5 Showdowns, big performances, and a new list of stock risers!
In this episode, Junior and Pat disect the two biggest games from this previous week in No. 1 Arizona Christian vs No. 3 College of Idaho and No. 2 Thomas More vs No. 5 Indiana Wesleyan! We also talk about No. 4 Oklahoma Wesleyan matchup against RV MidAmerica Nazarene. This week's coaching interview is with Delton Deal of Southwestern Assemblies of God. Coach Deal discusses his team, the season thus far, the ever dangerous Sooner Athletic Conference as well as SAGU's big matchup this week vs No. 12 LSU Shreveport! You also won't want to miss our Stock Risers segment as we discuss those teams and players who's stocks are rising!
51:11
November 07, 2022
S3,E2 - Week 1 Recaps and Stock Risers
S3,E2 - Week 1 Recaps and Stock Risers
Junior and Pat dive into some of the top games from Week 1. We also get into a new segment called "Stock Risers" for those players, teams and leagues coming off of good weeks who have seen their stocks rising. We also talk about the BIG slate this weekend which includes a Top 5 matchup! 
26:46
October 31, 2022
Season 3, Episode 1 - The Season is Here
Season 3, Episode 1 - The Season is Here
Junior and Pat kick off the 2022-23 season with a rundown of the NHR Preaseason Top 10, a look at some of the teams and leagues we are paying attention to early, and some of the new rules that take affect this upcoming season! Arizona Christian Head Coach, Jeff Rutter, also stops in to talk some ACU hoops! We finish the episode with some of the games we will be watching this week as the season tips off on Thursday!
41:33
October 24, 2022
Fab Four Preview
Fab Four Preview
Junior and Pat breakdown the action from Kansas City and preview the Fab Four!
41:36
March 21, 2022
NAIA Round of 16 Preview
NAIA Round of 16 Preview
Junior and Pat talk about the opening two rounds of the NAIA National Championships, preview the Round of 16 matchups and more on this episode of NHR - The Podcast!
43:14
March 16, 2022
NAIA Men's Basketaball National Championship Preview
NAIA Men's Basketaball National Championship Preview
Junior and Pat dive into each of the Naismith, Cramer, Duer and Liston Quadrants of the NAIA Men's Basketball National Championship bracket. We discuss matchups, top players, potential future matchups and give our Fab Four predictions! All of that and plenty more on this weeks episode of NHR - The Podcast
01:04:05
March 10, 2022
NAIA Conference Tournament Review Show
NAIA Conference Tournament Review Show
Junior and Pat talk about all of the prior days conference tournament action. Give some highlights from those games that have been played and even preview some of the action we still have left over the next two days!
39:52
February 28, 2022
CalPac Tournament Preview
CalPac Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat discuss the top players, top teams and pick our sleepers to win the CalPac Tournament!
06:57
February 27, 2022
Red River Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Red River Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat take on the RRAC Tournament. There are a lot of similar teams in this league and could be one you see some upsets in. We talk about the top players, favorites to win and hand out our Upset Special teams!
13:18
February 27, 2022
Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat dive into this weekends action with the GCAC Tournament. Maybe the most wide open league in the NAIA as teams fight for the 1 auto-bid.
07:12
February 25, 2022
Continental Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Continental Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat take on the CAC Tournament, one of the more unique leagues in the NAIA as they don't have a conference regular season. We discuss the top players and who has best shot of reaching the CAC Finals where two auto-bids into the NAIA National Championships awaits!
11:25
February 25, 2022
Heart of America Tournament Preview
Heart of America Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat take a look at some of the teams in the Heart who have had good years and can make a deep run in this tournament. We also look at some of the leagues top players and talk about who may, outside of William Penn, can take down the Heart Tournament!
09:46
February 23, 2022
Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat do a quick dive into tonight's CCAC Tournament action. We also discuss the leagues top players, the favorites to win the tournament and who could possible play spoiler!
08:03
February 23, 2022
Crossroads League Tournament Preview
Crossroads League Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat dive into one of the best league tournaments in the NAIA. We talk about some of the matchups, the players to watch and even discuss a couple dark horse teams who could win a CL Tournament Title!
09:58
February 23, 2022
River States Conference Tournament Preview
River States Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat breakdown the matchups, players to watch and give out our sleepers to win the RSC Tournament!
10:54
February 23, 2022
Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat break down the SSAC Tournament. Discussing some of the matchups, top players and who outside the favorites has a shot to win the Title!
10:39
February 23, 2022
Frontier Conference Tournament Preview
Frontier Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat discuss the Frontier Conference Tournament. Breaking down the Top teams, players to watch and the sleeper team that could make a run at a title!
09:50
February 22, 2022
Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Junior talks some SAC hoops as we gear up for a league tournament that is usually one of the more fun ones to watch. He discusses the leagues top players, favorites to win and who could be a team to watch as a dark horse to win the league title!
07:39
February 22, 2022
The Sun Conference Tournament Preview
The Sun Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat discuss The Sun Conference Tournament with a breakdown of the top players to watch, the favorite to win and even give our sleeper teams of who to watch out for!
14:08
February 22, 2022
Mid-South Conference Tournament Preview
Mid-South Conference Tournament Preview
Junior rides solo on this one and takes a quick look at the Mid-South Tournament as they tip off later tonight! One of the best leagues in the country, with a lot at stake! It is always one of the best Conference Tournaments to Watch!
07:52
February 22, 2022
Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Preview
Junior and Pat do a deep dive into the AAC Tournament with favorites to win, players to watch and even a couple of dark horses to watch out for!
12:47
February 21, 2022
NAIA Conference Landscape Headed into the Final Two Weeks of the Season
NAIA Conference Landscape Headed into the Final Two Weeks of the Season
Junior and Pat discuss each league and what to expect in the final two weeks of the regular season! It's a bit of a longer episode, but a deeper look at each and every NAIA league as we sprint to the finish line!
01:21:20
February 07, 2022
A look around the country, Top Games this week and Oklahoma City Head Coach Mark Berokoff
A look around the country, Top Games this week and Oklahoma City Head Coach Mark Berokoff
Join Junior and Pat this week as we continue to talk about the big games, big player performances and talk league titles! We are also joined by Oklahoma City Head Coach, Mark Berokoff, as his OCU Stars have won 5 straight headed into a 3 game road stretch that is a crucial one as they sit just 1 game out of 1st place in the Sooner Athletic Conference. 
38:16
January 31, 2022
ARC Talk, Myles Corey Dunk and LSUA Head Coach, Larry Cordaro
ARC Talk, Myles Corey Dunk and LSUA Head Coach, Larry Cordaro
Junior and Pat once again tackle the ever changing landscape of the NAIA Men's basketball world! We talk about the newly released ARC ratings, the Top 25 polls that will be released this week with a potential new #1! We also talk with LSUA Head Coach, Larry Cordaro and the amazing job he has done since starting the LSUA program in 2014-15. Including the fact that him and the program are just 1 win away from #200 on the year!
50:27
January 24, 2022
Week In Review, Field of 64 and Chris Wright of Talladega
Week In Review, Field of 64 and Chris Wright of Talladega
Junior and Pat once again help paint the picture of the current landscape around the NAIA as most leagues are chin deep into their conference season and conference title pictures are starting to come into focus including a few surprise teams making strong bids for league titles! We also check in with Talladega Head Coach, Chris Wright. The Tornado's are currently ranked #3 in the NAIA and their only loss on the season was a short handed loss on their California trip earlier this season. This is their first season as members of the Southern States Athletic Conference and thus far, despite many games being rescheduled, they have adapted well!
36:35
January 17, 2022
NAIA New Year Chatter
NAIA New Year Chatter
Join in as Junior and Pat tackle NAIA hot topics like Covid protocols the NAIA Tournament and others. We also talk with Grace College Head Coach, Scott Moore, as his #7 Grace Lancers get prepared for a big NAIA Top 10 showdown with #9 Indiana Wesleyan. We also preview another Top 10 showdown this week in #1 Loyola vs #3 Talladega!
51:44
January 03, 2022
Midyear Transfers, NAIA Chatter and College of Idaho Head Coach Colby Blaine
Midyear Transfers, NAIA Chatter and College of Idaho Head Coach Colby Blaine
Junior and Pat once again take on all things NAIA, as we discuss what to expect with midyear transfers, the big games and wins from this past week, observations from across the NAIA and more. This week we also chat with #18 College of Idaho Head Coach, Colby Blaine, as he discusses his team, the Cascade Collegiate Conference and the Yotes season!
42:22
December 21, 2021
NAIA Talk with Junior and Pat
NAIA Talk with Junior and Pat
Junior and Pat talk the top headlines around the NAIA and give an in-depth perspective on what it's like for players and teams as they finish up with finals week and now have a few weeks to focus mainly on basketball! We are also joined in by Florida College Head Coach, Chase Teichmann and Southeastern (FL) Head Coach, Kevin Lubbers as they discuss their teams and the upcoming week, including the SEU Classic in which both teams are in and playing against two teams from the CCAC! 
39:26
December 13, 2021
Golden State Athletic Conference Overview and More NAIA Chatter; S2, E3
Golden State Athletic Conference Overview and More NAIA Chatter; S2, E3
On this week's episode, Junior and Pat do a run down of a few of the top teams in the NAIA and how they faired this week. We also do a deeper dive into the Golden State Athletic Conference and talk with William Jessup Head Coach, Lance Von Vogt. We also take a look at two big NAIA events this week as the Battle at the Beach and NAIA, The Show tip-off this week!
49:48
November 22, 2021
Week 2 Rundown S2,E2
Week 2 Rundown S2,E2
On this week's show Junior and Pat discuss some of the big time performances around the NAIA this past week. They also run down some of the big wins from this past weeks action. Joining us for our Coaches Interview is Bethel (KS) Head Coach, Jayson Artaz. He gives us an update on his squad as they head into KCAC play this week. Make sure you tune in as we also discuss our favorite games for this upcoming week as we start to open up more and more conference games!
45:57
November 15, 2021
Early Season Chatter - S2, E1
Early Season Chatter - S2, E1
Junior and new co-host Pat Derksen talk about what has happened in the early part of the season, including player performances, teams who have looked good early and games coming up this week that we are excited about.  We also talk with Loyola (LA) Head Coach, Stacy Hollowell, about his teams 4-0 start, with wins over three tough NAIA programs, including beating #6 LSU-Shreveport. The Wolfpack also beat NCAA D1 New Orleans this past week. They have looked every part of a Top 5 team early this season.
46:07
November 08, 2021
NAIA Men's Basketball National Championship Preview
NAIA Men's Basketball National Championship Preview
In the final podcast of the season, Junior and Trev are joined by Pat Derksen to preview the NAIA Men's National Championships! We break down each bracket, talk about our favorite matchups and even give our Fab Four predictions! 
41:21
March 18, 2021
NHR - The Podcast, NAIA National Tournament Special
NHR - The Podcast, NAIA National Tournament Special
Join Junior and Trev as we discuss our initial thoughts and reactions to the NAIA National Tournament bracket reveal. We also have four great interviews to gain some insights on some of the NAIA National Tournament Teams: Coach Kyle Blankenship who is the Head Coach for LSU-Shreveport and is a member of the NAIA selection committee.   Coach John Henry, Head Coach at #2 William Penn University, a veteran head coach with loads of experience at the National Tournament. Coach Frank Woodford, Head Coach BenU-Mesa talks about his team, what it means to be the 1st team in program history to make it to the NAIA National Tournament. Pat Derken, former NAIA hooper at Holy Cross, and now Color commenter on air for Bethel (IN), IU-South Bend and Holy Cross broadcasts!  Each interview gives you different insights from around the NAIA men's basketball world!
54:47
March 05, 2021
NHR - The Podcast, Conference Tournament Special
NHR - The Podcast, Conference Tournament Special
Junior and Trev bring you a breakdown of each conference tournament throughout the NAIA! 
51:42
February 22, 2021
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 013
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 013
Coach Kyle Blankenship of LSU Shreveport joins the show today. Not only does he discuss his team and the Red River Athletic Conference, but he also gives great insight and perspective from a National Rater on what he looks for from teams across the country when voting on a Top 25.
39:11
February 13, 2021
NHR - The Podcast, Ep 012
NHR - The Podcast, Ep 012
Junior is joined by Jake Pommerer to discuss this past week around NAIA men's basketball. We break down action from this past week, talk about the games we are excited about for this upcoming week and give some shout outs to some players and teams.  We also are joined by Talladega Men's Basketball Head Coach Chris Wright. His Tornadoes are coming off being crowned the GCAC Regular Season Champions!
29:13
February 06, 2021
NHR - The Podcast Ep. 011
NHR - The Podcast Ep. 011
In this weeks episode, Junior and Trev breakdown all the conference standings for each league as we head into the final month of the regular season. We also give out our Games of the Week over the next 7 days! Lots of great info that you won't want to miss!!!
42:27
January 30, 2021
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 010
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 010
In Episode 010 of NHR - The Podcast Junior and Trev discuss some of the news and notes that came out this past week in the NAIA. Including the Top 25 poll, the National Tournament teams going from 64 down to 48 and some of our favorite games and shout outs for this week. We also talk with Xavier Head Coach Alfred Williams about his XULA team, the GCAC group play and his thoughts on his team dropping out of the Top 25 Poll despite not losing a game since the last poll.
35:24
January 16, 2021
NHR - The Podcast, EP 009
NHR - The Podcast, EP 009
On today's show, Junior and Trev break down some of the action from the Top 25 this past week. We also discuss our thoughts on Indiana Wesleyan staying at #1 in the new polls coming out this week. We talk with USAO Head Coach Chris Francis about the Drovers big win over #3 MACU, the outlook for the rest of the season and his thoughts on the Sooner Athletic Conference. We also give out our GAMES OF THE WEEK!! Be sure to tune in each and every Saturday throughout the season, as we bring you all the news and notes from across the NAIA men's basketball world!
40:05
January 09, 2021
NHR - The Podcast, EP 008
NHR - The Podcast, EP 008
Today Junior is joined by fellow NHR member Jake Pommerer as we talk about the updates across the NAIA. Including discussing the Cascade Collegiate Conference decision and the NAIA's move to lower the National Tournament standards from 14 games down to 10! We also chat with John Brown Head Coach Jason Beschta!  Make sure you tune in to also see who our Games of the Week are! 
31:42
January 02, 2021
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 007
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 007
In Episode 007, we break down some of the games from this past week including the big Top Five matchup between #1 Indiana Wesleyan and #5 Arizona Christian. We also have two interviews from the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference as we talk with Matt O'Brien, Head Coach at Southwestern (KS) and former Ottawa star and All-American Darryl Bowie! From ALL of us at NAIAhoopsreport.com we want to wish you a safe and happy Holidays! 
38:46
December 19, 2020
NHR- The Podcast Ep. 006
NHR- The Podcast Ep. 006
Junior and Trev dive into this weeks NAIA action, review last weeks games and talk with Florida College Head Coach Chase Teichmann. Be sure to tune in to see who who are top games of the week are and who we give our shoutouts to for this past week!
29:15
December 12, 2020
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 005
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 005
Junior and Trev take you inside all of the action from the previous week in the NAIA. We are also joined by Loyola - New Orleans Head Coach Stacy Hollowell, as he talks about his team, the challenges of scheduling this season and more.  Games of the Week: Mount Vernon Nazarene @ Huntington #15 Cumberlands (KY) @ Martin Methodist #14 Ottawa @ Bethel (KS) Shoutouts: #9 Arizona Christian - Battle against D1 New Mexico State Texas A&M Texarkana - Start of the year and a team on the rise ** WE APOLOGIZE FOR THE ECHO OFF OF ONE OF THE MICS. WE WILL GET THAT CORRECTED FOR NEXT EPISODE**
29:46
December 05, 2020
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 004
NHR - The Podcast, Ep. 004
Junior and Trev break down the action from the past week, talk some William Penn basketball with Associate Head Coach Blake Sandquist, give our shout outs, game of the week, and more!  Be sure to subscribe to NHR - The Podcast and like/share the post with all of your followers!
31:01
November 28, 2020
NHR - The Podcast, Episode 3
NHR - The Podcast, Episode 3
Junior and Trev break down last weeks action, as well as breakdown league standings, our Games of the Week and talk with Freed Hardeman Head Coach Drew Stutts about his FHU Lion team that is now 4-0 to start the season. 
28:35
November 21, 2020
NHR - The Podcast, EP. 2
NHR - The Podcast, EP. 2
In this episode Junior and Trev take a look back at some of the action from this past week, we look ahead into this upcoming week, and we talk with Valley City State Head Coach Ryan Montgomery about his Vikings!
34:57
November 14, 2020
NHR - The Podcast Episode 1
NHR - The Podcast Episode 1
Junior and Trev dive into whats is happening around the NAIA Hoops World! 
26:18
November 07, 2020