The Outlaw History Podcast

The Outlaw History Podcast

By Trae Wisecarver
The Outlaw History podcast is dedicated to intellectual passion. It's a place for historians and other scholars to come together and share their love of knowledge.
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo
Breaker Logo
Google Podcasts Logo
Overcast Logo
Pocket Casts Logo
PodBean Logo
RadioPublic Logo
Spotify Logo
Currently playing episode

Sponsor: Anchor

The Outlaw History Podcast

Episode 2: Trae's Crazy Week + Avengers: Endgame Review with Leslie Davila

The Outlaw History Podcast

Go to next audioGo to next audio
Go to prev audioGo to prev audio
1x
Episode 14: The Outlaw Halloween Podcast
It's Halloween, and I've got some creepy stuff for you! First, Amy Manlapas joins us to read & discuss Margaret Atwood's poem, Half Hanged Mary, then Dr. Brian Regal comes on to discuss his research on the history of the Jersey Devil! Twitter: @OutlawHistory @amymanlapas @tarbosaur
49:55
November 1, 2019
BONUS: A Preview of Oh My Godcast: An ECW Retrospective
This is a bonus for the Outlaw History Podcast feed that you may feel free to delete if you're not interested. I'm very proud of the progress we've made on The Oh My Godcast, and I wanted to give the OHP listeners a chance to hear it and think about subscribing to that podcast. This is Episode 5: Your Voice Has Changed, But Your Breath is Still the Same Twitter: @ScalawagHistory @BenDangerously @OMGPodcastECW
1:24:10
October 28, 2019
Episode 13: The Devil History with Dr. Jarret Ruminski
There's some news in the intro, then Dr. Jarret Ruminski joins me to chat about the Canadian general election, and also his book The Limits of Loyalty: Ordinary People in Civil War Mississippi. It's a good time.
1:12:38
October 26, 2019
Episode 12: Search for Black Confederates with Kevin Levin
Historian, teacher, blogger, & author Kevin M. Levin joins me today to discuss his new book, Searching for Black Confederates: The Civil War's Most Persistent Myth. It's a book that I've been waiting for for a very long time. Listen in as Kevin and I discuss the great work he's done cracking the pillars of the Lost Cause. Follow me on Twitter @OutlawHistory Follow Kevin Levin @KevinLevin Follow Kris Roley @KrisRoley
1:11:12
September 14, 2019
Episode 11: The Ninja Who Met James Buchanan with Dr. Nyri Bakkalian
This might be my favorite episode of the podcast yet! Dr. Nyri Bakkalian (@riversidewings on Twitter) joins me for a long chat about Japanese history. Topics covered include the ninja who met President James Buchanan, the Meiji Restoration, the Last Samurai movie, and Shirime the Japanese butthole Bigfoot. It's a good time! Twitter @OutlawHistory www.patreon.com/outlawhistory paypal.me/youpaytrae
1:32:21
September 8, 2019
Episode 10: Civil War West Virginia with Dr. Scott MacKenzie
This week on the podcast, Dr. Scott MacKenzie joins me to a great conversation about Civil War Era West Virginia, and also how a Canadian ended up studying the American Civil War! Follow me on Twitter @OutlawHistorian Follow Scott on Twitter @5thBorderState Follow Producer Kris on Twitter @KrisRoley
32:54
August 27, 2019
G1 Climax Wrap-Up + A BIG ANNOUNCEMENT with Ben E. Dangerously
Ben and I are back with a special episode covering the rest of the 2019 G1 Climax, but we start off first with some chatter about Ben's impending comprehensive exams. That is the extent of the history content on this episode. And we close with a special announcement about a project we're working together on! Follow me on Twitter @OutlawHistorian Follow Ben on Twitter @BenDangerously Follow Producer Kris on Twitter @KrisRoley
1:39:05
August 22, 2019
G1 Climax Special with Benjamin Linzy and Allen Thomas
WARNING: This episode is about pro wrestling. If that's not your thing, my feelings won't be hurt if you don't listen to it. This podcast follows me on a special day where I attended the opening day of the G1 Climax in Dallas, Texas. To be honest,  I hate the first 15 minutes where I'm on my own, but I really didn't want to record a new intro to explain the changes. Once our recap of the show starts, it gets really good. Ben, Allen, and I have a great time breaking down a great experience. Support us on Patreon: www.patreon.com/outlawhistory Or via PayPal: paypal.me/youpaytrae Follow me on Twitter @Outlaw Historian Follow Ben Linzy @ItinerantHisto1 Follow Allen Thomas @eclecticheretic
1:30:12
July 10, 2019
Episode 9: Concentration Camps with Dr. Waitman Beorn and Michael Carter
This week, I sit down with two historians of genocide to discuss concentration camps and whether the camps in which are concentrating refugees here in the United States are concentration camps. Spoiler: they are. www.patreon.com/outlawhistory Follow me on Twitter @OutlawHistorian Follow Waitman Beorn on Twitter @waitmanb Follow Michael Carter on Twitter @DeckofCarter
1:29:10
July 3, 2019
Episode 8: Transgender representation in History and Literature with Julia Ftacek
Grab your earbuds and listen in for what Producer Kris called our best episode yet! Julia Ftacek and I sit down to talk about reading transgender representation into History and Literature, trans-aware pedagogy, and even some professional wrestling! Follow me on Twitter @OutlawHistorian Follow Julia on Twitter @JuliaFtacek www.patreon.com/outlawhistory www.paypal.me/youpaytrae
1:06:42
June 28, 2019
Episode 7: #AskOutlaw
I'm flying solo this episode, and the result is a miraculous disaster of a podcast! I go in way too deep on my depression, then answer some Twitter questions, and then somehow or another I ended up reading my high school term paper. This episode might as well be called the Outlaw Mud Show Podcast. www.patreon.com/outlawhistory www.paypal.me/youpaytrae www.facebook.com/outlawhistorian www.twitter.com/outlawhistorian
35:10
June 26, 2019
Episode 6: A trainwreck with Dr. Adam Key
My guest this week is my good friend, Dr. Adam Key. We talk about prison education, Full House, and Adam's feud with Joel Osteen. I invent a word. We talk about MVP's TEDx, which Adam produced. It's either a great episode or an all-time stinker!
1:13:27
June 9, 2019
Episode 5: Appalachia and Fact-Checking on the Internet with Tristan Williams
West Virginia University PhD student Tristan Williams joins me this week to discuss her interest in Appalachian History and the problems that people encounter daily with misinformation on the internet. I quote a standup comedy bit , get angry and say some swears,then challenge an aging neo-Confederate physician to write me a letter. It's a good time, y'all!
58:39
May 19, 2019
Episode 4: Utopian Communities with Dr. Cheryl Coulthard
It's episode 4 and I'm starting to get the hang of things! This week, I sit down with Dr. Cheryl Coulthard to discuss her research on utopian communities in the 19th and 20th centuries. Follow me on Twitter @OutlawHistorian Follow Kris Roley on Twitter @krisroley Follow Hector Moreno on Twitter @ Hectzilla
44:19
May 13, 2019
Episode 3: Confederate Heritage Month in Review with Shella Rittenberry
This week, Texas A&M History MA student Shella Rittenberry joins me to talk about Confederate memorialization, the Lost Cause, and our respective research on southern unionists. Follow Trae on Twitter @OutlawHistorian Follow Shella Rittenberry on Twitter @shella_4711 Follow Producer Kris on Twitter @krisroley Follow Graphic Designer Hector Moreno on Twitter @hectzilla TEDx: https://tinyurl.com/ohtedx Podcast: https://anchor.fm/outlawhistorian PayPal: paypal.me/youpaytrae Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/outlawhistory
38:47
May 5, 2019
Episode 2: Trae's Crazy Week + Avengers: Endgame Review with Leslie Davila
Texas A&M University History M.A. student Leslie Davila sits down with Trae to talk about his viral video and newfound Twitter fame, then the two geek out over Avengers: Endgame. WE WILL WARN YOU when to stop listening if you haven't seen the movie yet. Enjoy! Follow Trae on Twitter @OutlawHistorian Follow Leslie Davila on Twitter @ThatChingona Follow Producer Kris on Twitter @krisroley Follow Graphic Designer Hector Moreno on Twitter @hectzilla
36:37
April 28, 2019
Episode 1: Civil War Conscription with Dr. Nicholas Mosovick
Here's the debut episode of the Outlaw History Podcast! My guest this week is Dr. Nicholas Mosvick, discussing his research on legal challenges to conscription in the North during the Civil War. Follow Trae on Twitter @OutlawHistorian Follow Dr. Mosvick on Twitter @nmosvick Follow Producer Kris Roley on Twitter @krisroley Follow Graphic Designer Hector Moreno on Twitter @hectzilla
59:05
April 27, 2019