Techathlon

Pixel 4 Reviews, Fortnite Chapter 2, Disney+ or Disney-

An episode of Techathlon

By Popular Science
About
Popular Science’s Techathlon tackles tech news through games, trivia, and (mostly) friendly competitions. Jason Lederman hosts a panel of experts—including PopSci superstars Stan Horaczek, Corinne Iozzio, and Rob Verger—in a weekly throwdown designed to help you better understand tech, the internet, and everything.
More places to listen
Popular Science’s Techathlon tackles tech news through games, trivia, and (mostly) friendly competitions. Jason Lederman hosts a panel of experts—including PopSci superstars Stan Horaczek, Corinne Iozzio, and Rob Verger—in a weekly throwdown designed to help you better understand tech, the internet, and everything.
www.popsci.com

More places to listen

Trick Google's Transcriber, Rough Redesigns, Movies on Glass
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger try to stump the Google Pixel's transcription feature, attempt to name companies based on rebranding disasters, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including the new Tesla "CyberTruck" and Airbnb's ambitious plan to verify 100% of its listings and hosts. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
32:57
November 11, 2019
BONUS GAME: Horror Text Messages
At a recent live show for our sibling podcast, The Weirdest Thing I Learned This Week, we played a game to see if audience members could guess which classic horror movie villains were texting them.. Play along and let us know how you did by tweeting @TechathlonShow! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Corinne Iozzio and Stan Horaczek. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
10:42
November 4, 2019
Wicked Tech Words, Bringing Back Dead Products, Zombie Skittle Suffering
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger must guess evil-inspired tech terms based on their definitions, debate which obsolete tech product should rise from the dead, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including Google’s “quantum supremacy” and a professional music video shot on an iPhone 11 Pro. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
30:58
October 28, 2019
Pixel 4 Reviews, Fortnite Chapter 2, Disney+ or Disney-
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger must separate real absurd movies coming to Disney+ from equally absurd lies, let their phones’ autocomplete function write reviews of Google’s new Pixel 4, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including a security flaw in the Samsung Galaxy S10 and Mark Zuckerberg’s lecture on free speech at Georgetown University. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
31:20
October 21, 2019
Joker or CEO?, Crummy Kiddie Products, Hulu Downloads
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger clown around trying to tell tech CEOs from The Joker, reflect on questionable gadgets targeted at kids, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including California’s power outages and Uber Pets. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
32:16
October 14, 2019
Space Tech Spinoffs, Spotify’s Superior Songs, Many Microsoft Surfaces
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger celebrate Spotify’s 11th birthday by testing their knowledge of the platform's most-popular tunes, explore the far-out world of NASA tech spinoffs, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including Microsoft’s Surface event and app maker Zynga’s password breach. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
35:00
October 7, 2019
A Lot of Amazon, Impossible Tech Promises, Austin, Tech-xas
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Sandra Gutierrez rlook back at tech companies that were too good to be true, run the numbers on Amazon, and catch up on the week’s tech news, including a brand-new Mario Kart game for mobile devices. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
37:01
September 30, 2019
Missing iPhone Features, TV-Ruining Texts, Comcast Cord Cuts
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger argue what feature the next iPhone can't do without, spoil classic plot lines with text messages, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including Facebook's new Portal video chat devices. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
33:03
September 23, 2019
iPhone 11, Lie Detectors, Streaming Showdown
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Sandra Gutierrez Gutierrez risk their reputations against Hasbro’s new lie detector toy, speedily try to remember which streaming platforms host our favorite shows, and catch up on the week’s tech news, including Apple’s iPhone event and Google’s new site for substance abuse recovery. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
33:04
September 16, 2019
Android Alphabet, Racing Records, YouTube Troubles
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger quickly test their knowledge of crazy speed records, have a sweet time remembering the names of old versions of Android, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including the NFL's multi-year deal with TikTok.  Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
35:51
September 9, 2019
BONUS: Labor Day Decathlon 2019
On this special bonus episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger face off about the week's tech news the week's tech news, including Google's new Chromebooks for professionals, the BBC's upcoming voice assistant, and a viral food nightmare.  Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
17:08
September 2, 2019
Phone-Scam Showdown, Keyboard Shortcut Quiz, (Not-So) Supreme Burner
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger test their knowledge of the FCC's top phone scams, see how many keyboard shortcuts they can rattle off, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including the creation of the world’s "largest" computer chip. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
29:40
August 26, 2019
The 19th Episode Hack-tacular: Cyborgs, Smart Fridges, and Every Windows Computer
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Sandra Gutierrez duke it out over the best human-body biohacks, debate the vulnerabilities of internet-connected gadgets, and catch up on the week’s headlines, including several stories from the Black Hat hacker convention in Las Vegas. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
36:54
August 19, 2019
Samsung's New Notes, Not-So-Smart Devices, Branding Blunders
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger delve into just how absurd connected gadgets can get, parse some truly terrible tech product names, and catch up on the week’s  headlines, including the release of the Samsung Galaxy Note10 and Note10+. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
30:34
August 12, 2019
BONUS GAME: Name that Video Game
At a recent live show for our sibling podcast, The Weirdest Thing I Learned This Week, we played a game to see if audience members could name a classic video game based on an original review of it. Play along and let us know how you did by tweeting @TechathlonShow! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman and Stan Horaczek. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
07:04
August 5, 2019
BONUS: Summer Decathlon
On this special bonus episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger catch up on the last month’s worth of tech news, and catch you up on what they’ve been up to since the show went on summer break. Techathlon officially returns in two weeks, on August 12th. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
20:33
July 29, 2019
We’re Taking a Summer Break
Techathlon is about to go on a short break, but we'll be back in August with brand new episodes! (And don't worry, we'll drop a goodie or two into the feed before we come back.) In the meanwhile, check out all the latest tech news on PopSci.com! Our hosts: -Corinne Iozzio -Stan Horaczek -Rob Verger  Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
00:30
June 24, 2019
Pop-Up Shazam, Decoding Codenames, and Lots of Video Games
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger try to decode what popular products are being described by their original internal codenames, review iconic video games and reviews of them, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including multiple apps that brought new features to Android. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
33:12
June 17, 2019
I.M. Melodies, Pricey Pro Gear, R.I.P. iTunes?
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger learn that professional grade gear can get a lot more expensive than Apple's new $5,000 reference monitor, try to remember the noises that instant messengers made, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including the dissolution of iTunes into three new desktop apps. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
32:29
June 10, 2019
Apple Forecast, Insane Acronyms, A New iPod?
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger go over what to expect at Apple's annual developers conference later today, iPick up some iPod facts in honor of the new iPod touch, decipher some crazy tech acronyms, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including a virus-laden computer that sold at auction for more than $1 million USD. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
38:09
June 3, 2019
Hot Trivia and Hot Dogs
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Rob Verger, and Jess Boddy have a Memorial Day "barbecue" and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including the return of Google Glass, self-driving mail trucks, and the death of internet star Grumpy Cat. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
18:16
May 27, 2019
Tech Time Machine, Flight Facts, Zombie Patch Protection
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger test just how well they remember tech from 1997, let their aviation knowledge take flight, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including a barrage of security breaches and malware designed to attack computers running older operating systems. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
36:34
May 20, 2019
Gobs of Google, Internet Irritants, Delivery Derby
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger take on the Internet’s 100% wrong hot takes, answer questions about food delivery while waiting for lunch, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including Google’s 2019 developers conference. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
35:53
May 13, 2019
Oculus Quest Test, More Facebook Messenger, Livejournal Lives?
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger surprise host Jason Lederman with Oculus’ new standalone VR headset, deliberate on decades of promising tech companies that failed, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including Facebook’s new Messenger desktop app. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
32:02
May 6, 2019
Nonsense Product Names, Mobile Phone Messes, Hold Your Hamburgers
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger parse nonsensical marketing-speak product names, feel the shame of not following along with PopSci’s 30 Day Digital Deep Clean, literally hold their hamburgers, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including the WHO’s recommendation that infants under one year old have no screen time whatsoever. Sign up for PopSci's 30 Day Digital Deep Clean! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
32:31
April 29, 2019
Supervillain or CEO, Video Streaming Stats, Pinterest Shame Spirals
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger celebrate the release of Avengers: Endgame by guessing if quotes are from supervillains or real-life tech CEOs, mark the return of Game of Thrones in a streaming-video edition of “Don’t Stat Me,” and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including Pinterest's initial public offering on the New York Stock Exchange. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
32:30
April 22, 2019
Social Media’s Rules, Expensive Digital Hats, Broadband Across America
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger butt into the incredibly arbitrary rules of social media sites, try to guess the cost—monetary and not—of high-priced digital objects, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including Microsoft's claims that America's broadband maps aren't accurate. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
35:21
April 15, 2019
RIP Google+, Gmail Turns 15, Non-Google News
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger take a stroll through the Google Graveyard in honor of the demise of Google+, send a few messages about the way we use email, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including first major 5G network. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
30:54
April 8, 2019
Apple’s Plus Products, Crummy Passwords, Buying the Competition
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger guess the worst passwords of 2018, test their knowledge of tech giants swallowing tiny companies whole, and catch up on the week’s tech headlines, including Apple’s big news-and-TV event and the launch of Magic Leap One. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
31:25
April 1, 2019
Google Gaming, Electric Car Stats, Postmates Party
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger learn all about electric cars, try to guess the most popular video games on various consoles, and catch up on the week's tech news, including a MySpace server migration error and a rideshare-equivalent for food delivery. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
35:07
March 25, 2019
The Web Turns 30, Tech Breakups, Streaming Screaming
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger celebrate the 30th birthday of the World Wide Web, debate what the best streaming service is, and remember their first favorite websites. Plus, we introduce a new game to catch you up on the week's tech news: The Techathlon Decathlon. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
34:41
March 18, 2019
Free the Internet, Bone Conduction Questions, Streaming Music Stats
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger discuss new legislation to "free the internet," answer trivia questions asked through bone conduction headphones, and bring back fan-favorite "Don't Stat Me." Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
34:29
March 11, 2019
Delivery Robots, Phones Reviewing Phones, Fan-Funded Flops
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger talk the future of delivery robots, use the autocomplete feature on their own devices to review upcoming smartphones, and work together to figure out if a list of Kickstarted movies are real. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
31:52
March 4, 2019
Folding Phones, Apple’s Blunders, and a $100K Video Game
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger talk folding phones, compete to write the best sonnet, roast crazy cryptocurrencies exist, and grill sausages. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
38:06
February 25, 2019
BONUS GAME: Net neutrality? More like NOT neutrality!
At a recent live show for our sibling podcast, The Weirdest Thing I Learned This Week, we played a multiple choice trivia game with a live audience! Play along and let us know how you did by tweeting @TechathlonShow! Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman and Corinne Iozzio. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
09:52
February 18, 2019
Editing Tweets, the New Emoji, and Console Wars
On this episode of Techathlon, Corinne Iozzio, Stan Horaczek, and Rob Verger talk this week's tech news, duke it out over the best modern video game console, figure out how to edit tweets, and play some trivia. Get the latest tech news at PopSci.com. Pick up Techathlon merch on our Threadless store. Hosted by Jason Lederman. Theme music by Billy Cadden.
36:19
February 11, 2019
Let's Play Popular Science's Techathlon
Popular Science’s Techathlon tackles tech news through games, trivia, and (mostly) friendly competitions. Jason Lederman hosts a panel of experts—including PopSci superstars Stan Horaczek, Corinne Iozzio, and Rob Verger—in a weekly throwdown designed to help you better understand tech, the internet, and everything. 
00:47
January 30, 2019
Make your own podcast for free with Anchor!