Skip to main content
The Sundae Presents

The Sundae Presents

By The Sundae
Two friends make each other watch films the other hasn't seen. Hosted by Ciara Moloney and Dean Buckley, co-creators of The Sundae.
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Good Will Hunting

The Sundae Presents

1x
Way Down East
Ciara and Dean co-host The Sundae Presents, a podcast in which each of us makes the other watch films they haven’t seen. This episode, Dean shows Ciara D.W. Griffith’s 1920 silent melodrama Way Down East. They talk about its weird Christian feminism, silent film acting and sleepy kitties. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog “The Grace of Keanu Reeves” by Angelica Jade Bastién: https://www.brightwalldarkroom.com/2016/04/21/the-grace-of-keanu-reeves/ You Should Watch Charlie Chaplin: https://thesundae.net/2017/08/13/you-should-watch-charlie-chaplin/ Way Down East on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhdUHLloHmg
48:16
August 29, 2021
Good Will Hunting
Ciara makes Dean watch Good Will Hunting for the first time. They talk about class, toilet humour, and whether Ben Affleck is a good actor.  Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Cancelled Too Soon: Mindhunter: https://thesundae.net/2021/07/26/cancelled-too-soon-mindhunter/ My First Vulnerability is the Last Thing You’ll See: https://thesundae.net/2021/06/13/my-first-vulnerability-is-the-last-thing-youll-see/ Ben Affleck and Matt Damon Win Original Screenplay (feat. Jack Lemmon wildin' out): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d8RIS5GJqAg Ben Affleck getting unmatched on a dating app: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YFdNADcemJk
43:18
August 1, 2021
Speed Racer
Dean shows Ciara his favourite film released in his lifetime: the Wachowski Sisters’ 2008 children’s action blockbuster Speed Racer. They talk about digital effects, sensory overload and whether blockbusters can be anti-capitalist. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog “In Defense of Disco” by Richard Dyer: http://history-is-made-at-night.blogspot.com/2008/05/in-defence-of-disco-richard-dyer.html In Speed Racer’s fossil-fuel-free future, speed is freedom: https://www.polygon.com/movies/22446139/speed-racer-movie-cars-fossil-fuel-commentary An entire episode of Lazy Town: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHyzxdmQhDc Chapo Trap House's Avatar episode: https://open.spotify.com/episode/2SrCbSFVeVdGoFiaDRkW5k?si=8DCtQONCTIqG-jZyjjfH9Q&utm_source=copy-link&dl_branch=1 Speed Racer Is Not an Art Film: https://thesundae.net/2017/07/31/speed-racer-is-not-an-art-film/
45:45
July 4, 2021
Vertigo
Ciara makes Dean watch only his third Alfred Hitchcock film, the 1958 classic Vertigo. They talk about cops, pretty colours, and Dean's aversion to films made between 1934 and 1967.  Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog The Hays Code: http://www.screenonline.org.uk/film/id/592022/ A bunch of dolly zooms, including Vertigo and Jaws: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OO3pqJVLAc Socially Awkward Penguin: https://knowyourmeme.com/memes/socially-awkward-penguin James F. Maxfield and Vertigo as An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge: https://www.salon.com/2018/09/08/is-vertigo-just-the-fever-dream-of-a-dying-man/
41:46
May 30, 2021
Wings of Desire
Dean makes Ciara watch the Wim Wenders movie Wings of Desire for the first time. They talk about war, peace, and Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls. Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Wim Wenders interview: https://youtu.be/N_jaBDec_3I Sundae Film Awards 2021: https://thesundae.net/2021/04/25/the-sundae-film-awards-2021/
41:28
May 2, 2021
E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial
In the inaugural episode of The Sundae Presents, Ciara makes Dean watch the Steven Spielberg classic E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial for the first time. They talk about drunken empathy, Jesus parallels, and penis breath.  Visit The Sundae: https://thesundae.net/ Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/sundaeblog Spielberg talking about the special edition: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2uV8Ffi-3Qg Is Stranger Things a personal tribute to Hitler? https://thesundae.net/2017/05/28/what-we-talk-about-when-we-talk-about-nostalgia/
44:25
April 4, 2021