Skip to main content
The Captains' Table Podcast

The Captains' Table Podcast

By The Captains' Table Podcast
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words.
Listen on
Where to listen
Apple Podcasts Logo

Apple Podcasts

Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

A Contest of Principles Review

The Captains' Table Podcast

A Contest of Principles Review

The Captains' Table Podcast

1x
The Captains’ Table Chapter 35 – Voyager: The Children of the Storm
Welcome to another retro episode of The Captains’ Table Podcast from 2015, where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words. For this show Roz and Michael are pleased to welcome to the show Jason Inman; the co-creator of The Red Shirt Diaries. Jason joins Roz and Michael to review Star Trek: Voyager: The Children of the Storm by Kirsten Beyer.  Listen as they review the story, suggest some great Star Trek book for Jason to read and for those who want to get back into reading Trek novels again. Website: http://authors.simonandschuster.co.uk/Kirsten-Beyer/30231583 Star Trek: Voyager: Children of the Storm - Amazon UK Star Trek: Voyager: Children of the Storm - Amazon US Follow Jason on Twitter: @Jawiin This episode was originally released March 29th 2015.
01:02:04
May 17, 2021
James Swallow and looking through "The Dark Veil"
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we discuss the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words.  Returning to the show is Star Trek author James Swallow who joins Roz and Michael to discuss his latest Star Trek Picard novel; “The Dark Veil”.  James discusses what it was like writing a Star Trek: Titan story again but in a different circumstances due to the events of Picard and we discuss what makes Picard so different to other Trek shows. Find out more about James Swallow here: https://jswallow.com/ and find him on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/jmswallow
01:01:13
May 10, 2021
The Captains’ Table Chapter 34 – Our continuing mission... Part 2 of 2
Welcome to another retro episode of The Captains’ Table Podcast from 2015, where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words. In this Chapter, Roz and Michael continue their interview with David Mack. Discussing his Section 31 book, Disavowed, as well as some of his planned future projects. Please note that this is part 2 of 2 podcasts that make up this full interview. Part 1 can be found in Chapter 33. Follow David Mack via: Twitter: @DavidAlanMack Website: http://www.davidmack.pro/ Amazon Authors Page: http://www.amazon.com/David-Mack/e/B001IQUOH4/ This episode was originally released on March 17th 2015. 
47:15
May 3, 2021
A Contest of Principles Review
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we discuss the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words.  In this episode Roz and Michael are taking a look back at Greg Cox's 2020 novel "A Contest of Principles" set in Year 5 of Star Trek TOS. Just a small teaser, this was Roz's favourite book of last year, and there were some doozies! Be sure to read / listen to the book before you listen to this show.
50:20
April 26, 2021
The Captains’ Table Chapter 33 – Borg and Data and Seekers, Oh My!... Part 1 of 2
Welcome to another retro episode of The Captains’ Table Podcast from 2015, where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words. In this Chapter, Roz and Michael are very excited to welcome back to The Captains’ Table, friend of the show, David Mack. David discusses projects old and new, including the Destiny Trilogy, the Cold Equations Trilogy and Star Trek: Seekers. Please note that this is part 1 of 2 podcasts that make up this full interview. Part 2 will be out in Chapter 34 of our retro episode series which drops Monday May 3rd 2021.   Follow David Mack via: Twitter: @DavidAlanMack Website: http://www.davidmack.pro/ Amazon Authors Page: http://www.amazon.com/David-Mack/e/B001IQUOH4/ This episode was originally released on March 16th 2015. 
01:02:51
April 19, 2021
Getting political with Greg Cox and "A Contest of Principles"
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we discuss the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words.  In this episode Roz and Michael are excited to welcome back to the show  veteran Star Trek author; Greg Cox.  Greg discusses his latest Star Trek: The Original Series novel; “A Contest of Principles”. Listen as Greg talks about how he conceived the story, how separating the trilogy of Kirk, Spock and McCoy opens up so many plot threads and how it was purely by coincidence that his novel involving a contested political election came out as the same time as the U.S Election of November 2020. You can find out more about Greg here on his website: http://www.gregcox-author.com/ and you can buy his Star Trek novels here, via the Simon and Schuster website: https://www.simonandschuster.com/authors/Greg-Cox/702285
55:33
April 12, 2021
Chapter 32 - Pangaea: Michael Jan Friedman
Welcome to a vintage episode of The Captains’ Table from 2015, where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. For this show, Michael is pleased to welcome back to the show author Michael Jan Friedman. Michael discusses his latest Kickstarter project “Pangaea”. What would it be like if all of humanity was confined to a single landmass...and had been so confined for all of our recorded history? Michael tells us about “Pangaea” and the amazing creative team he has put together to tell the story. Michael also gives us an update on “Lost Days” and speaks about his hopes for the next Star Trek film. News article: Support ‘Pangaea’ with Star Trek Writer Michael Jan Friedman Visit Michael’s Kickstarter page for more information and to help with the funding of the book. Follow Michael on Twitter: @FriedmanMJ Visit Michael’s website: michaeljanfriedman.net Crazy 8 Press: http://www.crazy8press.com/ Episode originally released: Feb 23rd 2015
45:34
April 5, 2021
The Lost Era with Keith R.A. DeCandido
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we discuss the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words.  Roz and Michael are pleased to welcome back to the show Keith R.A. DeCandido. As well as writing for Star Trek, Keith has helped create a lot of stories and characters within the Star Trek Literature Verse including “The Starfleet Corp of Engineers”. On this show, Keith discusses his Star Trek: Lost Era novel; “Art of the Impossible”.  We also talk to Keith about his reviews of Star Trek Voyager as he re-watches the series and what else he has been up to. Editor note - this show was recorded in October 2020. Find Keith's official website here: http://decandido.net/ Find him on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/kradec
54:09
March 29, 2021
Kirsten Beyer and Star Trek Voyager: "To Lose the Earth"
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we discuss the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words.  In this episode Roz and Michael are excited to have Star Trek author, Executive Producer of Star Trek Picard and Discovery, Kirsten Beyer.  Kirsten talks about her latest and at least for some time her last Star Trek Voyager novel; “To Lose the Earth”. Kirsten talks about how it was writing and juggling her TV roles and bringing to an end her successful run on the Voyager series. Kirsten also talks about her experiences recording “To Lose the Earth” for Audible. You can order the book in all formats here: http://bit.ly/37Ju8Jx
01:14:26
March 1, 2021
Chapter 31: Missing but not to be missed… with Una McCormack
Welcome to a vintage episode of the Captains’ Table Podcast, where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this Chapter, Roz and Michael discuss The Missing, which was a 2014 offering from Star Trek author, and friend of the show, Una McCormack. An original novel set in the universe of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine—a direct sequel to the New York Times bestselling story arc, The Fall! The entire sector is waiting to see what the newly reopened Bajoran wormhole will mean for the shifting political landscape in the Alpha Quadrant. On Deep Space 9, Captain Ro Laren is suddenly drawn into the affairs of the People of the Open Sky, who have come to the station in search of sanctuary. Despite the opposition of the station's security officer, Jefferson Blackmer, Ro Laren and Deep Space 9's new CMO, Doctor Beverly Crusher, offer the People aid. But when Dr. Crusher’s highly secure files are accessed without permission—the same files that hold the secrets of the Shedai, a race whose powerful but half-understood scientific secrets solved the Andorian catastrophe—the People seem the likeliest suspects. As tensions rise on the station, the science vessel Athene Donald arrives as part of its journey of exploration. The brainchild of Doctor Katherine Pulaski, this ship is crewed by different species from the Khitomer Accords and the Typhon Pact. Pulaski’s hope is that science will do what diplomacy has not: help the great powers put aside their hostilities and work together. But when the Athene Donald is summarily stopped in her voyage by the powerful vessel of a hitherto unknown species, Pulaski begins to wonder—will this first contact bring her crew together or tear them all apart? Follow Una McCormack via: Twitter: @unamccormack Website: Una McCormack Una’s fan fiction including some great Garak & DS9 stories also at Obsidian Gothic. Simon and Schuster: Una McCormack
50:25
February 25, 2021
Scott Pearson and life as he knows it.
Hello, and welcome to a brand new episode of The Captains' Table Podcast with your hosts Michael and Roslyn. Join us for the first new show to go out in 2021, as we catch up with the one and only Scott Pearson. Scott chats with Roz and Michael about becoming a Copy Editor for the Star Trek line in 2014 and how that came about. Scott also talks to Michael and Roz about the modern age Star Trek product, getting his writing fix with "Star Trek: Adventures Tabletop RPG," his brief trips to England, his podcast that he does with his daughter Ella "Generation Geek", talks about being a parent, his health and his heart attack. PS Please note this recording was made before Discovery Season 3 premiered. Generations Geek, can be found here: https://open.spotify.com/show/5Jo2GczoZQbF4HuKgVUqLB or here GenerationsGeek.com Scott can be found on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/SMichaelPearson Scott's website is: http://scott-pearson.com/
01:09:01
January 31, 2021
The End of Year Show
Join us on this episode of the show for a special look back at the year 2020 in Star Trek. Roz and Michael are joined by Fiv as they chat about TV shows and novels in the year 2020, aka the YEAR OF Lots of really good Trek!
01:37:15
December 31, 2020
More Beautiful Than Death
The dynamic duo Michael and Roslyn return to talk about David Mack’s Kelvin timeline novel “More Beautiful Tham Death. “
46:16
December 13, 2020
Mr Mack is BACK
New York Times bestselling author David Mack joins Michael and guest host Fiv to chat about what he's been up to this year, and his latest Star Trek Book, "More Beautiful Than Death" a novel set in the Kelvin Timeline.  Also on the show, David talks about being a consultant for Star Trek Prodigy and his Dark Arts finale, "The Shadow Commission." To find out more about "More Beautiful Than Death" and David's other Star Trek work, check the link below: https://www.simonandschuster.com/authors/David-Mack/1934811 You can find David on Twitter at: @DavidAlanMack
01:19:39
December 11, 2020
Will you Die Standing?
Hello, and welcome to another episode of The Captains’ Table. This show Michael and Roslyn chat about John Jackson Miller’s latest Star Trek novel, Die Standing.
49:31
November 20, 2020
Die Standing with John Jackson Miller
Welcome back to the Captains' Table Podcast with another exciting episode. This time we are joined by New York Times best selling author John Jackson Miller. In this episode he talks about his latest novel Star Trek Discovery: Die Standing, which came out summer 2020, and features the Terran Emperor Philippa Georgiou on a top-secret mission for Section:31 and the Federation! John was gracious enough to go in depth in this episode and we are delighted he took the time to join us. You can find John on Twitter: @jjmfaraway and at his website: www.farawaypress.com
55:46
November 16, 2020
Off the Record: The Comic Book Show
Welcome to the Captains Table and this special show as we start to explore the universe of Star Trek in comics. The Mirror Universe is one of the most popular aspects of Star Trek and in 2017 IDW comics began to tell stories of The Next Generation crew in the parallel universe. Joining Michael and Fiv to discuss these stories are the writers of "Mirror Broken", "Through the Mirror" and "Terra Incognito"; Scott and David Tipton and the artist for the series, J.K Woodward. Long live the Empire. Scott Tipton: @Scott_Tipton David Tipton: @David_Tipton JK Woodward: @JK_Woodward
01:06:34
November 5, 2020
Chapter 30: Una McCormack and The Missing
Join us this week for another classic episode of The Captains' Table Podcast.  A Tale of Two Doctors.... Welcome to the Captains’ Table. For this show, Roz and Michael are pleased to welcome back New York Times Best Selling author Dr Una McCormack. Una discusses her latest Star Trek novel: The Missing which was released at the end of 2014. Follow Una online at: Twitter: https://twitter.com/unamccormack Website: https://unamccormack.co.uk/ Simon and Schuster: https://www.simonandschuster.com/authors/Una-McCormack/22382827
43:13
October 28, 2020
Chapter 29: Margaret Clark
Welcome to a vintage episode of the Captains’ Table from 2015.  It’s all about the story... For this show, Roslyn and Michael are pleased to welcome back to the show the editor of the ongoing Star Trek series at Simon & Schuster, Margaret Clark. Margaret looks back at 2014 and offers some clues as to what can be expected for Star Trek in books over 2015. Simon and Schuster: https://www.simonandschuster.com/startrekbooks
48:52
October 10, 2020
The Voice of Star Trek, Robert Petkoff
Welcome to this special edition of the Captains' Table as Roslyn and Michael are joined by award-winning American stage actor, singer and narrator of over 150 Audiobooks including Star Trek; Robert Petkoff. Robert talks about his love of Star Trek, narrating the audio books for Audible and so much more. You can find Robert online at his website: https://www.robertpetkoff.com/wp/ Or on Twitter: https://twitter.com/petkoff Finally you can find his Audiobooks online at Audible at: https://rb.gy/f3jyoi 
01:15:49
October 7, 2020
Chapter 28: Greg Cox & TOS Novel: Foul Deeds Will Rise
Welcome to the first Captains’ Table of 2015.  Roz and Michael welcome back to the show Star Trek author Greg Cox. On the show, Greg talks about his latest Original Series story “Foul Deeds Will Rise”, about his Q stories and some of his current projects. Website: http://www.gregcox-author.com/ Simon and Schuster: http://authors.simonandschuster.co.uk/Greg-Cox/702285 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/greg.cox.3591 Order Star Trek: The Original Series: Foul Deeds Will Rise from Amazon US or Amazon UK Order Star Trek: The Original Series: Weight of Worlds from Amazon UK or Amazon US
48:07
September 23, 2020
Agents of Influence: The Review Show
Join us this episode as Michael and Roz return for another fun show, and a look back at Dayton Ward's latest Star Trek novel, "Agents of Influence." Agents of Influence is a TOS novel that was released in the summer of 2020, and is currently available in Paperback, eBook and AudioBook.  Remember Dayton was also kind enough to join our dynamic duo for an interview in our previous show. Be sure to give it a listen as well, as it's a great companion show to this episode.  PS: There might be a few spoilers in this episode, so take care if you haven't read or listened to the book yet.
47:55
September 10, 2020
Dayton Ward & Agents of Influence
Hello, and welcome to another episode of The Captains' Table Podcast. In this episode, we have an engaging chat with the one and only author Dayton Ward. Dayton was kind enough to talk to us about life, his view on the current state of Trek, his latest novel "Agents of Influence", a fantastic TOS story set in the fifth year of Kirk's historic five year mission and a sneak peek at what else he has been up to in the world of Star Trek! PS: With all of our episodes where we talk to an author about a novel, there will be spoilers for "Agents of Influence", so this might be the best time to stop, and give it a read before you give this episode a listen.   You can find out everything Dayton at his website: http://www.daytonward.com/ 
01:12:05
August 27, 2020
Reviewing: The Last Best Hope
In an era beyond “The Next Generation” Dr Una McCormack brings us “The Last Best Hope”. Welcome to The Captains Table Podcast, and in this week’s episode, Roz and Michael go back and review the debut novel in the “Star Trek: Picard” line: “The Last Best Hope” by Dr Una McCormack. Una was on our last show for a lengthy sit down interview, so be sure to give that one a listen to as well.
53:44
August 4, 2020
Season 2 begins: Dr Una McCormack and The Last Best Hope
Welcome to the Captains’ Table Podcast. Season 2 of our show finally kicks off with our first new interview in over three years, with New York Times bestseller, Dr Una McCormack. In this show the trio talk about what’s been going on in Una’s life over the last few years, talk about some of Una’s other writing projects, and how she went about writing the prequel novel to the hit new series: Star Trek: Picard, The Last Best Hope. Dr Una McCormack is a New York Times bestselling science fiction author. She is passionate about women’s writing, science fiction, and helping people find their words and voices. Her Star Trek: Picard novel, The Last Best Hope, was published by Simon and Schuster in 2020.   
01:07:19
July 20, 2020
Prologue
For the first time after a long and relaxing THREE  year shore leave, we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. When the last show aired, there was no Trek on TV and Star Trek Beyond had under-performed at the cinema. Now, two brand new shows have aired, a brand new animated series is due to debut next month and we are losing count of the number of new shows in development. In this episode, Roz and Michael chat about where they have been for the last 3 years, and where the show will go from here.
38:41
July 6, 2020
Chapter 27 – What a year it’s been!
Join us in this show for a retro edition of The Captains' Table Podcast, with an old show from the close of 2014. Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this Chapter, Roz and Michael take a look back at what 2014 has meant for The Captains’ Table and revisit some of the reviews and interviews that they’ve enjoyed throughout the past year. They also discuss their personal awards for best novella, novel, character and author of 2014.
52:03
December 30, 2014
Chapter 26: Novellas
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this vintage Chapter originally from 2014, Roz and Michael take their first look at three of the Star Trek novellas released in 2014 and have their first ever disagreement about a book review.
57:34
December 22, 2014
Chapter 25: Voyager; Unworthy
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this Chapter, Roz and Michael continue their look at the ongoing Voyager series written by Kirsten Beyer. We discuss the second novel, Unworthy, and the many twists and turns it brings to this excellent series. Kirsten Beyer’s Authors Page: http://authors.simonandschuster.co.uk/Kirsten-Beyer/30231583
43:21
December 16, 2014
Chapter 24: Una McCormack Returns
Welcome to the Captains’ Table. Roz and Michael welcome back to the show Star Trek author Una McCormack. It’s been a busy year for Una with the birth of baby Verity and her upcoming DS9 novel “The Missing”. We also discuss “The Crimson Shadow” from “The Fall” series and of course all things Cardassia. Follow Una McCormack via: Twitter: @unamccormack Website: Una McCormack Una’s fan fiction including some great Garak & DS9 stories also at Obsidian Gothic. Simon and Schuster: Una McCormack
52:55
November 30, 2014
Chapter 23: Going Full Circle with Kirsten Beyer
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we have intimate chats with those that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this show Roz and Michael interview novelist Kirsten Beyer. Kirsten speaks about her relationship with Star Trek, her experiences as a writer and her first Voyager novel Full Circle. Website: http://authors.simonandschuster.co.uk/Kirsten-Beyer/30231583
01:09:22
November 20, 2014
Chapter 22: "Why being a parent is hard!" with Jeff Lang
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we have intimate chats with those that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this show Roz and Michael interview novelist, and long-time friend of the show, Jeff Lang. Jeff speaks about his novel The Light Fantastic, which is the first follow on from the Cold Equations Trilogy. Blog: http://jeffreyslang.wordpress.com/ Website: http://authors.simonandschuster.com/Jeffrey-Lang/1801683 Jeff Lang’s Facebook page: www.facebook.com/jeff.lang.338?fref=ts
01:03:36
October 19, 2014
Chapter 21: Tea Trek with Scott Pearson
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we have intimate chats with those that have shaped Star Trek in words. Joining us at the Captains’ Table for the first time is Star Trek author and fellow podcaster, Scott Pearson. Scott discusses with us his new novella, The More Things Change and shares some wonderful stories about his encounters with Trek cast and crew and his love of tea. Twitter: @SMichaelPearson http://www.yeahsure.net http://scottpearson.livejournal.com/ https://www.facebook.com/yeahsure/ http://www.generationsgeek.com/
01:14:06
September 21, 2014
Chapter 20: Lost Days with Michael Jan Friedman
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we have intimate chats with those that have shaped Star Trek in words. Returning to the Captains’ Table is a friend of the show, Michael Jan Friedman. Michael tells us about his time writing Star Trek books and what it was like working on collaborative efforts. Michael also shares his views on the current state of Star Trek and the JJ universe. Michael also gives us an update on his previous Kick Starter: “I Am A Salamander” and introduces his new project: “Lost Days”. Support ‘Lost Days’ by Star Trek Writer Michael Jan Friedman News article Visit Michael’s Kickstarter page for more information and to help with the funding of the book. Follow Michael on Twitter @FriedmanMJ Visit Michael’s website michaeljanfriedman.net
37:21
September 16, 2014
Chapter 19: Synthesis by James Swallow
Welcome to the Captain’s Table where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this chapter, Roz and Michael review the sixth novel in the Titan series, Titan: Synthesis, written by James Swallow. Described by the author as "a first-contact story with an action twist", the novel was released in November 2009 and follows the crew of the Titan as they encounter a strange new civilisation, a familiar face from the past and a deadly new enemy. Star Trek Titan: Synthesis The story was written by James Swallow It was published by Pocket Books in October 2009 The Starship Titan continues on her outward voyage of discovery. Ranging farther and farther from Federation space, Captain William Riker and the crew look forward to living Starfleet’s mission: seeking out new life, discovering new civilizations. Let us know what you thought of the show, the book and our review. We look forward to hearing from you. Twitter: @jmswallow Website: http://jmswallow.livejournal.com/ Pocket Books - http://series.simonandschuster.co.uk/Star-Trek
58:00
August 24, 2014
Chapter 18: James Swallow talk Trek
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we have intimate chats with those that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this show Roz and Michael interview novelist James Swallow. James speaks about his relationship with Star Trek including his Titan novel Synthesis which he describes as "a first-contact story with an action twist" Twitter: @jmswallow Website: http://jmswallow.livejournal.com/
01:17:12
August 5, 2014
Chapter 17: Andy Mangels
Star Trek in words. In this show, Ros and Michael introduce an interview with Andy Mangels. Andy spoke to Michael about his relationship with Star Trek including his work on the Star Trek comics for Marvel, the creation of the Titan novels and relaunching Enterprise for Pocket Books. Andy also talks about his Filmation book that looks at some familiar animated shows including TAS. Look out for a special offer from Andy for the Captains’ Table listeners. Andy also speaks about the “Women of Wonder Day” that supports Domestic Violence victims. Twitter: @AndyMangels Website: www.andymangels.com/ Facebook: www.facebook.com/amangelssw
01:40:02
June 15, 2014
Chapter 16: John Jackson Miller
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we have intimate chats with those that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this show, Michael is pleased to welcome to the Captains’ Table author John Jackson Miller. John is the New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Kenobi, Star Wars: Knight Errant, Star Wars: Lost Tribe of the Sith— The Collected Stories, and fifteen Star Wars graphic novels, as well as Overdraft: The Orion Offensive. A comics industry historian and analyst, he has written for several franchises, including Conan, Iron Man, Indiana Jones, Mass Effect, and The Simpsons. During the show John and Michael discuss John’s first Star Trek novel “Absent Enemies” and his upcoming novel “Takedown” which comes out in January 2015. This is John’s first chance to talk about “Takedown” and it looks like it going to be a great book! As well as Star Trek John talks about his extensive work in the Star Wars universe, how he discovered Star Trek and consoles Michael with England’s incompetence in the World Cup. Follow John Jackson Miller via: Twitter: @jjmfaraway Website: www.farawaypress.com/ Facebook: www.facebook.com/johnjacksonmiller
01:12:39
June 8, 2014
Chapter 15: Voyager goes “Full Circle”
Welcome to the Captains' Table where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this Chapter, Roz and Michael begin their look at the ongoing Voyager series written by Kirsten Beyer. We start with Full Circle which takes place directly after the Destiny trilogy. Star Trek Voyager: Full Circle by Kirsten Beyer When the U.S.S. Voyager is dispatched on an urgent mission to the planet Kerovi, Captain Chakotay and his first officer, Commander Thomas Paris, must choose between following their orders and saving the lives of two of those dearest to them. B'Elanna Torres and her daughter, Miral, are both missing in the wake of a brutal attack on the Klingon world of Boreth. With the aid of their former captain, Admiral Kathryn Janeway -- as well as many old friends and new allies -- Voyager's crew must unravel an ancient mystery, placing themselves between two warrior sects battling for the soul of the Klingon people...while the life of Miral hangs in the balance. But these events and their repercussions are merely the prelude to even darker days to come. As Voyager is drawn into a desperate struggle to prevent the annihilation of the Federation, lives are shattered, and the bonds that were forged in the Delta Quadrant are challenged in ways that none could have imagined. For though destiny has dealt them crushing blows, Voyager's crew must rise to face their future...and begin a perilous journey in which the wheel of fate comes full circle. Let us know what you thought of the show, the book and our review. We look forward to hearing from you. Kirsten Beyer's Authors Page: http://authors.simonandschuster.co.uk/Kirsten-Beyer/30231583
59:11
May 18, 2014
Chapter 14: Greg Cox Returns
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we have intimate chats with those that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this show, Greg Cox returns to talk about his latest Star Trek novel “No Time Like the Past” where we see Seven of Nine meet James T. Kirk. Greg also discusses his role as editor, his Godzilla novelisation (coming out May 20th) and his upcoming Star Trek story “Foul Deeds Will Rise”. Website: http://www.gregcox-author.com/ Simon and Schuster: http://authors.simonandschuster.co.uk/Greg-Cox/702285 Godzilla website: http://www.godzilla-movies.com/news/1217
49:06
April 27, 2014
Chapter 13: Margaret Clark
Welcome to the Captains’ Table where we have intimate chats with those that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this show, Roz and Michael are privileged to interview Margaret Clark; the editor of the Star Trek line at Pocket Books. During the interview Margaret tells us about her role as editor, how she discovered Star Trek, working with the A-Team and the stories we can look forward to this year and in 2015. Star Trek Pocket Book Releases From April Onwards Pocket Books - http://series.simonandschuster.co.uk/Star-Trek
01:24:07
April 6, 2014
Chapter 12: The Buried Age
Welcome to the Captains Table where we explore the stories that have shaped Star Trek in words. In this chapter, we welcome Roslyn Scoular to the show as regular co-host and we review The Lost Era story: “The Buried Age” by Christopher L. Bennett. As well as reviewing the “The Buried Age” we also take a look at the upcoming book releases and those that have come out already in the past couple of months. The Lost Era series attempts to flesh out some events that were only mentioned briefly in the TV series and tries to tie story threads together about characters or events within the Star Trek universe. Star Trek The Next Generation: The Buried Age written by Christopher L. Bennett The mysterious "missing years" of Captain Picard's life—before he commanded the Enterprise—are revealed at last in this Star Trek: The Next Generation novel! Jean-Luc Picard. His name has gone down in legend as the captain of the U.S.S. Stargazer and two starships Enterprise. But the nine years of his life leading up to the inaugural mission of the U.S.S. Enterprise to Farpoint Station have remained a mystery—until now, as Picard's lost era is finally unearthed. Following the loss of the Stargazer and the brutal court-martial that resulted, Picard no longer sees a future for himself in Starfleet. Turning to his other love, archaeology, he embarks on a quest to rediscover a buried age of ancient galactic history...and awakens a living survivor of that era: a striking, mysterious woman frozen in time since before the rise of Earth's dinosaurs. But this powerful immortal has a secret of cataclysmic proportions, and her plans will take Picard—aided along the way by a brilliant but naive android, an insightful Betazoid, and an enigmatic El-Aurian—to the heights of passion, the depths of betrayal, and the farthest reaches of explored space. This novel covers the 9 years between Jean-Luc Picard's command of the USS Stargazer and his command of the USS Enterprise-D. Let us know what you thought of the show, the book and our review. We look forward to hearing from you. His website – http://home.fuse.net/ChristopherLBennett/ Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherLBennettAuthor Blog – http://christopherlbennett.wordpress.com/ Pocket Books - http://series.simonandschuster.co.uk/Star-Trek
57:47
March 28, 2014
Chapter 11: Mark Cushman talks “These are the Voyages” TOS Season 1
Welcome to the Captain’s Table where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words. In this show, Michael discusses “These are the Voyages TOS Season One” with the author Marc Cushman. Alongside Marc is original series story consultant John D. F. Black and his wife Mary. Marc tells us about his meetings with Gene Roddenberry and his motivations behind the book while John and Mary tell us about their time working on the original series and working with Gene. Visit Marc Cushman website http://www.marccushman.com/ Facebook https://www.facebook.com/marc.cushman Visit Jacobs Brown Media Group http://www.jacobsbrownmediagroup.com/
01:00:58
March 14, 2014
Chapter 10: Jeff Lang talks Trek
This episode, Jeff Lang joins Michael and Sina to let us know why Three is the magic number, and to chat about his novel “Immortal Coil.”
01:09:59
March 6, 2014
Chapter 09: David Mack talks Cold Equations
This episode, Sina and Michael interview New York Times Best Selling Author David Mack about his “Cold Equations” Trilogy. Find out what the original story outline for the trilogy was, about Dave’s writing process for these stories, and about the Cold Equations/choices that the characters had to make. Learn about Dave’s upcoming projects as well. Hope you enjoy the show! A big thank you to Dave for taking time from his busy schedule to discuss his books with us. Always enjoyable to have him on our show. You can reach David Mack at: @DavidAlanMack facebook.com/TheDavidMack davidmack.pro
01:19:21
November 15, 2013
Chapter 08: Christopher L Bennet talks Star Trek
Welcome to this special edition of the Captains Table. Our guest is author Christopher L. Bennett. First appearing in the Star Trek: Starfleet Corps of Engineers series of eBooks in 2003, Chris went on to write short stories in several anthologies, as well as contributing novels in the TOS and Star Trek: Titan series, and detailing the life of Jean-Luc Picard in the nine years preceding TNG. Bennett’s non-Trek work includes the original science fiction novel Only Superhuman and tie-in novels set in the Marvel Comics universe. Listen as Sina and Michael discuss Ex Machina, Greater than the Sum and Chris’s new Enterprise novels charting the birth of the Federation. Chris also talks about how he discovered Star Trek and his first original novel Only Superhuman. You can find Chris on: His website –http://home.fuse.net/ChristopherLBennett/ Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherLBennettAuthor Blog – http://christopherlbennett.wordpress.com/ Graphicaudio – Only Superhuman – https://soundcloud.com/graphicaudio/only-superhuman Graphicaudio – Spiderman: Drowned in Thunder – https://soundcloud.com/graphicaudio/spider-man
47:10
November 8, 2013
Chapter 07: Michael Jan Friedman talks Star Trek
Welcome to the Captain’s Table where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words… In this edition, Michael speaks to one of his childhood Star Trek novel / comic legends Michael Jan Friedman. Michael Jan Friedman is an American author of nearly sixty books of fiction and nonfiction, more than half of which are in the Star Trek universe. Mike has also written for the Aliens, Predator, Wolf Man, Lois and Clark, DC Super Hero, Marvel Super Hero, and Wishbone licensed book universes. Eleven of his book titles, including the autobiography Hollywood Hulk Hogan and Ghost Hunting (written with Sci-Fi’s Ghost Hunters), have appeared on the prestigious New York Times primary bestseller list, and his novel adaptation of the Batman & Robin movie was for a time the no.1 bestselling book in Poland (really). Mike has also written for network and cable television, radio, more than 150 comic books, most of them for DC Comics. During the interview, Mike tells us the influences behind his writing, how he discovered Star Trek and what it means to him. He also tells us about his experiences writing for Star Trek Voyager in the episode “Resistance”. We also look at his novels, writing the Next Generation for DC comics and his view on the JJ verse. Additionally, we look at Mike’s upcoming projects and Crazy 8 press. You can find Mike on Twitter: @FriedmanMJ You can find him at his website: michaeljanfriedman.net Find Mike at Crazy 8 Press: www.crazy8press.com/
01:10:47
November 1, 2013
Chapter 06: David R George III Talks Star Trek
Welcome to The Captains Table where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words… For chapter six of our ongoing interview series we are very pleased to present to you our interview with New York Times Best Selling author David R George III. David R. George III is an author of several Star Trek novels. George also co-wrote the story for the first-season Star Trek: Voyager episode “Prime Factors” with Eric A. Stillwell. George’s literary Star Trek works include novels in the Pocket DS9 series. He collaborated with Armin Shimerman on The 34th Rule, set during Deep Space Nine’s fourth season and also wrote Twilight, set after the end of the series. He authored “Olympus Descending”, one of two short novels in the book Worlds of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Volume 3 and the Star Trek: The Lost Era novel Serpents Among the Ruins, set aboard the USS Enterprise-B in 2311, under the command of Captain John Harriman and first officer Demora Sulu, and which tells the story of the Tomed Incident. He wrote another Demora Sulu story, a novella “Iron and Sacrifice,” which appears in the Tales from the Captain’s Table anthology. During the interview, we talk about how David discovered Star Trek, his love of writing, his Voyager episodes, writing with Armin and so much more. We also go into depth over his TOS novel Allegiance in Exile and discuss “The Fall”. You can find David on: Twitter: @DavidRGeorgeIII You can David on FaceBook
01:32:34
October 24, 2013
Chapter 05: Ron Wilkerson Talks Star Trek
Welcome to The Captains Table where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words… For chapter five of our ongoing interview series, we are very pleased to present to you our interview with Ron Wilkerson. Ron Wilkerson is a writer, musician, producer, director, and inventor. He has written and produced multiple episodes of Star Trek: The Next Generation, Star Trek: Voyager, Stargate SG-1 and VH1’s Strange Frequency. He was nominated for an Emmy as a part of the writing team on the seventh season of Star Trek: The Next Generation. He made a cameo appearance in the Stargate SG-1 fifth season episode “Wormhole X-Treme!” in which he played a studio executive. He recently published a novel: Houdini & Lovecraft, The Ghost Writer. During the interview we discuss how Ron started writing, his love of Star Trek, writing for TNG and in particular “Lessons” from season six, We also discuss Voyager, Stargate and much more. The picture that inspired “Lessons” is called “The Kreutzer Sonata” You can find Ron on: Twitter: @Ron_Wilkerson You can find Ron at his brilliant website: Ron Wilkerson You can email Ron: ron@ronwilkerson.com
01:18:06
October 14, 2013
Chapter 04: Una McCormack Talks Star Trek
Welcome to The Captains Table where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words… For chapter four of our ongoing interview series, we are very pleased to present to you our interview with author Dr Una McCormack. Una is a science fiction writer, particularly of tie-in novels based on Doctor Who and Star Trek. Una is also a lecturer in creative writing at Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge. During the interview, Una tells us about her love of Blake 7, Doctor Who and of course Star Trek. We talk about her favourite character Mr Garak from DS9. We have a really interesting talk about fan fiction and in particular Una’s own fan fiction. We also discuss Una’s novel “Hollow Men” which is a follow up to the amazing episode “In the Pale Moonlight”. As well as that we play a clip from Melissa from the Delta Quadrant who gave us some great things to talk about in reference to “In the Pale Moonlight”. You can find Una on Twitter: Twitter: @unamccormack You can find Una at her website: Una McCormack You can also find Una’s fan fiction including some great Garak & DS9 stories also at Obsidian Gothic.
01:04:01
October 4, 2013
Chapter 03: Alan Dean Foster Talks Star Trek
Welcome to The Captains Table where we have intimate chats with those who have shaped Star Trek in words… For chapter three of our ongoing interview series, we are very pleased to present to you our interview with author Alan Dean Foster. Alan’s work to date includes excursions into hard science-fiction, fantasy, horror, detective, western, historical, and contemporary fiction. He has also written numerous non-fiction articles on film, science, and scuba diving, as well as having produced the novel versions of many films, including such well-known productions as Star Wars, the first three Alien films, Alien Nation, The Chronicles of Riddick, Star Trek, Terminator: Salvation, and both Transformers films. Other works include scripts for talking records, radio, computer games, and the story for the first Star Trek movie. His novel Shadow keep was the first ever book adaptation of an original computer game. In addition to publication in English, his work has been translated into more than fifty languages and has won awards in Spain and Russia. His novel Cyber Way won the Southwest Book Award for Fiction in 1990, the first work of science-fiction ever to do so. He is the recipient of the Faust, the IAMTW Lifetime achievement award. During the interview we find out how Alan started writing, his adaptions of Star Trek The Animated Series, his story from the proposed Star Trek Phase II series that led to the story for The Motion Picture. Alan also tells us about writing Into Darkness but expect no spoilers…. We also discuss Alan’s travels around the world. You can find Alan at his website Alan Dean Foster
46:40
September 27, 2013
Chapter 02: Howard Weinstein Talks Star Trek
Welcome to the second chapter of The Captain’s Table. In this show, Michael interviews author Howard Weinstein. During the interview, Howard tells us how he became a writer, how he found Star Trek and of course what it was like writing Star Trek comics. We also speak about his novels, Crazy 8 Press and so much more. Howard Weinstein’s professional writing career launched at age 19 when he sold “The Pirates of Orion” script to NBC-TV’s Emmy-winning animated Star Trek series in 1974. Howard also has a thank you credit on Star Trek IV the Voyage Home. Over the four decades since his animated Star Trek episode, Howard’s varied credits include six Star Trek novels, three V novels, Star Trek anthology short stories and 65 Trek comics and graphic novels. You can find Howard writing on his blog “Puppy Kisses are good for the soul” You can find Howard at his website Day One Dog Training You can find Howard at Crazy 8 Press
01:48:43
September 20, 2013
Chapter 01: Bob Greenberger Talks Star Trek
The Captain’s Table is a chance for Michael & Sina to have intimate interviews with those who have shaped Star Trek in words. In the first chapter Sina & Michael interview author Bob Greenberger. Bob has written several Star Trek novels including The Gate Ways series, A Time to.. and many more. Some of these have been in collaboration with his good friends Peter David and Michael Jan Friedman. During the interview, Bob tells us about his love for Star Trek, how he made the transition from being a comic book editor to novelist. We also look at two of Bob’s short stories: “Command Codes” from the Tenth Anniversary Celebration of Voyager “Distant Shores” short story anthology. “The Landing Party” from the Fortieth Anniversary Celebration of TOS “Constellations” short story anthology. Bob also shares his views on the JJ verse, the New 52 from DC comics and tells us his future projects including After Earth. You can find Bob on Twitter: Twitter: @bobgreenberger You can find Bob at his website: Notes from a Final Frontiersman Find out more about Crazy 8 Press
57:05
September 13, 2013