Skip to main content
World of Stars

World of Stars

By Theeuphoriczat
Hello! Weekly Review of Books, Movies, Music, and Social Commentary.
Listen on
Where to listen
Breaker Logo

Breaker

Google Podcasts Logo

Google Podcasts

Overcast Logo

Overcast

Pocket Casts Logo

Pocket Casts

RadioPublic Logo

RadioPublic

Spotify Logo

Spotify

Currently playing episode

Non-conforming Sexuality in Africa || A review of The Death of Vivek Oji

World of Stars

Non-conforming Sexuality in Africa || A review of The Death of Vivek Oji

World of Stars

1x
Freedom of Hate Speech // Meghan Markle vs The British Monarchy ~ Lil Nas X lap dances on the 'Devil'
With Piers Morgan leaving GMB because he does not believe a woman who speaks up about her mental health issues the conversation of freedom of speech in media has come up again. Lil Nas X is criticized by pastors for lap dancing the devil and he is said to be leading his listeners to hell. I would assume that includes the pastor who watched his video? Anyways, this highlights the need for the conversation. Artists are not responsible for raising your children!! Cardi B is not your child's mother or parent. She is not a children music writer. If you child is listening to Cardi B's music then that is on you!
26:49
April 15, 2021
KPOP celebrities 'Acting Black' PT.2 /BTS, NCT, SM
BTS donating $1m is just them giving back to a culture that they have earned a lot from. They are not different, they are just doing what needs to be done. There is a culture of kpop companies making money from black creators but not giving them what is due. They then claim to be new to the conversation of race. I don't buy it, no one does!
20:18
March 26, 2021
Let's Talk about the real problem with Blackfishing, Blackface and 'Acting Black PT.1
Most black people seem to be gatekeepers of black culture and honestly, I am tired of the constant cancelling and gate watching. These gatekeepers have made the most irrelevant part of culture appropriation be at the front line. Thereby leaving the most important issues behind and out of the spotlight. Today I highlight several issues referring to published thesis paper and research on culture appropriation and the commodities that associate with 'performing Black' Twitter: @theeuphoriczat Website: www.theeuphoriczat.com
20:18
February 18, 2021
Eloise Bridgerton 'Mail Order Bride'/Ultimate Feminist of her Time
Picking up from my Review of Bridgerton book series. I am reviewing the last 4 books in the series by Julia Quinn Twitter: @theeuphoriczat Website: www.theeuphoriczat.com
21:09
February 8, 2021
A Review of Julia Quinn's 'Bridgerton' || Let's Reverse The Sexual Assault!!!
Bridgerton, like is titled, follows the Bridgertons on their journey to find love and life. In the first season of Bridgerton on Netflix, we follow Daphne Bridgerton on her road to find love with Simon, Duke of Hastings. The first season is an adaptation of the first book in the Bridgertons series by Julia Quinn, The Duke and I. Set in the early 1800's England, the season for marriage plucking is at its height, when Daphne meets Simon. Simon who is unwilling to get married falls into a ruse with Daphne so as to get the vultures mamas off his back. At the same time make Daphne more desirable to men in the ton. This ruse does not go as they have planned as they find themselves in love with each other. The most important conversation everyone is having is THE SEXUAL ASSAULT! Tell me what you think after listening to this episode on my podcast!!!
29:09
January 17, 2021
#ENDSARSNOW trends Worldwide!!! SARS is a unit in the Nigerian Police killing Nigerian Youths!!!
Do you think your country is bad? Look at Nigeria. The Nigerian government had the audacity to order armed soldiers to shoot and kill peaceful protesters in Lagos. While I do go into a full rant in this episode, I hope you check out the upcoming episode where I explain the aftereffects of the protest and the lack of action the government has taken to correct their failures. I believe we no longer need to wait for the government to listen to the people. We the people voted this corrupt official and we can make a change by voting right and not just for our bellies.
26:10
December 2, 2020
Chrissy Teigen and Abortion Rights Activists Listen UP!!!
The root of the problem is never the focus of attention with political and powerful entities. Since they usually are the root of the problem. They refuse to ensure quality healthcare, maternal benefits, good education for special or underprivileged children BUT they are focused on forcing a woman to have a child! Where are all the feminist that claim a woman can do anything with her body? They all seem to have disappeared from the conversation.  I go on a full rant!!!!
18:41
November 5, 2020
BTS speech at the UN/ Xenophobic White People and Boo hoo crying when they are called out
I am a little saucy when it comes to BTS. Especially when it comes to racially biased opinions. I mean it is one thing to not like their music another is to hate them just for being Korean. Or being a popular boy band who sing songs in multiple languages. I call it jealously! Anyways, recently BTS spoke at the United Nations General Assembly which is the second time that they have spoken there. As expected people would have racially changed comments to make about their speech. Their speech was fantastic and inspiring for a lot of people.
23:16
October 18, 2020
AMERICA is a BIG JOKE! Americans are selfish?!
All eyes have been on America for the past few months. Especially with the way the Trump Administration have the COVID-19 Pandemic. We see him accuse China of the virus (while it is true that the virus originated there). Instead of actually devise plans to control the virus. The United States of America has the largest percentage of people who have died from this virus. Yet the president refuses to wear a mask and order his citizens to do the same. They made the lives of the citizens a political gamble. It is just ridiculous the way America the supposed giant has failed to handle this virus. Take a look at countries like South Korea and Japan who have done great jobs containing this virus. The selfishness of millions of Americans knows no bounds!!!
26:15
October 5, 2020
Non-conforming Sexuality in Africa || A review of The Death of Vivek Oji
A review of The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Oji.  A review of existing literature on how colonization shaped the way sexuality is perceived in Africa.
25:55
September 26, 2020
They Voted for a Man who grabs PUSSY- Hood Feminism PT.2
"Feminism often centers on those who already have most of their needs met" - Mikki Kendall Which would explain why white women were willing to vote for a man who told them he was going to fuck them over. Let's discuss feminism who refuses to acknowledge transgender people because they are not biologically female. I mean, it's not like Privileged feminists respect and love other women in the supposed moment! Twitter: @theeuphoriczat Website: www.theeuphoriczat.com
25:32
September 11, 2020
White-Washed Feminism- Hood Feminism PT.1
I review Hood Feminism: Notes From The Women That A Movement Forgot by Mikki Kendall Books Mentioned Feminism Interrupted: Disrupting Power by Lola Olufemi White Fragility and more Twitter: @theeuphoriczat Website: www.theeuphoriczat.com
28:22
August 31, 2020
Writers Obsession With Trilogies | Publishers, Midnight Sun doing Numbers!
I joined Reddit recently and the only thing book lovers want to hate on is Forceful and unnecessary Trilogies.  But is this the author's prerogative or are the publishers to blame? Books Mentioned Midnight Sun Priory Sun of the Orange Tree The Diviners The Daevabad Trilogy Six of Crows Duology Thanks for reading
19:01
August 17, 2020
How Diversely Can I Read in August? || Midnight Sun, Smutty Books, T.L. Swan and more
Thanks for listening! Books Mentioned Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi Beverly Jenkins Old West Series The takeover by T.L. Swan You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Daria You Dad will do by Katee Robert Daevabad Trilogy by S.A. Chakraborty Social Media Twitter: @theeuphoriczat IG: @theeuphoriczat I hope you check out my blog www.theeuphoriczat.com 
21:01
August 6, 2020
I read 2 books recently and they changed my perception about suicide and death|| KARMEN by Guillem March & HERE AT DAWN by Beau Taplin
Hello! I hope you have a great day! Don't forget to check out my blog www.theeuphoriczat.com for full reviews of both books
24:42
July 23, 2020
Why is Mental Health not a topic of conversation in African Homes?|| Harmful stereotypes, Mad Macho Mentality, Lack of Mental Health Awareness
Hello! Learning more about mental health and my psychology courses have opened my eyes to the lack of mental health education I received while studying in Nigeria. Growing up in Nigeria seems to be the 'remedy' for a lot of health issues, like treatment before injury measure for mental health, which is just silly. I hope you join the conversation on mental health on my Twitter: @theeuphoriczat Helplines Samaritans (UK): 116 123 (free from any phone), email: jo@samaritans.org  Beyond Blue (USA): 1-800-3668-288 Nigerian Suicide Prevention Initiative Counselling Centre (Nigeria): 234-806-210-6493 Canada Suicide Prevention Service: 1-833-456-4566
25:04
July 14, 2020
Romanticization and Commodification of Toxic Relationships in Books and Media || Killing Stalking, 365, Twilight, I Believe in a Thing Called Love
Hello! I felt the need to talk about how much toxic relationship is shoved down our throats and it is called Tropes. No, they are not tropes, I have read and watched mental illness, toxic relationships, being romanticized into something that it is not. Especially when impressionable people are reading and watching these representations, I recently started reading Killing Stalking, and falling down the fandom hole opened my eyes to how different readers understand the relationship between these two damaged characters. Films such as 365 and 50 shades of grey are two of the most prominent representations of the commodification of mental illness such as PTSD, depression, and Stockholm Syndrome. Join the conversation on Twitter  https://twitter.com/theeuphoriczat
23:44
July 9, 2020
I read 'White Fragility; Why it's so hard for white people to talk about racism' as a Black person.
This book has been so often recommended and I decided to read it hoping that it would discuss the dangers of white fragility, fake tears, white centrality, and unreasonable fear and blatant lies on the lives of black people BUT it doesn't do this. It basically explains and tries to justify why white women feel the need to protect and claim their stance of not being racist even when they do dumb racist stuff.
27:36
July 4, 2020
How much I didn't like, BLACKPINK's HOW YOU LIKE THAT?
Hello! Watching the BLACKPINK new music video just shows me how much my music taste has changed and how much 'better' music I am listening to. The lack of lyrical power in songs like HOW YOU LIKE THAT? might add to the prejudice that none kpop listeners have regarding kpop being just about the visual and the amazing music videos. I will also be recommending a few Korean solo artists that I feel makes songs that is more than just catchy tunes and glorious visual. By the way, some of these songs are Blackpink songs.
17:27
June 26, 2020
Let's Talk about the Psychological Rollercoaster that is 'My Dark Vanessa'
A review of the book titled 'My Dark Vanessa' by Kate Elizabeth Russell. I am discussing the dangers of emotional manipulation, pedophilia, grooming, and abuse of power. This book focuses on the relationship between an underage girl and her much older teacher who groomed and sexually assaulted her and the ripple effects that had on her life as she grew.
19:39
June 24, 2020
Introduction
Hello! My name is Theeuphoriczat, I blog about books, drama, and music with a dash of social and political commentary and critique. 
01:55
June 22, 2020